Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • obxgoer

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: Northern virginia
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon May 8, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful setting, delicious food
      Cons:

       
      This was my first time at CG. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at ease. Our waiter was attentive and had recommendations that were spot on. My salad bar tomato meringue which may sound weird but was delicious. This was hands down one of the best salads I have ever had. I could eat this every day for the rest of my life and be happy. The beef filet and risotto likewise tasty. My daughter had sushi and goat cheese ravioli and was very pleased. It was busy but no one was disruptive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mharder

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun March 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, wine, service, view
      Cons: Nothing

       
      My wife and I ate at California Grill on February 27, 2017. We are repeat diners there, and this was probably our fifth or sixth visit. We were taking friends there for their first time.


      As with all of our prior visits, we very much enjoyed it. We had a great table next to the window, where we could watch the sunset and the fireworks.


      Our waiter gave us just the right amount of attention. Attentive but with discretion. He was very helpful when it came to selecting a wine and his recommendation was spot on.


      My wife and I each had the filet and it was cooked perfectly. Our dinner companions also told us their meals (pork tenderloin and yellow fin tuna) were excellent.


      Definitely going back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tiggeress

      Registered: January 2017
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue February 7, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): As Wonderful As You've Heard
      Cons: People Not Dressing As Required

       
      I don't know about the reviews that say the food isn't as good as it was previously, since our food was as wonderful as it has always been.


      Our server was the best of our trip, gracious, pleasant, efficient, and thoughtful (she brought my drink outside to me unrequested because she thought I would probably want it). I hate when servers approach the table talking, interrupting conversation, and she never did this. Our meal was perfectly timed and orchestrated.


      My only, fairly minor, complaint is the restaurant not enforcing its own rules of attire. This is a fancy restaurant, that people pay a lot of money for and plan far in advance for reservations to eat here. There should never be people at the next table in shorts, t-shirts, flipflops and mouse ears (yes, all 7 people). They should be required either change their dress, or be put in a separate room with all the other people who don't want to follow the rules.


      Even so, we loved it. This dinner, along with their brunch, were by far the best meal experiences of our trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ChallengerHK1

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun January 22, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good food, wonderful view
      Cons: No longer great food

       
      I come here on every trip. This is the first time I've felt slightly let down, but that's only in comparison to what I've experienced in the past. This food was very good, but I've had several great meals in the past here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tanasigirl

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food with a View
      Cons: None

       
      We dined at the California Grill on September 14, 2016, for our anniversary. This was our second visit and the first since the renovations. Both times were seated in a back corner room by the window. So we were not in the main dining room with a view of the Magic Kingdom. However, it was quiet and romantic, and the view from our table was of the fireworks from Epcot and Hollywood Studios. I prefer it to the open, main dining room. We walked out on the top for a view of Wishes.


      The renovations have updated the color and lighting, but overall nothing too noticeable. It is still a wonderful, upscale restaurant with the menu to match.


      We started with the Spicy Kazan Roll, which was a large portion and the spicy sauce in the middle was to die for! It was almost a meal in itself. My husband enjoyed the swordfish, but my pork was the best. I had never had lacquered belly before (it needs a new name lol), but it was my favorite part. Fork-tender and flavorful.


      Excellent service as before and we didn't wait long for our table even though we arrived early for our reservation. It was a very memorable meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DePasquale

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Mon July 4, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very welcoming and accommodating
      Cons: Actually, none

       
      Our excellent server made us feel very welcome and seamlessly paced our meal to coordinate with the fireworks show. A very special overall experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Fri May 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: Filet slightly overcooked

       
      CG is a must-do for every trip. This time a slight disappointment as my filet was just a bit overcooked, closer to medium than the medium-rare I ordered. Server offered to take it back, but I declined. It was still delicious, and my wife's chicken entree was perhaps the best chicken dish I've ever tasted. Fritters for dessert were also amazing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disney 522

      Registered: March 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed March 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere
      Cons: Not as good as previous

       
      The first word that comes to mind is disappointed - we first ate here 2 years ago and i have been dying to return - i was so excited this time when we were able to fit it in to our trip - however, i will not make another reservation here - first of all, the dress code policy applies to no one! There were the sloppiest looking people eating there - i know we are on vacation and busy all day but i did like the fact that we could have one night of getting dressed nicely(khakis) and have a Nice dinner atmosphere - then the food was not nearly as good as i remember - it was no better than any other higher scale chain restaurant - i did like the new decor and we had a wonderful view of the fireworks but really if i was not on the dining plan i would have been upset for the amount i would have paid for a just ok meal
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Fri December 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food and service
      Cons: None

       
      We had another great meal at the California Grill. We also had had a great view of Magic Kingdom.


      It is a little pricey, but I would recommend eating here to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Billjo6

      Registered: October 2008
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu October 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, view
      Cons: Uncontrolled children

       
      California Grill has always been one our favorite places to eat when we visit Disneyworld. The food is outstanding and the service has always been top notch. We know this restaurant has become popular with families because of the dining plan. As a result, the atmosphere in the restaurant has changed over the years. But, after our experience at the California Grill last night we our eliminating it as a stop on future Disney visits. We requested to be seated in the Wine room as it always seemed to be a quiet haven inside the restaurant. As we entered the room we were nearly knocked down by two young children having a race around the table. The hostess had to ask the parents to have their children take their seats. We were seated next to a family with two older children who appeared to be behaving appropriately for their age and surroundings. As usual, the service was outstanding and the food was fantastic. Everything was going great until the two children at the table next to us decided to have a burping contest. The took turns seeing who could burp the loudest. Both parents were on their phones and appeared to be oblivious of their children's behavior. The contest ended when their server brought the check to the table. The parents never intervened.
      When you visit a restaurant of this caliber and expense you have certain expectation about the experience. If you like great food, service and views California Grill is the peace to go. But, be aware of what else may come with this experience. After last night, we will be spending our dining dollars elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Thu October 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      Had dinner here Sept 14. CG never disappoints, Food was outstanding and service was as well. The whole fireworks aspect just makes it a must-do every trip. And I want to point out that this time, there were a couple tables nearby with small children who were actually very well behaved! (I've read complaints about loud children at such a nice restaurant, and I've had that complaint myself, so I figured it's only fair to point out the good as well as the bad.)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Tue September 8, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, view
      Cons: none

       
      My sister and I ate here on August 31 and we very much enjoyed the meal after having to reject the first table we were offered. They tried to seat us at the very first table in the restaurant, not sure why there is even a table there as it is in the middle of traffic and would have been horrific. Our next table was in the very back of the restaurant in what looked like an addition. We could not see the Magic Kingdom but could see Epcot and Hollywood Studios, unfortunately by the time we were seated the fireworks for both were over. Ordered cocktails off the menu, both were very good, but the names escape me now. The waiter was very personable and we liked him, even though he thought we were a couple and tried to give us ambiance with the candles. We started off with the Dragon Roll, which was yummy! I ordered the pork two ways, which I thought was very well done and enjoyed it very much. Sister had a filet which she also enjoyed. For dessert, I ordered the breadpudding, which was not bread pudding and was not even the cobbler that the waiter tried to say it was. Not good! So I helped Sister eat her fritters which were warm and doughy pillows of goodness. The only disappointment of the night was that we were in the middle of eating when the fireworks show started which we went to watch and our food was left out on the table. We saw others that had been covered.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sparrow

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service and food great
      Cons: none

       
      Party of 9 celebrated my birthday on August 8, 2015 at California Grill. Service was wonderful - food was excellent. Everyone in the party enjoyed the meal.
      They brought a small birthday cake to the table and then sliced it into 9 pieces for everyone - no charge. We each had already ordered desserts which were delicious.
      The view outside was really nice and we all enjoyed the night breeze and views.
      I don't have one negative thing to say about this restaurant. Service, food, wine - everything was exceptional and I really enjoyed my birthday dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mhw

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Niantic, Conecticut
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri August 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful setting.
      Cons: The selection and quality of the food has declined

       
      My family has visited WDW for the past nine years and Cali Grill has always been a favorite place to go for a nice evening out. However, the past couple of years, the menu selection and quality of the food has declined drastically. In fact, when my family and I rated our favorite meals during this past stay, Cali Grill did not even make the top five. The only saving grace was the location of the restaurant, fireworks and the excellent customer service. Note to Chefs, check out The Boathouse because the food quality and selection is what Cali Grill used to be.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Harrimans

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri July 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, view
      Cons: Loud and crowded

       
      We thought the service was very adequate if not overly friendly. I actually prefer this but can understand why others would be put off a bit.


      The food was excellent! Pork flat bread was very good. Sea Scallops and filet were to die for. Creme Brûlée was the best we ever had.


      The view outside on the deck made our night. Most unique view of Wishes in all of WDW.


      The pacing of dinner was just right. Wine selection is superb.


      A great night out...
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.