Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Polly319

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat August 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: A huge disappointment

       
      Our reservations for the Mama Melrose's/Fantasmic package were made exactly 180 days prior to our visit, for 5:30 on 8/5, and that is when we arrived. Our party included 10: grandparents, our son and daughter, their spouses, and our 4 young grandchildren, all having flown down for a family reunion.
      We were absolutely shocked at the tables we were ushered to! It included a small booth against the wall, which was set for 6 (really?) and a 4 person table, which was set kitty corner, back from the booth, in the center of the floor, a considerable distance away.
      We appealed to the hostess, and our server, about the seating, both of whom seemed sympathetic, but could do nothing. Understandably, we escalated our complaint to the Manager, who did absolutely nothing to accommodate us, but offer to call another restaurant to check availability. (Really? Where is a tired, hungry family of 10 going to eat at a table service restaurant at 6 o'clock on short notice?) There were at least two long tables, with seating for 8, both empty, when we arrived. A small adjustment, a couple of added chairs, would have solved the problem. Instead my grandchildren were seated with their moms, in the booth, and conversation was impossible, because they were facing my back at the table.
      The food was OK for the most part; Except for my husband, who was served the smallest portion of Chicken Parmesan I have ever seen. (A 2" x5" thin strip of chicken) and a tiny serving of mashed potato, which looked like powdered (That, after I actually called from home to make sure mashed potatoes were available.)
      Since our dinner lasted 3 hours, there was barely enough time to walk to Fantasmic, find the priority seating, and get settled for the show.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Livigs

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon August 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service was friendly, atmosphere
      Cons: Food was so-so; service was slow

       
      I hesitate to start w/ our wait, thinking you may discount my other complaints, but I assure you that all aspects are being judged on their own. That said, we had to wait 45 minutes AFTER our reservation time to get a table. Our server was shocked at how busy it was, saying they were slammed and had no idea it was coming, which leads me to believe that they either just kept taking in walk ins when they had no room, or they overbooked. Not good.
      The service, in general, was very slow. We ended up there for about 2 hours, which is WAY too long for a 3 year old and 6 year old to sit patiently.
      The food was ok. My steak was decent, but nothing special. The fried calamari were onion ring shaped, but they were pretty tasty, nonetheless. The tuna appetizer was not horrible, but nothing special, and the sauce they served with it was not good. The desserts, again, were 'meh'.
      I wasn't miserable, but I wouldn't go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Junebug21981

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: St. Joseph, IL
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Sun August 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Service
      Cons:

       
      Great Meal! My DH had the Pork dish and I had the Chicken Parm. Normally when we come here we get the steak and mac n' cheese dish. Love them all. Our favorite dessert is the Amaretto cheescake, however the menu has changed and is no longer offered by itself, but in the trio sampler dessert. The waitress was wonderful and got me the trio, but I got all three amaretto cheescakes, yum! My DH had the trio as it comes and said it was great as it is as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Fri June 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food was great, fantasmic package
      Cons: can be a wait

       
      We visited June 6. We did the fantasmic package and were on the dining plan. We(3) all had the calamari as the app. The lemon sauce is the best of the sauces. It was not overcooked and chewy at all. For dinner we got two steaks with mac and cheese and 1 chicken parm. Everyone enjoyed it. We've had it before and new we wanted it again. For dessert they brought out a sampler which was different than last time and I liked it better. It was a small tiramisu, a cheesecake and brownie all bite size. We got the tickets for fantasmic but opted not to go that not since we had earlier in the week and wanted to watch fireworks instead since it was a star wars weekend. You should definitely try it out if you haven't before.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      deb010305

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed June 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Suprisingly great !
      Cons: The meal took about 1 1/2 hours from the time we sat down.

       
      We were a party of 4 adults and we booked Mama Melrose's for lunch as part of the Fanstasmic! package.
      We had eaten here many years ago and at that time we were not impressed, so I was hesitant to try it again, but it was WONDERFUL !
      This was by far one of the best meals we had during our stay. The atmosphere was great and it was a nice break from the parks.
      As it was part of the Fantasmic! package we received appetizers, all of us had the Caesar salad, which we agreed was one of the best Caesar salds we had ever had. Just the right amount of dressing and the lettuce was fresh and crisp.
      Two of us had chicken parmesan, and each serving had huge chicken breasts and more than enough pasta.
      The other two had steaks, which were cooked perfectly and were very tender.
      As part of the Fantasmic! package, a individual dessert trio was included-which was just the right amount of dessert.
      We would definately eat here again, even if we didnt' have the Fantasmic! package.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MsLydiaD

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue April 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic seating, Food
      Cons: 20 minute wait to be seated, worth the wait.

       
      We selected Mama Melrose's for the Fantasmic package. We are not a family that normally gets appetizers, dinner and dessert so this was a treat. We arrived early for our reservations and were told they were running about 20 minutes behind. There was a thunderstorm rolling in and I think people were not leaving to wait it out. We were seated within the 20 minutes. Our server, Lisa, was very nice and explained how the package worked. The food was delicious and it was a most pleasant dinner, really a nice break from the park. The seating for Fantasmic was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robinmy

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri February 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic Dinner Package
      Cons: None

       
      My family and I ate at this restaurant the last day of our vacation. We specifically picked it to get the Fantasmic passes for the evening's performance. Our reservations were for noon. We arrived early and only had to wait a few minutes before being seated. Our server was friendly. He explained that even though we were using the dining plan, the Fantasmic package included both an appetizer and dessert along with the entree and drink. We each ordered a different appetizer (Caeser Salad, Mixed Green Salad, and Mozzarella/tomato salad). All were fresh and the servings were huge. For the entree, two of us ordered the charred Strip Steak which was the best steak I had all week at a Disney restaurant. The other member of our party had the Spaghetti and Meatballs. She said the meatballs were very flavorful and the sauce was good. Our meal ended with a platter of small desserts. All were very good.


      I'm glad we got the passes for Fantasmic. There was a large crowd for the show and we had great seats. I highly recommend this restaurant and the Fantasmic package.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sreynolds5

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri February 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Pleasant Dining Experience
      Cons: Pricey

       
      As park dining goes, this was a very pleasant experience. We (family of 4) were seated 5 minutes ahead of our reservation time and our server was friendly and efficient. The food was good. We ordered fried calamari and ceasar salad appetizers, chicken parm and strip steak entrees, and were served the mini-dessert tray. We all enjoyed the meal.
      Our 17 yr. old daughter wanted a "fancy" non-alcoholic drink. The drink menu had plenty of alcoholic mixed drinks and only 1 specialty non-alcoholic drink: lemonade in a Cars or Ariel plastic cup. Nothing quite right for our daughter, so we asked our server to bring her a Shirley Temple with a glow-cube in it. We were very pleased to have this request happily fulfilled. The drink looked beautiful and tickled our daughter. The cube was $3.99 extra and is re-usable. We brought it home :-)
      We were on the Fanstasmic package. 4 people, 1 glow cube, 20% tip for excellent service = just under $190... and Fantasmic was rained out :-(
      Giving this experience a 10 for what it is - a park dining experience. The same meal outside of Disney would have been good, but nothing to write home about, and the price would have been about half what we paid. However, ...having a table in a themed restaurant on an extremely crowded day in Hollywood Studios... eating some satisfying food... getting off our feet for an hour while it poured rain outside = priceless in the park :-)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mharder

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri February 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): How they handled my wife's wheat sensitivity
      Cons:

       
      My wife and I had dinner at Mama Melrose on January 28. We'll definitely consider going there again.


      I had penne with chicken and a marsala sauce. I thought it was very good. Very generous portion.


      My wife has a wheat sensitivity and we tend to avoid Italian restaurants as a result. After reading that WDW was accommodating of individuals with allergies, I booked a reservation at Mama Melrose's and noted on the reservation that she had a wheat sensitivity.


      The chef came out and met with us to review the menu. My wife asked about a couple of dishes and the chef said he could do them with a gluten free pasta. After considering the alternatives, she ordered a chicken alfredo dish and enjoyed it. I sampled it and agreed it was as good as "real" pasta. They also gave her some gluten free rolls, which I also sampled and agreed with her that they were very good.


      Near the end of our meal, the chef returned to the table to ask how my wife's meal was. When she said how much she enjoyed it (and how rarely she had enjoyed a pasta dinner), he asked if she wanted to know what they did. Of course, she and I each wanted to know how they prepared it. He then patiently spent several minutes explaining the process (partially cook the gluten free pasta for 8 minutes, shock with cold water to stop the cooking, toss with olive oil, refrigerate until ready to use, and then finish the cooking by tossing with the sauce for a couple of minutes to bring to serving temperature). We very much appreciated his interest in whether we enjoyed our meals and willingness to share their secrets.


      The only thing i can say that approached a negative, is that we spent so much time enjoying dinner and talking to the chef that we arrived at Phantasmic and just missed getting in before they ran out of room for more guests.


      We'll definitely go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinderellaGirl

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon January 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons: None!

       
      My boyfriend and I ate here for the first time in January 2015. We arrived about 20 minutes before our reservation time, and were seated in about 10 minutes. I ordered the Penne alla Vodka, and it was delicious! Very flavorful, and the pasta was cooked perfectly. My boyfriend ordered the Chicken Campanelle, which he also enjoyed. I tried it, and it was very good! Our server was great, very attentive. The only odd thing about the experience was that there was a large party seated next to us, and they split the party up between two tables, even though they had 5 children with them and had a reservation. The party was quite disgruntled over this, and I can't say that I blame them. Our experience, however, was great, and I would definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rak2418185

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun January 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      So far the only time I would say dont go to something in WDW! Ate here once and will never again. Food was so-so,service could have been better. There were two huge parties in our section so I guess we were overlooked. Originally made reservations because we wanted the Fantasmic dinner package. We thought we had it until they server and manager said that it was the earlier times not our time that the package was good for. That left me a little bummed to say the least. My opinion and suggestion -get an early meal somehwere elsel and get a fast pass to FANTASMIC.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ajrob

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Mon December 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wait staff, Fantasmic seating
      Cons: food

       
      This was my third meal here and the food is not getting any better. Was going to avoid this restaurant all together but wanted the Fantasmic seating. PROS- wait staff was awesome, our server was a favorite of the trip and arrived 30 minutes early for ADR and was seated right away. The seats were great for Fantasmic. WDW finally realized if you pay for a lunch for preferred seats you shoud get them! CONS-food, can you really mess up spaghetti? YUP they could and did again. Just not good food, chicken is oven-baked, spaghetti was way too al-dente and steak was not cooked enough. Will not go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdetrick

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Mechanicsburg PA
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat December 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service!
      Cons:

       
      Good food and good service. I find Italian restaurants and food a little boring (they're everywhere!) but it goes a great job with it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      retired605

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu December 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere/server
      Cons: my dinner

       
      This is the third time we have eaten here and the first time I tried something new. Interestingly, I just now checked the menu to get the correct spelling of what I had and it is no longer on the menu - we just ate there less then 2 weeks ago. We always get the calamari for an appetizer which is great. This time my husband got the Seafood Arrabbiata which he liked but I wanted pork and got the Saltimbocca(might be incorrect sp - can't check) which was not good. You couldn't even tell it was pork there was so much cheese on it. Next time I will go back to my chicken.
      Atmosphere here is great and service is always good - just wanted to comment on my dinner which isn't even on the menu anymore!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Server, food
      Cons: atmosphere could be brighter

       
      This was our first time eating at Mama Melrose's (11/20). First of all our server was wonderful. She attended to every need we could ask for. The food here was delicious. We tried the calamari as an appetizer. It was very good. Dinner and desert were excellent. We will definitely come here again in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.