Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mmfan

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Sun April 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good bus servicw, clean rooms
      Cons: noisy teens, not eh best food options

       
      We have stayed at this resort hotel on previous visits, and have never been disappointed, and again had a good experience. We were here during spring break, and of course it was very busy. We had completed online check in, and it was so nice to just go directly to our room when we arrived. Our room looked as though it had been recently refurbished, and was very clean. We called for extra blankets and received them in a matter of minutes. We were frequently asked by cast members if we needed anything, and were always greeted by smiles and hellos. We never waited long for a bus, and they came frequently at this very busy time of year. We prefer the queue line used here for boarding busses as opposed to the frequent bus stops and chaos of some of the other resorts. The food court was always busy but was well staffed and there was always a place to sit. The food choices are not always very healthy and we eat here rarely as the food not always the best. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The pools were never crowded, and very refreshing. We encountered a lot of noise from various youth groups that were staying here, that is to be expected at the value resorts and varies of course if they are located near your room. We feel that saving money to stay here and then visiting other resorts is the best way to save money to use on food and other experiences. We will definitely stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      schmamm

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, price
      Cons: non

       
      Our last stay at Pop Century, in 2016 was not up to expectations. We decided to give it one more try. This stay was amazing. We stayed from March 31-April 2, 2017. This was the same weekend we were there last year. We paid for a standard room and Mickey Magic upgraded us to a 4th floor preferred room with a king bed. We were pleased. It was quiet, even though we were facing the Bowling Pin pool in 50's section. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable.


      The last time we were there our biggest complaint was the food. This visit we ate lunch the first day and breakfast the second. Both meals were great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LuckyBMom

      Registered: March 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun March 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Not clean, very worn

       
      We checked in to a dirty, dusty, well-worn standard room. My husband called and asked to change rooms after discovering a black, greasy substance all over the TV remote. This was certainly not the oldest, grossest thing about this room. Thread-bare, FILTHY carpet, dust everywhere, ahem...HAIRS in the bathroom, etc. We called for the new room and met resistance from the front desk. We were promised a different room in the morning. Feeling unsatisfied, we called back and demanded to be moved immediately instead. This time, a manager assisted us and gave us a CLEAN room closer to the lobby. The comped us that night and we ended up getting a preferred room for the standard price. This was great but shouldn't have happened. The whole resort could use a good old-fashioned power washing. Lots has been neglected and ignored. I don't think we'd stay there again. It wasn't up to Disney standards and it was crawling with teens and college students.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kathanne5

      Registered: August 2007
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri March 3, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We love Pop Century!
      Cons:

       
      We have stayed at Pop Century for many visits. We were just there last week. Had a great and quick checkin. Asked for a quiet room, was given a room that overlooked the lake, absolutely wonderful view and room. Room was very clean and quiet. We loved walked around the lake every morning and evening. Loved the food court. Had great breakfasts and dinners there. All 3 of us enjoyed all our meals. Staff very friendly. Food was prepared well and served hot. Thank you for a great stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jimmiej

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: New Braunfels, TX
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon January 16, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun resort, nice food court and gift shop, dedicated bus service
      Cons: odd smells in room

       
      Stayed here over Wine & Dine weekend. Our fourth time to stay here. We did NOT pay for a preferred room, but had a very short walk to our room in the 50's section.


      Two small complaints. 1) The bus loading areas are uncovered and can get hot in the heat of the day; 2) Twice now, we've had a room with an odd smell. The first time (2013?), we complained and were given a different room. This time, my wife complained about the smell of the sheets. We did not bother to complain-probably should have.


      Overall, we like Pop but will try some other resorts for now.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      colemamma

      Registered: March 2016
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun January 15, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): qued bus lines, food court, well lit
      Cons: small rooms, full size beds

       
      This was our second stay in the past 2 yrs. We visited for 6 days Nov/Dec 2016. There 3 adults and a 13 yr old. We like that POP has a nice variety at their food court- basics for the non-adventurous and yet some really unique meals to try for those who are. I like that this resort is better lit than many other resorts (Poly and POR come to mind, which can get down right spooky at night). Having visited many other resorts and stayed at a few others I can appreciate that POP has qued bus lines. You get on the bus in the order you arrived in line. Most of the other resorts are not qued and it is a mad pushing match to see who gets a seat on the bus. I appreciate the order that a qued line provides because we are not aggressive.


      We loved playing ping pong by the pool (25cents for the ball from a machine at the pool bar) and walking across the bridge to Art of Animation next door.


      Rooms are small, but we feel are adequate for our needs. Beds were getting worn down this year and a full size is not a lot of room to get comfy. Otherwise, no complaints.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AL

      Registered: December 2016
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon December 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap. That's about it.
      Cons: Where can I begin?

       
      I've always preferred the Pop Century over the last ten years, because you're just there to shower and sleep, right?


      WRONG-- this hotel is always the furthest bus station at the parks, and the rooms feel dirty. Save up your money and go Moderate...it's worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mycadoo

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun November 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Room incorrect, no help at front desk

       
      Been here about 20 times , now I know why the recent reviews hav been bad. Booked a room 6 months ago and I explained exactly what we needed. Of course not what I got and the answer was" sorry we are booked." Not acceptable. shame on them. Also no ac in lobby or food court. Do they really need to save money?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittanyaricker

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri September 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheaper than other resorts, pool area
      Cons: food court, service

       
      We stayed at the Pop Century resort sept. 20-26th. I have been to Disney at least 10 times since 2007 and have stayed at the Pop Century resort in 2009 with no problems, but this was by far my most disappointing experience. First our check in, we did the early check in, and although it is only a request option, we chose to stay on the first floor and in a building close to the food court and transportation because I am 6 months pregnant ( we booked the trip before finding out). We also let them know that we may arrive a little earlier ( check in is at 3). When we arrived at 2pm, we still had no confirmation about our room being ready( which wasnt too big of a deal since we only had an hour to wait until check in) so we ate in the food court, which was terrible. After driving 11 hours and getting to the resort without our room being ready, we were at least hoping to get a good meal. The food was dry, cold, and had no flavor at all. Unless you got a bottle coke, the fountain drinks were terrible. Finally after we ate we seen it was close to 3 and we still didnt have a room confirmation so we went to the front desk and asked if it was almost ready and they checked us in (redid the whole process that I already did online) We were put in room 7225 which was not close to the food court and on the second floor. But even though they didnt fill any of our requests for our room, it was at least close to the elevator and not extremely bad. The food court staff was ridiculous the entire trip. Besides the food always being cold and terrible, the food servers were always miserable looking, rushing us through the food line, and skipping our orders Also it seemed like they always had new people working the registers that had absolutely no idea what they were doing every time. So the service at this resort was just terrible.


      This entire trip was just a let down, it was our first time back in 2 years, and within those 2 years it seemed like Disney had just lost their magic. It wasn't the same. You usually go to Disney to enjoy yourself , not stress, and be happy... because it is suppose to be the happiest place on earth, but I did not get that feeling this year. Very rarely did I see a worker with a smile on their face or trying to make the experience one to remember like they used to. The resort was a complete let down and the food was terrible. It will def. be a while before we decide to go back and spend a ton of money for a Disney vacation.


      On the positive aspects of the trip, the pool area was nice, and the bar had some tasty non alcoholic pina coladas. They also provided float vests for the younger children and mosquito spray in every room, which I thought was nice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Moongate

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu September 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff, value, quietness
      Cons: Lots of Smoking, rooms need refurbishment

       
      We stayed here for a week just recently having never stayed at the POP before, just value or moderate hotels. I agree with the previous poster regarding people smoking off their balconies or where ever they liked. We had a courtyard view, but we had to walk from the parking lot around the lake to get to our room(4th floor, 70's)...well, that is where there are designated smoking areas(around the jogging path- and wherever they felt like smoking). We did online check in and received a text with our room number prior to arrival,but we had to go to the front desk anyway for other questions we had about our tickets. We went to our room and it was fine until we pulled back the sheets and found other guests hair and then more hair on washcloths. We called and received new sheets and bedding, etc within the half hour. The room itself was ok, just in need of a refurb(which I think they are starting now);peeling wallpaper in bathroom, fridge didn't keep anything cold and kept tipping out of the cabinet they tried to shove it in. We just felt it wasn't up to Disney hotel standards. Air conditioning was great however!!! While we stayed there, the elevators were down in our building for most of the day...a little tough with a stroller. It was quiet otherwise in our building. We rented a car, so we didn't use transportation but parking space is plentiful there, just a walk. We used the laundry room one day and just be aware you can only use a credit or debit card only, NO CASH. Washers were $3 each and dryers another $3 each; very easy to use, they have a guide on the machine and next to it to show you. The food court was.....ok. Always crowded and chaotic but the cashiers were very patient and polite when explaining to everyone on the dining plan what was included. We went swimming in the "computer" pool near the 80's/90's which wasn't busy at all. Pool was clean. Overall, I think next time we will be staying at a moderate or higher hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cast members are really great
      Cons: food court

       
      We stayed at Pop Century 9/11-9/19 our room was very clean. The cast members were all very helpful. They only negative was that the food court seemed to not have enough cast members to keep up with the number of people going through there in the mornings.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon September 26, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, decent accomodations
      Cons: Guests

       
      We have stayed at the Pop numerous times and it is usually pretty good. This was a last minute trip just for MMNSHP, so we figured it would be a quick in and out of the hotel, no need to go all out on expenses. The room was ok. We didn't use the food court at all. However, it was not a great stay. First real problem is the other guests. It's hard to really kill a hotel based on what the other guests are like, but it really made the experience terrible. Things such as guests smoking wherever they wanted (near the busses, outside their door, etc.) with no cast members around to take care of it.


      So, while I don't put that completely on the hotel, I do put the next bit on them. We did online checkin, and after taking our bags to our room (no issues getting in), I went to get our parking pass. The cast member proceeded to check me in and filled out a map for me (I had already told him we are in the room). No big deal. However, he sent me to the 80s building, room 8621. That is not where my text message (and subsequently where my family was currently at having our magic bands let us in) told us. Further, if you have been here before, you know that at the Pop, the building number is the first digit (hence he circled 80s), and the floor is the second digit (so if you were in 8212, you would be 80s building, floor 2). The Pop is all 3 stories, meaning not only does that room not exist, but it is impossible to exist at this resort. This shows me that Disney has cut a lot of training of their staff at this hotel, and that is unforgivable to me. For those wondering what happened, we had reservations starting the next day at a different hotel and that is the room he was pulling up. Once again, I don't so much fault the actual cast member as I do the management and what I can only attribute as a complete lack of training. In the end, I will just pay the extra $50 and go to a good moderate.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Peggyf

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon September 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We just returned from Disney, staying at Pop Century...never again! Room smelled, food court beverage station had horrible tasting drinks. Customer Service is non existent. Very rude at Front Desk! I will spend a little extra and go for a moderate. Just a note..I have been to Disney World 36 times, staying on property, and this was the worst ever.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CUTE!
      Cons: No frills

       
      We've stayed at Pop Century in the past, but it has been quite a while. Frankly, I do not think you can go wrong with any of the value resorts. They are all clean, cutely decorated and fun! We stayed at Pop for 3 nights in April 2016. Absolutely no issue with our room. It was very clean and neat. Service was great. We had a good check in experience. We went to concierge desk a couple of times for questions and we were also served well there. The resort is lovely and so cute. The food court is great - plenty of choices. The shop was also cute and good. We utilized both the shop and the food court.
      Bus stop often would lend to extra waiting and/or full bus with the need to stand. That can happen at any resort, yet it does seem that the value resorts are where you'll find the most crowded bus. Maybe just perception. Anyway, not a huge problem.


      The only slight issue we had with this resort was pertaining to our transfer to the Beach Club Resort. We have never moved from one resort to another - this was the first time. We were told that Pop would transport our luggage from there to the Beach Club. They told us a time frame of 1-3 pm. However, at 4:00 then 5:00 no luggage was received at the Beach Club. The Beach Club told us that the bags hadn't yet arrived at the resort, so obviously they couldn't deliver what they didn't have.
      I am just not sure what happened or why our luggage was not transported when they said it would be, but we did eventually get it later on that night. In the future, I may consider just bringing my own bags should we change resorts mid-trip.
      Otherwise -the POP century is a great resort. We love it and would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      schmamm

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue April 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean room, close to Classic Hall
      Cons: Food and noisy neighbors

       
      We stayed at Pop Century 4/2-4/5 for our anniversary. We previously stayed there Thanksgiving of 2012. Our previous trip there was wonderful, no complaints. This trip we had noisy neighbors 2 different nights. Not the hotel's fault, but the sound travels well through the resort. The room itself was great, I requested a king room in the 50's and that's exactly what we got. The room was clean and taken care of every day.


      Our only other complaint was the food our last day. We ate lunch the first day it was great. Our second day we did the make your own omelette station and it was delicious. We did not eat breakfast our 3rd morning. Today, we had breakfast and it was mediocre at best. We both had the bounty platter with French Toast. The eggs were not thoroughly cooked, the french toast was soggy, the sausage was inedible. We were disappointed. All in all if the price is right we will stay here again, but if we can find a moderate for a good price we will probably pay more to stay there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.