Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sun September 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks, Headless Horseman
      Cons: Crowded

       
      On the positive side, my son loved the event and had a great time. I liked this better than the Christmas party, but was still much too crowded. While the party is 5 hours long, it is not long enough to do everything you want because it is just too crowded. I was really surprised how long it took to get people out of the park who were not staying for the party. It seemed like people were just pouring out until well past 7:30. And people just pouring in at the same time.


      I think the party is a great idea and they do a nice job on it, but you just cannot enjoy it to its potential because there are too many people. You have to wait for everything for so long...the line for the seven dwarfs was just too long to stand in. We would have wasted at least an hour there. Disney really needs to look at reducing the number of tickets sold or offering more parties.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      megs319

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Tavernier, FL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun September 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): trick-or-treating, fireworks, short lines
      Cons: long lines for character meet ups, not long enough

       
      This we be our second year in row going to MNSSHP, & it is AWESOME! What's not to love? Short lines for rides, cheaper tickets, candy, dressing in costume, & not to mention the cool fireworks, parade, & dance parties. It's pretty much what we look forward to all year long. Character meet ups are long though, I recommend coming early (attendees can enter as early as 4pm) & getting that out of the way, so you have the rest of the times to enjoy the party's cool happenings. & did I mention short lines??!! we waited 10 minutes for peter pan's flight, when can you ever say that? & we walked right on to space mountain. It is an overall great event for families, couples, young at heart, & well everyone! I am 21 & I throughly enjoy myself at this event!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      slamborne

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Rockledge, FL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri September 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the Parade, rides, and fireworks
      Cons: Long lines for characters. They leave well before midnight.

       
      There is just not enough time to do and see everything in one night...so don't try..you'll be disappointed...Decide ahead of time what you want to do. It is possible to view the parade, fireworks, Villian Mix and Mingle, and get some candy. But if you also want to ride the rides and a chance to meet the characters that only come out for the party, you can't do it. So plan accordingly.
      This year we went for Gaston, Captain Hook, Captain Jack Sparrow, Donald and Daisy in their Halloween outfits and Pooh and friends in their outfits. We also wasted time waiting for Phineas and Ferb because a cast member said they were wearing Halloween outfits...they weren't.
      On the candy note. Unless you want a handfull of skittles or nerds, you should just ask for chocolate. The cast members will dig for it. The Werther's carmel apple..given out behind the castle..were awesome. Thank goodness the line wasn't long because we kept going back for more while we were waiting for photos with Donald and Daisy.
      We didn't realize Dr. Facilier came down after the Villians show so we missed him. it was so crowded after the show that i couldn't see anything. There is so much to do that I guess i have to go back again next year
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Sun September 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade, fireworks, villains
      Cons: not long enough

       
      Went to the first MNSSHP on 9/11. It was my first and it was fantastic!!! (Didn't have such a positive experience at another unmentioned party). CMs were clearing the park of day guests, although it was a light attendance day anyway.


      GOt in line about 6pm for the 7 Dwarves and so when the party started at 7pm, we only waited about 15 mins to see them. Met Tarzan, Jane, Abu and Genie all by 8:30. Kids did some rides, went to dance party, did some trick or treating.


      The trick or treating isn't a big deal to me, but the kids loved it. They hit all the spots and got varied name brand candies - goofy lollipops, reeses peanut butter cups, skittles, starburts, sour patch, chocolate, etc. There were no waits on the rides. In fact, the rides that I saw were running more than 1/2 empty.


      Can.not. emphasize enough how the best advice is to go to the 2nd parade. During the 1st parade, my husband took the kids to Woody's dance party (yes, the dance parties go on during the parade). There were only 5 kids there. They got lots of time with the characters.


      We watched the fireworks from the Tomorrowland Terrace (where the dessert party was). Walked up 5 mins before the fireworks started and found a table. Some of the view was obstructed but were happy that we had room for our party of 11. Fireworks were super!


      After fireworks, 3 of the adults went to stake out parade spot in front of castle. I took kids closer in to see Villans Mix N Mingle. Loved the little show and then the Villains came down in front of castle for about 15 mins to take photos. (no autographs). We got Snow White Queen Grimhilde, Cruella, and Frollo. Wanted to get Shadowman but his line was too long. Would have liked to stay for 1115 show to get the additional characters but that is just too late for my 6,7,8 year olds.


      We didn't have the most ideal parade spot, but we could all see. Parade was fantastic!


      My only complaint is that we didn't get to meet all the characters that only come out for the party. My kids are already asking to go back next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwfan6

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: MA
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri May 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun Party, Awesome Fireworks, Great Ghost @ Haunted Mansion
      Cons: REALLY Long lines for characters & bus waits back to resort

       
      I went in early November 2011 and had fun. The parade is fun to watch and the fireworks are AWESOME!!! Seeing the Haunted Mansion all covered with smoke, dark colored lights and the lady ghost talking to people while they waited in line was great!! I did not do much trick or treating for candy, as there seemed to be long lines for those.


      I would say one of the biggest cons were ridiculously long lines for meet & greets with characters. The wait for Captain Jack was over an hour alone, and the one's for the villians in front of the castle was too short of time to get to everyone in line. Alot of the characters did not give signatures.


      The other con would be the buses back to the resorts. The deluxe resorts had buses one after the other, while the waits for the moderates and values were way too long. You would see 5 buses for the Boardwalk for one bus for a moderate. Several complaints were made to staff that was there, but seemed to fall on deaf ears as yet another deluxe bus rolled in.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cloppe

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Toronto, ON
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed May 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade
      Cons: Crowd. CM not helpful.

       
      We went to the party on Sept 23, 2011. My son's birthday was on that date. We stayed in MK for the full day. By 5-ish, we started asking CMs where we can get our wristband. We were pointed to multiple wrong locations. When we got to the front gate, the CM there told us to get out of the park and line up with the crowd to get back in. The crowd during the party was way bigger than during the day. The line ups were way longer for all the rides. We only got on two or three rides. The only good thing was the parade which was fantastic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tgaudet

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: louisiana
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu December 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice decorations
      Cons: Crowds,long wait for candy,cheap candy

       
      Wanted to visit during the fall and heard about the MNSSHP and thought we'd try it. Bought tickets for the party for the night of 10-27-11. When we arrived at MK and saw the enormous crowds we knew it was the wrong idea to come to this event. The lines were OMG!!!! Words can't explain it. The parade I guess was nice but because of the crowds we couldn't see anything but we heard the music. The haunted mansion had an alternate entrance for the event and it was nice but nothing to special to brag about. It was however very nice to see all the people and kids dressed in costumes. That's the only part of this night that made my DD3 and DS6 happy as they were miserable about all the people (scared of large crowds and loud noises)and not understanding why the lines for candy and characters were soooooo long. They did get to ride a few rides with out waiting to long but after 2 hours of this madness we called it QUITS! The only reason my kids got any candy was because on the way out there was a candy station as you walked out of gate but it was 7 pieces of generic foil papered no name candy and from Disney! I'm still confused about that! Needless to say we will go again in the fall as the weather was beautiful, but will enjoy the decorations during the day and kids can where costumes because its that time of year but no MNSSHP for us especially not at the $200 plus we spent for this disappointment....
      Click here to see this users profile  
      md2mad

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri November 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful parade, love everyone all dressed in costume (even the characters)
      Cons: Very Large Crowds

       
      We went to the MNSSHP on 9/27/11 and had a great time. The lines were about a 20 minute wait for major attractions. The parade was wonderful. It is well worth it to wait by the side walk to get a good view. My kids enjoyed dressing up and got lots of attention from cast members. The trick or treat lines were packed. We loved seeing the guests and characters all dressed up.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kjp165

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue November 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great characters, Boo To You Parade
      Cons: none

       
      We attended our first Halloween Party on November 1, 2011. We absolutely loved it and cannot wait to do it again! THe decorations were beautiful. Next year my mom wants to time our stay to do MNSSHP and MVMCP in one visit.


      We did not experience long lines for the character for several reasons. The photo op with the Cinderella's Carriage & at the Haunted Mansion opened before 6:30. So we were able to get those photos first and then get in line for the Dwarfs. Later we had no wait for the hitchhiking ghost. While in line for the Dwarfs we took turns going through the trick or treat line at the Briar Patch. A line had not formed and some others guests were trying to run through and pushed my mom causing her to twist her ankle. (Not Disney's fault) This was the only candy line we did, but my daughter loved it. We got more than enough candy in that one line. The line for the dwarfs got long very quickly.


      We absolutely loved the parade. My favorite Disney Parade ever!!!!!! We watched both the first and second one, though my daughter was a little scared by the villians. Because of this we did not do the villian mix and mingle, a bummer for me. We walked right on several of the rides and watched the fireworks from fantasyland. We never made it to the dance parties because my daughter got tired and wanted to see more characters.


      We got to see Jane, Tarzan & Terk at one time. Waited less than five minutes for Tiana and Naveen and less than 15 for the Fairies!!!!!!! It was a forty five minute wait the rest of the week. At the end of the night Mickey had a 5-10 minute wait & the Princesses had a 45 minute wait. I got in line for the gals and my dad took my daughter through to see Mickey. This was the absolute last thing we did at the party. It was awesome to meet Eugene and Rapunzel with all the other couples. More bang for our wait time.


      The lines for the monorail and the ferry boats were out of this world at the end of the night and we even left a little before midnight. Longest lines we had all week!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LOOPYD

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: Wales, UK
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun November 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful experience
      Cons: None

       
      We love this event, and come back year after year to attend. Went on 1 November, the last party, and it was as good as ever. Long lines for characters, but not too bad for the rides. We walked onto Splash mountain several times and were the last to ride it at one minute to midnight!


      Lines for candy were longer this year than I remember from previous years, and less chocolate - didn't get any peanut butter eyes this year. Having said that we still ended up with too much candy - but it will all be eaten by our colleagues in our respective work places!


      We dressed up as pirates, and my elder daughter as tinker bell - well worth the effort, and it was wonderful to see some of the costumes - superb!


      Great parade as usual, and the fireworks were unmissable - especially if you can watch them from in front on the castle. The kids loved the dance parties - great interaction with the characters, as was the Villains show in front of the castle, with the meet and greet afterwards.


      I would highly recommend this event - the highlight of our holiday!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkanger

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Rolling Prairie, IN
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed November 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character Greetings
      Cons: Long lines

       
      We attended the MNSSHP on October 27, 2011. It was much more crowded than the last time I attended in October of 2004, but just as much fun. Although the crowding could be from the construction going on all over the park. We started the night by lining up to meet the 7 dwarves, since they are seldom at meet and greet locations. The candy lines were long so we avoided them and let the children have their fun. Rides were easy on with minimal wait times, except in Fantasyland where the we found the longest wait to be about 30 minutes. Lines to meet the characters were long but worth it for those who are seldom seen in the parks, we avoided characters who we can see on almost any trip. The Villain Mix and Mingle was cute, but the characters were not out for long to mingle. We headed over to the Tomorrowland dance party to find no partying, so we were disappointed. We found the "perfect" spot to watch the Boo to You Parade, just to the left of the central hub as you face the castle is a little pavilion right next to the walkway into Liberty Square. If you stand in the back corner facing the walkway, you get awesome photos of the Headless Horseman as he stops right there before barreling down the parade route. Plus there is no one crowding you as they are all facing the street. I would definitely recommend for children ages 7 and up. The younger children tend to get a bit cranky by 9:30, so use your best judgement.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BSG0075

      Registered: October 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon October 31, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Villians Show; Fireworks; Trick-or-Treating; Park Theme
      Cons: Hmm.....

       
      Attended 9/20/11. Wife's favorite holiday, and WDW didn't disappoint. Fantastic Villian's Show at the Castle, great fireworks! Liked the lack of crowd. Would love to go again!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cstone6900

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun October 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks and parade
      Cons: more crowded than anticipated

       
      We attended the party on October 27th. This was our first time to Disney so we did not know what to expect. The ride waits were virtually non-existent, so that was good. The waits for the characters and the candy were ridiculous. We managed to hit a couple of candy spots at 11:00 pm with no wait, but could not even get close to any characters.


      Got a spot to watch the fireworks right on the right side of the castle on the street at about 9:00 and decided to just stay there for the fireworks, Villians show, and the last parade. We were glad we did!


      The fireworks were AMAZING and the parade was super fun.


      Overall, I'm glad we did it once, but won't spend the money to do it again! If you go, dress up...it made it so much more fun!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Troy08

      Registered: October 2008
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat October 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cute parade and Fireworks
      Cons: Not worth the high price taf

       
      I was underwhelmed by MNSSHP on Oct.25th. Way more people then I would expect for a limited ticket event. The parade and fireworks were very nice but nothing that knocked my socks off. Typical standard Disney productions. Lines were long for candy and rather chaotic.


      It was very crowded and congestive. Little kids in strollers were totally wiped out and after the fireworks at 9:30, a mass exodus out of the MK.


      If you are adults or have older kids and can stay till the end, it's probably worth the high price tag but with little ones(long, long lines for the princesses) I did not feel it was worth 170.00 for two adults and a 4 year old. I was underwhelmed. Nice but way overpriced!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyGrandma68

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri October 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade and shows
      Cons: rides breaking down too often and rides closed

       
      We tried Monsters Inc. twice and it was broken, second time we had been in line for 15 or 20 minutes and were asked to leave, something about the doors not opening. Went across to Stitch's Great Escape and it was down, also Space Mountain was down earlier and we got halted in the Haunted Mansion, however, the audio kept going, so that sort of spoiled the mood on that one. I also would love for the over 5'10" guests to stop standing in front of small children for the parade, seems like something the kids should be in the front row for, don't you think?
      All in all I think the MNSSHP is lots of fun, but needs to be tweaked so that a lot of expensive time is not wasted waiting for broken down rides. There were just so many this year, we even stopped for a short time in the middle of Winnie the Pooh. We went on Sunday 10/23 with 4 adults and 2 children 6 and 8 years old.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.