Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • moom2326

      Registered: June 2017
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri June 2, 2017 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food is good, service is good
      Cons: tables are too close, not comfortable

       
      Enjoyed this location in 2014 and was looking forward to coming back. This time around we were squished in like sardines. Table for two squished next to other tables so close I could touch the people next to me. Ruined the whole experience. Food was good and came out quickly but would not return as it was not enjoyable atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      debg32

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 69
      Review Date: Mon May 29, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: Waiting area

       
      Our group of 7 dined here on May 23rd. We love dining here. The service and food is always good. We ordered the Queso Fundido as an appetizer. They were delicious. One of our group is not a sausage person but she even enjoyed it. Most of us had the Pollo a Las Rajas. It was soooo good. Everyone enjoyed the margaritas. I had the Raspado de Cafe which was made with coffee ice cream. Unbelievable is all I can say. Our servers were great. Our waiter treated us to dessert by bringing 2 different things for us to try. It was a nice way to finish the meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Geri604

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: IL
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun April 30, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere; server; the blood orange margarita
      Cons: Not offered a dessert menu

       
      This was our second time having lunch here. Last year, I really liked the steak tacos, but this year, they were more like mini steak fajitas - still good, but not quite what I was expecting. My dad had the same thing I did, and he said they were pretty good. My mom had the chicken enchiladas and liked them as well. She also had the blood orange margarita which was really good. The surprising thing was that we weren't offered a dessert menu here.


      While the tables are pretty close together, we were able to get my mom's wheelchair to the table without any issues. We were one row in from the "waterfront" tables, so the aisle between the tables was a little wider than the other aisles, so that helped.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Meyer4

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Pensacola, FL
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue April 25, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere/Ambience
      Cons: Tables are close together

       
      The tables are very close, we had to listen to the ladies at table next to us complain about everything. The food is great. Not your typical Tex-Mex. I had the chile relleno. The mixed drinks were awesome.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      formerprincess

      Registered: March 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri March 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      Had dinner here with DH and DS/DD both 10 on Valentine's day.
      Reviews weren't getting me too excited by we loved it.
      Service: Manager sat us at lousy table next to a drink service so that we could be next to the water. She was annoyed when we asked for dif table as she could only offer one close to the water in a better location. Well it was close enough and perfect! We said a big thank you.
      Waitress was perfection - on a night she likely would have preferred to be with her family.
      Food and drink: Great margaritas:). I had the Lomo con percos - excellent. Husband had the combo and it was very good too. The kids whimped out and got chicken fingers
      Atmosphere - different and fun.
      I would definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Geri604

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: IL
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat October 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food and the ambience
      Cons: Tables are too close together

       
      We were very pleasantly surprised by the food here. We had been thinking of trying it for a few trips now, and finally pulled the trigger this year. I had the 3 tacos, which were very tasty and just enough to fill me up without feeling over-stuffed. My mom (82) and the chicken enchiladas and my dad (85) had the carne asada, and both said they enjoyed their entrees too. We had a wheelchair for my mom, and she wasn't comfortable with the few steps down into the restaurant, so she was able to stay in the chair. We wheeled her down a very narrow ramp along the far side of the restaurant, and had the first table along the wall by the ride. It was a tight fit to maneuver her in and out of the space, but we were able to manage it. We now have one more restaurant to add to our Epcot rotation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DePasquale

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Mon July 4, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Soothing interior space
      Cons: None

       
      The most dramatic but soothing interior dining space in the entire country and offers great tasting Mexican food and a nice Margarita too.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Thu January 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Very busy

       
      My DH & I ate here our 1st night at the Food & Wine Festival. I made reservations for late in the evening and noted we wanted a water view to celebrate my birthday. We checked in and the area was super crowded. We waited about 15 minutes and weren't given our requested view. In fact our table was terrible. A tiny table shoved into a space right in front of the kitchen. It was disappointing. Sebastiano was our waiter and if anything probably too attentive. He was constantly asking of we were ready to order. My husband finally explained that we were planing on taking awhile to relax after a long day. After that Sebastiano was on the right pace. I had the mango margarita it was very good. We decided to just have appetizers starting with the queso fundido we really liked it. Then we tired the quesadillas' this is not your normal quesadillas. It was more like a Mesa type corn mash that was stuffed and deep fried. They were really good but if your expecting traditional Tex Mex quesadilla you will be disappointed. We enjoyed them. The meal was good the drinks refreshing but I don't know that I would come back. If you really want Mexican food at WDW then go but be prepared that you may not get the experience you!re hoping for.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fireman

      Registered: July 2013
      Location: KY
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon November 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): view
      Cons: food

       
      The food was not very good here. I got steak and it was not the best. The guacamole was probably the best thing here. Chips and salsa was ok but lacked in flavor. Service lacked the Disney magic too. Waiter wasn't friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jchuges7

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon November 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge portions, atmosphere, chips and salsa, margaritas
      Cons: None

       
      Wonderful dining experience all the way around. We had a quiet table near the boat ride and temple and the dark lighting made for a very intimate atmosphere. Our server was so kind and courteous, a real credit to this location. Chips and salsa, both red and green, were fresh and plentiful. We both ordered margaritas, served on the rocks, and they were smooth and flavorful. I had the Wild Passionfruit while my fiance had the San Angel margarita. Worth every penny after a long day at the parks.


      I had the Mole Poblano which was wonderful. The chicken was tender and the rice was cooked perfectly. The mole itself was rich and complex, certainly a great example of what that sauce can be. Fiance had the Combinación Mexicana and she was extremely satisfied. Both portions were huge, so come with a big appetite!


      We would likely have skipped dessert normally but I chose the crema bavaria. It was light and had a pleasant note of cinnamon, not too heavy after our large meal. Fiance went with the Pastel de Queso con Cajeta which was rich and creamy.


      The only negative thing I can even remotely think of is that we showed up at 8:00 for our 8:30 reservation and they wouldn't let us check in until 8:15, which is totally understandable. We rode the boat ride to kill the time and it worked out perfectly.


      I would rate this location higher than a 10 if I could, it was that amazing. Maybe not the best choice for small kids but older kids and grown ups will love it!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere, decent food, quiet and romantic
      Cons: seating pre assigned before you arrive, limited menu options

       
      I arrived here about 10 minutes early for my reservation. The restaurant wasn't open yet so I had to wait to check in until they did. Even when they opened they still didn't start seating diners for a few minutes after. I was the 4th party seated and requested a waterside table but was told the seats were pre-assigned. I asked to speak to a manager about the seating as I really wanted a waterside table and no one was sitting at any of them and pointed out that my reservation was at opening time but they would not accommodate me. I was not too happy about that but they gave me a table second row in from the water which actually ended up being fine and perhaps better since there seems to be little privacy with the fold on the boats getting a good view of your legs and beneath your table too. The tables are placed very close together and I was easily able to hear the conversations at the tables next to mine and I was not eavesdropping. The menu was quite limited in options but I decided to choose the house special which was Loma de Pue en Pipian, pork, pumpkin, chiles, and almond sauce over roasted vegetables. This was quite a spicy dish but also quite delicious and was made with little medallions of pork. I wish that this had come with rice and beans and tortillas and fresh limes and avocadoes but it did not. The dish came out quite quickly though after ordering and the meat was pretty dry as if it had been sitting a while. I was quite displeased with that considering I was there at opening and the dish should have been freshly prepared and not been waiting on me to arrive and order. Overall the dish was quite tasty and I would order it again. I couldn't tell that there was any pumpkin in it per se, but it was good and the flavors were blended so no one taste seemed to be dominant other than the chiles. The chips and salsa were really good too. This came with 2 salsas, a mild green one which was likely tomatillo and a fire roasted red one which was spicier but smoky in taste and of which I devoured most of the bowl. I ordered the house specialty for dessert too which was Crema Bavaria and it was sooo delicious. Very rich and creamy vanilla mousse with a cinnamon dusting. I loved this dish very much. I would like to mention that after my chips and salsa were brought out and I had ordered my entree, the manager came over and offered to move me to a waterfront table, but as I had already started dining and had a nice view anyway I declined. I did appreciate that they made the effort to grant my request although it was a bit too late. This seemed a great place for a romantic meal as the setting is dark and the view is so serene and you feel like you are in an outdoor market in some idyllic setting in South America far away from Walt Disney's World. I plan on dining here again. It was decent and they offered dishes which were more authentic Mexican instead of the usual Americanized TexMex.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cplf19

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Small amount of choices on menu

       
      Our party had 4 people in it on Oct 11, 2014, all of us ordered a different entrée. Also, all of us thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the atmosphere. We will definitely come back!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      powlen21

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food
      Cons: poor service, too little lighting, small tables

       
      The food was excellent. We did the traditional Mexican lunch. We were disappointed with the server. She messed up the order and took a long time to refill drinks. Be prepared for very little lighting.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seahawk7

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat June 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, price, good food
      Cons: none

       
      We ate there in early June. It was our first time and we really enjoyed the food. We like spicey so we could handle the heat. I had the vegetarian enchiladas with red sauce and they were good and spicey. My kids had the chile relleno and they were good and spicey. We are from the Southwest and are familiar with spicey Mexican food so we could handle the spice. I would caution others who are not to maybe ask for a sample of the chile so they don't get a dish they can't eat. We stuck to water, so our meal was only 65 dollars at dinner and that includes chips, salsa, and guacamole! This is a unique meal at Disney that is worth the reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 181
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: SERVICE

       
      I really had high hopes for this restaurant even after all the negative reviews I've read in the past. Unfortunately, I can't give it higher than a 5, and the 5 is being generous.


      It started off ok. We checked in at 11:20, for our 11:30 ADR, and was told by the hostess that they don't begin seating until 11:30. That was fine, we were early. The problem was that when they started seating, we were the first to have checked in, but probably the 4th or 5th group to be seated.


      We were however, seated right at 11:30 at a table next to the water, which was very cool. We loved the location.


      Our waitress started off being very friendly. She asked us if she could get us a margarita or shot of tequila. I said I'd actually like a coke and my husband said that would be great for him as well. Then, everything changed. For the rest of the meal, our waitress was extremely rude. She didn't ask us if we'd like refills on our drinks until we were just about done eating our lunch. She asked us 3 times in a 5 minute period if we knew what we wanted as our entrees (our appetizers hadn't even arrived yet). We tried engaging her in conversation a couple times and she walked away each time, while my husband or I was in the middle of speaking to her. I can't even begin to explain how rude she was and how lacking she was in Disney spirit.


      Now, for the food...the complimentary chips were all right, but the salsa tasted like ketchup. It was awful. It was honestly the worst salsa I have ever had.


      For appetizers, we both had the tostados. They were very good. For our entrees, we both had the enchiladas. They were also good. For dessert, we both had the crema bavaria, also quite yummy.


      If it weren't for the incredibly poor service, I would have rated San Angel Inn much higher, because the food (once you got past the chips and salsa) was actually quite yummy.


      I don't think we will give this restaurant another chance, especially since there are so many other restaurants in Epcot with exceptional service and food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.