Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • annahdean

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue December 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean room, friendly staff, convenient parking, etc.
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at Pop from 12/14 – 12/20. This was my third stay and the whole experience was great. We waited maybe 2 or 3 minutes to check in (at 3:30 p.m. on a Sat.). The guy was very friendly. They had us booked in the 70s, but I asked if we could move to the 50s near Lady and the Tramp for my 4-year-old’s viewing pleasure. He made a quick call and we were allowed to move to the 50s, 1st floor, building 1, right in front of the bowling pin pool. I felt it was probably a preferred room as it was just steps from the pool and only one building was between us and the food court/main building; however, we paid for a standard room, so I was ecstatic.
      He did forget to tell us to set up a pin for our Magic Bands, so when I went to grab our mugs and a snack, I couldn’t purchase them. I had to go back to a lady with an iPad at the check-in area. It took all of 5 minutes, not a huge inconvenience. It’s human error. It could happen at a moderate or deluxe.
      Parking was very convenient just outside our building also, not to mention we needed assistance at the end of our stay to jump our car off from leaving the lights on, someone was there within minutes and took care of it.
      Our room was clean, and we had plenty of clean towels (and wash cloth animals most days) with new soap and shampoo replenished every day.
      As far as the food court goes, there’s a pretty decent selection (the brisket was actually really good). There are never enough cashiers in the food court, but hello, you’re at Disney. There is going to be some waiting in lines.
      What I did appreciate was when my 4-year-old said his hamburger tasted like smoke (flame grilled), and he wouldn’t eat it. A girl was restocking the jelly and sauces and overheard him. She asked if he would like an Uncrustable PB&J, and she immediately brought him one (no charge).
      We never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus and although at some parks the Pop bus stall is a far walk, that’s not the case for all four parks. I remember it was close at some. You have to appreciate there is no sharing buses with other resorts, whereas some of the Deluxe resorts do share.
      I read other reviews complaining of children running around and no embellishments in the room. Well, we brought our own Disney plush toys and embellished it ourselves, and my child was one running around. So whether you will like Pop or not depends on your expectations. If you want a quiet, fancy scene, it isn’t for you. It was perfect for us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean
      Cons: check in/out

       
      We have never stayed at a value usually a moderate occasionally a deluxe. this trip we knew we would arrive in the evening before our ressies at POR so we thought we would try a value for one night. Originally I wanted All Start Movie but they couldn't accommodate so we opted for POP. The grounds were manicured and the rooms were clean. If that was all that I was evaluating I would return. It is basic, no embellishments in the room but fine if you aren't using the room a lot. My problem stems with check in and out. We checked in at 7pm and the woman who helped us kept us there for 45 minutes wheile she was on hold with mouse keeping to find out if our room was ready because we had a special VIP cleaning due to my son's health issue. We also had requested a handicap room for a wheel chair. We were a party of 2 adults and 1 child for 1 room and my parents had a separate ressie for a room as well. 45 minutes later we were sent to our room. When we arrived on the 3rd floor there were two rooms with the same number. WHAT? so we went to my parent's room and I called the front desk to find out which was ours. Turned out both. I was the handicap room with a King and 1 was 2 doubles not handicapped, the rooms connected. Didn't make sense at all. At the front desk the woman said since we were switching resorts in the morning we should come down and check out in person. So in the morning we did just that or so we thought. The woman at the desk took our names punched it in the computer and said we were all set. But we weren't. At POR we went to check in and found out that we weren't checked out at the other hotel at all. The woman at POR made it easy and took care of it. She checked us out and then checked us in.
      Oh and the running screaming kids were too much in the lobby just ridiculous. We all agreed we will not go back if there is a choice and we always have a choice. I would try a different value though based on the room and the room only. Glad we were only there for 1 night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwfan6

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: MA
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to EPCOT & Studios, Housekeeping
      Cons: Front desk, room, foodcourt, transportation, out of control Pop Warner kids

       
      Just returned from staying at Pop Century. Wanted to give Pop another try, but should have just spent the extra $$ and stayed somewhere else.


      Pros: My housekeeper was very good and the room was cleaned well each day. The other pro was that it is not too far from EPCOT & the Studios.


      Cons: Check-in/out is bad. Long lines, managers just standing there with clipboards reviewing the few cast members at the desk. If you see lines that long, put down the clipboard and take care of a customer. Had continuous problems getting into my room with the new Magic Band. This resort needs some serious maintenance. There was a gap along the length of the door to where you could see light coming through, as well as a draft and bugs. The towels are thin and there are none at the pools. Did not know that until I got to the pool and had to ask a cast member. The food was just ok in the foodcourt. Very little options for grab & go (2 kinds of sandwiches?). Transportation to/from this resort is the worst. This resort's bus stop is the furthest away at every park. 35 minute wait for a bus to EPCOT???? Pop Warner overflow from the All Stars were at this resort. Kids running around, screaming, etc with little to no adult supervision. Wanted to like this resort, but will stick to the French Quarter.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, housekeeping, front desk staff
      Cons: Location, food court

       
      We stayed at Pop Century 11/1 – 11/5/2013. We stayed in a double room (two double beds) in the 80’s sections, building 7, on the second floor facing the pool area. Right near Roger Rabbit’s rear end!! We had a rental car for the entirety of this trip so I cannot speak to the bus situation. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had a roll-a-way for our 14yo daughter that was brought to our room within ten minutes of our arrival.


      On our first night, my wife found a shoe print on her flat sheet. We called to have the bed remade. Housekeeping came within five minutes and removed all the bed clothes down to the bare mattress, and replaced them all in less than ten minutes – including the bed spread. This all happened after 10PM. The housekeepers apologized several times for our inconvenience – even though it was not their fault.


      The rest of our hotel related stay was great. Housekeeping helped us with our daughter when she got sick all over my bedspread and brought us extra towels to help with her illness. She was sick for two days. I can’t say enough nice things about housekeeping. I left them a big tip when we checked out!!


      Due to my daughter’s illness, we had to reschedule our FastPass + rides for two days. The front desk concierge was very helpful in getting all of them re-scheduled.


      Food court can become a real zoo, go early, or late.


      We are DCV members, and the rooms were much smaller than we are used to. If we run out of points again, all-in-all, I would stay at Pop Century again, but only if I had a rental car!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWAndy

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon November 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, Improved Food Court, Very Close Parking, Mousekeeping
      Cons: A bit noisy

       
      Just got home from staying 6 nights at POP. It was wonderful for our 2 young daughters (7&5). They loved the pools and activities they had each afternoon (crafts, bingo etc). The biggest surprise for my wife and I were the food selections at the food court area. Flatbreads, juicy burgers, big salads, curry shrimp, and healthier options were abundant.
      The best part for me was the convenient parking. We stayed in the 50's section and parked just outside our building. All sections have this convenient feature.
      Check-in for us was easy, we did the pre-check-in option and when we arrived the entire process took less than 10 mins.
      Drinks at the pool bar were wonderful, pricey but what to you expect? Kids enjoyed the pools staying open until 12am.
      Mousekeeping was amazing the entire trip. Rooms were cleaned very well, towel animals were made for us each day and the rooms were always done by the time we returned from the parks. Left a note asking for more towels and we had a pile of fresh towels that night when we returned and each night after as well. Rented a car so only used bus a few times, but the entire process seemed to be an efficient operation. Nice options at the gift shop as well including diapers, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mishawnam

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Dansville, NY
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean and Helpful Staff
      Cons: A little noisy

       
      We stayed at the Pop Century Sept. 28-Oct 5, 2013. Our check in was very quick and helpful. We received our magic bands and told that our room was not ready yet. We head over to grab some lunch and within 20 minutes we received a texted message with our room number. Within an hour of arriving we had eaten lunch, unpacked and heading to the pool. Great start to a great trip. We were in the 50's buildig on the back side. We were fortunate to have a fridge in our room even though we did not request it, We requested bedrails for our 2 year old. They only had 1 available, which was fine, we just pushed the bed against the wall. Our room was cleaned daily and we were given plenty of soap, shampoo,towels, etc. We visited the food court several times. I will agree that there are better places in Disney to eat but it is great if you don't want to leave the resort. Love the ice cream sundae. The only negative I will say is that is was somewhat loud at our room. Outside our room was where the mousekeepers restocked and that could be noisy and the gas carts that were driven by the staff were noisy. But it wasn't enough that it was overly bothersome. It was mostly early morning and we were early risers so not a huge deal. This was our 2nd stay at pop and I would highly recommend for the price. Especialy recommend for those who are visiting to spend their time mostly at the parks. Pop has everything you need without the extra expense.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      powpow1971

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Saint Paul, MN
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): my room was ready at 815AM
      Cons: everything else

       
      I stayed at Pop Century Oct 21-Oct 29 2013. I had a preferred room in the 60s section. I was saddened on how the resort went down hill in just a year. Our maid was never there until 4-5 PM I have never experienced that before. Usually my room has always been cleaned by 1 pm at the latest. I was shocked at how dirty band aids were in my bed when I first turned it down on the day of check in. The white blanket on day 3 was swapped out and replace by a dingy dirty looking blankets. I had 3 people in the room and only 2 towels were left. No shampoo or soap either. I had to call everyday for things and waited until as late as 10 PM to receive room basics. Upon check in I made sure my room had NO charging privileges. My express checkout was declined the day before we left and when I went down to the front desk to see what was going on I was told I had a bill to pay..HELLO my room had no charging. My lat name is Powell. I'm assuming it was another error because I received another Powell's grocery items at the beginning of the trip. A big chunk of my last evening there was spent arguing over a bill rather than being at the park. I love Disney but will never return to POP
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tiggary

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun October 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can't Think of Anything
      Cons: The whole experience was awful

       
      It took almost 7 hours to get checked in and they never did get the room right the entire time we were there. Never an apology or any comment from Disney. The first entire day we could always find our room by the dirty towel on the balcony a couple of doors down. Towels were not changed out every day. 20+ visits to Disney and this was by far the worst. It was so bad my wife and I probably won't return. Couldn't wait to leave and get home!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Livvie325

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Themes, bus transportation
      Cons: Front Desk staff and Mousekeeping

       
      Room was not clean when we arrived. Took 1 hour to check-in due to confusion with reservation. We were charged for room and hopper passes upon check out even though we went through a travel agent. Desk staff would not explain the charges. After 30 minutes of discussion, we missed our magical express bus. Had to call travel agent once we got home to have money refunded. NIGHTMARE!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caroll

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed September 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price; requested and received quiet room
      Cons: maintenance during stay

       
      My sister and I opted for a longer stay at a value vs. a shorter stay at a moderate. We never waited long for a bus, the computer pool was quiet and clean and we received fresh towels on our doorknob on the days we put out the DND sign. There was no usable refrigerator, but we were prepared for that. They were sanding down the Mickey phone right near our room which was quite loud during the day and we had a voicemail one night advising us of a planned power outage waking you up when the electrical appliances went dead and when they came back on. Very minor inconveniences for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dldennis01

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good value, fun for kids, clean
      Cons: Small beds

       
      Clean rooms, fun things around the resort, hotel is convenient to the parks we went to. Kids loved the pool and poolside activities. The only drawback was the overpriced food at the restaurant, but that's part of any amusement park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sabu1953

      Registered: January 2008
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere at a decent price
      Cons: None

       
      A good time was had by all...again! Great staff and clean rooms...what more can you ask for ?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rehmiami

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri September 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Cleanliness, Theming, Resort Staff
      Cons: None

       
      As a first time visitor to Pop Century, I was very pleased with our overall experience. The room was larger than I expected, more than enough space for my wife, 8 year-old daughter, and all of our belongings. The room was kept exceptionally clean by the Mouse keepers, and they left extra bath products for us on a daily basis. I was worried that the beds would not be comfortable after reading other reviews of the resort, however my family and I slept very soundly. The Pillows were comfortable, as well. In terms of noise, we did experience some sounds from the activities at the pool area, although it was not that big of a deal. It is Disney World, after all.


      The one problem with the room is that there is no coffee maker. However, we purchased a basic one from Target prior to our trip for less than $10, and it worked great when combined with our French Press and coffee from home.


      In terms of the resort staff, they were professional, polite, and very helpful. We had an issue with a working refrigerator not being available in our room upon check-in, and they resolved it immediately. We had also asked for room in the sixties section, which we received. The location was very convenient in terms of parking, and being close to the main building, pool, etc.


      I would highly recommend this resort in terms of the value that it provides. Especially, when you factor in the benefit of being immersed in the Disney experience, extra magic hours, free parking, and great shuttle service, etc.


      I would definitely stay there again with my family.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bemm2005

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu July 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, food court, pools, clean rooms
      Cons: crowded

       
      We visited in June with our 4 and 1 year old. We stayed in the 50s section and were skeptical as we had previously stayed at the All Star Movies and didn't really care for it. I'm happy to say, our experience at Pop Century was wonderful. It is such a great place for families. Our kids both loved the character statues and the pool areas were really nice and they had activities and oldies tunes playing which added a lot to the nostalgia of the resort. We absolutely loved it. The rooms were updated, clean, and well kept. The food court had plenty of options and the staff was all really helpful. We'd definitely stay here again! It was also fun to take a stroll across the lake and visit Art of Animation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Missymouse18

      Registered: June 2013
      Location: Mississippi
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat June 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, fun, great gift shop/food court
      Cons: none

       
      This year we stayed at POP and I am hooked! i loved it so much that I am almost tempted to stop rotating through the Values each year and becoming an exclusive Pop visitor. BUT... I do love All Star Movies for sentimental reasons and am planning to stay at AoA in 2014.
      Let me just say, our experience here was really grand. First of all... the smell. There is a distinct smell when you enter the gift shop that makes you just want to close your eyes and say "ahhh." We stayed in the 60's section, ground level, on the corner, so the pool was to our right and the lake to our left and just a football field away from the lobby. Our rooms were very clean and the tie-dyed cheesecake was so good we got a slice to bring home. If it were not for my sentimental ties to ASMovies, this would definitely rank as my fave Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.