Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): aqauarium is amazing
      Cons: some food is tasteless

       
      All of our party of 7 enjoyed the ambiance of the Coral Reef. The aquarium is magnificent and all tables are configured so you can see the tank. There were divers in it when we were dining and it was quite a show. The food was good. It would have been nice to have a little more flavor but, overall, it was pretty good. The desserts were beautiful and the turtle cheesecake was pretty yummy. The service was quite good and we enjoyed our first evening at Disney World at the Coral Reef.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sdlehman

      Registered: March 2008
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu June 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Food

       
      Our family dined at the Coral Reef on the last night of our vacation, May 24. We had dined there in the past with mixed reviews and we wanted to try it again. The three adults ordered lobster pasta which according to the description was to have lobster, shrimp pasta and a white cheddar sauce. It sounded pretty good. When it arrived and we began to eat it we all looked at one another. The pasta was the shell kind and was very under done. There was very little lobster and the sauce was watery and bland. Knowing I was paying $30 per plate I pushed on and ate the shrimps and scrounged for any lobster I could find. When we were finished our waitress asked if we would like to see a dessert menu. I said "no but I have to tell you this was very disappointing." She said she would bring the manager who was very polite and asked what we were dissatisfied with. She immediately volunteered to remove the three dinners from our bill and only charge us for the diet Coke and apple juice we had ordered which came to about $5. I left $20 so the waitress would still get a tip since she played no part in preparing the food. I doubt we will be coming back to the Coral Reef anytime soon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate here based on recommendations from friends and family that had been before. They rated it as amazing and wonderful. Maybe it was just an off night, but our experience was anything but wonderful.
      We arrived ten minutes early for our reservation and were not seated until thirty minutes after our reservation time. They were busy, but what's the point of being a reservation only type of place if it takes 40 minutes to seat people.
      The service was wonderful. Our server was Hollie and she was great. She answered all of our questions and helped us navigate the menu with the dining plan we had.
      The restaurant in itself was not what we expected. The folks that recommended this restaurant raved about the atmosphere and that there were salt water aquariums everywhere and that was what we expected. What we got was one wall of fish tanks on the other side of the room that we could not see very well. So if you go, expect that you won't be seeing much unless you are on the floor level near the tanks.
      The food was beautifully arranged on the plates, but tasted bland and fishy. So much so that my husband didn't even eat his and the restaurant manager ended up crediting us back his meal point.
      The kids meals were ok, but our girls just kind of picked at them. The only thing that was great was the dessert. I recommend the chocolate wave and the cupcakes for the kiddos.
      All in all we won't be going back to the Coral Reef. It was a waste of time, energy and dining plan points.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Taffy030

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and aquarium
      Cons: Service

       
      Always have eaten here every time we come over from the UK.


      Food and decoration excellent to sit there watching the fish and turtles fantastic.


      Service however very poor and would of awarded a 10 before last visit, however last experience so poor reported to management who basically shrugged it off. NOT WHAT I EXPECT FROM DISNEY AT ALL


      Recommend but watch the service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      This is the second time we had dinner @ Coral reef & it was delicious. My son had the lobster & shrimp " mac & Cheese" which he loved. My husband had the salmon which was cooked perfectly & I had the strip steak. Again cooked perfectly. I also had a Cesar salad which was excellent & the plate was ice cold, my husband & son had the lobster bisque which they said was excellent. It is nice to watch the fish in the aquarium while you wait for your meal & every employee was friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant even if you are like me & not a fan of seafood
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyStrong86

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: SOME Food, Service

       
      We always eat here. Our experiences range from time to time, but the food is always good. The service is what seems to be the problem.


      This year was really bad. Our server brought us bread that was HARD as ROCKS. It seemed like they reheated someone else's day old bread....yuck.


      The dessert (turtle cheesecake) was delicious but only after I ate it did I realize they 1/2 decorated it. I saw someone else's turtle cheesecake which was SUPPOSED to have a sugary coral decor on top was missing from my dessert. Sad.....


      The server messed up our bill. But I will return to coral reef as the food is good...
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      lb1160

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Poor Food

       
      The atmosphere was nice, we got seated next to the aquarium but only after we asked. Food was not good, my husband got the steak and it was horrible, I got the pasta with lobster and shrimp. The shrimp were tiny, the cream sauce was watery and the asparagus was cut up so tiny it had no taste. Ordered tropical drink and don't think there was any alcohol in it at all. Really not sure why is stays around.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aidenmama

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): aquarium
      Cons: everything else

       
      Today my family ate at Coral Reef (DH, DS (5) and myself) - it was AWFUL!!!!! The aquarium is really the only positive. The service was mediocre -- the lady who seated us told us to order immediately otherwise it would take 30 minutes to get our food - then our waitress said she knew we were in a hurry (we NEVER said anything about being in a hurry - were actually NOT in a hurry AT ALL). But we ordered immediately (like she suggested) and we did get our food quickly. I ordered the lobster/shrimp pasta -- OMG it was terrible -- there was ONE bite of lobster (and it was not a big bite) and then about 6 shrimp and lots of soupy sauce with shell macaroni. I had to put lots of salt and pepper on it to even make it edible. My DH ordered the steak - not a good idea! It was obviously cooked at least a couple of hours ahead of time and reheated (probably in a microwave) -- he ordered it medium -- he added lots of salt and pepper as well. My DS's choice of mac and cheese was somewhat of ok - he ate most of it - but he'll eat anything if he's hungry (he is not your typical 5 yo). The bread that was brought to the table was TERRIBLE - it was the driest plainest no taste bread I've EVER had - and I'm a bread nut! Lastly - the dessert - we got the signature wave (lava) cake - simply put DO NOT make this mistake. And it was the best part of the meal. Do not waste a table service credit on this meal like we did and absolutely DO NOT pay cash to eat here. Go to House of Blues or Fulton's Crab House -- those two meals were beyond FABULOUS. Halfway through our meal - my DH and I both looked at each other and asked "are we sure this is run by Disney?" - it was most certainly NOT up to Disney standards.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Geri604

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: IL
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat April 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service
      Cons: none

       
      This is one of the dinners I was hesitant about, but it was one of the best we had. I had the mahi mahi and it was excellent. I had asked if they could blacken it, and there was no problem with that request. My dad had the trout (also asked for it blackened, and again accommodated), and I can't remember what my mom had, but she enjoyed it too. We were lucky to have a seat right next to the tank, although it was a far walk for my mom who had to park her walker outside, but the seating hostess was very patient and matched my mom's slower pace when showing us to the table, instead of rushing to get there and then turning around like 'where'd they go?'
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allears2014

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun April 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, food
      Cons: Seated too far away to enjoy the tank

       
      We ate here for the first time 3-31-14 for dinner. I had ADR and was seated less than 5 minutes after checking in; however, our table was in the back of the restaurant. One of the reasons I made an ADR here was to watch the fish swimming while we ate. We could only see the very tip top of the tank where we were seated.


      Our server was great, she was very attentive, cleared table between courses and kept our drinks filled.


      I had the flash fried tuna and it was melt in your mouth delicious. The mahi mahi for entree was very good. The meal took a little longer than I would have liked, but overall it was very good. I would eat here again, but would request a table closer to the tank at check in next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Steak, atmosphere, the tank
      Cons:

       
      Have eaten here twice for lunch. I requested a tank side table and was able to enjoy the fish in the tank while my children and I ate. I always get the steak and it is always very very good. I really like the look of this restaurant. I did not like any of the desserts and there is usually a longer wait to be called to your table than other restaurants, but I think its worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      deedeebee

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sat February 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all good
      Cons: none

       
      Really good dinner, great service. We love this place. Great steaks and bread. Calm and relaxing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      oliviaxoxo9

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun January 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): really good steak and great waiter
      Cons: none

       
      The steak was so good and the waiter was so funny and nice. Everyone at our table got the steak and it was awesome. The dessert was really good too. I would recommend this to someone. We only had to wait about 10 minutes for our table and we came early too.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      foxycurl

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: USA
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service

       
      Checked at our reservation time of 6:45, seated within minutes. Took 20mins to get drinks, another 15 for him to take food order. Then never refilled our drinks, and had to ask for check. Food was wonderful but service was terrible! This is our third time at Coral Reef. Last time we were rushed out this time we were there over 2 hours which is not fun when you have a 1 year old and a 5 year old. We requested Front and were seated in very back and could not see fish tank at all. If you don't mind outweighing bad service for good food then I recommend it but we wont be back after two terrible experiences with service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Motherhen

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Thu December 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ambience
      Cons: Server was awful

       
      We ate here 12/2. Our server was the worst we've ever had at WDW. She spilled lemonade into our butter and never replaced either of them. She only returned once our meals were finished. The aquarium and atmosphere were lovely as always, but we will not be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.