Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    mde.JPG


    mde.JPG
    supersize









    • Pin It


    • My Disney Experience

      • Reviews Views
        17 7138
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        82% of reviewers 6.5
      • Description: Plan your trip to WDW, make dining reservations, obtain FastPass+ and more.


  • Author
    • Heintd

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue April 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All info in one place
      Cons: System was down periodically

       
      I basically LOVED this! I used to have to print/write down ADR confirmation numbers/ and my husband was constantly running around with our park passes to get fastpasses at the various machines. This is so much better - had the day planned out and changing fastpass times was very easy with my resident teenager. Also was able to get a last minute Chef Mickey reservation while we were waiting on the runway for the gate to open in Orlando! Very cool - we hadn't been able to get a reservation earlier, so someone must have cancelled. Love the wait times as well. This made the whole vacation so much more organized!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: new york
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu April 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): able to make fastpass+ res or changes w/o waiting in line
      Cons:

       
      I used the web site to make fast pass+ res before arrival. Making them was no problem, but sometimes when I would check them another day, I would get a message saying it couldn't locate them, but they were on the phone app. When I went back to the web site again, they were there. I changed some fast pass+ res while in the park. Using the phone app. to change only the experience or time is easy, but I don't know if you can change both if no experiences are available for the exact time. Is there a way to see ahead of time what times are available for something, before you decide to change it. I also like being able to check wait times when I am home with the phone app, just to see what the wait times are in Disney World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I didn't really have any problems with the app itself or the website. It was easy to make and change dining reservations, check hotel info, and link admission tickets. Even the FP+ stuff was easy, but whether or not anything was actually available was another story.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 74
      Review Date: Sat March 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): has lots of info
      Cons: needs some streamlining

       
      Took me a while to navigate through when making fastpasses. Needs to be more user friendly with less steps involved. Dining ressies were done more easily. Could never tell whether my passes and ressies were linked because half the time it said their server was busy. Had to call Disney myself to see if everything was linked. This, as well as Fast Pass + needs some tweaking.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Mon March 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything WDW at your fingertips
      Cons: None

       
      Please do not confuse this stellar review with my opinion of Fastpass+ - it stinks (see my review of FP+). But the app and webpage are great. Lots of info - including wait times. I had no problems with accessing MDE on my smartphone - well, a couple of times but generally always had a good connection. I changed my Fastpass+ selections several times - you only have poor choices anyway (don't get me started!).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ckerr

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu February 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Links everything together
      Cons: difficult to change some information

       
      I recently just changed my daughter's profile on my Disney Experience friends and family page and even though my daughter is 9 and her birthday is correct, when I put in her birthday updated my reservation details on the my Disney experience page to show her age as 14......since when does 2004 to 2014 equal 14 years? Once you put in someone's birthday you can not change it, you need to sit on hold waiting for tech support to change it. I enjoy that my Disney Experience allows you to link everything for your vacation together in one place, but it would be nice if it was a little easier to update information....especially when the system's calendar is a little confused on it's years. Still super excited for my daughter's first visit to Disney World in April!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TuckMan

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue February 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Linking Tickets, Reservations to Wristband at Home
      Cons: App Has lots of glitches in park use

       
      The website was a little awkward, but it was nice to be able to link plans, tickets and reservations ahead of time. This part worked pretty well.


      The newly released app is much better than the previous app, which was almost useless. I think the system gets a little overloaded in the park on busy days though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can Book things from home
      Cons: Face burried in the phone at the parks

       
      At home the system worked perfect linking reservations and booking Fastpasses. At the parks not so much. If you want to make a change you have to log on to the Disney wi-fi that is full of other people doing the same thing. I come on vacation to unplug from the world, not bury my face in a phone for a week.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 132
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I really do not like this application. At home it is OK, but I often have to log on multiple times and it does not seem to take you back to where you were. It could be me, but I find that I have to keep going back to the beginning and selecting a topic instead of just being able to do all my dining or fastpass, etc., at one time.


      The worst though is at the parks. There is often not enough of a signal to do anything and you get errors trying to reschedule things. I tried really hard to cancel some fast passes that we were not going to use, but just gave up. Too much time staring at my phone instead of participating with my family. This needs to be fixed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MouseDaddy

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Darien, Il
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat January 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Phone app; MagicBands
      Cons: Family/Friends; Kids can't share;site glitches

       
      Great concept and we utilized MDE and MagicBands on our latest trip. I had downloaded the MDE phone app quite a while ago. Was excited to setup MBs, park tickets, dining res etc. Encountered site issue immediately with Family/Friends list. Somehow all identified as "Family" got duplicated as "Friends". Once I got that straightened out system was relatively easy to use to set up itinerary, link info to MBs etc.


      So I get my family established and system advises me to invite them all. But each individual has to set up their own MDE account in order to link/share with me and system will not allow my 12 yo twins to build their own account. So I can't share any info with them, then can't participate in the sharing/planning aspect of app.


      System also wouldn't allow me to establish FP+ for my wife or kids. Party of 6 but I could only secure FP+ for three of us. We had been given a number of complimentary 1 day park tickets and I linked those to MB's. Was advised by cast member that paper, comp tickets won't link to MB correctly. Probably explains why I could establish FP+ for those individuals of my party. But it would have been nice if the MDE site advised me of those comp tix limitations so I could have addressed the issue prior to our trip.


      Finally, once I got F&F list established, all ticket & res info linked etc., when I would try to add a res or activity to the itinerary, the system would prompt me to log in and establish my F&F list. So I had to resave all my F&F info before I could make each change/addition. Very aggravating to have to repeat steps over & over.


      I like the idea...I'd be willing to try it again...but they need to work out the kinks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dianamagoon
      FLGatorMom

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to Navigate
      Cons: Always have to sign back in, not easy to change ADR

       
      I am planning a family trip (husband, 2 kids, and in-laws) to WDW in Feb and decided to use My Disney Experience to organize the trip. I'm an event planner by nature (and I also have a degree in event management) plus I did a TON of research before starting to plan the trip. I had already started a huge, multi-tab spreadsheet for this trip before I got onto the site.


      What I don't like:
      > When I'm on the site and try to change ADR, I have to delete the existing one and then make a new one (even if I just want to add someone). Also, the site will make me log back in frequently when trying to navigate back to (my) home page.
      > When you go to the "Find Things To Do" section, I was able to click on items but couldn't not get them added to my main page. The only things you seem to be able to add are ones that have a time assigned (parades, ADR, etc.) This could have been user error but I'm usually pretty good about figuring this stuff out and have not been able to do so. I do not want to spend my time in the parks navigating between different pages on my cell phone and would just like it all in one place.


      What I do like:
      > Our first night in town we are having dinner @ Raglan Road with friends who live in Orlando. I was able to add them to my "friends & family" section and assign each person a Disney Character. I don't know if it's something ADR has always offered but I loved the ability to make my father-in-law Goofy and my best friend Ariel.
      > It is nice to see all of my (timed) plans on one page. I can log in and see what day we have reservations and where so it's easier to plan the day around that.


      Overall, I think it's a good site but could use a little more tweaking. We are staying a POP Century and have not been invited to use the MagicBands yet. I am hoping that they will be available for our trip.


      The FastPass+ system does concern me a bit. It just seems so restrictive. I'm travelling with my children (5 & 7/boys) and I don't want to have to plan our rides weeks in advance. As another post mentioned, what happens if it rains and we have to adjust our park plans for the day? I am making a park plan for each day but trying to leave it flexible in case we want to make changes, for any reason. I'm actually hoping we can't use the FastPass+ system and then it won't be an issue.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NJDzneMom

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Convenient
      Cons: Server and Error Messages

       
      Love this app! We used it constantly during our trip to see our daily plan (fast pass and reservation times), check wait times and find out where characters were. Making changes during the day was a little tricky...instructions were not overly clear. And there were some technical issues such as delays in opening or changing screens and error messages.
      As a suggestion, I wish Disney would add functionality to change dining reservation times like you can with fastpasses. Maybe a future enhancement??
      I think this will be an even better tool as Disney continues to work out the kinks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rhart4god

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue October 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good concept, parts of it worked great and as expected
      Cons: computer related messes, hard to straighten out

       
      My family stayed at Pop Century 09/23-30/2013 and we used the mydisneyexperience app with fast passes and the magic bands. We've been to Disney many times with never any lasting negative experiences! This time, however, well, it was just un-Disneylike. MyDisneyExperience is a great concept, but while it accepted the links for my sons' and sister's reservations, it never let me do anything with it, saying it needed to be linked and when I tried to link it, it said it was already linked (frustrating!) It doesn't show any non-dining reservations (Pirate's League, Bibbidy Bobbidy Boutique, etc.) Once at the resort, our rooms were not in the same buildings, our dining credits were continually messed up (at the end of the week, we had 6 full table service credits for our grandson, who ate at all the same meals as the rest of us! Now, that was to our credit, but the rest of the mistakes were not beneficial at all! Having to wait at the restaurants after meals to have the manager call our resort and correct over the phone or pay for the meal with our credit card and hope to correct it later.) Fastpasses were booked through mydisneyexperience app ahead of time. And, as is often the case, we spent days at different parks than originally planned but the kiosk at the park to book fastpasses, wouldn't let us change it there, we had to find a computer or do it on our smartphone. Kind of a hassle. To add insult to injury, my grandson's beloved Woody doll went missing. We have pictures (on our phones) of him in our room, he was never allowed to go to the Parks, he's just missing. (Good report: told Grandson I called Mickey and arranged to have him mailed to our local Disney Store, who prepared a new Woody doll without tags in a box taped shut and marked Special Delivery and included a note from Mickey himself. That was great!!) Now that we're home, I went online to order our pictures through the Photopass Plus...computer showed 99 pictures, called the photopass help (on hold for almost an hour), she was helpful and linked all the photos back into my account, showing 300 pictures. So i placed my order and the account immediately showed only 83 pictures. What!?! Now i don't know if I ordered 83, 99 or 300 pictures. Is Photopass worth it? I can't tell you. The helpline is only available during business hours during the week, so I have to wait till Saturday to call again - when I have all day to wait. I am still a Disney fan. Love it. This experience is an exception, I know that, but if it were my first visit (as is the case with my son's stepchildren), I wouldn't want to come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Wed May 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I am glad to see they seem to have worked out the kinks with the "Touch to Pay" system. They installed it literally the day we arrived last December and everyone (cast and guests) were clueless as how to use it.


      This time around it was so much easier, particularly with the pre-selected pin. There were only a couple of places I still had to sign after entering the pin, though I'm not sure why.


      I also love the My Magic app for iPhone simply for it's ease of making and changing dining reservations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bethcode

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu March 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good concept
      Cons: never worked for us

       
      We traveled to Disney in February 2013 and stayed at the AK Kidani Village. We went to the parks and didn't get back to the resort until after 9pm, at which time discovered that none of our room keys worked. The front desk fixed mine, and everyone else went down to get theirs replaced the next morning. To make a long story short, my husband had to get his replaced 4 times before it worked!!! We kept trying to charge things in the parks back to our room, but the little gold mouse you were supposed to tap never worked. If the cast member ran our cards through the cash register it worked every time. Some cast members wouldn't believe that it didn't work for us, and quickly tap it before we could stop them. It did something funny to their register and they'd have to void out the whole thing while we waited a long time for them to figure it out. We'd tell them to void it, but they'd say oh no, we just have to back out and change the method of payment, then they'd call a manager over, and end up voiding it out. I think this will be a great system once they get the kinks out, but it was a major pain for us, mainly because no one believed it wasn't working properly!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.