Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • hparksion

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Salem, OR
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun July 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic Package
      Cons: Long wait

       
      My DH and I did the Fantasmic dinner package here in June. We loved that it came with an appetizer (unlike regular dining plan meals)! However, we were a bit surprised that we didn't get to choose our own desserts. The desserts were brought to us on one plate, one was a cheesecake and the other was some type of chocolate hazelnut cake. We were excited to try the tiramisu so we were a little sad that we didn't get an option. Besides the dessert the meal was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      debholden

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Brevard, NC
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed June 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food
      Cons: Wait time for food/check

       
      Our trip had tons of new places we haven't ate at before and this was one of them. We did the lunch Fantsamic package (which is the way to go). The food was excellent I had the steak as well as my other "adult" children. My 3 younger children each had the spaghetti and meat sauce (which was a nice change from the chicken nuggets they ate the rest of the time). I knew the spaghetti was great because all 3 cleaned their plates! Dessert was to die for. It was chef's choice since we had 5 adults we got to sample 6 desserts. My little ones got the cupcake and it is so cute! The only negative was the fact that it took forever for the food to arrive and then for the check. Our meal time was at 12:30 and we did not leave until 2:30 pm so this isn't a quick eat and go place. It could have been that our waiter was just slow though so others may not have had this problem.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Digrins

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun June 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): dessert/Fantasmic pkg.
      Cons: Waiting for ADR

       
      Ate here for dinner in April with my DH and DD11. We arrived about 10 minutes before our ADR and ended up having the longest wait of our trip to be seated. It was our first full day so we were excited, hot and tired and there really isn't a good place to wait. Once seated, the atmosphere is nice and our CM was pleasant, but obviously busy and we ddn't see much of her. We shared the bread, caesar salad and the calamari, which was very good. DH and DD enjoyed their pizza and my gnocchi was OK. We decided we were full and were going to pass on dessert, but it was brought to the table and we devoured it! I think it was cheesecake, chocolate amaretto cake and panacotta(sp?) with fruit. We each had a fav! My birthday was noted on the reservation and there was no mention of it. (Rest of trip made up for that!!) Left happy and full and would eat here again, but there are many other places to try first. Best part was dessert and not having to wait in line for the awesome show later!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monkback2

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: camden,arkansas
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun June 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): we ate here may 28 on the dining plan. best steak ever at dw. we loved all the apps and our server was supperb
      Cons: no negatives. except crowded waiting due to rain

       
      we loved mamas and it will always be a stop for us
      Click here to see this users profile  
      undertheseas

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: mid MO
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat June 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, Fantasmic pkg
      Cons:

       
      A few years ago we didn't have the best experience so we almost didn't eat here, I'm so glad we did! The second best meal of our trip. The calamari and amaretto cake are to die for, my DH loved the seafood and I thought the steak with macaroni and cheese was heavenly. Our server Amanda was incredible. All that and great seats for Fantasmic? I'd give it a 10 except we didn't like the bread.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbald

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu June 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: none

       
      We had lunch with the Fantasmic Package. For appetizers we had salad with pecans and mozzarella with tomatoes, for the entree both had chicken parm. and we had a choc. canoli and choc. cheese cake. The food was wonderful and the service was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Willbegone

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed June 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, bread service, food
      Cons: none

       
      We dined at Mama Melrose's for the first time on June 12 for lunch. We had changed our plans and had to change ADRs and Mama's was the only thing I could get. We were pleasantly surprised! We enjoyed the bread service (a rarity at WDW) and our entrees were very good specifically my shrimp campanelle! My husband and daughter would have taken it away from had I allowed them! The top dessert at our table was the Chocolate Amarettini Cheesecake. YUM! Our service was adequate but not spectacular thus the only reason I didn't give it a 10. I've learned not to read to much into other's reviews and try places that sound good. Everyone's tastes differ and for us Mama Melrose's was YUMMY!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      zona1953

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun June 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice booth
      Cons: average food

       
      Average food, average service. NY strip steak not the best. Server seemed like a robot.
      We were on the dining plan which allows one beverage. At dessert I asked for coffee, first thing out of our servers mouth was, "YOU KNOW THAT'S AN EXTRA CHARGE!" (Yes, I knew that and I can afford it)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RKaspro877

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Buffalo, NY
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon May 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, staff, atmosphere, Fantastmic Dinining Package
      Cons: none

       
      I had lunch here on Friday, May 25, 2012 with the Fantasmic dining package. For $34.99 per person, you got an non-alcoholic drink, appetizer, entree and a dessert tray to share (almond cheesecake and chocolate cannoli cake). We had the minestrone and caesar salad for our appetizers, the steak and tuna steak for our entrees and everything was great! Our waitress was great and very friendly. This was a great dining experience!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      flyingwingding

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Norfolk, VA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun May 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent food and service
      Cons:

       
      Mama Melrose always pleases. Excellent dinner 5/22/12.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      matt6816

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed May 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic dinner package
      Cons: Salty food, under cooked pasta, dessert

       
      I think this is the best Fantasmic bang for your buck but....all of our meals were too salty. The pasta was very under cooked and what is up with the chef's choice-shared dessert. You don't pick your own dessert anymore. The chef sends out his suggestion on one plate and everyone shares it. It was a poor idea.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcgirl

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: Birmingham, Alabama
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed May 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): priority seating for fantasmic
      Cons: food and service

       
      My family ate at Mama Melrose's on March 19th, my birthday. We chose it as part of the Fantasmic Dining Package. Our server disappeared for long periods of time and was inattentive. I realize this may seem petty but it would have been nice to have my birthday recognized (with my pin front and center!). I'm not talking about a cake or song and dance, just a simple 'Happy Birthday' from someone on the staff.


      My husband ordered the steak which he did really enjoy. I had the gnocchi which were heavy and tough. The desserts were pre-plated since we were on the package and included all chocolate offerings. Since I do not like chocolate, that was a miss for me.


      Our meal lasted over 1 1/2 hours - mostly due to poor service. We had friends who ate there later that day and had a similar experience.


      Years ago I would have recommended Mama Melrose's highly, but I will likely avoid it in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sat April 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service, food
      Cons: none

       
      We did this for lunch as part of the Fantasmic! package. Food was really good and plentiful and really good service. You get tons of food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Eleina_Grace

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun April 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service; delicious food; great atmosphere
      Cons: Can get crowded

       
      Mama Melrose's is one of my favorite Disney restaurants, and I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant! For starters, the service is amazing! Our server was the sweetest man ever (he was new, too) and he knew the menu well in order to give us a few pointers on what was good. He went out of his way to make sure he explained the food, and he made me, my mom, and my niece (it was the ladies trip to Disney) feel like VIPs.


      For the atmosphere, I just love the feel of the restaurant. I loved looking up and seeing all the different things hanging from the ceiling: flamingos, grapes, lights... truly magical! This restaurant has a story to tell! When you're here, just take the time to look around and enjoy!


      Now, for the food. What didn't we eat here? My niece had cheese pizza, which we all sampled, and it was AMAZING! The sauce tasted so fresh and the cheese was melted to perfection. I had the Chicken alla Parmigiana, and wow! I've never had chicken that was as tender and juicy as this. Again, the sauce was perfection, and the spaghetti was cooked very well and tender. The chicken was so moist that my fork was the only utensil I needed to cut through it! To this day, I still remember how delicious this meal was! My mom had the Chicken Campanelle, which we all sampled, and yes, this chicken was just as tender! I even tried the broccoli-cauliflower that comes with it, and even though I am not a fan of either, I loved this because of the four-cheese sauce! We also had several appetizers, too, all of which were good. We brought some tiramisu and cheesecake back to the hotel with us, and these were great, too!


      Overall, Mama Melrose's is one of my favs! I cannot wait to head back next year when I get to go to Disney again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon April 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Always a great meal
      Cons: Can get crowded

       
      This has become our favorite restaurant in all of Walt Disney World. My wife, 12yo daughter and I ate here on April 11, 2012. We had reservations at 6:35pm, but showed up at 6PM as our party size had changed from two, to three. We were seated at 6:35PM. I had the Clams Oreginatta as my meal, my wife had the NY Strip steak, and my daughter had pasta dish. The clam dish is one of my past favorites and it did not disappoint this time – it was excellent. I’d have liked the bowl if I thought I’d get away with it. My wife’s steak was perfectly cooked, tender and flavorful – could not have been better. We will always make it a point to eat at Mamma Melrose every time we come to WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.