Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    fp.JPG


    fp.JPG
    supersize

    FastPassPlus.png








    • Pin It


    • FastPass+

      • Reviews Views
        72 39116
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        53% of reviewers 4.3
      • Description: Program that allows you to select FastPass Attractions and Entertainment before you leave home AND make changes on the go. You are able to reserve firework and parade viewing areas, Character Greetings and more. Certain restrictions apply.


  • Author
    • bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed December 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none off the top of my head
      Cons: eliminates spontaneity, eliminates flexibility, app was sluggish

       
      i recently returned from my first trip to DW using the new FastPass Plus system. i did not have a good experience with it at all. I stayed on property so I had made reservations 2 months in advance. Some people may like to decide 2 months in advance what park they are going to attend. I am a planner - but not that much. But if you want a FP to rides like 7 Dwarfs or Toy Story Mania or Soarin, you have to do it this way. I like to plan but also maintain a bit of flexibility. The new system won't allow for that. You have to decide on what day you will attend MK, HS, Epcot or AK weeks in advance. The My Disney Experience App never worked well in the parks for me - either on my phone or my iPad. When i tried to use the kiosks they told me i could not make changes to my FPs if i made reservations online - WHAT?!?! I know the new system is here to stay and for me the change is not a good one. For me, there is nothing about the new system that is better than the old one. It will make it more likely for me to return to Disney World but less likely.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Allow long range planning
      Cons: Have destroyed the Magic

       
      The new FP+ system have taken away from any freedom that one might have had. Now you have to pre-plan every day.


      I personally hate the new system.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brianhat

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed November 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Discriminatory as it's currently structured

       
      We had experience of FP+ earlier this year and it was OK. I think at that time, many people had not got to grips with it and weren't taking full advantage.
      That's because we're visiting again in a couple of weeks and things have changed dramatically for the worse. As I originally feared, the system is discriminatory and I say this for 3 reasons:
      1 I live in the UK. To get a decent time for a popular attraction or in the case of some attractions getting a time at all, I have to go online at 5am (4am last week before daylight savings ended). If I want to sleep and wait until later in the day there are no decent times available and sometimes nothing at all.
      2 We stay in a villa and are beaten to the FPs by 30 days by those people staying on site. This explains why we never get a sniff at a FP for the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train. As the vast majority of park guests stay off-site, Disney aren't being fair to those who don't, who pay the same prices for tickets.
      3 We are annual passholders and I found out today (with no warning through the apps or info on Disney website) that we can only have FPs over 7 days. We visit 4+ weeks a year and it seems for 50% of our days on Disney property effectively we are stuck with standby lines only. This takes me back to pre paper Fast Pass days - must we enter the parks at daybreak like the good old days (except this time there will be many more fortunate who have no restrictions on their FPs)? This isn't progress! If I bought a 2 week pass, I can book FPs for every day of my stay, so why should I be discriminated against as an AP holder?
      We've made 20 trips to WDW of 2 weeks or more in the last 34 years and sadly we may be nearing our last as we're beginning to not feel wanted.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SarahL78

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Lack of flexibility, unable to access as many attractions as before, spontaneity is gone, and everything else about this product

       
      I've been a frequent WdW visitor for years and I'm quite a planner, but this system truly marks the death of any spontaneity in the parks. I am not a robot. I am on vacation. I don't want to choose exactly which park and which particular day and every ride-time a month in advance! If something changes, or there is an unforeseen circumstance, I'm screwed. I resent being glued to my phone. The system was fine. If it ain't broke don't fix it. I am far less likely to park hop for the reasons stated in the reviews above. I echo all the criticisms in the reviews on this site. I like a bit of flexibility at wdw - maybe I want to change plans and go over to Epcot one day and try for a fast pass for test track. Ha! Impossible now. The tiered system is a rip off. I'm taking every opportunity at guest services to tell Disney that this is trip-planning overkill. For first time visitors, this must be truly overwhelming. Walt would've hated this. I'm rethinking my decisions as to when and how often to go to WDW, and Will spend more time at Disneyland, where my day is flexible, I call the shots, and I don't have to deal with this truly anal retentive nonsense.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Villeguy

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed October 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nothing I Could See
      Cons: Longer Lines and Wasted Fast Passes

       
      We had a horrible experience with Fast Pass+ on our trip last year and I am sorry to report it was the same this year (09/28/14 to 10/08/14). We can't understand how anyone like us who starts their days in the parks in the early afternoon and like all their so called thrill rides worth it. The tiers at EPCOT are unbearable. We were in Disney World for 10 days and were only able to ride Test Track once! We had to waste more fast passes on attractions we had to pick and not show up because we had absolutely no interest in riding. Once at EPCOT Maelstorm was not running, so we could not use or fast pass. When we received a message (about an 15 to 20 minutes after our original fast pass time had expired) that another fast pass was available, we were pretty excited. When we looked at our choices of attractions it was a joke (due to the tiers). We actually looked at each other and laughed. With our Hopper, one day, we were at EPCOT in the afternoon and heading to the Magic Kingdom in the evening. We actually had to wait until our last fast pass at EPCOT was expired (which was kind of late in the day due to the tier choices). We didn't ride the attraction, we used our bands at the attractions then got out of line and headed over to the Magic Kingdom. When we got to the Magic Kingdom and saw the line just for the fast pass kiosk, we looked at each other and laughed again. You have everyone trying to get a fast pass for every attraction in one line. There is no way to tell after all the waiting there will be a fast pass for the attraction you wanted. In the old days only the people who wanted a fast pass for that attraction would be in that fast pass area and you would be able to tell if there were any passes available by the machines that were not covered. Oh my god, the stand by lines this year were the worst we ever experienced. We have been coming to Disney World in the Fall for the past 10 years at the end of September because there were never any lines. We felt the trade off was that the parks closed early. This year the parks closed early and from what we experienced Fast Pass+ added 20 to 30 minutes longer waits on the Stand By lines. We rode less attractions this year than any other year. Starts to make you wonder if it's really worth the expense of a Disney World vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can get Character Greetings and other non-attractions
      Cons: Way too much planning ... impossible to change for anything decent last-minute, app doesn't always work

       
      Fast Pass+ forced me to micro-manage our vacation. Not only did we have to select 3 attractions per day, but now I had to coordinate those attractions with my dining reservations (location, time to get from one to the other, etc.) and had to predict a month in advance where and what time I wanted to be at a certain attraction?!? And what if we woke up in the morning and decided to go to a different park? Or decided to stay at the pool and go to the park in the evening? Out of luck -- no way to get any decent Fast Pass attractions. Completely took out all the spontaneity of the trip. Not a fan ...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annebill

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pre planning organization
      Cons:

       
      I have been to Disneyworld many, many times but our trip to the magic last week was our first experience with the wristbands & fastpass+....I was very apprehensive after reading all the negativity, but this reviewer was totally impressed.


      I booked all the fast passes for our trip at the 60 day mark prior to leaving and what a relief it was to know that we no longer needed to be in the midst of the maddening crowd in order to rush to to popular rides such as Toy Story Midway Mania....our timing was already taken care of....


      True, there is no way some attractions even remotely require a fast pass...but do your research and make the best of the choices.....for example, we set up our day at Epcot for an EMH morning...we had ridden Soarin' twice before 9am and then headed over to move right onto Test Track with our prebooked fast pass....cut out some major backtrack walking.


      At the Magic Kingdom, we had our original 3 passes scheduled, then were able to book an additional 3 more during that same day. We were able to basically, register the pass timing, then head directly to the attraction and hop on....and these were all rides that had a posted wait of 30 to 45 minutes....bonus!!!


      Some of the lines at the kiosks were a bit long, but the cast members staffing them were watchful to move things along and the waits were certainly nothing like the queues at some attractions...there was always staff available who were very helpful with the process..but for this non-techie, the system is incredibly user friendly...


      The entire process was nothing but positive for us:)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Don't have to run ahead to get passes
      Cons: not easy to change

       
      We found that if we had to change plans all of the fast passes we would want were gone for the day. Rides were down during our fast pass time and since we had a tight schedule it made it hard to get back to the rides. We had two rides down one day and you can't get another pass till you use all your passes. We also couldn't figure were the kiosk to help with the passes were.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 224
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Planning in advance
      Cons: Planning in advance, difficult to make same day changes, problems getting more than 3 FPs

       
      I have a love/hate relationship with FP+. This was the first trip where I was able to make my choices 60 days out. The "tiers" at Epcot and DHS don't even bother me that much, because both Test Track and Rock 'n' Roller Coaster have single rider lines, and I travel by myself quite often. Only downside for Test Track is that you can't truly design your own car in the singles line.


      It is nearly impossible to make day of changes, and the touted ability to make more than 3 FP choices per day is a joke. By the time you've finished your three options, it's already noon at the earliest and you're left with ridiculous choices like Figment and Captain EO.


      I made my FP+ choices 60 days out and scored a prime Anna & Elsa FP for 9:20am...but then I had to change my dates and literally the only one available for them in a 7 day span was 6:20pm on an EMH night. Certainly not ideal but I wasn't going to wait 90+ minutes either.


      While it is gratifying to see that Mickey head turn green, there has to be a way to make some changes. I wish there was a compromise between the old and new systems-such as tapping your band to get a return time, rather than a paper ticket. And judging by the "Standby" tickets that have recently been instituted at the A&E meet and greet and BOG lunch, Disney has also realized that guests are unhappy and changes need to be made.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xxjess10

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Planning ahead of time,, no more wasting time getting fastpasses
      Cons: Can't make new fastpasses from My Disney Experience, can't choose 3 major rides

       
      We were really impressed with the new system. As a family that LOVES to plan ahead and has been to WDW many times, we knew exactly what we wanted to do and had already picked our fastpasses out well in advance of the actual date to create them. On said date, we were a little disappointed to find that you can really only pick one major attraction to Fastpass, but we found that once we were in the park it didn't matter! With the time that we saved running from ride to ride to make new Fastpasses, we were able to spend more time running to rides to ride them instead. We did find, however, that after using our three fastpasses it was tedious to find a kiosk to make another one. There aren't many of these in the parks, and there was almost always a line. I know it is a work in progress, and I'm excited to see what Disney will come up with regarding this new system.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: inability to change attractions when plans change, waiting for more fast passes after 3 are used, sometimes I did NOT need to use fast pass because line was short--waste!!!

       
      I am a planner by nature and thought I would love this product. However, after using the FastPass+ system twice, I have decided this is not a great addition to Walt Disney World.


      Problem #1--My family got the flu as soon as we arrived to WDW--domino style. First son, then me. I had to spend a day and a half in the hotel room. This meant all of my fast passes for Tues. were unusable. I had to switch around my park days to accommodate a must do breakfast at Hollywood Studios. What did this mean?
      *Some attractions were already "sold out" because people get to choose what they want before arrival. We missed a few of our favs.
      *When the grandpa got the flu, grandma had to switch around her days to join my kids and me. She had to go wait at Guest Relations for them to change around her Fast Passes.
      *The grandma's fast pass times did not sync up with what we had scheduled.
      *All the fast passes that were wasted and unused on the days the family couldn't make it to the theme parks could have been used by others who were actually at the parks.


      Problem#2 I do not have a smart phone. I have to carry around return times on a piece of paper. Terrible on the day when I forgot my sheet of paper with the times.


      Problem #3 The portable iPads would not work on my MagicBand, so I was told I'd have to go to Guest Services at the FRONT of each park to have a Fast Pass modified.


      Problem #4 Waiting in Line to get a Fast Pass at a Kiosk. LONG LINES!!! I did the parks a couple of days w/ 2 kids, age 8 and age5-by myself w/o adult help. They couldn't last in a long line in the heat.


      Problem #5--My husband decided at the last minute to join us at MK on our last day (he had been golfing each day minus the sick days) When we got to MK NONE of our Fast Pass times would sync with our band. Here we go again. He could not ride any of those rides with us---one of which was Splash Mountain. Kids disappointed Daddy couldn't go with them.


      Problem #6--We finish our day in the parks around 2-3pm so kids can go enjoy resort pool. When one has to modify a fast pass the morning times or early afternoon times have been taken. So, we either didn't get to ride some of them. We had to leave Hollywood Studios in the early afternoon and return at 5:45 just so we could ride Toy Story Mania!


      Problem 7# --A couple of times we arrived to use our fast pass and there was only a 0-15 minute wait! For example, Character Greetings at Epcot for Mickey was a 5 minute wait! We could have used that fast pass for something else. Yet, more waste.


      Problem #8 -I was thinking about going to Disney at the last minute in a couple of weeks. (I've been so many times I don't need that much time for planning....) Then I remembered about the new fast pass system. Because guests can reserve their attractions so far in advance, I bet the fast passes have already been taken.


      Here is my suggestion....BRING BACK the old Fast Pass system and modify it so you can tap your Magic Band and get a fast pass return time on the spot. The old system let you plan SOOOO much better by actually not really letting people plan that much into the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DonLSJ

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): can choose 3 in advance
      Cons: everything else

       
      The old Fastpass system worked well. This new FP+ system is totally messed up. They SAY you can make a 4th FP+ pick after the using the first 3, but by that time the ones for major attractions are all taken. I had my 3 FP+ picks used by 1pm at MK on 6/18... then after a 45 min wait at a kiosk, none were left for the big rides. My kids are used to doing Splash Mt 3 or 4 times, it's their fav. Can't do that now. If they don't fix this, I doubt we will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dailey71

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): no having to run for fast pass kiosks when park opens
      Cons: limited amount of fast passes, ride categories

       
      While it was nice to not have to make a mad dash for a fast pass kiosk as soon as the park gate opened, you were limited to which rides you could reserve them. The system also wouldn't let you get passes for only certain members of your group. It was all or nothing. We did find that if you let your pass time expire, you could then set up any fast pass you wanted to replace it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience
      Cons: Must use 3 fast passes before getting more from a kiosk in a disney park

       
      I just returned from WDW. I've been to WDW before and knew what rides I wanted to ride. I can't imagine how overwhelming it must have been to someone who didn't pre-book their major rides.


      I liked the convenience of the new system, but just wanted more passes. I wish the system would allow you to schedule fast passes in different parks not just one park at a time. By the time I used my 3 fast passes, it was too late to get more passes on the major rides. They were all gone for the day. You can get more fast passes after the 3 uses, but you need to get it from a kiosk in a Disney Park. Really don't understand why you can book more passes on the disney app or online after you use the first 3. Crazy! It would have been more convenient than finding a kiosk.


      I couldn't get fast passes to both Tower of Terror and Rockin' Roller Coaster at Hollywood Studios. Bummer! But, I rode Rockin' Roller Coaster as a single rider with no problem. In fact, I highly recommend riding Rockin' Roller Coaster and Expedition Everest (Animal Kingdom) as a single rider. It's much quicker and you can ride them numerous times in a row.


      The extra magic hours for resort guests helped with riding the major rides with the exception of the new Snow White mine ride in Magic Kingdom (the wait was as long as 180 minutes). I was never able to get another fast pass because they were gone so quickly. Also, the magic bands really made it quicker for the extra magic hours.


      I found that some stand-by lines were shorter in some rides because of the fast passes.


      There were a few times that my disney experience online indicated a different time than my disney experience app on my phone. When I showed the disney cast members, they overrode the system and let me in. Also, you will be let in 5 minutes before the start time on the fast pass.


      The cell phone app is very convenient and you can view wait times for rides. People were constantly engrossed in their cell phones while waiting for lines. Not a problem until the line wasn't moving because they didn't look up. It really made me want to pass them in line, especially when I waited for over an hour for a few rides. Even though I didn't pass anyone, I really don't think the folks would have even noticed.


      The magic bands are waterproof, however I had a black residue on my wrist after wearing it all day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon June 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Getting a little better, but not much
      Cons: Too many

       
      This system is still a failure in my opinion. The only positive is that it allows you to reserve three rides ahead of time. Even in July I was able to score up to 5 fastpasses before 3pm using the old paper system. Did it require some walking and park criss-crossing? Yes. The new concept of getting additional fastpasses once you have used the 3 is also flawed. I have to schedule my 3 fastpasses in the morning when you don't need them as much. If you don't get to the kiosk by 11am forget about getting fastpasses for any rides other than Small World or Figment. The line for Test Track's Fastpass was still 30+ minutes and stretched 200 feet passed the entrance both times we visited. It appears Disney is giving too many fastpasses for this ride. I am not a fan of spending all the $$$$ to stay on the resort and I still only get the same number of passes as non-resort guests. Disney resort guests should get more choices end of story. Deluxe resort guests should get even more. I am all for non-resort folks getting 1-2 or even none. There should be a benefit to paying the $$$$ to stay on resort. The only exception should be Annual Pass holders.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.