Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ajrob

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 43
      Review Date: Tue April 12, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Concierge
      Cons: price

      Let's start off by saying my expectations were high, and not met upon arrival, but as the trip was underway my opinion increased a bit.

      Upon arrival, I was not greeted outside, or inside for that matter, nor explained that when I checked my luggage at the entrance of the Contemporary, I would not see it until 8:30pm. My room was not ready when we arrived at 1:30pm, and was told it wouldn't be long, I would receive a text. That text never arrived so by 4pm I went up to the Atrium Club(12th floor) to be told, "oh, no one called you?". The one room request I submitted to the concierge about 9 months in advance, was a northern facing room, that request was not met but I was told I could check out the next day and check-in again for that specific placement of room. After the first day debacle, I didn't chance it.

      I am a seasoned Disney traveler for decades now and each and every trip I mail a box or two ahead of my arrival of heavier items as to not weigh down my luggage. This box could not be found. By 9pm the Concierge told me several people had looked for my box and it never arrived? It wasn't until I produced a receipt of delivery, that I did finally receive my box, 10:30pm.

      Now, I have stayed everywhere in Disney, on and off property, value, moderate, deluxe, even the campground, and I have never had all of these complications I encountered here, and I'm paying a lot of money for Concierge service?

      That being said, as the trip moved along, there were some perks to the club level.
      1. The food in the Atrium Club was delicious, always fresh and plentiful, there are specific times, but for the greater part of the day food is available(7am-10pm). There are drinks available 24/7 like juices, soda and milk.
      2. You could receive additional Fast Passes by texting the concierge which attraction FP+ you wanted next.
      3. I wanted an item that was only available at another resort, and one of the hotel "runners" went to pick it up for me and it was waiting in my room that night.
      4. At one point I had some magic band issues and they were quickly resolved by the concierge at the desk.
      4. Nightly turn down service
      5. We were always greeted with a hello.
      6. Our room was beautiful and I highly suggest a Magic Kingdom view room.
      7. Mousekeeping was fabulous, Yugenia went above and beyond in our room, it was super clean everyday in a very timely matter!
      8. Being on the twelfth floor and at the time we were there 3/29-4/6 it was extremely crowded and yet I never heard Chef Mickey's or monorail noise at all!

      While I would definitely stay at Contemporary again, I will not add the expense of it's Concierge club.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      New Disney Convert

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff, view, availability
      Cons: Walk to lounge

      We had an AMAZING time at the Contemporary. We actually stayed in the Garden Wing due to the size of our party. The Hospitality Suite is a hidden gem. It was HUGE!! We had two living room areas, 3 bathrooms, a full kitchen including dishwasher, big dining room table and a full guest room. There was a pull out sofa in the main room as well as the guest room. We had FOUR sliding doors to open and even being close to the pool, the noise never bothered us. Even at night, the Electrical Water Parade came by and you could hear that classic music but it was soothing because it reminded you where you were!

      We had to walk from the Garden Wing up to the main building but our room was the first one closest to it so it's really not a big deal. Honestly, after walking around MK or any other park all day, it's a lovely walk and takes all of 5 minutes. It was especially beautiful at night. I know that some people feel that the Contemporary "lacks" a theme but when the monorail runs through your hotel and you have a character meal in the building with a clear view of the castle and fireworks, I never forgot I was at Disney.

      As for the 12th floor- I can't wait to go back! The treats and drinks all day and night were plenty. If you are planning to only eat there it may not be enough but, with 8 people in our group it was enough variety. The breakfast items were wonderful and was a great option if you wanted to get a decent bite before an early start. There is also plenty of items you can take with you to avoid buying snacks in the park. We always grabbed a piece of fruit or brought a baggie of cereal.

      I have to say, that since we did need to walk (most guests are staying right on the 12th floor) the staff was WONDERFUL and allowed us to bring a tray of snacks and drinks back to our room so that we didn't have to drag everyone up there- especially if the little ones were sleeping.

      Our other favorite part- the VIEW! With a large group of varying ages, we would be tired at the end of the night but the lounge was the best place to be. We could sit and watch the fireworks without having to fight a crowd to get a good spot or to get out of the park! Some of the kids didn't like the noise so they could easily sit inside and watch through the sliding doors.

      I never ever wanted to stay at the Contemporary because I felt like lots of other people- it's blah and unappealing. So not true. Just stay there. It was the best surprise we could have imagined.

      On another note we upgraded to the Deluxe Dining package. It can be a lot to use since it's costly but it allowed us to get all the character meals we wanted and we were able to use meals for takeout- I have to say the Wave did a great job with take out. The Contempo Cafe was wonderful too and with the Deluxe plan we always had to grab a dessert and with 6 to choose at every meal, we would grab 1 or 2 cupcakes to split (these were DELICIOUS and HUGE) and then the other snacks would be something packaged like a rice krispie treat. This gave us weeks of after dinner treats once we got home! The Deluxe gave us lots of freedom and on our last day we stopped in to a few places in Downtown Disney and grabbed sandwiches for the drive home because we had some extra meals left and it worked out great!

      I will say, this is not the "affordable" way to go. The club level raises your prices as well as the Deluxe Plan. However, it was nothing short of an all inclusive trip without having to fly to the Caribbean. If you price out another all inclusive and then the same at Disney with the club level and Deluxe Dining - Disney is the clear winner every time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Hoboken, NJ
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views, food, helpful staff
      Cons: Noise from construction, restaurants

      We chose the Contemporary for two reasons on our recent trip:
      1. We had never stayed at the resort
      2. It was $1200 cheaper than the club level at the Poly

      Overall, this was a very nice experience and if you're like us (I'm pregnant and we took A LOT of breaks from the parks), then the cost is worth it. We also ate breakfast in the lounge every day and my husband LOVED the snacks. Also, being able to get water and bagged snacks to take into the parks was great for this preggo...I was ALWAYS hungry and thirsty! But if you're going commando at the parks, and just need a place to sleep, save your money.

      Here are the reasons why I can't give this experience a 10:
      1. It took 6 hours for our luggage to reach us, we nearly missed our ADR. Unacceptable.
      2. We had two packages delivered, one from MK and one from DTD. Only the one from MK made it to our room, the other I had to retrieve from the gift shop after 2+ days. Unacceptable.
      3. The noise from Chef Mickey's does make it all the way up to the 12th floor, so if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri January 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): concierge staff, view from lounge

      We have stayed many times at the Contemporary but never at concierge level. This past Xmas week was a first for us. We traveled with our whole family..total of 5. We had stayed on the atrium level. It was nice to have the extra lounge area to spread out when having the whole family with us. Breakfast was good. Mid -day snacks not impressive. Desserts at night were good. We always stay tower and MK view so the view from the lounge was nice, but we usually prefer our balcony. The staff was very helpful to have so we knew if MK was at capacity or not as Xmas week is very busy. Overall, this time it made sense to stay concierge level due to total number of people and time of year that we were visiting. However, not sure it was really worth the extra money if these were not factors.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.