Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Harrimans

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri July 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, view
      Cons: Loud and crowded

       
      We thought the service was very adequate if not overly friendly. I actually prefer this but can understand why others would be put off a bit.


      The food was excellent! Pork flat bread was very good. Sea Scallops and filet were to die for. Creme Brûlée was the best we ever had.


      The view outside on the deck made our night. Most unique view of Wishes in all of WDW.


      The pacing of dinner was just right. Wine selection is superb.


      A great night out...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mattingly5

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue July 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The view
      Cons: Wait staff , uniforms

       
      We have dined at the California Grill several times before so we had certain expectations. We expect a good meal and we expect the prices to be completely inflated, but in return, we always get some magic (especially because I try to time our meal around the fireworks). Our most recent meal was on July 5, 2015. We entered the elevator and the gentleman manning the buttons had a Disney badge on, but since he didn't say a word the whole trip up, and by the uniform he had on, we thought he was a maintenance worker. The waitstaff, as it turns out, wears the same uniform just with an apron so they look a little more like restaurant servers. When we got upstairs, nobody greated us or told us to check in at the desk (which is closer to the bathrooms than the dining room). Our bright spot was our table location so we could view the fireworks from our seat. Beyond that, the server we had was not very friendly, didn't go out of her way to make recommendations or even to banter. We didn't get an pixie dust from anybody "upstairs". We had just sailed on the Disney Dream where we had been spoiled and attended to -- something you grow to expect when paying Disney prices.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fitziek

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed June 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Food, View
      Cons: None!

       
      This was the overall family favorite this trip with very good reason! We had a 9:00 reservation and we were seated immediately. The views from the restaurant are absolutely amazing! Even if you don't get a table right next to the windows there are several view decks available to view Wishes from.


      I had the Ahi Tuna and it was my favorite meal of the entire trip. It was perfectly seared and the lo mein noodles it came with were to die for! I finished the whole thing and I am definitely never a member of the clean plate club!


      Desserts were outstanding as well. We had the homemade fritters, creme brule, and the sundae sampler. The fritters were everyone's hands down favorite of the entire trip. They are like banana flavored donuts and come with different dipping sauces.


      I've read a lot of reviews saying the California Grill has gone downhill but our service and food was exceptional. I definitely recommend to anyone looking for a unique date night or a fun splurge!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caltex

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sushi, Observation deck
      Cons: Service

       
      The sushi and sashimi are outstanding! In particular, the pork belly nigri was the best I have eaten. The Yuzu marinated sashimi was flavorful and the texture was superb.
      The other entrees that my wife and I had was the oak-fired filet of beef (she loved the super tender filet, but the risotto was too strong) and the pork two ways - loved it. The downside was the service. Started off great, but trickled down as the evening progressed. Specifically our server did not always check in on us as our drinks needed refills on several occasions. I'll leave with a positive note, it was great to walk on the observation deck and watch Wishes. It gives the observer a different perspective of the fireworks show. Overall, we might just visit the bar and order the sushi. The bar offers the full menu, but it is first come first serve.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dispro

      Registered: September 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun March 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best view at WDW (my opinion)
      Cons: Some menu items aren't as good as they used to be

       
      The view from California Grill is what keeps us coming back! Unfortunately, some of the menu items that used to be our favorites are either missing (Valrhona chocolate cake) or not as good as they used to be (sushi). However, if you order the right things, it is still awesome. As someone else mentioned, the pork tenderloin with goat cheese polenta is incredible. However, you will need to ask for the "retro pork" or the "pork old school" in order to avoid the pork two ways that is on the menu (that I ordered once and found to be disgusting). The flatbreads are also delicious. My husband chose to order some type of fish this time, and it was just okay... So he will go back to the retro pork next time. I still don't know why they took away the Valrhona chocolate cake, and I voice my displeasure every time (although it doesn't change anything). I rated Cali Grill a 9 because there is no 8.5 on the rating system, however, if my husband had ordered the pork, it would have been a 9 anyway. We did have a tablecloth and always have, so I'm not sure why the last reviewer did not. FYI, they do have a good bar here if you like alcoholic beverages. The lemon drop with the sugared rim glass is delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ileanrinaldi

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed March 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views, food, service
      Cons: small portions, no tablecloth!

       
      The California Grill is our favourite restaurant in WDW. We are from Argentina and we try to travel every other year and every time we go to have dinner here. They gave us a fantastic table facing the castle, and we saw Wishes while dining. The food was very good, as always (oh my, the pork with the goat cheese polenta!) but some dishes were very small!
      The service, impecable, but there are no tablecloths and we expect that when you paid those prices.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mindylee847

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Mon March 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views, Flatbreads
      Cons: Salty Food, Price

       
      I ate here for the first time the last week of February 2015. The views were a-MAZing up there. I had high hopes for the food.


      I ordered the mushroom flatbread for an appetizer and this was the best I've ever had. Absolutely delicious.


      I ordered the vegetarian squash ravioli and the ravioli was great, but it was sitting on top of some of the saltiest spinach I've ever had in my life.


      Dessert was very lackluster. Nothing seemed that amazing. I had the sundae sampler since it seemed fun. The tiny soda bottle was cute, but the food was very average.


      I don't know if I'd rush back for the prices they have. It's also hard knowing that I'll know what I'll be getting before going as a vegetarian. Limited options as far as entrees go.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dutchpixie

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed February 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, amazing food, great server
      Cons: None

       
      We had dinner at CG Feb 23rd. We were sealed in th smaller dining room. Our server, Ryan, was very knowledgable, friendly and fun. As a vegan, I ordered the mushroom flatbread without cheese and the vegan unlimited plate, which is not on the menu but made specifically for vegans. My hubby got the charcuterie and the filet mignon. We ordered a matching wine. It was one of the best meals we ever had, and we dine out often and upscale. Highly recommended. Not cheap, but very, very good!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Irene

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon February 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, food and view
      Cons: Young children in the evening

       
      Beautiful place to watch the Wishes fireworks. Food was cooked to perfection. Service was excellent. Worth the two dining meals required. Only drawback was the number of young children in the restaurant. Our reservations were for 8:30. Two tables near us had young children that did not want to be there. You could tell they had a full day in the park and were tired. Crying, up and down in their seats, under the table was quite the distraction. You had to feel for them. But, for those having a celebration(30th anniversary) it was not what we hoped would be our experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dopey1wa

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue January 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): view
      Cons: crowded and noisy, menu, waiter

       
      This use to be our favorite restaurant and we would always go 2-3 times during our stay. I was anxious to see the new remodel that was done since the last time we were there. Total disappointment! The remodel added a huge amount of tables (so more people can enjoy the experience, more money spent). If you are a couple looking for a romantic setting, forget it. You sit in a long row of "couple tables" that are only a couple of feet apart from each other. Barely enough room to walk between the two tables. The room is very noisy with the amount of people they have added to the room. Menu has changed again and was somewhat disappointed in the selection offered. Waiter we had was gone for long periods of time. My water glass (only drink I had) was empty most of the time. Will probably not go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bryanmmunoz

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View, pacing of meal, drink selections
      Cons:

       
      We just returned from a NYE trip to WDW. This dinner and one other stood out above the rest. This was my 20th visit to the world and can you believe I had never stepped foot in the restaurant? Without a doubt the view is simply breath taking. To be honest I had to fight back the tears.


      That being said - my sister and I have over 20 combined years of service industry experience...so a view is not going to win us over when it comes to the meal!


      I've read reviews about service being poor and the food being over priced for what you receive and I simply believe that to be untrue. Service will always be the wild card since you are dealing with personalities, but the food for the price was spot on. I felt the pacing of our meal went perfectly. We had bottles of wine, appetizers, entrees, desserts, and more cocktails (we went all out this trip) and felt as though everything was brought to us at the moment we were ready!


      The entire staff was courteous and welcoming. Encouraging us to return for the fireworks later that evening (which we did).


      This will now be on the list as a "must do again" at Disney. It was a fantastic experience and I recommend to anyone who is looking for an excellent meal and ambiance.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon October 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great view of Magic Kingdom
      Cons: food not that great and very costly

       
      Definitely has gone downhill. Trying to make menu too fancy. Have gone here each year for the past 12 years but will be taking it off our schedule for next years visit. Waitress was very nice but we get great service and better food elsewhere at Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Eean

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: PIttsburgh, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful view and interior decor; great wine list
      Cons: Service

       
      My husband and I originally ate at the California Grill back in the summer of 2010. Since then, we had been itching to go back. We had a memorable and delicious meal. We went to Disney World in the summer of 2013, but the restaurant was closed for refurbishment. Consequently, I was very anxious when we booked our trip for August 2014 to make a dinner reservation at the California Grill. This time we had our three kids in tow with us. We have boys ranging in age from 6 to 12 years old. First of all, we were very impressed with the refurbished decor, and of course you can't beat the view! Although our table wasn't quite ready, we ordered a bottle of wine from a server in the bar area named Justin. He was very friendly, and he set the tone for what we thought would be a wonderful evening. However, our service once we were seated at our table wasn't quite what we were expecting. Although our server was efficient, she was less than friendly. Unfortunately her attitude put a damper on our evening.The food was fine, but I definitely remember it being better when we dined there before. Our kids actually didn't even like their meals. It's hard to justify spending two credits on a meal that was just so-so. Next time, I'm tempted just to go to the bar, order a glass of wine and maybe some sushi -and of course enjoy the view!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue September 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View, good food
      Cons: Very expensive for what you get

       
      My wife and I went for an anniversary dinner to California Grill. The view is absolutely spectacular.


      We started with the appetizer meatballs. The flavoring was great, though they were a bit dry. We had the fillet and Seafood pilaf for our meals. The filet was good, but far from the best I have ever had. The seafood pilaf was actually quite good. We each had desserts which were good, but once again, not over the top great.


      After dinner we hung around to see the fireworks from the deck, which was quite spectacular. Honestly, you are paying for the view here, not the food. The food was good, but nothing to write home about for the price we paid. Next time I think we will head elsewhere for a bit better food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Sat September 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food atmosphere
      Cons: Hard to get into

       
      We didn't make reservations here but were happy to sit at the bar for dinner. We didn't miss the fireworks because it was Night of Joy & there weren't any. Everyone was very nice. We had the best service from Clinta the bartender. He was very personable, offering suggestions, making small talk & letting us take our time, all while he was training a new employee. We started with the ravioli (wonderful) & BBQ flatbread (very good). The mixed drinks were very good, not too strong. I had the chicken which was delicious, juicy with a crispy coating but I wouldn't call it fried. DH had the filet and he really enjoyed it, very tender & cooked well.
      I was surprised at the number of small children here so late at night. One even sat at the bar for awhile, which I thought was illegal. All that being said DH & I were still able to enjoy a nice dinner & conversation
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.