Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • crazystamperjill

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat September 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location!
      Cons: Age/Condition of accommodations

       
      Before I start my review I'd like to make clear that we are HUGE Disney fans -- we visit at least once a year. Two years ago we actually stayed 4 times in 11 months. We truly love all things DISNEY, so to place this review breaks my heart, but I feel I have to share.


      As always, the Magic Express was a pleasure to use and the cast members we encountered during our week stay were all lovely to deal with.


      My significant other and I stayed in a one-bedroom villa at the Boardwalk on a timeshare trade in late August/early September. The villa was our best view yet -- front and center of the fabulous Luna Park Pool area. We had a large balcony, which you could access from the bedroom or living room. Awesome, right?


      Upon check-in we noticed some small issues but nothing serious enough to warrant a call to the front desk. (broken bi-fold door to the laundry closet and a broken seal on the refrigerator door).


      The location of the Boardwalk Inn/Villas is second to none with the beautiful oldtime look of the Boardwalk, restaurants, entertainment, etc., it really is just great. Sadly, our last 2 visits to the Villas were not up to our (or Disney's) standards. Perhaps it's a property management issue? My complaint is with the bathroom. This time their was MOLD everywhere in the tile shower. If you've stayed there you're familiar with the corner shower set up and how there's a partial wall/half glass window in the shower -- well this is where I first encountered the mold -- where the glass window meets the the ledge -- both inside and outside the shower. After bending down to retrieve the shower gel I dropped, I then saw more mold splotches all over the tile/grout near the shower door.


      Understand that this truly would be unacceptable to me at any hotel chain, but I really feel like I shouldn't even have to think about cleanliness while staying at a DELUXE Disney property. And my biggest problem is, if the shower is outwardly moldly, what else hasn't been cleaned/sanitized appropriately before my checking in? Scary thought, huh?


      I can't express how unhappy we were with this -- a moldy shower -- again. I kept seeing the young families at the pool thinking I could NEVER bathe my small children in that bathroom!


      After seeing the quarter size mold spots in the shower early that first morning, I did stop by the front desk to see what they could do about it and they assured me housekeeping would be in asap to take care of it. Well, Housekeeping did come in -- they left fresh soaps/shampoo products, refilled our towels and took our trash (none of this was needed as we had been there less than 24 hours at this point) and did nothing to rectify the mold situation in the shower. The second disappointment came when no one from the Villas staff followed up with us to see if the problem had been rectified. As this was our second stay at the Villas in 2 years and the second time we had a mold issue in the shower I have to imagine they knew it wasn't taken care of and didn't want to deal with an unhappy guest. Our arrival was at the beginning of Labor Day weekend and they seemed to be at capacity, so perhaps they didn't have the option of moving us elsewhere.


      Do we LOVE the location of the Boardalk and all the entertainmenet, etc., is has to offer? You bet we do! But sadly I think this was the last time we'll be staying at the Boardwalk Inn/Villas.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xxjess10

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of villa, kitchenette, laundry facilities in room, proximity to DHS and Epcot
      Cons: Only one toilet/shower

       
      We LOVE the Boardwalk! After staying in the Inn for many years, we decided to try a villa as non-DVC members. It did not disappoint! We quickly got used to the kitchen that we used to house our breakfast and snacks, and we constantly used the washer/dryer that is in the villa. Our villa provided us with a viewing of Fantasmic and the Frozen fireworks, which we watched almost every night! We liked the DVC pool that was just a short walk from our room, although we prefer the Inn's quiet pool. The Boardwalk in general just helped us feel at home, from the "movies on the beach", to the delicious treats at the bakery, and more. We are sure to come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emix

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jersey Shore
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat April 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, location
      Cons: none

       
      Our stay at the Boardwalk Villas (4/12 to 4/19) was excellent! We had a one bedroom that was clean and comfortable and you can not beat a boardwalk view!
      The staff here is friendly and helpful. Our magic bands were a pleasant surprise too. No more fumbling around in bags or pockets to look for your key/card.
      I do wish there were some different choices in restaurants but perhaps that will happen in the near future. ESPN is our go to place for good food and a fun atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 218
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Extremely friendly and helpful staff, amazing room location, huge villa
      Cons: One elevator bank, lack of breakfast options, light over the table

       
      I have always wanted to stay at the Boardwalk and through a random series of events and delayed flights, my friend and I were given the opportunity to stay in a villa for one night, 3/29-3/30, courtesy of a DVC member friend.


      The reservation was booked and transferred to my name about an hour before we arrived. Upon arrival to the resort around 8pm, there was no line at the check in desk. Christine at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, despite battling a case of the hiccups! She printed us a rare Key to the World card, since our Magic Bands could not be linked to the hotel reservation, as it had originally been booked by someone else.


      James at the Lobby Concierge desk tried his best to link my current Magic Band to the reservation, but eventually I deemed it too much of a hassle for a 14 hour reservation and told them we'd just use the KTTW card. James was able to print my Magical Express voucher with no problem.


      We were assigned studio 4050. Thankfully it was not too far from the elevator bank-I can't believe there's one bank for the entire villas building! This turned out to be a wheelchair accessible/hearing impaired room, so it was larger than usual, which I originally attributed to it being on an angle in the building. It was certainly larger than similar studios I've stayed in at Kidani Village and the Beach Club Villas. We had an amazing view of Luna Park Pool, with Tower of Terror and the Earful Tower in the background.


      I slept in the bed and found it very comfortable; my friend took the pullout couch and had no complaints. I went out to the pool, and could hear Fantasmic. There were maybe five other people swimming at that time. Alice in Wonderland was playing on a blowup screen. I love the slide at the Boardwalk, and I also indulged in the hot tub for a few minutes.


      I really appreciated the little things, like a soap dish for hand soap in the vanity area, which was not available at All Star Movies. I didn't like the low hanging light above the table; it was so low that I (and room service) hit my head on it when standing up.


      The lack of breakfast options was disappointing. I ended up ordering room service, and the continental breakfast was very good. I loved sitting on the balcony, sipping hot chocolate and watching the resort wake up.


      I left my bags with bell services for a short while before my Magical Express pick up. Mousekeeping was so patient with me when I ran back up to the room twice: once because I forgot my bag of confectionary treats in the fridge and once because I realized I'd left my treasured Mickey ring on the nightstand.


      This resort was everything I hoped it would be and I would not hesitate to stay there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Tue February 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Dining choices
      Cons: Long Hallways

       
      We stayed in a deluxe studio for two nights starting February 11, 2014. We are DVC members and stayed on points. We used on-line check in from my tablet while we were in the airport. Check in was quick as we already had our Magic Bands and had previously made our FastPass+ selection. If you don’t do this before check-in, you will be at the front desk for a while.


      Our room had a queen bed and a sleeper sofa. The bed was firmer than I, or my wife likes, but for two nights it was OK. The bathroom was very clean as was the kitchenette and the rest of the room. The resorts best feature is its location – you can walk to Epcot or DHS. We enjoyed our stay and would gladly come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sparky

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat February 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location to Epcot and Hollywood Studio
      Cons: lots of ware /long walk to fill mug/no heat in pool/dirty stairwells

       
      We have in the past stayed at Animal Kingdom Lodge, Wilderness Lodge Villa's, Saratoga Springs Villa's and Beach Club Villa's. Comparing Beach Club (since so close) to Boardwalk we would stay at Beach Club again and not Boardwalk. Rooms were nicer, mug refill's very close to rooms, Pools nicer and working order. The parking lot at Beach Club was a lot more user friendly vs Boardwalk which appears more oriented to valet parking instead of regular parking and it was quite a walk to your car if you needed it. We stayed 9 days at the end of January the private pool heater was broke the entire stay. And the heated pool closed to early to use it. Very disappointing for as many trips we have taken and this resort was not up to our expectations. Also if you go to Downtown Disney from this resort you will stop at Swan, Dolphin, Beach Club and Yacht Club and are on the bus forever. It is a major plus being able to walk to Epcot and Hollywood Studio's and that is why we booked in this location. We asked for a pool view and we had a huge tree that was directly in front of the pool. Since we have been to other resorts that is why we are stating this one was a disappointment since we know there are better places to stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location
      Cons: very few

       
      Stayed in a studio from 1/18 - 1/26. Expected a garden view but the room ended up overlooking the Village Green and a small part of the boardwalk. We had a room right off the lobby so that meant it was just a short walk out to the boardwalk, laundry and pool area.
      Walked to Epcot everyday. The walk to HS was about 15 minutes, which is insignificant when you figure how much walking you're doing in any given day at Disney.
      Only cons: Since the room was on the 2nd floor and near a service entrance, we heard quite a few loud, rumbly carts being rolled in and out. Sometimes very early in the morning.
      The DTD bus was a direct drop off for Boardwalk but on the way home, Boardwalk is the last stop after Swan, Dolphin, Yacht & Beach. One night it took nearly an hour because there was also a driver shift change required.
      The pros far outweigh the cons though. We'd definitely stay again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, cast members,
      Cons:

       
      Our family of 6 stayed 12/29/13 - 1/4/14. We are DVC members and this is our home resort so we stay here frequently. First and foremost, you can not beat the location especially when it is prime season. I love not having to wait for transportation to 2 of the parks. We thought the cast members were wonderful, always willing to help. This is a big improvement from our last few trips. We loved the recently renovated bakery. The service and food was outstanding!!! For those not wanting to walk down there the Bellevue Lounge is easy to get to and never crowded. It doesn't offer nearly as much as the bakery but it is great for snacks and drink refills. Our only complaints are the lack of storage space in the rooms and the lack of a full length mirror. ( I have 3 girls!) I highly recommend staying here! We love it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons:

       
      Booked a 4 night stay in a studio room through Disney’s reservation system, it was cheaper than the Boardwalk Inn and the room had a small fridge, microwave, sink, plates and glasses. The room was large and had a queen sized bed and pull out sofa. The bathroom was very large, but was lacking storage space. The rooms at the Villa appear to be better soundproofed than at the regular resorts, we rarely heard our neighbors and never heard slamming doors or running toilets that we usually hear at the other resorts. As others have posted, there needs to be a mug refill station closer to the resort than the Boardwalk Bakery. After a long day at the park, we usually didn’t feel like walking to the bakery, but the hot chocolate was nice to have on chilly mornings.
      The walk to Epcot and Hollywood Studios made this location idea, DHS is about a 10 minute walk and Epcot even shorter. The boardwalk has plenty of entertainment outside the parks for kids and adults and it’s nice to be able to walk to a restaurant without worrying about catching a bus. Speaking of buses, we never had to wait too long for a bus to the other parks and Downtown Disney, but the buses were often standing room only. The ride back from DTD took over 40 minutes, since Boardwalk was the last stop.
      All the cast members we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The concierge desk printed out our boarding passes and provided helpful information about checking out and directions to the parks and bus stop.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jessicahs

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, ammenities
      Cons: showing some wear

       
      My parents, husband and DD stayed in a 1 bedroom DVC villa from 10/31 until 11/9. Room #2100. Great location, friendly staff, immaculate pool and Community Hall. The room we had was showing some wear - a missing drawer handle that we called about was never fixed during our stay. Fridge door was wonky and didn't shut right. Very minor things. Overall a great resort that we enjoyed very much and are happy to call HOME!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      lisacast

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri October 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Location, Location
      Cons: Pool noise

       
      This was the very first time as a DVC member. My husband, four teenaged daughters and I stayed in a Two bedroom pool view room 8-17-8-24. I loved the full kitchen and laundry. The rooms were huge. There was plenty of room for all of us. I read a great deal about how long the hallways were in Boardwalk. I noticed but it didn't seem to bother any of us. Room was clean and well kept. No issues with any part of the stay in the afternoons the pool would be loud but never in the morning or night. I would recommend this place to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thenardier1500

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Room Decor, Transportation
      Cons: Lack of counter service options, bathroom setup

       
      We had a really lovely 2 bedroom preferred view villa from 8/23 - 8/30. The room was quite nice, although I think I definitely prefer the room layout at Bay Lake Tower, our home resort. There were only 4 in our group, so having 2 bathrooms between the 4 of us wasn't a major deal. With a full villa, though, I could foresee problems. My other issue with the bathroom was the way they were laid out. I took the master bedroom, and shared that bath with my friend in the middle room. Not having a door between the bedroom and the vanity area caused a bit of a privacy issue one night, when the shutters were open by the whirlpool tub.


      The location here is great. The walk to EPCOT was as easy as you could imagine. We didn't try the walk to Hollywood Studios, but opted for the boat. It felt a bit tedious, with 2 stops between us and Hollywood Studios, but it was otherwise ok. The busses were much the same, having to always stop at Swan and Dolphin or Yacht and Beach. But, for me, the transportation at WDW is always a recurring issue. So many stops along the way most times.


      The atmosphere was great at the Boardwalk. The entertainment was wonderful. We ate at Kouzzina, which I always recommend. We tried the Bakery twice. The first time, the service was absolutely terrible, and one cast member was about as useless as you could imagine. The 2nd time was much improved.


      All in all, I definitely recommend the Boardwalk Villas. It wasn't my first choice for the past trip, but we won't hesitate to return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjcat98

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue August 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very nice accomadations
      Cons: did not notify us when the room was ready

       
      We arrived at 2pm told our room would be ready in 1/2 hour, never notified us by phone like they said, had to go to the reception desk to get our room keys at 4:00! staff was nice and room was excellent, will not try to check in before 4 pm again and won't use their phone notification that the room is ready they didn't use it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdnwebster

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Tue August 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, view, ambience, clean
      Cons: a bit noisy on the Boardwalk

       
      I was really concerned about staying here with the mixed reviews. I absolutely loved this resort. We "resort hopped" 3 times on this trip and this place was my favorite. May consider buying points here in the near future. Wish we had more than one night here. Only complaint was the noise at bedtime, easily fell asleep to be awakened at 4:30 by what sounded like either an empty garbage container or laundry cart being moved. Earplugs would solve this and I'd be willing to wear them for this location!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Peglmt

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Long Island, NY
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, room size, dining options, kitchenette
      Cons: 5 resorts sharing 1 bus, size of main pool relative to size of resort

       
      Stayed here on rented points in Sept of '12. We are used to staying at Animal Kingdom Lodge in a Savanna view room so we were worried if we would be happy at the Boardwalk. We worried for nothing we LOVED the Boardwalk Villas! The room had a nice homey feel with plenty of room for my husband and I and we enjoyed having the kitchenette for a quick breakfast. Our room was directly over Wyland Galleries which to the left gave us a view of the boat dock Crescent Lake and the Yacht and Beach Club resorts. Loved having the option to either walk or take a boat to Epcot and Hollywood Studios.
      As much as we loved the resort it isn't without its flaws. For me the worst was having to share a bus with the Yacht & Beach Club and Swan & Dolphin resorts. For the price people pay to stay at these resorts to be packed onto a bus like cattle is inexcusable.
      I have to agree with other posters who noted the lack of a counter service restaurant within the resort as being a con. Yes there are numerous dining choices on the Boardwalk itself but it would be nice to be able to get a quick bite to eat without having to go outside and walk a bit.
      For my husband and I the pros of this resort far outweigh the cons and we will be staying here again next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.