Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Jamielyn09

      Registered: November 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu November 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of food, great entertainment
      Cons: Close seating

      We had a party of 4 and booked this last minute so we were in the category 3 seating. We sat more on the side but still able to see the stage clearly. They had the performers spread out on the stage so there really is not a bad place to sit. We were also right by the big fans which was nice because it was unseasonably hot.

      The food was good although it would have been nice to have some butter to go with the rolls. There was also not salt or pepper on the table (not that we needed it because the food was seasoned well). The portions were large and our waiter brought us over plenty of extra food. Our drinks were also refreshed any time we were half way done with them which was nice.

      Overall, this was a fun experience to try but I don't think we will revisit.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2008
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon August 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: bad service, undercooked food, tight seating, bad views

      I am usually the one to go out my way to post positive reviews, especially at Disney where there are so many excellent experiences to enjoy. Sadly, Spirit of Aloha is literally the worst food and entertainment experience we have ever had at a Disney property, hands down. Weak story, terrible acting, our food was flavorless and even undercooked (chicken! dangerous), the servers were surly and unhelpful. A wine glass got dropped by my feet (open toe sandals) and the server who saw it happen didn't even clean it up. I got down under the table to pick up the largest pieces and brush the glass off my toes. Though the drinks are supposedly bottomless, I couldn't get a refill on my wine to save my life. Also of note: we were Cat 1 and actually got good seats, but there are many highly obstructed views throughout the venue.

      Everyone around us was looking bewildered by the bad service, and we heard lots of people grumbling on the way out. It was SO un-Disney, and since our experiences are pretty universally amazing in every way at WDW, this was a sharp contrast. I went with my husband and sister, and we all use it as a comparison for terrible things to this day 'Well it was bad, but was it Spirit of Aloha bad?' Haha! When I got back from the trip, I read reviews I hadn't taken the time to read before I went. I am surprised by the number of positive reviews here, because elsewhere there is an abundance of negative reviews which warn people not to waste their time and money. I completely concur and wish I had read those warnings. Sad

      IF you have ANY chance to change your plans, Hoop Dee Doo Revue is THE BEST. It is literally the longest running dinner show in America, and it has run this long for a reason: it is a great show, delicious food, impeccable and fun service. Several of the servers who work there have been working that show for all 40 years, in fact. We got to chat with two of them on our trip. They said the turnover at the show is very low because everyone loves their job there, loves the show, and it's like a big family barbecue every night. But I will save my gushing on that for a review on HDD itself.

      Anyway, bottom line: this show is disappointing in the extreme. Save your money and time.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: Palm Coast, FL
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu August 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Generous quantities of food, good service
      Cons: Show was very long

      Husband and I attended the 8pm show on 7/29 in the category 1 section. We were a party of 2 and we were served the same amount of food as the party of 4 next to us. Our drinks were refilled often and server was present throughout the meal to make sure we were well taken care of. Enjoyed the interactive parts of the show where the audience was invited to come up and dance for birthdays/anniversaries etc. Also enjoyed the fire twirler- highlight of the show. We would probably not bring our young children as the show was over 2 hours long, but would definitely return for a date night without kids.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri June 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good entertainment, plenty of food

      We had great service and enjoyed the family-style serving of the food. Our server made sure our drinks were always refilled along with the food. We booked a few weeks prior so we didn't have a choice of the seating section to the very back and right of the stage. The columns often blocked our view of the show. Our favorite part was the fire twirler of course. He was amazing! It was nice to see the show once, but I don't know that I'd do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: SOUTH CAROLINA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu June 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): member participation
      Cons: food quality,price,viewing from my seat

      We had done the lua many years ago and wanted to try it again.I pad extra to sit in section #1 so i could see better since i am short.We got sat at the far end of section #1 behind a pole that holds up the roof and guess what i only could see one section of the show.The entertainers seem to stay right in the center and focus on that area ,bot on both sides like alot of shows do.The food was just ok.The salad appetizer was the best part,but our pineapple was not ripe and very hard and tasteless.The entree was served family style and was hot.it looked better than it tasted though.The sangrias were good ,but came in very small glasses.the show was ok,but my missed some of the older comical stuff they use to put in there.There was one dancer that seemed to be dancing a little too provacative for my taste but it wasn't outrageously done.Our server did good,but seemed to be focused more on another section of our table and i had to flag him down to get attention.All in all,it was an ok show,but probably want do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Sun August 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): surroundings - beautiful gardens
      Cons: not being able to see

      large party of 14 - had tables in wonderland - got a discount for the second show. we were on the top level - seating 3 - I didn't have a problem seeing and I was the last one seated at back of table all the way in the back, the last seat. others in my party complained they couldn't see. I wasn't disappointed in the food or show, just upset that my family didn't enjoy it for the amount of money I paid. I should have gotten down front but it would have cost me an additional $200. I did enjoy Ohana's more. we did that last year. Nice to try once. The fire dancer did a great job and it was nice seeing the different dances from other islands. I enjoyed eating outside even though it poured, we did not get wet and there was a delay in the show. I did feel like I was on the island.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Peterborough, NH
      Posts: 74
      Review Date: Wed June 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of food, fun show
      Cons: not the best dessert

      We enjoyed the later show, which wasn't very crowded. The food was plentiful and very tasty. This isn't gourmet food, but it's well prepared. The servers were fantastic. The show is a good family friendly show with some audience participation. I felt bad for the performers because their small audience was more interested in their food than the audience participation.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon April 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): show
      Cons: none

      I read some reviews that the show was cheesy, but I thought the show and food was good. The food was served family style there was plenty of food and the dessert was very good. I would recommend to do the dinner show at least once especially if you are on the dining plan.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun September 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Show esp. Fire Dancer
      Cons: Food

      We attended the late show on 24 August 2013. This was the first time we attended this dinner show. The food was not bad but just not spectacular. My son enjoyed the chicken but there are other menu options for children who do not like the main menu. The show was good, family entertainment. There was just enough audience participation. The fire dancer was great and well worth seeing. I would definitely go to this dinner show again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fire dancer, in show, fun, romantic time for couples
      Cons: none

      We attended this dinner show the last night at the park. It was a great distraction to the woes were had that we had to leave! Ha! Book this show for one reason and two words: FIRE DANCER. Enough said. : )
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Sat August 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The show
      Cons: Food

      I finally saw this show recently while at WDW after having it on my bucket list for a while. Unfortunately, I didn't think the show lived up to the hype. Don't get me wrong, the show is fun. Unfortunately, because I went to the Polynesian Cultural Center while I was in Oahu last year, the traditional dances were versions of ones I had seen there. I have never really liked luau food, so I wasn't there for that. Of the dancers, the fire dancer was phenomenal!

      If you've never been to Hawaii, this is a great show. If you have, you won't see many new things.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: Broadview Heights, Ohio
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed April 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Show - service
      Cons: food

      I just attended the luau last month. I've been quite a few times over the years -and enjoy it. The show is very good - the best part is the second half when they actually do the dances of the different islands -and the fire dancer! I still miss the characters - which was wonderful when my girls were young! The food is okay - but was told that it is changing and the ribs are back! As of last week. They also changed dessert to a bread pudding - like at 'Ohana's - which is excellent! Looks like the managers are finally listening to the guests and the cast members who have been complaining about the food. Hope they keep up the changes -which will bring back the guests that were disappointed last time they attended.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun April 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun
      Cons: Food

      It's a fun show and yes it is cheesy, but that is the fun of it. We happened to go last November right after the menu changed and it was not good. When we went 2 years ago, the food was good, but this last time it bordered unacceptable.

      I think if you have not gone before try for the entertainment knowing it is cheesy, but do not go for the food.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed February 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service
      Cons: Food not the greatest

      We went in February 2013 - there were 12 of us, including children aged 4, 6, 7, 8, and 12. It was a dismal evening - raining and a bit chilly.

      The staff was wonderful - provided everyone with ponchos for the walk through the rain to the stage area (our 4-year-old told everyone to put on their "nachos").

      While the food may not be the best at Disney, it was plentiful and tasty. Our waitress (one for our whole table) was superb!!!

      Most of the adults had seen the show at some point in the past, so we had more fun watching the kids, who loved it.

      We had several allergies at our table and they were handled professionally and courteously by the staff.

      It was a great evening, despite the nasty weather, and we appreciated the positive aspects.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Sun January 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good, show was good
      Cons: Wine, temperature

      The food here was good, was worried about picky eaters, but the pork and chicken were not over-powering. The Roset and Chardonay were not sweet. Tried a spritzer, it was also very bitter. It was cold during our show, only in the 50's.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.