Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • sleepydog25

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ambiance, wine list, service
      Cons: Plating

       
      Artist Point built a very good reputation for many years before taking a downturn a few years back. Based on our last two visits, it's on the rebound thanks to a new(ish) chef. The newer menu has kicked aside some of the Asian fusion elements that never made much sense and returned to focusing on the main stars--the salmon and the buffalo to name a couple. Service has been excellent, and the wine list continues to be superb. I will admit--as another reviewer noted--that the plating and sides need to be re-evaluated. I'm all for smaller portions in fine dining, but then your accompaniments must be beyond reproach and sometimes AP's aren't. Overall, though, AP remains a gem for us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Beazle

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun July 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The paintings on the wall
      Cons: An obvious decline

       
      Our family love Artist Point. But on June 30, we had the worst meal we have ever had a Walt Disney World signature restaurant. No doubt the extensive refurb has something to do with the obviously fewer Cms in the resort, the comparative lack of guests but does this also explains the narrowing of the menu and the appalling service provided by the lady CM who plainly new little about the menu.
      Such a disappointing experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue June 21, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: Our table

       
      We ate here during our trip in May. We checked in and were directed to the main podium where we waited while the cast member who was there went to speak to another cast member- something about someone being pulled to server. Perhaps TMI for a guest to overhear let alone wait while the conversation was going on. Our food and service was fine. Our table was not in the main dining room again. Main dining room was not full. We were seated at the same table along the glass over looking the walkway to Roaring Forks the last time we ate there. Atmosphere was also less than desirable as they created a table for 10 or 12 near us. Not a signature dining experience this time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jmp31

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat January 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly server
      Cons: Atmosphere, Overall Value

       
      Based on the reviews, my wife and I looked forward to our visit to Artist Point. The atmosphere was less than the "magical" experience you come to expect at Disney. While the server was very pleasant, we both found the food to be very disappointing. We felt that the taste of the food suffered due to the restaurants desire for an "over the top" presentation of the food. Having said all of this, this was the only disappointment of the entire trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jwdpepper

      Registered: December 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon December 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!
      Cons: None

       
      My husband and I ate here for my birthday. We are Disney passholders and have eaten at many Disney restaurants, including most of the Signature Dining restaurants. After eating here, Artist Point has entered my top 5 favorites (other stand out meals I have had were at Be Our Guest, Cinderella's Royal Table, Narcoossee's, and the former Bistro de Paris). I had the cedar plank salmon, and the olive tapenade absolutely made the dish. It was delicious!! My husband had the buffalo strip loin, which he enjoyed as well. We started out with the artisanal cheeses, which we have enjoyed at several Disney restaurants and they were wonderful, as usual. We have celebrated my birthday every year at Disney for the past decade or so, and either Disney has pulled back on their celebrations or Artist Point is just understated. They gave me a standard birthday cupcake. Nothing special. Overall, though, fabulous meal, highly recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 87
      Review Date: Sat December 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons: None

       
      We had another great meal at Artist Point! We were a party of seven and I had to break the reservation into parties of five and two, but when we arrived, I asked if they could accommodate seven and they could indeed. The food and service at Artist Point are excellent. Well worth the price you pay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Thu April 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fabulous soup and Salmon
      Cons: none

       
      We ate at Artist Point on Monday, April 20, 2015. Our ADR was for 5:35 but we arrived at 5:15 and we were seated without a wait. We once again had Steve from London as our waiter. He was excellent throughout our meal. My wife and I both got the Smokey Portabello Mushroom Soup and it was to die for – one of the best soups I’ve ever had, period. I got the cedar planked salmon as my entrée, and my wife got the Cornish game hen. My salmon was perfect!! It was among the best pieces of fish I’ve ever had. My wife also really enjoyed her game hen – it was very flavorful.


      Our last visit to Artist Point was a little disappointing, but this time everything was great. I recommend to anyone interested in good food or in need of a nice restaurant for a special celebration.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hannamom

      Registered: March 2009
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun March 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent service
      Cons: over priced, signature salmon dish was tasteless

       
      “Over rated, not worth the two dining credits Sad


      My party of 8 dined at Artists Point on March 19h at 6pm and our waiter was Martin. He was very nice and an excellent server as he spent time with us answering our questions. The restaurant is elegant and the noise level was never too loud.
      I expected an out of the world meal but it was just average. The food was better and tastier at Harbor House in Magic Kingdom. I ordered the salmon. On the menu it is described as their signature dish. "Cedar Plank roasted Salmon with sweet potato mash, house smoked bacon, winter vegetables and apple cider gastrique" for $39. The salmon tasted like farmed Atlantic salmon, it had no taste. The sweet potato mash was about 2 tablespoons spread on the plate. There were 3 small brussel sprouts that were halved. They were dry and the tops were hard and inedible. There was 3 small broccoli florets that were over roasted and dry. The bacon consisted of one piece about 2 inches. For $39 I would expect a few more vegetable and more than one small piece of bacon. The root vegetables did not taste good and I did not eat them.See the attached picture that shows my description. I could have complained about the dish but I was hungry and didn't feel like causing a disruption. My daughter also ordered the salmon and barely touched the whole plate. I had the suggested wine that was paired with the salmon and that was the most memorable part of the meal.
      For dessert I had the chocolate creme brûlée which was good but nothing memorable.
      Artists Point was a disappointment. The service was excellent but the meal fell flat and I expected more from this restaurant
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dbfromcincy

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon March 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Buffalo and Ambience
      Cons:

       
      Cheese sampler for appetizer was wonderful. Had the Buffalo as the main entry. It was incredible. Wife had the filet and the Buffalo was the much better option. Berry cobbler for dessert was also excellent, however next time I would opt to ask for Vanilla ice cream on top instead of the Raspberry ice cream since the primary berry for the cobbler was blueberry.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dutchpixie

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed February 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Solid food, great wines
      Cons: None

       
      Had dinner here on Feb 24. Chef came out to talk to me, since I stated some allergies while making reservation. This because I'm vegan. There is a great l'o mein on the menu which is vegan as is, so that was easy. Hubby had the salmon. We both really enjoyed our meal here. Hubby's salmon was amazing, so he stated. Lo mein was great, but I scored it a 9 (and not a ten) because it was a little to oily for me. Wine pairing to both dishes was spot on. Hubby had cheese plate for dessert, looked good and tasted great, or so he Saïd. Would definately go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fred n FB

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon November 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and Atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      Always our "special night out" meal at WDW.
      We had the Cold Water Mussels and Jumbo Lump Crab Cake appetizers - this was DD first try at steamed mussels - she's 11 and loved them.


      DD had the "Coast to Farm" Pan Fired Halibut and Glazed Pork Belly - not a single speck left on the plate.


      DW and I had Hickory Char-crusted Filet Mignon - same.


      This was the busiest night We have ever experienced at Artist Point - I was worried we would see a slip in service - nope! Wonderful evening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Mon September 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Mushroom Soup, Views and Service
      Cons: this time - slight problem with Salmon

       
      This was our fifth time dining at the Artist Point Restaurant – it’s one of our favorites at WDW. In the past we’ve always had best food and experienced the best service of any restaurant at WDW. On this occasion the food fell a little short. Our ADR was for 5:30pm; we arrived at 5:25 and were seated in about 10 minutes.


      My wife decided to get a salad and the Smokey mushroom soup, I opted to get the cedar planked salmon and save room for dessert. My wife’s salad and soup arrived at the same time – not a real big deal as the soup was smoking hot, so she are her salad as the soup cooled. My salmon arrived and looked great, unfortunately, it was very fishy tasting!! I’ve had the salmon on every occasion we’ve dined here, and loved it!! But this time I had to send it back and decided to just go with the mushroom soup and desert.


      The rest of our meal was great as we had a great table with a really good view of the pool area and lake. Our server was excellent throughout our meal and handled my problem very professionally. We will still return in the future. Everyone has an off day occasionally.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrsod

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon May 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Realtively quiet, Outstanding food, Fantastic Service, Excellent Wines, Beautiful view
      Cons: none

       
      Our waiter was Steven, who was exceptionally knowledgable about the offerings and wines. We ordered the Artisan Cheese Sampler, which was beyond wonderful. I had the game trio, husband had Korean pork loin and mom had cornish hen. All three meals were outstanding. I'm a big fan of CA Grill (haven't been since the refurbishment) and this outshines Grill any day. This is our new "go to" for special occassions. The wine list isn't huge like Grill, but the offerings were perfect. We were too full for dessert but we overheard that they were wonderful. We will certainly stop in some evening for the Artisan Cheese plate, some wine and dessert before our next dinner here. Not alocation I would recommend for kids under 12, certainly not small kids, but this is the ideal location for "date night".
      ($250 before tip: three entrees, one soup, one appetizer, one cocktail, two glasses of wine)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy Writes

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Sun May 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Loved Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      The absolute best dinner we had. The service was wonderful. The atmosphere perfect.
      The filet mignon was wonderful, the desserts delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant and stop by the lounge prior to dinner. I will definitely put this on my next visit list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 155
      Review Date: Sun April 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Food and Atmosphere
      Cons: NONW

       
      My husband and I dined here on March 12th. We were seated without delay at our 7pm reservation. At first, we were given a table right in front of the kitchen. When I asked to be moved, we were given a beautiful table in front of a window overlooking the WL courtyard. Amazing!!!
      We both had the portobello soup. It was delicious. For entrees, I had the filet and my husband had the trio, both mouth watering. For dessert, we both had the cobbler, and it was truly one of the best desserts we have ever had at WDW.
      Our waitress surprised us at the end of our meal with complimentary champagne to celebrate my husband's birthday, with a glow in the dark Buzz Lighyear clipped to its glass.
      This is a MUST when dining at Disney!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.