Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DaninNH

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu July 28, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Love view of Golf course from room, extra room size is nice
      Cons: Busing within the resort, Counter service option

      We have stayed at OKW many times, and generally love being there. We have usually been able to get rooms near the hospitality house. I think this most recent trip was the first time we ended up basically a bit far to walk back and forth to the main building from the room and at times, if raining, used the bus system.......It works, just takes time.

      We typically spend our days in the parks, but we met up with relatives who wanted to spend a few days at the resort and not do much of anything but relax, due to an injury. So it was really our first experience at OKW going for counter service. We were underwhelmed. Sandwiches (in wraps) must have sat for a bit -bread soggy, other food items over cooked. Order not correct when picked up. And there are really no other options and it is a limited menu.

      And if bad weather or it is super hot outside, you have to eat outside on a picnic table, if all are not occupied - unless you bring it back to your room, to the pool area, or invade the lobby sitting area.

      We love the resort - but truly wish they would beef up the counter service. If they did that it would likely be in our top 3 resorts behind BLT and BCV.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyFan from Ohio

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: Northeast Ohio
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed June 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): HUGE Villa
      Cons: counter service doesn't have inside seating

      We were a party of 9 (7 adults and two year old twins) and stayed for 7 nights in a Grand Villa that we paid for using rented points from a DVC member. We were in Room #5122 and it was great; I was able to park my mini-van just outside the door and the bus stop was at the end of the parking lot. The entrance to our villa was on the 2nd floor so having my vehicle just outside meant that my nephew was able to store the double stroller in the back of the van and didn't have to carry it up and down the stairs. There was also a smoking area at the bottom of the stairs which my sister appreciated. The villa itself was just amazing! The babies were happy staying in the pack-n-plays in the master bedroom with my nephew and his wife. The rest of us were in the two bedrooms upstairs. The kitchen was great - plenty of room to store all the (breakfast) food and snacks we brought with us. We didn't have too much time to enjoy the balcony, but did spend some time in the living room and dining room just hanging out and playing games once the twins were in bed. We took one day "off" from the parks and hung out at the pool swimming and sunning before going to Disney Springs for dinner. We're already planning on another trip in two or three years before the twins start school. If we are the same size group, I would definitely try to stay in a Grand Villa again - maybe stay long enough to have two days "off" so we can enjoy the resort more, lol.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2008
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue March 22, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of rooms, peaceful atmoshpere
      Cons: some cleanliness/maintenance issues

      We stayed over spring break in a two bedroom villa that we paid for using purchased member points. This was the third time I have stayed at OKW. My family absolutely loved this resort - the overall "vibe" is very peaceful. Checkin was seamless - we had to make sure they gave us first floor because my daughter uses a wheelchair but all requests were honored. Staff was very friendly and engaging, exactly what I would expect. We were in bldg 28 close to the Peninsular bus stop which is the first stop on the route. We took the bus to AK and HS and no problems at all. We had a car but could easily walk to the main buildings. Pool area was great, Conch Flats General Store staff was super friendly. Overall this resort is quiet and a great break from the parks. The room was huge for our party of 5, and it has a full laundry room instead of just a washer/dryer in a closet, so it was great for storing suitcases etc, as well as doing laundry. Beds were comfortable, and kitchen was well stocked. However, it wasn't all perfect. Because I work in the hotel industry I am super picky about cleanliness/maintenance and this room had some issues. It looked like nail polish had been spilled in the bathroom area and the dishes all needed to be rewashed. I did not mention it to hotel staff but in hindsight I wish I had - definitely outside the norm for my previous stays both at this resort and at Poly and BCV. Overall, I would recommend this resort for families and anyone looking for extra space.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon December 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): size of rooms
      Cons: disregard for DVC member requests

      OKW is our favorite resort and it is large so I did not understand when I was assigned to a second floor room when I requested a first floor room. I have rheumatoid arthritis and a reconstructed right knee so the walk up and down stairs is very painful. When I called to be moved I was told that requests are not guaranteed. When I told them I had medical reasons for the switch, they offered to have us move on 12/8. We moved into our room on 12/5 and were leaving on 12/11. I told them it made no sense to disturb my family so I dealt with the disrespect so I would not have to disturb my family. It just seems that Disney Corporation knows you will return because you are DVC so little interest it considered in requests.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Toms River New Jersey
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed November 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Relaxing
      Cons: none

      We stayed at OKW 11/17-11/21
      As in the past OKW did not disappoint. Our room was close to the main pool on Peninsular Rd. The room was clean and well maintained. It appeared to have new flooring and paint.
      We ate at Olivia’s three times. The food and service was outstanding each time.
      We stopped at the Gurgling Suitcase twice. The first time in the evening after the parks closed the crowd there was quite obnoxious. Our midafternoon visit was much calmer. Service was great both times.
      We used the boat launch to Disney Springs twice. With all of the construction and lack of parking close to the market place the boat transportation is your best bet. The launch drops you right in the middle of DS right next to the Hanger Bar and a few steps from the Boathouse.
      Bus Transportation was convenient and timely as always.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu August 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Spacious villas
      Cons: None

      We checked in July 23, received a villa near hospitality house. Everything was great. Two nights was not enough here! Loved Olivia's. Villas are so spacious compared to other dvc. We will be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu June 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of room, quiet ambiance, housekeeping staff
      Cons: Distance of rooms from main house

      We stayed here for 8 days in Jun 15 with 7 adults in a two-bedroom villa. We requested a room in the Turtle Pond area and our request was granted. We loved the room location as we were a short distance from the pool and snack shack and just a short walk to the bus stop. We did have a car so were able to drive up to the main location for morning coffee and essentials. Our villa was impeccably cleaned each day (we are not DVC). We loved the quiet location and the quietness of the smaller pool at Turtle Pond, especially at night. We did not even go up to the larger pool. If we didn't have a car, is was quite a long walk to the main area from where we were located.

      If you are looking for a large room to accommodate a large family or families and a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of the parks, then Old Key West is for you. If you want to be close to all the action and will be upset if you don't get a room close to the main area, then you should probably pick something else.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Darien, Il
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat May 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Spacious rooms; quiet resort; beautiful grounds
      Cons: Furniture a bit worn; bathrooms could use upgrade

      We (two families of four each) enjoyed a short (4/1-4/4) stay here in a 3 br villa, Room 4923...about as far away as you can get from the Hospitality House. Not DVC members but have stayed at several WDW resorts. We found OKW to be charming. Loved the overall theming of the buildings & grounds. We enjoyed the quiet while sitting on our balcony. And we could watch golfers tee off directly behind our bldg.
      It is a large resort but we had a car that we used to get back & forth to the pool/HH. And we took buses several times without much more than a 10 min wait, although a lot of stops on the way to the front of the resort. I agree with others re: lack of parking. But I've found similar situations with other resorts, notably Saratoga Springs, that have limited parking around the main building. I was usually able to find something in the lot near HH but found open spots near bldgs 11, 12, or 13 as well.
      We found the staff to be up to the usual Disney standards...polite, welcoming and friendly.
      Pool area was nice but due to the size of the resort we found it helped to get there early if you wanted a primo spot.
      One issue we questioned...we took our refillable mugs to the Turtle Shack snack bar one early evening and were disappointed to see it closed at 5pm. I would have expected the one food/drink station on the far side of this resort to open longer to accommodate guests who are located so far from HH.
      Another concern...the furniture in our villa was in a bit of distress. Cabinets/armoires/dressers all seemed worn in both bedrooms and living room. HUGELY spacious room, though. Our 3 br suite measured nearly 2400 sq. ft.
      We're a Yacht & Beach Club family but we enjoyed our stay at OKW and would hesitate to stay here again if the opportunity arose.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet resort
      Cons: Not accomadating nor helpful to problems

      We have been DVC members for 20 years with Old Key West as our home resort. We have loved the ambiance and have always received wonderful treatment until our recent visit of May 5 thru May 14, 2015.
      My husband and I have limited mobility. we do not need a handicapped accessible room. My husband uses a cane and I cannot walk long distances due to complications from chemotherapy. We have always requested a first floor room near transportation and our requests have been met....until this time.
      Our 1 bedroom villa was not ready when we arrived so we went to the check-in desk. I had already done the online check in. They said they would text when the villa was ready. I asked what building we would be in and I was told Building 15. Building 15 is no where near a bus stop and when showing the cast member the map, she assured me that it was. Being here for 20 years I knew she was wrong and she would not agree or listen to me.
      I received the text about 3:45 that our villa was ready and the text said it was near the Hospitality House. Building 15 is no where near the Hospitality House. We got to the villa and we knew that we could not walk to either the Hospitality House bus stop or the Millers Road bus stop. I made many calls asking for help. The only "solution" they could give me was to stay in this villa for 2 days and then they could move us. However, we would have to check out of the first villa at 8 am and could not check into the new villa until 5 pm. We would have to pack everything up, including our food and then unpack everything in the new villa. We chose to stay in Building 15.
      One morning I called bell services to see if they could take us to a bus stop. I was told no. So being there for 10 days, and due to our limited mobility, we were only able to go to a park 1 day. Very disappointing and no magic at all.
      One other problem is parking. Cast members are allowed to park in the guest parking spaces in the buildings. We have friends visit and they had no where to park. I asked about this problem and was told that cast members can park in the guest parking areas and my friends could find other parking areas and walk to our Building.
      This has been our home resort for 20 years. I am totally disappointed in the manner in which we were treated this trip.
      Our Villa was acceptable, except the location, but the bathroom and laundry room really need a good over-haul.
      I never thought I would be writing a negative report about Old Key West, but "The Disney Way" is no longer present at this resort. It is very very sad.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun February 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, spacious rooms
      Cons: Doesn't feel like Disney, too big

      Just returned from a 9 day stay at OKW. From the moment I checked in, I should have known it was all downhill. I'm a DVC member and this is my home resort. I booked a "studio near hospitality house" and when I had called in to wait list Boardwalk seven months earlier, the cast member downgraded my room to just a "studio" (unbeknownst to me). After spending an hour at checkout trying to figure out what happened, we finally got to go to our room, which was about as far away from the hospitality house as possible. They offered to move us the next day (to the complete opposite side, no more convenient) but we stayed.

      This place is just so big. Being in the Turtle Pond section felt like miles away from the main area. Getting refillable mugs were a waste since I like to have my tea in the AM and the refillable mug station behind the bar at the pool quick service didn't open until 11 daily. It also closed at 5 daily and some days even earlier. The bus was a good walk away and then it had multiple stops within resort.

      I also felt that I just wasn't in Disney like I have at other resorts on property. It very much reminded me of my grandmother's retirement community in Boca Raton. Very lifeless. Pretty, serene, but dull. Rooms were spacious though. No elevators so after a long day at the parks, it stunk to have to carry a kid, diaper bag and stroller up two flights of stairs. My saving grace was that we were on the second and not third floor.

      I'm sure I'd have a different opinion if I were near hospitality house which was lively. In the future, I'll not be returning here. In fact, I've already looked into selling my points. The goal is to have a home resort I would be happier at.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed January 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Spacious rooms boat to Dtd
      Cons: Out dated bathroom, to large, counters service

      Did the online check in, still took almost 30 minutes to check in. From the room I called and asked where to catch the bus to the MK and was told at a bus stop, really? Must think I am stupid so I asked where the closest stop was and the reply was just come to where we checked in, the next day I found a stop one house over for ours, much closer. The bathroom floor needs a good scrubbing same with the walls.
      I don't feel like I am on Disney Property, the food choices are very slim at the counter service, I guess I got spoiled to WL counter service .
      Staying here mades me think twice about buying into DVC
      I gave it 3 because the rooms are spacious otherwise it would have been a 2
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue January 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): spacious, great rooms, beautiful resort
      Cons: limited fast service menu

      My family & I love this resort and have been there 3 times in the last year and just booked again for this June. After telling my 8 year old granddaughter that we would be staying there again this summer she said "that's my favorite". Our ages vary from 59 down to 2 years old so all the space that this resort room offers is very much appreciated. Never been disappointed. Pool is great also. As many other resorts have more choices (pizza, snacks, etc.) at their fast food service counters we know that already so we can't complain. Maybe the next time they remodel this resort they will make those changes.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat October 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful landscape, quiet, internal transportation
      Cons: Quick service too small

      I recently returned from a 5-day stay in a studio room in the Turtle Pond section of the resort. I found this resort to be very beautiful. I like the pastel gingerbread-style look of the houses. I found the transportation within the complex to be very convenient. The complex is large and the walk to the hospitality house would be lengthy, but I was able to jump on any bus and the last stop before leaving the resort was the hospitality house. Since the first bus stop was a short walk, being able to utilize the Disney buses was a plus. The studio room was larger than the rooms at the deluxe resort, I liked having a kitchenette setup and used it daily. I have stayed at many of the Disney resorts and Old Key West is by far my favorite. The only downside is that the quick service area is too small with few offerings, but if that's the only shortcoming that's OK by me.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: FL
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Mon September 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty grounds, cast members
      Cons: no elevators, slow, slow draining bathtub, needs updating

      We stayed in studio 2620 over Labor Day weekend. My husband did not like that when we got there to check-in there was no parking. He had to circle the parking lot several times and still did not find a spot. He kept circling while I went in to check-in. I had did online check-in so even though the check0in area was packed within 10 seconds of walking in and getting in the online check-in line a cast member with IPAD came and checked me in. Because we were early the room was not ready so the texted my our room # later Our little one wanted to swim but since we could not park we ended out driving to DTD. I had requested a room near transportation and the bus spot was next to the 26 building. We were on the 2nd floor so walking up the steps was hard on my bad knees. The room was a good size..Little one loved the towel flower on the bed. We were abel to see some fireworks from our balcony. The main pool was crowded when we finally got there but she enjoyed the slide. The tub did not drain while taking a shower so by the end of the shower you were standing in 6 inches of water. There were some missing tiles on the wall in the bathroom. The exhaust fan di not work well so the mirror steamed up during the shower. The door in the freezer was broken. This was our fist time staying here and we will not be back. I was very disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Sun August 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful resort and studio
      Cons: Refillable Mug area

      The only negative I can possibly find is the refillable mug station being near the main pool, outside and covered in wasps. Everything else is amazing. We stayed for two weeks from 2nd to 16th August. Only used Disney transport and only encountered two slight delays in a fortnight. The studio was very nice and compared well to other deluxe resorts we have visited. The resort itself is beautiful and from our studio at one end of the resort to the Hospitality House only took 10-15 minutes. We had a golf course view (as requested), we were across the road from the nearest bus stop and three minutes walk away from a quiet pool. Loved this resort, can't rave enough and it is now our joint favourite with the Beach Club.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.