Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • pwood78

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Hear noise from hallway sometimes

      We stayed in the Lion King Suites in Building 6 on the 1st floor. We requested 1st floor, near transportation...and we got it. It was a quick walk to the buses, food court, Nemo pool.

      We loved the theming. The room was spacious, the beds were super comfy. Ok, so the sofa bed wasn't that comfy because it was hard, but there wasn't that annoying bar going across your back. The 2 bathrooms were great.

      Mousekeeping came in early each morning to clean.

      We loved swimming in the big blue pool in the Nemo section. The resort was so big, and we spent so much time walking in the parks, we didn't even make it to the Cars or Little Mermaid sections to check them out.

      The food in the food court was all delicious. We had breakfast and dinner. The cheeseburger, the surf and surf burger, the meatball sub, the pizza, pancakes, french toast....alllllll yummy!

      The buses ran quickly, we never waited longer than 5 minutes the entire week. Coming or going.

      We stayed Sept 24-30. The first night we arrived, we took the bus to MK to transfer to Monorail to have dinner at 1900 Park Fare. There was a major car accident, luckily we caught the bus quickly, and the bus driver packed in as many people as he could because he knew that anyone left behind would have a really long wait before the next bus arrived. Some people were angry about packing us in, but once we passed the scene of the accident everyone understood.

      I would definitely recommend this resort.

      Like I said the con was that when sleeping on the murphy bed near the door in the mornings or late at night I could hear people in the hallway, but it wasn't a lot, basically people coming in or leaving to go to the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Woodland Washington
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed September 21, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A stones throw from everything!
      Cons: Not one thing!

      We just got back from an amazing stay at WDW! We were originally booked @ POR. We had some issues and were eventually given a Cars Suite due to most of the day spent moving from resort to resort. We have stayed here before in a Mermaid room and loved it! We were very happy with the Cars Suite! The room was very clean, we had 2 bathrooms and a bed for everyone! We were in building 1. The view was amazing! It was a very quite room. We had folks above us and below us and never heard anything! I would recommend this resort to everyone because it has a little bit of something for all! The food court was great! My husband had the made to order omlet and loved it! I had the pasta and it was delicious. The food choices were great! We had a blast in the pool! It was a lot of fun sitting in the low end and watching the fire works the last night of our stay! We loved this resort so much that we booked a Mermaid room for the end of December! Can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Sat September 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price point
      Cons: none

      We booked two rooms in the Mermaid sections with a bit of trepidation. Many reviews said the walk was far, and that the rooms are small. We had low expectations. Our request for adjoining rooms was honored, and we were close enough to transportation. We timed the walk to the bus at under 8 minutes when no one was in a hurry. Having stayed at all the Value and Moderate resorts (and a couple Deluxe) the space did not bother us. We use the room to sleep and shower. Our youngest is 10 and would prefer to stay in the parks all day weather permitting. I must disclose that the adjoining rooms were a benefit for a party of 5 and allowed more breathing room. The theme of the space is just do darn cute. My princess hating husband even admitted that it "wasn't too bad!" The Big Blue Pool was a hit with all and made a huge impression with the under water music. Pool bar guy was great. The cars pool is cute but very, very small. Not sure what happened there. Mousekeeping was sufficient. The room was rather clean, but due to mold allergies I did request a VIP cleaning, so that may have helped. Please note: for our reservation dates 2 rooms was cheaper than a suite. Run the numbers. For the value dollar, this was a win.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat May 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      We arrived at AOA on Saturday, April 16, 2016 and stayed for 13 nights. We had done online check in and gave an arrival time of 11am. At 10:30am I received a text message indicating our room was ready. We were driving and still in Georgia at this point. The text included our room number and a link for a map. I had printed a map before leaving home so I already knew exactly where to go. When making our initial reservations, I requested a room in building 7 nearest the Lion King section. This would be the closest to the food court, bus stops, store, etc. During online check in my requests were near transportation and lake view. ALL of these requests were met. Upon arrival our magic bands worked perfect getting into our room. Our first impressions were great. We loved the theming in our room and out. Our view of the lake and Pop Century were great. Beds are double beds. We aren't large people so this wasn't an issue but we definitely could tell the difference from our queen at home. Now for the walk from the Little Mermaid rooms to Animation Hall and the bus stops. The first few days we thought, this isn't so bad. However towards the end of the two weeks it felt longer. Everyone has their own opinion on what a long walk is. In preparation for this we brought our own little coffee maker with all the fixings to make our morning coffee in the room. That ended up being a life saver. I found one on clearance and bought disposable coffee cups and spoons from our local dollar store. I brought sugar and coffee from home and found a jug of milk from our local grocery store that had a two week date on it. Being that we were driving we were able to bring a lot of stuff from home that normally would have to be bought on site. That meant there was no need to buy the refillable mugs. Our stay, as always, was amazing. I firmly believe no matter what resort we choose we will always have a great time. It is Disney after all. Having said that, we probably will only stay at AOA again if we need a family suite. Mainly because our goal is to stay at a different resort each time we go.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 86
      Review Date: Fri February 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Newer look, excellent food court, Bus
      Cons: Very youth themed

      Stayed for 2 night 1-30 and 1-31. Fresh look to the food court and rooms. We stayed in the Nemo Suites. THought it would be a little bigger from the pics but still a good bit of room. We ahf 4 people that slept comfortably. With 2 bathrooms it makes getting ready for the parks faster. Food court much more spacious than Pop Century though very similiar in design to pop century. Would definately stay there again though can be pricey. 2 rooms at pop century is cheaper than One suite.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri January 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Mousekeepers, Food Court

      I have stayed at Deluxe, Moderate, and Value resorts. All things considered, AoA is my favorite. The theming is wonderful…the imagineers must have had a lot fun creating this resort. My family (3 adults and a teen) stayed in the Cars suite and it was more than adequate. While the carpet could have been cleaned a little better, overall, the room was tidy. The mousekeepers in our section were extremely friendly. The Big Blue Pool was nice albeit crowded, but even the smaller Cozy Cone Pool was nice. Nothing fancy, but it was nice way to cool off plus if you need to wash clothes the washers/dryers are in the pool area. As for the food court, the Landscape of Flavors, the offerings are different from the usual options (although you can still standard faves like burgers). The salmon club sandwich was exceptional given that it is a quick service meal. If I had to be nitpicky and identify a negative it might be the cast members at the front desk. Maybe it was due to long shifts or because it was the holidays (rather be home than at work), but they didn’t come off as very cheerful or friendly. Overall, I love AoA and would gladly return.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Peterborough Ontario Canada
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun January 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool
      Cons: Room and Decor

      Stayed here Dec 13 to 18 in the Nemo Suites. We were right behind animation hall by the pool. Rooms are just ok - nothing to get all excited about - my son-in law felt he was staying in a concrete bunker. We found it was a bit tight space wise for 4 adults and 3 kids 13, 6 and 2. Check in was good - however.....we were heading to Hollywood Studios and were told that we would receive a text message when our room was ready. My daughter finally called the hotel at 9 pm to see what our room number was. I think the only big draw at this resort is the pool. When we were there the pool hours were 9 am to 10 pm so it was difficult to get a swim in before we went to the parks or after we got back from the parks. We have stayed at many other Disney Resorts and would never choose this one again.....it certainly is a "value resort".
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 128
      Review Date: Fri December 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The family suites have a lot of room
      Cons: looked like a kindergarten room and pest problem

      With so many options for staying at a Disney resort nobody in my family of six ever wants to return here! In theory this would be a good resort for families with young children and large families. I couldn't get a Ft Wilderness Cabin when I called to book a free dining package so we decided to give this a try. I see now why we couldn't get a cabin, they were being refurbished. We had no wait to check-in. Very nice cast member checked us in. We were stuck on the 4th floor of a Cars building. It took forever from the parking lot to get to it. The smell was horrible and I couldn't figure out why they used such horrible smelling cleaning products. We came back very late one night from Epcot after a late dinner. And when I opened the fridge to put a drink in it I found some bugs. In the fridge! My DH went down to the lobby to tell/complain. They moved us immediately! The smell when we arrived was a pest treatment smell. So there was a known problem with this room. Our new location was on the 2nd floor with a pool view. We also got a credit to our account and the manager met with us and had refillable mugs that had been in the fridge replaced for us. So the management did do their best with a bad situation. We were just so grossed out and especially my DD who is the picky one anyway.
      This was the first time I've been to a Disney resort and found the decor to be ugly. We've stayed at: All-Star Music Broadway standard rooms, Jazz and Calypso Family suites, Ft Wilderness Cabin, Wilderness Lodge standard room, and Bay Lake Tower 2 bedroom villa. All of them were nicely decorated. My teens thought it was like getting stuck in kindergarten at Art of Animation. So it looks like we'll be staying at a cabin when we go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed November 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Court, Bus transportation, CM, Views

      We stayed at AoA in the Little Mermaid Section. We were in Building 7 (Ursala) on the second floor. The LM had its own pool. The view of the lake every day was wonderful. The walk to the food court and the buses is only 5 minutes. The CMs were so helpful and nice! We loved the healthy options at the food court as well. The rooms were decorated in such a fun style! It was a mother and daughter get away. We picked the right hotel for our trip. We have decided that this is our favorite value hotel!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food court, suites, pool
      Cons: none

      My husband and I made a last minute decision to come to Disney for the night. We booked The Little Mermaid room. It was the only budget hotel available. When we got here we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite in the Lion King. Virgina checked us in, gave us the upgrade, arranged fast passes for us, even though the website said none were available, and couldn't have been nicer. After spending the day in the parks we came back here for dinner because we were tired. The make your own pasta station was amazing. You select a pasta (bow ties for me), select a sauce (pesto for me) and select toppings-kalamata olives, spinach, roasted peppers, broccoli, spinach, and mushrooms for me), they put all your veggies in fry pan with olive oil, cook them up, put in your hot pasta, add cheese and garlic bread. Delish! Our suite had a bedroom, two bathrooms, a little living area, eating area, murphy bed and pull out bed/sofa. I have stayed at many properties including the Yacht club and Wilderness, but this room was the best so far. So roomy!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon October 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean
      Cons: Lack of air conditioning

      Hotel cute for young children. We stayed in Cars section. Did not like you can not control temperature in room we request a fan but room was still hot.. Didn't know you had to bring towels from your room for pool.... We have stayed at Port Orleans towels where at pool...Hotel never seem crowded. CM very helpful.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Wed October 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming
      Cons: large resort

      We stayed in a Little Mermaid room October 10-12, 2015. We did on-line check-in and got our room request. We asked to be in the building with Ursula. We were in Room 4376 on the second floor. We had a great view of the Pop Century resort. Our room was very quiet. We were told that every room was full, but the resort never felt overcrowded. The food court is large enough to support everyone and had plenty of choices for our family. We swam in the Big Blue Pool one night and it was fun. We also ordered a pizza from the food court that night to enjoy after swimming. It was reasonably priced. We enjoyed participating in the animator's classes during the afternoon. Buses were timely. The only downside we found was the lack of towels at the pool. You have to use the towels from your room which to us is a hassle...having to ask for extras. All the CM's were very friendly and helpful!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu September 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor, food court
      Cons: Subpar WiFi

      I have been to Disney four times, twice at midrange to upscale resorts and twice at budget resorts, so I knew what to expect at a budget Disney resort.

      Art of Animation compared very well if not better to All Star Movies, EXCEPT for the "free in room wifi". Put simply: it barely worked. It worked sporadically in one corner of one of the beds in the room, and nowhere else. I couldn't get news and weather, (Disney's in-room TV doesn't really do much in the way of decent local weather forecasts), I couldn't use social media to keep my family and friends at home updated, and even worse, I couldn't make meal reservations at Disney restaurants.

      I detected a little wear and tear in our room at All Star Movies two years ago, but at least the WiFi worked.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri March 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of room
      Cons: Food Court

      So we took a family trip in Dec 2014. We had a group of 5. It was a first time for 3 of them which included my Sister-in-law, 2 yr old nephew and 75 yr old Grandpa. We stayed in a Cars suite. Check-in was easy and they actually greeted us as we walked in and a man with a tablet had us take a seat why he finished checking us in. Our first room assignment was in the furthest Cars Building and I asked right away if they had something on the end of one of the other buildings as with my grandpa we were trying to limit adding on a lot of extra walking. After a quick check they were able to help us. The room is very similar to the pictures online yet still a bit smaller than I expected. However, in 2012 my mom and I stayed here in a Little Mermaid room and the suites are SO MUCH CLOSER than the Little Mermaid rooms. Which was great when hauling a toddler with stroller and an elder. We were able to use the pool only one day we were there as the rest of the week it dipped near 50's and even for Michigan people that's too cold to swim. My nephew didn't mind as he got one pool day and it was great they had the life vests to use and we felt safer even if he never left our hands. The staff kindly obliged bringing two fans as part of us need it for noise and the other can't stand heat. But having my grandfather in the room he likes it roasting. Our housekeeper was fun and left some towel animals and toys playing around the room. A few times we left our daily tip and returned the favor by leaving little setups of our own. We had brought a cheap Cars magnetic writer that my nephew played with and would often write Thanks, etc next to the tip. She would often erase and leave us messages too. This was a change as in 2012 never once was anything done even with a tip left and it was noted we were celebrating a birthday etc. Buses were much better this time as far as waiting time. Still with being a family resort we still ran into some of the issues of waiting for the "scooter parades" and maneuvering the strollers amongst all the other parents on the bus. I'm guessing since it was early December it helped with the crowds being less but keep in mind if you have small children not everyone is willing to give up their seat for parents with babies, sleeping kids etc. I saw more than one kid hit the floor trying to hold unto a parent or bar. I've noticed this more here than when I stayed at AS Movies but again with the suites I think you'll run into this more as it's so family centered. My biggest disappointment here really is the food court. It's just not really my taste ie Tandoori, Mongolian foods, chicken burgers. Turns out the new people in my group wasn't thrilled either. Good news is we often ate away from AOA having the Deluxe DP. But POP Century is less than a 10 minute walk away and they have a much more familiar QS with Chicken Nuggets (a must have for the 2 year old) pork loin, etc. We did do Pizza Delivery one night which comes from POP and it was quite good. I actually don't care for Pizza that much and really liked it. I think for our next trip (just my mom and I) we're going to stay at POP due to the dedicated Bus System and still a Value Resort. If staying with a group Art of Animation is a good option and might be better staying together than in 2 adjoining rooms. (Which when I was looking at reservations WDW told me couldn't be guaranteed). The theming is fun and my nephew loved running around and touching McQueen and Mater. If you're not going to be staying in a Suite I would recommend staying at a different Value resort like POP. Unless you have a die hard Little Mermaid fan the walk is just too far and comparatively you can stay in a preferred room at POP much closer to everything to use your refillable mug, buses etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2008
      Location: Chesapeake, VA
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed February 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Vibrant and Fun
      Cons: Should not be listed in the Value Category for price

      This is way overdue but we stayed in the Lion King Section July 20-26 2014. Our room was in a far corner and it felt like a long walk in torrential downpours. My kids loved the Murphy bed and no one complained of sleeping on either that or the couch pull out. We liked having the small kitchenette and brought our sandwich maker. AOA mailed back when we left it there. I just felt this resort really has the Value resort feel but is priced too high. We probably wouldn't stay here again. Also, they need to install ceiling fans in the bedroom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.