Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Wendy55

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: CT.
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri January 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful rooms - friendly staff -
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed here in early January and could not have had a nicer experience. Staff is always friendly - Kim at Gasparilla Grill is wonderful! Minzer's Lounge is a great place to sit, listen to music and enjoy a glass of wine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NINALINDA1023

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Fri November 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): WE LOVE THIS RESORT, IT IS ALWAYS CLEAN, THE STAFF IS WONDERFUL
      Cons: NOT A THING

       
      We love the Grand Floridian Resort, we have stayed there many times. This resort is like no other. The service you get is incredible. Yes it is a little expensive but worth every penny. For being a deluxe resort you would never feel more comfortable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BermudaJen

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun September 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, beautiful grounds, amenities
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed at GF during last week of August 2013. The main building is beautiful. We stayed in an outer building (Conch Key) which we requested in advance. We had views of MK and fireworks every night from our balcony and were just steps away from the boat launch and Narcoossee's. The only (somewhat negative) aspect is having to walk to main building for monorail/busses and Gaparilla's to refill mugs. However, our experience was wonderful. Once you stay at GF, you don't want to stay at other Disney resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      missy

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Tue July 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): on monorail
      Cons: not the cleanest room

       
      Room could have been cleaned up better. Glass doors were dirty. Floor not vacuumed properly. Bathroom floor not cleaned every day. Fruit flies on food in concierge. Told CM and they said they knew of it. We were in main building. That was nice because of not leaving building to get on monorail when it was raining to get to other resorts on monorail.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, lobby, courteous staff
      Cons: room cleanliness, food court

       
      Having stayed @ almost all of the Disney resorts, the Grand Floridian is by far the crème de la crème of Disney properties. The location to the Magic Kingdom & the monorail is an asset. The lobby is grand & relaxing to sit and listen to the piano players & orchestra. All of the staff are courteous & professional. Upon our last stay, the only disappointment was the lack of cleanliness detail to the room. We were surprised to discover this. The balcony had beer caps on the ground from previous guests. In addition, a child's ponytail holder from a previous guest was found on the floor and a purchase sticker from Best Buy was found stuck to the nightstand. Clearly housekeeping did not carefully take their time when cleaning the room. We didn't complain to management, but in retrospect, we should have. The food court needs to get rid of the arcade games which are loud and distracting. They need to take these out and provide more seating for guest. Despite these few floors, we love the Floridian & will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mom2maddie

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, room, service
      Cons: Bus to/from HS

       
      Stayed in Conch Key Bldg top fl dormer room for 5 nts recently. Nice room (garden view) and could see lagoon and elec water pageant at night! Boat to MK and monorail to Epcot can't be beat. Only downside was lengthy walk for bus drop at HS and then very long wait for bus at night!
      Housekeeping was best we've ever had and turndown is nice! My daughter wrote our maid a thank you note and we left her a nice tip because she was so good! Service in hotel and restaurants and pool bars was good as well. Would stay here again if I get the chance and will try for the new DVC that is being built.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      auntie3187

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue February 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): near Magic Kingdom and Monorail to Epcot
      Cons: only negative (which will be temporary) was the construction that was going on while i was there

       
      My friend and I stayed at the Grand Floridian Room 9439 from 2/10-2/16 which had a lagoon view. We found it to be a wonderful place to stay. Turn down service is a fine welcome back after a long day at the parks. Every cast member we ran into was very helpful and cheerful. Our room had a view of the lagoon and every night we were able to view the electric water pageant, which was quite beautiful.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jellybean74

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat December 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Luxurious, Clean, Excellent Service
      Cons: Front Desk inefficiency

       
      We stayed here from Nov 5 to Nov 10 as part of a split stay that also involved 5 days at the Polynesian. The Grand Floridian far exceeded any expectations we had of it.


      We were blown away by the excellent customer service from everyone from bell services to mousekeeping to concierge help. Just a wonderful experience.


      The only problem we encountered and it wasn't much of one was when we were checking in, they apparantly had 2 new employees on duty with one person supervising them. So while the supervisor was helping the other newbie we were struggling to be checked in by ours. This was our first visit and I feel that if we had a more seasoned front desk worker we would have been welcomed to Disney better. We didn't get our building request or floor request and while they were able to find us a higher floor (we just didn't want to be on the first floor) we were unable to be placed in the building we requested. There was some confusion with the keys because of switching rooms, but I don't think it should have taken 45 minutes to check us in.


      We did pay for a Theme Park View and that did not disappoint. We were in Big Pine Key and it was a short walk to the main lobby and monorail.


      There was construction going on while we were there but we did not feel like it took away for the experience there at all.


      Our room was very clean, bright and airy. The temperature control was always comfortable. We had wonderful mousekeeping throughout our whole stay, complete with towel animals and my daughter's stuffed animals and dolls always rearranged when we returned. Turn down services every night was a wonderful extra touch. We ordered from In Room Dining and had excellent food and service. Bell services was always prompt and polite.


      The beds, pillows and towels were all so fluffy and comfortable. Lighting was great in the room and we never heard any noises from outside or other rooms.


      Overall, everyone was so welcoming, the employee's in the gift shop knew my daughter by name and were always so pleasant. The ease of staying on the monorail loop was wonderful and all other transportation was fine.


      We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this resort to anyone who has the opportunity to stay there!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FrescasMom

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri October 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Monorail, 1900 Park Faire, access to Magic Kingdom and other monorail resorts
      Cons: Construction, Gasparillas closed

       
      We've stayed at the Grand Floridian the last several times we've vacationed at WDW. We have always had very good experiences. And while this time was still nice, all the contruction is very distracting.
      We stayed in Big Pine Key, had a beautiful deluxe suite - but the view is completely surrounded by construction walls and since we were on the second floor we could actually see into what used to be the courtyard pool - which is now just a huge concrete pit. They just put in a childrens activity pool with an Alice in Wonderland theme. Would have been nice to use it, but everytime we tried it was closed. I asked the activities director what was going on and she said because it was new and they were working the kinks out it was only open certain times and certain days. My daughter was so sad she couldn't use it and we tried several times.
      Another BIG disappointment was that Gasparilla's was closed - seemed like everything was closed & under construction.


      By the time I heard about the construction, it was too late to reschedule my trip and I really didn't want to stay anywhere else. Let's hope by the next time the Grand Floridian will actually BE Grand again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NINALINDA1023

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Wed May 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): WE LOVE THIS RESORT....
      Cons: NOT A THING

       
      We love this resort...It is always clean and smells incredible...this resort has everything you need and then some....We love the rooms, staff, resturants, grounds and of course the AMAZING LOBBY....Everyone is also so friendly and helpful...we love the pools and also it is so convient to have 5 star resturants downstairs..We give this Resort *****....Cannot wait to go back again...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ladies4Disney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu May 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Monorail to MK, Relaxing Music in Lobby
      Cons: Transfers to Epcot, Bus Transp. to Other Parks

       
      Four of us stayed at this resort the week of May 13th to celebrate my Mother's Birthday. The hotel staff was great. We got a Birthday pin at the front desk for the week and a cast member put my Mom on the phone to hear a Birthday message from Goofy. We had two connecting rooms in the Big Pine Key Building. It was not a far walk from the Main Lobby. The monorail to the Magic Kingdom was very convenient, but the transfer to Epcot was not. We all thought the resort was beautiful and enjoyed our stay and meals at Citricos and the Grand Floridian Cafe.


      Three of us have stayed at the Yacht Club several times in the past, our last trip being October, 2011. We all agreed that even though we enjoyed the Grand Floridian, in our opinion, the Yacht Club location was more convenient for us adults. The rooms at the Yacht Club were quieter; the transportation options were better; and we were able to walk to Epcot for dinners at the various countries.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jimarico

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri April 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at the Grand Floridian in October 2011 and we loved it! My boys were 2 and 4 and although it didn't offer a whole lot by way of kid-friendly activities, they both loved the pool area and were happy enough with it. The lobby was GRAND and the rooms were very clean and well-kept. It was so nice to be on the monorail and only one stop from Magic Kingdom, but in hindsight, I don't know that it's a big deal since transportation to the other parks requires some travel time and transfers.


      We loved being able to go down to the lake and watch the MK fireworks at night and were even able to see them from the pool. Knowing that we weren't dealing with the crowd every night was actually quite nice.


      Character dining at 1900 Park Fare was good. The breakfast was standard Disney buffet and the characters were not familiar to my kids, but they were entertaining nonetheless.


      All in all, we loved the Grand Floridian!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenjenjellybean123

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat March 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING
      Cons: NOTHING

       
      I love the Grand Floridian. I used to stay at the Polynesian then we switched to the Grand Floridian and well it's just GRAND! The best is at Christmas time the hotel looks amazing! They have the gorgeous tree and the ginger bread house. I adore this resort!!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      potterpulsive

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Atmosphere
      Cons: Rundown, inconsistent

       
      I recently stayed at the Grand Floridian with my wife for a Valentine's day getaway. The resort was beautiful, the room was a good size although upon closer inspection we could see signs of wear. While not critical these detracted from the feeling of being in a deluxe resort.
      One thing that really stood out for us was the maid service. It seemed like every time we turned around, we were tripping over the maids. Their carts were in the hallway outside our room all day along with piles of clean and, to our dismay, dirty laundry. It sat there for hours. Our room often wasn't cleaned when we came back in the early evening and turn down was only done by the time we got back on one night. The location and convenience to Magic Kingdom was beyond compare and if I had little kids to drag back and forth, the extra cost for convenience would be worth it, but otherwise I wouldn't stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Njdisney

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Resort
      Cons: transportation to parks

       
      We stayed 10/23-10/29. The resort was beautiful. The staff were friendly and very nice. We had a Garden Room and stayed at Sago Cay- the room was big, with a sitting room area, very nice. We were facing the lagoon- we were at the end by the bus stop (which was very convenient). I picked this resort because it was closest to MK. Since GF is one stop away from MK, the monorail was ALWAYS very crowded when we got on (and we were not there during a busy time)and then leaving we were the last stop to get off. And to get to AK and HS took a long time with the buses (and we were the last bus stop- so we had to stand). Also getting to Epcot took a long time with the transfer. So, although the resort is gorgeous, for the little time we spent at the hotel- it is not very convenient to HS, Epcot or AK, not sure it was worth the money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.