Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Disneyhenry

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Cast Members, Resort Layout, Pool
      Cons: Quick Service

       
      We stayed at GF for 3 nights after our 14 day EBPC, in my room was DH, DS (age 7) and myself. My sis traveled with us along with her DH and DD (age 7). I paid for a Lagoon View, she had reserved a Garden View. Upon check in we were both told we had adjoining room (she arrived 3 hours after me) but come to find out we were in 2 different building, I had no problem with her pixie dust upgrade to a Lagoon View, until I check in and looked at a tree! I called the front desk and said that I was disappointed in the fact that I was looking at a tree and my sis was looking at the 7 sea lagoon. The gal was very confused because she said she was looking at our reservation and we had adjoining rooms, after research she found out they gave my sis the wrong room. The Cast Member then upgraded us to a MK view in the same building as my sis - needless to say I was very happy. DH, my Brother in Law and myself fell in love with this resort, the walking distance to Poly, Monorail to MK and easy access to Epcot. The layout was perfect, I was a little worried that I wouldn't like this resort but it is now my favorite. We rented a Cabana for an afternoon (only GF and CR have Cabana's) where we had great service, relaxed and watched some football while the kids played in the pool. They loved the pool games and the slide was excellent!
      Room layout was nice, bathroom stocked with plenty of towels, soaps, lotions and robes.
      1st night we had a screaming toddler off and on for 2 hours, not really the resorts fault, but messed with my sleep. I loved the beds, DH thought they were to soft.
      The quick service menu was not as large as CS or WL, but we made it work. However the day we went to check out we headed down at 5:45 am to eat breakfast only to find out they only had pizza until 6:30, with so many early flights I was really surprised they didn't start breakfast at 5 am.
      Overall I will give this resort a perfect 10! Looking forward to staying there again, but I promise my DS that we will stay at CR next trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful rooms, great pools, enjoyable restaurants, monorail access
      Cons: Grumpy security guard, very little soundproofing between rooms

       
      My friend and I stayed here for the first time for one night, 8/18-8/19. I gave him the choice between a theme park view room at the Contemporary or an outer building garden view here, and this is what he chose. During online check in, I requested either Boca Chica or Big Pine Key, with the hopes of getting a pool view, but put in no further requests.


      My friend stopped to check us in around 8:30am. When I arrived around 10, I stopped at the security guard shack, feeling I’d rather be safe than sorry about trying to use my band at the registered guests side. The guard was rather cross with me. He scanned my band, asked me what I was doing there, then requested to see photo ID. When I told him the reservation wasn’t in my name, he said he needed to see ID of the person who it was under-that has never happened to me before. My friend is a CM so he often goes to register us before we arrive and no other resort has given us this trouble. When I explained that he had already been to check in the guard rudely told me to just go in and park.


      With that out of the way, I parked in the self-serve lot and took my bags in to Bell Services. Our room was not ready yet so I boarded the monorail to Magic Kingdom. The monorail was the only transportation we used at this resort but we never really had any problems. There was one time when they needed to reboot the system, which resulted in the A/C being turned off for a few minutes, but that was a very minor inconvenience.


      Around 1:30, I received a text that our room was 8426 (Boca Chica) and it was ready, so I immediately headed back, stopping to pick up my bags on the way. It’s like the room assigners knew exactly what I wanted! We were on the fourth floor and had a nice view of the courtyard pool and grounds. The room itself was beautiful and I really like the new décor; I feel it’s much less stuffy than the old pastels and floral designs. I also got a kick out of the GF monogram on the throw pillows, as those are my initials! We had a connecting door and the insulation was very thin; at 3am I could hear the neighbors’ phone ringing and them sneezing.


      We ate at Grand Floridian Café and Gasparilla’s Island Grill; both were very good. We enjoyed both pools and I thought the slide at the Beach Pool was the second best I’ve been on (beat only by Boardwalk). The lounge chairs were cushioned, not the plastic ones at all other resorts, and there was a cast member from the poolside bar wandering around checking to see if anyone needed drinks or food.


      There was a commercial being filmed in the lobby for Disney Parks online, so we were politely asked to move from the couch we were occupying as to not be in the shot.


      Like a previous poster, I was concerned about this resort feeling too upscale, as it has in the past when I’ve visited. However, it was very enjoyable for the night and I would consider a longer stay, if only I could afford it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RSZB

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Allentown, PA
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location,
      Cons: limited monorail during our stay

       
      This was my first stay at the Grand Floridian Resort. I had concerns about the resort feeling too “upscale” for us, but it had the most reasonable room rate available on the monorail for the 2 nights (June 23-25) we wanted. I reserved an outer building lagoon view room, but was upgraded to the Royal Palm Club in room (4319) in the main building! This was a girls’ trip and the deluxe queen room was beautiful and very large with a view of the pool and Wishes fireworks from the balcony. Our room was located very close to the monorail station.


      Our room was on the 3rd floor where 2 concierge desks were located. We had access to the 4th floor lounge via internal stairs or elevator. The lounge offered food and beverages 4 times throughout the day. There were usually 2 cast members attending to replenishing the refreshments. The offerings were varied, delicious, and plentiful. The lounge overlooks the lobby and is especially nice during the live music performances. A pianist plays Disney tunes from late afternoon to early evening and then a band plays until 10pm. There were a handful of shops located around the lobby which all had different operating hours.


      It seemed there were more cast members here than at other resorts. They were professional, friendly, and helpful. The turn down service was a nice touch.


      We used the monorail to and from the Magic Kingdom. It was stuffy and warm with a distinct lack of air flow on all occasions. Is this a side effect of the work being done?


      We only used the bus service once. Due to the modified monorail schedule, a bus ran directly to EPCOT for Extra Magic Morning Hours.


      The boat service was efficient enough. We used it a couple times. One night we used it after 11pm from Magic Kingdom, since the posted monorail closing time was 11pm. The boat dock was completely full and another boat was summoned to help with volume.


      One evening, we walked around the grounds to get a sense for the whole resort. The pool slide was open past 10pm as was the water play area. Both inside and outside areas seem huge to me, but it didn’t feel crowded anywhere. There was construction work going on in the Sugar Loaf building.


      I would recommend the Grand Floridian Royal Palm Club level rooms if you are committed to taking advantage of the extra services. I can only hope to be able to stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BWK0701

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun June 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING !!!
      Cons:

       
      This was our third stay at the Grand Floridian so we have always been very happy staying there but this time was exceptional. The rooms have been renovated and are done very well. All the staff members we encountered seemed to be at their best, from the front desk to house keeping! Love the turn down service and on our last day my daughter received a rose on her bed, a very nice touch that we never experienced before. I would highly recommend staying here, both of my children love staying here as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy55

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: CT.
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri January 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful rooms - friendly staff -
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed here in early January and could not have had a nicer experience. Staff is always friendly - Kim at Gasparilla Grill is wonderful! Minzer's Lounge is a great place to sit, listen to music and enjoy a glass of wine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NINALINDA1023

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Fri November 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): WE LOVE THIS RESORT, IT IS ALWAYS CLEAN, THE STAFF IS WONDERFUL
      Cons: NOT A THING

       
      We love the Grand Floridian Resort, we have stayed there many times. This resort is like no other. The service you get is incredible. Yes it is a little expensive but worth every penny. For being a deluxe resort you would never feel more comfortable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BermudaJen

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun September 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, beautiful grounds, amenities
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed at GF during last week of August 2013. The main building is beautiful. We stayed in an outer building (Conch Key) which we requested in advance. We had views of MK and fireworks every night from our balcony and were just steps away from the boat launch and Narcoossee's. The only (somewhat negative) aspect is having to walk to main building for monorail/busses and Gaparilla's to refill mugs. However, our experience was wonderful. Once you stay at GF, you don't want to stay at other Disney resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      missy

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Tue July 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): on monorail
      Cons: not the cleanest room

       
      Room could have been cleaned up better. Glass doors were dirty. Floor not vacuumed properly. Bathroom floor not cleaned every day. Fruit flies on food in concierge. Told CM and they said they knew of it. We were in main building. That was nice because of not leaving building to get on monorail when it was raining to get to other resorts on monorail.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, lobby, courteous staff
      Cons: room cleanliness, food court

       
      Having stayed @ almost all of the Disney resorts, the Grand Floridian is by far the crème de la crème of Disney properties. The location to the Magic Kingdom & the monorail is an asset. The lobby is grand & relaxing to sit and listen to the piano players & orchestra. All of the staff are courteous & professional. Upon our last stay, the only disappointment was the lack of cleanliness detail to the room. We were surprised to discover this. The balcony had beer caps on the ground from previous guests. In addition, a child's ponytail holder from a previous guest was found on the floor and a purchase sticker from Best Buy was found stuck to the nightstand. Clearly housekeeping did not carefully take their time when cleaning the room. We didn't complain to management, but in retrospect, we should have. The food court needs to get rid of the arcade games which are loud and distracting. They need to take these out and provide more seating for guest. Despite these few floors, we love the Floridian & will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mom2maddie

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, room, service
      Cons: Bus to/from HS

       
      Stayed in Conch Key Bldg top fl dormer room for 5 nts recently. Nice room (garden view) and could see lagoon and elec water pageant at night! Boat to MK and monorail to Epcot can't be beat. Only downside was lengthy walk for bus drop at HS and then very long wait for bus at night!
      Housekeeping was best we've ever had and turndown is nice! My daughter wrote our maid a thank you note and we left her a nice tip because she was so good! Service in hotel and restaurants and pool bars was good as well. Would stay here again if I get the chance and will try for the new DVC that is being built.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      auntie3187

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue February 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): near Magic Kingdom and Monorail to Epcot
      Cons: only negative (which will be temporary) was the construction that was going on while i was there

       
      My friend and I stayed at the Grand Floridian Room 9439 from 2/10-2/16 which had a lagoon view. We found it to be a wonderful place to stay. Turn down service is a fine welcome back after a long day at the parks. Every cast member we ran into was very helpful and cheerful. Our room had a view of the lagoon and every night we were able to view the electric water pageant, which was quite beautiful.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.