Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    fp.JPG


    fp.JPG
    supersize

    FastPassPlus.png








    • Pin It


    • FastPass+

      • Reviews Views
        83 53945
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        54% of reviewers 4.5
      • Description: Program that allows you to select FastPass Attractions and Entertainment before you leave home AND make changes on the go. You are able to reserve firework and parade viewing areas, Character Greetings and more. Certain restrictions apply.


  • Author
    • mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 135
      Review Date: Thu July 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Guarantee of Specific Attractions
      Cons: Wait to Book 4TH

       
      I like FP+. I like knowing that I have 3 attractions booked to ride ahead of time, like 7 Dwarfs Mine Train, Space Mountain, and Peter Pan at MK. I like being able to plan those ride times. It has allowed me to sleep in on park days without the mad dash to rope drop. I have always been able to get everything I want to get in regardless of the late start. That being said, I don't like having to wait to book the 4th FP+. Even if I have my first 3 FP+ done by lunch time, there's rarely anything good left and there aren't enough kiosks around the parks. This means standing in long lines to get a 4th FP+ to It's a Small World or It's Tough to be a Bug. These are 2 attractions that never have a wait anyway...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dreams

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Guilford, CT
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue May 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none
      Cons: no flexiblility

       
      I like to plan my vacation ahead of time but this is too much. I agree with the other posts. Between the FPs and the ADRs you are locked into one park and you spend the day running from one ADR to the first FP, to the next FP before your next ADR, etc. It has taken all the magic and fun away. Not being able to get another FP until your last one is used, then you need to find a kiosk and nothing is left anyway. I do not have a smart phone so changes are not that easy. I too, miss the old system.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lfellows

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon April 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use
      Cons: UNBEARABLY long standby lines, no flexibility

       
      The FP+ system works fine, BUT forget about any spontaneity. For starters, here's some insight I wish I had early on; FP+ assigns you your return times when you make your initial selections. You can ask it to give you different return times, but what you really want to do is select the return times. Guess what? You can immediately revise your return times individually - it just makes it look like you can't. Do you schedule all of your FP+'s early so you can get more or later when it is crowded? I HIGHLY recommend scheduling them @ peak crowd times unless you want to leave the park and come back during those times. Reason being, ALL of the FP+'s for the good rides will be gone before you even get to the park. You can get more than 3 in a day, but you have to stay in that same park, and the times you can get once you've used your first 3 will be extremely limited, and will likely be for long after the crowds have left and you don't need them.


      Now for the real negative though; you can't get FP+'s for everything, so you WILL be waiting in standby lines. Since everyone has 3 FP+'s, there are A LOT of FP+'ers cutting ahead of you in line on every ride. The more crowded the park is, the more this is true. The standby lines JUST CRAWL!! To see the effect this has, just get to the park before the FP+ return times start. We saw what looked like 60 minute lines breeze by in 20 minutes in that first golden hour. The exact opposite is true in the middle of the afternoon. Seriously, bring a chair. The lines feel like the simply don't move.


      More advice;
      DO get a FP+ for Mine Train, Splash Mountain, Soarin', Toy Story Midway Mania and Jungle Cruise


      DO get to the park early or stay late for Space Mountain and Test Track


      DON'T get FP+ for Big Thunder or the Haunted Mansion. The lines fluctuate enough on these that you can always find a bearable standby wait, and the standby lines aren't that bad.


      DON'T sleep in! The first hour is still a prime time to ride all of the rides with a minimal wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Thu April 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I still don't love this new system, having used it about four times now. The two big tickets, Anna & Elsa and the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train, were things we skipped this time so that helped with making selections and it was easy enough to make changes up to a couple of days before. Day of changes can be nearly impossible.


      Another friend wanted to join my party of two on our first day at Epcot, and we couldn't get any rides to line up (among Soarin' and Spaceship Earth-but he could get one for IllumiNations!). Our day at Hollywood Studios, the bus took a long time to arrive so I needed to move some things around-no availability for Tower of Terror. On another day at Animal Kingdom, wanted to move our Dinosaur and Kali River Rapids passes back just a bit. Dinosaur was fine; KRR had no more availability until 2 hours later, much longer than we wanted to stay in the park.


      We did do pretty well at Magic Kingdom. Entering the park around 1pm, we used our original three options on Buzz Lightyear (they weren't even scanning at the second check point), Space Mountain, and Winnie the Pooh by 5:35. We visited a kiosk and were able to get a fourth almost immediately for it's a small world. It took us a few more kiosks and tries [CM tip: go back and forth between the "choose the ride" and "choose the time" pages a few times, and more times will become available - or try a different kiosk location] but were eventually able to get a fifth for Peter Pan's Flight and then a sixth for Jungle Cruise (11:40pm-12:40am), and I suspect we only had such luck because the park was open so late. Doubtful this could have occurred on a night when the park was only open until 9pm.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 84
      Review Date: Wed April 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick entry to rides
      Cons: have to plan too far ahead

       
      This was our 2nd time using fast pass+. We love getting on rides quickly, but having to make the decision on what fast passes to get months in advance limits us to follow park plans made far ahead of time. I tried to change some passes a day or two ahead, but all of the times we wanted were taken. I miss the old system. Then if we wanted to change the park we were going to at the spur of the moment, we could. I felt sorry for all those people we saw in line at the fast pass kiosks. They were left with the undesirable time slots for that day. Some times on the old system we would get more than one fast pass for the same ride on the same day. Not any more. The only way to ride that ride twice was to get to it at park opening and do standby early. Then use our fast pass later. While I do recommend Fast Pass+ I do so only because it's the only way to get a good fast pass. I hope they do some more tweeking to the system to make improvements. I would like to see the ability to choose any rides you want, not from a 2 tiered choice, and also be able to choose one ride more than once.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      becca3205

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue March 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pre planning
      Cons: none

       
      i love that i can plan ahead i look at calenders as soon as they come out and i plan what parks i want to be in now i can also get fast passes for the rides i really want before i even leave home awesome!!


      at the park one morning i arrived for magic hours and had already riden all the rides on my plan before they where scheduled so i changed my passes to another park while still in animal kingdom.


      not only that i didn't have to worry about losing paper tickets which is great because i lose everything almost as soon as i get it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      destinie

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon March 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good for organization, Allow EVERYONE to experience fast pass
      Cons:

       
      I really like the new FastPass+ system for several reasons:


      1) Elimination of cards. If you have a magicband you can store all your information on it, including your fastpass+ reservations. I loved it! I didn't have to keep track of where a card was or worrying about digging through a bag or wallet every time I wanted to get on a ride. Tap your band and you're in.


      2) It allows everyone an opportunity to ride the rides. I remember not having fastpass options visiting WDW when I was younger and all I remember from when I went as a kid was waiting in lines for over an hour in the heat of summer while people who could afford it were able to jump in line. Glad I didn't have to do that this time. I feel like the FastPass+ is a fair system to give everyone the opportunity to ride a ride without having to spend a majority of their day standing in line.


      3) Great for organization. It allowed us to pick what we really wanted to do then we could organize our day around it. We did have the opportunity to be spontaneous when we were near attractions with a very short wait time and it allowed us to make a plan of what we really wanted to do and optimize our time. I feel like part of the "magic" in a vacation is being able to plan and dream about the fun stuff you are going to do!


      4) It's easy! You get 3 passes to start then you can add more. Adding new passes were really easy and found that the lines for the kiosks were great. And I felt that we wouldn't have experienced as much as we did without the use of fastpass+. The process prior to getting to the parks were very easy, too. The WDW official website is incredibly helpful if you need it. At the kiosks in the park, there were cast members who could add the fastpass+ reservations for you as well.


      I also liked how you could get alerts on your reservations when a ride was inaccessible. We received an email that one ride was down and we got a free reservation to use on predetermined attractions. That was great! I really liked feeling like WDW was working with us to make sure we had a great time. Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinderellaGirl

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun January 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fastpasses are easily accessible through your smartphone
      Cons: Huge learning curve, transition from the old system takes a lot of getting used to, tier system, can only book fastpasses ahead of time for 1 park per day

       
      I just returned from WDW, and this was my first experience with Fastpass plus. After reading about the new system, as well as reading all of the negative reviews surrounding it, I was nervous that we would run into problems, but I decided to go into my vacation using the new system with an open mind... And I'm glad I did!


      We purchased 5 day park hoppers, and booked our fastpasses 60 days in advance. I will admit, that it is frustrating that Disney is now having guests choose their fastpasses so far in advance, but again, I decided to just roll with it and make the best out of the new system. Since we had park hoppers, we decided that it would be best to go to one park in the morning, and not book any fastpasses for this park, as long lines had not yet formed. We would hop to a second park in the afternoon where we would have our fastpasses booked for early afternoon. We were able to schedule all three fastpasses for each day one right after the other. This strategy worked GREAT for us! After we used our initial three fastpasses, it was usually around 3pm, and we were always able to book an additional 1-2 fastpasses before they ran out!


      One recurring complaint that I've seen about this new system is that people are being forced to "micro manage" their vacations. I found this to not be true at all. One really great aspect of this new system is the ability to change your plans. Under the old system, if you had a fastpass and the time ended up not working for you, the fastpass pretty much went to waste. With the new system, if you change your mind about what you want to do, you can change your fastpasses! We were able to change our fastpass selections with absolutely no issues. One day we had fastpasses for the Magic Kingdom, but the night before we decided that we wanted fastpasses for Hollywood Studios instead. We were able to cancel our fastpasses for Magic Kingdom, and secure new fastpasses for the same times as our old fastpasses for Rockin Roller Coaster, Tower of Terror, and Star Tours with absolutely no issues. Full disclosure, we visited in January during the "value" season, and so this process may not work as smoothly during peak season, but as far as changing our selections to "E ticket" attractions, we had absolutely no problems.


      The one technical difficulty we did run into involved who in our party made changes to the fastpasses. I visited with my boyfriend, and he was the primary person on our reservation. If I tried to alter our fastpasses, the change would show up in My Disney Experience on our phones, but apparently the change did not make it's way through the system. When we would get to our fastpass attraction, Mickey's head would flash blue (oh no!) and the CM would say we didn't have a fastpass for that attraction. We would explain that we had made a change, and would show them that we did indeed have a fastpass on our phones, and they were able to add us with absolutely no problem. If my boyfriend made a change through his Disney account, we would not encounter any issues when entering the fastpass queue (Mickey always turned green). This didn't have a serious effect on us, so we didn't bring this to the attention of anyone, but I'm sure they would have been able to fix the issue. Just to be safe, you might want to use the account of the primary person on your reservation make any additions or changes to your fastpasses!


      The limitations on what fastpasses you can choose is annoying, including the fact that your 3 pre-booked passes must be in the same park, and the tier system in Epcot and Hollywood Studios, although I understand why Disney needed to implement these restrictions. It is only possible for so many fastpasses per attraction per day to be available, and if you could book a fastpass for Soarin', Toy Story Mania, and The Mine Train for the same day 60 days in advance, day guests and those staying off site would be put at a SERIOUS disadvantage (more so than they already are!) And if you think about it realistically, would you really be able to get fastpasses for all three of those rides in one day under the old system? NO!


      While it's great to be able to have all of your plans available at your fingertips in your smartphone, this new system is a lot of change to take in at once, and even though I have been to the World many times, I spent a lot of time researching this new system in order to familiarize myself with it. I will admit, that if I had never visited before, I would have been seriously overwhelmed. However, every CM that we encountered was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about the new system, and was always able to help. Disney really did a great job training the CMs in this new system and they are able to answer any questions you have.


      While I realize that this is opinion does not match that of most others, I think that this new system is great. It definitely saves a lot of time collecting passes, and it's great to get passes right from your smartphone, or a centrally located kiosk, rather than at each individual ride. Instead of walking to an attraction, looking at the wait time and deciding if you want to ride stand by or get a fastpass, you can look at the wait time on your phone and decide if you want to change your fastpass plans, or add an additional fastpass after you use your 3. I think that as Disney continues to work out what few kinks in the system are left, that people will become happier with it. People do not like change, and I think that is the reason for all of the negativity surrounding this new system! Try to use the system with an open mind...you just might like it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      promopete

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu January 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None. Old system was better.
      Cons: More time micro-managing trip, less time having fun

       
      The bottom line is this system was designed to make you stay at Disney longer to get in all the main attractions - and just like a casino, the longer you stay at Disney, the more $$$ you give back to Disney.


      Look at it this way...I'm an able bodied person, and if not me, the kids in my family are, or someone in our party is. In the old system, someone could collect everyone's tickets, run across the park and FP everyone at once at a popular attraction, and return to the group. We did this all day. 1 day at each park was enough, because we could FP almost everything and rarely had to wait in a line - so we were operating all day at optimal efficiency.


      FP Plus is a Disney Trojan Horse. It is a business plan wrapped in a shiny wrapper. On the surface it looks great - you seemingly have control of your trip in the palm of your hands. Make FP plans, Dining Reservations, all with the app and magic band.


      But it strips you of so many things. The tiered FP system means your are no longer as efficient as you could be. Want to make a change just on a whim, or due to weather, or just because? Well, those FP times are gone, along with all the others because people started booking those months ago.


      Disney has crossed the line from the thrill and fun of planning a trip with your family, to now micro-managing your trip down to the minute. It's just no longer enjoyable. Gone are the days of getting everything in at 1 park on 1 day, and I guess that is the point.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lstehle

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): I guess less time waiting in a line
      Cons: Restrictive, not an efficient way to see the park

       
      We had been Disney regulars a while back. We mastered the old FastPass experience by timing our location and hitting all the rides and using the FastPass to do it efficiently. This new way is terrible. Like the other reviewers, you have to have planned out your trip weeks in advance to get any great times. I was 28 days out to plan a trip to Magic Kingdom and all the times for the roller coasters were in the late afternoon or midnight. We are annual pass holders and like to hit the parks in the morning and leave by afternoon. I liked my FastPass printed out, not having to take a picture. You spend more time trying to select times, make adjustments later. I liked walking past the select rides that had the FastPass before, saw the time from a distance of when the FastPass ticket would be and then make my decision whether I wanted to do it or wait in line. We are just so disappointed with this.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tpetty

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Fishers, IN
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Wed January 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): When a ride went down we were allowed to us the FP+ on another ride (or that ride if it came back up) for the rest of the day
      Cons: System still isn't working correctly; no room for flexibility

       
      This was our 3rd trip (12-2-14 to 12-11-14) using the FP+ system. The 1st trip was when they were testing it so won't count this trip but the last two trips when the system has been live for everyone we have had problems. Mainly with switching our FP+ experience to another experience. This past time we decided we wanted to switch Test Track for Soarin' and my phone told me we could have the same time as our Test Track ride time but then once it did the final confirmation it was for a completely different time. I didn't realize this at 1st and went on to change another experience and again got a ride time that wasn't the same as what it told me I would get. I know the system tries to be smart and not book FP+ during dining reservations but it didn't take into account that we were doing the Candlelight Processional (had a dinner package) so it kept putting ride times into that time frame. In the end we spent about 45 min. with a Cast Member the next day at a kiosk trying to figure out what went wrong. Final the Cast Member told us that b/c we don't have an iPhone the system will tell us we can have the same time as the FP+ that we are trying to switch but then once it does the final confirmation and that time really isn't available it will pick another time for us and give us that time instead. The way around that was to not use the My Disney App but to log onto the disneyworld.com website and make the changes that way. So much for getting to use an app that is supposed to make your vacation easier.


      There was one day where we were by a kiosk and we had used up our 1st three FP+ so DH got a 4th one and he was able to get most rides at the MK to pick from.


      We also got a FP+ for The Frozen Sing Along and when we got there between our window they were already seating non-FP+ guests and so the seats were picked over and we were presented seats with a pole in our way. We wouldn't have had a problem with this had we been late for our window but we weren't so we saw no advantage to using a FP+ for that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed December 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none off the top of my head
      Cons: eliminates spontaneity, eliminates flexibility, app was sluggish

       
      i recently returned from my first trip to DW using the new FastPass Plus system. i did not have a good experience with it at all. I stayed on property so I had made reservations 2 months in advance. Some people may like to decide 2 months in advance what park they are going to attend. I am a planner - but not that much. But if you want a FP to rides like 7 Dwarfs or Toy Story Mania or Soarin, you have to do it this way. I like to plan but also maintain a bit of flexibility. The new system won't allow for that. You have to decide on what day you will attend MK, HS, Epcot or AK weeks in advance. The My Disney Experience App never worked well in the parks for me - either on my phone or my iPad. When i tried to use the kiosks they told me i could not make changes to my FPs if i made reservations online - WHAT?!?! I know the new system is here to stay and for me the change is not a good one. For me, there is nothing about the new system that is better than the old one. It will make it more likely for me to return to Disney World but less likely.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Allow long range planning
      Cons: Have destroyed the Magic

       
      The new FP+ system have taken away from any freedom that one might have had. Now you have to pre-plan every day.


      I personally hate the new system.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brianhat

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed November 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Discriminatory as it's currently structured

       
      We had experience of FP+ earlier this year and it was OK. I think at that time, many people had not got to grips with it and weren't taking full advantage.
      That's because we're visiting again in a couple of weeks and things have changed dramatically for the worse. As I originally feared, the system is discriminatory and I say this for 3 reasons:
      1 I live in the UK. To get a decent time for a popular attraction or in the case of some attractions getting a time at all, I have to go online at 5am (4am last week before daylight savings ended). If I want to sleep and wait until later in the day there are no decent times available and sometimes nothing at all.
      2 We stay in a villa and are beaten to the FPs by 30 days by those people staying on site. This explains why we never get a sniff at a FP for the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train. As the vast majority of park guests stay off-site, Disney aren't being fair to those who don't, who pay the same prices for tickets.
      3 We are annual passholders and I found out today (with no warning through the apps or info on Disney website) that we can only have FPs over 7 days. We visit 4+ weeks a year and it seems for 50% of our days on Disney property effectively we are stuck with standby lines only. This takes me back to pre paper Fast Pass days - must we enter the parks at daybreak like the good old days (except this time there will be many more fortunate who have no restrictions on their FPs)? This isn't progress! If I bought a 2 week pass, I can book FPs for every day of my stay, so why should I be discriminated against as an AP holder?
      We've made 20 trips to WDW of 2 weeks or more in the last 34 years and sadly we may be nearing our last as we're beginning to not feel wanted.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SarahL78

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Lack of flexibility, unable to access as many attractions as before, spontaneity is gone, and everything else about this product

       
      I've been a frequent WdW visitor for years and I'm quite a planner, but this system truly marks the death of any spontaneity in the parks. I am not a robot. I am on vacation. I don't want to choose exactly which park and which particular day and every ride-time a month in advance! If something changes, or there is an unforeseen circumstance, I'm screwed. I resent being glued to my phone. The system was fine. If it ain't broke don't fix it. I am far less likely to park hop for the reasons stated in the reviews above. I echo all the criticisms in the reviews on this site. I like a bit of flexibility at wdw - maybe I want to change plans and go over to Epcot one day and try for a fast pass for test track. Ha! Impossible now. The tiered system is a rip off. I'm taking every opportunity at guest services to tell Disney that this is trip-planning overkill. For first time visitors, this must be truly overwhelming. Walt would've hated this. I'm rethinking my decisions as to when and how often to go to WDW, and Will spend more time at Disneyland, where my day is flexible, I call the shots, and I don't have to deal with this truly anal retentive nonsense.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.