Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • WDWAndy

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon November 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, Improved Food Court, Very Close Parking, Mousekeeping
      Cons: A bit noisy

       
      Just got home from staying 6 nights at POP. It was wonderful for our 2 young daughters (7&5). They loved the pools and activities they had each afternoon (crafts, bingo etc). The biggest surprise for my wife and I were the food selections at the food court area. Flatbreads, juicy burgers, big salads, curry shrimp, and healthier options were abundant.
      The best part for me was the convenient parking. We stayed in the 50's section and parked just outside our building. All sections have this convenient feature.
      Check-in for us was easy, we did the pre-check-in option and when we arrived the entire process took less than 10 mins.
      Drinks at the pool bar were wonderful, pricey but what to you expect? Kids enjoyed the pools staying open until 12am.
      Mousekeeping was amazing the entire trip. Rooms were cleaned very well, towel animals were made for us each day and the rooms were always done by the time we returned from the parks. Left a note asking for more towels and we had a pile of fresh towels that night when we returned and each night after as well. Rented a car so only used bus a few times, but the entire process seemed to be an efficient operation. Nice options at the gift shop as well including diapers, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mishawnam

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Dansville, NY
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean and Helpful Staff
      Cons: A little noisy

       
      We stayed at the Pop Century Sept. 28-Oct 5, 2013. Our check in was very quick and helpful. We received our magic bands and told that our room was not ready yet. We head over to grab some lunch and within 20 minutes we received a texted message with our room number. Within an hour of arriving we had eaten lunch, unpacked and heading to the pool. Great start to a great trip. We were in the 50's buildig on the back side. We were fortunate to have a fridge in our room even though we did not request it, We requested bedrails for our 2 year old. They only had 1 available, which was fine, we just pushed the bed against the wall. Our room was cleaned daily and we were given plenty of soap, shampoo,towels, etc. We visited the food court several times. I will agree that there are better places in Disney to eat but it is great if you don't want to leave the resort. Love the ice cream sundae. The only negative I will say is that is was somewhat loud at our room. Outside our room was where the mousekeepers restocked and that could be noisy and the gas carts that were driven by the staff were noisy. But it wasn't enough that it was overly bothersome. It was mostly early morning and we were early risers so not a huge deal. This was our 2nd stay at pop and I would highly recommend for the price. Especialy recommend for those who are visiting to spend their time mostly at the parks. Pop has everything you need without the extra expense.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      powpow1971

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Saint Paul, MN
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): my room was ready at 815AM
      Cons: everything else

       
      I stayed at Pop Century Oct 21-Oct 29 2013. I had a preferred room in the 60s section. I was saddened on how the resort went down hill in just a year. Our maid was never there until 4-5 PM I have never experienced that before. Usually my room has always been cleaned by 1 pm at the latest. I was shocked at how dirty band aids were in my bed when I first turned it down on the day of check in. The white blanket on day 3 was swapped out and replace by a dingy dirty looking blankets. I had 3 people in the room and only 2 towels were left. No shampoo or soap either. I had to call everyday for things and waited until as late as 10 PM to receive room basics. Upon check in I made sure my room had NO charging privileges. My express checkout was declined the day before we left and when I went down to the front desk to see what was going on I was told I had a bill to pay..HELLO my room had no charging. My lat name is Powell. I'm assuming it was another error because I received another Powell's grocery items at the beginning of the trip. A big chunk of my last evening there was spent arguing over a bill rather than being at the park. I love Disney but will never return to POP
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tiggary

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun October 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can't Think of Anything
      Cons: The whole experience was awful

       
      It took almost 7 hours to get checked in and they never did get the room right the entire time we were there. Never an apology or any comment from Disney. The first entire day we could always find our room by the dirty towel on the balcony a couple of doors down. Towels were not changed out every day. 20+ visits to Disney and this was by far the worst. It was so bad my wife and I probably won't return. Couldn't wait to leave and get home!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Livvie325

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Themes, bus transportation
      Cons: Front Desk staff and Mousekeeping

       
      Room was not clean when we arrived. Took 1 hour to check-in due to confusion with reservation. We were charged for room and hopper passes upon check out even though we went through a travel agent. Desk staff would not explain the charges. After 30 minutes of discussion, we missed our magical express bus. Had to call travel agent once we got home to have money refunded. NIGHTMARE!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caroll

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed September 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price; requested and received quiet room
      Cons: maintenance during stay

       
      My sister and I opted for a longer stay at a value vs. a shorter stay at a moderate. We never waited long for a bus, the computer pool was quiet and clean and we received fresh towels on our doorknob on the days we put out the DND sign. There was no usable refrigerator, but we were prepared for that. They were sanding down the Mickey phone right near our room which was quite loud during the day and we had a voicemail one night advising us of a planned power outage waking you up when the electrical appliances went dead and when they came back on. Very minor inconveniences for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dldennis01

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good value, fun for kids, clean
      Cons: Small beds

       
      Clean rooms, fun things around the resort, hotel is convenient to the parks we went to. Kids loved the pool and poolside activities. The only drawback was the overpriced food at the restaurant, but that's part of any amusement park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sabu1953

      Registered: January 2008
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere at a decent price
      Cons: None

       
      A good time was had by all...again! Great staff and clean rooms...what more can you ask for ?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rehmiami

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri September 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Cleanliness, Theming, Resort Staff
      Cons: None

       
      As a first time visitor to Pop Century, I was very pleased with our overall experience. The room was larger than I expected, more than enough space for my wife, 8 year-old daughter, and all of our belongings. The room was kept exceptionally clean by the Mouse keepers, and they left extra bath products for us on a daily basis. I was worried that the beds would not be comfortable after reading other reviews of the resort, however my family and I slept very soundly. The Pillows were comfortable, as well. In terms of noise, we did experience some sounds from the activities at the pool area, although it was not that big of a deal. It is Disney World, after all.


      The one problem with the room is that there is no coffee maker. However, we purchased a basic one from Target prior to our trip for less than $10, and it worked great when combined with our French Press and coffee from home.


      In terms of the resort staff, they were professional, polite, and very helpful. We had an issue with a working refrigerator not being available in our room upon check-in, and they resolved it immediately. We had also asked for room in the sixties section, which we received. The location was very convenient in terms of parking, and being close to the main building, pool, etc.


      I would highly recommend this resort in terms of the value that it provides. Especially, when you factor in the benefit of being immersed in the Disney experience, extra magic hours, free parking, and great shuttle service, etc.


      I would definitely stay there again with my family.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bemm2005

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu July 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, food court, pools, clean rooms
      Cons: crowded

       
      We visited in June with our 4 and 1 year old. We stayed in the 50s section and were skeptical as we had previously stayed at the All Star Movies and didn't really care for it. I'm happy to say, our experience at Pop Century was wonderful. It is such a great place for families. Our kids both loved the character statues and the pool areas were really nice and they had activities and oldies tunes playing which added a lot to the nostalgia of the resort. We absolutely loved it. The rooms were updated, clean, and well kept. The food court had plenty of options and the staff was all really helpful. We'd definitely stay here again! It was also fun to take a stroll across the lake and visit Art of Animation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Missymouse18

      Registered: June 2013
      Location: Mississippi
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat June 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, fun, great gift shop/food court
      Cons: none

       
      This year we stayed at POP and I am hooked! i loved it so much that I am almost tempted to stop rotating through the Values each year and becoming an exclusive Pop visitor. BUT... I do love All Star Movies for sentimental reasons and am planning to stay at AoA in 2014.
      Let me just say, our experience here was really grand. First of all... the smell. There is a distinct smell when you enter the gift shop that makes you just want to close your eyes and say "ahhh." We stayed in the 60's section, ground level, on the corner, so the pool was to our right and the lake to our left and just a football field away from the lobby. Our rooms were very clean and the tie-dyed cheesecake was so good we got a slice to bring home. If it were not for my sentimental ties to ASMovies, this would definitely rank as my fave Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MelJ

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue June 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the price, fun factor,
      Cons:

       
      I guess I've been sort of a "deluxe" snob (Wilderness Lodge is my favorite resort) but I just returned from a short stay at Pop Century and I am in love! Now that I'm retired and the deluxe resorts are just too pricey for my budget, I decided to give POP a try and I'm so glad I did!
      I stayed in a "preferred" pool view room and loved the location. It was in Bldg 4 in the 60's section and just steps away from the main building and the Hippie Dippy pool. I don't mind the noise from the pool. To me it is just part of the fun.


      The room was clean and very comfortable. For me and my mother, it was a good size although I could see how it would be a bit cramped with a larger family. The beds were very comfortable and there was everything there that I needed, expect maybe a coffee maker. I missed that.


      The food court had a good variety of things. I ordered a turkey sandwich which was basically a Thanksgiving meal between two slices of bread - turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes and cranberry sauce. It was wonderful and huge!


      I loved the atmosphere and enjoyed sitting at the pool and hearing all the "old" songs. Mom and I walked over the bridge to see Art of Animation. It was a pleasant walk but was cut short because there was a storm brewing.


      I frequently go solo to Disney for one or two nights since I am a Florida resident and I'm definitely planning on going back to POP in a few months (when it cools down!) It's my new favorite resort.
      It is a great resort and I had a great time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MarysMom

      Registered: June 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed June 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seems smaller than it is, nice grounds, good bus service, great Mousekeeping
      Cons: Food court confusion, food court staff, bathroom refurbs needed

       
      We stayed at POP for the first time June 2-9, 2013. I was a little nervous since we have stayed at POFQ on our last two trips and because our prior experience with a value was All-Star Movies and I did not like it. POP was a great experience and we would definitely recommend it and stay there again.


      The rooms were clean and Mousekeeping was fantastic -- a towel animal every single day. We had two teens with us who were not the best about getting up and getting out of the room in a timely manner and Mousekeeping was very understanding and accommodating! The bathrooms are showing their age a little, so a refurb would be nice.


      Aside from one long wait for a Magic Kingdom bus, the bus service was exemplary -- the best I have ever experienced in our four prior trips. I like the queue setup at the POP better than the single shelter at POFQ, so there is no confusion about boarding order. There are many mature trees and garden areas that give POP a lot of charm and add to the "smaller" feel that the resort has, despite its large size. We had a non-preferred location overlooking the lake, and it was still very close to the main building and pools.


      Now the food court. I read online -- and heard it live and in person from other guests -- that the food court has been ruined. Having no prior experience with this food court, I can only offer my first-timer's experience. The food was pretty good -- the pork loin/spaetzel/cabbage combination was so good I had it twice. There was a great deal of confusion, especially at the burger station. I had two orders filled incorrectly here as well as receiving an ice cold hamburger. There is no ticket tracking, so you are relying on the CMs to communicate with each other and that was not going very well. There were also two CMs who we observed on different occasions causing trouble for other CMs by questioning their work, arguing, or just standing around watching other people work. The last night we were there, one of these CMs was reprimanded by an upper level CM. I think the confusion over orders will disappear over time, but these two CMs were definitely causing more trouble than necessary. Also only two of the three drink stations were open the whole time we were there and one of the dining areas closed off even though the food court was overflowing. Lots of choices, though, and fun (enjoy the dancing!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elkhunter1

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun June 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Affordability
      Cons:

       
      My family of 3 stayed at POP May 9-16,room 3338-50's-and we will be coming back next year!This was our 2nd trip to WDW(2011/2013),both times we've stayed at POP,and enjoyed it.Check-in and Check-out have been quick,resort staff have always been pleasant,food court is adequate,rooms are right size for our family(heavy bed covers but we just move them.),bus service has been excellent(1 night after Magic Kingdom fireworks we waited 15 minutes-but most wait times 5 minutes or less.),and the store/game area are nice to have.Resort is clean(there was a cast member powerwashing the bowling ball pool every morning at my daily 6am coffee run!),well-laid out,colorful and full of stuff to see.For our family,POP Century is an affordable,comfortable place to stay,and while it may not be suitable for all families,it's our choice to stay and we will be back for Christmas in 2014.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dale

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent Bus Service, Food Court
      Cons:

       
      This was our first time staying at Pop and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in the 60's building which was nice and close to the main building, and only a short walk from Art of Animation. The room was well maintained and a good size for two adults and one child. Getting to the parks was great, we never waited more then 7 minutes for a bus. The food court was excellent with good selections. We thought Pop was a really good value and would definitely go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.