Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mickeymom5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat September 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, activities, boat ride to MK
      Cons: no QS

       
      We stayed here August 12-16, 2015. We had a wonderful stay! We had a premium site located on the loop behind the Meadow Trading Post bus stop...so all we had to do to get to the Meadow Trading Post was walk across the street. Our site was very convenient to the store, bus stop, swimming pool, and campfire. We loved the campfire and the swimming pool. We also loved walking around Tri-Circle D Ranch. The horses were beautiful to watch and we got to watch the ironsmith fit one with a new shoe! The boat ride to MK was the best! We also loved watching the MK fireworks from the beach. They pipe the music in! Our family was kind enough to let us use their golf cart. A golf cart is a must if you stay here! Everything is really spread out, as a campground should be! I can't emphasized enough how clean everything was! The comfort station was spotless! The paths were well maintained and clean! The two negatives are there is no quick service restaurant and the buses seemed slow leaving Ft. Wilderness and coming back from the parks and Downtown Disney. We stayed with our extended family in their camper. I am more of a "resort" kinda gal, but after our stay I would love to own a camper and claim a spot at Fort Wilderness!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vkreed

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon May 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, well-maintained, quiet, beautiful
      Cons: transportation not the best, restaurants somewhat lacking

       
      Just got back from 8 nights at Fort Wilderness; have stayed at many Disney resorts, but this was the first time here. All in all, it was a good experience - the campground is immaculately maintained, and we found it to be very quiet almost all of the time since folks are out at the parks instead of hanging out at their sites "camping". Lots of activities to do, and plenty of nature to see.


      Only real downside was there is really no true quick-service restaurant; the snack bar at the pool doesn't offer much, and Trails End only serves full table service meals. Several times we ended up catching a boat over to the Roaring Fork at Wilderness Lodge where they offered quick service meals.


      We rented a golf cart for the week which was a lot of fun, and very helpful in getting around instead of waiting for the internal buses. Like everything, it was expensive, and we were disappointed they didn't offer a slightly discounted rate for an entire week's rental vs the daily rate, but it ended up being well worth it in the long run.


      So all in all a good experience, and we will be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      abayes

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, Things To Do,
      Cons: None

       
      We recently stayed at Fort Wilderness with my family and it was fantastic. We almost always stay here and it never fails to live up to Disney standards. If you are looking for a great campground with plenty of things to do then don't wait to book. It is without a doubt the nicest campground you will ever stay at. The transportation isn't a big deal to me as I am a very patient person so I didn't mind the bus and boat wait. The hospitality of the staff is also superb and is every bit as good as the main resort staff.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrincessDaisyDuck

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cabins, Mousekeeping, Horses, Bell Services
      Cons: Check-in, Confusing Transportation

       
      Pros:


      The cabins were spacious, well-decorated and very clean.


      Mousekeeping was excellent, very friendly and kind besides doing a wonderful job.


      The Tri-Circle D ranch was great, you can walk through and look at the ponies or go back to the barn and look at the large horses. Pony rides for small children (under 48 inches and 80 pounds) were only $5.


      Food at the pool bar and Trails End To Go was very good.


      Bell services was incredibly helpful.


      Cons:


      Rude concierge cast member at check-in.


      Room was not ready until 5:30 pm.


      When we went to the cabin our magic bands could not open it. A person from bell services opened it with a key then took our magic bands to the front desk to be fixed. After 1 and 1/2 hours we went to the front desk and waited for them to be given to us. They gave us completely new bands which did thankfully work. In the meantime we paid cash for dinner since we had no dining plan to access without the bands.


      The bus transportation is very confusing. There is no bus to Magic Kingdom, you have to take an internal bus to the boats or an internal bus to the Settlement bus stop where you can catch a bus to Wilderness Lodge where you can then catch a bus to Magic Kingdom. You can also take a boat to the Contemporary and walk from there but those boats do shut down for lightening.


      We had refillable mugs but you can only refill them at pool bar or Trails To Go. Another spot at the Outpost would be nice since the main bus stop is there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmdebree

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, clean,
      Cons: the showers

       
      I am giving Fort Wilderness a rating of a ten, it is a beautiful and wonderful place. I was only
      disappointed by the bath house and I will tell you why, the showers. There are only four in the women's room and when people are in them the condensation falls from the ceiling which is very gross. We did not have access to a shower in our camping vehicle so we had to use the showers at Fort Wilderness.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      artgal227

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu June 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful camping experience
      Cons: None

       
      We camped at the fort June 2 through the 8. This campground will spoil you. The restrooms are clean and well maintained like you would expect from Disney. We were in the 300 loop with our dog. We enjoyed the dog park and being close to the canals. We startled some deer more than once. We also saw turkey and one small black snake that was on the walk outside Meadows trading post. We have stayed in the cabins several times but haven't camped there since the 70's. If you are looking for a great camping experience you need to try Ft. Wilderness. We will definitely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jvn1965

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      We just completed our fifth trip to the campground in the last year, and we have reservations for June. We love the campground! The cast members are super friendly, and the activities are endless. We have stayed in about every resort at WDW, but the campground is by far our favorite. We love to ride our bikes around the resort and take advantage of the daily activities offered. We can be as busy as we want to be and as lazy as we want to be.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.