Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • BWK0701

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun June 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View
      Cons: Food and service

       
      This is very hard to write since California Grill is one of my all time favorite restaurants. At first we were seated in front of the new kitchen which is extremely loud could not hear our own conversation, after requesting another table we were moved to an excellent location, waitress was nice. Food was not prepared correctly after pointing this out service and food quality went horribly wrong. After almost 2 hours of a very bad experience my party of three finally got out without desert or viewing fireworks. When concerns were brought to management they were basically ignored.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fdmarks

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Tue April 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Stellar service, superb suisine, fireworks
      Cons: Can be pricey

       
      We thought we would treat ourselves to a special night out and were not disappointed. My DD loves the MK fireworks but is not fond of the crowds rushing to leave the MK afterwards, do dining here was perfect. We only waited about five minutes to be seated and the view of the MK was perfect. My DD had the tomato flatbread and loved it. My DS decided on the roasted surf and turf and said it was quite good. My wife tried the octopus salad and thought the artichokes were a nice touch to the dish. I ordered the charcuterie and thought it was the best I have ever tasted. My DD had the dragon roll and shared it with my DS who had the shrimp salad. My wife ordered the farmer salad. We were not rushed and harried by the wait staff and leisurely took our time to order the entrees. I tried the bison tenderloin and thought it was quite good. It was different from what is offered at Artist Point. My wife had the veal chop and thought the presentation and taste of the food was superb. My DS tried the scallops and grits. He liked the scallops but the grits were not his favorite part of the meal. My DD loved the seafood stew. The waitress suggested we try the cabernet sauvignon to complement our meal and we were glad she did. Watching the fireworks while finishing up the meal with a great desert was such a treat. My wife and I had the chocolate pudding cake, my DD tried the sundae, and my DS had a crème Brule. To finish the evening, my wife ordered a cucumber fizz and I had a blue martini. The bill with a 20% tip came to $585, but it was worth it in service, quality, and variety of food choices. This is one of our favorite places to dine and relax after a hard day of walking around the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Staceylanee

      Registered: June 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing food, wine, service, and view.
      Cons: None

       
      I'm saddened to read some of the negative responses concerning CG. My husband and I dined there Nov 2013 and it was incredible. We've enjoyed most of Disney's finer eating establishments and this is by far one of our favorites. Everything from start to finish was done with excellence. We had the rock shrimp salad, the dragon roll, short-ribs, and filet. The wine selection is outstanding. Planning to dine at CG again in May with a group of girlfriends! I would recommend CG over and over again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, View of MK Fireworks, and Food
      Cons: Service

       
      My husband and I dined here for his birthday dinner on March 8th. We had reservations at 6:55pm and arrived at 6:45. We were seated right away.
      Our table was just ok. We had to go outside to view "Wishes." But, that was fine, the view on the deck was amazing.
      We were on deluxe dining, so for appetizers, we had the ravioli and California roll. For our entrees, we had the bison and dragon roll. Dessert consisted of the seasonal tasting and the creme brulee. Everything we ate was delicious and fresh.
      The service was VERY slow and often lacked the kind of attention one would receive at a high end restaurant. The entire meal took over 3 hours. Our waitress was so loaded down with tables, that she couldn't provide adequate or reliable service. That's the best way to describe it.
      I saw her leave our bread where the wine glasses are housed, and bring it to our table 20 minutes later. Needlesstosay, it was cold. She did comp us a glass of wine and a cup of coffee. We didn't even have to ask for it.
      I would totally dine here again, just hope for better service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angiem0217

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed February 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, location
      Cons: childrens menu

       
      We had ADr and were seated right away. new renovation was really nice. Seated right by the window and had a great view of the fireworks. It was amazing. The food is awesome. It was me, husband and 6 year old son. The children's menu really did not have anything a 6 year old would like and he did not eat. I would not go back and take a child. This is a very nice upscale restaurant and if you want a nice dinner with no kids, this is the place to go.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LucyKate0811

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu February 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The view, ability to watch the fireworks while dining...
      Cons: Transportation back to our resort

       
      My husband and I went to the California Grill on 1/27 to celebrate his birthday. We had ADR's for 7:45, and despite a crowd at the check-in desk upon arriving to the Contemporary, we were seated promptly at 7:45. The table was covered in Mickey Confetti, acknowledging the celebration. Our waitress explained how the firework viewing worked, we ordered drinks and sushi, both were delivered to our table in time for the fireworks. Our table was in a prime spot to watch the fireworks, and we never had to get out of our chairs! We were able to eat and watch the fireworks at the same time, from the comfort of the restaurant. Everything that we ate was fresh and delicious. We ordered the tomato flatbread (which is one of the best items I've ever eaten), garden salad and the scallops. By the time dinner was over and the dessert menu arrived, we were stuffed. The waitress did bring a complementary order of the creme brûlée. It was phenomenal, definitely on par with the rest of the meal. The California Grill was by far our favorite meal of the trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenniemouse

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: none

       
      Amazing date night. Server was awesome! Flatbread was superb! Ravioli and spicy roll delish! Wine outstanding and watching Wishes from look out so memorable! Can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy55

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: CT.
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri January 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service -

       
      We have made CG a must do for over 30 years and it is always a wonderful experience - not on this past trip of January 10th! We invited 3 couples to join us that had never been to CG before but have listened to us boast on how wonderful it is. What a nightmare from start to finish! Seated 35min past reservation time - waiter was most likely busboy who was pulled to help wait tables - very unprofessional in every way. We asked to try both a white and red wine - bottles were brought to our table 1/2 empty, when we asked for unopened bottles to be brought and opened in front of us we were told - No try first, if you like it then I'll bring new bottles! Only 1 wine glass for table of 8 which our waiter poured and left us to go around to empty tables and get glasses for ourselves! 2 of our guests never received their appetizers. Entree's were wonderful that is the only positive. We had 1 guest with a gluten allergy - when she asked the waiter to speak with the Chef she was told - Order the steak - her response I don't eat steak waiters response - I'll have the Chef steam some veggies for you! Very disappointed with the entire evening and our guests will never venture back again - such a nightmare! We asked to speak with the manager - no luck, in fact we complained to the concierge at our hotel and he also tried reaching a manager at CG - no luck! We will not be back which is sad as we have always made this a special dinner spot when in Disney. Artist Point from now on - fantastic dinner/staff there!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cleopatra10

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Firework view
      Cons: Not a signature dining experience

       
      We have dined many times at the old California Grill and we were looking forward to enjoying the new rehab. Oh dear, what a disappointment. We arrived 15 minutes early for our 7:30 reservation. Wishes was at 8:00. When we checked in the CM at the podium said they were very busy but that's nothing new.


      However what we didn't expect was the total pandemonium in the lounge area. Every place in the lounge and at the bar was being used for walk ups eating. Worst of all we were presented with the sight of two adults eating on the floor! We understand that the fireworks are a feature but the management have full control of how many people they allow into the lounge. At no other signature restaurant would the management tolerate this ridiculous situation.


      We did give the manager our views and his attitude was couldn't care less. He is obviously focused on squeezing as many dollars from letting as many people into the place as possible. Why have a reservation system at all?


      The menu is hugely reduced, the staff appear new and inexperienced, our waitress never even bothered to offer wine suggestions. We didn't bother with deserts, we just didn't feel it was worth it. Sorry California Grill, you've lost your number one spot with me - spend your dollars or 2 table dining credits on Citricos instead - a much better signature experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks
      Cons: everything else

       
      Timed our meal for the fireworks on 11-12-13. Arrived 20 minutes before reservation. Server was spotty, it was my dd 10 and myself. Dined here last year it was amazing, this time was terrible. My dinner companion fell asleep at the table, did not eat dinner or dessert. They did not have packaging to take desert to go, very disappointing. We may have been ok if it had not taken 25 min for our server to take our order, and another 50 min for the food to arrive. I know it is signature dining, but a split app, two entrees and 1 dessert should not take 2 hours. May only go back for dessert during the fireworks, and not order an entree.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: expensive, noisy

       
      At the suggestion for the Disney Dining Reservationist, we tried California Grill for the first time and I must say it’s one of the best restaurants at Disney. Several staff members took great pride in telling us about the recent redo and it is a stunning restaurant. We started off with the goat cheese ravioli and it was yummy. I’m usually not a fan of mushrooms, but the crispy ones used in the dish were outstanding. Husband had the bison and he really enjoyed his meal, I had the filet and it was cooked to perfection and the risotto had a nice flavor as well. Our server Rob, was excellent, he offered suggestions and held our dessert until after the fireworks.
      We watched the fireworks from the outside viewing deck, the view was better than in the park. I had the cheese board for dessert, except for the espresso flavored cheese, all the rest were exceptional. California Grill is expensive, but the service and food are worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WarEagleAuburn

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu January 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View
      Cons: Cost for what you get

       
      We usually dine at California Grill each trip, but probably won't do so again. The filets were not at all as good as we got at Yahtsman, and were smaller. The steaks came with a tiny amount of odd flavored risotto instead of a potato. I would have liked to have a choice of the side that comes with a $50 steak. The sushi was $24, which is much more expensive than any other restaurant we tried. Our waitress was overwhelmed with all of her tables and the various wine selections--seemed like she was always pouring wine instead of getting us refills on our drinks. The restaurant is beautiful.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwfan6

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: MA
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nothing
      Cons: Everything

       
      Was excited to go back to the California Grill after the rehab. Change is good, but not in this case. Had a table next to the kitchen, so got to see and hear servers clanging dishes throughout the meal. No view out the window. When the server realized I was solo and not drinking alcohol, the service went out the window. I got extremely slow drive by service (drop a course and run), while the larger tables around me that were drinking received constant checking, smiles and chatting. 30-45 minute waits in between courses. The appetizer was 3 medium sized shrimp for $22. When I asked if they had something a bit more basic for the side dish to the swordfish I ordered (roasted veggies, mashed potatoes, etc), was told they did not have anything. The small piece of seared swordfish was cold, raw and undercooked inside. By the time the server came back, he just grabbed the plate and kept walking. The final straw was when he dropped the dessert menu and made a nasty, sarcastic remark "maybe you will find something here to eat." When I went to leave, the manager asked how the meal was. When I told him my experience, his response was "well I guess you had a bad night." That was all he said, then walked away to glad hand a large group of people. This is the last time I will dine there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sun December 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food, Service, and Location
      Cons: None

       
      Even though eating at the California Grill was by far our most expenisve meal at WDW, it was also the best. The food, service and being able to view the Magic Kingdom in the evening was great.
      The Duck in all it's Glory was wonderful and the steak I had was perfect. My daughter-in-law had sushi as both an appetizer and an entree and she said it was the best Sushi she had ever had. My son had the Pork two ways and my wife had the Chicken and they were both excellent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MargieVE

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat November 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Setting, food, wine, service
      Cons: Pricey

       
      My husband and I have dined here a number of times over the years and were interested in seeing it after its recent redo.


      We arrived early for our reservation and enjoyed a cocktail in the lounge. The atmosphere seemed to be lighter and less congested - but that may have been due to our timing (i.e. early hour and less busy time of year).


      We were seated on time for our reservation. After asking about wine, one of the sommelier-trained servers came over to discuss wines with us. In the end, we went against his suggestion (of a good wine we’ve had before) in favor of something less available that we wanted to try. It was very good.


      We routinely share all of the dishes that we order and in this case we chose four starters and one entrée. The starters were the clam appetizer (good, but not entirely clear how it was supposed to hang together as a dish despite our server's advice on how to eat it); crispy shrimp salad (very good); ravioli appetizer (good); and duck appetizer (very good). We chose the snapper for the entrée and it was also very good.


      Our server was very accommodating with our approach to ordering and sharing, and did a good job of pacing the dishes and ensuring that we had enough share plates.


      We had been concerned that the menu seemed reduced from what it had been in the past, but we enjoyed all of the food we chose and would dine here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.