Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon October 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great view of Magic Kingdom
      Cons: food not that great and very costly

       
      Definitely has gone downhill. Trying to make menu too fancy. Have gone here each year for the past 12 years but will be taking it off our schedule for next years visit. Waitress was very nice but we get great service and better food elsewhere at Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Eean

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: PIttsburgh, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful view and interior decor; great wine list
      Cons: Service

       
      My husband and I originally ate at the California Grill back in the summer of 2010. Since then, we had been itching to go back. We had a memorable and delicious meal. We went to Disney World in the summer of 2013, but the restaurant was closed for refurbishment. Consequently, I was very anxious when we booked our trip for August 2014 to make a dinner reservation at the California Grill. This time we had our three kids in tow with us. We have boys ranging in age from 6 to 12 years old. First of all, we were very impressed with the refurbished decor, and of course you can't beat the view! Although our table wasn't quite ready, we ordered a bottle of wine from a server in the bar area named Justin. He was very friendly, and he set the tone for what we thought would be a wonderful evening. However, our service once we were seated at our table wasn't quite what we were expecting. Although our server was efficient, she was less than friendly. Unfortunately her attitude put a damper on our evening.The food was fine, but I definitely remember it being better when we dined there before. Our kids actually didn't even like their meals. It's hard to justify spending two credits on a meal that was just so-so. Next time, I'm tempted just to go to the bar, order a glass of wine and maybe some sushi -and of course enjoy the view!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue September 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View, good food
      Cons: Very expensive for what you get

       
      My wife and I went for an anniversary dinner to California Grill. The view is absolutely spectacular.


      We started with the appetizer meatballs. The flavoring was great, though they were a bit dry. We had the fillet and Seafood pilaf for our meals. The filet was good, but far from the best I have ever had. The seafood pilaf was actually quite good. We each had desserts which were good, but once again, not over the top great.


      After dinner we hung around to see the fireworks from the deck, which was quite spectacular. Honestly, you are paying for the view here, not the food. The food was good, but nothing to write home about for the price we paid. Next time I think we will head elsewhere for a bit better food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Sat September 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food atmosphere
      Cons: Hard to get into

       
      We didn't make reservations here but were happy to sit at the bar for dinner. We didn't miss the fireworks because it was Night of Joy & there weren't any. Everyone was very nice. We had the best service from Clinta the bartender. He was very personable, offering suggestions, making small talk & letting us take our time, all while he was training a new employee. We started with the ravioli (wonderful) & BBQ flatbread (very good). The mixed drinks were very good, not too strong. I had the chicken which was delicious, juicy with a crispy coating but I wouldn't call it fried. DH had the filet and he really enjoyed it, very tender & cooked well.
      I was surprised at the number of small children here so late at night. One even sat at the bar for awhile, which I thought was illegal. All that being said DH & I were still able to enjoy a nice dinner & conversation
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BWK0701

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun June 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View
      Cons: Food and service

       
      This is very hard to write since California Grill is one of my all time favorite restaurants. At first we were seated in front of the new kitchen which is extremely loud could not hear our own conversation, after requesting another table we were moved to an excellent location, waitress was nice. Food was not prepared correctly after pointing this out service and food quality went horribly wrong. After almost 2 hours of a very bad experience my party of three finally got out without desert or viewing fireworks. When concerns were brought to management they were basically ignored.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fdmarks

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Tue April 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Stellar service, superb suisine, fireworks
      Cons: Can be pricey

       
      We thought we would treat ourselves to a special night out and were not disappointed. My DD loves the MK fireworks but is not fond of the crowds rushing to leave the MK afterwards, do dining here was perfect. We only waited about five minutes to be seated and the view of the MK was perfect. My DD had the tomato flatbread and loved it. My DS decided on the roasted surf and turf and said it was quite good. My wife tried the octopus salad and thought the artichokes were a nice touch to the dish. I ordered the charcuterie and thought it was the best I have ever tasted. My DD had the dragon roll and shared it with my DS who had the shrimp salad. My wife ordered the farmer salad. We were not rushed and harried by the wait staff and leisurely took our time to order the entrees. I tried the bison tenderloin and thought it was quite good. It was different from what is offered at Artist Point. My wife had the veal chop and thought the presentation and taste of the food was superb. My DS tried the scallops and grits. He liked the scallops but the grits were not his favorite part of the meal. My DD loved the seafood stew. The waitress suggested we try the cabernet sauvignon to complement our meal and we were glad she did. Watching the fireworks while finishing up the meal with a great desert was such a treat. My wife and I had the chocolate pudding cake, my DD tried the sundae, and my DS had a crème Brule. To finish the evening, my wife ordered a cucumber fizz and I had a blue martini. The bill with a 20% tip came to $585, but it was worth it in service, quality, and variety of food choices. This is one of our favorite places to dine and relax after a hard day of walking around the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Staceylanee

      Registered: June 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing food, wine, service, and view.
      Cons: None

       
      I'm saddened to read some of the negative responses concerning CG. My husband and I dined there Nov 2013 and it was incredible. We've enjoyed most of Disney's finer eating establishments and this is by far one of our favorites. Everything from start to finish was done with excellence. We had the rock shrimp salad, the dragon roll, short-ribs, and filet. The wine selection is outstanding. Planning to dine at CG again in May with a group of girlfriends! I would recommend CG over and over again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, View of MK Fireworks, and Food
      Cons: Service

       
      My husband and I dined here for his birthday dinner on March 8th. We had reservations at 6:55pm and arrived at 6:45. We were seated right away.
      Our table was just ok. We had to go outside to view "Wishes." But, that was fine, the view on the deck was amazing.
      We were on deluxe dining, so for appetizers, we had the ravioli and California roll. For our entrees, we had the bison and dragon roll. Dessert consisted of the seasonal tasting and the creme brulee. Everything we ate was delicious and fresh.
      The service was VERY slow and often lacked the kind of attention one would receive at a high end restaurant. The entire meal took over 3 hours. Our waitress was so loaded down with tables, that she couldn't provide adequate or reliable service. That's the best way to describe it.
      I saw her leave our bread where the wine glasses are housed, and bring it to our table 20 minutes later. Needlesstosay, it was cold. She did comp us a glass of wine and a cup of coffee. We didn't even have to ask for it.
      I would totally dine here again, just hope for better service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angiem0217

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed February 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, location
      Cons: childrens menu

       
      We had ADr and were seated right away. new renovation was really nice. Seated right by the window and had a great view of the fireworks. It was amazing. The food is awesome. It was me, husband and 6 year old son. The children's menu really did not have anything a 6 year old would like and he did not eat. I would not go back and take a child. This is a very nice upscale restaurant and if you want a nice dinner with no kids, this is the place to go.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LucyKate0811

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu February 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The view, ability to watch the fireworks while dining...
      Cons: Transportation back to our resort

       
      My husband and I went to the California Grill on 1/27 to celebrate his birthday. We had ADR's for 7:45, and despite a crowd at the check-in desk upon arriving to the Contemporary, we were seated promptly at 7:45. The table was covered in Mickey Confetti, acknowledging the celebration. Our waitress explained how the firework viewing worked, we ordered drinks and sushi, both were delivered to our table in time for the fireworks. Our table was in a prime spot to watch the fireworks, and we never had to get out of our chairs! We were able to eat and watch the fireworks at the same time, from the comfort of the restaurant. Everything that we ate was fresh and delicious. We ordered the tomato flatbread (which is one of the best items I've ever eaten), garden salad and the scallops. By the time dinner was over and the dessert menu arrived, we were stuffed. The waitress did bring a complementary order of the creme brûlée. It was phenomenal, definitely on par with the rest of the meal. The California Grill was by far our favorite meal of the trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenniemouse

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: none

       
      Amazing date night. Server was awesome! Flatbread was superb! Ravioli and spicy roll delish! Wine outstanding and watching Wishes from look out so memorable! Can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy55

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: CT.
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri January 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service -

       
      We have made CG a must do for over 30 years and it is always a wonderful experience - not on this past trip of January 10th! We invited 3 couples to join us that had never been to CG before but have listened to us boast on how wonderful it is. What a nightmare from start to finish! Seated 35min past reservation time - waiter was most likely busboy who was pulled to help wait tables - very unprofessional in every way. We asked to try both a white and red wine - bottles were brought to our table 1/2 empty, when we asked for unopened bottles to be brought and opened in front of us we were told - No try first, if you like it then I'll bring new bottles! Only 1 wine glass for table of 8 which our waiter poured and left us to go around to empty tables and get glasses for ourselves! 2 of our guests never received their appetizers. Entree's were wonderful that is the only positive. We had 1 guest with a gluten allergy - when she asked the waiter to speak with the Chef she was told - Order the steak - her response I don't eat steak waiters response - I'll have the Chef steam some veggies for you! Very disappointed with the entire evening and our guests will never venture back again - such a nightmare! We asked to speak with the manager - no luck, in fact we complained to the concierge at our hotel and he also tried reaching a manager at CG - no luck! We will not be back which is sad as we have always made this a special dinner spot when in Disney. Artist Point from now on - fantastic dinner/staff there!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cleopatra10

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Firework view
      Cons: Not a signature dining experience

       
      We have dined many times at the old California Grill and we were looking forward to enjoying the new rehab. Oh dear, what a disappointment. We arrived 15 minutes early for our 7:30 reservation. Wishes was at 8:00. When we checked in the CM at the podium said they were very busy but that's nothing new.


      However what we didn't expect was the total pandemonium in the lounge area. Every place in the lounge and at the bar was being used for walk ups eating. Worst of all we were presented with the sight of two adults eating on the floor! We understand that the fireworks are a feature but the management have full control of how many people they allow into the lounge. At no other signature restaurant would the management tolerate this ridiculous situation.


      We did give the manager our views and his attitude was couldn't care less. He is obviously focused on squeezing as many dollars from letting as many people into the place as possible. Why have a reservation system at all?


      The menu is hugely reduced, the staff appear new and inexperienced, our waitress never even bothered to offer wine suggestions. We didn't bother with deserts, we just didn't feel it was worth it. Sorry California Grill, you've lost your number one spot with me - spend your dollars or 2 table dining credits on Citricos instead - a much better signature experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks
      Cons: everything else

       
      Timed our meal for the fireworks on 11-12-13. Arrived 20 minutes before reservation. Server was spotty, it was my dd 10 and myself. Dined here last year it was amazing, this time was terrible. My dinner companion fell asleep at the table, did not eat dinner or dessert. They did not have packaging to take desert to go, very disappointing. We may have been ok if it had not taken 25 min for our server to take our order, and another 50 min for the food to arrive. I know it is signature dining, but a split app, two entrees and 1 dessert should not take 2 hours. May only go back for dessert during the fireworks, and not order an entree.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: expensive, noisy

       
      At the suggestion for the Disney Dining Reservationist, we tried California Grill for the first time and I must say it’s one of the best restaurants at Disney. Several staff members took great pride in telling us about the recent redo and it is a stunning restaurant. We started off with the goat cheese ravioli and it was yummy. I’m usually not a fan of mushrooms, but the crispy ones used in the dish were outstanding. Husband had the bison and he really enjoyed his meal, I had the filet and it was cooked to perfection and the risotto had a nice flavor as well. Our server Rob, was excellent, he offered suggestions and held our dessert until after the fireworks.
      We watched the fireworks from the outside viewing deck, the view was better than in the park. I had the cheese board for dessert, except for the espresso flavored cheese, all the rest were exceptional. California Grill is expensive, but the service and food are worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.