Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • bjpatton

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Washington Court House, Ohio
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu July 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Own bus route between parks and resort
      Cons: Can be a bit noisy at night

       
      We stayed 1 night this time at Pop Century on 7/14, and as usual we were quite happy! We got to the resort at about 7:45a that morning so that we can park there at the resort and just hop on the bus up to the Magic Kingdom, so I went to check in to get the parking pass for my car, and the CM at the front desk told me my room was already ready, and we can take our stuff up to the room, and we did exactly that! We were in the 60's section (went with the preferred room), and we were on the 4th floor facing the pool. That night after we got back from the Magic Kingdom, it was nice with the quick walk to our room, but well past 10p it was still fairly noisy outside around the pool, which I didn't like a lot. The next morning it was quiet, and we checked out, but still kept the car there and got on the bus to Downtown Disney/Disney Springs to do some shopping before we left. We'll be staying there again, just not with the pool view.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cyrnanc

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue July 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, dedicated bus, & theme
      Cons: Food court this trip

       
      We had stayed at Pop century when the kids were 5 & 7 and loved it so we knew we should stay here again. Kids are now 12 & 15. We stayed 7/7-7/14. We like the theme it seems like you are in disney. We visited the Plonesian and yes it was nice but didn't seem like you are at Disney. We reserved a preferred room and were in room 437 in the 70s section. At first I thought it was not close to the busses but you could go around by the parking lot and the busses were right there. We could even see DHS fireworks on the walkway outside of our room. The room had a mini fridge (able to fit 2 half gallons of milk, 8 waters, grapes and a box of breakfast sandwiches). It also had a full size hair dryer with high/low setting, An ironing board and iron, flat screen tv with remote & alarm clock.there is a small table with 2 chairs. There is not enough drawer space for 4 people but we made due. The sink/mirror is outside of the bathroom which was nice. Also a curtain separated the sink area from the bed area. You don't even go to the front desk to check in. If you completed the online info before, they just text you when your room is ready with your room number and you use your magic bands to get in. Same with check out-no need to go to the desk. The kids can get in with their magic bands too which is nice.


      They gave 3 pools, no slides but good size. We used the 90's area computer pool since it was close to our room and less busy. I did use washer & dryers one day while we were at the pool. It's right near the pool area.$2.50 each for wash & dry. You need your magic band to get in.


      You could also walk over to the Art of animation across the bridge. We used their bus one night coming back after fireworks since it was a shorter line and came quicker than ours. It was a short walk.
      I stil loved it but this time the food court was horrible. It was slow, food was cold, small portions and expensive. I wasn't expecting a gourmet meal. It wasn't that bad the first time we stayed there but this time we did not want to eat there. I hope they try to make it better.
      I would love to stay here again; price, bus service, theming are all great but they need to fix the food court.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Oneanne

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Seattle WA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri May 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Bus Service, Price
      Cons:

       
      Just returned from my 05.16 - 23 trip and 5th stay at POP. Had requested upper level lake view (my favorite) and this is the first time that request wasn't fulfilled... they didn't even get close as the assigned room was on the ground floor/pool view. As a single traveler ground floor is not desirable, so I asked if they could at least change this and they did give me an upper level/pool view. This is the first time I've done advance on-line check-in, and I don't know if that made a difference or not: I take a red eye from the west coast and always arrive early. If I check in at the front desk they do try to see if they can assign at room at that time but trip I got lumped in to the mass room assignments at 3pm, and I don't think they even saw the special request. Pool view is definately louder - the happy voices are enjoyable but the cleaning and maintenance noises in early morning not so much. I was also in the 70's building for the first time, somehow in the past I have always been in 50's or 60's. Cutting thru the parking lot makes the walk to the bus stop pretty quick, but I would much rather walk thru the resort... just a personal preference.


      Only got a few things at the food court... can't say I loved any of the food items but the Brownie Sundae was devine - and huge. Food court cast members seemed friendlier and more up beat than in the past.


      Room was fine, in good shape and clean. The bus service was great, even though the POP buses are always at the very last bus stop - at every park Smile.


      For the price this is a great option due to location and dedicated bus service - and only one bus stop for the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caltex

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cost, Dedicated bus, Theming
      Cons: Limited food selection, Motel feel

       
      A family with small kids, adults only, or those folks on a budget should give the POP serious consideration. It is a Value resort so expectations should not be high. However, if you want a clean, relatively comfy bed, and pools then this is for you. Keep in mind it only has twin (not queen) size beds so a family of four with older kids may want to upgrade to a Moderate or check out the suites at AoA.


      I have stayed at the POP before and it is consistently good. The cast members are helpful and during this stay some of the cast members danced to "Do the Hustle" which immediately told us we were on vacation! The dedicated bus service is a big plus, but if you opt to visit Downtown Disney in the morning know that the bus service is probably a 20-30 min wait. The food is typical food court offerings - not bad, but not great either. Depending on which building you have been assigned it can be a "long" walk to the lobby, bus, food court. By long I mean a few minutes, but in the Orlando heat it can make a difference. In addition, during this stay it was just my wife and me. If you have little ones, disabled folks, or elderly folks the walking distance can be prohibitive.


      Bottom line, if you view a resort as a place to sleep and you spend most of your time elsewhere, then the POP is the resort of choice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri January 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, amentities
      Cons: Pool is a bit boring

       
      For the money, I think this is the best of the Value hotels. You have easy access to the Art of Animation to go look around/eat at if you want to be a little adventurous, nice grounds, and a decent food court. The pools are a bit of a bore, but no more so than the other Values (need to go moderate if you are planning on spending days at the hotel swimming). Overall if your main goal is strictly parks/downtown with just very little time looking for things to do around the hotel, this a great hotel for you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Afforable
      Cons: A few

       
      What a difference one year can make! First, we had to book our rooms through a travel provider due to staying for a sports event at ESPN WWS. Disney would not let us book directly. The travel provider messed up who was in each room, which screwed up some of the magic bands. One family in our party spent 45 min at check-in fixing the problem. Second, we wanted the 70's building, but we were forced into the 50's since we were there on a group reservation for a sporting event.


      The bus service was the one bright spot on this stay. The bus to and from the MK and Downtown Disney were quick with a very small wait time.


      The main pool in the 60's building did not have heat. It was ice cold! That is unacceptable in January. Everyone crammed into the other pool areas at the 50's and 90's buildings. Only a handful of people were at the main pool (resort was packed) and they were still doing the pool activities there instead of moving to where all the kids were. If you wanted a drink from the pool bar you had to walk from one of the other pools.


      The food court was crazy busy in the morning, but I expected that and warned the rest of our party. Some chose to find out for themselves on Day 2 and were almost late for the sports event at the WWS.


      I remembered the beds in the 70's building were very comfortable last year. All the beds in our group section in the 50's building were sagging in the middle and you could feel the springs. One television did not work either.


      My rating for Pop Century went down from a 7 to a 4 this time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney_Dreamz

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Thu January 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything...
      Cons: Nothing

       
      My mom and I have been staying at Pop Century since 2007 and we LOVE it.


      We love the layout of the hotel. There are not LONG walks from any of the buildings to the main building, in my opinion.


      The food is great at Pop Century, although we have only eaten breakfast there. I would recommend it for first timers on a budget.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kelhalmom

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Bay Minette AL
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue December 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CMs, theming, kids area
      Cons: none

       
      This was our first stay at Pop. We had a wonderful time here.
      Check in was a breeze, only took a few minutes. We were super early and room wasn't ready, but I got a text by 9am saying it was ready. We were already in Down Town Disney by then!
      Our room was comfortable and clean. Mousekeeping was sufficient, but didn't go above and beyond. We asked for extra soap and tipped but none were left. It didn't bother us too much, though!
      The kids enjoyed the activities and the arcade. The shopping and food court were great as well. We ate there many times. The pizza was surprisingly good. We came in late one night and got delivery. We are a family of 5 with the 5th being a baby and we were comfortable in the room. We didn't spend a great deal of time in there though!
      The theming was great. My one year old son loved the Mickey phone and the potato heads.
      While my husband was loading our car to leave I took the kids to the small children's area. What a great treasure that little area was! There were Disney shows playing, video games, little comfy chairs, and best of all the most wonderful CM we have ever met. She sat in the floor and played potato heads with my son (his favorite). She was silly and he instantly loved her. After they played she played a board game with my 7 yo daughter. She was wonderful!
      I would not hesitate to stay at Pop again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney_Dreamz

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Wed November 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING.
      Cons: Some Cast Members...

       
      We LOVE Pop Century. Love EVERYTHING about it. We usually get a great room in a great section, without paying the $11.00 extra.


      This trip (nov 15-20th) we loved most cast members, except a few who didn't do their jobs right. One cast member in food court only took 1 side when she was supposed to work both sides.


      Other than that, normal expectations from friendly cast members.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      echambers

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat November 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything,Staff ,Clean
      Cons: Bus Lines were ATROCIOUS!!!!!

       
      1 hour wait to get to a bus to get to a park in the AM. Need more buses!!! Besides that it was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AlexMcG

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri November 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very clean rooms! 90's area quiet and close to parking lot. Food allergy friendly.
      Cons: Crowded dining. Some Concierge not so magical.

       
      We loved this resort from day one. Our first concierge was friendly and welcoming. We weren't sure about the long walk to the 90's building at the back. But we discovered we could shortcut through the parking lot direct to the buses. It was so quiet back there and so close to the computer pool which was never busy. Great spot!
      Had some nice meals at the food court. A notch above fast food chains for sure. The best part was eating gluten free and knowing I was SAFE. The chefs were very kind and extremely accommodating. They take food allergy seriously.


      We liked the food court....until we went next door to Art of Animation. In comparison Pop was very crowded and difficult to do in a scooter/wheelchair. We liked the menu better at Pop. So I guess there's always pros and cons and trade offs.


      Was surprised to get a couple of unsmiling unmagical Concierge later in week. Almost Grumpy. Not up to normal Disney standard. I guess everyone has a bad day. Even Disney cast members!


      Our visit was Nov 14 to 20, 2014
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Sat November 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, being on property, on site food court and shopping, planned activities, 1 bus stop, clean nice rooms
      Cons: uncovered bus stop, motel 6 (value) feel, loud if you are overlooking the main pool

       
      This was my second stay at Pop Century. The last one was only for a single night and in the 50's section. Based on a good experience, I stayed my entire trip (11 nights) at Pop Century this time and really enjoyed my stay. I was able to request a room on the upper level in the sixties section and it was ready for me when I checked in even though it wasn't even noon yet. The room was clean and roomy enough for a single traveler and I had plenty of space for all my things. However, had I been with a family of 4, I would have felt cramped and there would have been competition for drawer space and closet space. The beds were comfortable and a pillow top double was in my room. The sheets were comfortable too and I was surprised by that as I expected "hospital" grade stiff scratchy cheap sheets. They had redecorated since my last stay in 2012 and I liked the new updated modern look with the little toe throw thing rather than the full bedspread. The housekeeper kept my room spotless and tidied up behind me and even made a few towel animals and one day even made my blanket into a large bow in the bed. It was nice to come back to a clean tidy room and having her do something a little different every day with the decor was really nice. I set the thermostat at 65 and it stayed that way my entire trip. The bath/shower water was nice and hot too and steamy and a welcome change when I actually had to add some cold water to decrease the heat some. I did hear the toilets flush in other rooms but those are water saving power flushers and they are loud in residences too, so it's not like the walls are that thin. I rarely heard anyone else from other rooms while in my room. My room was quite peaceful on the backside of the pool building but those rooms close to the elevator/stairs and facing the pool were inundated with noise/sound/play/music from morning to night. The pools were heated and even on the cold days, kids were in the pool and the lifeguards were on duty. I enjoyed the movies by the pool at night. They even had a Halloween party with trick or treat stations out by the pool and Mickey and Minnie Mouse in Halloween costume for photo ops. I love this resort so much! There were hula hoops and they didn't mind that grown ups like me hooped a bit too. On the poor weather days, they moved the activities and games inside. The walk to the food court/concierge/bus stop was only a few minutes from my room. I had a lovely view facing the Art of Animation and a beautiful water view from my room 5334. Towels were plentiful and soap and shampoo too and they kept leaving them even though I had only opened one so the next to last day I packed them all up for souvenirs. I ended up bringing home 28 shampoos and 26 soaps!!! I told you, they kept leaving them like I was supposed to take them home, so I did. I actually liked the shampoo and the soap and it's a great improvement over that all in one gel they used to carry in the dispensers. There was a hairdryer, iron, and ironing board in the room and a mini refrigerator. The fridge was tiny so don't expect to keep more than a snack and a couple of drinks in there. The food court was decent too and I ate several meals there. They had a create your own omelet station which was the best choice from breakfast I found. I am not a fan of the bounty platters with the thin floppy bacon and carb loaded sides. I did enjoy my omelet very much though and they even had Texas Pete hot sauce with the condiments! Not quite Tabasco, but it was mild and it tasted great. My favorite sandwiches turned out to be the premade ones in the refrigerated case with either shaved turkey and cheese or ham and cheese. They were like you would fix at home, and I guess that was the appeal. I didn't want anything fancy just a plain sandwich on plain sandwich bread and that was the perfect option. These must have been a favorite of others too as the case was often sold out by early evening. The pastry I fell in love with was the chocolate croissant and it was flaky and tender with a wee bit of chocolate inside and wasn't overly sweet once I knocked all the chocolate chips off the outside. The sesame chicken was very good too and I would order it again. The rice had no flavor though and was just a filler. I did walk across the bridge to Art of Animation for a meal and had a wonderful acorn squash platter with basmati rice and naan that was worth the walk to get. The front desk was very helpful and all staff seemed to be trained well. They all had the answers to whatever I needed or asked. Theming was definitely fun and it was nostalgic walking around looking at all the icons from different generations. I enjoyed the walking trail and it was marked with remember when signs and facts about specific moments in history. The resort is landscaped beautifully with a variety of of trees and flowering plants. There are benches along the paths and some lovely views there. The place is well tended and clean overall. The room was nice, the food was decent for the most part, and I would definitely return for another stay. It isn't quite as nice as the moderates, but for the savings and for being on property with all it's perks, this is a great deal and I'd be quite content to stay there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      carsmom

      Registered: July 2008
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed October 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bus service, food court, room was clean
      Cons: various things "out of order", crowd, poor wifi, poor cell service,noise level

       
      This was our first visit to Pop Century. We have stayed at many other Disney resorts but my son has always wanted to stay here...so we gave it a shot. We did online check-in which went smooth. Our room was ready when we arrived shortly after noon. Our room was clean and met our needs. The grounds were well kept. The food court was good. However, in the future, I will probably return to a deluxe hotel...more for the convenience to the parks. Also, the noise level was more than I expected. As stated in other posts...yes, you can hear the toilets around you being flushed all night long. I was disappointed in the poor wi-fi service. It was also very hard to get any reception on my cell phone. I had to stand outside my room to place a phone call...that may not be a resort issue. Overall, we had a nice stay at Pop. But I think I will return to a deluxe resort next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tigger82

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue September 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price and Theming
      Cons: Front desk

       
      We stayed at Pop Century a number of times, and never had any problems until now(9/14-20, 2014). This time we opted for online check-in, but the online check-in people had no record of it, even though we were texted when we completed the process before we went. Since I'm legally blind, my mother gave her number to be texted when the room was ready, but we never received a text. When we got back from the park at night, we got our room number, and scheduled a wake up call which never came. Everyone else but the front desk was very efficient though.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Alexandra1986

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service, bus system, cafeteria, rooms, value
      Cons: none

       
      We stay at Pop Century every year, we just love this hotel. The staff at the front desk are always fast, attentive, and just amazing. We always do the online check in and when we arrive at the hotel they have are room packet ready and usually the room is ready as well. The food court here is really good and has something for everyone to enjoy, sometimes the lines can be a little long but they generally move fast. The bus service here has always
      been good, I love that Pop Century only has one bus stop and not multiple stops. The rooms are not fancy but were updated a few years ago and everything is clean, and well taken care of. It is just two adults in my family and we find we have enough space in the room, but if we were any larger I would find not enough drawer space and would find the rooms to be squishy. If you are looking for a hotel on a more reasonable budget and still have the Disney magic this is a good option.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.