Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • maddox4

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Springfield, IL
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon December 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good quick service
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at POFQ and Saratoga during the week of Dec 8th but thanks to a previous meal we had here in March we decided to come back with our son. Sandwiches are really good. Turkey is our favorite but they switch out during the week so we had ham this time and it did not disappoint. Not a fan of the zebra domes since we are not coffee drinkers but the brownies were delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food, convienient
      Cons: Ordering process can be confusing

       
      We were impressed with this quick service. We ate here several times during our stay at AKL. The chicken pita was outstanding! We had soups several times and they were always great! Breakfast was quick and yummy! For dinner you place your order with a cast member, given a pager, pay then wait for you food to be ready. For dinner, it took about 10 minutes. When we went down for breakfast, we assumed the process was the same, so we bypassed the hot breakfast line and opted for bakery items to save time. However, the process for breakfast is different. You order and receive your food at that same time, making it super quick! Wished we had realized this earlier!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melody

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious, different food!
      Cons:

       
      I love eating at Mara! I always get the lentil chicken salad with the cilantro dressing...so yummy!!! My husband got the special of the day which was a corned beef sandwich and that was very good as well. I love the unique, different food you can get here instead of the usual burgers, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Sat September 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety, size
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Yacht Club last trip and were quite disappointed with the quick service options between YC and BC. We've also tried a number of deluxe quick service spots and have found mixed results. The Mara, so far, is the best deluxe counter service we've experienced. There are just so many options and there is plenty of seating for all. It's nice to not have to worry about where you might turn for a light bite or a snack.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AddictedtoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, location, friendly service
      Cons: Same selection of food

       
      Nice location, good in price, free refills if you purchase a $15 resort mug. Inside and outside sitting options. The only negative is same food selection everyday. Sad
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Sat June 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quality food
      Cons: confusing ordering system

       
      This was our first stay at AKL for our family of six. After checking in everyone was hungry. Mara was the logical choice. We found the ordering system a bit confusing since it's not like the other counter service locations. You select your food and a CM writes down the order. You take a slip to the cash register to pay, and are then given a pager. You pick up the food when the pager buzzes. I understand that Disney is trying to reduce the time you want in line, but this system seems to cause even more chaos. That being said, our lunch was very good. The hand-carved sandwich was tasty and generous. There is a nice condiments bar that was full and tidy. The falafel pita was a hit with my DD age 13. Be sure to order the couscous and not the fries. It was yummy. We also had the black-eye pea soup and the butternut squash soup and both were very good. The pea soup was so filling that it could have been a meal all on it's own. Mara offers more than chicken nuggets and burgers which is a welcomed change. We plan on stopping by again during vacation next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 100
      Review Date: Sun June 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food selections including Zebra Domes
      Cons: None

       
      We decided to have a quick lunch here after a morning tour at the Animal Kingdom. We had the Mara Chicken Salad and the Veggie Flatbread. Both were very good. We also had the Zebra Domes for dessert. Love the fact that you can get them to go here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 110
      Review Date: Wed June 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We stayed 9 fabulous days @ AKL - so we had quite a few meals here. Some of the things we tried...
      Breakfast:
      African Inspired Breakfast Platter - Very good! I could eat chakalaka all day long. The Merguez sausage was also very good, but had a very strong flavor.
      Bounty Platter, Mickey Waffle and Croissant Sandwich were also very good - the same as you will get anywhere in the World.
      The Cream Cheese Coffee Cake was DD11 favorite breakfast sweet. The strawberry scone was my favorite.
      For lunch/dinner:
      Chicken Flatbread - interesting and quite tasty.
      Vegetable Flatbread - very tasty but salty. I love artichokes and olives so this was yummy for me!
      The nuggets, hand carved sandwich (turkey that day) and Angus burger were good as well.


      We love AKL but the Mara is not something we consider a huge plus here. We have no complaints but it isn't a place we would rave about.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue May 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food choices
      Cons: need more bus people cleaning tables

       
      Good food choices. Nice condiment bar. Only complaint - lots of messy tables and lack of workers cleaning them up. For the price you pay to stay @ AK, should never have to wipe down your own table. Close to the pool area and the main lobby which is a plus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dgurgens

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sun April 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good burgers
      Cons: Not a huge selection for pickier eaters.

       
      We love Mara, but it needs some updates to its breakfast menu and lunch menu. I think the lunch/dinner menus needs to have more offerings. The only thing I would eat off those menus were burgers, which got old after awhile. The breakfasts need to have more selection, too. One thing we noticed was that the breakfast offerings were fairly dry.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Thu February 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service
      Cons: selection

       
      I stopped into the Mara to grab something for a quick dinner. There was very little to choose from. I got the half chicken. It was half of the smallest chicken I've ever seen! It was really very little food and pretty darn dry. The sides were good. There was couscous and the stewed African vegetables.


      I was surprised to see that there was a toppings bar. I'm not sure what those items would have gone on but it was a nice offering.


      On the flip side, I got breakfast for my DD and she devoured the classic Mickey waffle. The bacon was good. That made me happy.


      As with everyone at AKL, the cast was above par.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bjtrax

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Thu December 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, outdoor dining tables
      Cons:

       
      Ate at the Mara several times last week. Had the Caesar Salad with Grilled Chicken 4 times in 8 days. I would be pleased to receive such quantity & quality at any table service restaurant. The flavor of the grilled chicken was wonderful. Also had a plain cheese flatbread on 2 occasions. Very good. The servers are polite & helpful, and we really enjoyed dining at the outside tables that overlook the pool area.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Guelphite

      Registered: April 2010
      Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Sun November 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, outdoor seating
      Cons:

       
      We ate here 5 times over our 8 day stay in October. We really enjoyed the selection of African inspired food. The Mara salad, African stew and oak roasted chicken were all great.


      There are also 2 daily specials that include a fish dish (usually Salmon) and a meat (lamb or ribs). The specials definitely had African flavours. My husband and I like African/Indian food and were in our element. If you do not, you will be limited to the North American selections (burger, chicken fingers, etc..). Our children ate off the kids menu and had no problems.


      Mara has a pretty good system for food delivery. You are given a pager after ordering your main course. Then you choose your drinks/sides/desserts and pay. You can then find a table (we loved eating outside) with a console in the centre. Once you are seated you put your pager into the console, there is a beep, and then this is the locator for your food to be delivered to your table when it is ready.


      Wonderful system; just like table service (but no automatic Disney 18-22% gratuity put on the bill ;-).


      The Mara turned out to be one of our favourite places to eat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mickeymom5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Thu August 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasty
      Cons: congested drink/condiment area

       
      My husband and I ate here a total of four times on our recent trip. He had a Breakfast Bounty Platter and I had the African Inspired Breakfast Platter both times we ate breakfast. He liked his and I loved mine. I loved the pap and chakalaka (stewed sweet tomatoes). The African sausage was yummy, too! I would have been fine if there were less eggs and no grilled tomato. The other two times we ate there, we had the veggie flatbread and grilled chicken caesar salad. We enjoyed both these offerings. We also made use of the refillable mugs. I gave the Mara a "9" because I think they need to have more options on their menu. I also the drink/condiment station needs to be larger. I would recommend it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed July 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quality of food
      Cons: hectic

       
      Great counter service meals. We ate here twice on our recent stay and really enjoyed it. They offer a nice variety of items and many are healthy options. We really liked the chicken pita, the flatbread and the Mara salad was delicious! It was nice to be able to get couscous as a side instead of fries. The baked goods are delicious and a really great option for dessert when on the dining plan. The only negative is that it can be crowded at lunch and waiting to order, then pay and then find a table can be a little crazy!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.