Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LISAE

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good but not great food
      Cons: Price, saltiness

       
      Ok so let's get the price out of the way first - we visited 8th August and the price suggests something way out of the league of the current Le Cellier, service is ok, restaurant is ok, seating is very close together, food is average.
      Take the price out of the game and then my objective view slightly changes from a 4 to a 7.
      The bread remains very good however we have noticed that you have to ask for more it is never just refilled nowadays.
      The cheddar cheese soup is not to my taste but remains enough reason for my 16 year old son to choose this restaurant above many others for one of his two table services choices of a two week holiday.
      The meat is cooked under most USA restaurants but this was clearly indicated to us when ordering. Even so I'm not sure why they just cant cook a medium the same as all other restaurants and not just medium rare instead!
      The ribeye steaks were very nice but very salty. The sides are not great.
      I enjoyed the maple crème brulee and my husband tried the unusual flavours of sorbet but there was nothing attractive for the kids so they declined (even though it was included in our two credits on the dining plan) and opted to use a snack credit elsewhere in EPCOT rather than choose from the small choice here.
      As a side note in two weeks my carnivore daughter ate steak a minimum of once and sometimes twice a day. We joked she must have eaten her body meat in the red meat we restrict at home but here she ate less than half of her steak. That should tell this steak place something.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      guatemama

      Registered: April 2006
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Sun July 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The bread
      Cons: everything else!

       
      WE have loved this restaurant for 15 years however are so disappointed with all the changes that have slowly decreased the quaintness of the atmosphere as well as the quality of the food.


      Years ago, bread was served in quaint bread holders on the table, real candles were in the center of the table in cute candle holders...everything has been generically standardized to make things less special.


      And when you have a wonderful steak, the mushroom filet (that used to have roasted parsnips on top loooong ago) why change that risotto and sauce for something less than wonderful??


      We ordered my filet well done (no pink right??). Well the first steak came dripping blood, as rare than my husband and son who both ordered medium. They apologized and sent it back (another 10 minutes passed) and brought me a second steak more rare than the first...Again, manager apologized and sent it back and after 15 minutes this time it came out ok. But my family had finished their dinners 20 minutes earlier and we missed our fast pass reservation when all was done...


      When you have a good thing and mess it up, it is sad...We will not be back to spend our hard earned money on an overpriced place like this any more....:(
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: nothing!

       
      This is my favorite restaurant in WDW. It's a cozy and relaxing restaurant. The food and service are both excellent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ronbreen

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Anticipation of a wonderful visit after 3.5 years of trying
      Cons: just about everything - way overrated and under delivered

       
      Over-crowded seating(not like photos) wait staff sticking their butts in your face attending to neighboring tables, SALT - if you like it this is the place for you - the chef uses it as THE MAIN ingredient, delivery of food - flop/dropped on table with "here's your stuff" message - entrees NOT delivered to proper person. Wellness of cooking meat NOT requested at order time ... wifey LOVES lamb and ordered it - came to the table almost raw. I ordered duck - got a few slices of breast meat cooked pretty OK and a leg/thigh that appears to have been cooked in a huge cauldron - and over-cooked at that. Sides were un-recognizeable and disgusting - possibly Canadian culture thing. Wait staff un-attentive. Maitr'e a bore - I do not care hoe yourniece and your sister are doing!!! I could go on but you get the point and I need to do something more important. DO NOT waste your money at this place.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      miketp

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed June 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great steaks, decent wine choices and full service bar
      Cons: crowded

       
      My wife and I dined there on 6/5/2014. We were anxious due to reading several negative reviews here lately and it is our favorite restaurant in EPCOT. However, we left entirely satisfied. My filet and wife's bone-in ribeye were cooked perfectly. Our waiter was attentive and friendly and service was excellent. I want to say we were not on Disney dining plan and I have heard from others this sometimes affects service. The bread was hot and delicious and the Caesar salad was cold and crisp. My only complaint about the food was that the spinach was swimming in cream.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jven1961

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Deserts
      Cons: Slow service, unattentive waitress, overcooked steak

       
      We ate here last year and everything was excellent. Would have rated it a 10, so it was a for sure repeat dinning spot. This year the experience was a complete disappointment. Our waitress never checked back with us until we waved her over to refill our drinks. Then she'd disappear again. Both my daughter and I ordered the steak, which last year was one of the best I've ever tasted. When the waitress asked how we wanted it cooked, we told her medium. She said it would be pink all the way through. To me, that's rare. I asked if they could cook it to what Longhorn's calls medium plus or halfway between medium and medium well. She matter of factly said NO, either med or med well. Who tells a customer that? When it came it was well done and tough. We told her and she said "it's medium well, just like you ordered it." Guess we could have called over the manager and make a big deal out of it, but we had a fastpass on Test Track and needed to leave. Will not go back next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fdmarks

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Sat April 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quality of food, value, service
      Cons: hard to get reservation

       
      This place is a classic and a must for every visit. Our great waitress was from the Yukon and she told us all about that area. We knew going in that it may be a little pricy for lunch, but when you are on vacation you should enjoy yourself. For appetizers I ordered the pork belly and found it to be the best ever. My wife tried the seared scallops and really thought they were delicious. My DD had the roasted oysters, which are her favorite and she loved them. My DD tried the Caesar salad and thought it was great. For the entrée we all ordered the ribeyes. What a treat. They were done to perfection and I did not need a knife to cut mine. The quality of the steak can not be beat. we ordered sides of crab pasta, two orders of lobster poutine, and brussel sprouts. This really complemented the lunch. For desert we had the pineapple sorbet, a lemon curd torte, and two citrus olive oil cakes. In addition we had a few Labatt Blues to enjoy. The total bill came to $450 counting the $75.00 tip. It was well worth it for a relaxing lunch in a beautiful setting. This is a definite repeat lunch and worth every penny.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ncdj2013

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed April 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best filet Ever
      Cons: Restaurant is small - Make a reservation

       
      This restaurant is not to be missed. This visit we both had the filet which as usual melts in your mouth like butter. They changed the risotto to and english pea risotto instead of the mushroom risotto and I think that change was a mistake. I had the lobster chopped salad which is a little bit of heaven before the filet. Hubby had the cheese soup which was excellent.
      This restaurant is small and they fully book so don't expect to walk in at the last minute.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: NONE

       
      My husband and I had lunch here on March 14th, and everything was excellent. We had the cheddar cheese soup for an appetizer and it was plentiful, hot and delicious.
      For our entrees, we both had the mushroom filet, and again, it was delicious and cooked to order.
      For dessert, I had the strawberry panna cotta and my husband had the citrus-olive oil cake. Both were oh so yummy.
      I have dined here at least 3 or 4 times, and every time it's a perfect choice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gcawad

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu March 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: price, portions

       
      This was for years a must do of us, but after taking a couple years off from the parks, then getting invited to fireworks cruises twice on our reservation night a few years passed. Finally we made it back to Le Cellier. Disappointed is an understatement. When did they start only filling the bowls of soup ¼ full? Why is everything so small when the prices have risen each year? We won't be back. Its just as the food and wine portions: ⅓ the portion at double the cost.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Crowded, loud

       
      Not sure what all the hype is about this place. Had dinner here with my kids on our last night at Disney hoping for a memorable evening. The waiting area and the dining room was very small and people were cramped in. It was very uncomfortable. Had the cheese soup for an appetizer and it was just ok. Steak was good, but I've had better. Didn't care for the dessert at all. It was very expensive and the meal took a long time. Food wasn't bad but it wasn't something I'd go back for either. Nice to have an experience there but there are better restaurants in epcot in my opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SammoDake

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Serving staff are all very friendly, great bread
      Cons: Everything else is awful

       
      For many years my wife and I made certain to stop by Le Cellier on every trip. Their cheese soup and delicious cuts of meat were the stuff of legend! Unfortunately after the menu revision a while back when the restaurant upgraded to a premium dining experience (two DDP table credits) the reviews started pouring in and they didn't look pretty. So we started going to Shula's and the Yachtsman for our steak fixes rather than Le Cellier.


      This past week my wife had a craving for their cheese soup, so we finally went back to Le Cellier after more than four years. It's definitely going to be another four years before we go back. Four years at the very least!


      As always the wait staff was incredibly polite and attentive. Our waitress was from Montreal but had visited Boston and we were from Boston and had visited Montreal, so we briefly swapped stories about where we'd went in one anothers' hometowns. She was so pleasant that we almost didn't notice that everything seemed tighter than it used to be. Clearly someone at Disney decided that too much space was going to waste in here and it was high time they pack another 20% in there.


      We each ordered our own appetizers. My wife got the soup and I got the tomato salad. When they arrived we both immediately noticed that the soup portion was maybe half of what they used to serve. A bigger bowl may have cast an illusion that there was as much or more, but there was barely any in there. Rather than bothering with a spoon she used her pretzel bread (which continues to be as delicious as always, though it's too bad that they've ditched the breadstick gimmick) to sop it up, since there was so little soup to be found. I ordered the tomato salad, which involved a bunch of sludgy, flavorless tomatoes topped with four small lumps of mozzarella that was about as fresh as a Kraft string cheese and some balsamic reduction that tasted like it was mostly sugar. I kept trying tomatoes hoping one would be as delicious as the tomato stack that Le Cellier used to have. At no point did it rise above wretched.


      For her meal my wife ordered the mushroom filet. The meat was overcooked and the risotto was like vaguely mushroom flavored paste.


      I ordered the veal tenderloin and couldn't finish it. The veal was overcooked while the mushrooms were undercooked. If the meat was 'Porcini dusted', I certainly couldn't tell. And the sweetbreads, which should have been the most flavorful part of the meal, were just crusty bags of flavorless fatty goo. The only good part was the mashed celeriac, and that's not much of a statement since it's hard to mess up celeriac puree. Celeriac is amazing.


      We looked at dessert for a bit before deciding just to leave. It was already an excessively expenseive and entirely disappointing meal. There was no need to compound it by ordering something we didn't really want, since at some point since we last went Le Cellier got rid of a menu mainstay, their whiskey chocolate cake.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Keelie

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: small servings, expensive, noisy, slow service

       
      I used to love this restaurant--like we would book it twice during our stay things were so good. Now, we've decided we never have to go back again. They've changed the bread service from breadsticks to just rolls, and while the pretzel bread remains delicious the rest are just so-so. I ordered the cheese soup--a favorite of mine--and was super disappointed to see they give you a small bowl and only fill it half way. The servings used to be so much bigger! My husband had the tomato stack--an old favorite of his--and found it to be flavorless with frozen moz. cheese. Super disappointing. For the entree I had the filet and he had the pork. I ordered my filet medium and while the very center was sort of maybe pink the rest of it was not. Attempts to flag down our very slow waitress failed so I just ate half of it before giving it to my husband, who found the pork was also incredibly flavorless. Most disappointing of all--they got rid of the chocolate whiskey cake, my favorite dessert at WDW! We declined dessert and left after a very expensive and very disappointing meal. We will not be returning.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quality of food, service
      Cons: somewhat crowded restaurant

       
      We were a little nervous about eating here after reading some of the recent reviews. We ate here a few years ago and loved it and wanted to try it again. Again, we found it outstanding! We were not on the dining plan and so the 2 table service credits was not an issue for us. We had the cheese soup (YUM!) Le Cellier mushroom filet and Le Cellier Poutine. My daughter, age 12, and I shared and had more than enough food. All the food was outstanding! No complaints at all! The poutine- fries with cheese and red wine gravy were so yummy I could have made a meal of just those!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      there7777

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Sulphur Springs, Texas
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good service,pretzel bread
      Cons: ribeye made husband sick

       
      restaurant is very dark. I made reservation because my husband wanted a good steak. I order strip steak and husband ordered ribeye and strip was ok and husband got sick from eating ribeye. will not book this restaurant again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.