Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • lb1160

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Poor Food

      The atmosphere was nice, we got seated next to the aquarium but only after we asked. Food was not good, my husband got the steak and it was horrible, I got the pasta with lobster and shrimp. The shrimp were tiny, the cream sauce was watery and the asparagus was cut up so tiny it had no taste. Ordered tropical drink and don't think there was any alcohol in it at all. Really not sure why is stays around.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): aquarium
      Cons: everything else

      Today my family ate at Coral Reef (DH, DS (5) and myself) - it was AWFUL!!!!! The aquarium is really the only positive. The service was mediocre -- the lady who seated us told us to order immediately otherwise it would take 30 minutes to get our food - then our waitress said she knew we were in a hurry (we NEVER said anything about being in a hurry - were actually NOT in a hurry AT ALL). But we ordered immediately (like she suggested) and we did get our food quickly. I ordered the lobster/shrimp pasta -- OMG it was terrible -- there was ONE bite of lobster (and it was not a big bite) and then about 6 shrimp and lots of soupy sauce with shell macaroni. I had to put lots of salt and pepper on it to even make it edible. My DH ordered the steak - not a good idea! It was obviously cooked at least a couple of hours ahead of time and reheated (probably in a microwave) -- he ordered it medium -- he added lots of salt and pepper as well. My DS's choice of mac and cheese was somewhat of ok - he ate most of it - but he'll eat anything if he's hungry (he is not your typical 5 yo). The bread that was brought to the table was TERRIBLE - it was the driest plainest no taste bread I've EVER had - and I'm a bread nut! Lastly - the dessert - we got the signature wave (lava) cake - simply put DO NOT make this mistake. And it was the best part of the meal. Do not waste a table service credit on this meal like we did and absolutely DO NOT pay cash to eat here. Go to House of Blues or Fulton's Crab House -- those two meals were beyond FABULOUS. Halfway through our meal - my DH and I both looked at each other and asked "are we sure this is run by Disney?" - it was most certainly NOT up to Disney standards.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: IL
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat April 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service
      Cons: none

      This is one of the dinners I was hesitant about, but it was one of the best we had. I had the mahi mahi and it was excellent. I had asked if they could blacken it, and there was no problem with that request. My dad had the trout (also asked for it blackened, and again accommodated), and I can't remember what my mom had, but she enjoyed it too. We were lucky to have a seat right next to the tank, although it was a far walk for my mom who had to park her walker outside, but the seating hostess was very patient and matched my mom's slower pace when showing us to the table, instead of rushing to get there and then turning around like 'where'd they go?'
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun April 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, food
      Cons: Seated too far away to enjoy the tank

      We ate here for the first time 3-31-14 for dinner. I had ADR and was seated less than 5 minutes after checking in; however, our table was in the back of the restaurant. One of the reasons I made an ADR here was to watch the fish swimming while we ate. We could only see the very tip top of the tank where we were seated.

      Our server was great, she was very attentive, cleared table between courses and kept our drinks filled.

      I had the flash fried tuna and it was melt in your mouth delicious. The mahi mahi for entree was very good. The meal took a little longer than I would have liked, but overall it was very good. I would eat here again, but would request a table closer to the tank at check in next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Steak, atmosphere, the tank

      Have eaten here twice for lunch. I requested a tank side table and was able to enjoy the fish in the tank while my children and I ate. I always get the steak and it is always very very good. I really like the look of this restaurant. I did not like any of the desserts and there is usually a longer wait to be called to your table than other restaurants, but I think its worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sat February 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all good
      Cons: none

      Really good dinner, great service. We love this place. Great steaks and bread. Calm and relaxing.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun January 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): really good steak and great waiter
      Cons: none

      The steak was so good and the waiter was so funny and nice. Everyone at our table got the steak and it was awesome. The dessert was really good too. I would recommend this to someone. We only had to wait about 10 minutes for our table and we came early too.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: USA
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service

      Checked at our reservation time of 6:45, seated within minutes. Took 20mins to get drinks, another 15 for him to take food order. Then never refilled our drinks, and had to ask for check. Food was wonderful but service was terrible! This is our third time at Coral Reef. Last time we were rushed out this time we were there over 2 hours which is not fun when you have a 1 year old and a 5 year old. We requested Front and were seated in very back and could not see fish tank at all. If you don't mind outweighing bad service for good food then I recommend it but we wont be back after two terrible experiences with service.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Thu December 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ambience
      Cons: Server was awful

      We ate here 12/2. Our server was the worst we've ever had at WDW. She spilled lemonade into our butter and never replaced either of them. She only returned once our meals were finished. The aquarium and atmosphere were lovely as always, but we will not be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 118
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pretty decor,good food and service
      Cons: no longer have lobster ravioli

      My party of 6 ate here in late September. DS 9 had the fried shrimp and he loved it! I wanted seafood and got the crab cakes as an entree. I only got 2! They were good but not enough really to be an entree. Everybody else had the New York Strip and loved it! Got the wave for dessert, yum!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of Aquarium
      Cons: Food Quality

      Dined here the week of Nov 4th. We've eaten here in the past and even though I'm not a seafood fan (DH and DS are)I remembered a very good filet from a prior visit. I ordered the sirloin steak and had to send it back twice because it was not cooked properly; DS indicated lobster in mac and cheese was tough. The manager apologized and comped appetizers to try to make up for it, so while the service was good, the food quality is lacking. I will not be returning to this restaurant on future trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Salisbury, NC
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great theming. Terrific food. Good service.
      Cons: Need to offer normal iced tea. Pomegranate one is nasty.

      Coral Reef is one of our must-do restaurants on each trip to WDW. We love the food, and love the view of the Seas' aquarium and it's beautiful sea life. The wait service can be hit or miss, but the meals and desserts are just great.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Fri October 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: Prices

      Finally tried this place after reading many mixed reviews. Our experience was excellent. Food was very good, and atmosphere was worth the high prices.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Mon September 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lovely sea life to watch
      Cons: mediocre food, slow!

      I checked in 15 minutes prior to my 11:30 AM reservation time. I requested a bottom floor seat so the kids could see the fish well. I was told it depended on availability. I was the first one to enter the restaurant and no one was in front of me at the time. (We did get a floor seat, but I found it odd that hostess went through the "availability" speech.) The host walked around guessing who he was supposed to call. It seems to me it would be better to just call out someone's last name instead. We were seated (party of 5) and the chef came to talk to me about my son's allergies. This was difficult because the reason why I chose Coral Reef is so he could have the meaty macaroni w/o cheese. Unfortunately they took it off of the menu 3 days prior to our arrival. I ordered the Mahi Mahi with Laughing Bird Shrimp. (I have ordered the same dish in two years ago and it was fabulous) This time, the mahi was a bit soggy. The sauce was extremely sweet and had the fishy taste in it. My daughter loved the fried shrimp and fries. I ordered the chocolate wave for dessert and it did not disappoint. YUM! Our waitress, though nice, was extremely slow. It took an hour and a half to eat here and we missed a fast pass appt. I am glad we were on the dining plan. This would not have been worth the cash. I would have preferred to have eaten at Sunshine Seasons.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fish tank
      Cons: Blah....

      First off I have to say that the way they call you for your table has to change! You give them your full name when you check in but when they "call" you for your table they actually walk around the waiting area trying to telepathically figure out who you are. They look around and then stand right in front of a party and state(what they think) is your first name and size of your party. It was weird-they were right about 80% of the time but why not just call out the name?! Of course, we were the 20% they got wrong- we had waited about 20 minutes(with ADRs) when the table guide walked right in front of a woman who had been waiting for about 5 minutes and stated 'Jessica-party of 4". Maybe her name was really Jessica(like me)but she obviously had more people in her party and they took her anyway! My husband looks at me and says "I think they meant us" so he went back up to the desk and explained and the manager looked at the computer and then says "you'll be next". Maybe they should use the LAST name. So we finally sit down and as cool as the tank is it is actually pretty small and the partitions between the stadium seating are high waves so if your children are small the will have to be on the knees on their chairs to see it. Our waitress was very nice, service is very slow and the food is OK- I had lobster mac which was the same macaroni they gave my daughter except with lobster in it- the lobster was good but the macaroni was very bland and liquid-y. My husband said the steak is good. I cant remember what we ordered my son but he only really ate bread and dessert all week anyway. The best thing about the meal was the lobster soup that came with our appetizer-it was amazing. The shrimp and crabcakes tasted like Red Lobster. Dessert was very good-the Jack Daniels mousse and the Wave are some of the best desserts in the world. We had free dining so we only had to pay for the appetizer and gratuity but I would have been pretty upset if I had to pay the full bill of $120.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.