Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • 1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food/service
      Cons: n/a

       
      Surprised @ lower review ratings - we have dined @ most all of the Disney restaurants on property over the years & this one is one of the best~
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Thu April 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good location, Views, Service
      Cons: None

       
      My wife, 13yo daughter and I ate dinner here on 3/31/13 at 7:30pm. Our advanced dining reservations was for 7:30pm, we arrived right at 7:30 and had to wait about five minutes – not bad for spring break crowds! All three of us had the clam chowder as an appetizer – which was very, very good! My wife had the jumbo lump crab cake dinner -and she really enjoyed them. I had the salmon which was very good. My daughter decided she was not very hungry and just ate my mixed vegies off of my plate. Portions were large and we could not eat dessert. Our table overlooked the water with a view of Downtown Disney. Service was very good as our server never let our drinks get empty. We would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dunnat

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: colorado
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri November 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service, especially chef
      Cons:

       
      Was a little nervous about eating here after some of the reviews. We ate here on November 1, 2012.


      We had a party of 7. Our server was excellent, and when my sister asked about gluten-free possibilities, she asked the chef to come out. Chef spent several minutes talking to my sister, with several recommendations.


      He came by later to check how our meals were. The crab cakes were excellent! My sister's vegetable pasta on GF noodles was excellent. He explained the training Disney chef's go through regarding allergies. Since their kitchen is so tiny, he's made changes to the menu.


      Our experience here was over the top. I would highly recommend Cap'n Jack's.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      saraht

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Fri October 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, view, service, easy to get ADR
      Cons: slow, odd layout

       
      I was a bit nervous about eating here, based on the somewhat poor reviews. It was however easy to get an ADR and was convenient.


      The food was great, I had chicken, my friend had the crab cakes. We were starving so ordered the spinach and artichoke dip as an appetizer and it was incredible. The desserts were awesome- my chocolate cake was huge!


      Our server was fantastic and the view off the pier was pretty. We were seated a bit closer to the kitchen than I would have liked, but at 6:30 on a friday night, you really can't complain!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      donnamac1125

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun July 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Great food!! Atmosphere is just average, but food is very good, as is the service. Would eat there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Doh

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue February 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food and quiet
      Cons:

       
      We went for lunch. It was a nice change from the chaos of a park restaurant. Quiet and peaceful - kids enjoyed make your own pasta. Seafood options were very good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      joell51868

      Registered: October 2010
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Thu September 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I wish I wouldve read the reviews prior to eating at this restaurant. We ate here on 9/11 for a late dinner. It was not planned, it was a spur of the moment while DTD. The food was just ok, and very pricey for the quality & portions. We will not eat here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      newtloot

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Server was very nice
      Cons: Very limited menu, dirty, hair in food. :(

       
      We dined here 5yrs ago and it was great, so when we came back 9/18 for my husband's birthday, we expected the same. Not so. The menu was small, and the food was disappointing. We asked for bread and were told 'they don't have any'. The server gave us 4 packets of oyster crackers instead. My granddaughter found hair in her food, and the blinds on the window we were seated next to were absolutely filthy. I really wonder if this place is connected with Disney? We'll never go back here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Bobdes

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Westchester County, NY
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Thu May 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View
      Cons: Too many to list...read below

       
      It has been quite a few years since our last visit and we figured we try one more time since our "less than stellar" meal a few years back. What a mistake. Folks... would it kill you to put some bread on the table? The clam chowder was a rip-off for such a tiny bowl. The Lump Crab Cakes were such a huge disappointment. I've had better from my grocers freezer. The Penne Alfredo was basically some bland alfredo sauce on the bottom of the bowl, some pasta dumped on top (not mixed)and 5-6 rubbery bland shrimp. Not appealing what so ever especially for the price they charged. This makes Red Lobster look like "The Ritz!" The waitress was nice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      musthavedisney

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu April 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): On the Water
      Cons: Poor Service, Food not as appetizing

       
      All of the tables offer a water view, and the wait was very short -- and that's about the only positive thing I can say about this restaurant.


      This is the only place on WDW property that gets a "thumbs down" from me. I would have been much more disappointed if I had to pay out of pocket but thankfully we had a dining plan.


      There is an odor that reeks of "old", and there's nothing wrong with an older smell, except that this smell reminded me of the restroom.


      We sat at our table for about 10 minutes before any one ever acknowledged us. When we stopped another waiter for help we were told "this isn't my table" and had to wait an additional 5 minutes before finally being greeted.


      He took our drink order and then disappeared before we could order our food which we were prepared to do after such a long wait to be served. It took him another 10 minutes to return with our water w/ lime and lemon -- that's all we ordered to drink.


      Our appetizer must have been sitting for a while because it had cooled down significantly by the time we received it.


      We ordered Broiled Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, and expected to receive Broiled Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes. We had ordered the same thing at Narcoossees and The Brown Derby and had no reason to expect anything less. Wrong.


      What we got were 2 overdone fried backfin crabcakes that consisted mostly of filler bread. We politely asked to speak with the manager so he/she could understand our disappointment. The manager told us "that is jumbo lump!!"..and our response was "We're from MARYLAND!!"


      Although they did offer to remake our entree's, what we received was basically the same thing. We had resigned ourselves to eat the crab cakes but we at least expected it to taste appealing. The taste (or lack of) left much to be desired.


      We won't be eating here again, and for it's lack of good service and appetizing food we've coined this place "The Crusty Crab"
      Click here to see this users profile  
      leamom2

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Missouri
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri January 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seated quickly, food was good.
      Cons: Service was not very good.

       
      We arrived early and were seated quickly, food was good although it was nothing special. Our server was not very good. Slow with refills, not very friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.