Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • slpayne

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed March 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): plenty to eat!
      Cons: wait staff was slow at refilling our food

       
      Every time we eat here I have a different favorite of the meats, this time it was turkey. The sides were all very good. My biggest complaint is how slow the staff was at bringing the meats and refilling our drinks. We've gone here our last 5 trips, but will take a break on our next one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DaisyMaesMom

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu March 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food was delicious
      Cons: waitress was terrible

       
      We just ate here on March 11th. It was very tough to get a reservation in advance, even 180 days! When we arrived it was incredibly busy, loud and crowded both in and outside the restaurant. We were kind of used to this and didn't really mind, though I was sitting back to back with a child who kept her chair pushed way out so every time a waiter came by he bumped into me, rather than having her push her chair in which got annoying! Our waitress was absolutely terrible. She was friendly but rarely around! We noticed that all of the tables seated around us (and seated after us)that didn't have her were already eating while we were all still sitting waiting. The food was very good, though I personally didn't care for the dumplings or the wings, my husband did. The bread, broccoli and the noodles were excellent as were the sauces that came with the meats. The chicken was delicious as were all the other meats. Our dessert was good, but of course by the time our waitress gave it to us our sauce was room temp, and the ice cream was melted. I have no idea what she was doing with it! My children loved the coconut races and the lady with the ukelele. We would definitely go back here again, and just pray we got a different waiter/waitress as every other waiter around us seemed to be much better and more on the ball! Oh, and I would NEVER suggest you show up without reservations! There was a wait line already winding around the railing and Victorious (the host) told us most of the people waiting would never get a seat as most people making reservations keep them!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disneylover25

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon March 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Atmosphere, Veiw, Location
      Cons: Wait

       
      `Ohana is a wonderful restaurant. I've eaten here many times with my family. Everyone enjoys the food -even my younger brother who is a super picky eater. The amount of food you get is outstanding. At the end of the meal your so full you feel like your about to explode-especially if this is your first time and you want to try everything.


      The atmosphere is amazing. If you have a child, they will more than likely love the coconut race and the hula lessons that are free if you eat at the restaurant. Not only that but the kind lady (or gentleman depending on the day) will play a ukelele which just adds to the great atmosphere.


      If your lucky enough to be able to get a window seat (which a lot of the tables are) you will have a spectacular view. Sometimes you can see the magnificent pool and at other tables you can make out Cinderella's Castle.


      If you're staying at a hotel that has a monorail, `Ohana is at the perfect location. I suggest that if you are staying at a hotel that doesn't have the monorail to eat here on one of the days that you go to Magic Kingdom or Epcot so that you can go straight to the restaurant. It's a quick and easy trip from Epcot, one of the other hotels with a monorail, or Magic Kingdom.


      I've been to `Ohana many times and a lot of the time we (my family and I) have a extremely long wait. I understand why-It's a popular restaurant in Disney World but it's till quite crowded and I didn't enjoy it. That's just a warning for everyone but I think the food was well worth it.


      All in all it was a great restaurant and when I return to Disney World I will definitely be eating at `Ohana again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      d_wooden

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Tiskilwa Illinios
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, atmosphere!
      Cons: dumplings

       
      Wow, what a meal. Recommended highly. All food cooked over a fire pit and what a meal. Our waiter told us from the start "look out, we'll be bringing food to you like a freight train", he wasn't kidding. All kinds of food and all of it good. The only food I didn't care for was the dumplings. I don't know what is in them but it sure didn't fit the palate of someone from the midwest. Everything else was fantastic though and the interaction with the kids of the group was 'pure Disney'!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Guelphite

      Registered: April 2010
      Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Sun February 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, fun (firepit) atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      Our family of 4 ate at here on Jan 31st. It was our first time there. After checking in on time at a very busy podium, it took us about 15 minutes to get seated. We passed the time browsing at the nearby store.


      We were seated in the main room, next to a window. The fire pit was close (but not too close). We all loved the food. The pineapple/coconut bread was delicious as was the salad that came with it. Then the pot stickers, broccoli and noodles came out and were also great. At about the same time the parade of meat off the skewer started. Chicken, pork, steak and shrimp; all were great. Everything was offered more than once. I love shrimp so I made sure to skip some of the meat to leave room. Be sure to pace yourself or you will run out of steam. Dessert was a very tasty warm caramel bread pudding.


      Our 2 children (7 and 9) did the coconut broom races, learned the hula, marched in a conga-like line and played the maracas. Great fun for families but might not be quite so entertaining if your little darlings aren't part of the mayhem (...I mean fun).


      The end of our meal coincided with the Magic Kingdom fireworks. Our view was obstructed by trees and a very nice family from a nearby table invited our children to watch from their vantage point. We thanked them profusely. A little bit more magic in our day.


      This is now on our must do list for future visits.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ebemis

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu February 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): flavorful food, fun for the kids
      Cons: food arrives all at once

       
      We have eaten here twice. The food is excellent with lots of great flavor. The room is large and loud, but fun for the children. The courses all arrive one right after another. If your looking for a quiet relaxing meal, this would not be the best fit for you. I would highly recomend this restaurant for the quality of food, just be prepared for the atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WaltsOtherDiane

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: New York
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed February 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      I've been to WDW 15 times and this was my first time at 'Ohana. I usually went with my daughters and one is very picky so I didn't want to spend the money on her dinner just to have her eat some noodles. With that said, let me say, OMG, this is one of the best WDW restaurants that I have eaten at! My boyfriend likes to eat but isn't much at saying "Mmmmmm, this is good". I don't usually know if he likes what he is eating unless I ask him. Let me tell you...he couldn't stop raving about this restaurant and I absolutely LOVED it too. We had both a server and helper. They start you off with a little loaf of pineapple bread followed by a delicious salad served family style with a honey lime dressing. The dressing was so good I printed the recipe from this website. We then received 3 little dishes with dipping sauces which they explained was for the meat. A peanut sauce, a sweet and sour and a spicy mustard. All along our waitress Danielle explained everything to us knowing we had never been there before. By the way, we had a table at the window which was so nice. A large plate of wings and pork dumplings came out for the two of us which easily could have fed 4 people. Again, so good I wanted to keep eating those dumplings but knew there was a lot more food to follow so I limited myself to two or three. Next was a large serving dish of steamed broccoli and noodles and shortly after that the skewers of meat started coming out one after the other. Chicken, moist and juicy, pork, the same, beef tenderloin cooked a perfect medium and then the largest shrimp that my boyfriend just couldn't get enough of! The grand finale was a pineapple coconut banana bread pudding with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream and after our server Danielle put it on our table she poured a warm caramel sauce over the top from a little pitcher. We thought we died and went to heaven. It was so delicious! Everything was so flavorful and tasty. The room is loud but who cares. It was filled with atmosphere from the fire pit where they were cooking the meat and a Hawaiian man playing music and singing and getting the children all playing maracas. After dinner we went down to the Polynesian's beach and watched the fireworks at The Magic Kingdom. The whole night was fabulous! I will go back at least twice next time. Just sorry we couldn't have taken the leftovers with us. One of the best meals we've ever had!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcmilwaukee

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Milwaukee, WI, US
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Mon February 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): so much food
      Cons: not a lot of variety

       
      Awesome food from start to finish - however, if you are picky eater, you might find yourself limited. The salad was good, as well as the skewers of beef, chicken, pork and shrimp. However, a lot of people at my table filled up on chicken and pork first; it was only about 20 minutes later that the beef and shrimp came by. The waiter was very friendly and even though we had a coconut allergy in the group, the chef was super accommodating. While we all snacked on banana-coconut bread pudding (YUM!), my mother got a nice warm chocolate brownie with ice cream to avoid her allergies.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Buckeye Chuck

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sat February 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food was very flavorful
      Cons: atmosphere, noise, and pace of meal

       
      From the other reviews, I will assume we hit an off night, but from our experience, I have no clue why anyone would like this restaurant nor why anyone would EVER return! I will say that the food was very, very good -- but if I have to eat it in that noisy of a restaurant with that rude of a waitstaff and at that ridiculous pace, forget it! Our waiter plopped us down at a table and started hauling in the food. He knew it was our fist time there but never explained anything and brought everything at such a pace that you couldn't enjoy one before having another shoved in your face. The shrimp didn't come by until after two rounds of chicken; the steak came by once, never to return despite being requested. The chicken was so dry you couldn't eat it and the steak so well done that a knife wouldn't cut it(I was willing to try the steak again to see if a less well-done piece would be better but...). One waitress pulled off a piece of chicken; it slid off the table and dropped into my lap. She said "oops!" giggled, and off she went, never to return. Trust me, the glaze on that chicken is heck to get out of your clothes! Our waiter disappeared for long periods of time, never asked what more we'd like to have(we even had to ask for refills on our drink); he brought our dessert and then disappeared a while longer. When he did bring our check, he stood there, waiting for us to fill out the tip. And then the limbo line came through! Can we say over-the-top NOISY?!?!? I enjoy things like that as much as the rest of the world, but not while I'm trying to have dinner with my family. The announcer was so loud that we couldn't even have conversation across the table; we had to sit there silently. The rest of you who like the place -- be happy! You're more than welcome to our seats -- we won't be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StitchF

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, unique Disney experience, Hookila Song
      Cons: on the noisier side, but that should be expected

       
      This is one of our favorite restaurants and they continue to improve. The food was hot and fresh, recently updated to include nice pewter serving dishes (helped with space on the table and temperature), beef and other meat quality was very good and came around frequently. Dipping sauce was also very good. Only drawback is this was a noisier restaurant, that said, it is family style so we expected this and it did not detract from the evening. Make sure to save room for dessert, the bread pudding with bananas foster sauce was fantastic!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      roadrunner77

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: florida
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Service
      Cons: none

       
      Holy cow amazing .... The food was great. the service was great. I like my steak more toward the well done side and they brought some to me with no problem. The food had such good flavor that it didn't need any extra sauce or salt and pepper. Went home and booked another reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cchurch74

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Glen Burnie, MD
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue February 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food and atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      Our party of 10 (we have family in the Orlando area) ate at 'Ohana on 1/29. We made our reservations for 5:15, checked in at 5:05, and were seated right on time. The food was wonderful - our group demolished the pot stickers and wings. Although we didn't feel rushed, the food seemed to come out a bit fast. But it was all really yummy!


      My sister has a shellfish allergy and we found out that the skewers are all cooked on different grills, so that eased her mind. My Mom has a dairy allergy and they brought her out some Tofutti for dessert instead of the bread pudding.


      We loved everything about 'Ohana and will be making sure to go there on future trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Wed February 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety of food served, quality of meats, large portions
      Cons: beef was too rare for me, shrimp served with shells still on

       
      Mom and I dined here Jan 29 for dinner. We were seated after about a 15 minute wait. The place was packed full of people and lots of them had been here before as we learned in conversation while waiting for our table. We were seated at a window and with a direct view of Cinderella castle outside.


      The food was plentiful and just kept coming. The salad was fresh and crisp with a dressing that I loved. And no tomatoes!


      After that they brought out pot stickers (dumplings) and chicken wings and some lo mein and brocoli/snow pea blend. All of this was very good too. Then before we were ready, they started coming around with skewers of shrimp, beef, and chicken. We had to tell them twice we weren't ready for the meats yet. Finally we got around to trying the grilled meats. The beef was way too rare for me, but Mom loved it and had seconds. She also loved the shrimp but noted that it was served still in the shell making it work to get at the meat inside. The chicken was all white meat and very delicious. I had them bring me seconds of that. There were dipping sauces too for the meats, a spicy mustard, a sweet and sour, and a peanut sauce. We were told there was pork too, but we never were offered any and were too full to ask for it. The bread pudding was a pineapple bread pudding and served with a warm carmel sauce with a couple of carmelized bananas floating in it. We were so stuffed though that we barely touched any of it but what we tasted was good.


      There was a ukele player that entertained and sang and taught the hula to anyone who wanted to try. He played for about 20 minutes. We enjoyed that.


      We were enjoying our dessert and watched Wishes fireworks from our table. It was the perfect way to end our Disney vacation.


      This will be a must do from now on!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      worco

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Mon January 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the food, the food, oh and did I mention the food...
      Cons: You will unfortunately get full and not be able to fully appreciate the dessert.

       
      This is my third time eating at 'Ohana and I wish they would franchise it and build a restaurant in my City. I absolutely love the food here, and every person in my party of 8 loved it also. They bring you so much food and it is all so good that by the time the dessert comes out (which is to die for) you are too full to eat it. If you have never eaten at this restaurant what are you waiting for??? From the bread, to the pot stickers and wings, the marinated meat and the noodles, plus the bread pudding. It is all just so good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dancemom

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun January 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful food and atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      We had never eaten dinner here before and now I think we will be back every trip. The food is great (but there is almost too much of it if that's possible). The service was fabulous--our server brought my daughter a special vegetarian dish (and we hadn't even requested it ahead of time). The kids had a great time participating in the coconut races.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.