Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • bethocindigo

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu October 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Star-Wars themed souvenier steins, waffles, and desserts!
      Cons: quite crowded at lunch

       
      We purchased a 'Boba Fet' souvenier stein, the BB8 Lemon Cupcake, and the Chocolate Chewbacca Specialty cupcakes. I was pleasantly surprised that the BB8 one was SUPER-delicious and smoothe flavored.


      Tables are all over inside and out but be aware that it gets INSANELY crowded during lunch times. To break up the monotony, we noticed that there was an incredibly-bouncy cast member periodically awarding free food surprises randomly through the crowd. That was lots of fun to watch and worked well keeping people's spirits up through the NUTTY lunch rush.


      We LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT and will definitely be back. Just know that this place is tucked right across Star Tours and at the end of the Indiana Jones Show exit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A great air conditioned spot.
      Cons:

       
      The food was much better than last time we were here. The meal was large enough to share.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tanasigirl

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Vadar waffles!
      Cons: Noisy

       
      We ate here on September 16, 2016, during a monsoon (e.g. normal Florida evening). The Darkside Chicken and Waffles were fine. Usual chicken fingers, but the Vadar waffles were too cute. Portion size was good and my hubby and split it as a snack.


      It is a partly open-air restaurant, so it tends to be noisy. Metal chairs constantly dragged across tile floors and such, but the theming is fun if you take the time to look around - a storage area for movie props.


      Unfortunately many of the tables were taken by people not eating, but just avoiding the rain, so that was a bit inconvenient. But all in all, if you are looking for a quick bite, it is just that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rsfan

      Registered: August 2007
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Sun June 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cool, quiet, good selection
      Cons:

       
      We ate here twice on our recent visit. One time had a kids meal with two fruit sides; the next, the salad with chicken with avocado-cilantro dressing. This comes with a very thin wheat tortilla printed with R2D2 icons (cute). The salad was of high quality. My wife had the Dark Side chicken and waffles. The waffles were standard Mickey waffles but the fried boneless chicken consisted of white breast meat--significantly better than typical nuggets. An added bonus is the refillable soda which is a Godsend on hot days.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Warner

      Registered: May 2016
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed May 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good
      Cons: Very hard to find a seat

       
      We went and it was VERY crowded. The line was out the door and we waited 10-15 just to order. Then, after we finally ordered, we had to search the entire restaurant for a table. We searched for a while until we found these people who were almost done. We still had to wait on them for a little bit though. By the time we finally sat down our food was pretty much cold and stale. However, we had been there in previous visits and the food was pretty good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinkiebell

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Alexandria, VA
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon November 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of seating indoors or outdoors, decent food
      Cons:

       
      I hit this in mid-afternoon between meals, so it was relatively quiet and not too busy. My burger was large and very good! Enough to share if I hadn't been so hungry. Other meals we've gotten there have been satisfying as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cstauffer1

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Sun November 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): not just burgers, condiments
      Cons: food quality

       
      We grabbed a couple meals here as an afternoon snack. The bacon cheeseburger meal was your standard Disney burger i.e. frozen beef patty that has been slightly warmed on a griddle with minimal seasoning and upon receiving you smother it with whatever condiments that are to your liking. The grilled turkey and cheese sandwich on multigrain bread was good, but would have been much better with some sort of herb dressing/sauce. However the highlight of both meals was the crispy, well seasoned french-fries that accompanied both meals and the chocolate mousse and strawberry parfait were tasty as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mindylee847

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Mon March 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious Veggie Sandwich, Lots of Seating
      Cons:

       
      I had the Grilled Veggie Sandwich on February 27th, 2015 with carrots as my side and apples slices for dessert. This was hands down, one of the best sandwiches I had the entire week. It tasted almost like a pizza, but even better. There was plenty of seating and the line moved quickly. I definitely recommend grabbing a bite to eat here.


      The carrots were kind of bleh but they do have ranch cups and you get a hefty portion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 77
      Review Date: Tue November 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Burgers
      Cons:

       
      We tend to always end up at Backlot Express when we are at Hollywood Studios. We really like the burgers. It can get busy, but we didn't have any trouble finding a table. Since we are always using the dining plan, I like that you can get the seasonal cupcake as a desert instead of the usual pre-packaged cakes.


      The only negative we experienced was that several of the sodas in the machine nearest our table were out of syrup. I told a CM working and she said she would take care of it. We ate our entire meal and went to get soda refills and they still had not been changed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons:

       
      This is the second time we ate here & not much has changed since 2012. The food is your basic QS, burgers, nuggets. I had the bacon cheeseburger, it was a little bland. DH had the turkey sandwich, he thought it was good. The kids all had nuggets, which were okay. They only had one condiments bar open which people continually tried to use. I hate to admit I kind of enjoyed watching people trying to get ice & drinks from a station that had 2 signs explaining that they needed to go down the ramp to get drinks & condiments.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      3leggedtable

      Registered: June 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality of the food.
      Cons: Seating

       
      Our party of 9 ate here August 24, 2014. Everyone was pleased with their meal. We ordered 4 gluten free meals; chicken salad, hot dog on a bun with fries, turkey sandwich and a vegetable sandwich. They were all very good. For dessert we were offered a gluten free brownie or cookie, they were just o.k.


      Our children ordered chicken strip and cheese burgers, but the dessert was the real star of their meals. They had beautiful Frozen decorated cupcakes.


      The free drink refills is another huge plus at this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome "Frozen" cupcakes
      Cons: Condiment bars and soda fountains closed

       
      I stopped in for dinner around 6:30pm on 8/13. The lines were on the long side but moved steadily. I ordered the Angus Bacon Cheeseburger with fries for an entree. For dessert options, they had three types of Frozen cupcakes; I chose the Olaf carrot cake one, which came with an adorable white chocolate Olaf on top of the frosting.


      While it was relatively easy to find seating in one of the side rooms, I was disappointed to find that despite being open until 8:30, many of the condiment and plastic-ware bars, as well as the soda fountains, in all but the main room had already been closed down.


      The burger was fine, just what I wanted. The cupcake was amazing though! So soft and not at all dry. I believe they are available at all DHS QS locations for the time being.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      For a quick service this is good. Food is decent and quickly served. They had Star Wars cupcakes as a dessert option on our dining plan and they were wonderful!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dfan79

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Cupcakes
      Cons:

       
      Backlot is a good place to eat because of the entrees, cupcakes and atmosphere. I like it so much I've been there 3 times. The last time I got Chicken Nuggets during my visit and they were really good. Exactly what you would expect them to be. The thing that made the meal so great though was the dessert. The Chocolate Cherry Cupcake that came with my meal was amazing. The cupcake is mostly chocolate with a cherry filling. It's a specialty cupcake, so it is only available at certain times of the year. Other times of year they might have a Lemon Meringue or a Strawberry Cupcake.


      I also like the theme of the place, it looks like an old movie prop warehouse. There’s random props all over the place like the Toon Patrol car from Roger Rabbit, a mini sub, statues, paintings, etc. Even the toppings bar looks like a red tool chest. Plus there’s a refill machine in case you want to fill up before you leave and since I’m cheap/thrifty I always do.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenniemouse

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue January 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ok place
      Cons: not the best food

       
      Very crowded and hard to find a seat. Bread on my sandwich was burnt. Limited choices for kids on dining plan. Hubs had a burger it was fine. Nothing great. Fun to watch Jedi show.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.