Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Kaits Inside Dish

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat December 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Creole Opotions
      Cons: Noisy

       
      Last night we opted for a casual and simple dinner out, we decided on the Boatwright Dining Hall, a Cajun style restaurant located at Disney’s Port Orleans Resort at Riverside. The casual restaurant was themed around shipbuilding with various boat themed decorations hanging throughout the spacious restaurant.


      Although I had already spotted a vegetarian dish on the menu that seemed to need no alterations it was still standard practice for the chef to come to our table. Making it easy for him I told him I was interested in the Vegetarian Jambalaya, a dish that contained no dairy and therefore was already vegan. The dish was served with green and red peppers, onions, asparagus and tomatoes mixed together with rice and topped with a mix of slightly spicy creole seasonings. This dish was quite tasty I really enjoyed the vegetarian twist on this otherwise classic New Orleans style dish.


      One of the things I have enjoyed most about dining in Disney is that despite the fact that I eat a limited amount of ingredients (mostly vegetables and starches) my dishes at each restaurant were each completely different and unique. I appreciated that there was no standard vegan dish that all the restaurants served (like a tofu stir-fry which seems be a typical go to vegan dish for most restaurants) instead each dish was unique to each of the restaurants distinct themes. It just goes to show you that with a little creativity you can make a plethora of vegan dishes each seasoned, prepared and served differently.


      My Aunt opted for the traditional New Orleans style Jambalaya, served with spiced chicken thighs, sausage, shrimp, and vegetables mixed together with rice and also topped with the spiced creole seasonings. She also enjoyed her Cajun themed meal, like me she completely cleaned her plate.


      My Uncle ordered the grilled pork chop which was smothered in an amble ale barbecue sauce with a side of cheesy grits and deep fried onion rings. Judging from his cleared plate he enjoyed his meal. He mentioned that he especially enjoyed the sweet barbecue sauce over the grilled meat.


      In addition to our dinner we were served cornbread, unfortunately this wasn’t vegan so I can’t comment on the taste of the cornbread however, the fact that everyone at the table reached for second helpings was an indication that it must have been good. From what I understand it was quite moist and had a nice light texture.


      I was served a warm, crusty ,allergy friendly roll (gluten and dairy free) with a side of fragrant olive oil. In my opinion there is nothing better than a piece of crispy bread doused in good quality olive oil sprinkled with a pinch of salt and pepper.


      Next it was dessert time. I enjoyed a bowl full of chocolate tofutti ice-cream with a side of freshly cut strawberries, a very simple but delicious end to my meal.


      My Aunt ordered The New Orleans Bread Pudding; an outrageous looking dessert topped with rum raisin ice cream drizzled with a caramel foster sauce. She commented that the combination of warm bread pudding served with the cold ice cream and the fragrant foster sauce was a heavenly combination.


      My Uncle had been craving a slice of classic new York style cheesecake, unfortunately this wasn’t a choice on the menu, he did however, happen to mention that he was in the mood for cheesecake to our waiter. Within seconds our waiter returned and informed my uncle that they were able to accommodate him. Unsure about how or where the cheesecake came from we decided not to question it, instead we simply allowed him to enjoy his creamy slice of cheesecake topped with strawberries in a sweet syrup sauce.


      This casual dining restaurant is quite affordable with prices averaging between $14.99-$27.99 each. This is the ideal restaurant for a casual Cajun themed dinner, for an authentic New Orleans style meal I recommend the Jambalaya, it seems to be one of the most popular items on the menu and a specialty of the kitchen.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      tink1965

      Registered: April 2009
      Location: Tennessee
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu November 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, great service
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here on our very last night of vacation, October 3rd. We had reservations somewhere else but were tired, knew we had to get up early the next a.m. to head home, and the place where our original reservations were was already at least 30 minutes behind schedule. So, we stopped at guest services & cancelled that reservation and made a spur of the moment one here. So glad we did!!! We were staying at POR anyway so knew this would get us in for the night earlier. DD had the beef medallions with mac & cheese and DH & I had the pork chop. Our meal was sooooo good! The pecan pie was fantastic and the bread pudding with rum raisen ice cream was out of this world! Am so glad we ended up here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone! When we talked about our favorites meals for this trip all 3 of us included Boatwright's in our top 3!!! Boatwright's in now on our must do list for our next trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      madejade

      Registered: May 2007
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun October 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was delicious!
      Cons: NONE

       
      A fantastic dining choice. Easy to get a reservation and the staff was oustanding. We enjoyed it so much we ate here twice during our stay at French Quarter. They were great with the kids and helped us celebrate my father in laws birthday. Prime Rib was delicous!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MomofTotandTeen

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Tennessee
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue October 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: Limited choices for picky eaters

       
      My family of 4 (2 adults, one teen, and one preschooler) ate here in October 2011. We decided to give it try after another resort guest told us that she and her husband come to Disney twice per year and eat here every time. We arrived around 8:30pm on a Thursday night, without a reservation, and were able to be seated after about a 30 minute wait. I had the Shrimp Pasta,which was very flavorful and offered a good portion of large sized shrimp. The dish was big enough to be shared by two. My husband had the Jambalaya. He found the rice to be a bit dry, but it had a good flavor and huge shrimp. My teen, who is a picky eater, had a bit of trouble finding something on the menu, but ended up loving her pork chop and side of onion rings. She won't touch the side of grits that came with it, but my husband said they were some of the best grits he has ever had. My husband also tried a bite of the pork chop and thought it was fantastic. He wished he had ordered that instead of the Jambalaya. Overall, it was a nice dining experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Familylove05

      Registered: July 2008
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Cozy
      Cons: None

       
      My family and I ate here twice on our last trip 8/29/11 to 9/06/11. The food was great and it was super cozy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      simmonsx6

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed September 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!
      Cons:

       
      We ate here our last night on vacation, 9/3.I didnt find anything on the menu i really cared for, but that wasnt a problem, i told the waiter i wanted grilled chicken, mashed potatoes and a veggie, that's what i got.As usual excellent service and food, was loud though
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mickey magic

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: North Carolina
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun September 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, friendly staff, tucked away for privacy.
      Cons: none

       
      What a wonderful surprise this was. We arrived early evening our first day at WDW, and decided not to hit the parks after a long drive. We popped into Boatwright's and were pleased to find they had no problems seating us immediately. The waiter was so friendly, and very knowledgeable on the menu. Three of us had the French Onion Soup, and loved it. Rich and creamy. My salad could have been a meal in itself. Fresh and delicious. The tenderloin medallions melted in your mouth, and the mac-n-cheese was raved about by our 14 and 20yr old. The corn bread is reason enough to visit this place. Desserts were beyond expectations. Husband went on so much about the pecan pie, that we went for a second time later in our trip, just so I could have some. This is now one of our favorite resorts to dine at. It will be on our "must dine" list for the next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mspirc

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat June 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here on the last night of our trip. We were too tired to head back into Epcot for our ADR at Coral Reef. We easily were able to book a time a Boatwrights for that same evening. We walked up to Riverside from French Quarter, and proceeded to enjoy a relaxing, delicious meal. Food was great. Cornbread was wonderful--I could have had that for dessert. We were seated upstairs which was quiet and relaxing. (We were there on a Monday, so there was no show in the bar. This probably made a huge difference.)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      greg0626

      Registered: May 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon May 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons:

       
      We ate at Boatwright's on our last night at Disney. The food was tasty and well-prepared. My younger son and I had the jambalaya, which was just spicy enough to satisfy us both. My wife had the prime ribs which was juicy and not overcooked. My oldest son's sirloin medallions were also done well. My youngest ordered off the children's menus and had no complaints.


      For dessert, we had the bananas foster angel food cake, which was fabulous. All in all, a very positive dining experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Fri April 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantastic service
      Cons: noise from the bar

       
      When our DD age 5 had a late afternoon mini-melt down, it became clear that we were NOT going to make our ADR at the Beach Club. Instead of getting depressed, I phoned in an ADR at a later time at Boatright's. We were pleasantly surprised. I explained to the hostess that our special "family date night" had not gone as planned, and she gave us a very nice table in front of the upstairs fire place. Our server was attentive and suggested several menu items. I had the tenderloins and my DH had the catfish. Both were delish! My only "complaint" that is that Bob Jackson is so funny and delightful that he had the bar roaring with laughter. This noise was easy to hear. After the meal, I took the little one home and DD (age 11) and DH enjoyed the rest of Bob's show!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Wed April 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent food
      Cons:

       
      Our first visit to Boatwrights was Wednesday April 6, 2011. We were staying at Port Orleans French Quarter and had made reservations to eat here since this restaurant is located at our resort. We were not disappointed. We were on the dining plan and both had the grilled pork chops/cheese grits. It was an excellent meal! For dessert we had the pecan pie and the bananas foster angel food cake. Both were wonderful! I would definitely go back to this restaurant without hesitation. Service was great. Loved our meal. Very happy with this selection!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Smiling Grump

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed March 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Got us laughing?
      Cons: Poor Food Poor Service

       
      We stayed at the French Quarter for the week up to and including Christmas and decided to eat here one night instead of the cafeteria at FQ. We did not have a good experience. Service was very slow and drink refills were non-existant (even when requested).


      My wife had the Grilled Tenderloin Medallions and her entire dish tasted not just bland ... it actually had no taste (even the Mac & Cheese .. and that's actually a pretty major accomplishment when I think about it).


      I had the Prime Rib which at least had flavour though it was cold.


      The kids both had the Chicken Nuggets which were smaller portions then what they serve at the cafeteria and tasted worse.


      At least we had some good laughs counting the number of plates our server piled on our table without clearing (I think there were 11 by the time we left since he cleared another table and stacked them on ours). It did also have the benefit of making us enjoy the cafeteria at the FQ that much more!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      philipneil

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue March 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): really good food
      Cons: server had too many tables

       
      My wife and I ate here on the last night of our trip as she was too tired to head back into the parks as planned. I hadn`t heard rave reviews regarding this place so we went in with somewhat low expectations.


      Despite the fact that our server was incredibly busy (the place was packed) my wife and I were very pleased with the experience. The food was terrific. The tenderloin medallions (with yummy mac & cheese) was outstanding.


      The menu prices were not outrageous and we will definitely be eating here again on our next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cchurch74

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Glen Burnie, MD
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue February 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: No breakfast anymore

       
      We always stay at Port Orleans when we're at WDW and try to go to Boatwrights at least once. I know there have been mixed reviews, but we ate here twice this trip (Jan. 22 and Jan. 27) and loved it each time. My Mom and Sis have milk and shellfish allergies and the Chef came to our table and helped them go through the menu. They had the prime rib (as did my DH) and LOVED it!! I had the filet medallions, which were awesome! The mac & cheese with the medallions was very good. We loved the no sugar-added lemon pound cake with berries - delicious! They even had Tofutti for my Mom and Sis.


      We've also never had a problem getting an ADR for the times we've wanted (even typical dinner times) and only had to wait about 5 minutes for a table.


      The only negative is that we miss the breakfast they used to have and wish they would bring it back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disneyfanatic88

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed January 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: None

       
      My fiance and I went here for dinner on the one year anniversary of our Disney engagment before our carriage ride. Had heard all the mixed reviews, but this was easily the best dinner of any of our trips. The cornbread is delicious. For appetizers, he had the crawfish bites and I had the French Onion soup, both were amazing (I'll take his word on the crawfish). For our meal, I had the pasta with chicken (which I am craving to this day) and he had grilled tenderloin medallions. Desert for both was pecan pie. Can't wait to return for dinner here on our Disneymoon and other future trips!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.