Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: NONE

       
      My husband and I had lunch here on March 14th, and everything was excellent. We had the cheddar cheese soup for an appetizer and it was plentiful, hot and delicious.
      For our entrees, we both had the mushroom filet, and again, it was delicious and cooked to order.
      For dessert, I had the strawberry panna cotta and my husband had the citrus-olive oil cake. Both were oh so yummy.
      I have dined here at least 3 or 4 times, and every time it's a perfect choice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gcawad

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu March 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: price, portions

       
      This was for years a must do of us, but after taking a couple years off from the parks, then getting invited to fireworks cruises twice on our reservation night a few years passed. Finally we made it back to Le Cellier. Disappointed is an understatement. When did they start only filling the bowls of soup ¼ full? Why is everything so small when the prices have risen each year? We won't be back. Its just as the food and wine portions: ⅓ the portion at double the cost.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Crowded, loud

       
      Not sure what all the hype is about this place. Had dinner here with my kids on our last night at Disney hoping for a memorable evening. The waiting area and the dining room was very small and people were cramped in. It was very uncomfortable. Had the cheese soup for an appetizer and it was just ok. Steak was good, but I've had better. Didn't care for the dessert at all. It was very expensive and the meal took a long time. Food wasn't bad but it wasn't something I'd go back for either. Nice to have an experience there but there are better restaurants in epcot in my opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SammoDake

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Serving staff are all very friendly, great bread
      Cons: Everything else is awful

       
      For many years my wife and I made certain to stop by Le Cellier on every trip. Their cheese soup and delicious cuts of meat were the stuff of legend! Unfortunately after the menu revision a while back when the restaurant upgraded to a premium dining experience (two DDP table credits) the reviews started pouring in and they didn't look pretty. So we started going to Shula's and the Yachtsman for our steak fixes rather than Le Cellier.


      This past week my wife had a craving for their cheese soup, so we finally went back to Le Cellier after more than four years. It's definitely going to be another four years before we go back. Four years at the very least!


      As always the wait staff was incredibly polite and attentive. Our waitress was from Montreal but had visited Boston and we were from Boston and had visited Montreal, so we briefly swapped stories about where we'd went in one anothers' hometowns. She was so pleasant that we almost didn't notice that everything seemed tighter than it used to be. Clearly someone at Disney decided that too much space was going to waste in here and it was high time they pack another 20% in there.


      We each ordered our own appetizers. My wife got the soup and I got the tomato salad. When they arrived we both immediately noticed that the soup portion was maybe half of what they used to serve. A bigger bowl may have cast an illusion that there was as much or more, but there was barely any in there. Rather than bothering with a spoon she used her pretzel bread (which continues to be as delicious as always, though it's too bad that they've ditched the breadstick gimmick) to sop it up, since there was so little soup to be found. I ordered the tomato salad, which involved a bunch of sludgy, flavorless tomatoes topped with four small lumps of mozzarella that was about as fresh as a Kraft string cheese and some balsamic reduction that tasted like it was mostly sugar. I kept trying tomatoes hoping one would be as delicious as the tomato stack that Le Cellier used to have. At no point did it rise above wretched.


      For her meal my wife ordered the mushroom filet. The meat was overcooked and the risotto was like vaguely mushroom flavored paste.


      I ordered the veal tenderloin and couldn't finish it. The veal was overcooked while the mushrooms were undercooked. If the meat was 'Porcini dusted', I certainly couldn't tell. And the sweetbreads, which should have been the most flavorful part of the meal, were just crusty bags of flavorless fatty goo. The only good part was the mashed celeriac, and that's not much of a statement since it's hard to mess up celeriac puree. Celeriac is amazing.


      We looked at dessert for a bit before deciding just to leave. It was already an excessively expenseive and entirely disappointing meal. There was no need to compound it by ordering something we didn't really want, since at some point since we last went Le Cellier got rid of a menu mainstay, their whiskey chocolate cake.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Keelie

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: small servings, expensive, noisy, slow service

       
      I used to love this restaurant--like we would book it twice during our stay things were so good. Now, we've decided we never have to go back again. They've changed the bread service from breadsticks to just rolls, and while the pretzel bread remains delicious the rest are just so-so. I ordered the cheese soup--a favorite of mine--and was super disappointed to see they give you a small bowl and only fill it half way. The servings used to be so much bigger! My husband had the tomato stack--an old favorite of his--and found it to be flavorless with frozen moz. cheese. Super disappointing. For the entree I had the filet and he had the pork. I ordered my filet medium and while the very center was sort of maybe pink the rest of it was not. Attempts to flag down our very slow waitress failed so I just ate half of it before giving it to my husband, who found the pork was also incredibly flavorless. Most disappointing of all--they got rid of the chocolate whiskey cake, my favorite dessert at WDW! We declined dessert and left after a very expensive and very disappointing meal. We will not be returning.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quality of food, service
      Cons: somewhat crowded restaurant

       
      We were a little nervous about eating here after reading some of the recent reviews. We ate here a few years ago and loved it and wanted to try it again. Again, we found it outstanding! We were not on the dining plan and so the 2 table service credits was not an issue for us. We had the cheese soup (YUM!) Le Cellier mushroom filet and Le Cellier Poutine. My daughter, age 12, and I shared and had more than enough food. All the food was outstanding! No complaints at all! The poutine- fries with cheese and red wine gravy were so yummy I could have made a meal of just those!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      there7777

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Sulphur Springs, Texas
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good service,pretzel bread
      Cons: ribeye made husband sick

       
      restaurant is very dark. I made reservation because my husband wanted a good steak. I order strip steak and husband ordered ribeye and strip was ok and husband got sick from eating ribeye. will not book this restaurant again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mbcarol5

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon October 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): best steak I have ever had
      Cons: none

       
      The restaurant was really nice inside and the food was delicious. We couldn't even do dessert. The waitress was very nice so we upped her 18% tip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rjeast1

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri October 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretzel bread
      Cons: server, 2 tickets, not so good

       
      We have eaten here before on several occasions and the food, service was very good. This is the first time we have had to use two dining tickets and the food went down with the additional cost. The steak was somewhat tough, my husbands was not cooked the way he wanted it, the bowl of soup my son ordered was a cup. This place is not what it used to be. The waitress was not friendly, very slow to come to our table, we were cramped along side the wall. just a poor, poor experience. We do not plan to go there anymore. I think that they are now charging two tickets has gone to their head while their food went downhill.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kathyb

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue September 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was very good
      Cons: Confused servers and patrons

       
      This was a special night we got dressed appropriately according to the dress code posted. However, we were disappointed because people were there that just came from the park, flip flops, t shirts, etc.


      We were told we couldn't have bread until we ordered our dinner.
      Chef de France is so much better and the food is superior and for only 1 dining plan point.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aurora3000

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Fort Worth, TX
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun September 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient location for Illuminations after dinner
      Cons: Poor Service and Food

       
      We had visited this restaurant a couple of years ago, and had a decent experience. Therefore, we assumed that it would be nice to take my parents for dinner. However, this was a complete waste. We were seated at a far back table and pretty much neglected. Our server acted like she didn't want to be there and we had to flag her down to get a water refill. My steak was overcooked, and our food was overall lack luster. We actually skipped dessert just so we could get out of there. The only plus was that we could walk right out of the restaurant to a good location to view Illuminations. I will not be going back to this restaurant. Very disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OneLtlSpark

      Registered: March 2007
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 49
      Review Date: Mon June 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great menu and food
      Cons: Cramped dining area

       
      For years, I have passed up Le Cellier in favor of other Disney restaurants. Being from Chicago, I didn't see the point of going to Epcot just to eat steak for dinner when it is so readily available at home. However, after lingering at the Canada booth at the Food & Wine Festival year after year and loving our samples there, I finally decided to make a reservation for my recent "girls only" vacation. I am so glad I did, and fully intend on making another reservation for my husband and I this fall!


      The Cheddar Cheese Soup is simply delicious. It's creamy, tangy, and subtly smokey. If I could have, I would have brought a gallon home with me.


      My entree, the Mushroom Fillet Mignon with Risotto, was perfectly cooked to medium and served with a rich truffle butter sauce. It was super decadent and wonderful. The risotto was also very well done - the rice had just the right texture and was a great complement to the butter and mushroom sauce.


      Because I heard so much about them, I couldn't resist ordering the Poutine Fries. Wow. Just wow. Several cheeses are melted in with the fries, a blend (I'm guessing here) of a sharp cheddar and possibly a gorgonzola. Then there's the red wine reduction that is poured on top. It's a rich and strongly flavored sauce that is almost gravy-like, and it tempers the intense cheese flavor perfectly. I can see how this dish might be overwhelming, especially if you're not a fan of strong cheeses, but I will go back to it again and again because I loved how decadent it was.


      Sadly, dessert was just not an option after such a lavish meal. I hope to try it on my next visit.


      Service at the restaurant was good, but not exceptional. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and wines and she served us promptly, but did not engage us in any other way. The tables in the whole restaurant are also very close to each other, so privacy is limited here.


      Overall, however, Le Cellier provided us girls a great meal, and I'm only sorry I waited so long to give it a try.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
      Cons: 2 dining credits

       
      Always go here when @ Epcot - since they made it 2 credits will not go here - not worth 2 credits - plenty of comparable restaurants with good steaks elsewhere on property that are only 1 credit (Turf Club @ Saratoga comes to mind)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Bobdes

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Westchester County, NY
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Mon May 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and waitress
      Cons: lack of caring about celebration

       
      So, this was our annual visit to LeCellier for our anniversary. Al usual, the highlights were the pretzel bread, the filet mignon and my wife's martini sampler. The waitress also had some friendly fun facts about the area of Canada that she was from and where we were sitting.
      On the negative, the wine sampler I ordered seemed to have less wine in the glasses than I remembered. I also told the reservationist that we were celebrating our 19trh anniversary. It sounded like she added it to the notes section. Then, when I checked in at the counter, I told the girl there and she just congratulated me. Meanwhile, right on the check-in desk was a stamp that said "celebrating" that they must use to stamp the paper they give the waitress. A few years ago, they gave us complimentary champagne and dessert becayse it was our anniversary. It's the small things that count, that is what makes Disney....DISNEY! ;-)


      Next time, I may be tempted to give another restaurant a chance. But the food here is great. :-)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ldk72

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: poor service, decline in quaulity, price

       
      To write this review hurts, because for years upon years Le Cellier was our number one restaurant. For every trip (usually we visit twice a year) we would have 3 reservations. The vacation always began with Le Cellier. The first reservation on this recent trip was so bad, I cancelled the last two. I ordered the Fillet medium well and the waitress took it back 3 times till I finally said it was fine (it wasn't, it was still medium rare, she rarely came to our table so I gave up). It was obvious they embellished the Fillet to make it appear more gourmet, but whatever they did changed the taste. Finally after an hour and half of what became ridiculous, I received my bill. 64 dollars for me alone. Thats no appetizer or dessert. Thats a Fillet, Niagra Refresher, and use of my tables in wonderland card. They charged me full price for everything. The service here has declined and I'm so disappointed in the quality of food and price.
      So so sad.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.