Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • GNesty

      Registered: November 2007
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun November 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of food and drinks
      Cons: Just not a great show

       
      We attended the October 24th show and I really hate to say it but it just was not up to par. Yes you run into rude people who won't sit down so you can see and push there way to get a good table and as we witnessed even if your kid is screaming, crying will make them take there picture with a character however it was just lacking something. Food was plentiful, hot and considering the amount of people they were feeding not bad, plenty of beer, wine and soda for the everyone. Band was good, service too, but honestly for the price we paid we should have done the Luau again or HDD. Or even one of the nicer restaurants on property.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jlk806

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Lancaster, NY
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sat February 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Fun
      Cons: We didnt find any really

       
      We loved it. Went in early September. It was NOT unbearably hot as other reviews would suggest. It was hot out, but it wasn't uncomfortable in the pavilion. We got seated at the allergy table, as our son has a tree nut allergy. We had a great view of everything. The food was great we thought, though our family enjoys picnic food. We love hot dogs, cornbread and ribs. Everything we had tasted great and we especially liked everything on the buffet was safe for our tree nut allergic son. The included wine and beer was nice also.


      One annoyance: Mickey & Minnie posed for pictures on their break obviously a line formed, everyone in line was told they would pose for pictures until a specific song began playing, then they would up and head back to the dance floor. You would think people in line would be courteous enough to just take a picture and move on, but no, out came those darn autograph books, some families with 5-6 of them! I thought that was SOOO rude of them, there are a million opps to get autographs and now their insistence on collecting autographs would lead to some not happy children who wouldn't even get to get their picture taken because these people sucked up the time. We were among the first in line, took a picture, let our son give a quick hug and moved on but couldn't believe some people.


      Our son was just 4, is quite shy and wasn't interested in getting up and dancing with the characters. He just enjoyed the music and watching everything. We had a great time and it is on our list of reservations to make for our next trip. It depends what you expect from these events how satisfied or disappointed you will be. If you go into it expecting 1-on-1 character constant interaction and a gourmet meal, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for decent food (depending on your taste palate, we love picnic foods), cute entertainment, and the characters and understand that the characters aren't there just for you, but to entertain hundreds, you will have fun. Its all about perspective! And I had read many reviews before booking this (and are every-year Disney trippers) so I'm really glad the negativity didn't sway me!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mom of Princess Lover

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ok food and plenty of it
      Cons: Not worth 2 meal plan choices

       
      My family and I (my husband, 4 year old daughter and myself) wanted to go to one dinner show during our stay at Disney. We were going to pick the Hoop Dee Do musical review since we had heard so much good about it. My travel agent suggested that Mickey's Backyard BBQ, would be a much better pick for a 4 year old and that we would love this show.


      So we arrived a little over an hour early (as we were advised to do) so that we would get a good seat, since it is first come, first serve. We were the second family in line and by the time we were taken out to the area where some of the character's were signing autographs and taking pictures, we were like the 4th or 5th family in line...such rude people. But we didn't bother saying anything...not Disney's fault. Well we were giving horrible seats...we were right beside the stage...literally beside it so really we couldn't see all that well. I thought that being since we were almost first in line, they would seat those people front and center.


      The food was pretty good, it was hot and they came and refilled the food so that everyone could go back for more if they wanted. Free refills on beer and wine and a nice dessert selection.


      The show was entertaining, would have enjoyed it much more if we would of had a better seat. Soo overcrowded though...they need to regulate the crowds better. Too many people/kids for their to be enough room for them all to get up and dance.


      The characters didn't seem to want to be bothered with the kids...I didn't expect one on one time with the characters but I would have liked for my daughter to have gotten to at least be a little close to them. So since we were fighting to see the character's you really didn't get to enjoy the meal.


      All of this and we just spent 2 meal choices! Never again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Nonnadee

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri January 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Food, never got close to a character

       
      Don't waste your money. We went on Christmas Day as a special treat for our children. When we booked we were not told that the menu selection was not the typical BBQ dinner that they advertise. It was dried out smoked turkey and ham, both were nothing more than lunch meat. Only a couple sides and for dessert it was ice cream or pumpkin pie. We were told it was two tables of dessert selections, this was so untrue. Also, to get our meals we had to wait in long lines only to be so unimpressed with the ridiculous selection (so not Disney quality) and it was so picked over and very unappetizing. After being told to be there 45 minutes prior to the reservation, with young children that was ridiculous. Finally being seated (the entertainment was already in progress) it was so large we didn't even see the stage. Not one character ever made it to our table. We had enough and spoke to the manager whereby we learned that since it was a holiday they change the menu (down graded it). So not worth the ridiculous amount of money they want for such a terrible meal. We have been to many other Disney Character meals and loved them! This one is not worth your money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bamabelle1982

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Alabama
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon December 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: Too much show to be able to enjoy food

       
      Considering we used two dining meal tickets with this meal, I was probably the most disappointed. The show starting early would be fine - IF it were just a show. But almost as soon as you sit down with your food, they are bringing out the characters to dance with the kids. I would've loved to have been able to enjoy a little bit of my food without feeling rushed or having to get up and down with my son. The food was great, there was just no time to enjoy it. I wouldn't waste my time doing this again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      princessheather314

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun, good food, kids can be kids
      Cons: little crowded and RUDE people

       
      We went to this event on December 2. We celebrated my daughters 5th birthday. We had a group of 11 people under 2 different reservations. The staff allowed us to save room for the rest of party until they arrived. The food was good, the band was great, the staff was super friendly, the facility was CLEAN and the kids had a ball. We had a birthday cake specially made and they went out of their way to make sure it was a special evening for my daughter. Characters took pictures (which we were NOT expecting) and there weren't so many people that it was a miserable time. We had a blast. My only complaint is the amount of RUDE people (which was EVERYWHERE in Disney and NOT Disney's fault!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Sun September 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): live entertainment, chance to dance with characters
      Cons: access to characters

       
      We went to Backyard BBQ on 9/13. Transportation to the Pavillion isn't easy. We had our own car so we drove to Ft Wilderness and then took a bus to the Settlement. We arrived 45 mins before 6:30 reservation. Then we had to walk a little ways to the pavillion.


      Our 25 pound 1-year old was sleeping in his stroller. When we got there we were told that we had to take him out of the stroller. My husband asked if we could keep him in until dinner and then turn in the stoller and was told "NO".


      Chip, Dale and Goofy had been taking pictures and signing autographs but we got there just as they were finishing. So we didn't get a chance to get a picture. (we really don't need their autographs at this point, but a picture would have been nice).


      It was about this time where we saw 2 other strollers (both empty) ahead of us in line. I went back up to the CM taking strollers and asked if we could have ours back for our baby because he was sleeping and is so heavy to hold onto. Again, I was told "NO". I told them that I just wanted it to wait in line and that I would turn it in before entering the pavillion for dinner. I pointed out the two strollers that were in line and was told "it would be taken care of".....it never was. Yet, the CM wouldn't give me back my stroller to wait in the 45-minute line for dinner.


      When it was time to be seated my husband saw what appeared to be a manager and asked him what the policy on strollers was, since there appeared to be inconsistencies. He told us that there is no policy. We asked why our stroller was taken away from a sleeping baby and he told us that it shouldn't have been. Excuse - "new CM". I accepted his seemingly insincere apology.


      Our party of 11 was given a table in the back with a highchair. The food was plentiful and there are free adult beverages. There was Ribs, BBQ chicken, beans, potato salad (best thing on the buffet), cornbread, slaw, watermelon. Then for dessert there were a few choices of popsicles and Mickey Bars.


      The show was entertaining, especiallly the rope trick, although it was hard to see in the back. My kids enjoyed dancing with the characters. Mickey and Minnie were harder to access. they went off to the side to do autographs and pictures. The line was QUITE long. So they didn't dance as much as Goofy, Chip and Dale.


      My request for this meal would be to just take a picture of each group as they arrive with the characters, like they do at many other character meals. Perhaps, a total ban on autograph books would also help. That would make pictures go faster.


      Not sure if we will try again anytime soon. May wait until our baby is out of a stroller.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mjcgodz1997

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed June 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and FUN
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Originally could not get a "resi" for this through WDWDINE. Went to the front desk at the Fort, where we were staying and talked to the CM. A few key strokes and he had us in. He mentioned that WDWDINE is only allowed so many spots in any dining experience, the rest are saved for the CM's at the front desk to accommodate their guests. Also he mentioned that even if the concierge can't get you in, if you show up at the front entrance to the pavilion at 4:30 or so, the leader back there can get u in about 85% of the time. This must be true, as we were told by WDWDINE that they were booked solid, the CM at our front desk got us in, and there was plenty of room at the tables for probably 60 or more people. The DW and I talked about how sad it is that some families who really wanted this experience missed out when they could have been in attendance. They have two lists that they have where you can put down a birthday or other special occasion that you want "shouted out" during the evening. I put down that my wife was recently promoted to Staff Sergeant in the Air Force Reserve. They went out of their way to have the whole family come up front and be recognized. They even had our 8 year old daughter come up and call out the characters after one of their breaks. It was truly a magical moment. THANK YOU DISNEY.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      llarson

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri December 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Characters
      Cons: Outdoors

       
      We visited on Thanksgiving Day, 2011, for 2pm show (guess that's a special for Thanksgiving Day). Food was excellent! Fun to see characters and take photos. My husband loved this show. But I personally did not enjoy it as much. It was a windy November day, food got cold very quickly, and I was worried about my 3-year old getting sick from the cold food and wind. Also to get to the venue was not as convenient. Somehow we waited for the boat for quite a long time (probably over half an hour). Because my husband likes it, we will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cheripra

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Tue October 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all you can eat and drink
      Cons: bland food

       
      Bland food. Very very loud and packed. All you can drink including alcohol helped, but couldn't wait for to finish and leave. We were a party of 4 adults, and expected it to be loud, but we could hardly hear ourselves talk most of the time. I think it's a great place for the little ones and a cheaper than the Hoop-De-Doo, but besides the ribs, I don't think anyone but children would really enjoyed the food. The children did get a kick out of the characters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SarahF

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Herts UK
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu September 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good atmosphere, dancing with the characters, cornbread, alcohol included
      Cons: crazy parents with cameras, weather difficulties

       
      There are several things I love about the BBQ that make this event special (you just can't get BBQ sauce in the UK like this or cornbread at all) but for me this event is all about the character interaction. Where else can you be twirled around the dancefloor by the one and only Mickey Mouse? Regardless of whether you like BBQ food or country music or if you will make use of the included alcohol, this is an experience you do not want to miss.
      Unfortunately half the parents in the event felt the same way and cameras in hand they trampled anyone else around them while they stumbled around for that perfect shot.
      Last time we went, Mickey and Minnie came around the tables to take pictures and cameras were not allowed on the dance floor (autograph books still aren't). They now do a meet after the show (weather permitting) to sign autographs and take photos but the camera on the dance floor issue does need resolving.
      On our visit, we experienced a particularly bad rainstorm (and I'm English!) and the pavillion was flooded. People moved from the tables affected but it must have spoiled their night. The boats back to the Magic Kingdom were stopped and we were told buses were being laid on and someone would be at the bus stop to direct us. This didn't happen and everyone from the BBQ was stranded in the pouring rain. In 26 years of Disney visits, it is the only complaint we have ever had. We ended up getting on a hoop-dee-doo transport bus to the contemporary and then getting back to our hotel over an hour after leaving the BBQ, still soaked through. Despite my little rant though, this was not a reflection of the BBQ itself (and it was an unusually lengthy heavy downpour) so I hope it wont put people off, just make sure to take your ponchos!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GrewUpDisney

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: NC
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun August 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun Character time, great BBQ, Nice bus ride and walk through Ft. Wilderness
      Cons: Reserve early, only 2 shows per week.

       
      What an awesome time with Mickey, Minnie and the gang! This is the sort of interaction with characters your kids will love if they like dancing and getting a little crazy. We had zero (ZERO!) wait time and we arrived without our tickets at 6:30 on the dot. The show was just in its early stages and we jumped right into dancing with Chip and Dale who were right by our table. I went with local family, and we were a total of 7. My 2-yr-old daughter was danced in mommy and daddy's arms with all the characters and just had a blast. My 8-yr-old nephew, the same. There was also a photo op with Mickey and Minnie, which was awesome.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FoodieBearz

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: U.S.
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Thu August 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tons of food, ribs, free beer/wine, Mickey ice cream bars
      Cons: Can get warm in summer, loud but that is the point right?

       
      I really disagree with the people that give this a negative review. We have done it twice and had a party of 8. It is Mickey's Backyard BBQ, its not supposed to be fine dining. This is a big western themed BBQ where kids can dance with characters, adults can kick back and relax and watch the band or entertainment and eat and drink all you want. This place gives you more food than just about any other dining experience out there. The ribs were awesome (I had 4 of them) plus had a couple hot dogs which were very good and a big cheese-burger which was good (they do have cheese and toppings for burgers but it is at a separate condiment bar so some may have missed it). Plus they have chicken and lots of sides including corn on the cob, beans, salads, and the famous Disney mac & cheese. Its simple food done very well. Also, they have various ice cream choices including all you can eat Mickey Premium Bars (I had 2 of those). Also, it's all you can drink beer/wine (no other Disney venue offers that), considering all you get it is well worth the money. It is loud and can get warm in the summer time. For a late October evening, it would be perfect. So once again not sure how anyone could rate this lower than a 7 or an 8 because I think it is everything it promises to be and then some.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      klkroeger11

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Canton, Ohio
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon March 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decent food, energy, music, great for kids
      Cons: loud, not much to do for adults

       
      This is an event exclusively catering to kids and they do that in spades. This place is high energy, laugh-out-loud, rootin' tootin' fun. My 8 year old daughter talked about our experience at MBYB for the duration of our trip and then told friends for months after we got home.


      I thought the food was a decent BBQ spread with all the fixings you might expect. Plus the beer and wine come with the price (an added bonus). They play loud country music and ask kids to come join in on everything from roping to line dancing. Parents should expect to compete with other parents for photo ops. on the dance floor and with characters, but it all works out in the end. Kids love the ice cream bars and the dancing (at least my daughter did).


      Parents of toddlers and infants, beware that the music is really loud and the guests need to shout over top of that to be heard. If you were looking for a quiet family time after the parks, then this is not the place for you. But if you have a child who just can't get enough of dancing and laughing and meeting the WDW characters, this is right up your alley.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof2boys

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu January 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun for my 4 year old
      Cons: Way too long to wait to be seated

       
      My family did Mickey's BBQ in Nov 2010. We thought we would treat the boys (ages 1 & 4) to dinner with Mickey and Friends with dancing. We arrived about 1 hour before seating so we could get checked in. I did that according to the previous reviews on here.


      Well having a boy who is 1 it was way TOO much time for him to have to wait to be seated. We stood in line for about 1 hour before we finally made way to our picnic bench. What you aren't told is that you can check in at 5:30 but you will NOT be seated until 6:30 which is the time the BBQ starts. They have a few toys to occupy all the kids and my son was just beyond his limit. It made it very difficult waiting to be seated. Oh and you can't use a stroller during this wait time, you have to leave the stroller before you walk around to wait in line. So I couldn't even use that to keep him occupied.


      The food was ok and the show was fun. My 4 year old loved it. He wore his Mickey Mouse costume and loved dancing with the characters. It was very cute. My 1 year old just stayed in his high chair because if you take him out, he will not want to get back in it. What happens is that you dance with the characters, then the characters leave and they put on a show. During the show you MUST be seated. The show was interesting for my 4 year old but not for my 1 year old.


      I would recommend this show for any parent with older children. I wouldn't bring a toddler to this event because it is just too hard for them.


      We did not have a problem with transportation to and from this site because we drove a rental van. That made it much easier to come and go. We did this because a lot of people have to wait hours to leave the resort. My friend went in Nov of 2010 a week before us and had to wait over 2 hours to get to her hotel using Disney transportation. Just keep that in mind.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.