Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Sparrow

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, service, and food
      Cons: none

       
      Party of 7 first time to this restaurant - really enjoyed our meal. Food was very good and they kept it coming. Salad was delish, turkey was yummy, dessert was really good. Everyone tried different meats and the fish and everyone like everything.
      2 kids in our party loved the characters and spent a good amount of time for photos. Super nice servers and kept our glasses and plates full.
      Love the rotation of the restaurant - slow but perfect. Loved the Garden Grill will be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Livigs

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon August 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly service
      Cons: Food; atmosphere

       
      Our server was great, and our boys loved the characters, but that's where the good ends.
      The food wasn't gross, but it was kind of blah. I made a special point to come here, remembering it from when I was a kid. Back then, it wasn't a character restaurant, but the lands you saw as you rotated were much more extensive. As background, it's a rotating restaurant where you pass by a number of 'scenes' as you rotate, including a jungle, farm, etc.
      We (my mom joined us, so we had both been there way back when and again now) remembered monkeys in the jungle scene and another scene with lightning during a thunder storm. Neither were present, so they must have changed it.
      The food was nothing special; we should've gone to the countries instead. I won't be back here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Sat June 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety
      Cons: tables

       
      We eat her usually each trip. This time it while the food was the same instead of the child being brought out the kids menu and the adults all items were given to share. the salad was just average this trip. I usually love the salad here but it has changed to just an everywhere salad no longer unique to the restaurant. the rolls and butter were good and there was plenty of food. the booths on the bottom tier are u shaped and can be hard to move easily for character pictures so make sure the kids sit to the outside. It can also be hard to find table space for autographs but characters come around usually more than once and are very friendly and interactive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Stacyf

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun June 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We just got back from Disney. We are a party of nine and used the dining plan. This was our first time at Garden Grill. The service was amazing. The salad was yummy with fresh vegetables from the Land. The turkey and beef were cooked well and everyone enjoyed them. Only one of us ate the fish, but he liked it. All the sides were good and everyone loved dessert. For younger kids the characters were readily available and nobody felt rushed. For my family this will be a part of our next trip to Disney!! I would definitely recommend this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Segray85

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon May 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, characters
      Cons: Food was just okay

       
      Our family of 5 ate here on May 2,2015. We had the dining plan so I'm not sure how much we paid. The restaurant was very nice. Our table had a great view of Living with the Land. We were able to meet Chip, Dale, Pluto and Mickey. The food was okay. We were served salad, rolls, turkey, beef, mashed potatoes, sweet potato fries, macaroni and cheese, broccoli and rice. I can honestly say that there wasn't a single item that really stood out to me... It was all just okay. I only recommend this meal to families with small children or those who enjoy bland food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MsLydiaD

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue April 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, Food, view of Living with the Land
      Cons: none

       
      The perfect character dinner for families with older children, teens or just adults. I loved the family style service. It was nice to just sit, talk and eat. The salad was great. I practically shouted "No" when the waitress asked if she could clear the salad. She assured me I could keep the salad and even get more if I loved it that much Smile We don't eat fish, but the Beef and Turkey were both good. The mashed potatoes and vegies were great. The characters were fun to interact with, and the changing surroundings were a highlight for us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      psubelle

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu January 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, attention from staff, characters
      Cons: Restuarant needs an update

       
      This was out last Disney meal of the week. We are mostly at home since we rented a house this time so we were all looking forward to the meal. There were 7 of us and they gave us a table for 8, which helped us avoid being overcrowded. My youngest has a nut allergy and the chef and the waiter were both very good about explaining the food. The rolls are outsourced but they make a gluten free bread so that's what the kids ate. We appreciated the service and attention. The food was very good - we all left very full and satisfied. The turkey and roast beef were the highlights and unlike some other readers, we loved the dessert as it wasn't overly sweet. To me, this meal always feels like a nice change from some of the "park food" that we eat throughout the week. Simple, not greasy, and familiar.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GoRangers23

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The characters and the rotation of the restaurant
      Cons: The food

       
      My family has been going to this restaurant every two years since my oldest son was two ; he is 18 now. Normally this is a restaurant we put on our vacation "to do" list first. There has never been any reason we would skip this restaurant as we have always loved it. This last trip however, we were very disappointed! They changed the food since our last trip and it was not good at all! There are five people in my family, (three sons, myself and my husband) and none of us were happy with the food this time and we are not picky at all. The salad, which is normally fresh and crisp with very delicious ranch dressing was a little limp and the dressing was awful. It was tasteless and thin, which made the salad more soggy. The fish was fairly tasteless and the steak and turkey were just o.k. I really miss the fried fish they used to serve. It was great! The dessert was not very sweet and was pretty tart. None of us liked it and it wasn't eaten. Now, for me to say that, it had to be pretty bad. I LOVE desserts. I was SO disappointed in this dinner. It was the worst meal of our entire trip. Our server wasn't good either. Unless they change the menu and/or get a new chef who knows how to cook better food, we will absolutely not go back. I would never even have considered leaving a comment like this about this meal before our last trip. I really love this restaurant, but it needs some changes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kdurbin

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent food, outstanding service, and loved the characters. We will go back.
      Cons: No cons

       
      This is our 11th visit to Disney, but have never tried the Garden Grille before. The service was top notch! In fact, server probably checked on us too often. The food portions were huge and my picky crew offered no complaints. Food was fresh and tasted like a special Sunday meal. Atmosphere was fun, especially on tables which faced Living with the Land. Forgot to mention a pro...NO WAIT to get a table during busy time of year. My crew went in restaurant grumpy, tired and hungry...we left happy and full, but still exhausted!!! We'll go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cop447

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat November 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters and revolving platform
      Cons:

       
      We visited in late November 2014 because we enjoy the characters. I enjoy the family style food servings which are very good. The restaurant rotates giving views of different areas of the Living with the Land ride while you eat which is my favorite park. The restaurant could use an update to its interior.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jluck

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat October 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): amazing food
      Cons: price for kids

       
      Visited the end of September, 2014.
      I have a love-hate relationship with this restaurant. The food is amazing, the staff makes sure everyone has something they enjoy (our waiter got a plate of plain turkey, no gravy, no dressing, for one of our kids). It just stings a bit to pay adult price for anyone over age 9 when you know they are only going to eat a little bit off of the kids' platter. I strongly dislike this about Disney's fixed price meals.
      The turning mechanism was broken when we went so the kids were disappointed about that, but we got to see the characters, enjoy the food, and our waiter was great, so it all worked out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cjane65

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, food
      Cons: none

       
      This is always one of our favorites. A first time for DGS and DGD at 5 and 7 was a special. The food is always good with enough variation we always enjoy it. There is always plenty and the kids meal options were great, not just the usual nuggets or pizza. Our servers have always been good and right there when we needed them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Krissi890

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character Dining
      Cons: Dirty!

       
      I'm highly disappointed in this restaurant. We have been going to Disney for many many years and have never dined at this restaurant. We finally decided we should try it. We read the reviews on it and I'm concerned as to why there is positive reviews on this restaurant. The restaurant is extremely dirty and the food... well... it's exactly like having a TV Dinner! Not worth the money at all! The positive was it was character dining (which the characters costumes were filthy as well) and the dessert skillet was pretty delicious. I was just here in September 2014, so this is a very recent review and my suggestion is to use your money elsewhere on a better dinner. 100% not worth it at all, even with the characters. Disney, you should be ashamed of yourselves!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      klp1015

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, characters
      Cons:

       
      We ate here on Aug 3 (myself, daughter and 2 DGD 14 and 12). The food was very tasty and plentiful. Our server was Felipe and he kept our drinks filled and was very prompt to bring out more food as requested. The girls especially enjoyed the beef and the mashed potatoes. The character interaction was great. Chip even picked up the kids' phones off the table and pretended to take a selfie! I used Tables in Wonderland and even though the gratuity is included, I left extra for our server because he was so good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly manager, food, characters, scenery/atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      I dined here for the first time on 8/14. My ADR was for 4:20pm; I checked in a few minutes early. Manager Sam made me feel incredibly welcome as a solo traveler. To my delight, I was seated in a booth on the lower level. The booth housed another family as well, albeit at a separate table. This was great because they were more than willing to take my photo with the characters.


      Character interaction was great. Big hugs from everyone, they were happy to sign my autograph book and loved their personalized pages, Chip proposed to me, and Dale indicated that he made the fruit cobbler!


      Started off with a delicious salad, which I had two helpings of. Soon after I was brought warm rolls with orange blossom honey butter. They only gave me two but I could have eaten a whole basket! The main course that night consisted of turkey, stuffing, roasted veggies, tilapia with pesto sauce and tomato jam, and roasted beef with mashed potatoes. I enjoyed the stuffing very much. I like tilapia, this was cooked perfectly, but I didn't like the pesto. The best things were the beef and mashed potatoes! I also asked for the mac n cheese and was brought a giant bowl! The cobbler for dessert was delicious, but I think ice cream would have been a better accompaniment than the whipped cream.


      It was very nice to rotate past Living with the Land, but I am very sensitive to spinning. Every so often I'd catch the movement out of the corner of my eye and feel a bit dizzy but that feeling soon passed.


      I highly recommend this meal, and it was a great value on the DDP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.