Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 77
      Review Date: Mon November 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun Theming
      Cons: Loud

       
      We had lunch here on a recent trip because we are Landry's Club members and also have a gift card for any Landry's restaurant to use. We arrived about 11:30 on a Saturday and were able to get in quickly (we had the Landry's card for priority seating, but we didn't need it).


      This was our first time here and we were very impressed by the theming of the restaurant. We were seated in the ice cave and it was really cool how it changed colors.


      Our food was very good. I had the Paleozoic Chicken Sandwich (which is not actually a sandwich, but more of pita/wrap type thing) and it was very good, but messy. I ended up cutting it up and eating it with a fork. My husband had the burger and he said it was great. The seasoned waffle fries were so good. I told my husband that if we ever came back I was going to skip a sandwich and just order a plate of fries. We wanted to try the donuts for desert, but were too full from our sandwiches. Maybe next time.


      We had a very attentive server and the manager stopped by to greet us and check on our meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Thu October 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food fun atmospher
      Cons: loud

       
      We had a late diner one night without a reservation. But I am a Landry's member which gives you priority seating. So the wait was not long. The drinks were fun and we got to keep the glass. I like how they don't give you the dirty one by have clean ones in a box and the build a dino counter. I had the roasted chicken which was fabulous. Can't remember what Sister had but I know she enjoyed it. Donut holes, enough said! The only issue with the restaurant is after a while the storms start to sound like screaming children which can be nerve wracking after a while. Would go back as it is so much fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      IanDLBZF

      Registered: August 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon August 1, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food, atmosphere
      Cons: Service was a bit on the slow side

       
      Food here was great, we all loved it! However, service was a teensy bit sluggish. I will return in the future though...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Warner

      Registered: May 2016
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food and a fun atmosphere
      Cons: None!

       
      I would recommend T-Rex to anyone! It is tradition for my family to visit there on our trips. We always get the HUGE nachos! They are wonderful and are big enough for at least 2 to share.


      Aside from the food, the meteor showers are also very cool!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      meffajen13

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue May 17, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cute atmosphere
      Cons: Got Sick

       
      All I can say is DO NOT GO THERE. I got the Fish and Chips and then ended up sick. Without going into great detail, I was up all night. I was unable to leave my room. I had to miss the Star Wars 5k that I was signed up for. Out $75 right there. Fortunately I was able to do the 10k and Half Marathon on Saturday and Sunday. I tried calling the restaurant the next day to report the incident and got voicemail. I left a message and they never called back. Nice customer service, not even a SORRY!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 155
      Review Date: Mon June 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection of Dining Options
      Cons: None

       
      My family of 4 dined here for dinner on June 6th. After checking in for our 5 pm reservation, we were seated promptly. Service and food were both very good. I always have low expectations for chain restaurants, but T Rex didn't disappoint. We have dined here several times and have never had a bad experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robinmy

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri February 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: Too loud

       
      My family and I visited this restaurant on 2/4/15. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. She explained that there would be a meteor shower every 20 minutes where the dinosaurs would start moving and things would get loud. Well, it felt more often than 20 minutes. If was nearly impossible to talk when the noise started. It was also hard to read the menu because they dimmed the lights. If you have kids with you, they will probably love it.


      The menu is extensive and the items had cute names. I ordered a Pterodactyl Salad which included rotisserie chicken and it was excellent. Others ordered the Fossil Fish-n-Chips and Steak Kabobs. Both were good. All of us ordered the Key Lime Pie for dessert. The pieces were very big and very good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      daffy29

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed February 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy Food
      Cons: Noisy atmosphere

       
      The food was awesome. This is the first time we ate here. I think I like the atmosphere/décor better at Rainforest Café.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BUBBLES36

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Maine
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue January 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food!
      Cons: noisy

       
      We were at T-Rex Jan. 2015. This was our 2nd or 3rd time dining here. Each time we come the food has been very good, which is why we keep coming back. This time one had the Gigantosaurus Burger, which was absolutely enormous, and very good. My DD had Paleo Shrimp, again, plenty of food, we got 2 meals out of it, and I had the Omnivore's Delight, which was delicious, and I've been dreaming about it ever since. I would definitely get it next time we go to T-Rex.
      This restaurant is very noisy, so if you are looking for a quiet meal, this is not the place for you! If you have little kids that are afraid of loud places, don't come. If you have kids that love dinosaurs and watching fish in the beautiful fish tanks, they will love it here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cjane65

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: service

       
      We ate here Sept 17. We had a 11:30 res but was hardly necessary even for our party of six. It is a noisy spot and my DGS had to cower thru 3 sets of meteor showers and screaming dinos before he was brave enough to sit alone. We enjoyed the food, lasagna, salads and the gigantic burger were all good. Pizza and chicken nuggets for the kids were by choice, there were other options. Our server was ok but she was a bit uptight. We felt a bit ignored at times and the helpers who brought out the food were more friendly. We did finish with the chocolate eruption, a huge chocolate and ice cream concoction, billed as suitable for 4 but the 6 of us couldn't finish it. We will return but for the dino's more than food or service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jules2014

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, cool atmosphere
      Cons: LOUD, can be pricey

       
      I ate here with a group of people on July 11. We did not have advance reservations but waited less than 10 minutes for 8 people. we had 2 children in the party (3 and 5 years of age) and both were a bit scared of the loud noises (especially the meteor shower) and the moving dinosaurs. Our server was decent. The food was excellent, I had the fish tacos and they were the best fish tacos I've had so far. It is pricey, but since i love the food and the atmosphere, its worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was a special treat for my son. We had been here about a year ago and the food and service was very bad, so I really didn't want to go back, but he did.


      It was actually very good. Everyone enjoyed their food and our server was very good. I don't dig the noise, but it is pretty cool and the kids love it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decent food
      Cons: loud

       
      We ate here our first night. We had a 930 adr but made it by 9 and checked in. It was swamped with lots of people waiting for tables. Our wait was maybe 15 minutes tops. We sat in a round booth as you come in. We've been before so we expected the louds meteor storms and atmosphere. We paid OOP. DS got the children popcorn shrimp with mashed potatoes. We enjoy the salads so that's what we had. An omnivore delight, 2 pterodactyl and 1 of the other dinosaur named ones. Everyone enjoyed it and portions were huge. The wedge of bread that comes with it is crispy and thick so I gave it to my husband who is fine with it. I am a landry's member and brought my card. I never rack up enough points for anything and my bday is in Sept. so I never get those rewards either. We don't have landry's restaurant's in our state. To my surprise when they ran my card they extended my $25 bday credit to me even though it had long expired. That was a great way to start vacation since there was very little magic on this trip. We got the chocolate extinction for dessert and it was good for 5 but ideal for 4. This is my husband's favorite restaurant and we actually came down a day early to fit it in our schedule. We enjoy it and will go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dldennis01

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Food not very good, can be scary

       
      The atmosphere was really cool and fun for my family, but there were many kids who cried every time the "show"/animatronics started and it got darker. Food was lacking and overpriced. I'm not sure why it's one of the harder Disney restaurants to get into, because there's better food to be had. Paying for dinosaurs- there are plenty of rides throughout DW where you can see dinosaurs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tgaudet

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: louisiana
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue June 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of dinosaurs for kids who are into that
      Cons: Can be crowded and loud at times, pricey

       
      Ate an early dinner at the T-Rex cafe on 5-27-13(memorial day). I had called Disney months in advance and they said T-Rex was booked full and only had availability at 9:30 at night all the last week of May 2013, so I called T-Rex direct and they had numerous times available that same week so I booked for 5:00 on the day I wanted. I was worried about crowds being that it was a holiday but got there 5 min early and saw about 15 people in line, I politely went straight to the check in desk and ask about our reservations and they got us right in in a matter of 10 mins. Later (1 1/2 hour or so)on our way coming out the line was 50 or more people deep and waits were over 1 1/2 hours! Im so glad we picked the time slot we did. DH had the tar pit fried shrimp, DD5 had the shrimp kens(popcorn shrimp & Dino shape chicken nuggets), DS had a kid size steak & fries which was not on the menu (why I'm not sure), & I had the Neanderthal New York strip. DH & DD5 ate their shrimps but both weren't won over by the batter/ breading on the shrimp. DS8 & myself loved our well done steaks. The food was way over priced but we went there for the atmosphere and because DS8 loves everything DInosaurs...DD5 was scared of the Dino's (Just couldn't convince her that they weren't real) and the dark and loud meteor shower storm that happened every so often. All in all it was a nice family experience. Worth trying once if you don't mind over paying for dinner to see robotic dinosaurs, after all where else can you get that close to dinosaurs?!? 😃
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.