Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • cmoranski

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun October 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, beer, wine
      Cons: very busy on weekend

       
      Grand time last week. Went for two and a half days. Friday night was very busy. Monday was better. Lines on Friday night and Sunday were very long, but we persevered. Some wonderful foods. A few, Italy and Poland not so good. Beer flights very popular with our party. Canada and France were our party's favorites.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dcdeb

      Registered: October 2005
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Sun October 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Chance to sample foods from all over the world
      Cons: Some items a bit pricey, or small portions

       
      I found the foods at the 2014 International Marketplaces to be of overall very good quality. Some of my favorites: the Berliner (donut) at the Germany marketplace; the Grilled Lamb Chop in Australia; the Gratin de crozet de savoie in France, along with the Sea Salt Caramel Creme Brulee. My least favorites were at the Italian booth -- both the ravioli and chicken were overpriced and rather blah. I would definitely recommend trying everything, though. You never know what you're going to like until to try it! See what others have rated the foods in our annual survey here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/results/SM-MGP8GTJL/


      Or rate for yourself here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/ZKZV6MK
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      hstuck

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: boston
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The BEST event at WDW!
      Cons: The diet I have to go on after

       
      Another amazing and impressive year at the Epcot Food & Wine Fest! Thought I would share my fav's this year...a must try for foodies!
      Brazil - The Crispy Pork Belly with black beans, onion, avocado, cilantro - incredible!
      Australia- The Lamb chop with the Penfolds 8 Cab/Shiraz - just amazing.
      South Korea - Lettuce wrap!!!
      Africa - Berbere Style Beef with Wolftrap Red or Porcupine Syrah - I went back for seconds...so good.
      Cheese - Almond crusted Blue Cheese souffle and the Cheese selection are incredible - I want to move to the land of cheese!
      Try the big bad red....really perfect with the souffle!
      Japan - spicy hand roll...way easier to eat on the go...and great!
      New Zealand - Venison sausage was so good - would have liked a different red with this but all the wines are good!
      France - I love the escargot...per usual.
      Canada - The filet never dissapoints! Great with the Syrah.
      Hawaii - Pork slider....so good!
      Dessert&Champ - GREAT..all great but loved the Morello Cherry Pistacio Mousse!
      Scotland - great new addition! Banoffee tart if you want something sweet or the salmon was good as well! Scotch flight is a GREAT DEAL.
      Enjoy!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      solaya062007

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon October 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty; melt in your melt
      Cons: Too small of a portion for the price

       
      The lobster tail was very tender and tasty. Unfortunately, the size is too small; more like a langostino than a lobster tail. But I'm glad I tried it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      IlovePooh

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: Celebration, FL
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri September 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and fun!
      Cons: None at this time!

       
      So just a quick general review - I was at the Cast preview last night (open to the public, too) and had just a few things.


      At the Cheese booth - the Almond-Crusted Blue Cheese Souffle with Fig Jam was fabulous - especially paired with the suggested Once Upon a Vine's The Big Bad Red Blend!


      At Florida Local - I also loved the Florida Grass Fed Beef Slider with Monterey Jack and Sweet & Hot Pickles, which I enjoyed with the remainder of the wine from the Cheese booth in the shade and breeze at the America Gardens Theater across the way.


      For dessert at Scotland - have to say I'm not going to be a fan of the Scottish Banoffee Tart with Bananas, Scotch Whiskey Toffee, Walkers Shortbread Crumbles and Sweet Cream. The description sounded awesome - in reality it seemed rather bland, and none of those flavors, except banana, was discernable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mizlou

      Registered: July 2009
      Location: Mesquite, TX
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun December 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): trying different foods & beers, snacks from DDDP
      Cons: 3-4 kiosks were slow in getting people through their lines no organization

       
      Went to the F&WF on 11/11/2012. We were on the Deluxe Dining Plan so it was great for me & my DH to eat our way around Epcot using the snacks from DDDP. They were put to great use. Will be doing this again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chrisfam4

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed November 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good mix of new items and old favorites
      Cons:

       
      My family and I loved everythings we tried this year! The stand out food items we hope to see again are: New sushi handrolls at Japan (great value too!) Mongolian beef on steamed bun in China, Sausage in a pretzel roll at Germany (always a favorite of ours) and the new Schinken Nudel pasta gratin also at Germany. Eventhough prices seem a little high to most, if you plan ahead, share food items, and do your Allears research, it can be a fun and affordable way to eat around "The World!"
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ER_Nurse

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Carmel, IN
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri November 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Crowds

       
      This was our first experience at the F&W fest. I would start by warning people (especially families) to go during the week! There were very few lines and manageable crowds. Once the weekend hit, it turned into a Drunk Fest. Groups of people getting loud and definitely not setting the "family" tone.


      The food offerings were great. There was a diverse sampling that would fit any taste. I was thrilled to find out that the food booth samples count as snacks on the dining plan. We always have tons of snacks left over, so this was a treat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TSD1958

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: Groveland
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon October 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection of Foods, Wines, Beers getting better
      Cons: PRICE OF FOODS, DRUNKS, and LINES

       
      This was easily my 8th year attending this event. I love the Food and Wine Fest, as I have several friends and family that attends with me. BUT, once again, or should I say STILL, Disney is living up too their reputation when it comes to the price of things.


      Many of the people in my group, which included 13 people, all found that food [was again] over priced, small portioned and in some cases lacking flavor. The Escargot in France is usually a favorite of mine, however, this year it was very dry and extremely salty. The Sausage dish and Cheese Soup in Canada are always great, but still cost too much. It was nice to see that Japan was now giving hand rolls of sushi as apposed to the previous years with just 3 pieces. Most of the foods seemed to be the same as in previous years, so I did not spend the money on them. The Wine and Beer selection has certainly gotten better. The Florida Beer was great, The Grapefruit Beer was a pleasant surprise, and a few of the Wines we outstanding.


      As for the crowds, my group purposely went on a Thursday in order to avoid the crowds. The lines weren't bad during the week, and the longest we waited was 5 minutes. I also saw less of the DRUNKS walking around compared to last year, but again, we were there on a weekday this year as apposed to a weekend day last year. But thats not to say there weren't any of the totally out of line people walking around.


      All in all, I will continue to recommend to everyone that The Food and Wine Fest in a MUST SEE and EXPERIENCE event. But I will certainly suggest going during the week to avoid the long and crowed lines and also to avoid the drunks. I will also suggest that they have plenty of money on hand, as walking away from there spending at least $150 is an easy thing to do.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      VGonzalez

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Saint Petersburg, Florida
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Fri October 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Different tastings this year then last
      Cons: So crowded

       
      I love this fest and we hit it almost every year. This year we went on a Wednesday to avoid the weekend madness. It was still crowded but manageable.


      Our favs were the Arepa with pork and corn salsa at the Florida stand, the Ropa Vieja at the Carribbean, and the grapefruit beer at germany beer garden.


      SOme misses were the scandanavian meatballs, which we enjoyed prior years but not this one.The escargot could have had some sauce , it was rather dry.


      It's a really good time to be had but I wish they would have adult day now and then. It would make it much nicer on those of us that are in just for the fest, as many are.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Um_from_Umbridge

      Registered: June 2010
      Location: New Orleans, LA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sun October 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lamb chops & chocolate bock
      Cons: Mung bean pancakes & Korean fruit slushie

       
      My husband & I purposely planned our Food & Wine Festival days on a Tuesday and Thursday, and I was very glad that we did. The crowds were manageable, the booth lines weren't long, the Disney workers were very friendly and didn't look rushed or overwhelmed, and that all enhanced our overall experience. We especially liked the 2 beer flights offered at the "Brewer's Collection" booth (especially the fizzy grapefruit beer); the chocolate bock beer lobster roll, and pumpkin mousse at the "Hops and Barley" booth; the melt-in-your-mouth lamb chop with mint pesto and potato crunchies at New Zealand; the escargot, coq au vin, and sparkling pomegranate kir at France; and the Key Limen and Hurricane 5 sangria at Florida's booth. We didn't like the blandness and lack of textures from South Korea's mung bean pancake (it really would have been better with some crunch from a kimchi slaw instead of just a sauce) or their overly syrupy soju fruity slushy.


      With proper planning, I would highly recommend this Food & Wine festival to anyone that wishes to experience Epcot in a different way and to those that enjoy trying a variety of unique and delicious foods from across the world. I would also suggest that tourists stay far away from Epcot Friday-Sunday because those are very popular days for locals and can be quite overcrowded. Happy festing!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lucy1312

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue October 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent Bites of International Foods
      Cons: Drunk people and groups, heavy weekend crowds

       
      Just visited food&wine this past Saturday the 13th of October. This is my 5th year in attendance.


      Exceptional options, I would say, include Hawaii's Pork Sliders and the Korean Lettuce Wraps. An all time fave, Canada's Sausage and Polenta combo.


      As usual, crowds were extremely heavy as it was a weekend day. However, the major issue that gets exponentially worse every year are the groups of people drinking excessively. It's disgusting and unacceptable. My niece got wacked in the head by a drunkard swinging a backpack around. She is now sporting a lovely bruise on her forehead. Disney needs to get this aspect under control somehow.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mskertes

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon October 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Selection of choices
      Cons: None

       
      Attended for the first time on Thursday October 11th. Started at 11:00 am and did not run into the crowds that so many people mentioned. First the bad news; two dishes that we wished we avoided and both in France-- the escargot and the Creme Brulee. Both were lacking in flavor and substance.


      Best dishes otherwise; Grilled Lamb chop from Australia, Beef Filet from Canada, Pork Pot Stickers from China, Shrimp Ceviche from Florida, Tuna Poke from Hawaii, Lobster and Seafood Fisherman's Pie from Ireland, Sea Scallop from New Zealand and Beef Rendang from Singapore.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Billd

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Southeast Pa.
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon October 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): a good way to taste a variety of food and wines
      Cons: weekends way to crowded

       
      Just returned from our 11th F&W trip to WDW. Overall we had a great time, but this trip we did experience what we had been reading for some time - and that was the amount of people that flock to Epcot on the weekends. Really surprised to see the number of people who came as groups(as identified by thier "drinking T shirts).
      We sampled food and drink from all of the 'destinations'.
      We liked Terra - thought this is a good idea that should continue
      Some of the places for good sized portions were: Argentina - Beef Emoanada
      Scandinavia - Taste of Scndinavia
      South Korea - Lettuce Wrap w/Roast Pork & Kimchi slaw
      South Africa - Seared Fillet of beef
      Italy - Ravioli
      Japan - Spicy hand roll
      Morocco - Kefta Pocket
      New Zealand- Seared Sea Scallops
      Ireland - Fisherman's pie


      We also attended a Italian Regional Food and Wine Luncheon (ticketed event) and thought that it was very good. With good sized portions and plenty of wine.
      We also did Culinary Adventures in Signature Dining at Fulton's Crab House. The chef who prepared the meal explained that this was the first time Fulton's participated in this event. The food was outstanding.


      Lastly we attended Swan and Dolphin Food and Wine Classic on Friday - 12 October. This event was very good. the food prepared on the spot - which made it much better, but caused long lines (early). Plenty of wine to choose from, along with micro-brews and Sake. 3 lives bands played. Well worth the price.


      Overall, this event is one of the reasons we make an annual visit to WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tigger_allen

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Brandon, MS
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: people drinking too much

       
      This was the second time for food & wine festival. The first was 5 yrs. ago with my family. We went on a weekend & saw a lot of people drinking way too much. Went back this year with an all adult group for 11am on a weekday, same thing a lot of drunk people. Food booths were great but over priced for serving size. Don't think we will be going back for a long while for the food & wine festival.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.