Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • rjhmon

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Westwood, MA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 18, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to MK and Top of the World,
      Cons: None

       
      BLT is our home resort and we stayed 1/8-1/15, this is our first time in a one bedroom here, we had plenty of room and the full kitchen was great to have, there also is a very large flat screen tv in the living room and that was a big plus with all the football games.
      The room was very quiet and clean, the 2 bathrooms came in handy In the mornings.
      we had great view of the pool area and the lake behind the pool.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 186
      Review Date: Wed January 18, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was our first time at this resort and we really liked it. Our room was very spacious for a 1 bedroom villa. It was clean and comfortable. It was nice to be on the monorail. We were on the 5th floor and it was awesome to walk out and be able to get to the 4th floor at the Contemporary through the walkway.


      We ate at the Wave and it was awesome. We ate lunch at the quick service restaurant when we got there and it was not crowded at all. The rest of the vacation it was very crowded. Food and choices were good.


      The challenges..One of our party rented a scooter. It was at the Contemporary and not at Bay Lake Tower. We had to walk over and pick it up there because a signature was required. If you need a scooter, it should be assumed that you can't walk to go get it. Fortunately others in the party could. We also had a very frustrating experience getting our food and owners locker delivered. It took 3 visits and about an hour to get both. The very nice bellman brought a large Rubbermaid type container and seemed not to understand what an owners locker was. It ended up that it was also at the Contemporary. Have no clue why that was since the delivery confirmation clearly said Bay Lake Tower.


      We had some very aggressive cleaning people who basically tried to force their way into our room to get garbage. We did not have a do not disturb sign in our room, but when we asked that they come back, they knocked persistently even though I told them that there were people in the shower getting ready. It was really annoying and not appreciated at all. The day we checked out, they also came knocking...why??? Check out is at 11.


      Finally, we left to go from the 5th floor to the 1st 20 minutes in advance of our Magical Express time. We almost missed the bus because we could not get downstairs. That is absurd.


      Would we go back? I don't think so, but mainly because it is not our home resort and we prefer another area, but also because of some of the issues experienced. I would recommend it for families with younger children because of the location.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Wed January 11, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, comfort, views
      Cons: none

       
      Bay Lake is our home resort. Dec 27 - Jan 2 was our fifth time staying here. We absolutely love this resort. Compared with many resorts BLT is relatively small. The walk to the Contemporary or to the pool or anywhere else is under 5 minutes.


      The Contempo Cafe has a good selection any time of the day. If you go you must try their cupcakes! We ate there a few times - once for a quick breakfast, once for lunch and once late at night (around 10:00). It's big enough to accommodate larger crowds when it gets busy. You're supposed to order and pay at the register and someone will bring your food to your table. But if you're on the meal plan you should select your drink and desert first and bring them with you to the register when you order your entree. We witnessed many people confused by this process.


      We also ate at The Wave once which was excellent and hopefully I will get around to posting a separate review for The Wave.


      The resort cast members were all so friendly and helpful. Check in was smooth and our room was ready well before 4:00 but because we had transferred from another resort (Polynesian) our luggage did not arrive until 3:30. So we had a room but no luggage! No problem really.


      Every review mentions the easy access to MK and it is as simple and convenient as everyone says. One morning we even had our own entrance line as we arrived at MK. There was a security guard checking bags at the end of the walkway and once we cleared that we bypassed the metal detectors and walked directly to the entrance. That was convenient! It is worth noting that security was very heavy during our trip. Disney security, Homeland Security and local police officers made their presence known before you even reached the gates at all four parks. We visited Epcot multiple times and every guest that entered went through the metal detectors. In addition, every member of my family was randomly selected to go through the metal detectors several times. I have absolutely no problem with this! And in fact I applaud Disney's efforts.


      Our room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and everything worked well. We had an incredible view of MK from the 11th floor. I love sitting on the balcony and watching the monorails go back and forth or just listening to the sounds from MK.


      I mentioned earlier that we had transferred from Polynesian. The two resorts are very different of course. The Polynesian is serene and peaceful (well, the Great Ceremonial House is usually busy and loud) while Bay Lake is not nearly as quiet. But it's okay with us - we will always love BLT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GoldenOakDreaming

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue April 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Transportation so close
      Cons: Check in at The Contemporary

       
      This is our Home Resort. The rooms are clean, service is great, if there is a problem the desk sends someone ASAP. Walk to the MK, buses are out your front door, and Epcot is just a Monorail hop away. The Top Of The World Lounge is an awesome spot for cocktails and fireworks. This is a fantastic place to vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Tue February 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location to Magic Kingdom, views
      Cons: large resort, lots of walking, must take monorail to Epcot

       
      We stayed in a studio on the 14th floor. We had a lake view but also ended up with a view of Space Mountain and the Castle.
      It's a quick walk to MK.
      The buses were fairly frequent. Wish they offered a bus to Epcot but you must take the monorail. It's not the most convenient sometimes, since you have to transfer at the T&TC.
      Although we loved the view from the room we received, it was very far from the Contemporary. The walk to the Contempo Cafe for drinks was silly long.
      The room is pretty cool, design-wise. It is small. We did a split stay at BCV and that room was enormous by comparison.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BDev

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location/Service
      Cons: None

       
      BLT is our home resort and we love it. We were there over the 4th of July and had a Magic Kingdom view. I think just that night made the price worth it. Fireworks were amazing.


      Resort is kept spotless and the service is great. We had stayed a couple days prior at Caribbean Beach and the difference was night and day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sparrow

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience to parks and cleanliness
      Cons: none

       
      9 of us spend 3 nights in August 2015 in a villa at BLT. We were in an end unit and could see both the Magic Kingdom fireworks and a lovely view of Bay Lake.
      The room was beautiful and everyone was very comfortable as we had plenty of room. The staff was great, the resort was very clean.
      The BLT pool is really nice and we used it daily to take a break from the heat.
      Would recommend BLT without hesitation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      purpleriz

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: Palm Coast, FL
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu August 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great transportation access, quiet room, fireworks view
      Cons: None!

       
      We went for a short getaway 7/29-7/31 and stayed in a studio lake view on DVC points. Room was quiet and clean, short walk to elevator and then Contemporary main shopping area. Easy access to monorail, average wait time for bus to DHS. Enjoyed getting to see the fireworks from the Top of the World Lounge. Would definitely recommend and will most definitely return again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jclander

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon May 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The space, the view, the location
      Cons: Long drive to get off property.

       
      My family stayed in a 3-bedroom Grand Villa at Bay Lake Tower (suite 8422) for 9 nights, May 8-17, 2015. The space is spectacular: it's on the 14th floor, with a two-story living room. The view is of the Magic Kingdom. While it's across parking lots, the space is high enough that it doesn't matter. The living room and two of the three bedrooms have great view of the Magic Kingdom fireworks. The space is well appointed, with full kitchen and dishes for 12 people. The Magic Kingdom is a short walk, and other resorts accessible by monorail or bus from the Contemporary. Cast Members were uniformly helpful, and the space was serviced daily (we were on a hotel, not a DVC, basis). Service was done early enough the suite was clean for an early-afternoon break. It was a level of luxury that we do not generally have, and was seductive. I had two small quibbles. Surprisingly for a resort marketed to children, they do not have one-step stools available. (The child in the party is 5, and she uses a small stool to reach the bathroom sink. She's tall enough that she managed without, but it would have been helpful.) And driving away from the Magic Kingdom area is slightly tedious, but do-able.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Thu April 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Room views
      Cons: No food options

       
      We stayed two nights at BLT starting on 4/19/2015. We transferred from PO-Riverside on the morning of 4/19. We arrived around 12:30pm and checked in – our room was not ready. However, an hour later, as we are walking into the Magic Kingdom, I received the text stating that our room was ready.


      Our room was a deluxe studio on the 14th floor of BLT. Officially, our room was a “standard view” room, but we had very good views of the MK while standing on the balcony. We watched the Wishes fireworks show both nights we were there.


      When we stayed at BLT in February, we hated our room and the bed – it was hard as a brick. This time the room was very nice and the bed was much more comfortable. I liked the fact the Disney had added a sink to the bathroom and fixed the gap on bathroom door between the door and the frame when it was closed. There used to be a huge gap that allowed everyone to see into the bathroom.


      We would stay again based on this most recent stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sat November 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, modern
      Cons: Small

       
      We booked a studio in BLT for a long weekend when nothing else was available at the Contemporary. We found the room rather small, OK for two people but any more and they'll be tripping over one another. Reminded us of a cruise ship cabin. A queen bed was wedged in tightly next to a sleeper sofa, but we can't imagine more than a couple in the studio. The bathroom arrangement is just weird with the basin and mirror in the kitchen alcove and the toilet and tub in a separate alcove. Kinda like shaving in the kitchen. We had a parking lot view room but we could see the MK and fireworks from our balcony, even on a lower floor. No complaints about the cleanliness. Parking lot was never full. Bit of a hike to the Contemporary for amenities but we expected that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Eean

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: PIttsburgh, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location; rooms were a good size
      Cons: None

       
      We recently joined the DVC, and we stayed for the first time in Bay Lake Tower in August 2014. We are a family of five, with three school aged children, so we stayed in a one bedroom room with a lake view. After several trips of staying in a cramped one room hotel room on property, we felt that our stay at bay lake tower was absolutely wonderful! The full-size kitchen and the laundry room made it worth the extra cost. The master bathroom was beautiful too. The resort itself has a very calming atmosphere, which is very important when you're staying at Disney World. we absolutely loved going up to the lounge on the 16th floor, and then viewing the fireworks from there afterwards. It certainly beats having to watch the fireworks amongst all the crowds at the Magic Kingdom. It will be hard for us to stay anywhere else next time especially since it is only a 10 minute walk to the Magic Kingdom. My kids say that they loved staying here, and I would recommend this resort to anyone!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Sun September 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to MK
      Cons: Crowded monorail

       
      This isn't my favorite resort. I've wanted to stay here for a while thinking it would be fun to be on the monorail line. That fun was gone our first morning to use the monorail as it was very crowded. The lobby in the Comtemporary was very noisy & crowded at almost all times of the day. I've never seen so many strollers in all my life!
      The bed in master bed was sagging on one side & there was literally writing on the bathroom wall.
      As for the positive, we had a party of 5 including a 15 yo girl, so 2 bathrooms were great! The California Grill was fantastic! It was great to see the fireworks from the resort. The staff was always friendly & helpful. A 5 minute walk to MK can't be beat. However, for the cost I'd rather stay at an EPCOT resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Mon July 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The View!
      Cons: Studio Size

       
      With OKW as our home resort, we're used to larger studios, but you can't beat the view. This was supposed to be just my wife and I getting a 1-day jump on the family vacation. The rest of the family was arriving the next day to start a 2 week stay at OKW. At the last minute our youngest got time off from her summer internship and riding with us was cheaper than a plane ticket. For 2 people the studio is fine, but no more than 2.We had a theme park view which was great both day and night views.Took the boat over to Fort Wilderness to enjoy the Trail's End Buffett, well worth the ride & price.Went up to the Top of the World Lounge to watch fireworks. We were seated at the window and enjoyed a few drinks and snacks before it started. While we could see most of the fireworks, it was a little irritating when people arrived and lined most of the railing in front of us, blocking the view of the castle. I mean there's a lot of railing...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Tue July 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Crowded elevators, food court

       
      We are currently staying in a 3 bedroom on a six-night vacation. There are ten of us. The condo is very spacious, beds are super comfortable. Pool is great, and how can you beat a quick walk to the MK? The elevators closest to the walkway going to the Contemporary are always very crowded, however. Small thing, I guess. The biggest con is the food court at Contemporary. You have to order on a touch screen. If you want something modified (no gravy, different side dish, etc) you have to go to the register, have them note the change and pay, then get a beeper and wait for your food. Not very streamlined. Food is "ok", nothing to write home about.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.