Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LetsDoDisney
      New Disney Convert

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff, view, availability
      Cons: Walk to lounge

       
      We had an AMAZING time at the Contemporary. We actually stayed in the Garden Wing due to the size of our party. The Hospitality Suite is a hidden gem. It was HUGE!! We had two living room areas, 3 bathrooms, a full kitchen including dishwasher, big dining room table and a full guest room. There was a pull out sofa in the main room as well as the guest room. We had FOUR sliding doors to open and even being close to the pool, the noise never bothered us. Even at night, the Electrical Water Parade came by and you could hear that classic music but it was soothing because it reminded you where you were!


      We had to walk from the Garden Wing up to the main building but our room was the first one closest to it so it's really not a big deal. Honestly, after walking around MK or any other park all day, it's a lovely walk and takes all of 5 minutes. It was especially beautiful at night. I know that some people feel that the Contemporary "lacks" a theme but when the monorail runs through your hotel and you have a character meal in the building with a clear view of the castle and fireworks, I never forgot I was at Disney.


      As for the 12th floor- I can't wait to go back! The treats and drinks all day and night were plenty. If you are planning to only eat there it may not be enough but, with 8 people in our group it was enough variety. The breakfast items were wonderful and was a great option if you wanted to get a decent bite before an early start. There is also plenty of items you can take with you to avoid buying snacks in the park. We always grabbed a piece of fruit or brought a baggie of cereal.


      I have to say, that since we did need to walk (most guests are staying right on the 12th floor) the staff was WONDERFUL and allowed us to bring a tray of snacks and drinks back to our room so that we didn't have to drag everyone up there- especially if the little ones were sleeping.


      Our other favorite part- the VIEW! With a large group of varying ages, we would be tired at the end of the night but the lounge was the best place to be. We could sit and watch the fireworks without having to fight a crowd to get a good spot or to get out of the park! Some of the kids didn't like the noise so they could easily sit inside and watch through the sliding doors.


      I never ever wanted to stay at the Contemporary because I felt like lots of other people- it's blah and unappealing. So not true. Just stay there. It was the best surprise we could have imagined.


      On another note we upgraded to the Deluxe Dining package. It can be a lot to use since it's costly but it allowed us to get all the character meals we wanted and we were able to use meals for takeout- I have to say the Wave did a great job with take out. The Contempo Cafe was wonderful too and with the Deluxe plan we always had to grab a dessert and with 6 to choose at every meal, we would grab 1 or 2 cupcakes to split (these were DELICIOUS and HUGE) and then the other snacks would be something packaged like a rice krispie treat. This gave us weeks of after dinner treats once we got home! The Deluxe gave us lots of freedom and on our last day we stopped in to a few places in Downtown Disney and grabbed sandwiches for the drive home because we had some extra meals left and it worked out great!


      I will say, this is not the "affordable" way to go. The club level raises your prices as well as the Deluxe Plan. However, it was nothing short of an all inclusive trip without having to fly to the Caribbean. If you price out another all inclusive and then the same at Disney with the club level and Deluxe Dining - Disney is the clear winner every time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrsfarrellhob

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Hoboken, NJ
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views, food, helpful staff
      Cons: Noise from construction, restaurants

       
      We chose the Contemporary for two reasons on our recent trip:
      1. We had never stayed at the resort
      2. It was $1200 cheaper than the club level at the Poly


      Overall, this was a very nice experience and if you're like us (I'm pregnant and we took A LOT of breaks from the parks), then the cost is worth it. We also ate breakfast in the lounge every day and my husband LOVED the snacks. Also, being able to get water and bagged snacks to take into the parks was great for this preggo...I was ALWAYS hungry and thirsty! But if you're going commando at the parks, and just need a place to sleep, save your money.


      Here are the reasons why I can't give this experience a 10:
      1. It took 6 hours for our luggage to reach us, we nearly missed our ADR. Unacceptable.
      2. We had two packages delivered, one from MK and one from DTD. Only the one from MK made it to our room, the other I had to retrieve from the gift shop after 2+ days. Unacceptable.
      3. The noise from Chef Mickey's does make it all the way up to the 12th floor, so if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      txtinkerbell

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri January 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): concierge staff, view from lounge
      Cons:

       
      We have stayed many times at the Contemporary but never at concierge level. This past Xmas week was a first for us. We traveled with our whole family..total of 5. We had stayed on the atrium level. It was nice to have the extra lounge area to spread out when having the whole family with us. Breakfast was good. Mid -day snacks not impressive. Desserts at night were good. We always stay tower and MK view so the view from the lounge was nice, but we usually prefer our balcony. The staff was very helpful to have so we knew if MK was at capacity or not as Xmas week is very busy. Overall, this time it made sense to stay concierge level due to total number of people and time of year that we were visiting. However, not sure it was really worth the extra money if these were not factors.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dadof3

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Mississippi
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon August 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Bell service, Uninterested staff

       
      Stayed at The Contemporary with MK view on 12th floor for 5 days in late July, after 5 days above The Dream. Rooms are a bit dated but clean; sinks take up all counter space in bathroom. Had major problem with bell service -- arrived before room was ready and checked luggage from DCL bus. Told concierge and went to parks; arrived back at 10:30p, found luggage still in storage, and bellman refused to leave station to accompany us to room, or to let me have the cart. My family of 5 toted our 6 bags upstairs ourselves. Compared to other Concierge WDW resorts (Poly, WL), we found the staff uninterested in us at all. Walked past the desk dozens of times without a single "hello." At least we know the parks and needed little help. Will not be staying here again. Convenient on the Monorail, but not worth that initial headache.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wltfpd29

      Registered: August 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat August 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All of it, the room, views, snacks in lounge...
      Cons: None

       
      We are coming August 23rd and are staying on the Atrium Club level. We have stayed at the CR for the past 8 years, and the last five on the 12th floor and once on the 14th (Tower level).


      The rooms at the CR are the largest regular rooms at DW. The views are outstanding. I would suggest a baylake view as opposed to the Magic Kingdom view as it gets noisy when the Wishes fireworks begin. You can always go to the lounge's balcony and enjoy the views.


      The breakfast offerings are always outstanding and more then adequate to serve as a full meal to start your day, and it is all complimentary. Snacks during the day are minimal, with cookies/chips/candies/and soft drinks, but definately serves its purpose.


      The service at this resort has ALWAYS been excellent and the staff are wonderful. We have been greeted the past few years by a gentleman named CARL in the lobby and it is like seeing an old friend. We are hoping he is there on August 23rd. They really take care of you here, not that they don't at all of the Deluxe Resorts.


      I have read complaints in some reviews about the bus transports to some of the non-monorail destinations being slow. I disagree. You may have to wait a few minutes, but before long, one of many buses comes along and gets you to your destination. It is free, clean, and efficient. No car needed for you entire stay, unless going off site.


      I see from many posters they have been upgraded at times, this would be my only complaint, if you could call it that. We have never been offered an upgrade or benefit, and we have stayed here for many many years, but we are really not expecting it and LOVE this resort. I highly recommend staying here.


      See ya real soon CR. The Trapps
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Boardwalk Inn Fan 4 Life

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Toronto, Ontario
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun April 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, lounge size, food offerings and views
      Cons: Cast Members working up there are always changing

       
      For many years I stayed Club Level here and enjoyed their food offerings, louge size and it's views.


      The only thing I don't like is how the majority of their Club Level Cast Members no longer work up there. For many years it was always the same set of people and now it's always a new set of Cast Members working up there, so for repeat guests it's hard to build relationships with them if they no longer work up there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      k5xs

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri March 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, View, Service
      Cons: None

       
      My wife and I have been lucky enough to stay in several high-priced hotels around the world. We just got back from a week at the CR concierge floor, and it was delightful.


      Contrary to some other reviewers, we found the food and amenities very nice. Our first night the canapes included shredded duck on apple slaw. Later in the week we had a conch dish, later pot stickers. It was all good. The desserts were awesome every night. Complimentary wine and beer were available in the evenings, sodas 24 hours.


      The staff was typical Disney: Outstanding. The "Mousekeeping" was superb.


      Our room as on the 12th floor overlooking the MK. Wishes was awesome (with the audio on our in-room TV channel 20).


      We will do this again (and again, and again).


      Easily a "10+" for this couple.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.