Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • prettythings03

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good character interaction, lots of food choices if you do not have issues
      Cons: Hard if you have allergies

       
      We got to the restaurant about 20 minutes before we were scheduled to check in. Checked in anyway, and were told to wait for a photo with Donald and then we would be seated. 45 minutes later, and 3 very grumpy kids, we got our photo and were rushed to do it since they came to seat us at the same time. Our photo is terrible, and we were not given an opportunity to take another.
      Once inside, we were asked about food allergies. This was already in the ADR that I had made so I was a little annoyed. Yes... we have a salt restricted diet and a severe soy allergy.
      Chef came out, young kid for the most part, and told me that with a soy allergy I should already know what I can and can't eat at the buffet, and that he would bring me my own waffles. As for the salt free, he said there was nothing he could really do for her except eggs that were made with no salt. Needless to say, my mom ended up sick due to salt content in the food and I got undercooked gluten free, soy free waffles that were gross (had them the day prior at another location and they were fantastic). If the character interaction once in side the restaurant had been less than is was then I would have walked out personally.
      Do I recommend this restaurant, only to those who do not have any sort of food allergies or intolerance.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Mon September 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We enjoyed Tusker house. They have a good variety of food. My husband and kids love the juice there. We did not wait long for our characters to come to our table. Our server was great. We had an early reservation and were able to walk onto safari without a wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and staff
      Cons: none

       
      The variety of food is great. It was very busy but there was lots of food and it was good. The juice was great and so was the coffee. Our waitress made sure we had lots of time with the characters and even warned them the baby was unsure of them to go slow with him. We had a great time here and got to try new things to eat. We look forward to doing this again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Varied selections, good quality, early park entry
      Cons: Cramped tables

       
      On 8/15, I had an 8am ADR. It was my first time dining here. It was no problem to add a person at the restaurant when a friend decided to join me last minute. We waited just a few minutes before being shown to our table.


      The characters were cute in their safari gear, but it took almost 40 minutes for the first one to get to us. The tables were also very close together; people at the nearby tables were constantly bumping into other families when getting up to take pictures.


      Food was very good. There was a lot of variety, and items were a good mix between familiar and a bit exotic. I really enjoyed the coconut sweet potato casserole. Other than that, I mostly stuck to traditional foods, like Mickey waffles, bacon, oatmeal, and breads.


      I'm not sure why this meal is more expensive than similar meals, such as Crystal Palace. However, it's slightly increased price made me feel it was okay to use a DDP credit. And being right in Africa, we were able to rush out and ride in the first Kilimanjaro Safaris truck of the morning!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ROCCOFIRE

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: ROCHESTER, NY
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent service
      Cons:

       
      The buffet was excellent, and the service and characters did an awesome job of visiting tables, but unlike the madness of Crystal Palace in Magic Kingdom, this restaurant was more relaxing and less rushed. THE only warning PLEASE make reservations for all sit down dining. The lines are long for many restaurants in Disney!.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      santino

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and staff
      Cons: no pancakes

       
      I love the tusker house the staff was so helpful my kids wanted cookies and they went in the back and got them even though they were not suppose to come out until lunch. The woman who was carving the meats was so pleasant I would go back just to see her. The characters took their time and were good with the kids. overall great experience looking forward to going back next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun May 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Really enjoyed every aspect of this meal! The food was good, service was great and the characters took their time. The only reason I gave it a 9 was because of our wait time with reservations. We had 8 a.m. reservations and did not get seated until 8:50. Not sure what that was all about and when we asked what the hold up was, we were not offered an explanation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allears2014

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun April 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was hot and good
      Cons:

       
      We arrived early for our ADR 4-01-14 and were taken in with only a short wait to get our photo made with Donald. . . but there was a photographer, but no Donald.


      Inside we were seated in a far corner, the waitress seemed shaken they were so busy (I would think anyone working at Disney would be accustomed to the crowds).


      She brought us juice and was not unfriendly- - just overwhelmed, which made me uncomfortable to even ask for a drink refill.


      The buffet has a good variety of food and everything I tried tasted fresh.


      I thought the characters moved fast at Crystal Palace, but these characters act like they are racing to some finish line. This is a pricey buffet breakfast, guests are paying for the character experience- - not scramble eggs and paper thin bacon, so make it worth our while by slowing down a bit!


      At the end of our meal, we were ready for the park, but it took a very long time to check out. The waitress finally came to scan my magic band and left. . . for at least 10 minutes. She returned, apologized and said the info was deleted somehow and she needed to scan me again. Another 10 to 15 minutes and she was finally back. We waited about 25 minutes just to check out- - that was not an acceptable amount of time.


      While the food was good and my DS enjoys the characters, this was not a favorite dining experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JacPalPop

      Registered: February 2014
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu February 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Characters, ease of making the reservation
      Cons: cost (I'm Cheap)

       
      Had a great time with my 6 year old boy at this character meal. Food was good, buffet style, several options from tradtional eggs and bacon to pastries with a nice carving station. The Jambo juice was very good. We had a nice location with plenty of room for pictures when the characters visited. Good flow and timing with eating and the characters visits.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmdebree

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Saw all the characters, Wonderful breakfast, nice atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We loved everything about this experience. Please try the juice, even our picky 8 year old loved it! Anything you could possibly want to eat was available and the characters all came to our table. Will definiately go back on our next trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Evertything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Best character breakfast on property. Food, server, characters, all amazing. Best bread pudding.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SheenaXena21

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon December 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great buffet, character interaction, service
      Cons:

       
      This was a last minute ADR.


      I'm glad we went here. The food was good, server was interactive and the characters were too.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HOBBES

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of choice
      Cons: photopass photograopher was dreadful at his job!

       
      We chose this because we always do one character breakfast and DH is sick of being made to feel guilty when Piglet comes up just as he's chowing down on Piglet's Cousins bacon and sausage...The choice of foods was excellent and the addition of Jambo juice from Boma was great. Food was kept replenished and hot, with none of the crazy queueing system seen at Boma. The characters came around several times and the noise level wasn't horrendous. Only downside was that our photopass photo with Donald was out of focus-they did offer us the chance to go back and do it again at the end of the meal, but we thought it would be OK as they had also taken a photo on my camera-NOPE, that was all out of focus too. Wondering if the photographer had ever seen a camera before that morning!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ang2575

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat September 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters
      Cons: Everything else

       
      We were excited to try this brunch for the first time after all the great reviews I had read. Sadly, it turned out to be the worst dining experience I had ever had at Disney. We had a 10:30 reservation for breakfast and by the time we waited a bit and took a photo with Donald we were seated at 10:45. The characters came almost immediately so we took photos and the kids enjoyed their time with them. I have to say compared to other character meals, only seeing 3 characters (4 if you count seeing Donald beforehand) is pretty disappointing. Every other character meal we did had 5. So we headed up to the buffet and very disappointed to see that all breakfast had been removed. As we wandered through the stations, everyone at the buffet was asking each other were the breakfast was. My husband approached a chef and asked him were breakfast was and he was told that one section was all that was left of breakfast. It consisted of a fruit bowl that had a 5 pieces of fruit left and some pastries and yogurt. It was a joke. To make matters worse, the food that was on the buffet was all pretty exotic. Things like hummus, tabouli, couscous, stews. I myself will eat those things, but not first thing in the morning and not when what I really wanted was eggs. My kids and my husband, however, would never eat anything that was available. They were all starving and filled their plates with bread and dessert items. We asked our server where breakfast was and she told us that breakfast gets switched over to lunch at 10:45. She told us she always comes early to eat so she can have breakfast. No attempts to make our experience better. Again my husband asked the Chef and he told us the same thing: breakfast gets switched out at 10:45. We all ate practically nothing and our bill came to $190. My husband and I are both restaurant managers, and we couldn't believe that our server and the chef were so non-chalant about our questions. And like I said, everyone in the buffet line we talked to was wondering why the food had been switched over. On out way out, I tried one last time to get someone to give us an explanation. I asked a cast member at the host stand and was given the same answer, "breakfast switches to lunch at 10:45" At this point I was pretty angry and I told her, I had a breakfast reservation. We paid for breakfast but there was no breakfast and we were all still starving. She really could have cared less. I have never, ever complained at Disney in 15 trips. But after leaving the restaurant I actually went to guest services and told them our experience. Immediately, she was so apologetic. She called the restaurant where they verified that breakfast gets removed at 10:45 and she looked up my reservation to see I indeed had a breakfast reservation. She was so sweet and she refunded 50% of our meal and gave me 5 fast passes for any ride in any park. It was so nice. I will never, ever go back to Tusker House and I really can't believe I had to go to 4 cast members before any cared at all that we were extremely unhappy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rehmiami

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri September 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious Food, Excellent Character Interaction
      Cons: Wait Time, Slow Service, Variety of Food for Kids

       
      I was very pleased with the overall ambience and experience of the restaurant. The food was quite good. I especially enjoyed the Tamarind Seafood Stew, as well as the Warm Banana-Cinnamon Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce. And, for someone who does not eat salads very often, I had two servings of the Endive, Apple and Walnut Salad with Blue Cheese Dressing. I do wish that there was more of a selection in terms of food for my eight year-old daughter. However, the mac and cheese, corn dog nuggets, and Spiced Rubbed Rotisserie Chicken were all well received by her.


      As far as the wait time is concerned, I would highly recommend that you arrive at the front desk 15 minutes prior to your reservation time, otherwise you might be beginning your meal later than expected.


      In terms of the wait service, it was decent. Our waiter (David) was both professional and polite, however I did have to ask for our drinks to be refilled. Additionally, our used plates and utensils were not cleared from our table in an expeditious manner. It was quite busy, so I gave him a pass, and tipped him around 18%. To his credit, he responded quickly to my requests.


      The character interaction at Tusker House is exceptional. The Disney Characters (Mickey, Daisy, Donald, and Goofy) all visited our table, and posed patiently for our pictures. My daughter absolutely loved it. For me, this most definitely justified the price of this buffet.


      I would highly recommend the Tusker House in terms of its overall value related to the quality and quantity of food provided, character interaction, and the atmosphere of the restaurant. I will definitely make this a family ritual when visiting Animal Kingdom in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.