Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Thu February 23, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: None

       
      We arrived 30 minutes early for our lunch reservation and since it wasn't busy, we were seated immediately. The restaurant is lovely and the staff is friendly and very knowledgeable on the menu. We started with the hushpuppies and shared the fried chicken dinner. Everything was delicious and plenty of food for 2 people.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Collette

      Registered: June 2016
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Mon February 13, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      It was fun to sit out on the screened porch next to the water, and we enjoyed the theming here. My favorite items were the Church Lady Deviled Eggs (creamiest filling ever) for an appetizer and the Hummingbird Cake, which features pineapple and banana flavors in the cake and the best cream cheese frosting ever! However, the main dish portions are huge! Two adults could easily split one entree here. Although my short ribs were very tender, they were a little salty (or else the gravy was), and there also was some off-flavor to the broccoli rabe that came with it ("seasonal vegetable" is what is listed on the menu). It was barely cooked and tasted like it was doused with lighter fluid. It was too oily, too. The mashed sweet potatoes were good. The cake slice is humungous, so that also is easily shared. We even asked them to leave off the ice cream, and we didn't even miss it! I would prefer to pay less money and get smaller portions, because I hate to waste food and want to try lots of things. The wines by the glass definitely are over-priced for the quality.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      konslerg

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Wed November 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best Comfort Food Ever
      Cons: Absolutely None

       
      I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Four of us dines and each had a different entree, so we did a little sampling of each others' plates. Everything was wonderful! Best fried chicken ever and the shrimp and grits was perfect! Don't let fried chicken and donuts scare you off. It was a great pairing and the dark chocolate pecan pie with homemade vanilla ice cream was to die for. Trust me when I tell you this restaurant is NOT overrated; it's wonderful with great servers (Ask for Michelle; she's the best!)and great food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Villeguy

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue November 22, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful Food and Great Staff
      Cons: N/A

       
      I had to change a few of our dinner reservations to fit Homecoming into our end of September vacation. I am SO glad I did. This was an opportunity to introduce my husband to southern cooking. As soon as we walked through the doors we were greeted with the warm hospitality you expect from a great restaurant. We started our meal with the Bee Haven Bay Fried Green Tomatoes, Bunch of Puppies and Cheddar Cheese Drop Biscuits (as I said this was my husband's first taste of southern cooking and I wanted to sample as much of the menu as possible). Our meal was Art's Fabulous Fried Chicken (my husband only eats white meat and this was not a problem for us our waiter was wonderful) and Shrimp and Grits. Dessert Shine Cake and Aunties Chocolate Cake. I have eaten southern food all my life and let me tell you, this is southern cooking at its BEST! I said to my husband that I wish Art makes this a chain. His response was "babe, we can't move into a restaurant." Art Smith bless you for sharing your God given gift with us. You now have us as customers for life!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 186
      Review Date: Thu October 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Service was really great from the moment that we walked up to the door. Food was delicious. Loved the fried chicken. So good! Really enjoyed the whole experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Annern1970

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue August 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service, food
      Cons: prices, no air conditioning on the porch

       
      My mom and I ate here for lunch on July 29th. We got there shortly after it opened, so we were seated right away. We chose to sit outside on the water without realizing that the porch was only screened in and not air conditioned. In the fall/winter, it may be okay, but not in the Florida heat during the summer.


      The food was delicious! My mom had the pulled pork sandwich, which is really 3 small sliders, along with a side of mac and cheese. It was one of the best mac and cheeses I've ever tasted! I had the fried chicken sandwich. While good, next time I would probably just get a side of mac and cheese. We got the chicken and dumplings as a takeout for my dad to try. It was also very good.


      Our server was knowledgable and very helpful when we were asking questions about the menu. I highly recommend eating here!
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.