Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mlw17mi

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri March 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of room
      Cons: Food Court

       
      So we took a family trip in Dec 2014. We had a group of 5. It was a first time for 3 of them which included my Sister-in-law, 2 yr old nephew and 75 yr old Grandpa. We stayed in a Cars suite. Check-in was easy and they actually greeted us as we walked in and a man with a tablet had us take a seat why he finished checking us in. Our first room assignment was in the furthest Cars Building and I asked right away if they had something on the end of one of the other buildings as with my grandpa we were trying to limit adding on a lot of extra walking. After a quick check they were able to help us. The room is very similar to the pictures online yet still a bit smaller than I expected. However, in 2012 my mom and I stayed here in a Little Mermaid room and the suites are SO MUCH CLOSER than the Little Mermaid rooms. Which was great when hauling a toddler with stroller and an elder. We were able to use the pool only one day we were there as the rest of the week it dipped near 50's and even for Michigan people that's too cold to swim. My nephew didn't mind as he got one pool day and it was great they had the life vests to use and we felt safer even if he never left our hands. The staff kindly obliged bringing two fans as part of us need it for noise and the other can't stand heat. But having my grandfather in the room he likes it roasting. Our housekeeper was fun and left some towel animals and toys playing around the room. A few times we left our daily tip and returned the favor by leaving little setups of our own. We had brought a cheap Cars magnetic writer that my nephew played with and would often write Thanks, etc next to the tip. She would often erase and leave us messages too. This was a change as in 2012 never once was anything done even with a tip left and it was noted we were celebrating a birthday etc. Buses were much better this time as far as waiting time. Still with being a family resort we still ran into some of the issues of waiting for the "scooter parades" and maneuvering the strollers amongst all the other parents on the bus. I'm guessing since it was early December it helped with the crowds being less but keep in mind if you have small children not everyone is willing to give up their seat for parents with babies, sleeping kids etc. I saw more than one kid hit the floor trying to hold unto a parent or bar. I've noticed this more here than when I stayed at AS Movies but again with the suites I think you'll run into this more as it's so family centered. My biggest disappointment here really is the food court. It's just not really my taste ie Tandoori, Mongolian foods, chicken burgers. Turns out the new people in my group wasn't thrilled either. Good news is we often ate away from AOA having the Deluxe DP. But POP Century is less than a 10 minute walk away and they have a much more familiar QS with Chicken Nuggets (a must have for the 2 year old) pork loin, etc. We did do Pizza Delivery one night which comes from POP and it was quite good. I actually don't care for Pizza that much and really liked it. I think for our next trip (just my mom and I) we're going to stay at POP due to the dedicated Bus System and still a Value Resort. If staying with a group Art of Animation is a good option and might be better staying together than in 2 adjoining rooms. (Which when I was looking at reservations WDW told me couldn't be guaranteed). The theming is fun and my nephew loved running around and touching McQueen and Mater. If you're not going to be staying in a Suite I would recommend staying at a different Value resort like POP. Unless you have a die hard Little Mermaid fan the walk is just too far and comparatively you can stay in a preferred room at POP much closer to everything to use your refillable mug, buses etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NewmanFamily6
      NewmanFamily6

      Registered: July 2008
      Location: Chesapeake, VA
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed February 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Vibrant and Fun
      Cons: Should not be listed in the Value Category for price

       
      This is way overdue but we stayed in the Lion King Section July 20-26 2014. Our room was in a far corner and it felt like a long walk in torrential downpours. My kids loved the Murphy bed and no one complained of sleeping on either that or the couch pull out. We liked having the small kitchenette and brought our sandwich maker. AOA mailed back when we left it there. I just felt this resort really has the Value resort feel but is priced too high. We probably wouldn't stay here again. Also, they need to install ceiling fans in the bedroom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Sat January 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good value
      Cons: lots and lots of guests

       
      Our departure was delayed due to Blizzard Juno so we made arrangements to stay at AoA for 3 nights.
      We were at the Boardwalk first. They transferred our luggage very easily. We got ourselves there via Disney bus.
      They allowed us to take advantage of a weather emergency discount for the room, which was great.
      We stayed in the Lion King room, building 6. Quite a convenient location to the main building. We've stayed at Pop several times and this is basically the same but feels somehow smaller and more compact.


      The room was very spacious. Cool pull down bed. New. Great showers, big bathrooms. The furniture is not super comfortable but it's fine.


      Wish the windows opened for fresh air.


      Overall very nice. Buses are dedicated to AoA and convenient.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mike_S

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room Theming, Pool and Poolside Activities, Food Court
      Cons: Distance from main pool was pretty far

       
      We stayed for a week at Art of Animation in January. It was a pleasant surprise, better than the other value resorts we have stayed at.


      We had a Little Mermaid room and the theming was great. Everything felt new, clean, and colorful. We did not have a suite, and were placed in building 8 which was pretty far from the food court and main pool. Most of the other buildings were suites, so if you're just a family of 4 you may be far from the main areas. That said, there was a nice smaller pool close to our area.


      The outdoor theming of the various buildings was really well-done; we thought it was better than the All-Stars which we also like. There is also a very nice walking/running trail along a quiet lake.


      The pool was great, the kids loved it. The resort also had great poolside activities during the late afternoon, including a DJ, trivia contests, and similar, with super-enthusiastic staff. Fun!!


      The Food Court was better than we expected. The highlights were a "Choose Your Own Pasta Bowl" and "Build Your Own Burger". For the Pasta Bowl, you could choose pasta type, chicken or shrimp, sauce type, and other toppings such as garlic and peppers and they cooked it to order. Similar for the Build Your Own Burger. The prices were not bad by Disney standards, and the quality and selection was great for a family with varying tastes and pickiness.


      If we stay at Value resorts on our next WDW trip, we certainly would try to choose Art of Animation again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cinderellasball

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super accomodating for food allergies, beautiful view from room
      Cons: shower water was neve hot, luke warm at best

       
      We stayed in adjoining rooms in the Little Mermaid section of the hotel. The rooms were not displayed as they were on the internet. Comforters were replaced with runners which although much more sanitary, less eye appealing. We had 5 adults and 3 children on our trip. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the lake giving us an amazing view. Busses were amazing, never had to wait for more than 10 min.


      Food-The landscape of Flavors was amazing for anyone who has a child with allergies. I have a child that is highly allergic to all dairy and dairy product, eggs in all forms, and peanuts. This was our first trip and I was very nervous about having to head to the hospital due to an anaphylactic reaction. Well parents of children with allergies, rest your worried little heads, the chef at the resort, as well as all of the dining establishments on Disney property were more than accommodating. The Chef came out to guide me through what options were available for my child and offered to make anything (within reason) upon request. Overall amazing experience and we are returning to stay again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alexandergirl68

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon October 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rooms very comfortable, great customer service, great food court
      Cons: Buses to parks, distance from Little Mermaid Rooms

       
      I did really like this resort and it is great if you have a family with small children but if it is just adults you might prefer another resort that is a little quieter.
      The buses in the morning and late evening were great but if you were using them in the middle part of the day the waits were quite long.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thekid_1

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun September 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, pools, food, affordable, themeing
      Cons: Mousekeeping but minor,no cell service in room

       
      We stayed in a Little Mermaid room 8/23 through 8/31. I was concerned based upon other comments that room would not be big enough for two adults and two children. The room size was never an issue for us. I was disappointed we did not get the building we had requested through our travel agent. I am not sure why because the resort was not that busy. I was pleasantly surprised the room was ready when we arrived at 11:30 am. Pools were nice and well-guarded.
      Mousekeeping kept the room clean but they kept throwing out our cups and did not leaving any new ones. This happened continually and became frustrating. I was sick and did not want to share cups with anyone.
      There is no cell service once you enter your room.
      Buses to the parks and downtown went well with one exception. While waiting to return to Epcot for dinner the wait was well over 30 minutes for a bus. That in itself is not horrible but we watched two buses arrive and depart for MK, AK, and downtown. Three buses for HS came and left in that same time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JoeyO11

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Fri August 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great pool. Great Atmosphere
      Cons: Food court crowded

       
      We stayed here with a family of 4 in the cars suite from aug 14th to aug 19th. Great location to and from the food court and buses. We had a small pool the cozy cone right out side of the building we were in. Breakfast and dinners are tough because of the crowded food court. House keeping was great. Room always clean. Themed Cars room was awesome. kids loved sleeping in the pull down bed. Overall it's a great room for the space you get.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slmccurd

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cost, Space, Theming
      Cons: Bus travel to all parks

       
      Stayed in a Nemo suite from May 10-16 with my DH and DS. Room was themed wonderfully. There was plenty of space for us. We had food delivered and ate breakfast in the room most mornings. My 4 year old loved the pools, especially the Nemo pool. Taking towels from your room to the pool was not a big deal. Most days there were towell carts in the lobby by the elevators. Food court was good. The kid macaroni and cheese was baked and not like the "blue box" so not a big hit with my son. The resort is large, but it did not take more than 5 minutes to walk to the busses. Be careful of a Nemo themed room that faces the pool. The pool is really loud and the resort shows movies at the pool each night starting at 9. The only thing we did not love was taking the busses everywhere. We have always stayed at the Beach Club and been able to walk to the Studios and EPCOT. I missed walking, but the price differential was also great (AOA much cheaper). I would not hesitate to stay here again. It all comes down to, is the convenience of walking to the parks worth the price hike? (I should point out that the busses ran smoothly and we never waited more than 20 minutes for a bus)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bookworm_julie

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome themes, good food, great bus schedule, affordable
      Cons: housekeeping

       
      Two adults stayed in a Little Mermaid room. We had two double beds which was great for our girls trip. Check in was a breeze and our Magic Bands were waiting for us, all customized (could not ship to Canada). We were in the Ursula building and it was only about a 6-7 minute walk to the main building and bus stop. It was also a shorter walk to the buses if you cut along the sidewalk by the parking lot.
      Breakfast pastries were excellent. Make your own pasta was also really good, as was the french toast for breakfast.
      The themeing of the room and the entire resort was really well done. Really lifelike and you could tell a lot of thought and detail was put in to it.
      The only real con was the housekeeping. We had to request cups one night since we had none, and it took over an hour for them to arrive which was annoying. It also seemed like they did a real rushed job as the garbage cans were only dumped out once during our stay.
      Regardless, I would not hesitate to stay here again and would hightly recommend it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Adorable theming, plenty of space, friendly cast, transportation
      Cons: MagicBand disaster, HORRIBLE in room WiFi

       
      I stayed here last July with two friends in a Lion King suite and loved the resort. When my mom and I decided to take my brother for his first trip and 19th birthday, I recommended this resort for the extra space. We gave him a choice of the rooms and he chose a Cars Suite. My CM friend was able to book us at a 60% discount.


      I checked in online and requested a top floor room with a lake view. My friend went to the resort the morning of 1/6 to pick up our welcome packet and told us we would just have to stop at the desk to have our MagicBands activated when we arrived.


      We drove up to the resort around 8:30pm. There was a short wait for the online check in desk. My mom asked the cast member how the MagicBands were working and the CM responded they were working great, she'd used them herself, things were wonderful, etc. And then the trouble started. There was some problem. We were repeatedly told "oh, just give us 5 minutes". After about 30 minutes they suggested we go eat dinner and by the time we returned the problem would be fixed. I said we were on the dining plan and they told us to just pay out of pocket and they would reimburse us and deduct the credits later.


      We checked back about 30 minutes later. Still not done. After dinner, still not done. We were all tired and cranky. Finally, after 2.5 HOURS they managed to fix the problem-by canceling and rebooking the reservation. Then it was another 25 minutes to refund the money for dinner to the two credit cards and deduct the dining plan credits. They were also nice enough to credit us $50 for the inconvenience. This wasn't really the hotel's fault but it was still a horrible start to our vacation.


      Finally, we made our way to room 1816. This was the Mater building, right next to the parking lot, which was great since we had a car. We were on the 4th floor as requested but had a view of the Port Cochere and not the lake-not a big deal. Our room was right next to the elevators but we hardly ever heard any noise at all. One night there was a child squealing and running down the hall but that was it.


      We had plenty of space. My mom took the master bedroom. She felt the bed was a little on the hard side but loved the shower. My brother was enamored with the InovaBed and I slept on the sofa bed. Despite several people telling me the sofabed was the most comfortable due to the memory foam mattress, I found it thin and not super comfortable. I liked sleeping on the InovaBed last summer a lot more.


      We used the fridge to store bottled drinks and snacks. There was enough drawer space for all of us. My brother liked watching the Disney channel at night before bed. We thought the Cars details were adorable.


      Mousekeeping was fine. They left a bottle of cleaner in our room on the second day but I set it out in the hall and it was gone in the morning. They brought us a sharps container and replaced our broken blow dryer within an hour of us asking. On our last day, the mousekeeper knocked on our door around 9am, just minutes before we were ready to leave. We told them they'd be right out and there was no problem.


      The in room WiFi was atrocious. I couldn't load anything at all despite having a five bar signal. Also no cell service, which I had come to expect, but the WiFi was not this bad over the summer.


      Food court and transportation were fine and I've posted about those in their respective sections.


      We went to the Nemo pool on our last day but they were just starting the pool party and it was way too loud for my brother (he has autism and intellectual disability). So we went to the Cars pool instead and he hung out in one of the cone cabanas. The pool wasn't crowded despite it being a warm and humid day.


      Cast members throughout the resort were great. Everyone was friendly and my brother greeted everyone. They all treated him with respect and that was awesome to see.


      As long as they work out the kinks with the WiFi and MagicBands I wouldn't hesitate to return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy284

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Fri December 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful theming, friendly staff
      Cons: thin curtains

       
      First off this resort is great visually, the colors and theming are the best as only Disney can deliver.
      We stayed in the little mermaid room in building 9. It was just myself and my niece (9) so there was more them enough room for us. The details in the room where wonderful. I think however if there was more them two of us there would never have been enough room for our clothes. Because the dresser has the fridge in half of it you only have 3 small drawers. I used the hangers and hung a lot of my clothes as we where there for 10 nights and had lots of clothes.


      I did notice there seamed to be a lot more noise from others here then in any other resort I have stayed in, including the Pop and music resorts. Bathroom noise, doors slamming and babies crying well into the night.


      The other major thing that I notice was the room never got dark. The curtains where thin so the light from outside would shine though. I am used to a dark black room at night and I had a hard time sleeping with all the light


      The walks to the rooms does not seams long at first but gets longer as the days go on. LOL Smile


      The pools are wonderful. We used both the mermaid and the big blue pool and we loved them.


      The food left something to be desired, We loved the breakfasts, we tried both the standard Disney waffles but really liked the yogurt parfait. We tried dinner a couple of times but found it not very good. The staff however were very nice and service was fast even at busy times.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mamalydia

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: miami, florida
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed December 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great accomodations, spacious suites at a great price
      Cons: none

       
      This is our send visit. This time we stayed at the CARS, and last visit we were at FINDING NEMO. These are the best locations, since they are close to the main entrance, and right next to the large pools! We had 3 adults this visit, and having the seperate bedroom was very convenient! having the small refrigerator and microwave is a plus...and definitely with the price to have a 2nd full bathroom!!! LOVE this hotel! You will not be disappointed!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      The Hendies

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, buses, helpful staff
      Cons: Long walk from Little Mermaid Rooms to buses, cell service.

       
      First, I must mention that the staff were AMAZING when my husband lost his cell phone. We are still not sure if it fell some where as we were walking, or on a bus, but my husband stopped every day to see if it was found, and the staff was soooooo patient with him! It was found and returned after 3 days.


      We ended up driving from near our room to nearer the bus area each day, because it was quite a haul from the room (building 9) to the buses.


      Lastly, there was NO cell service at all, anywhere in the room. To make a call, check messages, or use the internet, we had to stand outside our room.


      However, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! The theming is wonderful, the room was plenty big for 2 of us, the beds were comfortable, and the bus service was great!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      mbcarol5

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon October 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): vey colorful, music everywhere!!
      Cons: scratchy TP

       
      The resort was wonderful!! We had plenty of room for 4 adults and 2 children. The kids and I adored our stay and would stay here again. I loved all the colors and music. CMs were very helpful and friendly. It was handy to all of the parks except AK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.