Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • disneydad78

      Registered: February 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun August 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Proximity to Downtown Disney and parks, service, theming, Steakhouse 55
      Cons: Price, bathroom, Goofy's Kitchen

       
      The Disneyland Hotel (DLH) touches Downtown Disney. DLH has theming like no other hotel. The service at DLH is top-notch.


      DLH is expensive.


      Our recent trip to Disneyland was our first. We have been going to Walt Disney World annually since 2009, staying in every level of resort along the way. The best comparison I can draw to WDW resorts is the Contemporary Resort. But make no mistake about it, the theme/feel of the resort is 100% Disneyland Park. You can go nowhere within the hotel without seeing a reference to the park's history. The hotel is divided into 3 towers to complement the Disneyland "lands" they're named for: Fantasy, Adventure, and Frontier. This park-style theming is elegant, not unlike the Disney ships. The height of this theming is in the guest rooms, where you have mickey-hand bathroom lamps, hidden-mickey carpet, pictures of Walt on nearly every piece of printed media, mickey mouse faucet and shower handles, and the enormous Sleeping Beauty castle headboard (that lights up and plays "A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes" at the touch of a button). The theming takes an eastern turn by the pool, where the hotel's counter service restaurant (Tangaroa Terrace) and lounge (Trader Sam's) are located. These two places could have been pulled straight from the Polynesian resort.


      Steakhouse 55 is a jewel in the hotel. Dinner was good, but the breakfast was spectacular. SH55 is the best place for your traditional American breakfast. Goofy's Kitchen was spoiled for us by poor service and disorganization at the check-in desk.


      The hotel is quiet. The pool is surrounded by lots of foliage that acts as a natural screen that keeps pools noise down. There are 2 pools plus a kiddie play area around the monorail slides, and 2 large heated spas surrounded by padded lounge chairs and cabanas. There are plenty of green areas shaded by mature trees that make for great picnic or stroll areas.
      The proximity of the resort to Downtown Disney and the parks is wonderful. Our last stay in WDW was at Beach Club, and we loved the quick walk to Epcot. The walk from DLH to Downtown Disney is <5min, to the parks is just over 10min.
      We had no real complaints other than Goofy's Kitchen. Yet the price we paid did leave us wanting something more. For instance, our bathroom only had a single sink. We paid for a ticket + room package that would have easily landed us at a Monorail-level resort at WDW. I would recommend the Grand Californian if you're looking for something more "deluxe level". But the one thing that has a price, that cannot be duplicated anywhere else, is being immersed in a "Disney place". Go to the other resorts, and you have left Disney. Go to the Disneyland Hotel, and you have simply arrived again.


      If you go to Disneyland, take the time to explore this hotel--even if you're not staying there. There's so much to see if you take the time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pluto12

      Registered: October 2007
      Location: Denver, Colorado
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Thu February 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Disney-ness, proximity to parks, Trader Sam's, monorail waterslide, quiet public areas
      Cons: Chekin- took a long time, staff wouldn't pick up phone, limited dining options, poor bathroom lighting

       
      Stayed at Disneyland Hotel from 2/22/14-2/24/14. Booked Dapper Day rate, which was approximately half-price. The reduced rate was, fair for what you get, but I feel that paying more would have been too much.


      We stayed in the Adventure Tower, which was really convenient for getting to/from the parks. You do have to walk through Downtown Disney to get to the entrance or the monorail, so that meant running the gauntlet of chain stores and restaurants that were BLASTING music at most times of the day. A minor quibble but it really did add to the stress of early/late/long days at the parks.


      The room was tasteful, understated, and rather plain- which is not a complaint. The light-up headboard was just the right dose of pixie dust. The bathroom was not very nice at all, unfortunately, and the lighting in it was awful.


      We tried to order room service on Sunday night, 2/23, but no one would pick up the phone after an hour (!!) on hold. We also tried the front desk- no one would pick up there, either! Thinking it might have been our room phones malfunctioning, I also tried the house phone- same result.


      Dining options were limited and not very vegetarian-friendly (a surprise for a Disney property), especially when you took the room service menu out of the equation.


      The absolute best part was Trader Sam's, the on-site tiki bar that we happened upon quite accidentally. It's everything you want from a tiki bar (i.e., dark, full of kitschy decor, outrageous drinks with little ceremonies, the staff and all the patrons in on the fun).


      We were able to check-in early (1:30pm) but the process did take a long time. It seems that the front desk staff has no efficient and reliable way of ascertaining which rooms are vacant and clean. Hopefully Disney corrects this.


      The hallways and rooms were fairly quiet, though we could hear something (plumbing??) running most of the night.


      In all, I'd say this was on par with moderate resorts at WDW (though with interior corridors). I would try the Grand Californian next time for a little nicer experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      belle12877

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon September 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location, fun weekend stay!
      Cons:

       
      My husband and I stayed at the Disneyland Hotel for the Disneyland Half Marathon Weekend (I ran the new 10K race on Saturday morning). I thought the resort was fantastic. Check-in on Friday afternoon was a bit chaotic due to the Expo that was happening at the resort (cars, people, cast members everywhere!) We were upgraded from a standard room view to a pool view, which was so nice. The rooms are VERY spacious and the location is PERFECT - right next to Downtown Disney and just a little further walk to the Parks. The only negative experience we had all weekend was that we had requested Express breakfast room service for Sunday morning before we left for the airport. I don't know what happened, but the food never arrived during our time slot. I called and even though the order was taken from our door - the woman at room service didn't receive it. She offered to rush us breakfast or buy us a breakfast (which was very nice) but we didn't have time at that point. I will be staying here again in January when I run in the TinkerBell Half Marathon and I can't wait. Next time my husband and I will be traveling with our twin four-year-olds and we just know they are going to LOVE it! (especially the musical/lit headboards! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FamilyOfSix

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Fri July 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Pools, early entry to parks
      Cons: Reservation mix up, Lack of theming, No sign of Goofy, EXPENSIVE

       
      We stayed in the Disneyland Hotel in early June 2013. We were so excited to stay in this hotel, as we never spring for such an expensive place. We booked two rooms as we were traveling with my sister and her family, and each room was reserved for 5 people. The reservation process is lengthy, and you need to give the names and ages of each person staying in the rooms at the time of making the reservation. Having gone through that process, and being assured that we were going to have two rooms that would sleep 5 comfortably and be either adjoining or located very near each other, I was beyond dismayed when my sister checked in before we did and was told that we were getting one room for 4 people adjoining another room for 5 people. Totally unacceptable since we needed all the beds. My husband called to try to fix the reservation before we arrived, but was told that there were no other rooms on property for 5 people (right...) and that we didn't even make a reservation for 5... I had the printed up confirmation letters showing clearly rooms for 5 people. This agent was so incredibly rude to my husband, and not helpful, and really should not be working for Disney at all. I have had better service from people working at a La Quinta Inn.


      Anyway, when we finally got to the Disneyland hotel, my husband showed the desk agent our paperwork, and "magically" they found a room for 5 people for us. Only problem-- it was 7 floors away from the other room. What a major pain to have our party split by 7 floors. I really wasn't happy with this situation, but was much more dismayed by the very rude treatment from the agent on the phone.


      Now the hotel...


      In the lobby, the teacup chairs are cute. Too bad several of them were ripped. Ripped vinyl chairs... Not exactly Deluxe...


      The theming is subtle. Too subtle. I think they need more Mickey magic. I don't know why they advertise being greeted by Goofy at the Disneyland hotel, but I never saw him and I didn't see a poster announcing when he'd be in the lobby or anything. Maybe the greeting is at Goofy's Kitchen? Who knows.


      The rooms are fine. I would try to get to the highest floor possible. One of our rooms was on the 10th floor of the Fantasy Tower. We could actually see the fireworks from the room. That was very cool. The 5-person rooms are large enough, comfortable, and the beds are all comfortable. The executive desk is a little bit cumbersome and maybe it would be better to have a small table or something that would be more useful to families. The bathroom was strange to me because the toilet was closed off from the bathroom, but was only accessed through the bathroom. So if someone was in the shower, they would need to leave the door unlocked for someone else to access the toilet in the toilet room. This was a problem for self-conscious teens... It would have made more sense to have the sink on the outside of the room at least.


      The rooms were in decent shape. They didn't seem very new, but not too worn down. The headboard was cool, though.


      The pools were really great. We were there on days that weren't so hot-- low 70s. It was so fun because the pools were heated to different temperatures. The cooler pool was the one my kids seemed to like the most, but I liked the middle pool which was pretty warm. There was another little pool where the water slides ended. The water slides were a little rough (hard on the shoulders) but the kids seemed to like them. I wouldn't recommend them for adults! The hot tub was nice too. All in all, the pool area was really great.


      The best part of the hotel was its location. It was an easy walk to Disneyland or California Adventure-- taking only 10 minutes at most. Even for the early extra magic hours at 7 AM, we didn't need to leave the hotel until 6:45 AM and had plenty of time to make it to the front gate for the lineup for entering early. The parking at the Disneyland Hotel is not bad. I had read complaints about the parking being far away, but it wasn't at all. And we didn't need to use our car anyway being right there by Downtown Disney and all that good stuff.


      Next time I will try a different hotel, though, due to the mixup at the start of the stay and the fact that we were given rooms so far apart. I didn't like the way they handled the whole situation at all. So we will try the Paradise Pier or the Grand Californian, but not Disneyland Hotel.


      I give this hotel 7 stars in spite of that because of the location and the pool. I take away 2 stars for the check in problem, and 1 more for the price and lack of theming and sloppy appearance of the lobby area.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jandg4816

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue May 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room, restaurants
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel May 4 - May 8 2013. Our room was in the Fantasy Tower. The room was very nice, and we had a wonderful view of the fireworks. My five year old loved the fireworks headboard ,it really added that magical touch. The walk to the parks was quick, and going thru downtown Disney made it more enjoyable. We had breakfast twice at Tangaroa Terrace, once at Goofy's Kitchen, and once at Steakhouse 55. All three were great, my sons favorite was Goofy's and my husband loved Steakhouse 55, I liked all three. We would definitely stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mlm8363

      Registered: October 2007
      Location: North Carolina
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): entire hotel recently refurbished, close to Downtown Disney and monorail, excellent gift shop
      Cons: long walk to the parks

       
      My visit was 1/29/13 - 2/2/13. This was my first ever visit to Disneyland. I'd heard about the 2 1/2 year refurbishment and was anxious to see it. The new dark wood furniture looks great and the fireworks headboards are special. I watched mine every night! There are several options for breakfast at the hotel - Tangaroa Terrace was my favorite. Goofy's Kitchen is too expensive. Housekeeping was good and they started early. Once I came back to my room at 9:50AM to leave some shopping and the housekeeper was at my door, about to enter. I always had plenty of clean towels, tissue, etc. The H2O toiletries have a pleasant smell, but I still miss the Mickey shaped soap bars. Although housekeeping didn't do any washcloth animals for me, there was a class in the hotel lobby one morning for guests to learn to make them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ksmwats3

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Medina, Ohio
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat January 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, cleanliness, comfy beds, staff was very friendly
      Cons: shower

       
      My mom, daughter(20), and I stayed here 12/11-12/16 for our "girls" vacation. Our room was in the Fantasy Tower and check in was very fast, also there are characters in the lobby! The rooms were awesome and the beds very comfortable. The best part was that we could lay in bed and watch the fireworks (They have a TV channel that streams the music)! It was chilly when we were there so we did not use the pool but it looked very nice.


      The only negative was that the shower temp was only warm for the 1st person in the morning and since my mom is the early bird, my daughter and I got stuck with lukewarm/cold showers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aileens2284

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue December 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendliness
      Cons: Distance from parks

       
      We stayed at Disneyland Hotel from Nov 29-Dec 3, 2012 Fantasy Tower


      Staff: 10+ Friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived. Room wasn't ready, desk clerk moved us. We traveled from Michigan and needed to get settled so this was a great help. Everywhere we went at the hotel we were greeted. Everyone says hello and asks how you are and if you need anything. I've been to Disney World several times and never saw so many nice employees all in the same place!!


      Rooms: 10 Beds were comfortable. I have two teenage boys, so we used the pull out couch and my son slept comfortably on it our whole stay. They maid even made it up for him with extra pillows and blankets. The beds have 4 pillows and plenty of blankets. Flip a switch and When you wish upon a star plays while lights with Tinker Bell stream across. It was very cool. I am sure little kids would be impressed! Maid left extra towels and extra lotions and soaps when I asked for them.


      Location: 6 This would be my main complaint. I definitely think the hotels need a shuttle to get to/from the hotels to the park entrance. Walking all the way thru downtown Disney or thru the Grand Californian back entrance seemed long and even longer at the end of a day in the park.
      I have two teenage boys so I can't imagine towing small children and /or strollers.


      Dining: 7 We had breakfast at Tangaroo Terrace. My husband and I went and ordered then brought the food up to the rooms. You order yourself on computers just inside the entrance. You can choose which meal, eggs, bacon, potatoes and a biscuit or French Toast and bacon. Or a wrap filled with eggs and bacon. Adult and Child meals. (difference in price was only 50 cents) There are coolers with milk and fruit. Take it all to the counter to pay. The portions are huge. It is more than enough to share. Although it was good, I thought it was a little greasy. So the rest of the stay we went to The Coffee House and bought bagels and chocolate milk for breakfast. The food there was good, I'd say 9, except for price, which of course was "Disney priced". There were really no other options right at the hotel so that was a little disappointing. I wish Disneyland had a dining plan to compare to Disney World.


      Activities: 10 My sons went to the fitness center and lifted weights and walked on the treadmill. I had to sign a waiver and they were given their own "key" which also got them into the pool. They loved the pool and sat in the hot tub every evening. The new monorail slide was closed by the time we got back to hotel at night, so they never used it. Didn't make a difference to my kids as they just used the pool. They have a few benches and large couches around the outside of the pool area for people to sit on.


      Overall, I give the Disneyland Hotel a 9. The friendliness of the staff made up for any inconvenience of location and lack of food options. I would recommend this hotel for anyone, especially families with young children. Characters walk around. The pool is awesome and there are three elevators in each building which are very quick, so you won't be waiting around to get to your room. We also had a view of the fireworks from our room.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JerseyShoregirl13

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderfully decorated hotel room. Best of all resorts in both desintations. Very magical. The Neverland Pool complex was great and the new complex looks great too.
      Cons: Too far from monorail station & parks.

       
      I gave 9 instead of 10 due to distance from parks & transportation. However, the ambience of the rooms in 2005 and refurnished are fantastic. Plus right downstairs is Goofy's Kitchen if in main building. Do request main building...where check in is located. Goofy's Kitchen is the BEST character dining experience of anywhere. Unique characters and they are very attentive to all guests. Even though the monorail station & parks are not convenient, the pool complex, room decor & Goofy's Kitchen makeup for it. I have stayed at Grand Californian Resort. That is wonderful for location, but pool not so great & rooms are dark. Disneyland Hotel is also reasonable in cost.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NJDzneMom

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sat September 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, room size, cleanliness
      Cons: none

       
      We spent 2 nights here this past July. This was our first trip to DL and we splurged for the concierge level. The room was beautiful and we had a great view of DD. My sons loved the light-up headboard with firework display and music. We found the room to be very clean and spacious. We were disappointed that there were no towel characters but the room itself and location made up for it. We were a short 5-10 minute walk to the park entrances. The E-Ticket lounge was very nice with generous hosts, plenty of food and a fantastic view of the fireworks. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting DL.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sjsosebee

      Registered: March 2010
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue August 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Walking distance to parks
      Cons:

       
      This is a very nice resort. Our daughter enjoyed the headboard in the room she turned it on everyday. The water pressure seemed to be lacking a little. Everything else was very nice. We liked being able to walk to the parks and to Downtown Disney. And the monorail was the way to go if you were going to Disneyland park for the day. This is a little of a change for us since we mostly go to FL alot. It seems to me a lot different from their resort hotels, not as much of the Disney feel to me. But it was nice seeing the original resort and parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LuvDonaldduck

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Taholah
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu July 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): You are immersed in Disney magic 24/7 and the hotel property is like magic!
      Cons: Rooms and food are pricey

       
      Arrived at Disneyland Hotel on July 3rd for a four night stay, we had early flight and were checking in by 11:15am. Waited a short 10-15 minutes to check in and was greeted by a very nice cast member who knew I was anxious to begin my stay. I figured I would ask for a room in the Fantasy or Adventure tower to cut down on walking distance to Disney. (hey every step counts when your on you're feet for 12 hours!)
      I was given an upgrade from my standard room reservation to a pool view free of charge, and my room was ready!


      I was given a map of hotel complex, and literature about hotel services, Disney early entry times for guests of Disney hotels and other scheduled activities at the hotel. All of us were given Mickey keys with our names on it with the adult keys authorized for charging at the hotel & parks. We promptly made our way to our 3rd floor pool view room.


      The room was excellent, with Mickey ears just about everywhere. The lamps in the bathroom were Mickey hands. The bath tub & sinks had Mickey shapes on the ends of the turn nobs/bath nob. There were Mickey silhouette in the tiles in the shower thus my rating of immersed 24/7. I think the bathroom had same tiles, can't remember exactly didn't really pay attention in there, lol. The hand carved head board went across both queen beds and light up with music! the bed linen was soft and I loved the feather comforter. The only thing I felt was odd in the room was the daybed! It was this weird blue color and I thought it didn't match the room decor at all. There isn't very much storage space, only a 3-drawer chest and the closet! My two older kids kept their clothes in their luggage. Also, the bath shampoos are no longer Mickey shaped ears, they are still H20 products but no ears! There was no problems during our whole stay with hot water or air conditioning.


      I loved having an entrance on both sides of the tower. There were numerous lawn furniture settings in just about every area in the hotel complex. By each tower, by the main lobby tower out front under the portico and by the coffee cafe. Very welcoming and comforting to be able to plop down soak in the sun or sit down in the shaded areas and rest. The coffee cafe had separate metal lawn furniture with umbrellas as the other furniture was all matching. The swimming pool area has tons of lounge chairs but there was slim pickings during early afternoon hours.


      We decided to eat at Tangora Terrace as read about it in the reviews. The lunch menu is very limited - bacon cheese burgers, chicken burger, a few salads, cole slaw and sweet potato fries. The restaurant does not offer regular fries or any desserts! I wasn't sure if there was separate dinner menu as I only saw the breakfast and lunch menu so I don't think there was a separate dinner menu. It cost us $65.00 for our meal. (3 burgers & 1 kids meal)


      The pool complex is great: there's the main large pool, a smaller deep pool were the large slide drops into and the slide complex which has one large slide, a medium slide and small kids slides. Underneath the monorail slide complex kids can swim around in the 1' wading or play with the numerous water fountains. The complex has water falls from the top of the slide so there is water dripping everywhere! There's a hot tub on the slide area and another by the large pool. My daughter loved the slides, they provide life jackets so I felt safe allowing her to slide while I watched in the lounge chairs.


      I had made reservations for Goofy's Kitchen for dinner so we had a delicious dinner with Goofy and some of his friends. Dang, I just missed Donald Duck as he was just about at the end of the dining section where I knew he was most likely going in for a break! All in all, it was great and it beats waiting in line for characters at the parks! We decided to hit DCA in and the morning for early entry i didn't want to waste a day coming in afternoon when i knew we had early entry.


      On Day 5, a planned rest day and check out day, we were supposed to head to San Diego for a few days but in my express check out envelope was an offer for an additional night for $129.00! Wow, I immediately went down to lobby and booked the additional night because I'd rather be immersed in Disney then San Diego, lol. We had nothing planned because it was supposed to be rest & drive to San Diego day. We decided to eat our traditional Mrs. Knotts Chicken dinner and headed to Buena Park to eat but didn't go to park because it was already 8:00 by the time we were leaving.


      On Day 6, we got up to head to San Diego and looked in my express check out bill and had another offer for $129 a night. Went down and booked the room immediately because day before the hotel cast member said they were expecting 500 reservations and she didn't think I would get the offer again. By this time our hotel room was a wreck and there was no way I wanted to pack up everything and find a hotel in San Diego. We did head to SeaWorld for the day because I had bought the Citi pass which had 3 days Disney, 1 day Seaworld and 1 day Universal.


      I have to say the Disneyland Hotel stay was great and exceeded my expectations, rooms were clean, fresh, great housekeeping service, grounds were beautiful! Yes it is expensive. If you can wing it, do it but it won't do any good if you don't get up early! You don't go on vacation at Disneyland, you're on playcation, walking playcation!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      carric2003

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, room size
      Cons: cleanliness

       
      We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel the first week of June 2012. We were very happy with our standard room - plenty of room for a family, although lacks in drawer space. There is a separate toilet room - a nice feature. Our room was in the Adventure Tower 2065 - on the second floor across from some elevators - we were initially concerned about the noise, but it was not an issue. The Adventure Tower is a very convenient for access to the parks and Downtown Disney.


      Our only complaint was the room was clean on the surface, but there were remnants of previous visitors - cereal, etc - in the corners and under furniture; also, the bathroom, other than the used spaces, did not look like it had been dusted in weeks. (I actually talked to the front desk about this our first day, but nothing was done during our 5 night visit.)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney-Lover

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed in the Adventureland Tower from 1/27-2/4. Our room was on the 6th floor and we could see the fireworks from the room (and put the music on the tv so we got the whole effect) and the side of World of Color. (Not much of that but still fun when we put on the music and pictured what we'd seen live). The headboard is fantastic--there is a cut out outline of a castle and fireworks and when you turn on the light, it plays When You Wish Upon a Star and then the light stays on as long as you'd like. The decor all throughout the room was very fun.


      The bed was extremely comfortable. We had a king bed room and there was plenty of room. One of the nights we were there they switched out the stationery--previously the free postcard in the desk was Mickey in front of the hotel and the little card by the toiletries in the bathroom also had Mickey. Then one night those were gone to be replaced by Walt and the hotel images. The whole hotel was much more "Disneyland" themed than the last time I had been there in September 2009. While we were there, they installed in the hotel lobby (Fantasyland Tower) a seating area where the chairs were replicas of the Tea Cups (the only way I'll ever get my husband to sit in the Tea Cups without worrying about getting sick).
      The front desk was well staffed and well informed. I had prepaid my hotel because I was there for the Tinker Bell Half Marathon and they inadvertenly still put a room charge for one night on my bill but it was promptly addressed and removed.
      The hotel is very convenient to Downtown Disney and the other hotels if you're going over there for a meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon February 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great staff and location
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel in the Fantasy Tower for two nights on January 22 – 24, 2012. We are DVC members and stayed using points. Our room was on the fifth floor overlooking the front of the hotel and the parking lot. The room was immaculate!! Everything was clean, the bathroom was absolutely spotless, and the temperature in the room was good. The rooms had recently been renovated and there are lots of “Mickey” touches throughout the room. The sink facet handles in the bathroom were Mickey hands as were the light fixtures. The massive head board that served both queen beds was animated!! When you turned the nightstand light on, it made the headboard appear to have fireworks going off on it. Small lights are mounted in the headboard that light up and create a fireworks scene – quite impressive.


      The cast members at the DLH were great. Check in at 6:30PM took less than 10 minutes – that including waiting in line about eight minutes. There were a couple of conventions going on while we were there, but it never felt crowded. It’s a short walk to the parks – through Downtown Disney.


      It rained all day on January 23, so we had to use the laundry facilities to wash and dry some of our clothes. The facility was clean, secure, well stocked and easy to access with a room key. The coffee shop has very good coffee and muffins. There is a small restaurant near the pool area called Tangaroa Terrace that serves B/L/D .I got breakfast platter for take out on our last morning and is was very good and more than enough for two to share.


      We would definitely stay here again!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.