Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sat October 1, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): monorail,beautiful resort,wonderful castmembers
      Cons: no quick service in villas, too far walk for refillable mugs

       
      We rented points to stay a Deluxe studio Sep 13-16. Used ME and was shocked to see that you shared ME with other resorts which took longer. Checkin went very well and was given Anniversary pins to wear. Room wasn't ready so we left carryons and jumped on monorail to Epcot. Never waited for a monorail more than 5 min and always found a seat. Love the easiness of traveling to the parks on monorail. Received email later in day room #. Didn't get back to resort until late and used Gasparilla café for late night meal. Not big variety but needed to get refillable mugs. Long walk from there to villas. Room was very clean and loved the lakeview. Didn't get any extras for anniversary but didn't matter enjoyed it very much. Would have scorded higher but would like to see amenities at the villas so you don't have to go clear to main bldg.to get refills or quick service meals.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 117
      Review Date: Mon June 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful villa, quiet
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa the first week in May. Did online check-in which was seamless. Room was in excellent condition and very clean. Housekeeping well done. Bell services were fast. Very much enjoyed our stay here and will be glad to visit again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 117
      Review Date: Mon February 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful villa, location, service from check in to check out, quiet
      Cons: Showing wear and tear

       
      This was our first stay at our newest home resort. We are experienced DVC members. The villas are beautiful. Everyone was so helpful from the cast member who contacted us before our visit to see if we needed any help with planning to the staff at check in and housekeeping. Unfortunately, our villa was showing wear and tear already. It is unfortunate that other guests damaged the table, the cook top, and the security lock. The resort is lovely and we really enjoyed our stay here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed January 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cleanliness, beauty, service, location
      Cons: none

       
      This was our first DVC stay and wow was it a great one! I remember several years back monorailing by the Grand Floridian thinking "Wow, we will never stay here. . .it is way too nice and expensive" and now we are owners at the villas. Beautiful room and resort. We did not have the best view (2nd floor, room 1220, overlooking the wedding pavilion), but beyond that, it was magical. Great amenities, even the pullout bed was comfy according to my sister. So excited for future stays here and at other DVC properties!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jazzfool20

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Easton, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful room, exceptional theme, lovely grounds, and location...
      Cons: none

       
      My family and I just returned from a stay (Sept. 23rd - Oct. 1st) at my "home" the GF Villas, and Everything was almost perfect. This was my premier stay, and it had been a dream to stay at the Grand Floridian for many years. Having been a DVC member by association for many years (my parents own at OKW) I've come to expect a lot, and was not disappointed. The grounds and building are stunning. The theme and period music, i.e. Paul Whiteman, The Mills Blue Rhythm Band, Artie Shaw, etc...are par excellence (though sadly most people don't notice, and it's lost on them). Covered walkway from the villas to the main building is wonderful, especially when it rains. The rooms are equally exceptional. We were in a studio, and had a great view of the monorail and grounds. There's one bed, and a pull-out sofa, which my parents said was the best they'd ever slept on. Closet/drawer space was fine for three people, though might be a bit tough for four. Linens, and robes were lovely, as was the split bathroom.
      There were a few very minor negatives: There was almost nowhere to hang anything - only one double hook in one bathroom. Very little drawer space - in fact only one, and a weird pull down drawer on the other side. Also only one sink. The overall size of the room was a bit on the small side, but I think that's because the bathrooms are so big, and I'm comparing them mainly to OKW which as the biggest DVC studios on property.
      Overall would highly recommend, and can't wait to return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robalzas

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: pennsylvania
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu August 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything! The beauty of the grounds and the Villas.
      Cons: The quick service restaurant is a bit of a walk to get to.

       
      Our family visited Disney World July 27-August 3.The first 4 days were at Kidani Village and the last 3 days at the Villas of Grand Floridian. Original plans were for a full week at the Villas at the Grand Floridian during the second week of June. But because of the horrible weather we got in PA, extra days were added to the end of the school year so we had to push back our vacation and we lost the full week at this resort. This was a celebration for my son's graduation.


      The grounds at the Villa's are so beautiful, the resort itself is stunning, the lobby and rooms just gorgeous. The rooms were spotless and everything worked as they should. My favourite was the bubble tub in the master bathroom. You really can't call it a Jacuzzi as there are no jets, this tub has little holes in the bottom. Letting loose a multitude of bubbles and it was fantastic. I love the tub! I requested a high floor, close to the elevator. Got the Fifth floor and close enough to the lift. Did not get a full water view, had the standard view which was a partial view of the parking lot, partial view of the Polynesian and Bay lake.


      My husband and I had got a special Disney magic one morning as we sat outside near the lobby doors when we heard some clip-clops. Stood up to see the glass Cinderella carriage with the miniature horses pulling it. The Photography studio is just next door. Some lucky bride getting her dream come true!


      The Gasparilla grill was a bit of a hike to get to. There is a bar next to the pool and has cup filling station when the bar is open. We swam at the pool closest to the Villas and watched the Magic Kingdom fireworks from the water. Could also see flotilla from that location.


      All in all, our stay was wonderful. All our expectations were met and exceeded It is such a gorgeous place to stay. The staff is so friendly. My new favourite place to stay!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angiem0217

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed February 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, location, location!
      Cons: none

       
      WOW is all I can say. We stayed 1 night in a studio and 4 nights in a 1 bedroom. This place is amazing. I have always wanted to stay at Grand Floridian but could never afford it. We are DVC members and stayed on points in low season and it was so worth the extra points. The rooms are great. My 6 year old son loved the pull down bed in the tv and also loved the built in tv in the bathroom mirror. The feature pool with waterslide is right by the villas and it is great. They also have a play area with small slides. My only complaint is there is no hot tub at the feature pool and you have to walk across the resort to the other pool to get in the hot tub. It is a pretty long walk back when you are wet and it is cold outside. We really could have just stayed at the resort the whole time. The studio had plenty of room for 3, but the 1 bedroom was awesome. We loved having the extra space.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      buntingd

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: FL
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Sat February 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, CM
      Cons: walk to QS

       
      We stayed 1-30 to 2-2 in studio 1221. When we pulled up to the gate about 1:00, the CM called up to the front desk to tell them we were there. CM met us at the car. Bell services got out bags, I went in to finish check-in while DH parked the car and DGD watched cartoons. I did online check-in so it did not take long. Once our MB were activated, we went to our room that was ready. Our GD was excited about the hide away bed. She said this bed was made just for me. Because we were there celebrating GD and my birthdays, we were wearing our birthday buttons and all the CMs were always wishing us happy birthday. One CM gave our GD roses one morning from out of the arrangement in the lobby. She got enough stickers to start passing out stickers to others. Service is always great at a DVC resort so I was expecting this to be over the top and it was. Everything was wonderful from the theming to the CM. The only I wish is that there was a drink station in the Villas instead of having to walk all the way over to the one in the main building. We also hoped to see the parade of ladies in the morning but it was rainy/foggy so they did not have it. We will be back especially if we are spending all our time at MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hussinpa

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful marble, quiet location
      Cons: Substandard Accessible accomodations, management fgollow-up, housekeeping

       
      My family (disabled wife, 2-adult children) checked into a standard view 1-BR villa on January 1st. Besides villa not being available until after 4 PM, I was shocked to find the villa did NOT have the infinity tub. The villa had a regular tub next to the toilet in bathroom and a sink with roll in closet in single room where the sink and infinity tub with separate walk-in closet. After assisting wife around in parks, I look forward to relaxing in Jacuzzi tub in 1-br villas.


      I immediately requested to get out and to another villa or location on property. The check-in manager looked for options locally (WLV and BLT) and was unable to locate anything suitable. I requested she expand her search as we raced out to try and make our dinner reservations. She said she would and that she would contact me with an update. When we returned after dinner and some park time there was no message regarding status of my request.


      I returned to check-in/concierge desks speaking with a CM there and asked about my request for information. I was informed that manager had left early and had assigned my request to another CM. The check-in/concierge CM said he would have a manager contact us first thing in the morning.


      I went down about 9:30 to check with manager and found they were running late and had the check-in/concierge CM call a manager over from the Grand Floridian. That manager showed me the accessible 1-BR villa with shower and a regular 1-BR villa. It appears that DVC elected to keep the villas the same size and reduce the amenities in their accessible villas to accommodate turning radius/access issues. I called DVC and was told that we paid points for location not amenities (silly me I thought it was both).


      After waking up in a pool of sweat several times the second night (poor HVAC control), I found an accessible room at the Polynesian and arranged for my family to stay there the balance of the trip. They were very accommodating in getting us out of the villas but losing 1 1/2 - 2 days of a vacation to unnecessary stress is not what i expected from the Grand.


      Now onto basic review, I noticed a sticky floor in the bathroom. I damp mopped the floor with a couple of wash clothes (that turned dark grey) and dried the floor with bath mat. Not sure why housekeeping was a con with all the reviews so far but I concur that is an issue.


      Finally, these are beautiful villas for "normal" people (why I give it a 3 over a 1) and I would recommend them to you. But having a disabled wife it was very disheartening that DVC felt it was ok to provide substandard (less than in regular villas) amenities to accessible patrons.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Keelie

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, beautiful room, quiet
      Cons: housekeeping, pool drink refill station closes early

       
      I am going to give this 10 even though I debated knocking it down to a 9 because of housekeeping--this new building is absolutely GORGEOUS. It still has that new paint smell but everything is pristine. We did online checkin and had no problems transferring here from another resort. We stayed in a studio with a lake view and it was amazing! We could see Space Mountain, the Polynesian, the Contemporary, and the roof of the Wilderness Lodge from our porch. The two showers in the room made it so my husband and I could get ready at the same time in the morning and while I thought the bed was a little high (at seven months pregnant it made for quite a climb!) the extra pillows in the closet made it so I could get quite comfortable. The room had a toaster, fridge, and microwave along with utensils, plates, and cups for 5 people. There was also a pack and play in the closet, which I thought was a nice touch.


      The only negative I really had was housekeeping. When we first got into our hotel room we found a razor blade (!) on the sink counter, a long dark hair on the back of the toilet, and the trash in the bathroom had not been taken out since it held two empty snack bags. We did have our shampoo and towels replaced once while we were there, which was done efficiently and the trash was removed.


      Still we would definitely stay here again--the walk to the main building is not bad at all and there is a covered archway and the main pool with the slide is right outside the side entrance. Getting to Gasparilla Grill is a bit of a hike, but necessary as the refill station next to the pool inexplicably closes around 9 every evening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DVC Fans

      Registered: July 2008
      Location: Florida
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Sun December 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Elegant, Peaceful and Convenient Location
      Cons: Housekeeping

       
      Excellent property design keeps the Villas well away from the GF main building and pools. So, the GF bus station and GF monorail station noise is thankfully absent. Clearly, this is the quietest DVC location, but the rooms are still reasonably close to transportation, recreation, dining, parking, MK, and the monorail loop.


      We drove to the GF Villas, so we checked in at the Villas Concierge desk. Elegant lobby. Personalized service. Our standard view studio provided a terrific view of the beautiful grounds, including Franck's Bridal Studio, the Spa, and the Polynesian beach. Our room paint colors were sublime. The innovative square footage tradeoff provides an expanded bathroom (large walk-in shower plus separate shower/tub) and pull down bed (beneath the big screen TV), but there are significantly fewer drawers for storage. The studio size is perfect for an extended stay for a party of two or perhaps three. A family of four would work well for a short stay.


      Overall, this new addition to the DVC family feels more like a four star resort than a "time-share property." We eagerly anticipate our next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.