Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • lilymegs
      Lilymegs

      Registered: December 2006
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu March 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Big rooms
      Cons: Rude guests, construction and noise in general - transportation is bad

       
      While attending a conference in February 2016, I didn't have a choice as to my accommodations. That being said, I was honestly looking forward to giving SOG a try. I found the resort nice at first, but a little outdated compared to what Disney offers. The rooms are nice and large and kept clean. The worst part of the entire visit were the extremely rude guests. The walls are thin and out of my week's stay - I had two separate groups staying in the room next to me. One group was up at 0530 every morning banging around the next group knocked the safe out of the closet - not once but 3 times and laughed - all at 0600. Not SOG fault for the rude guests, but it seems to be the norm. Guests in the lobby letting their kids run all over the place and down hallways where guests are trying to rest. Restaurants were average and the transportation was horrid. Since SOG is NOT a Disney resort - the dropoff/pickup areas for buses are located at the farthest spots - unlike Disney being closest. Also, several of their drivers were rude. I found walking to the Polynesian and using Disney transportation was much better. Don't ever plan to stay at SOG as a personal choice. It doesn't rank anywhere near the service of Disney that I'm used to.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rnlandwehr

      Registered: February 2010
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue December 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, spacious, great value, wonderful pool for kids
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed 29 Nov - 4 Dec 2015. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the Palm Wing and was one of the recently renovated rooms. It was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, with two sinks. The resort itself was beautifully appointed with Christmas decorations. It never felt crowded, though the front desk said they were fully occupied. We were able to eat at Manginos with no reservation. There was never a long line at the Java Cafe. We used the Exchange for miscellaneous purchases. The Mill Pond pool was perfect for our 7 year old daughter. They also have a nice playground area for burning off steam. After staying at other Disney Deluxe resorts, I loved this resort for the good value, low crowds, beautiful surroundings. The only drawback for us was that the SOG busses don't start until 30 minutes before the park opens. We like to be at the park at least 45 minutes before park opening. We walked on the 1/2 mile path to the Polynesian every morning and used Disney transporation to the parks. We used SOG transportation for the rides home at night and that worked well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shilohg76

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat March 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, service
      Cons: Transportation

       
      Between cost, space and atmosphere, it is hard to beat Shades of Green. We've been coming to this resort since it first was leased by the military, back when it was just changed from The Disney Inn and continue to do so a number of times a year. Our most recent trip was in February. Normally there are several of us who travel together, but this time it was a girls' only trip with my mother and myself. We were just up for a long weekend and had a blast. First off, the rooms are large for the price paid. For a similar price at a moderate Disney resort, the room would barely be big enough for 3 adults. With 2 queens and a sleeper sofa, you can't complain about cramped quarters.


      We normally do the dining plan at SoG, but since it was just a quick trip, we didn't have the option. We still did the breakfast buffet and it was wonderful. I have several food allergies and am also diabetic but I had no issues finding PLENTY to eat. I have found that it can be hit or miss with buffets when you're allergic to onions/garlic, but the availability of create your own omelets and different meat and cheese and fruit options helped tremendously.


      The only issue we had was mostly of my own making. We'd plan to go to one park or Downtown Disney but didn't actually consult the handy times guide given to us at check in and thus, either just missed a bus or were halfway between them. Luckily, we really didn't have any ADRs to worry about, so we enjoyed the weather (I considered it chilly, but I've lived in Florida for over 10 years and my blood has thinned to such a point that anything under 70 degrees is chilly).


      All in all, if you have the chance to stay here, I highly recommend it. While there is the flavor of military present (bus and restaurant times are military), there is also an overwhelming feeling of Disney, making this property feel warm and inviting. Price, atmosphere and service combine to make this a wonderful destination for families.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pcoleman

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Hubbard Lake, MI
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu September 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cost, size of rooms, location
      Cons:

       
      Another wonderful stay at SOG. Honored all my room requests for location. Took advantage of the 40%. Even w/o discount resort is a great value. Having stayed both on and off site I have to admit i really do like the laid back atmosphere here. It is nice to leave the parks and have a break from all that is Disney. Took friends with us and they could not get over how big the rooms were and how easy and comfortable the resort feels. Love the new buses. Bus drivers were awesome. Only down side we had was not being allowed to obtain fast-passes at 60 mark with rest of resorts. This is a Disney issue not SOG. Can't wait to get back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwgrandma

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): refurbished rooms. Manginos open for lunch. Starbucks all day.
      Cons: none

       
      Here in March for a week. Joined by my daughter and granddaughter for 4 days. Too busy in the parks, but Shades was super. Hadn't been here for a year and a half, and loved the refurbed rooms and being able to get lunch at Manginos; hope this is all the time. We also enjoyed lattes available all day, and wine, too! It seemed more professional all around since last I was there. Kinda liked showing ID to get on bus to come back to the resort--felt safe that way. Great cast members and everyone was so nice to us. So very thankful that I have the opportunity to come to Shades!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cavwife82

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: TX
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri March 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, size of room, restaurant costs, pools
      Cons: no disney feel, bus wait time, room problems

       
      We stayed here 2/7-2/14. We are a family of 6 (2 adults, 2 kids, 2 babies) so we loved the size of the room. It was wonderful having the extra space for pack n plays and suitcases! While the room size was nice, it was just like any holiday inn where the carpet is worn, the bathroom fan was very loud and rattled, and our key wouldn't open the door on multiple days so we would have to go down and get a new one. The bus waits were longer so we walked over to Polynesian and used their bus system and monorail. Its only a 15 minute walk so I recommend it. My kids loved the pool. It was nothing fancy, but never crowded. They liked the playground area. My favorite part was the starbucks as you enter. While my husband put kids to bed, I snuck off to get a couple ice cream cones or coffees for us to snack on. The restaurants were pretty good. I was worried after reading such horrible things. We never waited for a table. Some of the food was kind of bland, but I like spice so most places at Disney taste bland. The waiters were so friendly and I loved that the kids under 6 ate free! If you're looking to save a lot of money, than its great. However, if you're expecting that Disney Magic than look into other resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xtandt

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: FL
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Tue February 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful
      Cons: Pay to park

       
      I have stayed here before and wasn't impressed. The rooms have been redone and are very clean and huge. Parking is $5/day, not a big deal. Most of the employees were very pleasant, Would come back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mimi1

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge rooms, Good value, Location
      Cons: Restaurants, bus system

       
      If you qualify to stay here, it is the best value on the property. The rooms are huge, clean and the hotel is located so close to the MK. We are not fond of the bus service, so walk to the Polynesian and use the monorail system to get to MK and EPCOT. They have a beautiful new pool and are in the process of updating the other pool. I also like that it is out of the hustle and bustle of the rest of Disney. We have stayed here many times and will continue to for future visits.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneylover21

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed August 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, frinedly, welcoming, ready
      Cons:

       
      My father was in the National Guard for 21 years and for the last 5 times I have gone to Disney World, we have stayed at Shades of Green. They are welcoming, they allow a taxi company to enter the resort. My father has taken this taxi every time we go and they are very good price wise and personable wise.


      When we first get to the resort, they take your name and your ID, proving you were in the military. They tell you of the room, the check in and out times and of any special events going on within the hotel itself. They also, if you're too early to check in, will hold your bags and bring them to your room when it is ready, allowing your group to either spend time around the hotel or get an early jump at Disney World.


      They, like Disney World, are very good about food allergies. I am allergic to peanuts and my father to anything with alcohol in it. They asked the chef, he or she will come out and tell us what we can have, which is great. One of many things we love about Disney.


      The pools are large and are heated at night. The all you can eat breakfast is always full of food and kept very clean. At the egg stand, they will make other things with eggs beside omelets, which is great for my mom, cause she does like them. The large dining room is classy and has really good food. There are TV's for those who wish to sit in those areas.


      The rooms are large, they include two sinks, a bath and toilet, two beds, and sometimes a wonderful view. They also come with a safe, which it great to keep phones, mP3's, pills, and jewelry. They also come with an iron and blow dryer, which mom loves.


      The only down side we have ever had is with the grill/ bar in the back of the resort. They are slow and have gotten our orders wrong more then once, along with leaving things out as well.


      I will be going back to Shades of Green in January of 2014 for my 21 birthday. And my father (over heard this) has asked them to make a cake for me for my birthday, so they do special things for special events. Which will make my trip very magical!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat March 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, large room
      Cons: lack of themeing, check in staff rude, rooms TOO quiet

       
      Stayed 3 nights for PHM weekend. Looks as if SOG is staying tidier than last visits, actually see people cleaning/picking up common areas. The AAFES store has also moved to a smaller location, very cramped and not much amenities as before!


      The only negative aspects was we tried to go to bed early for a 5 A.M. wake up, the rooms are so quiet and the halls like echo chambers that when rude guests come into the hotel late at night, they woke us up! Also, the front desk staff seemed rude at check in, no friendly smile, and brief, felt like I was a bother to them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Tue January 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge rooms
      Cons: Food, parking

       
      Third stay. Booked 4 days out for Long Lost Friends. We usually get 2 rooms in values but only suites available with military or FL discount so SoG was $60 per night cheaper this holiday weekend. Usually Disney rates are cheaper than SoG for our pay grade. We were going to MK for a day so this was preferable to staying off property.
      In March we had a large room with a big bathroom - double vanity. This time we had a much smaller bathroom. One sink and not a separate room for toilet. Only towels for 4 but our maid was observant and noticed we had 5. We didn't have plastic cups though. Only two coffee cups and two drink cups. It was such a short trip we didn't bring our own Solo cups for kids to drink out of. I do like that they have Starbucks coffee here but food was so bad in 2008 when we stayed, that I don't want to try again.
      Ticket office closed too early and opened too late for us to take advantage of it. (our local ITT office was out of the ticket type that we needed).
      Stay in March was furthest from parking, but not quite as far this time. I much prefer to be near garage since we usually drive to parks if not walking to Polynesian to catch monorail. .
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.