Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jclander

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon May 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The space, the view, the location
      Cons: Long drive to get off property.

       
      My family stayed in a 3-bedroom Grand Villa at Bay Lake Tower (suite 8422) for 9 nights, May 8-17, 2015. The space is spectacular: it's on the 14th floor, with a two-story living room. The view is of the Magic Kingdom. While it's across parking lots, the space is high enough that it doesn't matter. The living room and two of the three bedrooms have great view of the Magic Kingdom fireworks. The space is well appointed, with full kitchen and dishes for 12 people. The Magic Kingdom is a short walk, and other resorts accessible by monorail or bus from the Contemporary. Cast Members were uniformly helpful, and the space was serviced daily (we were on a hotel, not a DVC, basis). Service was done early enough the suite was clean for an early-afternoon break. It was a level of luxury that we do not generally have, and was seductive. I had two small quibbles. Surprisingly for a resort marketed to children, they do not have one-step stools available. (The child in the party is 5, and she uses a small stool to reach the bathroom sink. She's tall enough that she managed without, but it would have been helpful.) And driving away from the Magic Kingdom area is slightly tedious, but do-able.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Thu April 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Room views
      Cons: No food options

       
      We stayed two nights at BLT starting on 4/19/2015. We transferred from PO-Riverside on the morning of 4/19. We arrived around 12:30pm and checked in – our room was not ready. However, an hour later, as we are walking into the Magic Kingdom, I received the text stating that our room was ready.


      Our room was a deluxe studio on the 14th floor of BLT. Officially, our room was a “standard view” room, but we had very good views of the MK while standing on the balcony. We watched the Wishes fireworks show both nights we were there.


      When we stayed at BLT in February, we hated our room and the bed – it was hard as a brick. This time the room was very nice and the bed was much more comfortable. I liked the fact the Disney had added a sink to the bathroom and fixed the gap on bathroom door between the door and the frame when it was closed. There used to be a huge gap that allowed everyone to see into the bathroom.


      We would stay again based on this most recent stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Sat November 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, modern
      Cons: Small

       
      We booked a studio in BLT for a long weekend when nothing else was available at the Contemporary. We found the room rather small, OK for two people but any more and they'll be tripping over one another. Reminded us of a cruise ship cabin. A queen bed was wedged in tightly next to a sleeper sofa, but we can't imagine more than a couple in the studio. The bathroom arrangement is just weird with the basin and mirror in the kitchen alcove and the toilet and tub in a separate alcove. Kinda like shaving in the kitchen. We had a parking lot view room but we could see the MK and fireworks from our balcony, even on a lower floor. No complaints about the cleanliness. Parking lot was never full. Bit of a hike to the Contemporary for amenities but we expected that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Eean

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: PIttsburgh, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location; rooms were a good size
      Cons: None

       
      We recently joined the DVC, and we stayed for the first time in Bay Lake Tower in August 2014. We are a family of five, with three school aged children, so we stayed in a one bedroom room with a lake view. After several trips of staying in a cramped one room hotel room on property, we felt that our stay at bay lake tower was absolutely wonderful! The full-size kitchen and the laundry room made it worth the extra cost. The master bathroom was beautiful too. The resort itself has a very calming atmosphere, which is very important when you're staying at Disney World. we absolutely loved going up to the lounge on the 16th floor, and then viewing the fireworks from there afterwards. It certainly beats having to watch the fireworks amongst all the crowds at the Magic Kingdom. It will be hard for us to stay anywhere else next time especially since it is only a 10 minute walk to the Magic Kingdom. My kids say that they loved staying here, and I would recommend this resort to anyone!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Sun September 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to MK
      Cons: Crowded monorail

       
      This isn't my favorite resort. I've wanted to stay here for a while thinking it would be fun to be on the monorail line. That fun was gone our first morning to use the monorail as it was very crowded. The lobby in the Comtemporary was very noisy & crowded at almost all times of the day. I've never seen so many strollers in all my life!
      The bed in master bed was sagging on one side & there was literally writing on the bathroom wall.
      As for the positive, we had a party of 5 including a 15 yo girl, so 2 bathrooms were great! The California Grill was fantastic! It was great to see the fireworks from the resort. The staff was always friendly & helpful. A 5 minute walk to MK can't be beat. However, for the cost I'd rather stay at an EPCOT resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Mon July 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The View!
      Cons: Studio Size

       
      With OKW as our home resort, we're used to larger studios, but you can't beat the view. This was supposed to be just my wife and I getting a 1-day jump on the family vacation. The rest of the family was arriving the next day to start a 2 week stay at OKW. At the last minute our youngest got time off from her summer internship and riding with us was cheaper than a plane ticket. For 2 people the studio is fine, but no more than 2.We had a theme park view which was great both day and night views.Took the boat over to Fort Wilderness to enjoy the Trail's End Buffett, well worth the ride & price.Went up to the Top of the World Lounge to watch fireworks. We were seated at the window and enjoyed a few drinks and snacks before it started. While we could see most of the fireworks, it was a little irritating when people arrived and lined most of the railing in front of us, blocking the view of the castle. I mean there's a lot of railing...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Tue July 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Crowded elevators, food court

       
      We are currently staying in a 3 bedroom on a six-night vacation. There are ten of us. The condo is very spacious, beds are super comfortable. Pool is great, and how can you beat a quick walk to the MK? The elevators closest to the walkway going to the Contemporary are always very crowded, however. Small thing, I guess. The biggest con is the food court at Contemporary. You have to order on a touch screen. If you want something modified (no gravy, different side dish, etc) you have to go to the register, have them note the change and pay, then get a beeper and wait for your food. Not very streamlined. Food is "ok", nothing to write home about.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyprincess1014

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, bright rooms, pool, did I mention location?
      Cons: Check-in, monorail not always running

       
      Bay Lake Tower is a great place to stay if you have little ones who love Magic Kingdom, which we do. We booked a 2 BR Lake View Villa, and upon arriving at noon, were told that our room would be ready at 3. We waited patiently, as we know check in is at 4, but it wasn't ready until 4:15 which was a bit annoying but at least we had the pool and Community Hall. The check in staff seemed clueless and couldn't answer questions about the room or transportation.


      Now onto the positives. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the lake and pool, as well as Epcot in the distance (Illuminations at night) and the water parade. We loved the view, especially in the morning while we ate breakfast and drank coffee on the balcony. The room was bright, clean, and in good condition. The pool area was a lot of fun, including the slide and the Mickey splash area too. The pool staff and campfire staff were wonderful with the kids.


      You can't beat the location for walking distance to MK and monorail too, but on our vacation which was the last week in June (busy time) it didn't start running until 8:30 which was a bit puzzling. Buses were fine but for Epcot, it would have been nice to have a monorail a bit earlier to be there for opening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      johnboywallnut

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat May 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to get to disney world and epcot
      Cons: Need repairs

       
      Room had trash in it on arrival, and need some repair work. Pool is small and loud
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy Writes

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Sun May 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Location
      Cons: Cleanliness

       
      Unfortunately, as I have experienced with other DVC locations it is showing wear and tear.
      The carpet was stained and when we pulled out the sleeper sofa there was garbage behind the headboard area.
      There were leftover items in the drawers in the kitchen.
      They missed towel replenishment on day 4 and when we contacted them they said we would need to pay.
      DVC is a wonderful idea but for the annual dues we pay we expect a fully cleaned room upon check in and top rate service, not second class. I wonder if anyone else in DVC feels that way about the upkeep.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Geri604

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: IL
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful view, location
      Cons: far walk to food and shops

       
      Things started out shaky - the cast member who checked us in reversed two digits of the room number - finally realized it after 3 trips back to the desk. But once we got to the right room - WOW! We had booked a lake view and were on the MK end of the building (room 8204), so we had a great view of Wishes every night.


      The room was surprisingly quiet too - the only time we heard any noise from our neighbors was when we were on the balcony. There was no noise through the walls or in the hallway. Having the 2nd bathroom (in a 1BR) was great. We ended up using the shower in the 2nd bath instead of the walk-in because it had a stronger spray.


      The only downside was that there was no food or shopping in the building. And being at the far end of the hall (2nd to last room), it was a pretty long walk to get to the Contemporary. It didn't bother me, but my mom uses a walker and dad hurt his leg during the trip, so they'd have to take a break in the elevator lobby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WarEagleAuburn

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sat April 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful hotel, fabulous location
      Cons: Pool area noise travels, terrible quick food court

       
      Bay Lake Tower is a beautiful hotel. We used our vacation points to book a 2 bedroom and were happy to find 3 full baths! Location just can't be beat--you can walk to Magic and take a monorail to Epcot. Negatives: loud music coming from the pool area that reached the 6th floor, even with noise cancelling fans. Cast members were using a very loud microphone, too, and this was during normal nap time for kids...1-3pm. The food court they share with the Contemporary is simply awful. Food was all sitting in steamer bins or microwaved.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): staff, location, room
      Cons: n/a

       
      12/29-1/4 family of four in a studio with a theme park view.


      This was our fourth stay at BLT. You can't beat this place for the location - within walking distance of Magic Kingdom! Everything about our stay was wonderful from beginning to end. We interacted with many cast members - front desk, bell services, restaurant workers, bartenders and others. They were all incredibly friendly, helpful & patient.


      Bay Lake doesn't have a quick service restaurant it's true. But it's literally a five minute walk to the Contemporary so I'm not sure why this is even mentioned as an issue.


      It's a beautiful hotel just to walk around at. You've got Bay Lake on one side and MK on the other. The monorail's going by overhead, you have a view of the Grand Floridian across the lake. There's no doubt about it - this is our favorite hotel.


      We ate at the quick service, Contempo Cafe twice and the food is really good for a quick service restaurant. There's plenty of seats too. The gift shops have pretty much everything you're looking for (except for resort items - don't know why but Contemporary is one of the few hotels with no resort items).


      Buses ran on time for us. It's always hit or miss when you're in WDW but we never waited long. It was tight at times in our little studio but that's okay. We're used to it. We usually get a studio to maximize our points - especially at Christmas time when points are at a premium!


      Everything in the room worked well. Beds are super comfortable - as comfortable as any we've slept on at WDW. Bathroom setup isn't great but the "pantry" area has plenty of room - lots of draws and shelf space. While people packed MK on NYE we watched the fireworks from our balcony.


      Awesome time as always at BLT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      simg1f

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to the Magic Kingdom, the Contemporary Resort and a monorail station
      Cons: Broken door handle and some of the staff were incompetent

       
      Between 10/12/13-10/19/13, my party and i stayed at Bay Lake Towers.


      We have stayed at this hotel in the past and were excited to return.


      The experience that we had at this establishment this time around was positive overall.


      While some of the staff members at this resort were incompetent and the door handle to one of the doors to one of the rooms broke, the decor of this hotel was gorgeous and clean.


      I'd definitely stay at this establishment again and would recommend it to others.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angiem0217

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu October 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great room, great pool, location
      Cons: none

       
      We recently purchased a DVC membership and our first stay was at Bay Lake Tower in a lake view studio. The rooms are very nice with a kitchenette. The location was amazing! The monorail to MK and Epcot was great. We actually walked home one night after we left MK. The top of the world lounge has the best views of the fireworks that I have ever seen and this is my 20th trip to Disney.


      The only food at Bay Lake is the pool bar but the walk over to Contemporary was quick and easy. We were on the DDP and ate quick service at Contemporary and Polynesia for lunch.


      Buses were great, never waited too long for any bus service. Customer service was top notch.


      My 6 year old loved the pool and slide at Bay Lake and Contemporary. We were able to use both pools. We went during busy summer season, but resort never felt crowded. I would recommend this resort. Our next trip, we will try out the new Grand Floridian.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.