Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • peachmermaid

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu September 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, upbeat theming, size of room
      Cons:

       
      Pop is where you stay when you need a bed for sleeping. That's not a bad thing. I love pop. It's comfy and clean. It's not a huge resort either so you don't have to do a ton of walking to get to your room. It's a good place at a good price. I always enjoy my stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      doctor_imagineer

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: Concord Township, Ohio
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): relatively inexpensive compared to other Disney World resorts
      Cons: can hear next door neighbors too much

       
      I stayed at the Pop from Saturday August 2nd to Sunday August 3rd. I would say that it was a pleasant experience. I requested the 80s building with the highest floor via online check in, and got the 50s building with the highest floor. I am glad I got the 50s building anyway, because the room was facing the Art of Animation (AoA) resort (across Hourglass Lake), which is beautiful, especially at night. Plus, the room was facing the fireworks, which are spectacular. So I definitely "lucked-out" on the room view. Also, the room was away from the pool, so was very quiet. The only real con is, like a lot of reviewers say, one can hear the people in next door rooms too much (conversations, bathroom flushing, etc). I loved the fact that I could walk to the food court and bring my meal (had dinner and breakfast) back to my room and eat in peace while I browsed the internet via room Wi-Fi, which is easy to link to. I definitely had a good experience at the Pop. For me, it was like a home away from home. I really don't need all the extras that cost so much at higher priced resorts. I wish the official Pop website had said that the room has a refrigerator, but I had called the resort and they said the room does. But I wish the refrigerator had a freezer, because I brought along reusable ice packs with me for my cooler.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rambin

      Registered: September 2007
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, Theme
      Cons: Small

       
      We, my husband and 14 year old daughter, and I stayed at Pop from August 1st-August 8th. We go to the parks from opening to close so I thought for the value you could not beat the hotel. The room was very small. We struggled getting ready in the mornings due to the small space. The room was fairly clean but not up to Disney standards in my opinion. I requested a room close to transportation and a lake view. We were able to check in early on the first day but neither request were granted. I would pay the extra for a Preferred Room next time. We had good experineces Dining at the POP. The food court has many selections. We ate here 1 time for dinner and 2 times for breakfast. The pools are great! This resort met our needs as far as a place to sleep and take a shower. I would probably not stay here again. The bus service was great and we rarely waited more than 10 minutes for a bus. All in all, I would pay a little more and stay at a moderate resort or AOA.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): inexpensive, nostalgic theme
      Cons: noisy

       
      I wish there was a maybe button for "would you recommend this product?" We stayed at Pop Century twice. The first time was during November 2009, then second July 2014. It was like night and day. The November visit was quiet and very enjoyable. The July visit was very noisy. Several Brazilian soccer teams brought what seemed like hundreds of noisy teenagers to the resort. They stayed up half the night playing soccer outside on the balconies. The noise of the soccer ball hitting the railing sounded more like bowling. I even got a prank call one evening around midnight. I have no idea what the giggling teenage girl on the other end was saying, but I know what I wanted to say... Despite the huge hordes, the bus system worked well. We never waited long for a bus. The rooms, although noisy, were clean and of adequate size for two adults. My husband and I really enjoyed viewing the time capsules in the lobby and doing the Twist every morning at breakfast. You can even view some of the fireworks from across the pool area. In conclusion, I would stay here again, but only in the off season when large touring groups would be less likely. P.S. Requesting a specific decade doesn't seem to work, no matter how early you book. We tried to stay in the 50's both times. The first time, we booked kind of late and got the 80's. The second time, we booked a year in advance and even paid for a preferred room because I had read online that the 50's and 60's were the preferred rooms. Apparently not because we got the 70's this last time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      abmadmo

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the happy energy, good lifeguard presence, price, cleanliness
      Cons: would be nice to have more cover between buildings during rain

       
      Stayed at Pop for the 1st time July 6-13 with my husband and 2 daughters. We loved the resort. More than plenty lifeguards (at the Hippy Dippy pool anyway) so that we felt ok letting our 16 yo and 10 yo swim w/o us being right on top of them. I requested a standard room in the 60's section for easier access to the buses and food court and we were put in building 5 in the 60's (5316) which overlooked the lake and AoA. Being on the 3rd floor and away from the pool, it was SO quiet. Never heard a sound while in our room. Though there were several LARGE quincenera groups, dance competition groups and international groups all over WDW as well as Pop, they were polite and kind of fun to watch, if not a little hard to deal with in the food court. At times 1 register would be partitioned off for one of these groups only. Not a huge ordeal though. We didn't eat a great deal at the food court but what we did was very good. We always get the refillable resort mugs and this was our 1st time using the RFID ones. It was a little obnoxious getting the cup aligned right at first and irritating if the station I was at had run out of drink syrup b/c I'd then move to another drink station to read that I still had X minutes or seconds til my next refill. No worries though b/c you can get another refill in 3 minutes. Mousekeeping was wonderful before and during our stay. CM's were very friendly and helpful. My only issues, which are small, is that if it's raining and you're en route to your room, there's not much cover and the parking for the 60's section is WAAAAAY far away from the actual 60's buildings. Not a huge ordeal as we stay on WDW transportation from the second we check in til the moment we leave. Just kind of a pain to lug luggage so far. All in all? A great resort w/ ample seating in food court, plentiful gift shop, fun poolside activities director at the (main) pool and clean with comfy beds (though the pillows could've been better).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jessica527

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room location, food options, room accomodations
      Cons: bus service

       
      We traveled with a party of 7 with 3 different rooms. Pop Century was very accommodating, prior to our stay – I requested that the 3 rooms be in the same building and close enough to an elevator to accommodate 2 people in our party if on an upper floor. Not only did Pop Century put all 3 rooms in line for us, but upgraded us to premium to allow a shorter walk for our party to the bus stop and food court. The room was good and we had no issues with mousekeeping. We were happy with the food options and we mostly used our snack credits on breakfast options at the resort. It was also great to see at night how lively the resort is, including many cast members available for pin trading and many different activities going on throughout the resort. Our only complaint was the long lines for the bus service when coming home from a park. The going to was never bad, but typically when we were coming home it would be quite the line. I believe we only sat down on the bus once or twice our entire stay due to the amount of people on the bus. I am thankful that Pop Century did not share their bus service with any other resort though. We have stayed deluxe in the past and we came home feeling excited about Pop Century at the value pricing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mickeymom5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Thu July 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): helpfulness of CM's, cleanliness of room and grounds
      Cons: loud sports teams, noise from pool

       
      We stayed here July 5-7, 2014. Our room was #9372. Our first night there was terrible. We heard all the noise from the "quiet" computer pool. There were sports teams of all ages running around the resort all hours of the night. There were parents sitting outside of their rooms drinking out of red solo cups. I gave the resort an "8" because the CM's were so helpful and the grounds and room was so clean. There were CM's having to work really hard to pick up after people leaving leftover trash and food in the stairwells and walkways. The people who were staying here really ruined the resort for me. We will not stay here again. I guess they put the sports teams here so they can be closer to ESPN Wide World of Sports. The second night we stayed in MK until 2 am. We turned the fan on in our bathroom to block out the outside noise, and we crashed on our bed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RSZB

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Allentown, PA
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: lack of ceiling fan

       
      This was my first stay at the Pop Century resort for one night – June 20th. We checked into our preferred room (6408) at 10:30am. It overlooked the foosball game in the courtyard. We were only there for one night, but it was quiet and close to the main building. The room size was adequate for the 2 of us on a girls’ trip, but would be a challenge for my family of 4. The bedding was comfortable and we were greeted with towels shaped into a Mickey head. I missed not having a ceiling fan and second sink.


      Even though we didn’t have a chance to eat there, the food court seemed to have many options. (As a side note, my family loves the Riverside food court.) I strolled through the gift shop which was well stocked with a large variety of merchandise. Take the time to view the shadow boxes on the wall across from the check-in desk. They were definitely a “blast from the past!” We passed by the large pool area, which was very sunny and not crowded.

      The bus service was just okay – maybe it was our timing. During our short stay, we took the bus from the resort to Downtown Disney and back and then to Hollywood studios and back. Each bus had 2-4 wheel chairs and/or scooters to load. Each trip took 30-35 minutes from the time we arrived at the bus stop to when we left.


      We took a walk across the bridge to visit the Art of Animation resort at night. The short walk across the bridge and on the main pathways are very well lit. The pool area was gated and required a room key to access. The main building is similar in design to Pop. Each section is themed to a movie and is very fun!


      The cast members at Pop were very friendly, attentive, and interacted with all age levels. I’ve stayed at all resort levels and felt there was no difference in service between this value and moderate or deluxe.

      I would recommend the Pop for those who spend the majority of their time in the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pricing and location to Magic Kingdom
      Cons: Pool closes at 11 p.m.; no cover over lines for transportation; and no table service dining

       
      My hotel room was neat and clean. The beds were comfortable. The rides to and from the parks were very quick.


      I was disappointed that the pools closed at 11 p.m. I wish there was at least one quiet pool that remained open, especially after the parks closed later.


      I've stayed at different hotels at Disney World. I find that I'm only in the hotel for sleeping. The price makes the Pop Century very attractive. I would stay at Pop Century again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Sun June 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, rooms, food court options
      Cons:

       
      We are back from our 4th stay at POP. We stayed 5/20-5/28. We requested 60's lake view when we made our reservation. We did online check in and selected 60's lake view. We arrived around noon on the 20th - Our room was ready and guess what we got for a room?.....YES! 60's lake view! We were in building 4, on the fourth floor. Room 4456 to be specific. It was PERFECT. Super close to the main pool but facing the lake so it was super quiet. We never heard a sound from the pool activities or nightly movies. We had a breathtaking view of AOA. And I mention the specific room number because the nights we were in our room at 9:00 (which were far and few between) we could open our door and see Illuminations from Epcot.
      The room was immaculate when we arrived. We loved the new bedding. Simple white bedding with just the runner of the previous bed spread. Much less tacky. Wink They also added a nice 4 peg rack to the room which was a great help with our pool towels. The last 2 trips we stayed at AKL and the 1 thing I really missed? No ceiling fan. I really missed that! I hate no air in the room.
      The food court has undergone some menu changes since our last visit. We ate quite a few meals there this stay and enjoyed it very much. I will post the specifics on the dining review board. Smile Is it crazy during peak dining hours? Yup. It's a food court at Disney. That being said, we never had a problem finding a clean table. The service was excellent. The only pain in the tail issue we had was the Diet Coke was flat more times than not. That makes me cranky. But I move on quickly.
      The pool was a lovely, much needed break, during the crazy heat of the week. I will say this..if you want quiet..the main pool is not the place to be in the afternoon or evening. They had dance parties and pool activities all afternoon and the nightly movie is at 9:00. Our kids and the gajillions of other kids loved it. But if you are looking for some quiet time, go to one of the other 2 pools.
      We always always rent a car when we go to the World - so no comments on the bus system.
      This trip was all about being in the Parks, so POP was a great fit for us! If you have reasonable expectations, you will have a fabulous stay! We loved everything about our stay. Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Angelc1420

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Tennessee
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri May 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere!
      Cons: Food Court Choices

       
      This was our 4th stay at Pop - we love it! I did the online check in and our room was ready when we arrived at 9:30. The food court choices had changed since our last visit and we weren't quite as impressed, but the breakfast was always great. Never had to wait more than 10 minutes for a bus which was great because it was really hot this trip. Can't wait to stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun May 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, theming, restaurant
      Cons: size of rooms

       
      Pop Century is a great value resort as long as you keep in mind that you will be sleeping and showering here only. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side and I'm not sure who decided the beds were queen size, but they are more like full or double beds.
      The theming is excellent and fun! There are lots of photo opportunities around the resort. There are 3 heated pool options with lifeguards on duty at all three. The pools have plenty of seating and options for families.
      The on site restaurant is really good and offers multiple options for breakfast, lunch and supper. The staff is very friendly and willing to help with questions about dining plans. The gift shop is also excellent and carries a variety of Disney items. Express check in/check out is wonderful and I highly recommend using the online options!
      The resort over all is great for the price, just don't go in expecting the luxury you will get from more expensive Disney hotels.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyStrong86

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly, Attractive, Least Amount of Walking
      Cons: None

       
      We call Pop Century our "Disney Home."
      We just love everything there is to love about Pop Century, like the atmosphere theme of all the different centuries. We have always encountered friendly cast members who are always ready to help.


      The food court at Pop is WONDERFUL although there is always a line somewhere. The hotel has a wonderful lay out where you will do the least amount of walking compared to other hotels.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      maearly
      MAEARLY

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun May 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Buses, Bar, Food
      Cons: A little noisy

       
      My wife and I generally stayed at POR & POFQ. We wanted to save a little money for a quick trip from 4/28-5/2 so we stayed at POP. It was my first time to stay there. We chose it because of the dedicated bus system and it lived up. We never waited long at all for a bus.
      Food court was good and we also made a trip to AOA's food court just across the bridge to try the "create your own pasta" which was convenient and the pasta was great. The Petals bar was great and the folks were friendly and the drinks were very good.
      We stayed in a room close to the pool so that may have contributed to the noise con. But there was also a TON of middle school and high school students there on band and senior trips, so that was a lot of the noise.
      The room was OK. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The room and the bathroom was small but we were fine with that seeing as we spent just enough time in there to sleep and bathe.
      Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be going back.

      ------------------------------
      Michael
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: new york
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu April 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decoration of the resort & buses came quickly&lake
      Cons: no hot tub

       
      I stayed here 2/23-3/2. Stayed in the 70's building, top floor. I did on-line check in. When I arrived about noon, I was given my welcome packet. The room was ready by 1 pm. I didn't hear the plumbing as loudly as previous posts have said previously. Maybe because of the location of the room (there was a hall way next to it) and it was on the top floor? The longest I waited for a bus was 16min for extra magic hour to DHS. For MK, a couple of buses came at once. I didn't leave MK right after the fire works, but at Epcot after Illuminations, they sent buses one after the other. I also took the Art of Animation bus once because it was already there. It is an 8-10 min walk from the main building for AoA resort to the main building of Pop century. I ate breakfast here twice. At 7.30, was not crowded, by 8:00 it was. Mickey waffles are only on a kids meal, but I ordered them anyway. It was relaxing walking and sitting by the lake.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.