Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Bakerman64

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Altoona, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat September 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines, fireworks, boo to you parade
      Cons: long lines for candy, morecrowded than expected

       
      Overall, the experience was nice; My Daughter and I were down for a father, daughter getaway. We have done Christmas and Pirate and Princess, so we thought this was a good way to round out the experiences; I agree with previous reviews that being a hard ticket event, they should limit the number so the event is more enjoyable; little wait for rides; neat to see people dressed up in costumes; really enjoyed boo to you parade. I would recommend doing this once to experience Disney magic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Tue September 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines for rides
      Cons: too crowded

       
      We attended this Tues 9/18 making the erroneous assumption that a Tues night in Sept wouldn't be that crowded. Oh how I was wrong! The further it got into the nite, the worse the crowd got. My family doesn't want to stake out a parade & fireworks spot an hour before the event so we missed most of the parade & displays on the castle for the fireworks. Also, the lines were too long to trick or treat. I was really disappointed in the experience. I really feel like a limited ticket event should be just that, limited!


      All that being said, the decorations were great and it was nice to have little to no wait for our favorite rides. It just got to be too much as the crowds poured in. I think this is a great idea but for the money, I'll just go to MK on a not busy day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kpalmieri76

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue September 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Costumes, Candy & Shorter lines for rides and riding Thunder Mountain in the dark!
      Cons: not enough time to do everything!

       
      We attended the party on 9/21 (Friday) and got there at 9pm. We missed the first parade..no sweat, we will see the later one! WRONG. Both kids (ages 5 & 11) had no desire to see the fireworks or the parades. I had to BEG them to get candy and to just peek at the characters dressed up. All they were interested in were the shorter wait times and riding Thunder and Splash Mountain in the dark. It was pretty cool to see the fireworks while riding Thunder Mountain! My favorite was seeing everyone at the Haunted Mansion all dressed up.


      Speaking of shorter lines....I am 37 years old and have never been on the Astro Orbiter because the line has always been too long. No wait..We walked right on!


      The only bad part of the night was being packed like sardines while waiting in line for the monorail. But it only took 30 minutes to leave Magic Kingdom, ride the tram and get to our car. It could been worse!


      Definitely would recommend Mickey's Halloween Party...bring me some candy if you go!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Mon September 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hallowishes, Boo To You Paradge
      Cons: Villians aren't out long, Crowded

       
      I spent all that day at the Magic Kingdom and it was more crowded after the party started then before. That struck me as odd since MNSSHP is a hard ticket event.


      Any-who the Villains Mix and Mingle was an entertaining show that took place 4 times during the course of the night. Afterwards the Villains would take pictures with the guests but they were only out for about 10 minutes.


      The Headless Horseman riding doing Main Street was a perfect pre-show for the parade. The Boo To You parade itself was the best parade at Disney. Especially the Haunted mansion gravediggers dancing with shovels.


      Speaking of the Haunted mansion, it is extra creepy on party nights. The CMs add cobwebs to there costumes to increase the experience.


      Happy Hallowishes was an AWESOME fireworks display. At one point the fireworks surround you a 270 degree arc.


      There are many Trick Or Treating locations around the park. The one near Splash Mountain actually has 3 candy stations. At the end of the night the CMs are literally shoveling candy in your bag.


      There are also great opportunities for meet and greets with hard to find characters such as Tarzan and Jane, The villains, and the 7 dwarfs.


      I was wearing my custom made Backside Of Water shirt and felt VERY under-dressed once the party started. the costumes guests made were amazing!


      Well worth the extra ticket to get into the party.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Mon September 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short ride waits, 'free' candy, special parades
      Cons: more crowded than years past, nothing new 2 years later

       
      Second time to MNSSHP, last time was 2010. It didn't seem much different this year than the last time other than fewer characters out and about. It is definitely a 'do it at least once' event, but for a second time, probably not. We went at the end of September this year, last time it was two days before Halloween so the crowds were more into the Halloween mood the closer to Halloween. It also seemed as if the crowd was larger this year, there were a lot of people, but still the rides were nearly all 'walk on'. I think this is mainly due to the Fast Pass system being turned off more than the volume of individuals in the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sun September 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks, Headless Horseman
      Cons: Crowded

       
      On the positive side, my son loved the event and had a great time. I liked this better than the Christmas party, but was still much too crowded. While the party is 5 hours long, it is not long enough to do everything you want because it is just too crowded. I was really surprised how long it took to get people out of the park who were not staying for the party. It seemed like people were just pouring out until well past 7:30. And people just pouring in at the same time.


      I think the party is a great idea and they do a nice job on it, but you just cannot enjoy it to its potential because there are too many people. You have to wait for everything for so long...the line for the seven dwarfs was just too long to stand in. We would have wasted at least an hour there. Disney really needs to look at reducing the number of tickets sold or offering more parties.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      megs319

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Tavernier, FL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun September 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): trick-or-treating, fireworks, short lines
      Cons: long lines for character meet ups, not long enough

       
      This we be our second year in row going to MNSSHP, & it is AWESOME! What's not to love? Short lines for rides, cheaper tickets, candy, dressing in costume, & not to mention the cool fireworks, parade, & dance parties. It's pretty much what we look forward to all year long. Character meet ups are long though, I recommend coming early (attendees can enter as early as 4pm) & getting that out of the way, so you have the rest of the times to enjoy the party's cool happenings. & did I mention short lines??!! we waited 10 minutes for peter pan's flight, when can you ever say that? & we walked right on to space mountain. It is an overall great event for families, couples, young at heart, & well everyone! I am 21 & I throughly enjoy myself at this event!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      slamborne

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Rockledge, FL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri September 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the Parade, rides, and fireworks
      Cons: Long lines for characters. They leave well before midnight.

       
      There is just not enough time to do and see everything in one night...so don't try..you'll be disappointed...Decide ahead of time what you want to do. It is possible to view the parade, fireworks, Villian Mix and Mingle, and get some candy. But if you also want to ride the rides and a chance to meet the characters that only come out for the party, you can't do it. So plan accordingly.
      This year we went for Gaston, Captain Hook, Captain Jack Sparrow, Donald and Daisy in their Halloween outfits and Pooh and friends in their outfits. We also wasted time waiting for Phineas and Ferb because a cast member said they were wearing Halloween outfits...they weren't.
      On the candy note. Unless you want a handfull of skittles or nerds, you should just ask for chocolate. The cast members will dig for it. The Werther's carmel apple..given out behind the castle..were awesome. Thank goodness the line wasn't long because we kept going back for more while we were waiting for photos with Donald and Daisy.
      We didn't realize Dr. Facilier came down after the Villians show so we missed him. it was so crowded after the show that i couldn't see anything. There is so much to do that I guess i have to go back again next year
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Sun September 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade, fireworks, villains
      Cons: not long enough

       
      Went to the first MNSSHP on 9/11. It was my first and it was fantastic!!! (Didn't have such a positive experience at another unmentioned party). CMs were clearing the park of day guests, although it was a light attendance day anyway.


      GOt in line about 6pm for the 7 Dwarves and so when the party started at 7pm, we only waited about 15 mins to see them. Met Tarzan, Jane, Abu and Genie all by 8:30. Kids did some rides, went to dance party, did some trick or treating.


      The trick or treating isn't a big deal to me, but the kids loved it. They hit all the spots and got varied name brand candies - goofy lollipops, reeses peanut butter cups, skittles, starburts, sour patch, chocolate, etc. There were no waits on the rides. In fact, the rides that I saw were running more than 1/2 empty.


      Can.not. emphasize enough how the best advice is to go to the 2nd parade. During the 1st parade, my husband took the kids to Woody's dance party (yes, the dance parties go on during the parade). There were only 5 kids there. They got lots of time with the characters.


      We watched the fireworks from the Tomorrowland Terrace (where the dessert party was). Walked up 5 mins before the fireworks started and found a table. Some of the view was obstructed but were happy that we had room for our party of 11. Fireworks were super!


      After fireworks, 3 of the adults went to stake out parade spot in front of castle. I took kids closer in to see Villans Mix N Mingle. Loved the little show and then the Villains came down in front of castle for about 15 mins to take photos. (no autographs). We got Snow White Queen Grimhilde, Cruella, and Frollo. Wanted to get Shadowman but his line was too long. Would have liked to stay for 1115 show to get the additional characters but that is just too late for my 6,7,8 year olds.


      We didn't have the most ideal parade spot, but we could all see. Parade was fantastic!


      My only complaint is that we didn't get to meet all the characters that only come out for the party. My kids are already asking to go back next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwfan6

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: MA
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri May 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun Party, Awesome Fireworks, Great Ghost @ Haunted Mansion
      Cons: REALLY Long lines for characters & bus waits back to resort

       
      I went in early November 2011 and had fun. The parade is fun to watch and the fireworks are AWESOME!!! Seeing the Haunted Mansion all covered with smoke, dark colored lights and the lady ghost talking to people while they waited in line was great!! I did not do much trick or treating for candy, as there seemed to be long lines for those.


      I would say one of the biggest cons were ridiculously long lines for meet & greets with characters. The wait for Captain Jack was over an hour alone, and the one's for the villians in front of the castle was too short of time to get to everyone in line. Alot of the characters did not give signatures.


      The other con would be the buses back to the resorts. The deluxe resorts had buses one after the other, while the waits for the moderates and values were way too long. You would see 5 buses for the Boardwalk for one bus for a moderate. Several complaints were made to staff that was there, but seemed to fall on deaf ears as yet another deluxe bus rolled in.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cloppe

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Toronto, ON
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed May 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade
      Cons: Crowd. CM not helpful.

       
      We went to the party on Sept 23, 2011. My son's birthday was on that date. We stayed in MK for the full day. By 5-ish, we started asking CMs where we can get our wristband. We were pointed to multiple wrong locations. When we got to the front gate, the CM there told us to get out of the park and line up with the crowd to get back in. The crowd during the party was way bigger than during the day. The line ups were way longer for all the rides. We only got on two or three rides. The only good thing was the parade which was fantastic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tgaudet

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: louisiana
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu December 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice decorations
      Cons: Crowds,long wait for candy,cheap candy

       
      Wanted to visit during the fall and heard about the MNSSHP and thought we'd try it. Bought tickets for the party for the night of 10-27-11. When we arrived at MK and saw the enormous crowds we knew it was the wrong idea to come to this event. The lines were OMG!!!! Words can't explain it. The parade I guess was nice but because of the crowds we couldn't see anything but we heard the music. The haunted mansion had an alternate entrance for the event and it was nice but nothing to special to brag about. It was however very nice to see all the people and kids dressed in costumes. That's the only part of this night that made my DD3 and DS6 happy as they were miserable about all the people (scared of large crowds and loud noises)and not understanding why the lines for candy and characters were soooooo long. They did get to ride a few rides with out waiting to long but after 2 hours of this madness we called it QUITS! The only reason my kids got any candy was because on the way out there was a candy station as you walked out of gate but it was 7 pieces of generic foil papered no name candy and from Disney! I'm still confused about that! Needless to say we will go again in the fall as the weather was beautiful, but will enjoy the decorations during the day and kids can where costumes because its that time of year but no MNSSHP for us especially not at the $200 plus we spent for this disappointment....
      Click here to see this users profile  
      md2mad

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri November 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful parade, love everyone all dressed in costume (even the characters)
      Cons: Very Large Crowds

       
      We went to the MNSSHP on 9/27/11 and had a great time. The lines were about a 20 minute wait for major attractions. The parade was wonderful. It is well worth it to wait by the side walk to get a good view. My kids enjoyed dressing up and got lots of attention from cast members. The trick or treat lines were packed. We loved seeing the guests and characters all dressed up.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kjp165

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue November 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great characters, Boo To You Parade
      Cons: none

       
      We attended our first Halloween Party on November 1, 2011. We absolutely loved it and cannot wait to do it again! THe decorations were beautiful. Next year my mom wants to time our stay to do MNSSHP and MVMCP in one visit.


      We did not experience long lines for the character for several reasons. The photo op with the Cinderella's Carriage & at the Haunted Mansion opened before 6:30. So we were able to get those photos first and then get in line for the Dwarfs. Later we had no wait for the hitchhiking ghost. While in line for the Dwarfs we took turns going through the trick or treat line at the Briar Patch. A line had not formed and some others guests were trying to run through and pushed my mom causing her to twist her ankle. (Not Disney's fault) This was the only candy line we did, but my daughter loved it. We got more than enough candy in that one line. The line for the dwarfs got long very quickly.


      We absolutely loved the parade. My favorite Disney Parade ever!!!!!! We watched both the first and second one, though my daughter was a little scared by the villians. Because of this we did not do the villian mix and mingle, a bummer for me. We walked right on several of the rides and watched the fireworks from fantasyland. We never made it to the dance parties because my daughter got tired and wanted to see more characters.


      We got to see Jane, Tarzan & Terk at one time. Waited less than five minutes for Tiana and Naveen and less than 15 for the Fairies!!!!!!! It was a forty five minute wait the rest of the week. At the end of the night Mickey had a 5-10 minute wait & the Princesses had a 45 minute wait. I got in line for the gals and my dad took my daughter through to see Mickey. This was the absolute last thing we did at the party. It was awesome to meet Eugene and Rapunzel with all the other couples. More bang for our wait time.


      The lines for the monorail and the ferry boats were out of this world at the end of the night and we even left a little before midnight. Longest lines we had all week!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LOOPYD

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: Wales, UK
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun November 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful experience
      Cons: None

       
      We love this event, and come back year after year to attend. Went on 1 November, the last party, and it was as good as ever. Long lines for characters, but not too bad for the rides. We walked onto Splash mountain several times and were the last to ride it at one minute to midnight!


      Lines for candy were longer this year than I remember from previous years, and less chocolate - didn't get any peanut butter eyes this year. Having said that we still ended up with too much candy - but it will all be eaten by our colleagues in our respective work places!


      We dressed up as pirates, and my elder daughter as tinker bell - well worth the effort, and it was wonderful to see some of the costumes - superb!


      Great parade as usual, and the fireworks were unmissable - especially if you can watch them from in front on the castle. The kids loved the dance parties - great interaction with the characters, as was the Villains show in front of the castle, with the meet and greet afterwards.


      I would highly recommend this event - the highlight of our holiday!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.