Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LISAE

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Sun August 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful resort and studio
      Cons: Refillable Mug area

       
      The only negative I can possibly find is the refillable mug station being near the main pool, outside and covered in wasps. Everything else is amazing. We stayed for two weeks from 2nd to 16th August. Only used Disney transport and only encountered two slight delays in a fortnight. The studio was very nice and compared well to other deluxe resorts we have visited. The resort itself is beautiful and from our studio at one end of the resort to the Hospitality House only took 10-15 minutes. We had a golf course view (as requested), we were across the road from the nearest bus stop and three minutes walk away from a quiet pool. Loved this resort, can't rave enough and it is now our joint favourite with the Beach Club.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      andreau

      Registered: August 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri August 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, peaceful, very spacious villas
      Cons:

       
      Our party of 7 (3 adults and 4 teens) stayed at Old Key West from 7-30 to 8-7 2014. We had a 2 bedroom villa. It is a lovely resort. We are not DVC members but for the large group we had, we found this resort to be the best "bang for the buck." The resort is very spread out, but we had a car on site which we drove from the Chicago area. We used the car to get to and from the parks everyday. Parking was directly in front of our villa. We did take the bus one day and that did seem to take awhile for the bus to come and then the many stops within the resort. It was a bit of a long walk from our building to the pool, check in area, gift shop, etc., but it really didn't bother us.


      Our view of the river was beautiful. It was perfect for my mom in her 70's. She is in terrific shape, did the parks like a pro, but enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the river later in the day. The resort is very quiet. The villa itself is quite large. It did look a tiny bit worn, but this did not bother us in the least and certainly didn't take away any of the magic for us. The kids enjoyed the pool. We found the beds to be extremely comfortable and even the pull out queen sofa and the pull out chair were very comfortable for the teens. This was our first time at a Disney villa and we loved having a washer and dryer in the room. In order to save on food, we brought along or bought (offsite) most foods for breakfast and even a good amount for lunch or dinner. We would have an early breakfast in our room, go to the parks, come back for a mid day break to have lunch in our room, nap, swim, etc. Having a full kitchen really saved on the cost of food. The kitchen amenities were great! If possible we would love to stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Michelle Norris 67

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu June 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet setting, large rooms
      Cons: huge layout

       
      Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa May 25th to May 31st with 4 other adults. This was my third time staying here and I absolutely love it!!! The rooms are so spacious. While the layout is huge, we had a car with us so that wasn't a problem. The bus stop was right in front of our villa so we had a 1 minute walk (if that) Smile We never waited for buses more than 20 mins and with its central location, the rides to the parks were never more than 20 mins. I highly recommend this resort!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Anthony90ny

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun February 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxing and Peaceful
      Cons:

       
      Beautifully landscaped. Great place to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. Buildings by the hospitality house are best.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bigsol

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Northern VA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room size, Pool, atmosphere, parking
      Cons: No elevators, Many bus stops

       
      We are DVC members and stay at OKW using our DVC membership. It is not our home resort.


      With the exception of two cons, one of which just takes a little forward thinking to remedy, we loved this resort. Don't let the fact that OKW is the original DVC resort fool you. By no means is this an "old" resort. The rooms were refurbished in the last few years, and the entire resort has a very comfy feeling.


      Let's start with the room size. OKW has the biggest bang for your buck (or DVC point) as far as square footage goes. We stayed in a 2-br villa, which was just over 1300 square feet. I mean, my first house was only 1400 Sq Ft!! We are a family of four (2 adults, 2 children), and we had more room than we needed. We stayed on Miller's Rd, with a third floor villa overlooking one of the fairways of Lake Buena Vista GC. From our nicely sized balcony we could see the fairway, the main building, 3 water fountain features, a beautiful sunrise and, at night, the ballon going up at Downtown Disney.The layout of the room is ideal, like you would think it should be. Main room has a full kitchen w/island and dining area off to the side. The island acts as a, "partition", of sorts, that seperates the kitchen/dining area from the living room area. Large second br with two queens and full bath off the main room. The hallway has a seperate laundry room followed by the master br, which has the master bath and seperate toilet/shower room. Oh, the balcony has a table and chairs and a ceiling fan for those warm days. Very comfortable.


      The staff was more than helpful when it came to things we needed, i.e.- dish soap, dish washer soap, bed rails, etc. The room was clean. It was just as clean as you would expect a resort room to be. I've read reviews where people get angry because they saw a spot or stain on the carpet or the couch. My personal opinion is that if you are going to any resort in the world with the expectation that the room is going to look unused and brand new, you're going to disappoint yourself every time. The room was clean to the standards that I was expecting. I had no problem letting my 1 and 3 year olds crawl, play and roll around on the floor and furniture.


      The room was on Miller's Rd. Our building was exactly a six minute walk to the main building and pool area. Perfect if you want to be close to the main area, but have some peace and quiet while at your room.


      The first of my two "cons" fits in right here. OKW has no elevators in any of it's guestroom buildings. In case you missed that, I said OKW has ZERO elevators in the guestroom buildings. Remember when I said that we were on the third floor? Yeah, the view was awesome... The loading and unloading of the car? Not so awesome, but ultimately worth it in the end.


      This next one is quick and to the point. If you drive to WDW, which we did, you get to park right in front of your building. Maybe not the first spot right next to the entryway, but you will be within 20 or 30 feet of it. Oh, disclaimer: Our trip was the second week of November; A relatively slow time of year. This may not ring true if you travel during peak season or a very busy time.


      The pool. Are you kidding me? It was ridiculous. Ridiculous in the best way possible! Hands down my favorite DVC pool to date. The sand castle waterslide, the beach area, the huge main pool, the relaxing, laid back Key West feeling. It was awesome. We went swimming two or three times and it was so much fun. My older boy and I had the greatest time going down the slide and jumping in the pool.


      We ate lunch at the poolside eatery. It was priced as a resort counter service eatery should be (not cheap, but reasonable). The food was standard fare and enjoyable. Nothing to write home about, but you won't feel guilty about spending $25-$30 on a lunch for 4 at Disney. Wait, let me clarify that. I'm over 6ft and weigh 260 lbs. I eat allot... We ate dinner in our room almost every night. It just makes sense when you have the amenities available to you. One evening we decided to have dinner then put on a light jacket and walk over to Olivia's for dessert. It was fun. We sat outside and enjoyed the cool Florida air. My wife and I each got coffee and a Banana Bread Pudding Sundae. Yup, it was as good as it sounds. We shared the sundaes with the boys and got them some milk to wash it down. It was a great little outing and the atmosphere was so enjoyable. For some reason, it took a little longer than we expected to actually get the food. The restaurant wasn't what we would call busy, but, we were on vacation and we didn't care very much. We waited patiently and enjoyed it when it came.


      I guess now is as good a time as any to talk about my second "con". Bus stops. There are 5 or 6 of them. I can only speak directly to our stop on Miller's Rd. Pro to Miller's Rd- It's the next to last stop on the way out to the parks. Con, It's the very last stop when you come home!! UGH! You're tired; kids are tired; it's really late; kids hanging on your arms sleeping; stroller folded up in one arm; 3 different bags in the other. You just want to go to sleep. You can add anywhere from 5-10 minutes to your bus trip AFTER you enter OKW property (if your stop is Miller's Rd). Here's where that forward thinking I mentioned earlier comes in. If you can situate and prepare yourself for a hasty egress before rolling onto the property, you can get off the bus at the first stop, Peninsular Rd, which is located just past the main building, and walk to your resort in... you guessed it, six minutes! Now, I know you may think that a six minute walk vs. a 5 - 10 minute bus ride isn't really saving you any time. Well, it's not the time that I'm trying to save; it's my sanity and cramping in my arms and legs! You get off the bus at Peninsular, pop open the stroller, put the munchkins in, clip the bags on and, BOOM, you get to breathe fresh air, stretch your legs a little, collect your nerves, and you STILL beat the bus by a minute or two. It works for me, maybe it doesn't work for someone else.


      You're going to have a good time at OKW as long as you want to have a good time. If you go into any situation with the mindset of nitpicking everything you see, guess what, you're going to find something to complain about every day. I don't go on vacation to be miserable. Nothing is ever absolutely perfect. Nothing. That said, Disney does everything they can to get you as close to perfect as they can. In my 14 years of going to WDW, I have personally never had a bad experience. Anytime I had an issue, I called for help and it was corrected. I love Disney, so maybe I'm biased, but I'm also a realist. I realize and accept that everything isn't always going to be perfect. However, as for OKW, we had a great time and I highly recommend this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Wed January 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just love the location and decor
      Cons: Bad experience with the new magic bands

       
      We once again stayed at Old Key West over the Christmas holiday. We checked into our Grand Villa, building 63 with our friends from up-state NY, on December 18th and left on December 26th. This trip started out bad at check-in with our new bands. I will not get into much detail here you can see my post about the bands on that site. As usual we loved our rooms and location. We were also very fortunate to have the staff we did helping us with our, what seemed like numerous problems. I must give a shout out to front line supervisor Kathy, Scott and especially the resort manager Rodney. They were all so wonderful. They made a trip that could have been a horrible, horrible vacation and made it enjoyable. As stated earlier we LOVE Old key West and will stay here again next year. This was our fourth time in the Villa's. If we had not had the problems we did with the bands I would once again rate it a 10 instead of an 8.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Motherhen

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful
      Cons: Large

       
      We stayed at OKW from 11/29 - 12/09. This resort is absolutely beautiful. The landscaping and architecture of the buildings was gorgeous. As lovely as the grounds were, the CM working there were twice as lovely. Everyone we met, from every department, were pleasant and eager to please. Bell Services deserve special recognition because they have the unenviable task of delivering luggage to the third story of the buildings without the use of elevators.


      The only reason I didn't give this resort a higher score was because our two bedroom villa wasn't as clean as it could have been. All of the air return vents were caked with dust & our shower was covered in mildew. I cleaned everything myself but really shouldn't of had to.


      The resort is very large and getting around the grounds can be inconvenient, especially first thing in the AM. There are only two places (that we could find) to fill the refillable mugs and neither were convenient to our room location.


      Despite it's few flaws, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend OKW to anyone. The rooms are huge and our stay was very enjoyable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hstepzinski

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Large Rooms. whirpool tub
      Cons: lack of good quick service resteraunt

       
      We loved our stay at Old Key West. The rooms were clean and we stayed in a one bedroom suite and we had plenty of room. Having the full kitchen was nice so we could cook at least breakfast there and some other meals. The mousekeeping was really good also, even did dishes we didn't have time to do before we left for parks. Only complaint is there is just a small quick service restaurant with sub par food, but that is not a huge deal since we had a kitchen and prepared out own meals when we were not in the parks. Just sucked the first day before we could run to the store.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      colinlyoung

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: Nottingham, England
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun November 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Relaxing Resort, great pool and top boat trip to Downtown.
      Cons: Disappointing Room Standards.

       
      We are DVC members and had previously stayed at all of the other DVC resorts in Orlando. Old Key West like all of the other DVC resorts is a great place to stay. It is one of the larger resorts and is like a huge housing estate that is beautifully themed.
      We stayed in a studio which was a nice room but was a little dated, and the normal DISNEY attention to detail was missing. The alarm clock was broken, the fridge door tricky to shut, there were no spoons in the kitchen and the emergency sign had fallen off the wall. All minor things, that I'm sure if we'd rung The front desk they would have been fixed. However my point is that you shouldn't have to.
      On the plus side the pool near our apartment was beautiful (this resort has 1 main themed pool and a number of smaller pools so nobody has to walk to far to a pool). We spent a morning by our pool which was very peaceful and relaxing.
      We had no issues with the bus service and never had to wait long for a bus, you just need to plan where you get on and off your bus. A short walk to a different bus stop can make a big difference as to whether you get a seat or not.
      The Boat service to Downtown Disney was a really relaxing way to get there, and the boat captains were really friendly.
      So a very good resort, but if you have the choice and want to stay in this area, choose Saratoga Springs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tmbcole

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: Maryland
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon October 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beauty & Bus Transportation
      Cons: Looks worn

       
      We were at Old Key West from September 29th through October 3rd and we loved the location. Check-in was quick and simple the cast member who assisted us was very helpful and had us checked-in within a few minutes (less than 5 min).


      The resort was beautiful. We were only a 10 minute bus ride to any park. We were located on Miller Road, as I requested, and our bus stop was the next to the last stop and then we were off to the parks. It was awesome.


      We had a deluxe studio and that was the biggest studio we've ever stayed in. Pros and cons . . . the location. We loved the location for the bus transportation. We hated the location because of the noise from the highway, golf course (early in the morning), and the water sprinklers for the golf course. I need to do more research next time so I can request a different location.


      We ate at Oliva's one morning and it was excellent. The quick service location (I forget the name) was just as good. The price of food was excellent and priced within my budget.


      I look forward to staying here again. I highly recommend this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      traceyn

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: England
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): large rooms
      Cons: large resort

       
      I booked a 21 night stay here in a one bedroom villa, I asked for the ground floor and near the hospitality area, both I got.


      Check in was a breeze, no waiting, very friendly member of staff. Our villa was lovely, and we were very happy with with what we got. The buses to the park came every 15 minutes apart from once when I waited 45 minutes to go to M.K., the bus driver did say how sorry she was to everyone so I think there may of been a problem. we were no more than 15 minutes away from any park which was better than S.S last year which seemed to take a good 30 mins to get anywhere. we got on the bus at the hospitality house which is the last stop, we found it better to get off the bus at the first stop and walk back to our room 1511 otherwise it took about 10 mins to get to our stop through the resort. Our child loved the pool and had great fun in the community hall, every day they had some kind of activity on for children, she made some lovely things which she will treasure.


      We did have one problem, we arrived and got washing powder, no more was left so after day 2, Ii went to ask for some, they said they would sort it, came back after a day out and no powder again. I went back to reception and asked why, a very nice man who seemed to be in charge told me to buy some in the shop and give him the bill, mousekeeping seemed to have me as a DVC member who do not get it and I was a hotel guest we do. It was all sorted out and I could do my washing every day.


      I would go back here, so relaxing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fluffy30

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): large villas, great pool
      Cons: huge resort, transportation

       
      Stayed in a 2 bdrm villa Aug 23 to 29. The villa was spacious, clean and well equipped. Staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed ground floor in building 64 (has elevator) which was close to main pool and hospitality house. Our children (4,4,11,15,16) enjoyed the pool, slide and poolside activities while the adults relaxed on the many loungers with drink refill station close by. We mostly drove to the parks but did use bus transportation to and from Magic Kingdom which was fine going as we got on at Hospitality House then straight to the park but returning at night took forever as the bus makes five stops throughout the resort with ours being the last one. We ate at Olivia's which was good but not at the quick service which is just a walk up window. Over-all a good place to stay but not recommended without a car.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kimmaxr

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat July 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, clean rooms, good service
      Cons: DVC member discount issues

       
      We stayed at OKW for the first time from 6/12-6/22/13. We are a family of four (2 boys, ages 17 & 19) and picked this resort because of the size of the rooms and the pull out sofa and chair in the living room of the one bedroom villa.


      The day we arrived, DVC was working on a system upgrade and all of the reservation systems were down upon our arrival. However, the staff could not be more accommodating and helpful. We were not able to get our room keys for the entire stay but were given one time entrance cards to get in until the system came up again.


      I had requested a room on Millers Road, high floor with dual bathroom entrance doors. We were assigned room 6532, building 65, 3rd floor, just outside the elevator. Building 65 is just outside of the rooms located in the Hospitality House area and is very close to the main area of the resort. The one bedroom is much larger here than at the other DVC resorts we have stayed and with the points being lower than the others, it was a win/win for us!


      We arrived to a spotless room, nice and cool, and the balcony overlooked the 7th hole and pond on the golf course. I was concerned that there would be road noise since the building backs to the road (on the other side of the course) but that was not the case at all. The room was quiet, other than some noise from the connecting studio room, and the toilet flushes that are extraordinarily loud.


      The Millers Road bus stop is the last when returning to the resort prior to the Hospitality House, and we determined that it was faster to get off at the first stop and walk, rather than spend 15 mins. Riding all around the resort.


      We loved the main pool, although there is not much shade and the few tables are usually he first to get taken in the morning. I found I just couldn't handle being in the direct sun in the afternoon, but that was my issue. They had games in the afternoon which the kids seemed to enjoy.


      My older boys spent time in the Community Hall playing pool and video games. I went in to check it out and found that area desperately needs an upgrade as it felt damp and had a mildew smell to it. The workout area is small but has everything most folks would need to get a good workout in.


      We enjoyed lunch and dinner in Olivia's and found the staff to be warm and friendly and the food was excellent.


      We had no issues with the transportation and took the pat a few times to Downtown Disney. I did not find the wait to be long and really never waited more than 15 mins. Which I believe to be normal.


      I am disappointed in the new DVC member discount policy which requires you to show your DVC membership card with your name on it. It is great for me since I am the owner, but my husband and children were not able to use it. We have never experienced this before in all of our stays so I am not sure if it is new policy or if OKW was just enforcing the rule. I need to call Member Services.


      Overall,I really loved this resort and felt like I was on vacation rather than being at Disney in the heart of the World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dgagnon519

      Registered: May 2007
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): closeness to dtd, beautiful
      Cons: counter service, cleanliness

       
      We stayed here from 6/26-6/28. We love OKW, but were let down this time. Our check in did not go to smoothly. Our room was dirty. The counter service which we have never tried previously was awful and the service was as well. Based on this visit I would not recommend it. I give it a 6 though because we have loved it on other trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jm26

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bus service, pool, friendly staff
      Cons: loud, old

       
      My family of 3 stayed in an Old Key West resort studio from May 28 to June 4, 2013. I requested a room near transportation and was given a room close to the Turtle Pond bus stop. I used the online check in and the room was ready upon our arrival. The size of the room was adequate and met all of our needs.The nearby pool was nice, it had a snack bar, arcade, shuffleboard, hot tub and playground and wasn't crowded most of the time. Overall we were satisfied with the room and service but I don't think I would recommend this resort for the following reasons. The room seemed old and run down, the carpet was worn and the appliances (coffee pot, toaster) were functional but broken and dirty. The bathroom was dark and had paint peeling. We were on the ground floor and the glass door to the patio was so dirty that you couldn't see out, basically the room was showing it's age and needed freshened up. We could basically hear everything that was going on in the room next to us. Every morning our neighbor whistled the Star Wars theme song while his children screamed at the top of their lungs. I complained to guest services but they didn't do anything about it as far as I could tell. After a few days I determined that they probably weren't being exceptionally loud but that the walls were just that thin, we also had a door that could be used to connect the rooms and I think that was the main source of the noise, but we spent most of our time at the parks or pool so it wasn't that big of a problem.
      I have a mixed opinion about the bus service at this resort. The typical order the bus picks up if going to the parks is Peninsula Road, South Point, Turtle Pond, Miller Road and then the Hospitality House. It might go in a different order occasionally depending your destination,in my experience at other Disney resorts the Downtown Disney bus usually goes to the Hospitality House first but I didn't go downtown this visit so I'm not sure about this particular resort. Our stop was Turtle Pond, which for some reason was almost always the most crowded. I only had to stand a few times, once going to the Magic Kingdom for morning magic hours and maybe once or twice when returning home after park closing, but any of those times I could have sat but gave up my seat. I have read several reviews that state that the bus service to this resort is inadequate, obviously these people have never stayed at a value resort where the buses are packed full and at peak hours you might have to wait for several buses to come and go before you get on, compared to that the service here was remarkable. The buses do seem slow however, we had to wait about 30 minutes a few times, and the way the resort is laid out means they have to turn around a few times but overall the bus service was fine.
      I am rating this resort an 8. I rented DVC points which saved me a lot of money, if I would have paid the WDW website price for this room I would have been furious and rated it much lower, probably 4. If you are thinking about staying here or any DVC resort I would advise renting points, either directly from a DVC owner or an online points broker.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.