Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sun September 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to MK
      Cons: Crowded monorail

       
      This isn't my favorite resort. I've wanted to stay here for a while thinking it would be fun to be on the monorail line. That fun was gone our first morning to use the monorail as it was very crowded. The lobby in the Comtemporary was very noisy & crowded at almost all times of the day. I've never seen so many strollers in all my life!
      The bed in master bed was sagging on one side & there was literally writing on the bathroom wall.
      As for the positive, we had a party of 5 including a 15 yo girl, so 2 bathrooms were great! The California Grill was fantastic! It was great to see the fireworks from the resort. The staff was always friendly & helpful. A 5 minute walk to MK can't be beat. However, for the cost I'd rather stay at an EPCOT resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Mon July 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The View!
      Cons: Studio Size

       
      With OKW as our home resort, we're used to larger studios, but you can't beat the view. This was supposed to be just my wife and I getting a 1-day jump on the family vacation. The rest of the family was arriving the next day to start a 2 week stay at OKW. At the last minute our youngest got time off from her summer internship and riding with us was cheaper than a plane ticket. For 2 people the studio is fine, but no more than 2.We had a theme park view which was great both day and night views.Took the boat over to Fort Wilderness to enjoy the Trail's End Buffett, well worth the ride & price.Went up to the Top of the World Lounge to watch fireworks. We were seated at the window and enjoyed a few drinks and snacks before it started. While we could see most of the fireworks, it was a little irritating when people arrived and lined most of the railing in front of us, blocking the view of the castle. I mean there's a lot of railing...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Tue July 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Crowded elevators, food court

       
      We are currently staying in a 3 bedroom on a six-night vacation. There are ten of us. The condo is very spacious, beds are super comfortable. Pool is great, and how can you beat a quick walk to the MK? The elevators closest to the walkway going to the Contemporary are always very crowded, however. Small thing, I guess. The biggest con is the food court at Contemporary. You have to order on a touch screen. If you want something modified (no gravy, different side dish, etc) you have to go to the register, have them note the change and pay, then get a beeper and wait for your food. Not very streamlined. Food is "ok", nothing to write home about.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyprincess1014

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, bright rooms, pool, did I mention location?
      Cons: Check-in, monorail not always running

       
      Bay Lake Tower is a great place to stay if you have little ones who love Magic Kingdom, which we do. We booked a 2 BR Lake View Villa, and upon arriving at noon, were told that our room would be ready at 3. We waited patiently, as we know check in is at 4, but it wasn't ready until 4:15 which was a bit annoying but at least we had the pool and Community Hall. The check in staff seemed clueless and couldn't answer questions about the room or transportation.


      Now onto the positives. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the lake and pool, as well as Epcot in the distance (Illuminations at night) and the water parade. We loved the view, especially in the morning while we ate breakfast and drank coffee on the balcony. The room was bright, clean, and in good condition. The pool area was a lot of fun, including the slide and the Mickey splash area too. The pool staff and campfire staff were wonderful with the kids.


      You can't beat the location for walking distance to MK and monorail too, but on our vacation which was the last week in June (busy time) it didn't start running until 8:30 which was a bit puzzling. Buses were fine but for Epcot, it would have been nice to have a monorail a bit earlier to be there for opening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      johnboywallnut

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat May 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to get to disney world and epcot
      Cons: Need repairs

       
      Room had trash in it on arrival, and need some repair work. Pool is small and loud
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy Writes

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Sun May 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Location
      Cons: Cleanliness

       
      Unfortunately, as I have experienced with other DVC locations it is showing wear and tear.
      The carpet was stained and when we pulled out the sleeper sofa there was garbage behind the headboard area.
      There were leftover items in the drawers in the kitchen.
      They missed towel replenishment on day 4 and when we contacted them they said we would need to pay.
      DVC is a wonderful idea but for the annual dues we pay we expect a fully cleaned room upon check in and top rate service, not second class. I wonder if anyone else in DVC feels that way about the upkeep.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Geri604

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: IL
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful view, location
      Cons: far walk to food and shops

       
      Things started out shaky - the cast member who checked us in reversed two digits of the room number - finally realized it after 3 trips back to the desk. But once we got to the right room - WOW! We had booked a lake view and were on the MK end of the building (room 8204), so we had a great view of Wishes every night.


      The room was surprisingly quiet too - the only time we heard any noise from our neighbors was when we were on the balcony. There was no noise through the walls or in the hallway. Having the 2nd bathroom (in a 1BR) was great. We ended up using the shower in the 2nd bath instead of the walk-in because it had a stronger spray.


      The only downside was that there was no food or shopping in the building. And being at the far end of the hall (2nd to last room), it was a pretty long walk to get to the Contemporary. It didn't bother me, but my mom uses a walker and dad hurt his leg during the trip, so they'd have to take a break in the elevator lobby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WarEagleAuburn

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sat April 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful hotel, fabulous location
      Cons: Pool area noise travels, terrible quick food court

       
      Bay Lake Tower is a beautiful hotel. We used our vacation points to book a 2 bedroom and were happy to find 3 full baths! Location just can't be beat--you can walk to Magic and take a monorail to Epcot. Negatives: loud music coming from the pool area that reached the 6th floor, even with noise cancelling fans. Cast members were using a very loud microphone, too, and this was during normal nap time for kids...1-3pm. The food court they share with the Contemporary is simply awful. Food was all sitting in steamer bins or microwaved.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): staff, location, room
      Cons: n/a

       
      12/29-1/4 family of four in a studio with a theme park view.


      This was our fourth stay at BLT. You can't beat this place for the location - within walking distance of Magic Kingdom! Everything about our stay was wonderful from beginning to end. We interacted with many cast members - front desk, bell services, restaurant workers, bartenders and others. They were all incredibly friendly, helpful & patient.


      Bay Lake doesn't have a quick service restaurant it's true. But it's literally a five minute walk to the Contemporary so I'm not sure why this is even mentioned as an issue.


      It's a beautiful hotel just to walk around at. You've got Bay Lake on one side and MK on the other. The monorail's going by overhead, you have a view of the Grand Floridian across the lake. There's no doubt about it - this is our favorite hotel.


      We ate at the quick service, Contempo Cafe twice and the food is really good for a quick service restaurant. There's plenty of seats too. The gift shops have pretty much everything you're looking for (except for resort items - don't know why but Contemporary is one of the few hotels with no resort items).


      Buses ran on time for us. It's always hit or miss when you're in WDW but we never waited long. It was tight at times in our little studio but that's okay. We're used to it. We usually get a studio to maximize our points - especially at Christmas time when points are at a premium!


      Everything in the room worked well. Beds are super comfortable - as comfortable as any we've slept on at WDW. Bathroom setup isn't great but the "pantry" area has plenty of room - lots of draws and shelf space. While people packed MK on NYE we watched the fireworks from our balcony.


      Awesome time as always at BLT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      simg1f

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to the Magic Kingdom, the Contemporary Resort and a monorail station
      Cons: Broken door handle and some of the staff were incompetent

       
      Between 10/12/13-10/19/13, my party and i stayed at Bay Lake Towers.


      We have stayed at this hotel in the past and were excited to return.


      The experience that we had at this establishment this time around was positive overall.


      While some of the staff members at this resort were incompetent and the door handle to one of the doors to one of the rooms broke, the decor of this hotel was gorgeous and clean.


      I'd definitely stay at this establishment again and would recommend it to others.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angiem0217

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu October 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great room, great pool, location
      Cons: none

       
      We recently purchased a DVC membership and our first stay was at Bay Lake Tower in a lake view studio. The rooms are very nice with a kitchenette. The location was amazing! The monorail to MK and Epcot was great. We actually walked home one night after we left MK. The top of the world lounge has the best views of the fireworks that I have ever seen and this is my 20th trip to Disney.


      The only food at Bay Lake is the pool bar but the walk over to Contemporary was quick and easy. We were on the DDP and ate quick service at Contemporary and Polynesia for lunch.


      Buses were great, never waited too long for any bus service. Customer service was top notch.


      My 6 year old loved the pool and slide at Bay Lake and Contemporary. We were able to use both pools. We went during busy summer season, but resort never felt crowded. I would recommend this resort. Our next trip, we will try out the new Grand Floridian.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue October 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantastic Staff and customer service; great location
      Cons: Have to walk to Contemporary for food most of the time. Showing wear and tear, elevators closest to Contemporary always crowded

       
      After looking at several Disney hotels for our extended family trip to Disney, we chose Bay Lake Tower because of its location and room size. We had two suites...one two bedroom suite for us and a one bedroom suite for friends who met us there. (we live in different states and meet for vacations.)


      After a bad experience at Disney on our last visit in 2007, our stay this time more than made up for any misgivings that we had about Disney. The hotel is very nice with a great pool and the location cannot be beat. Less crowded than Contemporary but still close to what you needed.


      Our suite was very adequate for our family of 9 and the three bathrooms were great. There was more closet space than we needed which is something not always found in hotel rooms. Having a washer/dryer and full kitchen made it nice as well. The sliding doors on the bathrooms were a nice difference that I was skeptical about when I read about it, but was functionally a great thing. The only negative for our room would be the dining table. Very hard seating and also the L shaped bench seat made it inconveient for the people to get in and out of the seating if you weren't on an end.


      The public areas of Bay Lake Tower are nice..great pool and pool area, great sitting area outside and many activities. The location next to Contemporary allows guests to access the water sports over there easily as well. The only negative in this area is the limited time of snack bar at the pool. Since Bay Lake Tower does not have their own food location, it would be nice if the pool snack bar could open early and stay open later to allow for guests to get beverages and some snacks without walking over to Contemporary.


      I guess that would be another negative for bay Lake Tower...no on site food location. Anytime you wanted something, you had to walk over to Contemporary which was time consuming.


      The location is great with nice views of Bay Lake, the Contemporary, Grand Floridian and of course the Magic Kingdom. Being able to walk to Magic Kingdom is another plus. We sometimes walked over there when we had a some extra time to kill....something you would not do if you had to take Disney transportation.


      We arrived at 10:00 a.m., knowing that our rooms would not be ready (and we planned on that going in...we just wanted our tickets and go off to a park.) Lo and behold, our friends room was ready and we were able to take all of our luggage from both parties to their room! What a nice thing to be able to get the luggage out of the vehicles before going to the park! We received a text at 3:30 that our room was ready, which we didn't mind because we knew that it could be 4:00 p.m. before rooms would be ready.


      Now for the highlight of our trip: the customer service at Bay Lake Tower. Never before have I had customer service agents go out of their way to fix a problem as I did at Bay Lake Tower.


      After we checked in and dropped off our luggage in our friends room, we headed for Epcot. When we got to Epcot, we found that the Keys to the World cards for all 9 of us in our room would not work. A very nice customer service agent at the Epcot gate took care of us and "fixed" the problem. (since it took her 20 minutes, she gave us a fastpass to any ride in the park.). Then when we went to lunch, the same problem happened. The Manager of Sunshine Seasons stepped in and again came to our rescue and solved the issue. When we returned to Bay Lake Tower later in the day and reported the issues to a wonderful lady named Paula at the front desk, she took over our case....she then discovered that our cards would not open our room and the entire reservation was messed up. Not an issue....she got us in our room so we could unpack and she went to work on our problem. An hour later, she returned with new cards and had solved the entire problem. She also did some other things to make up for the problems that we had and looked out for us the rest of the week. The next day, when the agent who checked us in (Jeff) found out about our issues of the day before, he too apologized and took care of us. Both Paula and Jeff called us during the week and spoke to us whenever they saw us to make sure things were good and that there were no other problems. They went out of their way to take a bad situation and turn it into a good one. Instead of us complaining about the problems that we had, we are praising Disney for the way the situation was handled...that is what true customer service is all about.
      We do not get to Disney often due to finances, but when we do return, we will have a tough choice...go back to Bay Lake Tower for the wonderful customer service or try another hotel. The experience that we had because of Disney Cast members will long be rememberd.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jjcscanlon

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sat August 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: smaller units than some other DVCs

       
      We had a 9 night stay at BLT (7.31-8.9.13) and chose to wait for a room to be ready in order to get our preferred "high floor" location vs. taking what was available when we checked in. It was certainly worth the wait since we were assigned one of the few studios available on the 16th floor/top floor.


      Even with the top of the world lounge just down the hallway, I have to say this was one of the most quiet rooms I've ever had. Probably a result of the Grand Villas being on the floor - and their main access is apparently on the 15th floor. A cast member said so many of the grand villa guests do not realize they can access parts of their unit from the 16th floor as well. If that adds to the quiet hallways on 16 - well good for me!


      We had a lake view that over looked the BLT pool area as well. It was fun being able to watch the parasailers and the Big Ferry boats going back to their base during "non-peak" MK commuting time. By pure luck we also had a bonus being able to see a nighttime satellite rocket launch at Cape Canaveral from our balcony...very cool.


      We stayed in a studio and I knew to expect it to be very small from other reviews. We're a family of 4. We brought an air mattress with us to give our boy and girl their own space. Disney probably isn't fond of air mattress use, but the foyer of the studio is very large and my 16 year old daughter had her own "studio" with in a studio.


      The full size pullout couch which my 6 foot, 13 year old son slept on, worked out well for him. He said it was comfortable, but would have been hard to share with anyone since he slept more on a diagonal. This piece of the furniture is the only one in the unit that looked like it had some rough wear and tear.


      The queen size bed was very comfortable as were the pillows and linens.


      I had also read reviews where people said it was odd that the bathroom sink was in the kitchenette area. This was not the case in our unit. The bathroom sink was, well, in the bathroom. Not sure why our layout was different.


      I had also read people complaining about having no lock on the sliding bathroom door. We DID have a lock, but it wasn't where you would expect it. The door handle was on the right of the sliding door, but the lock was on the left side - a little lever to push out to prevent the door from being opened.


      The check in was easy and the cast members were all helpful throughout our stay.


      The top of the world lounge was nice. Two nights we watched Wishes from the front balcony with lots of others. But I don't think many people know there's a back balcony behind the bar as we were the only ones there to watch the Electrical Water Parade as it passed by BLT at 10:10pm (immediately following Wishes). A big bar menu, but small dining menu - but at the hour we were there, we weren't looking to eat (except my son had mini corn dogs which he gave a thumbs up).


      Activities at the pool were enjoyed by many. We went to the pool almost everyday but only one day, and very late in the day, did they come around with bracelets to give you to wear to prove you belonged at that pool. BLT guests could go over to the Contemporary pool as well.


      Two of the nine days the walkway access to the contemporary was closed, but they did leave messages the night before to notify guests. Not an inconvenience at all.


      The location of BLT was great to walk to/from the Magic Kingdom and easy access to the monorail to get to other MK-area hotels or Epcot Monorail. We were able to take boats to get to the Hoop De Doo Review as well as an Archery class my daughter took.


      Leaving Epcot one night just as illuminations let out, the monorails were not working and the bus line (to TTC) was over-crowded. We jumped in one of the many cabs there and it cost about $18 including tip. We thought it was well worth it, as we figured the wait for the bus would be long, and then having to loop around to all the other resorts once we transferred to the resort monorail at the TTC.


      We were staying here to cross off our list of all the DVC resorts we've stayed at and had fairly flat expectations based on some reviews I had read. We weren't here to pound the parks every day - but to equally balance park days with relaxation days at the resort. I have to say, we really enjoyed ourselves and would probably stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KTSabie

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views, location
      Cons: Shared buses

       
      We stayed here for 6 nights in June 2013. We had three different rooms for our travel group. We all had lake view, but we could all see Magic Kingdom from our balconies. The rooms were clean, fresh and looked well maintained. The CMs were friendly and helpful.


      I didn't love sharing a bus with Polynesian and Grand Floridian. We had a few wheelchairs in our travel party and because of the bus sharing, we had to wait for another bus when there was generally room on the bus for some of our party, but not for those in wheelchairs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bigrigol23

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: North Carolina
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri June 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Monorail, close to MK, viewing MK fireworks
      Cons: none

       
      Stayed in a one bedroom villa from 6/21-6/25 w/lake view. Paul the guard at the front gate had all of us laughing before we even got out of our car. Arrived at 12:30 pm and our room was ready, did the online check in so the the check in at BL took about five min. Room was spotless and on our second day house keeping unexpectedly cleaned our room and folded our clothes. Lake view is the way to go, you can go up to the deck to see the MK fireworks and you can see the electric water parade from your room, plus the lake view is less points than a MK view which over looks the parking lot. Our villa was on the fifth floor where the bridge to the Contemporary is located so it was very short trip to get something to eat or to get to the Monorail. Nice pool and slide, pool could be a little deeper and a little cooler. This was our first stay at Bay lake and we would stay there again for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.