Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ldeglian

      Registered: August 2006
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Thu June 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Not very good

       
      The food on Castaway Cay is clearly not the reason to get off the ship. We generally eat early (before noon) so we didn't have an issue waiting or finding a table. However, we had burgers which were (as others have noted) burned beyond recognition. The side dishes are also just average. We love Castaway Cay--but the food is a real negative.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      danandbethb

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Dover NH
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed May 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Could go back and eat on the ship
      Cons: The food

       
      We sailed on the Disney Fantasy in April. While on Castaway Cay, we stood in a line for what seemed forever, and when we finally got to the food itself, half of the pans were empty. So we knew why the line was so slow - people were waiting for offerings to show up, and it was in dribs and drabs. I was happy with my burger as there was a hole in the sole of my shoe and I could put it to good use. Apparently cooking the burger to a dried out husk is all they serve. Awful. Between us (myself, my wife & son), we had some of everything. And we liked just about nothing. The chicken was all that we agreed was worth consuming. We ended up eating once we were back aboard. This was our third cruise and we think each time the food has been progressively worse. Perhaps the larger ships, with more people, push it into overdrive and they are not coping well with the larger volume of people. Hopefully they figure it out before our next trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mindylee847

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ice cream!
      Cons: birds, burned

       
      We went to Cookies Too by Serenity Bay. I was really excited about going here because I had heard pretty good things. Unfortunately, I saw many birds crawling all over the fresh fruit layed across the top of the buffet and some trying to eat right off of guests' plates. The birds are really a huge issue here and it's very unsanitary. Also, my burger was burned up like crazy. I don't want to eat charcoal... :/ At least they had soft serve ice cream and some alright cookies.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Bleumsu

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat March 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good selection
      Cons: None

       
      Overall cookies 2 BBQ was very good. They had a wide selection of food which was nice. They even served quinoa which was to my husband and I's delight! They handed out sanitary wipes to everyone as they entered the restaurant. There were 4 lines serving the same food so the lines over very quickly. Mahi Mahi was a little dry. But for buffet food it was really good!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ldeglian

      Registered: August 2006
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Mon January 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No additional cost
      Cons: Typical BBQ fare

       
      The food on the island is typical BBQ fare--burgers, hot dogs, chicken and mahi. It's average quality, but our experience has always been pretty good. There are plenty of side dishes and desserts to go along with the burgers, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LynnM

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu May 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): NONE
      Cons: terrible barbeque

       
      The barbeque at Serenity bay was terrible, limited food choices, not enough to go around and just not good at all. Burned burgers, dogs and chicken, etc., and ran out of the one fish choice.
      Beautiful island but bad food for the adult part of the island, I cant say about the family barbeque.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkwan

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Thu March 31, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Food
      Cons: None

       
      I had the grilled mahi mahi and I must say it was the best mahi mahi I ever had. I did double dip on this one. My DH had the burger with tons on veggies on them. The only regret I had was that I forgot to grab a CD-size cookie. Love everything they offered there.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.