Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri December 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy access to car, quiet atmosphere, friendly neighbors
      Cons: Learning curve on transportation needed

       
      Family of 6 stayed in the 2200 cabin loop Dec 7-14. This was our 4th stay in a cabin. We drive and with the parking pad right next to the cabin and a parking pass included in reservations, we already drive to Epcot, HS, and AK. Each drive takes 10 mins or less and the signs to each park are easy to follow. The resort boat to MK is very convenient. Two mornings we left our cabin and walked through MK gate within 25 minutes. We love Fort Wilderness. It is right in the middle of everything while also feeling secluded and quiet at the same time. If you like retreating from the parks to a quiet place with plenty of your own space, I would certainly consider the fort. Cabins have 2 televisions. A separate bedroom that includes bunk beds and a double (sleeps 4) allows children to go to bed while parents stay up. A pull down Murphy bed is in the living room. There is also a full kitchen. We love the cabins and will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrincessDaisyDuck

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cabins, Mousekeeping, Horses, Bell Services
      Cons: Check-in, Confusing Transportation

       
      Pros:


      The cabins were spacious, well-decorated and very clean.


      Mousekeeping was excellent, very friendly and kind besides doing a wonderful job.


      The Tri-Circle D ranch was great, you can walk through and look at the ponies or go back to the barn and look at the large horses. Pony rides for small children (under 48 inches and 80 pounds) were only $5.


      Food at the pool bar and Trails End To Go was very good.


      Bell services was incredibly helpful.


      Cons:


      Rude concierge cast member at check-in.


      Room was not ready until 5:30 pm.


      When we went to the cabin our magic bands could not open it. A person from bell services opened it with a key then took our magic bands to the front desk to be fixed. After 1 and 1/2 hours we went to the front desk and waited for them to be given to us. They gave us completely new bands which did thankfully work. In the meantime we paid cash for dinner since we had no dining plan to access without the bands.


      The bus transportation is very confusing. There is no bus to Magic Kingdom, you have to take an internal bus to the boats or an internal bus to the Settlement bus stop where you can catch a bus to Wilderness Lodge where you can then catch a bus to Magic Kingdom. You can also take a boat to the Contemporary and walk from there but those boats do shut down for lightening.


      We had refillable mugs but you can only refill them at pool bar or Trails To Go. Another spot at the Outpost would be nice since the main bus stop is there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmdebree

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, clean,
      Cons: the showers

       
      I am giving Fort Wilderness a rating of a ten, it is a beautiful and wonderful place. I was only
      disappointed by the bath house and I will tell you why, the showers. There are only four in the women's room and when people are in them the condensation falls from the ceiling which is very gross. We did not have access to a shower in our camping vehicle so we had to use the showers at Fort Wilderness.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      artgal227

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu June 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful camping experience
      Cons: None

       
      We camped at the fort June 2 through the 8. This campground will spoil you. The restrooms are clean and well maintained like you would expect from Disney. We were in the 300 loop with our dog. We enjoyed the dog park and being close to the canals. We startled some deer more than once. We also saw turkey and one small black snake that was on the walk outside Meadows trading post. We have stayed in the cabins several times but haven't camped there since the 70's. If you are looking for a great camping experience you need to try Ft. Wilderness. We will definitely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jvn1965

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      We just completed our fifth trip to the campground in the last year, and we have reservations for June. We love the campground! The cast members are super friendly, and the activities are endless. We have stayed in about every resort at WDW, but the campground is by far our favorite. We love to ride our bikes around the resort and take advantage of the daily activities offered. We can be as busy as we want to be and as lazy as we want to be.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gradiver

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Florida
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun December 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff was great, campsite great
      Cons: Bad neighbors, traffic control problems

       
      My wife and I camped with our kids back in the 70's. Now we are retired, on a fixed income and bought a nice 23' travel trailer. This was our 3rd trip with it and the 1st time camping at FW.


      We live in FL and have weekday select passes so this was a natural. The staff at FW were wonderful and addressed most all our needs.


      The neighbors were the only downside. Not the fault of FW of course but they had no understanding of quiet time. One night they were talking loud and playing a radio until I said something to them at nearly midnight. The wife said she paid for the site and would do as she pleased. Guess she thought we got our site for free. Give them credit though they stayed up late and got up early and of course at Disney World quiet time is a somewhat relative thing. I'm getting one of those white noise boxes for my next trip. Campers have changed since the 70's.


      The only reason for not giving this place a 10 is the cost and the inability to get back in the park on Fri night due to large numbers of people blocking both entry lanes during the weekend check in rush. They should have had extra security at the entrance and or better signage. Almost missed our dinner reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Littlemermaid

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Comfort Stations, Transportation, Utilities
      Cons: Only 1 Tech Supp for Internet/Cable Issues for the entire complex.

       
      We stayed at one of the 2 loops exclusively for tents/camper trailers only. Ground to secure tent is coarse lake sand. Trees around the site, and add some privacy but not completely. Basic utilities includes electricity, water, cable and free internet access (must pick up modem kit at Reception with a refundable $125 deposit-hold into the credit card on file). Free WIFI available at the main areas. Very good security. Trash cans and recycle bins are emptied several times a day. Comfort stations are very clean, and A/C temp is perfect. 4 private showers available with a small private area with a seat where you can dress comfortably. 1 of the showers is accessible with plenty of space. There is hot water in the showers, but sometimes you must leave the water running for a couple minutes to get hot water. Big coin laundry room. Detergent, softener, bleach available for a fee. Complex buses run 24/7, and there are bus stops close to every loop. Quick restaurants onsite not vegetarian friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri September 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, room to breathe, calm
      Cons: transportation system takes time to figure out

       
      our family loves, loves, loves Fort Wilderness. let me give you the pros followed by the cons:


      1. It is right in the middle of everything while also separated from all the hustle and noise. i love Disney but i also enjoy a little peace and quiet on my vacation. we stay in the cabins and never hear the neighbors and as the parent of active little children, i don't have to stress about my children being too loud for those next door. After a busy day at the parks, it is wonderful to return to a quiet place.


      2. the people who stay at Fort Wilderness seem...well, nicer. this resort attracts people with a certain disposition. they seem friendlier, more quick to say hello.


      3. there is plenty to do in and around the resort itself. my wife and i have said several times it would be a worthwhile vacation to go to Fort Wilderness even if you never went anywhere else.


      4. full kitchen. mousekeeping even does the dishes. if you want to save a little money by making your own meals, the kitchen is a big plus.


      5. room to spread out! in the cabin there are 2 TVs and a separate bedroom. our children have room to move around and there is plenty of space to sleep up to 6.


      6. the ferry to the Magic Kingdom. you never have to wait long for the ferry and it drops you right off at the main gate. ferries also run from FW to Wilderness Lodge and the Contemporary.


      7. the kids water play area. located at the main pool, my little children (6 and 4) loved it. it's not the most well themed pool among the resorts, but my children have really enjoyed it.


      8. the campfire sing along - each night there is a campfire sing along with Chip and Dale followed by a Disney movie. my children loved it.


      cons:


      1. the bus system is a little hard to figure out if you've never been there before. the resort is spread out so there is both an internal bus system and then also buses to take you to the parks.


      i must say, however, in defense of my beloved Fort Wilderness, you get to park your car right on the parking pad by your cabin. a parking pass to all the parks is included with your stay so if you have your own car it is very easy to load up and head out.


      if you're flying to Disney and not renting a car, FW may not be the place for you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nkey719

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING
      Cons: yellow flies that bite in May

       
      LOVE IT! Stay in 1400 loop every May for two weeks. Could see the movie from our picnic table! Kids loved interacting with Chip and Dale at the campfire program. Never seen a cleaner campground and a friendlier staff. Discovered the pool over by the cabins this trip - perfect place to get away from the craziness at the Meadows Pool! We love getting around by golf cart - one our kids favorite things about our Disney trips. It is necessary to pay close attention to bus routes - they can be confussing to someone new to the FORT. Make sure to pack a snack if going to the pool later in the day. The Meadows Pool snack bar closes early!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      traci26

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Ft. Lauderdale,FL
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Thu February 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet
      Cons: more trees between sites

       
      Our family of 2 adults 3 kids camped with another family of 2 adults and 2 children Jan 27th-Jan 31st. We have stayed at Fort Wilderness many times in the cabin but this time we thought we would try camping. We had a slow check in, not sure what that was all about but finally made it to the window. We were traveling with yet another group and tried to get us two sites together but the campground was full so in order for us to be next to one another we were "upgraded" to a full hook up site in loop 1600. At first I wasn't too crazy about it because I wanted the bigger pad and quietness but it turned out fine. I think we had site 1613? and it was fine but we really had no trees to separate us from any of our neighbors. I would like to see more vegetation between sites. We were not RV campers but tent campers so I guess that makes a big difference. Moving on, we enjoyed the campground otherwise. We had 2 comfort stations in our loop, both clean so no complaints. However, on our last day my husband said he had no hot water while showering at one of them. We never mentioned it to the staff as we were on our way out. Saw lots of wildlife. Kids did pony rides at the settlement, DD 7 was too big already though. Sad Our group took a ride on a pontoon boat around Bay Lake. Nice for large group of all ages but no fishing allowed. That's a bummer. Never made it over to Chip & Dale's campfire as we had our own going. I would like to note that we were 1 of 2 people that had approved fire pits for Fort Wilderness. The fire pits must have a solid metal top and mesh sides. They give out an info sheet on check in about which are approved and which are not. Allears is incorrect on that info. Overall I would consider it a success and we would go back again. I would like to add that make sure you bring a coffeemaker or instant coffee because the meadow trading post has coffee available for 1.99 cup and its nestle. I was desperate but next time will plan better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CJinPA

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed February 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cabins, kitchenette, pools
      Cons: Cost of renting golf cart

       
      January 21 -28, 2012. We just returned from our second visit to the Cabins at Fort Wilderness Capmaground.


      A wonderful time was had by our family. We have 7 year old twins and they enjoyed everything about the resort including the swimming pool! We also took in two movies at Mickey's campfire and roasted marshmallows.


      My only negative is the ever increasing cost of renting the golf carts at the resort. I understand by readying the reviews here that the bus waits have become shorter but our family just doesn't want to chance missing boats and the other busses at the Outpost because we were waiting on the inter-route buses - so we rent the golf carts.


      We guess it's a give and take - The rate we spend on the cabin that has plenty of room and a dining table, kitchen, etc - it's such a decent deal. Through in the cost of the golf cart rental ($400+ for the week), it kind of negates the deal you feel you're getting on the cabin.


      Otherwise, the place was great! Clean, friendly and would suggest to anyone taking a family.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      getfed

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: Indianapolis
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue November 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): size, cleanliness
      Cons: location

       
      The cabins were excellent places to stay. Kitchen was a definite plus, and the beds were great. The only downer was the time it took to get anywhere by bus. We did not get a car, and we would never come back without one. We had to walk to a bus stop, wait 15 minutes for a bus to the front or back of the resort, and then wait again for a bus to a park. It often took over an hour from leaving our room to get somewhere. A car at our cabin would have made it much better.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      alagille

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun September 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): kitchen
      Cons: transportation nightmare

       
      First, let me preface this by saying I usually stay at one of the Deluxe Monorail resorts and had just spent 2 nights at Grand Floridian Concierge level. My family of 4 and my inlaws were booked for 5 nights at the cabins so we could be close together and cook some meals on site. We previously spent a week earlier this year at a 2 BR Beach Club Villa and it had worked extremely well there. At Disney, a bargain isn't necessarily worth it.
      When my in laws arrived at the Grand Floridian with a car full, I decided to take Disney transportation to meet them at the cabins. It took 70 minutes to get there. After I saw the cabin, I was able (Thankfully!) to book 2 additional nights at the Grand Floridian so we only had to stay there 3 nights. Getting to the parks or anywhere outside the campground was a minimum of over an hour transport time. Getting anywhere inside the campground requires a bus-to go to the pool, playground or beach or restaurant or the campfire/movie. There is NO car parking except at your cabin for a car. Disney encouraged us to rent a golf cart for $315 ($63/day) for our stay when we checked in. WOW. I can think of MANY other places that $250/night would get us a very nice room or at least decent two rooms.
      The cabin is a single wide trailer. The furnishings and cabinetry are dated. We stayed on the 2200 loop and there was swamp water surrounding portions of the cabin so the boys couldn't play outside. We put them in the stoller to take them to a bus, unload them, put the stroller on the bus and unload it to go to the playground or the pool or beach. There wasn't a place well lit enough so I could walk safely in the early morning. I will never, ever rent here again. This was my worst Disney experience in 2 years, 6 visits. I was extremely disappointed in the hassle and amount of wasted time I spent at the campground.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dschappy04

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: allentown,pa
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue September 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very relaxing, beautiful sites
      Cons: none

       
      My family of nine stayed here from 8/28 to 9/2. We have never camped before. We rented a 33 foot rv and had nothing but a great time here. We did online check in and when we arrived, all we did was give our name and our package was waiting for us. My birthday pin and my granddaughter's first visit pin were in our package. The comfort station were always clean and well kept. The pool was awesome. It was very easy to get to Magic Kingdom by taking the resort boat, we also use the boat to get to Epcot. We just walked over to the monorail and got on. Our camp site was in loop 100 and it was near the general store and the petting zoo. Only a 5 min walk. We watched the fireworks from Magic Kingdom on our beach without the crowds. The only downsize we had is we wanted to stay longer. We are planning our next trip and making sure we stay here for 2 weeks instead of one. Bus service was never more than a 5 min wait and it only took 5 mins to get a golf cart for our use. We travel to Disney every year and this is my new favorite place to stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Susan

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Clearwater, FL
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Fri August 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent campground
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed at FW July 25 through August 1st in the 1600 loop. We always request that loop because it's close to the buses, it's a pet loop and close to the Meadows pool.
      The campground was half empty that week. We go about 3 time a year but have never seen it so empty. We peeked in the 9:30 Hoop de Doo and there had to 50 people sitting.
      We rented a golf cart from Tee Time Golf cart rental. It was a new cart for less than half of what Disney charges.
      The pool was empty in the AM but filled up in the afternoon. They had a DJ and pool games all afternoon.
      Make sure you check out the nightly movie and marshmallow roast with chip and dale. Bring your own chairs. The wooden benches are uncomfortable after a while.
      We rode down to the dock every night for fireworks. It's a perfect view. The kids had fun playing on the beach while waiting.
      It really is worth the price to camp there. It is our favorite campground.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.