Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • MaAnniee

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed January 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of access for those staying at Jambo House
      Cons: quality of food (other than a burger) seriously declined

       
      The burgers were okay, but of the various items tried on this trip everything was meh...


      The butternut soup too similar in taste to pumpkin pie and was thicken so much that it was quite congealed.


      The pepperoni flatbread pizza was okay, but the vegetable and bbq chicken both had a very sweet drizzle on top. The bbq chicken base was also very sweet and overwhelmed the chicken.


      Forgot to get the first caesar salad with dressing on the side and it was so overdressed that is was a soggy mess. Most of it went in the trash. The caesar dressing was emulsified with so much mustard that it was a dominate flavor.


      We gave up after these misses and went to Disney Springs and brought back salads and sandwiches from Earl for the times when we wanted something quick and didn't want to eat in the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyDana

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri October 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Zebra domes!
      Cons: none

       
      We dropped by just to get a few zebra domes and they definitely didn't disappoint! It had been years since I had one and they are a must do!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bjtrax

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Thu April 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We did not stay at the Animal Kingdom Lodge this trip, but had to make at special trip over for lunch. We both love the Chicken Caesar Salad. The meat is seasoned perfectly, the croutons crunchy & tasty, and cheese & dressing delicious. It's a very big salad at a decent price.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      3leggedtable

      Registered: June 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality of the food.
      Cons: Small dinning room

       
      The food at The Mara is above average for a counter service restaurant in a hotel. We ate here twice on our trip in August 2014. Both times everyone was pleased with their meal. The restaurant offers a really nice gluten free split chicken dinner with green beans and potatoes. My husband ordered the gluten free pizza and he thought it was fine. They also offered us g.f. Zebra Domes, which they brought out from the kitchen.


      One night they also had desserts and pastries from Baby Cakes. I only wish they had them in stock the second night we came in for dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast service
      Cons: Salty food

       
      We had lunch and breakfast at The Mara on September 19 & 20, 2014. Lunch was very good – I had the bacon cheese burger which was excellent. For breakfast I had the croissant omelet and my wife had the bounty breakfast platter. The only issue with breakfast was that the hash browns were very, very salty.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      powlen21

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pitas, outside eating area
      Cons: limited options, small room

       
      The Mara was pretty good for a quick service meal or snack. I recommend grabbing your meal and heading outside to eat. It was very relaxing to be away from the crowd and enjoy the Animal Kingdom Lodge atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maddox4

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Springfield, IL
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon December 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good quick service
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at POFQ and Saratoga during the week of Dec 8th but thanks to a previous meal we had here in March we decided to come back with our son. Sandwiches are really good. Turkey is our favorite but they switch out during the week so we had ham this time and it did not disappoint. Not a fan of the zebra domes since we are not coffee drinkers but the brownies were delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food, convienient
      Cons: Ordering process can be confusing

       
      We were impressed with this quick service. We ate here several times during our stay at AKL. The chicken pita was outstanding! We had soups several times and they were always great! Breakfast was quick and yummy! For dinner you place your order with a cast member, given a pager, pay then wait for you food to be ready. For dinner, it took about 10 minutes. When we went down for breakfast, we assumed the process was the same, so we bypassed the hot breakfast line and opted for bakery items to save time. However, the process for breakfast is different. You order and receive your food at that same time, making it super quick! Wished we had realized this earlier!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melody

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious, different food!
      Cons:

       
      I love eating at Mara! I always get the lentil chicken salad with the cilantro dressing...so yummy!!! My husband got the special of the day which was a corned beef sandwich and that was very good as well. I love the unique, different food you can get here instead of the usual burgers, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Sat September 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety, size
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Yacht Club last trip and were quite disappointed with the quick service options between YC and BC. We've also tried a number of deluxe quick service spots and have found mixed results. The Mara, so far, is the best deluxe counter service we've experienced. There are just so many options and there is plenty of seating for all. It's nice to not have to worry about where you might turn for a light bite or a snack.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AddictedtoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, location, friendly service
      Cons: Same selection of food

       
      Nice location, good in price, free refills if you purchase a $15 resort mug. Inside and outside sitting options. The only negative is same food selection everyday. Sad
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Sat June 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quality food
      Cons: confusing ordering system

       
      This was our first stay at AKL for our family of six. After checking in everyone was hungry. Mara was the logical choice. We found the ordering system a bit confusing since it's not like the other counter service locations. You select your food and a CM writes down the order. You take a slip to the cash register to pay, and are then given a pager. You pick up the food when the pager buzzes. I understand that Disney is trying to reduce the time you want in line, but this system seems to cause even more chaos. That being said, our lunch was very good. The hand-carved sandwich was tasty and generous. There is a nice condiments bar that was full and tidy. The falafel pita was a hit with my DD age 13. Be sure to order the couscous and not the fries. It was yummy. We also had the black-eye pea soup and the butternut squash soup and both were very good. The pea soup was so filling that it could have been a meal all on it's own. Mara offers more than chicken nuggets and burgers which is a welcomed change. We plan on stopping by again during vacation next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 105
      Review Date: Sun June 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food selections including Zebra Domes
      Cons: None

       
      We decided to have a quick lunch here after a morning tour at the Animal Kingdom. We had the Mara Chicken Salad and the Veggie Flatbread. Both were very good. We also had the Zebra Domes for dessert. Love the fact that you can get them to go here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Wed June 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We stayed 9 fabulous days @ AKL - so we had quite a few meals here. Some of the things we tried...
      Breakfast:
      African Inspired Breakfast Platter - Very good! I could eat chakalaka all day long. The Merguez sausage was also very good, but had a very strong flavor.
      Bounty Platter, Mickey Waffle and Croissant Sandwich were also very good - the same as you will get anywhere in the World.
      The Cream Cheese Coffee Cake was DD11 favorite breakfast sweet. The strawberry scone was my favorite.
      For lunch/dinner:
      Chicken Flatbread - interesting and quite tasty.
      Vegetable Flatbread - very tasty but salty. I love artichokes and olives so this was yummy for me!
      The nuggets, hand carved sandwich (turkey that day) and Angus burger were good as well.


      We love AKL but the Mara is not something we consider a huge plus here. We have no complaints but it isn't a place we would rave about.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue May 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food choices
      Cons: need more bus people cleaning tables

       
      Good food choices. Nice condiment bar. Only complaint - lots of messy tables and lack of workers cleaning them up. For the price you pay to stay @ AK, should never have to wipe down your own table. Close to the pool area and the main lobby which is a plus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.