Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 116
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pretty decor,good food and service
      Cons: no longer have lobster ravioli

       
      My party of 6 ate here in late September. DS 9 had the fried shrimp and he loved it! I wanted seafood and got the crab cakes as an entree. I only got 2! They were good but not enough really to be an entree. Everybody else had the New York Strip and loved it! Got the wave for dessert, yum!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NJDzneMom

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of Aquarium
      Cons: Food Quality

       
      Dined here the week of Nov 4th. We've eaten here in the past and even though I'm not a seafood fan (DH and DS are)I remembered a very good filet from a prior visit. I ordered the sirloin steak and had to send it back twice because it was not cooked properly; DS indicated lobster in mac and cheese was tough. The manager apologized and comped appetizers to try to make up for it, so while the service was good, the food quality is lacking. I will not be returning to this restaurant on future trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJunkie

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Salisbury, NC
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great theming. Terrific food. Good service.
      Cons: Need to offer normal iced tea. Pomegranate one is nasty.

       
      Coral Reef is one of our must-do restaurants on each trip to WDW. We love the food, and love the view of the Seas' aquarium and it's beautiful sea life. The wait service can be hit or miss, but the meals and desserts are just great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Fri October 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: Prices

       
      Finally tried this place after reading many mixed reviews. Our experience was excellent. Food was very good, and atmosphere was worth the high prices.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Mon September 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lovely sea life to watch
      Cons: mediocre food, slow!

       
      I checked in 15 minutes prior to my 11:30 AM reservation time. I requested a bottom floor seat so the kids could see the fish well. I was told it depended on availability. I was the first one to enter the restaurant and no one was in front of me at the time. (We did get a floor seat, but I found it odd that hostess went through the "availability" speech.) The host walked around guessing who he was supposed to call. It seems to me it would be better to just call out someone's last name instead. We were seated (party of 5) and the chef came to talk to me about my son's allergies. This was difficult because the reason why I chose Coral Reef is so he could have the meaty macaroni w/o cheese. Unfortunately they took it off of the menu 3 days prior to our arrival. I ordered the Mahi Mahi with Laughing Bird Shrimp. (I have ordered the same dish in two years ago and it was fabulous) This time, the mahi was a bit soggy. The sauce was extremely sweet and had the fishy taste in it. My daughter loved the fried shrimp and fries. I ordered the chocolate wave for dessert and it did not disappoint. YUM! Our waitress, though nice, was extremely slow. It took an hour and a half to eat here and we missed a fast pass appt. I am glad we were on the dining plan. This would not have been worth the cash. I would have preferred to have eaten at Sunshine Seasons.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hamill04

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fish tank
      Cons: Blah....

       
      First off I have to say that the way they call you for your table has to change! You give them your full name when you check in but when they "call" you for your table they actually walk around the waiting area trying to telepathically figure out who you are. They look around and then stand right in front of a party and state(what they think) is your first name and size of your party. It was weird-they were right about 80% of the time but why not just call out the name?! Of course, we were the 20% they got wrong- we had waited about 20 minutes(with ADRs) when the table guide walked right in front of a woman who had been waiting for about 5 minutes and stated 'Jessica-party of 4". Maybe her name was really Jessica(like me)but she obviously had more people in her party and they took her anyway! My husband looks at me and says "I think they meant us" so he went back up to the desk and explained and the manager looked at the computer and then says "you'll be next". Maybe they should use the LAST name. So we finally sit down and as cool as the tank is it is actually pretty small and the partitions between the stadium seating are high waves so if your children are small the will have to be on the knees on their chairs to see it. Our waitress was very nice, service is very slow and the food is OK- I had lobster mac which was the same macaroni they gave my daughter except with lobster in it- the lobster was good but the macaroni was very bland and liquid-y. My husband said the steak is good. I cant remember what we ordered my son but he only really ate bread and dessert all week anyway. The best thing about the meal was the lobster soup that came with our appetizer-it was amazing. The shrimp and crabcakes tasted like Red Lobster. Dessert was very good-the Jack Daniels mousse and the Wave are some of the best desserts in the world. We had free dining so we only had to pay for the appetizer and gratuity but I would have been pretty upset if I had to pay the full bill of $120.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneymom77

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Missouri
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed August 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Aquarium is nice
      Cons: Food not prepared well

       
      I ordered my steak medium rare. It was delivered well done. The waitress took it back & the second one came the same way. Everyone else was finished with their meal so I didn't want to wait for a third one. It was taken off my bill & I was given a free dessert. My vegetarian daughter didn't want the only dish offered as it was spicy. The chef came out 7 was totally unconcerned. She did not eat. Horrible! Have never had this food or treatment at a Disney restaurant. Will never go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ebersole2

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): not many, disappointing
      Cons: poor menu selection, weak service

       
      Disappointment and Disney rarely go in the same sentence, but when it comes to the Coral Reef, I must put the two together. My family had visited this restaurant for years when it used to be the Living Seas. I remember butter in the shape of Mickey, walking around and viewing the tanks, and my parents grinning over how delicious the food was. I knew the restaurant had undergone a name change and potentially new management, and I read the mediocre reviews online, but my husband and I are seafood lovers, and a seafood restaurant just sounds fresh and inviting after a long day in the Animal Kingdom. We were very disappointed. At this point, we were used to be seating in nice places –near windows, in plush booths, etc… because we were honeymooning. We were spoiled with free desserts or at least greetings of congratulations. We were seating very far back not close to the tanks, in a seemingly empty restaurant. The menu was lack luster and spare – one sided. The seafood was just ok. All the whimsical elements I remember from childhood were gone. The restaurant felt dated and neglected. We will not be going back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I have been here before and wasn't too crazy about it. We ended up here when other locations were full one day and they let us in without a reservation. The inside is just great, and this time the food matched the décor. Everything was delicious. Two of us had chicken Caesar salad and it was one of the best we've had. I am glad, because I really do like going here...it is very relaxing watching the fish and the lighting is subdued. A nice alternative to some of the more noisy/crowded places around.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tjdull

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri July 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Food, prices, service

       
      We ate here on 7-17-13 for dinner, our first DDP meal of our vacation.


      Two of us had the Lobster Orecchiette Pasta which was just mac & cheese with a few chunks of lobster. Our two childern had kid's meals which were not as good as a Happy Meal from McDonalds.


      The server never re-filled our glasses and was absent for most of the meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elkhunter1

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri June 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere,service
      Cons:

       
      Our family eat here for the second time on 5/11 and we were pleased with the visit. My wife and I had the Lobster pasta dish which was very good(and loaded with chunks of meat.), our daughter had the steak done just right-she really enjoyed it.) and our desserts were very good also. We like to be able to look at the aquarium while we are dining, and our server was excellent(and quite the comedian too!). Overall, we were very pleased with our visit and will be back next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy food, ambience
      Cons: none

       
      Didn't know what to expect here, but we really enjoyed this meal. I had the trout and my wife had the mahi mahi. We both really enjoyed our dishes. Great desserts as well. Our server was nice as well. A nice, relaxing break from the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I have always been an advocate of Coral Reef. Unfortunately this has quickly dropped to the bottom of our list.
      We had a lunch here 2 weeks ago. Our server was very nice but painfully slow.
      DH had the special of the day..described as fried shrimp tossed in a spicy Sriracha sauce. When it finally arrived it was a plate of plain fried shrimp - they forgot the sauce. I ordered the Lobster Orecchiette Pasta. It was a bowl of gluey mac n cheese with 3 small pieces of lobster. DD11 had the Grilled Mahi Mahi. It was so dry. DS9 had the kids fried shrimp. It was fine.
      When our server finally returned to see how things were, DH told her they forgot his *sauce* and apparently forgot my lobster. She apologized and said she thought our dishes didn't look right. Um..ok...?
      She brought hubby his shrimp back out and it was covered in a weird creamy pink sauce. He took one bite and couldn't eat the rest. No spice..no heat...just pink. yuk!
      Her solution for my dish was to bring me a small bowl of lobster meat...which I proceeded to stir into my now lukewarm pasta...one bite and I discovered the lobster meat was just taken out of the fridge and was ice cold. At this point we gave up.
      To their credit ( I think) the manager came over and apologized and offered to make us new dishes. At this point we already had almost 2 hours invested in this fiasco, so we just asked for the check and off we went.
      Sorry Coral Reef - for those considering this place...Swim Away! Swim Away! Wink
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dgurgens

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sun April 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere and wait staff
      Cons: Food

       
      I recommend Coral Reef because I know of many times that the food was delicious. Unfortunately, on 4/5 it was very boring and left a lot to be desired. My husband wasn't looking forward to this meal, however I was. It's always been a favorite. Not anymore. Once they get the menu back to where it used to be, I'll give it another shot. I left quite disappointed, as it's my favorite restaurant.


      Our waitress, Patty, was awesome though. She offered to bring me other entrees to make up for my disappointment.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cjwsrt6

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Alabama
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun April 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      This was one of the places I looked forward to eating the most. I've spent years on Hawaii and Guam. Eating in a place that reminded me of those times were great. From the second you walk in and get seated it is a very nice place. Being able to see the aquarium was great, and we got lucky and had divers in enjoying their day interacting with the people dining and that was very fun.


      The food was great, steak was a little dry but still tasted good. The service was great, the servers seemed to really want to interact and not just give you the food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.