Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mycadoo

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun November 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Room incorrect, no help at front desk

       
      Been here about 20 times , now I know why the recent reviews hav been bad. Booked a room 6 months ago and I explained exactly what we needed. Of course not what I got and the answer was" sorry we are booked." Not acceptable. shame on them. Also no ac in lobby or food court. Do they really need to save money?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittanyaricker

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri September 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheaper than other resorts, pool area
      Cons: food court, service

       
      We stayed at the Pop Century resort sept. 20-26th. I have been to Disney at least 10 times since 2007 and have stayed at the Pop Century resort in 2009 with no problems, but this was by far my most disappointing experience. First our check in, we did the early check in, and although it is only a request option, we chose to stay on the first floor and in a building close to the food court and transportation because I am 6 months pregnant ( we booked the trip before finding out). We also let them know that we may arrive a little earlier ( check in is at 3). When we arrived at 2pm, we still had no confirmation about our room being ready( which wasnt too big of a deal since we only had an hour to wait until check in) so we ate in the food court, which was terrible. After driving 11 hours and getting to the resort without our room being ready, we were at least hoping to get a good meal. The food was dry, cold, and had no flavor at all. Unless you got a bottle coke, the fountain drinks were terrible. Finally after we ate we seen it was close to 3 and we still didnt have a room confirmation so we went to the front desk and asked if it was almost ready and they checked us in (redid the whole process that I already did online) We were put in room 7225 which was not close to the food court and on the second floor. But even though they didnt fill any of our requests for our room, it was at least close to the elevator and not extremely bad. The food court staff was ridiculous the entire trip. Besides the food always being cold and terrible, the food servers were always miserable looking, rushing us through the food line, and skipping our orders Also it seemed like they always had new people working the registers that had absolutely no idea what they were doing every time. So the service at this resort was just terrible.


      This entire trip was just a let down, it was our first time back in 2 years, and within those 2 years it seemed like Disney had just lost their magic. It wasn't the same. You usually go to Disney to enjoy yourself , not stress, and be happy... because it is suppose to be the happiest place on earth, but I did not get that feeling this year. Very rarely did I see a worker with a smile on their face or trying to make the experience one to remember like they used to. The resort was a complete let down and the food was terrible. It will def. be a while before we decide to go back and spend a ton of money for a Disney vacation.


      On the positive aspects of the trip, the pool area was nice, and the bar had some tasty non alcoholic pina coladas. They also provided float vests for the younger children and mosquito spray in every room, which I thought was nice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Moongate

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu September 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff, value, quietness
      Cons: Lots of Smoking, rooms need refurbishment

       
      We stayed here for a week just recently having never stayed at the POP before, just value or moderate hotels. I agree with the previous poster regarding people smoking off their balconies or where ever they liked. We had a courtyard view, but we had to walk from the parking lot around the lake to get to our room(4th floor, 70's)...well, that is where there are designated smoking areas(around the jogging path- and wherever they felt like smoking). We did online check in and received a text with our room number prior to arrival,but we had to go to the front desk anyway for other questions we had about our tickets. We went to our room and it was fine until we pulled back the sheets and found other guests hair and then more hair on washcloths. We called and received new sheets and bedding, etc within the half hour. The room itself was ok, just in need of a refurb(which I think they are starting now);peeling wallpaper in bathroom, fridge didn't keep anything cold and kept tipping out of the cabinet they tried to shove it in. We just felt it wasn't up to Disney hotel standards. Air conditioning was great however!!! While we stayed there, the elevators were down in our building for most of the day...a little tough with a stroller. It was quiet otherwise in our building. We rented a car, so we didn't use transportation but parking space is plentiful there, just a walk. We used the laundry room one day and just be aware you can only use a credit or debit card only, NO CASH. Washers were $3 each and dryers another $3 each; very easy to use, they have a guide on the machine and next to it to show you. The food court was.....ok. Always crowded and chaotic but the cashiers were very patient and polite when explaining to everyone on the dining plan what was included. We went swimming in the "computer" pool near the 80's/90's which wasn't busy at all. Pool was clean. Overall, I think next time we will be staying at a moderate or higher hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cast members are really great
      Cons: food court

       
      We stayed at Pop Century 9/11-9/19 our room was very clean. The cast members were all very helpful. They only negative was that the food court seemed to not have enough cast members to keep up with the number of people going through there in the mornings.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon September 26, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, decent accomodations
      Cons: Guests

       
      We have stayed at the Pop numerous times and it is usually pretty good. This was a last minute trip just for MMNSHP, so we figured it would be a quick in and out of the hotel, no need to go all out on expenses. The room was ok. We didn't use the food court at all. However, it was not a great stay. First real problem is the other guests. It's hard to really kill a hotel based on what the other guests are like, but it really made the experience terrible. Things such as guests smoking wherever they wanted (near the busses, outside their door, etc.) with no cast members around to take care of it.


      So, while I don't put that completely on the hotel, I do put the next bit on them. We did online checkin, and after taking our bags to our room (no issues getting in), I went to get our parking pass. The cast member proceeded to check me in and filled out a map for me (I had already told him we are in the room). No big deal. However, he sent me to the 80s building, room 8621. That is not where my text message (and subsequently where my family was currently at having our magic bands let us in) told us. Further, if you have been here before, you know that at the Pop, the building number is the first digit (hence he circled 80s), and the floor is the second digit (so if you were in 8212, you would be 80s building, floor 2). The Pop is all 3 stories, meaning not only does that room not exist, but it is impossible to exist at this resort. This shows me that Disney has cut a lot of training of their staff at this hotel, and that is unforgivable to me. For those wondering what happened, we had reservations starting the next day at a different hotel and that is the room he was pulling up. Once again, I don't so much fault the actual cast member as I do the management and what I can only attribute as a complete lack of training. In the end, I will just pay the extra $50 and go to a good moderate.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Peggyf

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon September 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We just returned from Disney, staying at Pop Century...never again! Room smelled, food court beverage station had horrible tasting drinks. Customer Service is non existent. Very rude at Front Desk! I will spend a little extra and go for a moderate. Just a note..I have been to Disney World 36 times, staying on property, and this was the worst ever.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CUTE!
      Cons: No frills

       
      We've stayed at Pop Century in the past, but it has been quite a while. Frankly, I do not think you can go wrong with any of the value resorts. They are all clean, cutely decorated and fun! We stayed at Pop for 3 nights in April 2016. Absolutely no issue with our room. It was very clean and neat. Service was great. We had a good check in experience. We went to concierge desk a couple of times for questions and we were also served well there. The resort is lovely and so cute. The food court is great - plenty of choices. The shop was also cute and good. We utilized both the shop and the food court.
      Bus stop often would lend to extra waiting and/or full bus with the need to stand. That can happen at any resort, yet it does seem that the value resorts are where you'll find the most crowded bus. Maybe just perception. Anyway, not a huge problem.


      The only slight issue we had with this resort was pertaining to our transfer to the Beach Club Resort. We have never moved from one resort to another - this was the first time. We were told that Pop would transport our luggage from there to the Beach Club. They told us a time frame of 1-3 pm. However, at 4:00 then 5:00 no luggage was received at the Beach Club. The Beach Club told us that the bags hadn't yet arrived at the resort, so obviously they couldn't deliver what they didn't have.
      I am just not sure what happened or why our luggage was not transported when they said it would be, but we did eventually get it later on that night. In the future, I may consider just bringing my own bags should we change resorts mid-trip.
      Otherwise -the POP century is a great resort. We love it and would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      schmamm

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue April 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean room, close to Classic Hall
      Cons: Food and noisy neighbors

       
      We stayed at Pop Century 4/2-4/5 for our anniversary. We previously stayed there Thanksgiving of 2012. Our previous trip there was wonderful, no complaints. This trip we had noisy neighbors 2 different nights. Not the hotel's fault, but the sound travels well through the resort. The room itself was great, I requested a king room in the 50's and that's exactly what we got. The room was clean and taken care of every day.


      Our only other complaint was the food our last day. We ate lunch the first day it was great. Our second day we did the make your own omelette station and it was delicious. We did not eat breakfast our 3rd morning. Today, we had breakfast and it was mediocre at best. We both had the bounty platter with French Toast. The eggs were not thoroughly cooked, the french toast was soggy, the sausage was inedible. We were disappointed. All in all if the price is right we will stay here again, but if we can find a moderate for a good price we will probably pay more to stay there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shellbates

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed March 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap, great gift shop and food court
      Cons: loud

       
      We stayed the first week of February, which I thought was supposed to be lower crowd levels. This resort was pretty busy with cheerleading and dance groups, so was pretty loud in the food court most evenings. Room was pretty small, but worked for my sister and I, especially when we weren't in the room much. The atmosphere is good and definitely a good themed hotel for families. I would probably bump up to a moderate if I had the choice to do over, but it served its purpose for this trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      antsassey

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Buffalo,NY
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue March 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Smokers, lack of cell service in room

       
      The resort was decorated nicely. Food court a little crazy in the morning which was expected. Large groups of people as it was the princess marathon weekend. Not a lot of noise in room from the groups. Only draw back to resort was where the smoking section was located near our room. We had to walk through a hazy of smoke to get into our room. We were in building 10 of the 70s section. Bus service was good. Didn't wait long at the end of the day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      colemamma

      Registered: March 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun March 13, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): buses, cast members, food court
      Cons: small rooms

       
      We stayed at Pop in December 2015 for 4 nights. Two adults and 12 and 17 yr old. This was our first stay at a value resort, having previously stayed at PO Riverside (moderate). We were expecting to be disappointed but were thrilled with Pop. We were in the 70s section (by the giant Mickey phone) and it was ideal- very close to the main pool, food court/gift shop, laundry and the bus stops. The bus system at Pop was a million times better than at Riverside. We had a surprise of welcome balloons in our room the and staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Food court was always clean and there was a big variety. Yes, the rooms are small and without any frills, but we spent most of our time in the parks anyway. I would choose Pop again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Fri March 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great place to sleep
      Cons: Preferred room was a long walk from the buses

       
      The room was clean over all. However the wear is showing. Stayed 2-1 thru 2-11
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mishawnam

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Dansville, NY
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun February 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, food court,
      Cons: Bed

       
      Our group of 3 stayed here 1/24-29. Our check in was quick. Love the play area for the kiddos in the lobby. Our room was in the 50's section. The only con for us was one bed in our room was horrible. The springs were shot. Literally every time you moved it sounded like it was going to fall apart and it was soooooo uncomfortable. Other than that no complaints.


      We ate at the food court several times for dinner. My daughter loved the pizza. Once I had the sesame chicken, it was just okay. We love being able to get ice cream cones there. We came back one afternoon for a treat and we had the place to ourselves. Nice treat.


      We thought that the buses were great. One morning the line to Magic Kingdom was all the way to the lobby. We were on the fifth bus and we only waited about 20 minutes. Other than that we didn't ever wait more than 10 minutes to or from POP.


      Make sure to check out the store. I love shopping here. I always check out the store before heading to the parks. A lot of times you can find the same merchandise right there at the resort. Big time saver.


      If you had any free time take a walk over to the art of animation. It is worth it.


      All in all we love the POP resort. This was our third time staying here and it is still our favorite. Great for those on a budget or looking to save some money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alwill

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Gainesville, FL
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat February 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Costs
      Cons: Over-capacity buses

       
      We just spent a couple of days in early February 2016 at POP. While we usually stay at Moderate WDW resorts, we opted for POP because of our short stay and an incredibly low price per a FL Resident Special Rate. We knew the Value resorts tend to be busier because we've stayed at others in the past. However, we had no idea it would be as busy as it was during this typically slow time at the World.


      POP was hopping, the buses were packed going to-and-from the parks and the food court looked to be jamming (although we didn't eat there.)


      The room was pretty small but comfortable, and relatively close to the bus/parking lot. The only negative aspect was how packed the buses were going anywhere (well, except to Epcot) as we saw buses from other resorts hardly near capacity. We were able to take a double-length bus to MK which was interesting. If you do ride one and end up standing within the hinge between the two sections, note there is a small disk that will rotate when the bus makes its turn. The lady standing on it during our ride was a bit unnerved when she found herself moving from side to side. like she was on a Lazy Susan.


      Overall, it was about what you'd expect from a Value resort. We were just surprised it occurred during what is usually a slow time at Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SCOTTMOP

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: WESTMISNTER,MARYLAND
      Posts: 86
      Review Date: Thu February 4, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, Bus stop , Food court
      Cons: very youth themed and used by big groups

       
      we stayed 4 nights at Pop from 1-26 thru 1-30. Loved it. We got 2 rooms as fitting 4 would be tough with one bathroom especially when travelling with 2 teen age girls. The food court offered many good options at decent price (for disney) . It has its own bus stop so you dont have to share with other hotels. Though the bus stops at the parks were usually the last ones which makes it a bit of a walk after a long day at the parks. I was shocked by the number of groups staying there. The parks were filled with groups too, mostly from over seas. Made wait times rediculous at the parks. I would definately stay here again. Can be loud at times due to the groups and young kids but still not much of a bother.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.