Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Sun July 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bloody mary's, food
      Cons: inconsistant, not friendly waitress

       
      Ate here May 21. I made a mistake and thought our ressies were for 535. We arrived and they couldn't find our ressie. After I found my information realized that we were 20 min early. they wrote our names downand told us it would only be a short wait. We asked to be seated inside as we weren't there to view Illuminations and it was hot. We were seated outside right along the water in bright sun. Now if I wanted to sit outside like in the past we would of ended up inside. This was our 3rd visit and as far as I am concerned our last. I have tried and tried to get this restaurant to work for us since this is a restaurant that my husband loves to visit as this is a fond childhood memory for him. But really, a simple request cannot be met? Then to only find out that there were plenty of seats available inside since you had to go through the restaurant to use the restroom. Our waitress was not friendly at all and when my dd5 asked what country she was from she gave a smart comment. I am sorry you aren't happy working there find another job.... the food was okay, the fish and chips were greasy, the steak had grissle on it and my son said that he makes a steak better which we agreed. my husband does love the bloody Mary's there and did drink one but asked for a refill and never got one. My son asked for the potatoe leek soup even though it was 95 degrees outside and never got it either, the waitress finally brought it out as we were about done with dinner. She took the soup off of his bill. Not sure if I will give this one another try. Maybe visit the bar for drinks next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed May 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Food
      Cons: None

       
      My husband and I ate here on May 3, 2014 for dinner. Our server, Nate was attentive and welcoming. We had the Scotch egg for an appetizer. I loved it (he didn't but since he doesn't like eggs that is ok). We both had Guiness for our drinks. For dinner, he had the Shepard's Pie and liked it. I had Bangers and Mash. I thought it was good. This is definitely on our list of places to return and try again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ncdj2013

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed April 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere - Love the scotch egg
      Cons: none

       
      One of our favorite places. We just love the atmosphere here . I highly recommend the scotch egg, bangers & mash and cottage pie which we have had on previous visits.


      This visit hubby had the fish & chips which he raved about. I had the ploughmans lunch as I wanted something simple and high in protein and this fit my needs. I will have to say that the chicken was dry and I did not finish it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwgrandma

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri April 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great cast members, and great food
      Cons:

       
      I ate 2 mid afternoon meals here during my March week long visit. I love this restaurant and this time it was wonderful. I was seated outside each time; once closest to the water and it was unbusy and quiet. Being by myself, I really appreciate friendly and talkative cast members. I had great ones this trip; and the salmon dish my last day was scrumptious!! So glad I got to walk up and get a seat. Mid day was a good time, even in the "spring break" time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lisakb22

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food,great service,lovely view
      Cons: small selection on menu

       
      We ate here for the second time and were so pleased. The food is well prepared and the service is excellent.The restaurant has a beautiful view of the lake and if you time it right you can watch Illuminations from your table!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Tue February 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Service
      Cons: Food Quality

       
      My wife, 14yo daughter and I ate dinner here on Friday, February 14, 2014. We had a 5:40 reservation and we checked in at 5:30pm. We had about a twenty minute wait before we were seated on the covered outdoor patio with great water views. All three of us got the fish and chips for our main meal. We did not get any appetizers.


      The fish & chips meal was $19.99 each, and was very similar to what you get at the Yorkshire Fish Shop for $9.00 – which was only about 25% less food than what we were served and R&C. I was able to finish the large piece of fish that was presented, but my wife and daughter could not finish their meals – they said it was too greasy for them to eat.


      While the view and our server were very good, I think we’ll stick to getting our fish and chips from the Yorkshire Fish Shop. We’ll not be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LucyKate0811

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu February 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The adult beverages
      Cons: Food choices, food in general

       
      We ate here on our final night in Disney World. My parents had eaten here 2 years ago and raved about the food, however, none of us had that experience this time. We were seated about 30 minutes after we checked in for our ADR. Menu choices are very limited, I settled on the steak and it was average. My husband and mother ordered the fish and chips, both felt they were very salty. Dessert was a tasty surprise, as when we were presented the menu no one was sure what to order. The highlight of the meal was the alcoholic beverages with the glow cubes… Our server was very kind and helpful, however, the food definitely marred the experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      againandagain

      Registered: April 2009
      Location: Pa
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed February 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): took way to long
      Cons: Food was good

       
      On a recent trip we thought we would try this restaurant. We arrived 15 minutes early and were seated at our reservation time. I got the steak and my wife got Fish and Chips. Both were good but the price was a little high for what we got. However, here is where my gripe is. The whole meal took 3 hrs. Wow were they slow. Since the food was just ok, I probably will not go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pls

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Wed January 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
      Cons: too cold for outside dining, slow service

       
      My family group of 10 all enjoyed our meals, but be prepared to spend a long time there. The service is always very slow (this may be their trademark). In addition, it was a cold evening, and even with the ceiling heaters and after having them close the tarp, we were cold on the patio.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rebelbuddhist

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, dessert, price
      Cons: Service was a bit aloof

       
      This was our first time at Rose and Crown and we were pleasantly surprised. The scallops for appetizer were different and good. My wife had steak and fish and both were excellent. My steak was also tasty and cooked to perfection. The great surprise was dessert both the Mandy's Mess and Jaffa Tarts were refreshingly different from the WDW standard cheese cake!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Waiter
      Cons:

       
      My favorite place in Epcot! We went for lunch because the did not have the Bangers and Mash on the dinner menu. Bangers and Mash are my favorite and my boyfriend loved his Sheppard's Pie. For dessert I had the Sticky Toffee Pudding. It was amazing. Our waiter was very kind and helpful. I can't wait to go back just so I can eat here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dsnyak5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon October 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beuatiful View & Great Service
      Cons: Food Portion & Quality

       
      A friend and I were attending the Food and Wine Festival, and made an ADR here for dinner on 10-14. We were seated promptly, at an outdoor table on the patio with a great view of the World Showcase. The service was great. We have eaten here many times, and were surprised at how "Indian" the menu had become. I got my usual fish and chips and my friend got the trout. I got one thin filet, and it was quite disappointing. What fish was there, was just mush. No flavor or body to it at all. The trout, while nicely presented on the plate, consisted of two, VERY thin, approx. 3" squares of fish on a few roasted veggies. We will be skipping this place in the future unless there is a serious menu change.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LoriC

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Service, Food, Childrens Choices

       
      We stopped here for lunch and were very disappointed by both the food choices and the long wait. It seemed our server might have been new. It took over a half an hour just to get our appetizers. Overall the food was very greasy and bland. The wait staff also seemed bothered that we made a special request for a grilled cheese sandwich for my six year old son. They charged me extra for French fries on the side because it was a "special order".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      missy

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Tue July 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and service
      Cons: hostess

       
      Was thundering and lightening when we were about to be seated. Hostess wanted to seat us under the tent outside during this weather! I refused as there were plenty of tables inside. Had reservations too. Server was friendly! Food was sooo good. Would go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      onejasper

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ambience and service
      Cons: Menu

       
      We have dined at the Rose and Crown for several years, always booking at 730-745pm reservation in order to view Illuminations from the private viewing area outside. This year was no different. We have always chosen this restaurant as the menu was versatile, great service and we have British roots, myself being a Brit.


      This year was no different in terms of our reservation and the great service. What was different was the reduced menu and the food itself. The Potato soup was no longer, removing a vegetarian choice (and replaced with a meat filled soup of the day) and the rest of the appetizer choices were limited. Suffice to say when our lovely waitress returned (and she was so nice) I think she was worried and went to make sure our meals came out promptly. I did observe other diners also either passing on the appetizers or not finishing them once delivered. Entrees were just ok. DD found the fish to be more batter than actual fish and other DD did not enjoy the steak, declaring it to be very fatty. I enjoyed my vegetarian pot pie but it was mainly carrot, although I loved the potato garlic topping. Dessert was good but again very limited choice.


      Having such a limited menu likely works well for the restaurant, just not so well if others are looking for old favourites or choices for more picky eaters. Note as well that the pub menu is now quite limited as well.


      Service was wonderful! Waitress got a huge tip! Suffice to say, we won't return next time unless the menu choices change substantially. There are plenty of other places to choose from and after all, the food is the main reason to dine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.