Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ufcliff

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Callahan, FL
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue September 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Get an appreciation for the people in New Brunswick
      Cons: none

       
      We did the Wild Blueberry excursion....about 45 minutes out of Saint John. Bus guide and the owner of the Blueberry processing plant were very attentive and informative.


      From the time you leave the ship, it is evident that the people of Saint John are very friendly and extremely proud of their community. See the sights....but make sure to interact with the people, THEY make this a good port stop!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      leftthecatsathomeagain

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun July 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pretty city with very friendly people
      Cons: The tide can negative impact some of the tours

       
      St. John's is a very pretty town and the shops and museum are close enough to walk to. The local businesses are very welcoming and everyone was very excited to have Disney guests. We were greeted with roses, flags and pins.


      While the Scenic Railroad tour guides try their best to make that tour interesting, departures times are not linked to the tide so we ended up at the falls during slack tide. Still water isn't very exciting. Many of the people on our tour were disappointed but after the tour ended, they offered to take us back out to the falls on a bus. (By the way, even at their best they aren't really falls, they're rapids and whirlpools.) When we got our there 45 minutes later, there was considerable movement in the water because the tide had started to recede.


      While you're cruising in the Bay of Fundy, be sure to look on the small rock islands for seals. We saw dozens. Also several locals advised us to look for whales about 45 minutes to an hour after we left port and we did see two.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CookieMonster

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy city to navigate/underground mall with farmer/s market
      Cons: Scenic Train Tour of the Bay of Fundy

       
      As we left the Disney Magic we were greeted by a welcoming committee from St. Johns. They were friendly and gave out red roses to the women. We took the scenic train tour of the Bay of Fundy. Sadly, the best thing I can say about this tour is that is was boring. The train traveled on a level track that was probably 100 yards long. Most of what we saw were peoples' backyards. We did see a truck empty its load into a hopper at a paper mill - not once but twice. The train stopped over the Bay but our arrival wasn't timed correctly to view the infamous tide, so all we saw were a few seals. Disney needs to rethink about offering this tour. It was awful and expensive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goose1998

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: Fayetteville, NC
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      In Saint John, we did the Bay of Fundy Scenic Railway tour. We were a little disppointed with the view of the falls, but also understand that the tour wasn't timed to coincide with high tide. We cruised on the inaugural voyage to Canada-New England coast in June, and you could tell the tour guides were nervous and new. With time, I have no doubt they will be fantastic! The tour was informative and interesting, but to be honest, I thought it was a little pricey for the duration.


      The BEST Port Adventure we did on the entire cruise was the Moosehead Beer Tasting and City Sights tour. Some folks on our adventure were disappointed that we didn't tour the Moosehead factory - but I do not recall any of the promotional materials saying you would. Our tour guide Susan was great - fun, entertaining, and quite enjoyable. We had a blast touring the city (quickly), stopping at the local marketplace, and then heading to O'Leary's for a few beers. A local musician led us in a few drinking songs and entertained us afterwards. The Moosehead tour was well worth the time and cost of the Port Adventure. We really had a great time.


      Saint John was beautiful, but I'd advise to only do one Port Adventure. Give yourself some time to explore and enjoy.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.