Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • disneylover97

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun April 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Wilderness Lodge is my favorite resort on Disney property. I have stayed at almost all the resorts and this is always my favorite. The service is excellent, transportation is not an issue and it is a beautiful hotel.


      The atmosphere of the wilderness lodge is very relaxing, it is out of the hustle and bustle of the parks...It isn't busy. For transportation the bus situation is similar to other Disney resorts, sometimes they are quick and sometimes you have to wait a little but they do share the bus with another resort. The boat to magic kingdom is just wonderful. It's the resorts almost "private" boat...it takes you back and fourth only to magic kingdom and back it doesn't make stops at any other resort. My family really enjoyed the boat epscislly when the driver would sing different Disney songs Smile


      The food options are awesome. Roaring fork is on the smaller side but has really good food! They also have a few treats you can only find there.. Like the magic bars and s'mores cupcakes which we enjoyed. Whispering Canyon Cafe is a very cute resturant and Artist Point is on the expensive side, but is delicious.


      Overall the service and cast members are truly amazing here and we have never had an issue. The pool is small and not the best on Disney property but is perfect to take a dip during the day when taking a break from the parks. It is so peaceful at the wilderness lodge and I recommend checking out this resort!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CupcakePrincess

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Baltimore
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue February 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Confortable Beds, Comfortable chairs
      Cons: buses,

       
      My husband and I stayed here on our Honeymoon from 1/4-1/9. When we arrived, the breathtaking Christmas tree and all the other wonderful Christmas decorations were still up. They remained up until our last night, which was such a treat! We explored the resort one night and found an area above the lobby with fireplaces! It was secluded and we ended up relaxing there listening to the mur murs of everyone below for a good solid hour.


      I was worried that the beds would be too hard for us. We are tempur-pedic bed snobs so conventional mattresses really tweak our backs. This was probably the best conventional mattress I've laid on. Probably the best hotel mattress I've ever experienced.


      We requested a room near the elevators, and they ended up putting us on the other side of the resort next to stairs. The stairs were convenient, but took a toll on our bad knees. We were situated on the 3rd floor, with a woods view facing the villas. On the left we could see some of bay lake and on the right we could see the villa's pool. It was a gorgeous view. Another positive was the chairs on the balcony. I was nervous that my large bum wouldn't fit, but we encountered all the chairs with armrests at that resort to be plenty big for my large bottom.


      Be sure not to miss the electrical water pageant. It was adorable. The night we saw it, it was so cold and so windy. We went and got hot chocolate and plopped ourselves on the beach to enjoy it as much as we could. The music and the lights were cute and enjoyable!


      We did have a negative experience with someone at the front desk, but another cast member ended up saving the day for us.


      The boat to and from the Magic Kingdom is fantastic. The buses are the worst possible thing though. They are far and few in between and when they do show up, they take you to another resort to pick up more guests. The whole bus situation was frustrating that we took our car to the parks after that.


      I hope to stay here again in the future!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beilfamily

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun January 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location to MK
      Cons: None!

       
      We stayed here on our honeymoon in 1998. We have since stayed in 2004, 2008, 2011, and 2014. Minor things have changed but one thing stays the same....this place always just feels like "home". We have visited several other resorts and just do not feel the "magic" like we do at the Lodge. It's a great location with lots of amenities.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyGrandma68

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Sat January 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Absolutely everything and the boat to Wilderness Campground
      Cons: Pool bar was closed the first 2 days Ha Ha

       
      This is the best resort in the WDW family of resorts. It is beautiful at Christmas time. We were there from 11/29 to 12/5/14. Everyone is so great and the new renovations are fantastic. We are ready to book our week for next December already. We've now become Disney Annual pass holders (Florida) so we can visit even more often. The staff at WL was great and housekeeping was so efficient each day of our stay. I didn't have it everyday, however, my son and daughter in law did and it was also good service for them each day. Roaring Fork had some nice food offerings and tasted fresh. We will return next year and every year we are able. We had a breakfast at Trail's End and it was so nice to take a 5 minute boat ride to get there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chiro14

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu December 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Location! Boat to MK! Gorgeous property!
      Cons: None

       
      This was our 3rd time here during late October/November and we won't stay anywhere else(have stayed in most other resorts).
      Gorgeous property, unreal lobby, excellent service, clean, and the boat to MK is fabulous and convenient. When we checked in we were told the pool was under renovation but could use other facilities. When the cast member saw I was disappointed, she offered me a partial refund which was greatly appreciated.
      Just driving up to the front entrance gives me goose bumps. Wonderful place, magical place!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      horsefun

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon October 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the boat to Magic Kingdom
      Cons: the buses

       
      This was our first stay at a deluxe resort. We have stayed at several moderate resorts. We stayed in a room with a queen bed and bunk beds. Woods view. Honestly, I didn't find much that made this resort so much better than some of the moderate resorts. Obviously, it is beautiful. I expected the room to be a little nicer, but really, other than being a bit bigger, the beds were about the same and the amenities were the same. I don't know if we happened to be in a handicapped accessible room or whether all of the rooms have the bathroom we had: no tub, walk in shower which was nice. Here is my assessment compared to moderate resorts:
      POSITIVES FOR WL: Our room happened to be on the first floor right near the quick service restaurant, which was great for getting drinks and snacks. However, since the hotel is built upward instead of outward (like Caribbean Beach), you are really not far from anything at the hotel, no matter where your room is. This is fantastic compared to Caribbean Beach, where everything is too far away to want to walk to after a long day at the parks. The boat to MK is FANTASTIC. It is worth the stay here alone. It comes very frequently and is a nice departure from the crowded bus system. The housekeepers were MUCH friendlier than any other place I have stayed.
      NEUTRAL FOR WL: the room was a room was a room. It was as cleaned about as well as any we have been in. I think the bed may have been LESS comfortable than some I have had at other resorts.
      NEGATIVE FOR WL: and for me...this was a big negative. I don't know if this was normal procedure for "off season" (mid Sept), although I have been off season at other resorts without this issue. The buses. For the Magical Express and for the bus transportation around WDW, you are grouped with Grand Floridian, Polynesian, and Wilderness Campground. Seems that for Magical Express, WL is the lowest man on the totem pole for these resorts. You get dropped off last and picked up first. So, even though our resort had the most passengers, we dropped off at Grand Floridian and Polynesian first. THEN, when leaving for the airport, we got picked up first (earlier call time). By the time we got to the airport, we were all just about car sick, which was a first for my daughter and hubby. But even worse...the buses for traveling to parks. Here it was actually a bonus to be picked up first as we actually got seats. We would leave WL every time with full seats and sometimes people standing and then go to pack more on at Polynesian and GFL. I felt so bad for GFL people. They got packed in like sardines, standing room only. I am talking jam packed in. They never got seats. Even off season at moderate resorts, I have never seen anything like it. I expected to be treated a little better than this. And I certainly expected GFL guests to be treated better than that. Also, a negative, just in case you have large children (long children) or adults for the bunk beds: they are not as long as the queen bed. They are like normal bunk beds. So, even though it says the room sleeps 4 adults...they better be short adults (and kids). Really loud fridge (which could be true anywhere).


      There was a cast member with a hand held computer at the resort bus stops...I am assuming organizing buses. Hopefully Disney will improve this system. Great idea. Bad execution.


      For us, the bad buses ALMOST negated the great boat. But, due to the closeness of everything to your room at WL, we would stay here again over a moderate resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Theme, Staff
      Cons: Main pool under construction

       
      We stayed three nights at the Wilderness Lodge starting September 20, 2014. Our room had a queen bed with a fold out twin murphy bed. Mouse keeping was immaculate – the room was spotless when we arrived and stayed that way for our entire stay.


      My only complaint was the fact that the main pool was closed for renovations which meant that the only pool on site was the one at the Villas – which is rather small and became very crowed!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      glufactory57

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: Levittown, NY
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu April 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds,great theme& wonderful hot tubs
      Cons: some long bus rides

       
      Stayed 4 nights 3/31 - 4/4 DH and myself. Weather was great so that helps but resort is about my favorite. Fast service can be very crazy in AM but not bad - few choices though. Room clean and comfortable. Resort is BEAUTIFUL. Only complaint is a 45 min. bus ride to Typhoon Lagoon. Probably will take cab next time. The boat ride to Magic Kingdom is a perfect way to get there. One pet peeve I have is no parental supervision in hot tubs - but that's at all the resorts. Absolutely will return to this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lisakb22

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming,location, service
      Cons: bus sharing

       
      We loved this resort!We had stayed at 3 other moderates and up graded to a Deluxe and weren't sorry.This resort is the smallest on property so it is easy to use all of the services provided without having to walk a mile to get there! The only downside to staying here was the bus service-we shared with Fort Wilderness or the Grand Floridian-this was a new not pleasant experience compared to the moderates we had stayed at that had their own bus. I feel if you are paying a premium for staying at a Deluxe Resort,each one should have its own bus,some of the rides to the parks were long as well as some of the waits to get a bus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BigB

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      Every aspect of this resort are amazing! The landscaping is beautiful and the rooms are great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenniemouse

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sat February 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, rooms
      Cons: none

       
      Loved taking boat to MK. Rooms had plenty of room for storage and we could see fireworks from our woods view balcony. Food court was small and crowded around the coffee in the morning but served us when we need it. Bus stopped at GF on way to AK and FW campsites on way to EP. We drove our car to HS. Overall loved it and would go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenniemouse

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue January 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, boats to Magic Kingdom, room size
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed here from 1/18-1/26. 2 Adults 2 kiddos. Room 4026 woods view. We could see fireworks through the trees! Was a little confusing when we first pulled up in our car with the unloading process etc. The room was great. Plenty of storage and very cozy beds. My only complaint there was no where to hang towels after using them. Mousekeeping was great. Got towel animals twice. They brought us a stepstool for our son when we called. We were right by elevator which was nice and laundry was very close by. Food court was fine. Small and crowded by coffee. Sandwiches were the best and we had breakfast on our last day. Buses were hit or miss. We drove our car to Hollywood Studios. Waited a while in the morning for other park buses. Bus stopped at Grand Floridian on the way to Animal Kingdom and at Campground on the way to Epcot. We enjoyed the boat to and from Magic Kingdom and to Contemporary as we went there twice. Overall a great place. Was too cold to enjoy the pool. But I definitely plan to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TGropp

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Stratford, Ontario
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed here from Dec 18-26 and it is the only place to stay at Christmastime. It does not get any better than this Decorations are beautiful and it seems like your a million miles away from WDW. My favorite resort of them all.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Irishrabbit

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location, good on-site restaurants
      Cons: Rooms are a bit old, need some updating

       
      Hubby & I stayed at the WL 12/13-12/20. We'd stayed here years ago, but this trip was my 50th Birthday trip from hubby.
      We used the Magical Express from the airport, and were greeted by a cast member as soon as we got off the bus. Check in was fairly quick. There were magic bands waiting for us even though we didn't opt to take them. We're old fashioned when it comes to those, would much rather have the card. We opted for a "woods view" room, and were assigned a room on the 6th floor overlooking a few trees, but with major views of the parking lot & bus loading area. The room was very old looking, and not what I was expecting for this special trip. We called the front desk, and were told there wasn't much available that night, but they would have the manager call us. The front end manager (Jackson?) called us & asked if we could stay in this room that night, and the next day he could get us into a room "more appropriate for a birthday celebration". The next morning we had bell services bring our luggage downstairs to be stored, and our important stuff was locked in a safe by the front desk. Because we had breakfast reservations at the Kona Café and things were taking longer than expected, the cast member had a taxi take us over to the Poly on them so we could make our reservation. We got back to the resort around 4, and went to the front desk to get our new room keys. We were assigned room #4169, which turned out to be a concierge suite overlooking Bay Lake! Needless to say, this room was incredible, amazing views, totally worthy of a 50th Birthday trip! This room seemed to have been updated, and was very comfortable. Our Mousekeeper Qun kept our room spotless, and made us little animals out of small towels to go along with the stuffed characters we had purchased!
      The dining options at WL are very good, having both a quick service, casual and fine dining spot.
      The lobby was decorated beautifully for Christmas too. WL has a nice shop, much larger than I remembered, with a nice selection of merchandise, including resort themed items.
      The bus service at WL seemed to be a bit better than last year when we stayed at POFQ. We did wait about 30 minutes for buses, and twice waited 40 minutes on nights we needed to make connections to get to dinner reservations. The boat from WL to MK & Contemporary was very pleasant. I do recommend this beautiful resort, it made for an incredible birthday present for me, but it is a bit pricey.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disneyhenry

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Great Location when you have little ones, Happy & Friendly Staff, Great Food
      Cons: Roaring Forks to small, no monorail

       
      Our stay was 12/2/13 - 12/10/13
      We had party of 15 with 4 rooms, 10 adults, 1 13 year old, 1 6 year old, 2 4 year olds and an 20 month old. 3 rooms with courtyard views and bunk beds, 1 with a woods view and 2 queen beds.
      We did an online check in, we checked in at 7:30 AM, we knew our rooms would not be ready, we just wanted to start going to the parks. The lobby was just amazingly beautiful!!! Of course I asked if any rooms had a view of the Castle in the MK, she told me no, the trees have taken over. Check in was timely manner and staff very happy, friendly.
      We all received a text about 2PM telling us our room numbers. We had 6051, 6049, 6045 and the wood views had 6034. All the rooms have a nice view, but room 6034 had an amazing view of the Castle!!!
      I did go down to chat with the front desk staff when it was quiet for them, they told me what rooms had a view of the castle for future reference.
      All the staff at WL was just so happy, fun and friendly. Our rooms were very clean and the style was up to date.
      The boat to MK was perfect, we all loved the pool (it was around 85 for most of our stay), the walk from the parking lot was not to long (we had rented a 15 passenger van), my sisters and adult kids used the buses and said they were fine, I never used the bus system.
      We loved Whispering Canyon, Roaring Forks had great food but was way to small. Christmas decor was just perfect
      We will stay here again for sure! All of us want to, it was a perfect stay
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.