Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • cplf19

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pretzel Bread
      Cons: PRICE, Portions, Cramped table space

       
      My wife and I went for an anniversary dinner on Oct 10, 2014. Once we walked into the dining area we easily noticed it was loud and extremely cramped. We were basically involved in conversations with the couples sitting on either side of us by sitting so close to each other. The Filet my wife ordered was excellent, perfectly cooked the way she wanted. The Pork dish I ordered (cost $40) had barely any substance to it. Basically two bite sized portions for $40 left me hungry, I was extremely disappointed and both of us decided we will NOT be coming back. We really looked forward to a nice dinner and romantic atmosphere, but were utterly let down. Bypass this restaurant unless they cut their prices in half. Here, you don't get what you pay for at all.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      zookpr46

      Registered: September 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed October 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, staff, pretzel bread,cheese soup
      Cons: price, bland flavors, portions/value

       
      I really wanted to love Le Cellier. Everyone I spoke to loved Le Cellier, but I am not a big meat eater (perhaps there is my problem) but my daughter and husband are. We went for lunch, a 2:50 seating, we were seated about 15 minutes after our priority seating time. The atmosphere was very nice. Tables were close together but I didn't think it was too bad. There is not much difference in price at all between lunch and dinner. We ordered the cheese soup and poutine as appetizers. My husband and I enjoyed the cheese soup, it does have a bit of a bite to it. The poutine was very tasty. For dinner my daughter ordered the ribeye, which was a very nice cut and came out perfectly done (it should be for $50) I had the mushroom ravioli (again, not much of a meat eater and yet I am in a steakhouse) I found it to be very very very bland, just ground mushrooms , it did not taste like there was much seasoning at all in it. I didn't even finish it ,it was so bad. My husband ordered the pork dish, he was very disappointed. It had that frou frou presentation where it was a small cube of meat decorated with some berry compote and squiggle of sauce. We spent $200 on a meal and left feeling very empty, perhaps that was just our wallets.I know Disney restaurants are expensive but I expect to get some value for what we are paying. Luckily Food & Wine was going on so we could get a snack after our meal...recommendation...if you really have a hankering for the cheese soup, skip Le Cellier and hit the Canada cart for Food & Wine. We've been to Le Cellier once, and once was enough. I will say that our waitress was very nice and all the staff who worked there were very pleasant, so I guess that is a plus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Fri September 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great steak
      Cons: Price?

       
      I don't know that the price should be considered a negative as it's about what you pay at nice steak restaurant in OKC. We had some trouble with the wait. The staff at BLT was supposed to move our ressie time back, then we got caught in a ridiculous line at the front gate at EPCOT, so we were late & waited 30 minutes for our table. However, everybody else had a long wait too. I thought an 8:30 res would by pass that but I guess not.
      The food more than made up for the wait. We had a party of 5, me, DH, DN15, DS12 & DD9. Me DN & DH had the filet with the return of the mushroom risotto & it was as delicious as everyone says. DS had surprise! Grilled chicken which was very good. DD had some sort of turkey kabob which was made with ground turkey & looked like a really dark, small corn dog. It came with a yogurt dipping sauce. I was worried she would hate it, but she loved it. We also had some starters, Me & DS had cheddar soup which tasted more like cheesy potato but was still good. DH had the tomato & mozzarella salad, it was very good. The service was prompt & friendly but nothing over the top. This was the one place that DN didn't complain about the food, so it was a win. Go at least once
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LISAE

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good but not great food
      Cons: Price, saltiness

       
      Ok so let's get the price out of the way first - we visited 8th August and the price suggests something way out of the league of the current Le Cellier, service is ok, restaurant is ok, seating is very close together, food is average.
      Take the price out of the game and then my objective view slightly changes from a 4 to a 7.
      The bread remains very good however we have noticed that you have to ask for more it is never just refilled nowadays.
      The cheddar cheese soup is not to my taste but remains enough reason for my 16 year old son to choose this restaurant above many others for one of his two table services choices of a two week holiday.
      The meat is cooked under most USA restaurants but this was clearly indicated to us when ordering. Even so I'm not sure why they just cant cook a medium the same as all other restaurants and not just medium rare instead!
      The ribeye steaks were very nice but very salty. The sides are not great.
      I enjoyed the maple crème brulee and my husband tried the unusual flavours of sorbet but there was nothing attractive for the kids so they declined (even though it was included in our two credits on the dining plan) and opted to use a snack credit elsewhere in EPCOT rather than choose from the small choice here.
      As a side note in two weeks my carnivore daughter ate steak a minimum of once and sometimes twice a day. We joked she must have eaten her body meat in the red meat we restrict at home but here she ate less than half of her steak. That should tell this steak place something.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      guatemama

      Registered: April 2006
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Sun July 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The bread
      Cons: everything else!

       
      WE have loved this restaurant for 15 years however are so disappointed with all the changes that have slowly decreased the quaintness of the atmosphere as well as the quality of the food.


      Years ago, bread was served in quaint bread holders on the table, real candles were in the center of the table in cute candle holders...everything has been generically standardized to make things less special.


      And when you have a wonderful steak, the mushroom filet (that used to have roasted parsnips on top loooong ago) why change that risotto and sauce for something less than wonderful??


      We ordered my filet well done (no pink right??). Well the first steak came dripping blood, as rare than my husband and son who both ordered medium. They apologized and sent it back (another 10 minutes passed) and brought me a second steak more rare than the first...Again, manager apologized and sent it back and after 15 minutes this time it came out ok. But my family had finished their dinners 20 minutes earlier and we missed our fast pass reservation when all was done...


      When you have a good thing and mess it up, it is sad...We will not be back to spend our hard earned money on an overpriced place like this any more....:(
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: nothing!

       
      This is my favorite restaurant in WDW. It's a cozy and relaxing restaurant. The food and service are both excellent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ronbreen

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Anticipation of a wonderful visit after 3.5 years of trying
      Cons: just about everything - way overrated and under delivered

       
      Over-crowded seating(not like photos) wait staff sticking their butts in your face attending to neighboring tables, SALT - if you like it this is the place for you - the chef uses it as THE MAIN ingredient, delivery of food - flop/dropped on table with "here's your stuff" message - entrees NOT delivered to proper person. Wellness of cooking meat NOT requested at order time ... wifey LOVES lamb and ordered it - came to the table almost raw. I ordered duck - got a few slices of breast meat cooked pretty OK and a leg/thigh that appears to have been cooked in a huge cauldron - and over-cooked at that. Sides were un-recognizeable and disgusting - possibly Canadian culture thing. Wait staff un-attentive. Maitr'e a bore - I do not care hoe yourniece and your sister are doing!!! I could go on but you get the point and I need to do something more important. DO NOT waste your money at this place.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      miketp

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed June 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great steaks, decent wine choices and full service bar
      Cons: crowded

       
      My wife and I dined there on 6/5/2014. We were anxious due to reading several negative reviews here lately and it is our favorite restaurant in EPCOT. However, we left entirely satisfied. My filet and wife's bone-in ribeye were cooked perfectly. Our waiter was attentive and friendly and service was excellent. I want to say we were not on Disney dining plan and I have heard from others this sometimes affects service. The bread was hot and delicious and the Caesar salad was cold and crisp. My only complaint about the food was that the spinach was swimming in cream.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jven1961

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Deserts
      Cons: Slow service, unattentive waitress, overcooked steak

       
      We ate here last year and everything was excellent. Would have rated it a 10, so it was a for sure repeat dinning spot. This year the experience was a complete disappointment. Our waitress never checked back with us until we waved her over to refill our drinks. Then she'd disappear again. Both my daughter and I ordered the steak, which last year was one of the best I've ever tasted. When the waitress asked how we wanted it cooked, we told her medium. She said it would be pink all the way through. To me, that's rare. I asked if they could cook it to what Longhorn's calls medium plus or halfway between medium and medium well. She matter of factly said NO, either med or med well. Who tells a customer that? When it came it was well done and tough. We told her and she said "it's medium well, just like you ordered it." Guess we could have called over the manager and make a big deal out of it, but we had a fastpass on Test Track and needed to leave. Will not go back next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fdmarks

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Sat April 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quality of food, value, service
      Cons: hard to get reservation

       
      This place is a classic and a must for every visit. Our great waitress was from the Yukon and she told us all about that area. We knew going in that it may be a little pricy for lunch, but when you are on vacation you should enjoy yourself. For appetizers I ordered the pork belly and found it to be the best ever. My wife tried the seared scallops and really thought they were delicious. My DD had the roasted oysters, which are her favorite and she loved them. My DD tried the Caesar salad and thought it was great. For the entrée we all ordered the ribeyes. What a treat. They were done to perfection and I did not need a knife to cut mine. The quality of the steak can not be beat. we ordered sides of crab pasta, two orders of lobster poutine, and brussel sprouts. This really complemented the lunch. For desert we had the pineapple sorbet, a lemon curd torte, and two citrus olive oil cakes. In addition we had a few Labatt Blues to enjoy. The total bill came to $450 counting the $75.00 tip. It was well worth it for a relaxing lunch in a beautiful setting. This is a definite repeat lunch and worth every penny.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ncdj2013

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed April 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best filet Ever
      Cons: Restaurant is small - Make a reservation

       
      This restaurant is not to be missed. This visit we both had the filet which as usual melts in your mouth like butter. They changed the risotto to and english pea risotto instead of the mushroom risotto and I think that change was a mistake. I had the lobster chopped salad which is a little bit of heaven before the filet. Hubby had the cheese soup which was excellent.
      This restaurant is small and they fully book so don't expect to walk in at the last minute.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: NONE

       
      My husband and I had lunch here on March 14th, and everything was excellent. We had the cheddar cheese soup for an appetizer and it was plentiful, hot and delicious.
      For our entrees, we both had the mushroom filet, and again, it was delicious and cooked to order.
      For dessert, I had the strawberry panna cotta and my husband had the citrus-olive oil cake. Both were oh so yummy.
      I have dined here at least 3 or 4 times, and every time it's a perfect choice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gcawad

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu March 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: price, portions

       
      This was for years a must do of us, but after taking a couple years off from the parks, then getting invited to fireworks cruises twice on our reservation night a few years passed. Finally we made it back to Le Cellier. Disappointed is an understatement. When did they start only filling the bowls of soup ¼ full? Why is everything so small when the prices have risen each year? We won't be back. Its just as the food and wine portions: ⅓ the portion at double the cost.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Crowded, loud

       
      Not sure what all the hype is about this place. Had dinner here with my kids on our last night at Disney hoping for a memorable evening. The waiting area and the dining room was very small and people were cramped in. It was very uncomfortable. Had the cheese soup for an appetizer and it was just ok. Steak was good, but I've had better. Didn't care for the dessert at all. It was very expensive and the meal took a long time. Food wasn't bad but it wasn't something I'd go back for either. Nice to have an experience there but there are better restaurants in epcot in my opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SammoDake

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Serving staff are all very friendly, great bread
      Cons: Everything else is awful

       
      For many years my wife and I made certain to stop by Le Cellier on every trip. Their cheese soup and delicious cuts of meat were the stuff of legend! Unfortunately after the menu revision a while back when the restaurant upgraded to a premium dining experience (two DDP table credits) the reviews started pouring in and they didn't look pretty. So we started going to Shula's and the Yachtsman for our steak fixes rather than Le Cellier.


      This past week my wife had a craving for their cheese soup, so we finally went back to Le Cellier after more than four years. It's definitely going to be another four years before we go back. Four years at the very least!


      As always the wait staff was incredibly polite and attentive. Our waitress was from Montreal but had visited Boston and we were from Boston and had visited Montreal, so we briefly swapped stories about where we'd went in one anothers' hometowns. She was so pleasant that we almost didn't notice that everything seemed tighter than it used to be. Clearly someone at Disney decided that too much space was going to waste in here and it was high time they pack another 20% in there.


      We each ordered our own appetizers. My wife got the soup and I got the tomato salad. When they arrived we both immediately noticed that the soup portion was maybe half of what they used to serve. A bigger bowl may have cast an illusion that there was as much or more, but there was barely any in there. Rather than bothering with a spoon she used her pretzel bread (which continues to be as delicious as always, though it's too bad that they've ditched the breadstick gimmick) to sop it up, since there was so little soup to be found. I ordered the tomato salad, which involved a bunch of sludgy, flavorless tomatoes topped with four small lumps of mozzarella that was about as fresh as a Kraft string cheese and some balsamic reduction that tasted like it was mostly sugar. I kept trying tomatoes hoping one would be as delicious as the tomato stack that Le Cellier used to have. At no point did it rise above wretched.


      For her meal my wife ordered the mushroom filet. The meat was overcooked and the risotto was like vaguely mushroom flavored paste.


      I ordered the veal tenderloin and couldn't finish it. The veal was overcooked while the mushrooms were undercooked. If the meat was 'Porcini dusted', I certainly couldn't tell. And the sweetbreads, which should have been the most flavorful part of the meal, were just crusty bags of flavorless fatty goo. The only good part was the mashed celeriac, and that's not much of a statement since it's hard to mess up celeriac puree. Celeriac is amazing.


      We looked at dessert for a bit before deciding just to leave. It was already an excessively expenseive and entirely disappointing meal. There was no need to compound it by ordering something we didn't really want, since at some point since we last went Le Cellier got rid of a menu mainstay, their whiskey chocolate cake.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.