Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • powlen21

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food
      Cons: poor service, too little lighting, small tables

       
      The food was excellent. We did the traditional Mexican lunch. We were disappointed with the server. She messed up the order and took a long time to refill drinks. Be prepared for very little lighting.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seahawk7

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat June 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, price, good food
      Cons: none

       
      We ate there in early June. It was our first time and we really enjoyed the food. We like spicey so we could handle the heat. I had the vegetarian enchiladas with red sauce and they were good and spicey. My kids had the chile relleno and they were good and spicey. We are from the Southwest and are familiar with spicey Mexican food so we could handle the spice. I would caution others who are not to maybe ask for a sample of the chile so they don't get a dish they can't eat. We stuck to water, so our meal was only 65 dollars at dinner and that includes chips, salsa, and guacamole! This is a unique meal at Disney that is worth the reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: SERVICE

       
      I really had high hopes for this restaurant even after all the negative reviews I've read in the past. Unfortunately, I can't give it higher than a 5, and the 5 is being generous.


      It started off ok. We checked in at 11:20, for our 11:30 ADR, and was told by the hostess that they don't begin seating until 11:30. That was fine, we were early. The problem was that when they started seating, we were the first to have checked in, but probably the 4th or 5th group to be seated.


      We were however, seated right at 11:30 at a table next to the water, which was very cool. We loved the location.


      Our waitress started off being very friendly. She asked us if she could get us a margarita or shot of tequila. I said I'd actually like a coke and my husband said that would be great for him as well. Then, everything changed. For the rest of the meal, our waitress was extremely rude. She didn't ask us if we'd like refills on our drinks until we were just about done eating our lunch. She asked us 3 times in a 5 minute period if we knew what we wanted as our entrees (our appetizers hadn't even arrived yet). We tried engaging her in conversation a couple times and she walked away each time, while my husband or I was in the middle of speaking to her. I can't even begin to explain how rude she was and how lacking she was in Disney spirit.


      Now, for the food...the complimentary chips were all right, but the salsa tasted like ketchup. It was awful. It was honestly the worst salsa I have ever had.


      For appetizers, we both had the tostados. They were very good. For our entrees, we both had the enchiladas. They were also good. For dessert, we both had the crema bavaria, also quite yummy.


      If it weren't for the incredibly poor service, I would have rated San Angel Inn much higher, because the food (once you got past the chips and salsa) was actually quite yummy.


      I don't think we will give this restaurant another chance, especially since there are so many other restaurants in Epcot with exceptional service and food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JennaDeeDooDah

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: waitress was not from Mexico

       
      My husband and I dined at San Angel Inn on Saturday, February 1. We had a wonderful table right on the water which was very romantic. Our waitress was from California left me taken aback a bit. I asked her about it and she told me that her parents were from Mexico and she visits there every year, so they decided that was good enough to give her the job. I guess that's really not a big deal, but I like having waiters and waitresses in Epcot who are from those countries. When she brought us the chips and salsa she warned us that the red sauce might be a little spicy for us. I didn't think it had much spice at all and really like a bit more spice. It tasted like tomatoes with a little jalapeno in there a bit. The food was decent, though. I had the huarache de ras and liked it, but there was a bit more arugula than I was expecting. My husband had the tacos de carne and they were excellent. The meat was just so tender! We shared the mousse de chocolate for dessert and it was one of the best desserts we have had a Disney. My husband also wanted to make sure I mentioned the jalapeno margarita he had that he thought was fantastic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Keelie

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent food, great nachos, amazing view
      Cons: Tables packed in

       
      We eat here at least once every time we go to Disney! We enjoy the lunch menu more than the dinner menu because of the enchiladas verde, which I HIGHLY recommend! We started with the toastadas--DELICIOUS and then I had the enchiladas as my entree. They were incredible. For dessert I had the chocolate mousse which was also very very good. We actually like the atmosphere and how dark and intimate the setting is, although the tables are very close together. Would (and will!) dine here again and again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Dark

       
      I'm not much of a Mexican food fan but this is the best I have ever had. Nowhere at home is even close to as good as it was in Disney. We went at lunch time because the Enchiladas were only on the lunch menu. I enjoyed my meal and the ambiance really adds a nice touch.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJunkie

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Salisbury, NC
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great theme/atmosphere. Wonderful desserts.
      Cons: Main meals are just ok.

       
      There really is a terrific theme and atmosphere inside the pyramid of Mexico in Epcot. Too bad the main meals in this restaurant are merely ok, although they do have one of my favorite desserts in all WDW there (some kind of white chocolate mousse), though it may not be there anymore.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      motohog

      Registered: January 2008
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food/Service
      Cons: NONE

       
      This was one the the orginal places back when EPCOT opened. My wife and I have seen alot of changes through the years especially the menu. We had just got back and I must say the food and the service is excellent. We will go back in a heartbeat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JJPrice

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Tight seating, very dark

       
      We really enjoyed this restaurant, it is quite dark and tables are very close together. That being said, eating by the volcano is very cool.


      My advice would be not to fill up on the tortilla chips and leave room for dinner. We had fish fish tacos and the steak with cheese enchilada. My kids had chicken tacos and everything was really tasty.


      Our server was very nice, however he really messed up our dining credits. We found servers were having a hard time adjusting to the new payment system. Our server ended up charging us 5 Adult credits and 3 Kids credits, instead of 2 and 2. We didn't notice right away and ended up having to get the concierge at our resort to fix this mistake.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ndgaspar

      Registered: April 2009
      Location: MA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu July 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Servce, Theming, Food
      Cons: Close Tables, Noise Level

       
      I've eaten at SAI on a number of occasions, both as part of a party of two and as a solo diner. I love the theming of the restaurant (and the whole pavilion) and have never been bothered by the low lighting. Service has always been excellent as well. There are usually 2 people with an eye on the table, providing refills and clearing dishes as needed. Dishes are always served promptly, but I have never been rushed along.


      I've never been disappointed with my meal. The Carne Asada is my go-to dish here, as I like the variety on the plate. That being said, I miss the "old" menu. The Filete Montuleno was out of this world, as was the Capirotada de Chocolate Blanco (white chocolate bread pudding). I find the new dessert menu, in particular, to be a little disappointing.


      The only downsides I've experienced are, as many others have noted, the proximity of the tables to each other. It's not uncommon to bump someone or have to squeeze between tables when you're leaving, which is a bit awkward in general, never mind when someone is in the middle of their meal. Also, it can get a bit loud. The best way to avoid this is to eat at non-peak times, but the pavilion itself gets very crowded if it rains and the volume increases then too.


      I've recommended SAI to a number of people and some were glad to have at least tried it, while it has become a regular haunt for others.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      artgal227

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Fri June 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Close tables

       
      We had not eaten here since 1998. My husband and I walked up with out a reservation, and we were seated within 10 minutes. It was about 3:00 and they were still seating for lunch. The food was fantastic. The only negative I could see was that the tables were too close together. It was not a big deal to us since the restaurant was not busy at this time and no one was seated on either side. If they had been it would have been uncomfortable for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Tue June 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: tables too close, avg food

       
      We had a dining reservation on May 27. Checked in early and we were seated close to our reservation time. The lighting is dim, but reading the menu was not a problem for us. One major con is the closeness of the tables. It almost feels like the Biergarten experience where you sit with strangers. The service was good. Food and drinks came out quickly. Nothing special about the food though. Average size portion and average quality Mexican food at best. Better places to eat for the money. We had never tried this place and we can cross it off the list now. No major problems. It's just not worth the money or a table service credit in my opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sat May 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice atmosphere
      Cons: Not efficient, food average

       
      Very nice atmosphere, but dimly light and difficult to read menu and see food. Polla A La Rajas was very good, had a nice cream sauce. Other dishes were average. We had a reservation but still waited 1/2 hour for table, even though there were always about 10 tables vacant. Either they were short-staffed or inefficient.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nicole0992

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Los Angeles
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue May 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful atmosphere, great wait staff
      Cons: Tables very close

       
      We dined at San Angel Inn recently. It is one of our favorites at Epcot and this visit did not disappoint. We all had the Sopa Azteca (traditional tortilla soup) that is presented and served tableside. It's delicious! We also all once again had our favorite entree, Pollo a la Rajas (grilled chicken with rice in a cream sauce). This dish is so wonderful and always excellent. Desserts here are terrific as well. My favorite is the Crema Bavaria. I highly recommend San Angel Inn not only for the beautiful and romantic atmosphere but also for the food. Also, we had the best server at our trip here, Marion. He was so friendly and a joy to talk to. He also works at Be Our Guest.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bodean4god

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Port St Lucie, FL
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri April 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food
      Cons: maybe a little too dark

       
      Though the atmosphere is a quite dark, it's this way on purpose to give the illusion of being at an outdoor market at night and really is wonderful! The food is fantastic and as many of the restaurants in Epcot you can share many of the meals. The small steak tacos are great and we, of course, love the chips and different salsas that come with the table. After your meal, give the boat ride a try. Never a wait and quite relaxing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.