Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • minniemom

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri October 16, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Buses

      My hubby and I stayed here Friday, October 9 through Monday, October 12 in a preferred room in the Toy Story section on the third floor. It is a very quiet section and we heard no walking noise. The elevators were very efficient and we never had a problem getting one.
      The room had two double beds, not queen, and was pretty small but okay for just the two of us. There is not a lot of dresser storage. The bathroom area has only one sink, and is separate from the shower and toilet. It would be very cramped getting ready with more than two adults.
      The closet is an open space next to the sink. There is a privacy curtain that separated the sink area from the rest of the room. The room itself was fine since we were just there to sleep. It was pretty clean.
      We never ate at the food court, but it had offerings of burgers, chicken strips, fries, build your own salad, dessert bar, standard food court from what I could see. Also includes a mini-market.
      The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and we did have to wait many times for buses. More than 20 minutes. Movies is the last stop of the All-Star hotels and the buses are sometimes full when they arrive. Not terrible, just sporadic.
      I might stay here again just because of the cost.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Tue October 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun for the family
      Cons: long way from parking lot

      Just came back from a 2 night stay at the Movies. We had 4 rooms , 2 rooms were connecting. They were ready when we checked in at 11:00. Check in was easy and the gentleman was very kind. The room was clean and everything worked in my room. They was 11 of us and our rooms were next to one another. Had requested 1st floor, which we got. Enjoyed the food court and the prices weren't bad.

      Went to the gift shop. Cast members were helpful. Was able to use my Disney Visa discount.
      Was shopping for my 18 year old grandson. Had no idea what to get him. A cast member came up with an idea and it was perfect. My grandson was thrill with it.

      I really enjoyed the resort. Thanks cast members for a job well done.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri November 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun theming, very quiet
      Cons: Room needed a deep cleaning

      Stayed here for two nights over a weekend in November. Booked it because it was the only Disney resort available in our price range. Had to get a preferred room because no standard rooms were left. Our preferred room was in the Dalmatians building 4, but was at the back near the parking lot. I would've expected a preferred room to at least be in the front closer to the main building. The room was very, very quiet. The beds, sink, toilet and shower were all clean but in general the room really needed a thorough deep cleaning. Lots of dust and gunk built up in all the corners. I expect more attention to that from Disney, even in a value resort. Probably wouldn't stay here again, for a value resort I would go with Pop Century instead.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Fri October 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Mousekeeping, quiet
      Cons: Long walk to anything, no coffee maker

      We stayed here for a quick (cheap) weekend getaway. Was fine for what we paid.
      I always make my own morning coffee and tea when at WDW and was disappointed to find that rooms no longer come with a coffeemaker. Mousekeeping was kind of rude when we called to see if we could request one and was told "You can buy cups of coffee in the food court."
      Anyway, room was very clean. Mighty Ducks section was very quiet but far away from anything. We actually walked to AS Music bus stop as it was closer to our room.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue August 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cute theming, plenty to do

      My family of 4 stayed here last year on our very first trip to Walt Disney World. The theming was cute, the kids (ages 3&5 at the time) really liked the giant toy story characters. We were in the mighty ducks building which was kind of disappointing since the girls had no idea what it was. However our room was clean, staff was friendly, the pools were great, and they loved the activities by the main pool held every evening. The food court got a little boring by the end of our 8 day stay, but the food itself was decent. We will be returning to disney next year with two more children in tow, and plan to try out a moderate resort this time, however we would definitely stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Tue July 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: teenagers

      Stayed May 16-24. Had preferred room
      Dalmations Bldg. Upon checkin (which was done online prior) was escorted to guest services and had hard time speaking with castmember who spoke very bad English. Had requested connecting rooms on ground floor. This was our third stay and the first two was a wonderful experience. Not so much this time. It took the cast member over 30 minutes to try to get us assigned a room. Somehow, my sons connecting room was giving them a hard time. I had the room numbers from 2013 trip and I know that Disney can never guarantee our requests but I have to admit I'm spoiled by the fact that I had gotten them previously. Not this time. We ended up on the third floor at the end of the building. Not what I wanted but wanted to start my vacation and since the room was ready we decided to give it a try. We had rented a stroller for my dd5 and it was waiting upon our arrival. The room was clean and we had towel animals several times during our stay. We had an issue with magic bands not working to get into our room but this was quickly corrected. Even though I would prefer to stay on ground level, it wasn't that bad. during this trip we were able to visit other resorts and will definitely try them next time. My biggest complaint was that the week we were there. I think every teenager in
      Florida was also there and was rude, loud, and creating inappropriate behavior. I will pay more next time to avoid this. the buses were good except when you had to compete with again teenagers who wouldn't give up their seats for the elderly or moms carrying infants.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: New Orleans
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Concierge staff
      Cons: Run-down

      Stayed here with my daughter for the Cheerleading Worlds. I have stayed in a value resort at least once a year for the past 5 years due to competitions and I find that they are all getting rundown. In this particular stay, we had trouble with our outlets being too loose. Our chargers kept getting deactivated and the blowdryer wouldn't work. We actually had a couple of towels with holes in them.

      I had to go to the concierge desk a couple of times and they were very helpful and friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Thu April 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, bus service, good food choices
      Cons: Expensive for 1 night

      The services of this hotel were good the one night we stayed 3-22. Price was high for one night. Stayed off property in a suite for 2 nights $50 less than one night here. Would stay during another season for cheaper rates.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean room, cute resort, good food court, very friendly staff
      Cons: Noisy, so-so transportation

      This was my first stay at All Star Movies, which was the only value resort I had not stayed in. My friend and I stayed on a cast member 50% discount in a preferred room from 3/25-3/29. I had requested third or second floor, preferably in Fantasia, with more specific locations noted.

      We arrived at the resort around 12:30pm. There was no problem getting MagicBands for two additional friends who were added last minute but did not end up staying with us. We were able to set up credit cards on different bands. Our room was not ready but I was told we would be in Fantasia building 5 on the second floor. Around 2:45 I received a text that our room was 5836. This was overlooking the Love Bug section, and one of the locations I had asked for. On the whole, I was pleased that my requests were met overall.

      The room was clean and fine for two adults to use as a place to shower and sleep. There was plenty of drawer space, though I do wish more hangers were provided. Beds were very comfortable. I thought the lighting was adequate, but wished there was a way to dim the headboard lighting, as it seemed a little bright for just reading before bed. Although the room seemed like it would be in a quieter location, I could hear the people upstairs and to the side, as well as people walking down the hall. Cheerleaders practicing in the Love Bug courtyard was also an unexpected noise source. Mousekeeping was very good, always leaving a good supply of towels and toiletries.

      One day I walked around the resort and took pictures of everything; it really is a cute hotel. Lobby concierge was very helpful in printing out our dinner show tickets. The gift shop had a decent selection. Food court was great for breakfast, even though it was difficult to find a seat during the breakfast rush. My friend raved about the Penne Alfredo with Chicken.

      Transportation was very hit or miss. We had particular difficulty with Downtown Disney buses and Epcot buses. Most nights it seemed everyone got a seat, though we did stand on a few occasions.

      This resort was fine, but as far as value resorts go, I prefer Pop Century or Art of Animation. Transportation was better at those resorts, food courts were bigger, and they just give me a more "homey" feeling.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap,fun
      Cons: Buses and food choice

      I stayed from April 29-May 8 of 2013. This resort is great for people who just need a place to stay and sleep. It's not a lavish hotel but it definitely has Disney written all over it. Our room was clean upon entry and clean everyday until we left. No problems with check-in and no problems with check-out. It is just an average resort. We only had breakfast there and that was just okay. We would try to grab and go as often as we could. The pool was never very crowded. The buses never seemed to be on a schedule, they would just show up whenever. On some days two buses for Hollywood Studios would show up within 5 minutes of each other but the Magic Kingdom bus would be 40 minutes apart. I love Walt Disney World and would stay here again for the price and accommodations, but wouldn't mind upgrading to a nicer hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu December 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Sevice, Great Price, Great Amenities

      This place was amazing - we got a "preferred" room, the entire resort was kept spotless, great food, great service. I was nervous because I heard "value" resort and thought it was going to lack in some way. Not the case. I will be back, and I want to stay @ AllStar Movies.

      The loss that turned into a win... Lost the car in the parking lot out back (didn't drive for a couple of days). It was a little confusing making my way to the room to the parking lot (maybe some directional signs inside the courtyard showing where each parking lot is)- but even then, a staff member stopped what he was doing to drive us around till we found it.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: cleanliness, crowds, customer service

      Travel party of 8, 3 rooms. Checked in online, arrived to resort by 10:30am. Requested ajoining rooms, or at least nearby, NOT GRANTED. After first night we were told we needed to change rooms due to the Special Olympics checking in. UNACCEPTABLE! Room was not clean when we opened door, dirty towels left by mousekeeping. Bugs in room. TERRIBLE. Will never stay here again. Food court was disorganized, understaffed and crowded. There is no fridge in the rooms either.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Kingston, MA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed October 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Cost, CMs, clean
      Cons: Non

      My 15 yo daughter and I stayed here mid-September 2013 and were VERY pleasantly surprised! Stayed in the "Love Bug" section. Having stayed at POR/AB 3 times previously, we weren't positive we were going to "feel" it but we did! (A friend and her two daughters also stayed and enjoyed it!). Liked that ASMO is a bit more compact as far as the lay-out than the other All-Star resorts.

      The room was clean and perfect size for the two of us. Lucky for us, the mousekeeper(s) left us something each day. It was nice to have a fridge although I did miss the two sinks, but not a deal-breaker.

      The food court was better than we had expected. Had heard it was crowded, but we never had a problem with finding a table. Ate by the pool one morning, which was nice. The food was GREAT! Had a turkey dinner one night after coming back from a very rainy day at DHS and it was SO good. We love breakfast at Disney food courts too so that alone was worth the stay.

      Were able to enjoy the pool one morning. Very nice, not crowded at all.

      Gift Shop had everything we would expect.

      Bus Stop was easy to find and busses were not a problem for us at any point. Never waited more than 10 minutes to/from ASMO/parks and there was never such a crowd that it was uncomfortable.

      CMs at the front desk were very helpful. Only thing was the check-out/boarding passes near-snafu. (Flying Delta you go to the airline check-out NOT the front desk - now I know - lol!)

      LOVED the theming of the buildings - SOOO much fun to take pictures!

      We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, whether on a limited budget or by choice!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2006
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price decor
      Cons: usually crowded with big groups

      I have stayed at all the all star resorts and i actually loved the decor of movies best.. have stayed in Fantasia 2x Herbie 2x and Mighty ducks 1x.
      since i am a park person, i dont "hang out" at the resort much... use the pools only on occasion (july-aug trips) rooms are clean, service is disney quality and the decor is adorable. food court is large, many tables and even when crowded it isnt hard to find a table. selections are good for a food court and although they dont change much the food isnt bad...and affordable.. usually just eat breakfast in the resort... favorites include mickey waffles, omelets, and the platter. lunch & and dinner usually in the parks or other resorts. now, with fees for luggage on the planes, i take less clothes and use the laundry facility. plenty of washers and dryers and never had to wait. nice arcade, the nieces loved it..and good bus service to the parks.. since i prefer longer stays i usually stick to all star and pop resorts...so i can afford 14+ days. highly recommend
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2013
      Location: Mississippi
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat June 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great themes, food court, cleanliness
      Cons: none

      I have stayed at all the Values, except for Art of Animation, but All Star Movies is the one that began my on-site stays. Now I rotate the Values out year after year and Movies still remains my favorite Smile I would especially recommend it for people with small children because of the giant Disney icons.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.