Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Willbegone

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed June 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, bread service, food
      Cons: none

       
      We dined at Mama Melrose's for the first time on June 12 for lunch. We had changed our plans and had to change ADRs and Mama's was the only thing I could get. We were pleasantly surprised! We enjoyed the bread service (a rarity at WDW) and our entrees were very good specifically my shrimp campanelle! My husband and daughter would have taken it away from had I allowed them! The top dessert at our table was the Chocolate Amarettini Cheesecake. YUM! Our service was adequate but not spectacular thus the only reason I didn't give it a 10. I've learned not to read to much into other's reviews and try places that sound good. Everyone's tastes differ and for us Mama Melrose's was YUMMY!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      zona1953

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun June 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice booth
      Cons: average food

       
      Average food, average service. NY strip steak not the best. Server seemed like a robot.
      We were on the dining plan which allows one beverage. At dessert I asked for coffee, first thing out of our servers mouth was, "YOU KNOW THAT'S AN EXTRA CHARGE!" (Yes, I knew that and I can afford it)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RKaspro877

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Buffalo, NY
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon May 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, staff, atmosphere, Fantastmic Dinining Package
      Cons: none

       
      I had lunch here on Friday, May 25, 2012 with the Fantasmic dining package. For $34.99 per person, you got an non-alcoholic drink, appetizer, entree and a dessert tray to share (almond cheesecake and chocolate cannoli cake). We had the minestrone and caesar salad for our appetizers, the steak and tuna steak for our entrees and everything was great! Our waitress was great and very friendly. This was a great dining experience!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      flyingwingding

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Norfolk, VA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun May 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent food and service
      Cons:

       
      Mama Melrose always pleases. Excellent dinner 5/22/12.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      matt6816

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed May 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic dinner package
      Cons: Salty food, under cooked pasta, dessert

       
      I think this is the best Fantasmic bang for your buck but....all of our meals were too salty. The pasta was very under cooked and what is up with the chef's choice-shared dessert. You don't pick your own dessert anymore. The chef sends out his suggestion on one plate and everyone shares it. It was a poor idea.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcgirl

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: Birmingham, Alabama
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed May 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): priority seating for fantasmic
      Cons: food and service

       
      My family ate at Mama Melrose's on March 19th, my birthday. We chose it as part of the Fantasmic Dining Package. Our server disappeared for long periods of time and was inattentive. I realize this may seem petty but it would have been nice to have my birthday recognized (with my pin front and center!). I'm not talking about a cake or song and dance, just a simple 'Happy Birthday' from someone on the staff.


      My husband ordered the steak which he did really enjoy. I had the gnocchi which were heavy and tough. The desserts were pre-plated since we were on the package and included all chocolate offerings. Since I do not like chocolate, that was a miss for me.


      Our meal lasted over 1 1/2 hours - mostly due to poor service. We had friends who ate there later that day and had a similar experience.


      Years ago I would have recommended Mama Melrose's highly, but I will likely avoid it in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sat April 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service, food
      Cons: none

       
      We did this for lunch as part of the Fantasmic! package. Food was really good and plentiful and really good service. You get tons of food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Eleina_Grace

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun April 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service; delicious food; great atmosphere
      Cons: Can get crowded

       
      Mama Melrose's is one of my favorite Disney restaurants, and I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant! For starters, the service is amazing! Our server was the sweetest man ever (he was new, too) and he knew the menu well in order to give us a few pointers on what was good. He went out of his way to make sure he explained the food, and he made me, my mom, and my niece (it was the ladies trip to Disney) feel like VIPs.


      For the atmosphere, I just love the feel of the restaurant. I loved looking up and seeing all the different things hanging from the ceiling: flamingos, grapes, lights... truly magical! This restaurant has a story to tell! When you're here, just take the time to look around and enjoy!


      Now, for the food. What didn't we eat here? My niece had cheese pizza, which we all sampled, and it was AMAZING! The sauce tasted so fresh and the cheese was melted to perfection. I had the Chicken alla Parmigiana, and wow! I've never had chicken that was as tender and juicy as this. Again, the sauce was perfection, and the spaghetti was cooked very well and tender. The chicken was so moist that my fork was the only utensil I needed to cut through it! To this day, I still remember how delicious this meal was! My mom had the Chicken Campanelle, which we all sampled, and yes, this chicken was just as tender! I even tried the broccoli-cauliflower that comes with it, and even though I am not a fan of either, I loved this because of the four-cheese sauce! We also had several appetizers, too, all of which were good. We brought some tiramisu and cheesecake back to the hotel with us, and these were great, too!


      Overall, Mama Melrose's is one of my favs! I cannot wait to head back next year when I get to go to Disney again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon April 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Always a great meal
      Cons: Can get crowded

       
      This has become our favorite restaurant in all of Walt Disney World. My wife, 12yo daughter and I ate here on April 11, 2012. We had reservations at 6:35pm, but showed up at 6PM as our party size had changed from two, to three. We were seated at 6:35PM. I had the Clams Oreginatta as my meal, my wife had the NY Strip steak, and my daughter had pasta dish. The clam dish is one of my past favorites and it did not disappoint this time – it was excellent. I’d have liked the bowl if I thought I’d get away with it. My wife’s steak was perfectly cooked, tender and flavorful – could not have been better. We will always make it a point to eat at Mamma Melrose every time we come to WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Robin

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri April 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food quality
      Cons:

       
      We ate here on 4/7. It was crowded and people without reservations were being turned away. We waited 15 minutes past our adr time, but she warned us that might happen when we checked in.
      My husband got the chicken parmagiana, I got the wood grilled tuna, my daughter got the caesar salad and my son got the margherita flatbread. We got an appetizer of mozzarella and tomatoes that was so good and went so fast we got another order of it!
      Everyone enjoyed their food immensely. I'd not had a tuna steak before and it was wonderful. My husband raved about his chicken.
      For dessert I got the chocolate ameretinni (sp?) cheesecake and my kids both got the chocolate cannoli cake with nutella ganache. My daughter loves nutella so she was in heaven.
      We did not do the dining plan this trip and really limited our table service meals, and this was a great choice...I didn't feel bad that my daughter just got a salad, or that we got two appetizers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyGirl4802

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great waiter
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here on March 23 for a early dinner. Our waiter Kevin was wonderful! The food was excellent and a nice surprise. My 2 year old neice was with us and Kevin paid her extra attention. Since she wasn't on the dining plan for being under the age. He brought her a fresh bowl of fruit and ice cream at the end. This was the best service we had the whole time we were there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcg

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent service, good food and ambience
      Cons:

       
      We arrived early for our ressie and were seated quickly. Our server, Barbara, was just perfect! She had a great, sharp and witty personality and has been there for over ten years. Barbara was very attentive without being intrusive, we would definitely ask for her again. The menu has been updated and the chicken parm, grilled chicken flatbread and margherita flatbread were all served hot, fresh and delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LauraD

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Lenoir City, TN
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Ate here on 2/16/12; Karly was our server and helped tremendously in finding us something on the menu we would like. We had chicken campenelle and potato gnocchi -- both delicious. For dessert, I had pound cake and DH had the chocolate cake with nutella filling -- he said it was the best dessert he had all week. We will eat here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Thu February 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here on Feb 9th for dinner. We did not like MM back in 2005 when we ate there but decided to try it again. We are so glad we did. The food was very good. My husband had steak and liked his meal. I had the chicken campanelle and it was so good. My husband even ate half my plate and he is not a pasta eater. It was one of his favorite meals in WDW. Our daughter had the kids pizza and liked it. The kids loved their spaghetti and meatball cupcake. It was huge and they could not eat the whole thing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rsfan

      Registered: August 2007
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Tue January 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, reasonably priced entress
      Cons: waiting area

       
      Four adults ate here for dinner on our arrival day. As has been posted, the interior waiting space is woefully inadequate. This would be mitigated if they used an electronic beeper/buzzer system like every TGIF's in the country. Instead, the servers pick up slips and announce a name in a voice barely above a whisper. If no response, they wander in and out of the restaurant searching for the party. Luckily, we got seats right in front of the podium so were able to hear our name called.


      We were seated about 10 minutes after our ADR, not a big deal. We stuck with the flatbreads. Thumbs up on the wild mushroom arugala and margherita; big thumbs up on the carne d'italia. It was spicy and flavorful. Girls shared the panna cotta with good reaction. Only thing not great was the caesar salad; it had a ton of anchovy oil on it that overpowered all other flavors. This may be closer to what an authentic caesar salad should taste like but it was too much. Service was excellent. We would look forward to returning.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.