Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • pcoleman

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Hubbard Lake, MI
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu September 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cost, size of rooms, location
      Cons:

       
      Another wonderful stay at SOG. Honored all my room requests for location. Took advantage of the 40%. Even w/o discount resort is a great value. Having stayed both on and off site I have to admit i really do like the laid back atmosphere here. It is nice to leave the parks and have a break from all that is Disney. Took friends with us and they could not get over how big the rooms were and how easy and comfortable the resort feels. Love the new buses. Bus drivers were awesome. Only down side we had was not being allowed to obtain fast-passes at 60 mark with rest of resorts. This is a Disney issue not SOG. Can't wait to get back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwgrandma

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): refurbished rooms. Manginos open for lunch. Starbucks all day.
      Cons: none

       
      Here in March for a week. Joined by my daughter and granddaughter for 4 days. Too busy in the parks, but Shades was super. Hadn't been here for a year and a half, and loved the refurbed rooms and being able to get lunch at Manginos; hope this is all the time. We also enjoyed lattes available all day, and wine, too! It seemed more professional all around since last I was there. Kinda liked showing ID to get on bus to come back to the resort--felt safe that way. Great cast members and everyone was so nice to us. So very thankful that I have the opportunity to come to Shades!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cavwife82

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: TX
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri March 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, size of room, restaurant costs, pools
      Cons: no disney feel, bus wait time, room problems

       
      We stayed here 2/7-2/14. We are a family of 6 (2 adults, 2 kids, 2 babies) so we loved the size of the room. It was wonderful having the extra space for pack n plays and suitcases! While the room size was nice, it was just like any holiday inn where the carpet is worn, the bathroom fan was very loud and rattled, and our key wouldn't open the door on multiple days so we would have to go down and get a new one. The bus waits were longer so we walked over to Polynesian and used their bus system and monorail. Its only a 15 minute walk so I recommend it. My kids loved the pool. It was nothing fancy, but never crowded. They liked the playground area. My favorite part was the starbucks as you enter. While my husband put kids to bed, I snuck off to get a couple ice cream cones or coffees for us to snack on. The restaurants were pretty good. I was worried after reading such horrible things. We never waited for a table. Some of the food was kind of bland, but I like spice so most places at Disney taste bland. The waiters were so friendly and I loved that the kids under 6 ate free! If you're looking to save a lot of money, than its great. However, if you're expecting that Disney Magic than look into other resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xtandt

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: FL
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Tue February 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful
      Cons: Pay to park

       
      I have stayed here before and wasn't impressed. The rooms have been redone and are very clean and huge. Parking is $5/day, not a big deal. Most of the employees were very pleasant, Would come back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mimi1

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge rooms, Good value, Location
      Cons: Restaurants, bus system

       
      If you qualify to stay here, it is the best value on the property. The rooms are huge, clean and the hotel is located so close to the MK. We are not fond of the bus service, so walk to the Polynesian and use the monorail system to get to MK and EPCOT. They have a beautiful new pool and are in the process of updating the other pool. I also like that it is out of the hustle and bustle of the rest of Disney. We have stayed here many times and will continue to for future visits.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneylover21

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed August 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, frinedly, welcoming, ready
      Cons:

       
      My father was in the National Guard for 21 years and for the last 5 times I have gone to Disney World, we have stayed at Shades of Green. They are welcoming, they allow a taxi company to enter the resort. My father has taken this taxi every time we go and they are very good price wise and personable wise.


      When we first get to the resort, they take your name and your ID, proving you were in the military. They tell you of the room, the check in and out times and of any special events going on within the hotel itself. They also, if you're too early to check in, will hold your bags and bring them to your room when it is ready, allowing your group to either spend time around the hotel or get an early jump at Disney World.


      They, like Disney World, are very good about food allergies. I am allergic to peanuts and my father to anything with alcohol in it. They asked the chef, he or she will come out and tell us what we can have, which is great. One of many things we love about Disney.


      The pools are large and are heated at night. The all you can eat breakfast is always full of food and kept very clean. At the egg stand, they will make other things with eggs beside omelets, which is great for my mom, cause she does like them. The large dining room is classy and has really good food. There are TV's for those who wish to sit in those areas.


      The rooms are large, they include two sinks, a bath and toilet, two beds, and sometimes a wonderful view. They also come with a safe, which it great to keep phones, mP3's, pills, and jewelry. They also come with an iron and blow dryer, which mom loves.


      The only down side we have ever had is with the grill/ bar in the back of the resort. They are slow and have gotten our orders wrong more then once, along with leaving things out as well.


      I will be going back to Shades of Green in January of 2014 for my 21 birthday. And my father (over heard this) has asked them to make a cake for me for my birthday, so they do special things for special events. Which will make my trip very magical!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat March 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, large room
      Cons: lack of themeing, check in staff rude, rooms TOO quiet

       
      Stayed 3 nights for PHM weekend. Looks as if SOG is staying tidier than last visits, actually see people cleaning/picking up common areas. The AAFES store has also moved to a smaller location, very cramped and not much amenities as before!


      The only negative aspects was we tried to go to bed early for a 5 A.M. wake up, the rooms are so quiet and the halls like echo chambers that when rude guests come into the hotel late at night, they woke us up! Also, the front desk staff seemed rude at check in, no friendly smile, and brief, felt like I was a bother to them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Tue January 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge rooms
      Cons: Food, parking

       
      Third stay. Booked 4 days out for Long Lost Friends. We usually get 2 rooms in values but only suites available with military or FL discount so SoG was $60 per night cheaper this holiday weekend. Usually Disney rates are cheaper than SoG for our pay grade. We were going to MK for a day so this was preferable to staying off property.
      In March we had a large room with a big bathroom - double vanity. This time we had a much smaller bathroom. One sink and not a separate room for toilet. Only towels for 4 but our maid was observant and noticed we had 5. We didn't have plastic cups though. Only two coffee cups and two drink cups. It was such a short trip we didn't bring our own Solo cups for kids to drink out of. I do like that they have Starbucks coffee here but food was so bad in 2008 when we stayed, that I don't want to try again.
      Ticket office closed too early and opened too late for us to take advantage of it. (our local ITT office was out of the ticket type that we needed).
      Stay in March was furthest from parking, but not quite as far this time. I much prefer to be near garage since we usually drive to parks if not walking to Polynesian to catch monorail. .
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jude1114

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun September 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): large room, proximity to MK, shuttle service
      Cons: FOOD!

       
      This is our second stay at SOG. Our first was with our three kids in '06 and this time just my husband and me. Check in was seemless, had our room ready at 2pm when we arrived. We were put on the parking garage side, which seems more 'dated' then the other side. Not sure why that is. Room was/is clean and housekeeping has been great this past week. Employees are friendly. I do think the resort overall needs a bit of a face lift, new furniture in lobby area would be nice. The plastic stuff really needs to go. As does the large rug, it really has seen better days and is the same one they had 6 years ago. But, that's petty stuff. We don't mind the long walks, heck, if you don't want to walk then why are you at WDW to begin with? lol The bus' are great, never a problem there. We did use Poly transportation quite often though. Overall the resort is great for larger families who cannot afford the Disney resorts. But, for us, we have decided we will stay at the Poly or Contemporary on future stays. The reasons for this are, #1, food choices. We ordered room service, ate the buffet breakfast and ate at Mangino's. All were absolutely horrible. Beyond horrible. From cold food, over cooked food and just bad quality food. We tried the pizza at Mangino's and it wasn't even as good as a frozen pizza, you can read my review of that as well on TA. Very poor quality ingredients. This morning I ordered scrambled eggs with my room service and i got a VERY over cooked omlete looking thing. Very disappointed in the food here. It really is important to us to have quality food available to us in our resorts on those occasions we dont feel like going out. We did have breakfast over at the Poly one morning (counter service) and it was fantastic. As were the surroundings. Very lush with music playing softly. No music here at SOG. At the end of the day, this resort is great for older retiree's (many, many more retirees over 60, outweighing those of us in our 40's and younger), families who are on a tighter budget, and you really can't beat the location and size of rooms. Oh, one last comment, the beds are very firm, so if you are not a firm bed person you may want to bring a topper.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mandi115

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: CT
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun August 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Value, location, room size
      Cons: Lack of theming, housekeeping could be better

       
      We are so fortunate to have this amenity in our beloved WDW. The rooms are enormous (enough for all those souvenirs), and yes, the toiletries are very basic; however, the AAFES store is right there. I don't even bother packing liquids because they are dirt cheap at SOG and a million times more convenient than bringing them through the airport.


      The food at all of the restaurants has been consistently good, but not enough to pull me away from the popular park restaurants.
      I have found the bus service to be quite easy, if only not as frequent as I had hoped. It is a lovely stroll to the Poly, especially at night, to make use of their more frequent transportation options and restaurants.


      I do wish that SOG would offer a shuttle service, free or not, to the airport. We have used Sunstate Limo several times and have found it to be very reliable. It's $120 plus tip round trip.
      The prices at SOG vary based on your rank; however, they do NOT vary seasonally like WDW resorts and there is no tax. We were lucky enough to get a 1/2 price special....can you imagine staying right across the street from MK for $47 a night?


      Overall, I highly recommend SOG for our Armed Forces and their families. Yes, there are some things that could use some freshening up, or other amenities that could be offered, but paying for these things piecemeal is still a tremendous savings over a WDW package.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Tue July 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, location
      Cons: 24 hour pool, warm & llimy P\pool water, decor

       
      Decided to give SOG a try again as they were a few bucks cheaper than the WDW moderate resorts. We stayed one night for a weekend getaway. At check in they originally they assigned us a poolside room. I asked how late the pool was open and was told 24 HOURS with quiet time from 10 PM to 6 AM. Thankfully I requested to be put into a non-poolside room... we went to swim at midnight hollering kids AND adults, splashing, etc... So glad we did not get a poolside room! But we never swam, stuck my foot in and the water was about 80 degrees and slimy!


      Anyway we stayed in 'the old wing’ which has been renovated in the past year. Rooms were fresh looking but the same bland interior as the rooms in the new wing. Beds were stiff, but so tired I didn't notice of until I woke up that morning. We tried sleeping in late. We tried to sleep in but by 8AM a motorcade of gas powered golf carts and maintenance vehicles had us awake.


      On the positive, the last time we stayed in the 'new wing' which was starting to look run down. From what we saw while walking through the resort, it looked like the carpet had been replaced, and did not have the dirty smell as before, so maybe SOG is slowly changing its act. However it peeves me that when they replace light bulbs, they use different wattages and colors of bulbs, maybe just my military 'attention to detail' coming out, but looks awful!


      All in all, it is a cheap place to stay close to the action and does have some perks (EMH, access to Polynesian resort amenities). So for a one night weekend getaway on the cheap SOG fits the bill!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ears2you

      Registered: December 2006
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Wed June 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): BIG rooms
      Cons: "New" section showing wear-broken items

       
      Broken iron took 30 minutes to replace. Broken mirror (wall mount) and bathroom was dark. I don't mind the cost cutting measures like soap and shampoo dispensers but please use proper wattage bulbs to provide light in the bathroom. Spend some of that parking garage money on bulbs. Bus service very prompt and never left us stranded even when we closed down the parks on extra magic hours. For goodness sake, people with strollers please FOLD them to board the bus. I don't get it--I have 2 kids and never used a stroller for 12+ trips to Disney since they were infants. Hotel reasonably clean, staff polite. Past experience keeps me out of the restaurants. Loved the free internet cafe. Overall a good stay. We stay here about once for every 3 times we travel to Disney-BIG rooms and a good price-no frills.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Crow

      Registered: June 2006
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue June 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room
      Cons:

       
      Good value, room is as big as Disney deluxe for a price of mod or value. Parking is $5 a day in garage though. walk to Poly from which you can catch monorail. The rooms were fine, turning on the shower was confusing at first. Room service pizza wasn't too great. Balcony overlooked golf course.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jwood812

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri June 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price,location, and service
      Cons: charged for parking

       
      This was our first stay at Shades of Green and first family trip to WDW;I could not have been more pleased! This trip was celebrating our son's 4th Birthday and after six months of planning, we had to cancel all our original plans due to job loss. I called SOG reservations and, even though the website showed no availability, the reservationist found us a room and booked us a Sunrise package.
      The resort was beautiful, check-in was fast, friendly, and very helpful. Our room was on the first floor at the very end of the hall and was great. It was larger then expected and he had plenty of room to spread out as we accumulated LOTS of souveniers. It was not noisey which was perfect since most nights I carried a passed out sleepy head back to the room.
      We had a delicious breakfast buffet every morning and walked right out to the buses. We never waited very long for a bus and they were right on schedule.
      The BX was also a great perk for night time snacks and to pick up our autograph book before we entered the parks.
      The ticket office was also very helpful and efficient. On the day of our check out, we stopped by and were able to purchase tickets to Kennedy Space Center before we left.
      We loved SOG and it made it possible for us to take our vacation at a fraction of the original cost. I must admit, it was nice to stay so close to MK and still have a break from EVERYTHING Disney. We will definitely stay here again for future trips.
      The only thing I did not like/understand was why we were charged $5/day for parking and would still have to pay $14 to park at the parks if we chose to drive. I think being charged one or the other is bad enough.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacwin1

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: St. Pete, Fl
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon April 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff / Grounds
      Cons: None

       
      My husband and I hosted our daughters wedding at this resort. It was a destination wedding, so our exposure to the resort as a whole was limited. The staff could not have been any more helpful, or professional. The wedding was outdoors,at the gazebo. The landscaped grounds were beautiful. We compared other Disney locations and none could beat the value offered here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.