Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • AddictedtoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Food Selection, seating options
      Cons: N/A

       
      Got lunch here before shopping and the burgers and fries were delicious. Quick service when on the go. Convenience of Baby Cakes with-in location. Quick snack on the go. Price not bad.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jnc1223

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: College Station, Tx
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon February 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Salsa bar
      Cons:

       
      We were very surprised at how much we enjoyed this, we were downtown and starving and this place smelled good so we decided to try it. And we were so happy we did, the salsa assortment was great. The sides were perfect choices for us. Kids meal was kind of small but I shared my sides with my daughter and she was fine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Sat February 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food quality
      Cons: none

       
      Fantastic chicken. We had the fried option. Super succulent and nice, crispy skin that was seasoned perfectly.
      We had the rice with pinto beans. Excellent. Also had an order of the yucca fries. Those were very tasty and something I'd never had before.


      I also liked the salsa bar. There were several sauces to try, and they were all good.


      The folks working there spoke little English but they were perfectly pleasant and friendly.


      I'll definitely be back for more on our next rrip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nnelsonmandela

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue October 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great side choices
      Cons:

       
      Ate here on 10/23. The food was very good. I loved that you could get a side of plantains. The black beans and rice were a good side dish, also. Overall, a good restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkprincess

      Registered: December 2008
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun August 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good selection, fresh food, vegetarian/healthy options
      Cons: Loud, hectic, strange ordering system

       
      This was my first time eating at Pollo Campero, and from my experience I would definitely recommend it. I ordered the house-made Felafel burger and it was delicious. I really enjoy vegetarian options with a lot of flavor and this fit the bill. The burger was huge, crispy on the edges and soft in the middle. A perfect felafel! Plus it came with pretty decent fries on the side. However, a word of warning to those who dislike pickles: there are pickles on the burger AND underneath the fries. If you do not want pickles touching your food, make sure to mention this when ordering. The only negative things about Pollo Campero to me were the noise and the strange way the ordering counters were arranged. People looked very confused and were standing all over the place. It took a long time to order because of the chaos. And there were a lot of families with screaming kids and I guess the tile floors and hard surfaces contributed to the noisiness. Aside from those little hiccups this is a great restaurant. It sure beats the standard burgers and fries in the parks! Give it a try!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fhampshire

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Woods Hole
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri June 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Disappointing

       
      I was so looking foward to trying this restaurant (Pollo). Finally got an opportunity to wander in. Absolutely no one in line but took the servers at least 8 minutes to acknowledge my existence, and then was served with very poor grace (bordering on outright rudeness). Took what I was served and the register person asked if it was a children's portion (NO!). Chicken was nothing special and ended up breaking a tooth on a bone (which may have skewed this review). Was disappointed as high hopes for this chain. I would consider returning to try Fresh A Peel. I know we are a captive audience but please, a minimum show of manners would be appreciated!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xtandt

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: FL
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Went based on the reviews. I have to agree the line system is a bit confusing. I wouldn't say it's bad food, it's not, but not what I excepted from all the great reviews. It was definitley better than McDonald's. It was ok food, just I want something better than average food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kaits Inside Dish

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat December 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tons of opotions and Great Prices
      Cons: Gets Crowded Fast

       
      Today my friend Dana and I headed over to Downtown Disney to do a bit of shopping and to see the sidewalk chalk illustrations from the Festive of the Master, an annual open air art show which features over 150 award winning artists.


      The artwork was truly breath taking, each illustration was vividly created with small details to create life like pictures which looked more like realistic photographs or paintings, I can't even begin to fathom how these artists were able to create such beautiful pieces of art using common side walk chalk. It just goes to show how truly talented some people are


      After taking our time admiring the lovely art work and doing a bit of pre Christmas browsing, we decided to grab a quick bite to eat for dinner. Neither of us were in the mood to spend a lot of money or to wait in line for a table so we opted for Pollo Campero, a quick serve restaurant featuring a plethora of freshly prepared Latin inspired selections. Inside the Pollo Campero building is also Fresh A peel, A nutritious eatery focused on preparing salads, wraps, and burgers using all natural ingredients, locally grown produce and offering a plethora of low sodium, gluten free, and vegetarian items. The very same building also houses Babycakes, a heavenly vegan bakery where all items are also gluten free and kosher.


      Standing in the center of the restaurant I was torn between going the Latin route and ordering sweet plantains, Latin inspired rice, and creamy black beans or ordering the delicious handmade veggie burger. As I got a closer look at the Fresh a Peel menu I noticed they had a vegetarian falafel burger which was topped with house made hummus, dill pickle planks, red onion, lettuce, tomato, and a egg free sesame aioli. After seeing that dish my mind was pretty much made up.


      Upon ordering my burger I also had the choice of fries or a selection of Pop Chips, I went with the 100 calories bag of delicious air popped chips. If you've never tried these before I highly recommend that you try them soon, they are absolutely delicious and taste just like potato chips yet contain half the fat!


      My scrumptious burger was served to me with a side of shoestring french fries despite the fact that I had selected the pop chips as my side however, I won't complain two sides for the price of one is nothing to get upset about.


      My delicious hand crafted falafel burger was served on a soft hamburger bun with a crisp pick spear. The delicious blend of creamy hummus and velvety seasme aioli had an immense flavor which lingered in my mouth, as I took time to savor each bite and enjoy the delicate blend of complimentary flavors.


      Now no outing to Downtown Disney would be complete without a stop for dessert at Babycakes. Again I found myself blankly staring at the sweet filled dessert case as I contemplated what to order, the sugar cinnamon doughnuts, the lemony poppy seed cake, the fudgey brownies, or the Pumpkin Cupcake, oh the hard life decisions!


      At last I selected the pumpkin cupcake frosted with a creamy cinnamon spiced frosting. Now let it be known that I am normally am not a huge fan of frosting. In fact I commonly wipe off the hard sugary frosting most times I order a cupcake, but for some reason the cinnamon frosting tempted me and I decided to give it a shot. I am quite happy I did this frosting wasn't at all what I expected, it was soft and rich and the intense cinnamon flavor complimented the mild moist pumpkin cupcake! All in all I would say it was definitely the perfect ending to a delicious meal and lovely night!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      rickg

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Kansas City
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu November 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, not crowded
      Cons: Nothing special about the food

       
      We ate at this restaurant on 10/29/11. The chicken was average, nothing special, tasting. The hamburgers were not particularly good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arielwatcher

      Registered: April 2007
      Posts: 90
      Review Date: Thu October 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick food, variety of choices
      Cons: unclear process to order

       
      This is the former McDonalds so the layout isn't conducive to their product but the food and selection is GREAT. Will go back to enjoy the juicy chicken and the tasty sides. Strips were good alone or with the Chipotle BBQ sauce. Fried chicken was crispy and moist - JUST RIGHT.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      traci26

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Ft. Lauderdale,FL
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Tue October 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food, not as busy
      Cons: none

       
      Yummy!! I almost forgot to review that our family had eaten here for lunch. We were stumped on where to eat lunch with the kids. Wolfgang's was too far and didn't want expensive table service. We thought why not try it. We ordered the family meal which was citrus chicken which comes with 2 sides. I believe it was 19.95 but we got extra sides and drinks which brought the final amount up but it was worth it. I wish we had one near by. Chicken was super moist. Don't be put off if you don't care for those foods because they have lots of things to choose from. And most important there was no huge lines and no fighting over a place to sit. Will go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FoodieBearz

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: U.S.
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free WiFi! Refillable Drinks! Good Food.
      Cons: None really

       
      This is a newer counter service location. I have eaten at the Pollo Campero twice. Once had quarter grilled chicken and most recently had 2 fried pieces. It is a good value when compared to places in the parks. You get a quarter grilled chicken or 2 pieces of fried chicken and a side for $6.99. The sides are good and different (yucca fries, spicy beans, etc.) they also give you tortillas and there is a salsa bar. When you go in fill your drink up and enjoy the free WiFi (free WiFi can be a challenge at WDW, I wish all the WDW parks had free WiFi, hint hint). Then when you leave fill your drink up again to have while you stroll around Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      debbysdelights

      Registered: May 2011
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun May 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate dinner here on May 8 the day we arrived. There was 6 of us ranging in age from 7 to 62.
      The food was very good, chicken was wonderful. Everyone found something they liked and everyone was well pleased. I would eat there again any time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Fri April 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food selections/ price
      Cons: thin napkins

       
      This place is a home run for families! We ordered the entire citrus chicken meal and enjoyed it very much. Our sides were black beans with rice and plantains. At the end of the meal all of us were more than satisfied. The condiment station is filled with fresh and tasty salsas and the whole place was spotless. This was one of the best meals we had all week. My only picky complaint were the thin napkins. They are of such poor quality that they shred insted of clean. I used some wet ones wipes from my purse instead to clean up our DDs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JoyceArlene

      Registered: October 2008
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue February 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very tasty grilled citrus chicken
      Cons: ran out of it

       
      We ate there twice the first week in January 2011. The servers were very engaging and quick. We had the grilled chicken, black beans and rice, and the fried yucca. all delicious! The only down side was that we had to wait for more grilled chicken yet there was plenty of fried. Tried a vanilla cupcake at BabyCakes. Would not ever again get it..sign said 'almost vegan; almost sugarless' it was NOT almost good. so oily. BUT would go back again and again for the grilled chicken..best meal we had on Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.