Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • slpayne

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was an average meal. DH and I shared a salad and the chicken pasta dish. It wasn't anything great, just typical Italian and not authentic by any means. There's other places we like better, we probably won't return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ljbevis

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere, service.
      Cons:

       
      We had an early dinner here on January 29th. We had originally had Fantasmic reservations, but canceled for a regular dinner. I had read the reviews and wanted to have a choice of deserts and am so glad I did. This was the best meal we had all week and we had 17 table service meals during our week. I had mussels and everyone else had calamari. It was wonderful. For our entrees we had the seafood, steak, chicken parm, pizza and the shrimp pasta. It was all fantastic. The homemade sausage on the pizza was fantastic, but quite spicy. We voted this as the not to be missed restaurant on our next visit. The only issue we had was with the children and the fact that they didn't have french fries available as a substitution.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JennaDeeDooDah

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere, service
      Cons: Not as themed as other resorts in the same park

       
      My husband and I love Mama's and eat here every trip to Walt Disney World. Our most recent time was on Sunday, January 26. We checked in 10 minutes before our ADR and were promptly seated. I love looking at the photos of all of the stars who have dined there that grace the walls when you first walk in. I also really enjoy the theming. I think it is quite pretty in there and my husband and I have found that it is an excellent restaurant for a romantic dinner for two, or for a fun family meal.


      We were on the Fantasmic Dining Package, so my husband and I each had an appetizer and an entree with a dessert to share. My husband had the mussels and I had the calamari. My husband loved that the mussels were in the seafood arrabbiata sauce, but didn't care for the mussels themselves. He had trouble shelling many of them. The calamari was good. I enjoyed the red sauce that came with it more than the red sauce at Tony's, but not as much as the red sauce at Via Napoli. The second dipping sauce was a pesto-based sauce that I didn't care for. The calamari itself was good.


      My husband opted for the charred strip steak and I had the margherita flatbread. The flatbread was no bad, but I prefer the wild mushroom flatbread. With the margherita, the cheese didn't cover the entire pizza. Wherever they put a tomato slice, there was no cheese. That is not the case on the wild mushroom flatbread. My husband raved about his steak. I had a bit and had to agree. It practically melts in your mouth. I highly recommend it.


      The dessert platter that we shared had the seasonal panna cotta with a mango compote, chocolate amaretti cheesecake, and something else that I can't really remember. The cheesecake was both of our favorites and we didn't care for the panna cotta.


      Overall, it was a nice meal and we will certainly continue to return here. It's not as well themed as Sci Fi Dine In or 50's Prime Time Cafe, so your children might prefer one of those restaurants, but I do highly recommend Mama's, as well. The food is always good, the waitstaff is attentive, and the theming is lovely.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      deedeebee

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sat February 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ?
      Cons: slow service, bad food

       
      First off we had to wait for over an hour to get out table, yes we had an ADR. Service was slow but that was somewhat understandable. The food on the other hand was terrible! We won't ever go back, no reason to return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmdebree

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service, great food, fantasmic package
      Cons:

       
      This was by far one of our greatest dining experiences at Disney. We dined here on January 8, 2014. Our service was exceptional and the food was delicious. We had the calamari, tomato and cheese, the soup, chicken parm. , bread and husband had a seafood dish. We all enjoyed the atmosphere and of course the fantasmic seating is a wonderful bonus. Will definiately eat here again when we return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Wed January 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great food.
      Cons: not much of anything.

       
      My DW and DF's ate here on December 20th, 2013. We had lunch reservations for 3pm. At first we had the Fantasmik package but, opted out at the restaurant. It just seemed like it was an expensive venture and not really needed. I had the ckicken parm and it was great. My wife had spaghetti and meatballs and she loved the dish. Our whole group of 6 really enjoyed our meals. I had read that the service at this venue was slow. We did arrive early and we were seated about ten minutes late, not to bad. The service was prompt and our server was very attentive. I will eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rebelbuddhist

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun January 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Much improved food
      Cons: Unbelievable waits even with ADR

       
      Every time we go the waiting area is swamped and even with ADRs the wait time here is greater than any other place. We had to check at the podium several times and waited almost 30 minutes past our ADR. That said the offerings seem to be getting better and better each time we go. The calamari appetizer was very tasty and the dipping sauces were excellent. My wife enjoys the chicken entrees and the pork I had was excellent. The steak is very good but not the best in WDW. Desserts are varied and a nice ending to a solid meal. Service can be spotty largely due to the crowded space and seeming desire to turn tables quickly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantasmic package
      Cons:

       
      We visited on our trip 12/3-12/14 and did the fantasmic package. The were 4 adults and 1 child and we had the DP. As an App we got two Calami that came with a spicy marinara, pesto, and a honey mustard vinaigrette. 1 mussel which was good a couple empty shells but nothing to complain about. 1 huge ceasar salad and for DS9 the minestrone soup which was flavorful but had chic peas which my child doesn't care for so we switched apps I took his soupd and he took my calamari. Everyone enjoyed their apps. The serve rolls with butter and olive oil with herbs which we enjoyed. For meals DS9 tried something new and got chicken parm. the chicken was on the small side but it was fine since he doesn't eat a lot of meat. he said he would get again which means it was good since chicken isn't his fave. the adults all ordered the steak and mac and cheese. the mac and cheese was so yummy but I would have preffered the steak not lay on it. They brought out a hat and icecream for my son to celebrate his bday. For us adults there was a sampler of dessert, a cheesecake of sorts, two pannacote,3 mini cream puffs, a chocolate thing and the spaghetti and meatball cupcake. All was good but I don't enjoy the dessert sampler, I would prefer they go back to the old way of letting each person order what they would like. Definitely will go next trip. We sat in the mickey section for fantasmic, never sat there before always the right said of the ampitheatre. Lots of people in before us even though we arrived promptly when it said to arrive. Went to the 630 show and there were two shows that night. We ate at lunch time at noon. Minimal wait for a table.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Mon November 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: None

       
      We ate here on 11/11/13. This has been our pick for dining in DHS for some time. The food is consistently good (and sometimes better than good) and our service has always been good as well. This time was no exception. I had the magical star cocktail, caprese appetizer, the strip steak with mac and cheese and cheesecake for dessert. My DH had soup, osso buco (I think off menu) and gelato for dessert. All of mine food was really good. The drink, however, had so much ice that I feel like I paid #12. for less than an ounce of liquid total. I think I drank it all in one sip. My husband said his soup was ok, the osso buco was fantastic and what can you say about a bowl of ice cream. The kids had soup, pizza and a sundae. They said it was all good. I tried the soup and it was fine.


      We usually eat here in DHS and will eat here again, but we will be adding The Hollywood Brown Derby as well. Yummy!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Chef visit
      Cons: Service and Main Course

       
      We ate at Mamma Melrose’s on Saturday, November 2, 2013. We had ADR’s for 1:30 and we were seated with in ten minutes of checking in with the hostess. Our server was from Birmingham, UK and had a 5 year service pin on his name tag.


      Chef Bea from the Brox came to our table to discuss my tree nut allergy. While she was there, I asked if the Clams Oreganatta was back on the menu, she said it was not but that they had a spicy mussel dish as an appetizer that she thought was very good. When I told her I could not stand spicy food, she offered to make me a mussel dish from scratch. What she made was a fabulous dish with white wine and garlic broth with mussels that is one of the best dishes I’ve ever had in any restaurant. It was so good I used my straw to suck up the broth after I ate all the mussels.


      Unfortunately, the rest of our meal was not so spectacular. My wife and I ordered the Charred Strip Steak with Mac & Cheese. The Mac & Cheese was very good, but had a few pieces of pasta in it that were burnt. The steaks were tough, much tougher than we’ve had before. My steak had so much fat and gristle that over half the steak was inedible!!


      We’ve eaten at MM several times in the past and this is our favorite restaurant in all of WDW. We’ve had the Strip Steak several times in the past and it was excellent, but this time is was terrible!! Because of our past experiences with MM, we’ll be back, but it might be a while.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      retired605

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: atmosphere, menu selections

       
      My husband loves this place but I have never been a fan. Food is good but I never can find something I really want to eat. This time he had chicken parm and I had chicken campanele(sp?) We both liked our dinners. Atmosphere is loud and service is so-so. Restaurant is pricey.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HOBBES

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent meal
      Cons: nothing

       
      We came here several years ago as a substitue for Sci-Fi which had unexpectedly closed the day of our reservation. We always felt that as we had not chosen to come here we maybe judged it a little harshly so we arranged to come this time to give it another shot. I'm pleased we did. After a short wait (ADR was for 7.40) we sat down and our order was taken quickly and served quickly (but not too quickly!) We both had the minestrone and bread which were very tasty but not too filling. DH had the penne alla vodka and I had the chicken campanelle. Both came in enormous portions but were very tasty. Can't remember what we had for dessert but we enjoyed it. Price was very reasonable and we were out just in time to make the 9pm Fantasmic which I didn't think we would. A great experience and we wont leave it so long befopre our next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJen

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Madison, WI
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat October 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, fun atmosphere, Fantasmic package
      Cons: none

       
      Ate here for the first time on Sept 1, 2013 using the Fantasmic Package. We found this to be a great value b/c an appetizer for each adult was included with the package- something the dining plan does not offer at any other restaurant and because we paid out of pocket for the DDP this trip, we were looking for value. We had the calamari for appetizer- the best calamari we ever had! I had the chix parm and my husband had the pasta dish with all the seafood, they were both wonderful. One of our fav meals this trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BigDisFam

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, fantasmic package
      Cons: long wait for table

       
      I have no idea how this place got so many negative reviews. 9 of us dined here on the dining plan, we reserved the Fantasmic package. Our waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient.
      Me and my son decided to share our meals so we could try more stuff. I got the calamari and chicken parm, he got Caesar salad and the steak. The Calamari was flavorful and tender, the dipping sauces were excellent. The Salad was fresh, crisp and had a lot of flavor, but not too much dressing-perfect. I loved my chicken but the steak with mac and cheese was maybe one of the top ten foods I ever put in my mouth. Steak was chard on outside and perfect medium-rare inside, so tender it just meted without hardly a chew, mac and cheese was rich and creamy- very tasty. Everyone else loved their food also, they brought trays of desserts which were yummy and the Fantasmic seats were good. A great value on the dining pan abd our new favorite restaurant in HS.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BermudaJen

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun September 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic dinner package
      Cons: Service

       
      We ate at Mamma Melrose for the first time in August 2013 as part of the Fantasmic Dinner Package. The food was ok - not the best but certainly not the worst. The restaurant was super busy and this was evident in the service. Our main courses were delivered before they had cleared away the appetizer plates creating some juggling for us and the server. However, looking around the restaurant, we saw several tables with dirty dishes. To my surprise, the servers were also bussing their own tables. So, not only were they required to attend to occupied tables, they were clearing and setting vacant tables. I don't think it takes a rocket scientist to figure that you could hire some bus people to clear dirty dishes and set tables to keep them turning over quicker and perhaps alleviating some of the wait time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.