Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LetsDoDisney
      New Disney Convert

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff, view, availability
      Cons: Walk to lounge

       
      We had an AMAZING time at the Contemporary. We actually stayed in the Garden Wing due to the size of our party. The Hospitality Suite is a hidden gem. It was HUGE!! We had two living room areas, 3 bathrooms, a full kitchen including dishwasher, big dining room table and a full guest room. There was a pull out sofa in the main room as well as the guest room. We had FOUR sliding doors to open and even being close to the pool, the noise never bothered us. Even at night, the Electrical Water Parade came by and you could hear that classic music but it was soothing because it reminded you where you were!


      We had to walk from the Garden Wing up to the main building but our room was the first one closest to it so it's really not a big deal. Honestly, after walking around MK or any other park all day, it's a lovely walk and takes all of 5 minutes. It was especially beautiful at night. I know that some people feel that the Contemporary "lacks" a theme but when the monorail runs through your hotel and you have a character meal in the building with a clear view of the castle and fireworks, I never forgot I was at Disney.


      As for the 12th floor- I can't wait to go back! The treats and drinks all day and night were plenty. If you are planning to only eat there it may not be enough but, with 8 people in our group it was enough variety. The breakfast items were wonderful and was a great option if you wanted to get a decent bite before an early start. There is also plenty of items you can take with you to avoid buying snacks in the park. We always grabbed a piece of fruit or brought a baggie of cereal.


      I have to say, that since we did need to walk (most guests are staying right on the 12th floor) the staff was WONDERFUL and allowed us to bring a tray of snacks and drinks back to our room so that we didn't have to drag everyone up there- especially if the little ones were sleeping.


      Our other favorite part- the VIEW! With a large group of varying ages, we would be tired at the end of the night but the lounge was the best place to be. We could sit and watch the fireworks without having to fight a crowd to get a good spot or to get out of the park! Some of the kids didn't like the noise so they could easily sit inside and watch through the sliding doors.


      I never ever wanted to stay at the Contemporary because I felt like lots of other people- it's blah and unappealing. So not true. Just stay there. It was the best surprise we could have imagined.


      On another note we upgraded to the Deluxe Dining package. It can be a lot to use since it's costly but it allowed us to get all the character meals we wanted and we were able to use meals for takeout- I have to say the Wave did a great job with take out. The Contempo Cafe was wonderful too and with the Deluxe plan we always had to grab a dessert and with 6 to choose at every meal, we would grab 1 or 2 cupcakes to split (these were DELICIOUS and HUGE) and then the other snacks would be something packaged like a rice krispie treat. This gave us weeks of after dinner treats once we got home! The Deluxe gave us lots of freedom and on our last day we stopped in to a few places in Downtown Disney and grabbed sandwiches for the drive home because we had some extra meals left and it worked out great!


      I will say, this is not the "affordable" way to go. The club level raises your prices as well as the Deluxe Plan. However, it was nothing short of an all inclusive trip without having to fly to the Caribbean. If you price out another all inclusive and then the same at Disney with the club level and Deluxe Dining - Disney is the clear winner every time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrsfarrellhob

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Hoboken, NJ
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views, food, helpful staff
      Cons: Noise from construction, restaurants

       
      We chose the Contemporary for two reasons on our recent trip:
      1. We had never stayed at the resort
      2. It was $1200 cheaper than the club level at the Poly


      Overall, this was a very nice experience and if you're like us (I'm pregnant and we took A LOT of breaks from the parks), then the cost is worth it. We also ate breakfast in the lounge every day and my husband LOVED the snacks. Also, being able to get water and bagged snacks to take into the parks was great for this preggo...I was ALWAYS hungry and thirsty! But if you're going commando at the parks, and just need a place to sleep, save your money.


      Here are the reasons why I can't give this experience a 10:
      1. It took 6 hours for our luggage to reach us, we nearly missed our ADR. Unacceptable.
      2. We had two packages delivered, one from MK and one from DTD. Only the one from MK made it to our room, the other I had to retrieve from the gift shop after 2+ days. Unacceptable.
      3. The noise from Chef Mickey's does make it all the way up to the 12th floor, so if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      txtinkerbell

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri January 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): concierge staff, view from lounge
      Cons:

       
      We have stayed many times at the Contemporary but never at concierge level. This past Xmas week was a first for us. We traveled with our whole family..total of 5. We had stayed on the atrium level. It was nice to have the extra lounge area to spread out when having the whole family with us. Breakfast was good. Mid -day snacks not impressive. Desserts at night were good. We always stay tower and MK view so the view from the lounge was nice, but we usually prefer our balcony. The staff was very helpful to have so we knew if MK was at capacity or not as Xmas week is very busy. Overall, this time it made sense to stay concierge level due to total number of people and time of year that we were visiting. However, not sure it was really worth the extra money if these were not factors.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dadof3

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Mississippi
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon August 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Bell service, Uninterested staff

       
      Stayed at The Contemporary with MK view on 12th floor for 5 days in late July, after 5 days above The Dream. Rooms are a bit dated but clean; sinks take up all counter space in bathroom. Had major problem with bell service -- arrived before room was ready and checked luggage from DCL bus. Told concierge and went to parks; arrived back at 10:30p, found luggage still in storage, and bellman refused to leave station to accompany us to room, or to let me have the cart. My family of 5 toted our 6 bags upstairs ourselves. Compared to other Concierge WDW resorts (Poly, WL), we found the staff uninterested in us at all. Walked past the desk dozens of times without a single "hello." At least we know the parks and needed little help. Will not be staying here again. Convenient on the Monorail, but not worth that initial headache.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wltfpd29

      Registered: August 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat August 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All of it, the room, views, snacks in lounge...
      Cons: None

       
      We are coming August 23rd and are staying on the Atrium Club level. We have stayed at the CR for the past 8 years, and the last five on the 12th floor and once on the 14th (Tower level).


      The rooms at the CR are the largest regular rooms at DW. The views are outstanding. I would suggest a baylake view as opposed to the Magic Kingdom view as it gets noisy when the Wishes fireworks begin. You can always go to the lounge's balcony and enjoy the views.


      The breakfast offerings are always outstanding and more then adequate to serve as a full meal to start your day, and it is all complimentary. Snacks during the day are minimal, with cookies/chips/candies/and soft drinks, but definately serves its purpose.


      The service at this resort has ALWAYS been excellent and the staff are wonderful. We have been greeted the past few years by a gentleman named CARL in the lobby and it is like seeing an old friend. We are hoping he is there on August 23rd. They really take care of you here, not that they don't at all of the Deluxe Resorts.


      I have read complaints in some reviews about the bus transports to some of the non-monorail destinations being slow. I disagree. You may have to wait a few minutes, but before long, one of many buses comes along and gets you to your destination. It is free, clean, and efficient. No car needed for you entire stay, unless going off site.


      I see from many posters they have been upgraded at times, this would be my only complaint, if you could call it that. We have never been offered an upgrade or benefit, and we have stayed here for many many years, but we are really not expecting it and LOVE this resort. I highly recommend staying here.


      See ya real soon CR. The Trapps
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Boardwalk Inn Fan 4 Life

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Toronto, Ontario
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun April 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, lounge size, food offerings and views
      Cons: Cast Members working up there are always changing

       
      For many years I stayed Club Level here and enjoyed their food offerings, louge size and it's views.


      The only thing I don't like is how the majority of their Club Level Cast Members no longer work up there. For many years it was always the same set of people and now it's always a new set of Cast Members working up there, so for repeat guests it's hard to build relationships with them if they no longer work up there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      k5xs

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri March 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, View, Service
      Cons: None

       
      My wife and I have been lucky enough to stay in several high-priced hotels around the world. We just got back from a week at the CR concierge floor, and it was delightful.


      Contrary to some other reviewers, we found the food and amenities very nice. Our first night the canapes included shredded duck on apple slaw. Later in the week we had a conch dish, later pot stickers. It was all good. The desserts were awesome every night. Complimentary wine and beer were available in the evenings, sodas 24 hours.


      The staff was typical Disney: Outstanding. The "Mousekeeping" was superb.


      Our room as on the 12th floor overlooking the MK. Wishes was awesome (with the audio on our in-room TV channel 20).


      We will do this again (and again, and again).


      Easily a "10+" for this couple.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkymouse4ever

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon August 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, mousekeeping, limited floor acess, view
      Cons: atrium noise, poor AC, food offered

       
      We had ressies for Aug 10-26th. for MK v/ tower. Very late check in after midnite on 10th, we where told totally full and over sold. You're being upgraded!


      So we were 14th floor concierge room 4915. They did not tell us, this is a HC room and no bathtub. Room was extremely clean, had our folder with name in room and chocolate CR box [gift]. This room is more of the "older" style and not the typical brown/tan room decor the others have. There is a nice bench at the end of each bed that is very useful. No sofa in this room either. The bathroom is VERY large. Plenty of room to add a tub and maintain the HC status. Not sure why they don't. Has 2 sinks with a large vanity. Similar to the rooms before the updating. You get a refrigerator in your room and stocked with pop and water [daily].


      Our AC was an issue. Even overriding the system our room was high 70's. Hall also warm. Found out the AC had an issue and they where working on it for 1 entire day before we moved. Was interesting to see the set up of rooms since it is not open to the atrium. Staff was great. The balcony on the 14th floor is huge. We could of pulled the bed out there.


      We requested to move due to the no tub and 3 days later granted our request and moved us to 12th floor club concierge. We requested to just have our regular tower MK room but they said they where moving us to 12th floor. Club concierge. The room is identical to other rooms at the CR. Again we got a chocolate welcome box. The difference here is no pop or water is in your room. They are in the lounge if you want to take them. [also available in 14th floor lounge]. The food and offering where the same on both floors.


      Honestly, I was glad I did not pay for the upgrade. Gone are the days you could make a meal out of the food offered. They are snacks, [chips, gold fish, pretzels, candy] and appetizers [small bit size appy's]. They also have some fruit, and tiny pieces of bread with PB & J offered, small pieces of cheeses. We had bought pop & water prior to check in so we didn't really need that either. At night they offered tiny bite sized cakes, or canapes. Alcohol is also offered. Beer, wine, and cordials.


      Both floors mousekeeping was quick and efficient. They definitely have more help on these floors compared to time of service we had had previously at the CR. We didn't use the concierge service, since we already had our adr's planned. The staff however were all wonderfully friendly and always greeting you or asking what they could do for you. Having the floor secured is a nice perk we felt safe there. And as usual the view from the CR tower is unparalleled at WDW.


      Lounge was usually empty on both floors with most people taking there choices back to there room.
      We love the CR and this was a great special trip but these services are very costly and not sure I agree with the pricing for what you receive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      karsynsmomma

      Registered: July 2011
      Location: Okc, OK
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu July 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gorgeous view, beautiful rooms
      Cons:

       
      My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here this past March and we LOVED it. It was a beautiful room, and we loved the view! We watched MK's fireworks from our balcony, while eating a late dinner. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay 1 night, and we would love to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      anonomom

      Registered: May 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon May 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, rooms, snacks.
      Cons: Sometimes slow elevators.

       
      We stayed at the Contemporary Atrium Club Level from 5/15-5/21/2011. It was me, DH and our two daughters, 5.5 and 2 yo. Frankly, I'm hard pressed to find a single thing to complain about -- we had a lovely time.


      The luxury started before we even arrived in Florida, with the Concierge planners contacting us to see if we needed any help with reservations. As it happens, I had made almost all of my ADRs, so I didn't really need help with dining, but they did help me with my reservation at the Main Street Barbershop, and then again when I realized I had timed some of my ADRs badly.


      When we got to the resort, we were met at our car by an extremely polite CM, who was there to escort us up to our room. It sounds like a small thing, but it was wonderful not to have to worry about checking in. The CM presented us with our room keys, itinerary and a folder full of hotel information.


      The room itself was perfect -- spotless and quite large. We had requested a crib for my younger daughter, and was surprised to see that it was a real crib, not a pack and play. Even with the large crib, we had plenty of room to spread out.


      Lighting in the rooms is ingenious. Each bed has two reading lamps, each with its own dimmer, and there's a lighted panel under the TV that made a nice dim light while we were getting the kids to sleep.


      The club lounge was spacious and clean, and there was always food available. I was especially pleased to see that they offered oatmeal each morning, in addition to the fruit, yogurt, pastries and cereal we'd been expecting. It was nice to have a healthy breakfast option.


      Mid-Day snacks were goldfish, yogurt-covered pretzels, nuts, gummy bears, cookies and really delicious house-made potato chips. It was nice to have the food and cold drinks waiting right there when we returned from the parks for break.


      In the evenings, there was an extensive selection of food -- cheese, veggies, hot appetizers, peanut butter & jelly (not lunchables as we'd been expecting; rather slices of french bread and little cups with the PB&J. DD delighted in making her own sandwiches) and a variety of rolls and spreads. The offerings didn't replace dinner, but did make it possible for us to order one or two entrees at the Contempo Cafe to split among us.


      My favorite part of the day was dessert -- we'd put the kids down, then snag a selection of tiny desserts and sit on our balcony to watch the fireworks. It was like having our own private little Wishes Dessert Party every night.


      Overall, we were very happy with the Contemporary in general, and the Club level in particular. I'd been concerned before hand that it was a waste of money, but now I think it was worth every penny (bearing in mind that we used a discount -- I don't think I could justify full rack rate). The convenience and luxury just made for such a great vacation. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bns13wdw

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat January 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, room size, concierge lounge
      Cons: bus service to HS & AK

       
      We arrived at the Contemporary resort on 1/4 (we stayed until 1/10). We found out that we had been upgraded to concierge level as soon as we arrived. A gentleman took us up to the 12th floor and we were checked in at the desk. The staff welcomed us and showed us to our room.


      I have to say we loved every minute we spent at this hotel. The breakfast offerings were plentiful: good coffee, assorted pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juices etc.. We didn't sample the snacks offered during the afternoon as we were always at a park during that time. We truly enjoyed the wine and cheese selections at 5:00 - two hot appetizers, cheese and vegetable trays, wine & beer. This was a great respite before returning to the parks in the evening. The cordials and desserts offered in the evening, along with being able to watch the fireworks from the lounge, made the end of a long day much more enjoyable.


      I have never stayed at concierge level before so I have nothing to compare it with but I honestly can't think of a significant complaint. Our room was always clean, loved the turn down service as well. The offerings in the lounge were always kept full with a castmember fussing over the table. It was wonderful to watch the Electrical Water Pageant each night. The location of this resort can't be beat.


      Having stayed at this resort before the only complaint would be the bus service to HS & AK. I just don't find it as efficient as some of the other hotels: 1. No queue, which means you might be waiting longer than others who show up just before the bus arrives, stand at the curb so they get on first and get a seat even though they haven't waited as long. Obviously other guests being rude is not the hotel's fault, I just wish it was better organized. 2. Multiple stops - bus also services the Polynesian and stops at water parks. Overall it is a minor complaint as we only went to AK & HS for one day each so it didn't impact us on a daily basis.


      Overall I can't say enough about our wonderful experience at this resort. We looked at our upgrade to concierge level as a gift, the "cherry on top" of a delightful vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kyungjoo

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri January 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, location, location!! MK view excellent.
      Cons: value, quality, club level compared to other WDW resorts, maintenance and cleaning

       
      Compared to the Boardwalk club level, the check-in process was mediocre: no separate check-in, no communication via email in bookings and it was a slow, "upright" process (the Boardwalk sits you down in the lounge while check-in is done and all facilities explained with snacks provided).


      With 5 in the family we were given a disabled room with double beds (not queensize, even though the club staff were adamant the beds were queen size - only when a maid showed them another room did they admit that the beds were not queen). More importantly, the room was not cleaned properly (at 6pm !) with wet sinks and used soaps and towels in the bathroom as well as a diaper in the bin amongst other things, dirty carpet and items from the previous residents left around.


      After 2 hours of waiting for cleaning staff to return from their break and clean the room (the vacuum cleaner couldn't have been used as dirt and food still remained all over the floor) and argue about bed size, we were moved to a room with queen beds - 2 doors down ! Why they hadn't moved us there straight away instead of go through 2 hours of pain is beyond me. Mind you, the new room also had half a pizza and half empty drinks in the fridge!!


      So not a good impression for our first 2 hours in Contemporary club level.


      The roof in the bathroom had a tile surrounding the AC duct falling down, the TV wall mount recess was about 1 inch out of level and there were no locks on the toilet or bathroom.


      The lounge food and drink selection was very poor with gummy bears, cookies and breads the norm - Boardwalk selection was far superior and more tasty. Cleanliness of the lounge left a lot to be desired with lengthy periods before tables cleaned and dishes removed from the small table housing used items. I think the issue is staff - not enough of them to keep it running smoothly.


      Check-out summarised all about the hotel. Waiting for the Magical Express bus to the airport, we introduced ourselves to a staff member who told us the bus would arrive in 10 minutes. A yellow "Mears" bus arrived and left at the designated time then 15 minutes after that when we hadn't seen the Express bus we asked the staff member about the bus and she said it had gone - it was the yellow bus! Given we told her we were there to catch the bus and it didn't have the usual express logo all over it, I wasn't too impressed that she saw us standing there and didn't even tell us (there was no announcement made that the express bus had arrived, and we weren't the only ones ignored). She then had the hide to say we should have known. This seemed to sum up the service of the hotel - surviving on name and not on action (a shining light was Richard the bell-hop who had been there for years and was great).


      On the positive side, the location was great - walk to MK, walk or monorail back. Returning from Epcot on the monorail you change trains and go around the lake to get to the hotel, but it's not a huge problem. Other parks have easy access by the Disney bus transport. The MK room view was great and being able to watch the fireworks and sunrise over the castle a bonus. Noise on the 12th floor wasn't too bad with the occasional loud screams and claps when the characters appeared in the cafe on the 4th floor.


      Would I stay there again? Unfortunately no. This was the final and supposedly best of the four hotels we stayed at during the holiday, and expectations were a big part of it. I was sadly let down. Perhaps they should do a bit of benchmarking and stay at the other resort hotels to see how it's done to retain customers. I'd stay at somewhere like the Boardwalk and save over $80 a night.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.