Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • sarahaas

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: PA
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed February 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to Epcot/Hollywood Studios
      Cons: Dirty, dirty, dirty

       
      We weren't expecting Mickey Mouse to be plastered everywhere. Honestly, we weren't. The Dolphin is not a Disney hotel. However, we were expecting it to be CLEAN. Especially for the the price. Our first exposure to how things seem to be done at the Dolphin was in the parking lot. Garbage. A big ol' bag of garbage was sitting in the spot next to ours. Once we got our key cards, we headed up to the room. What did we find in the elevator? Giant, dirty handprints on the inside of the door. PS, the #5 elevator button doesn't work. Luckily, we're on 10. As we walk down the hall toward our room, we see lots of dishes and half-eaten food outside guests' doors. Most of those dishes sat there for DAYS. Ah, finally to our room. Hey look, the number plate on the room across the hall is on the floor. And we all have a big laugh. That number plate stayed on the floor the entire length of our stay.

      On the afternoon of December 24, 2015, we put the key card in the door of room #10172. The door opens…smells weird. Not bad, just weird. Okay, sometimes that happens. As we check out the room, we notice the following "luxurious" things: the room is WORN. Like, 1990-called-and-they-want-their-room-back worn, the hair dryer is sticky and dusty and hairy, the bathroom is DIM, I can't barely see in there, the toilet whistles loudly when flushed, the shower drained slowly, the floor and some drawer handles were sticky, two lights in the room didn't even work, random hairs, LOTS of dust on EVERYTHING…oh, did I mention the splintered wood on the drawer handles? Um, I'm paying how much to stay in this place dirtier than my own house?

      On the night before check-out, I called Guest Services to make sure we could get out of the parking lot the next morning. I was assured TWICE all I needed was my room key to exit the parking lot. At around 3:30am on December 28, our room key failed to allow us to exit the parking lot. We spent more than 20 minutes calling around trying to find SOMEONE to help us. There was no security in the parking lot. We were on hold multiple times with multiple people. The "help" button didn't seem to work properly, either. We were stuck. WE COULD NOT LEAVE THE PARKING LOT FOR 20 MINUTES. I could never advise anyone to stay here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DianeinNM

      Registered: December 2015
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat December 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): walking distance to Epcot, Hollywood
      Cons: price, service, dining, transportation, noise

       
      We booked a year in advance, requesting as high a floor as possible. We were put on the second floor, under the lobby. There was a baby screaming every night, and no evidence of sound insulation at all. We heard fireworks from two parks every night, making it difficult to be up for park opening. There were no midrange dining options--either the bargain basement grocery/cafe in the basement or the top dollar dining options (which were very good!). There is no group for whom I'd recommend this hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mare54

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu April 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Closeness to Epcot
      Cons: Bus to magic kingdom every 45 minutes

       
      Very disappointing...no transportation from or to airport. Taxi was $60 each way. The bus to Magic Kingdom came about every 45 minutes and was packed...when returning, we had a 30 minute wait for bus to return to hotel. Many ducks in pool and pooping, pool opens early but life jackets and towel shack not open till 10:30 and closed at 6. One meal in their casual restaurant for 4 adults ( choice of 4 meals, and each one was $40) toddlers charged $25 each. One meal came to $ 240 with tip. At checkout I was charged over $200 for " service fees " and parking...$25 a night for use of gym, ( never used), 2 bottles of water, and little coffee maker, $18 per day for parking..all of this plus tax...soooooooo, with $120 cab fare, $200 for service fees, and $240 for a casual dinner, and the horrible bus service to Magic Kingdom, we could have stayed at the Floridian with less stress and a truly deluxe hotel. It is not considered a Disney Hotel, so the bus service goes to the Swan and Dolphin less and with fewer busses. Never again...
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      rhjohnston

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat September 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, pool, food options, cost
      Cons: large hotel, resort fee, no airport transportation

       
      The Dolphin and Swan offer many of the Disney Property advantages on a deluxe level for less money. My husband and I stayed 9/7-9/12 to celebrate his 50th birthday. I recommend this time frame because the parks were not crowded. Kids had just gone back to school so you mainly encountered families with young children or adults celebrating special occasions. The Dolphin is a conference hotel so it is huge but it is well planned and the elevators were great. The décor is not Disney and much of the clientele is business but you do get the complimentary transportation to the parks, the extra magic hours and an excellent location. You can walk to Epcot and Hollywood Studios or take a boat- the Boardwalk is adjacent to the hotel. The pool facility is awesome and you have more food options than the less expensive Disney resorts. The room size was fine for 2 people although the bathroom might be a little tight if several people were in the room. I suspect these rooms will be refurbished soon as they are looking a tad worn. We stayed in room 8023. This room had a great view, no balcony but you did have to walk a bit to get to it. I would return to this hotel even with the $23 resort fee. The benefits outweigh the cons.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sun December 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of elevators, friendly staff, great restaurants
      Cons: Dated

       
      The room was clean and well equipped. We found the decor dated with a faux '50s look and unchanged from when we stayed many years ago, many layers of paint on the walls. The restaurants here and at the Swan are uniformly great and folks staying anywhere in the Epcot area should take advantage of them. We also note that S and D are offering a fastpass plus service, where you make your choices at stations inside the parks. We didn't use the service this trip. Dolphin and Swan are our choices when the Disney Epcot resorts are fully booked or not offering advantageous rates.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      amybosshard

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Sound Beach, NY
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): close to EPCOT, Hollywood Studios, and Boardwalk
      Cons: bus to DTD

       
      My husband and I just arrived home from a 5 night stay at the Dolphin (sans kids!) for the Food and Wine Festival. Overall we thought the hotel was great. Within walking distance to EPCOT, HS and the Boardwalk. It was so nice to be able to quickly walk over to the Boardwalk area for shopping, something to eat, or just the ambiance.
      Check-in was a breeze, quick and efficient. We stayed using our Starwood points, so the total bill was $95, for the extra fees they charge. Our room was a king bed with a partial view of the boardwalk and Swan. If you craned your neck, you could watch the EPCOT fireworks.
      The beds at the Dolphin are extremely heavenly! I have never slept so well at a hotel. And, am hoping to talk my husband into buying one!
      We sat at the pool one afternoon and really enjoyed it. Although not themed (like other Disney resorts) it had exactly what you would want, and a slide for kids too. And, although we didn't order anything, there was sufficient staff walking around taking drink and food orders.
      We ate at BlueZoo one evening. Delicious!! We also ordered ice cream from the Dolphin Fountain...so good...
      The room is a little dated looking, but I felt the comfort of the bed far out-wayed the dated feel. On our first night, the toilet didn't flush, and someone came up within 2 minutes of a call to the front desk and fixed it quickly.
      Now, for my only complaint. The hotel rooms have Starbucks coffee pods. I was sooo excited to see this, as I am a serious coffee drinker and need a strong cup of coffee in the morning. The only problem? The pods did not fit into the coffee maker they had (different make of machine), they were way too big. So, on my first morning, after making a complete mess (water and coffee everywhere) I stopped using it. Total bummer.
      Overall, I would stay here again and can't wait to go back. Yes, it definitely feels a little convention/business like at times (especially at night when you have to walk through the bar to get to the hotels). But, I think the pros far out-way the cons!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tommygunn

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Tue August 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Everything else

       
      It was cheap, and close to Epcot. But ultimately you get what you pay for. Dated is a kind word for this property. And ZERO Disney theming/magic. Will never stay here again. Spend a little more money and stay at the Port Orleans Riverside. Best deal going on sight IMHO.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      veniceboy78

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location close to Epcot and Hollywood Studios
      Cons: Rude staff, Dirty rooms

       
      We have been to Disney World several times and always look forward to our yearly vacation there. Two years ago we stayed at the Dolphin and it was fantastic! Enough so that we stayed again this year....


      Unfortunately it was the opposite experience this time around. We are members of the Starwood Preferred Guest program and had a resort view room on reserve. When we got there they told us that they had given our room away! We were stuck with a view of the service area/roof top. In addition,there was old garbage in the drawers of the dresser, the coffee maker was broken (as was the refrigerator), there were stains and holes in the bed sheets, the shower curtain was torn. The list was EXTENSIVE! To make matters worse, we were given poor attitudes from members of the wait staff at the ice cream shop downstairs.


      We tried contacting the manager, but she did not get back to us until after we had returned home! We were there for a whole week and were very disappointed. They tried to "bribe" us with a free taxi ride, but we do not feel that this was fair compensation for ruining our hotel experience. This is unfortunate because we will not be staying at the Dolphin in the future due to this experience. We also let Disney know as their name is attached to the property. They were much more helpful!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FoxzLem

      Registered: April 2006
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue May 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Walk to Epcot and Boardwalk
      Cons: Not Disney Property

       
      Hotel was nice and close to great locations at Disney (walking distance to Epcot/Boardwalk).


      The hotel had more of a business feel to it due to conferences going on – didn’t get the “Disney” feeling of being at other hotels on property.

      Main complaint about hotel - we were on the 6th floor for a week and complained about bad odor in hallway (smelled horrible – complained three times). Our complaint didn't seem to matter to front desk. They did nothing to move us to different room and no other adjustments were made.


      Also can’t partake in Disney Magical Express.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.