Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • pselias

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Spearfish, SD
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon February 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, turtle cheesecake
      Cons: service nothing special

       
      Our group of 10 dined here for lunch back in December 2015. A great meal! The octopus appetizer was delicious. The less adventurous eaters (picky teenagers) in our group weren't too crazy about the menu. My steak was pretty good, but nothing to write home about. The turtle cheesecake is amazing. Especially the turtle presentation!
      The service was nothing special, not bad, just there. Considering the prices here, it would be nice to have a bit more in that regard.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyLifer04

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun January 31, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love the tank, love the food
      Cons: Kind of long for no characters

       
      This place had one of the best steaks I've ever had. My kids were really happy with the kids menu, and the dessert menu was amazing. The only down side was how long it took, although, it's not like we were missing drinks or food, just slow paced. It was ok though, we sat and talked about the fish in the tank (we had a great booth facing the tank). My suggestion would be to plan it for lunch, during the hotter part of the day, so that you can get some time out of the sun, eat lunch and get back out in the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GSHROUT

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu January 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food/Service/Atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      Amazing seafood with very large portions. Our sever was a very pleasant young woman who always appeared at our table at the right moment. Advanced Dinning Resv. got us in and to our table quick. Great place to take kids to eat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      matt6816

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon December 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): well prepared food
      Cons: price/late seating

       
      Kerri our waitress was excellent and hustled the entire time between multiple families. The grilled octopus was scary looking but perfectly prepared. We have never been seated on time at the Coral Reef but I believe that is due to popularity and families enjoying the tank.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 128
      Review Date: Fri December 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Restaurant! Good food!
      Cons: Gets very crowded and often run late

       
      My party of 6 was seated in the second level from the tanks. So we had a great view of the marine life and it was as usual calming and a lovely setting. I had the Pan-seared Salmon with mushroom risotto. It was wonderful! Most everyone else got the Seafood scampi and loved it! DD got the pork tenderloin and liked it. Desserts we got: Sorbet, the chocolate wave, turtle cheesecake and coconut mango chiffon cake with raspberry sauce, yum! We also got Virgin strawberry daiquiris and I got a virgin Pina Colada which I loved. One of favorite restaurants!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Fri November 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Our dinner at Coral Reef was one of the highlights of our trip. We were seated right away and were given a table right by the glass even though we hadn't made any specific requests. It was so neat to sit right there by the glass and watch the fish while we were eating. We had a fantastic server. She was very friendly and helpful when I asked about some items on the menu.


      For our dinner we had the seafood pasta and the strip steak. Both were excellent. For desert we had the cheesecake and the mousse. They were gorgeous in presentation, but didn't taste as good as they looked.


      This restaurant gets a lot of bad reviews, but our experience was fantastic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      teller7

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon October 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Aquarium
      Cons: Slow service

       
      I found the service to be really slow it wasn't just our server it seem like the entire restaurant was slow... Entire family had steak it was good. This was the first time eating here it one of those visits one and done. I eat here again but it wouldn't be number one on my list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mvass1
      marcimouse

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The view and the dessert
      Cons: The food

       
      Our experience was less than wonderful. We had ADR for our trip in Dec 2014. We waited much longer than our ADR time. Our waiter was really quick with greeting us, but, then took his time bringing the drinks. He raced off to do something else and then came back to get our order. Then when the food finally arrived, it was really disappointing. My daughter had the lobster manicotti (just ok) my husband and son had the strip steak (fatty and chewy and not done to their liking). I had the Mahi Mahi (cold). The best thing about this place is the view and the dessert. That doesn't say much about a place that you have to wait for months for an opening and then have to wait to get in. On top of that, the food was just mediocre and even though we had a nice view of the tank (we were on the second tier) it wasn't a wonderful experience that we all expected. Our tables were quite close together and I know I was expecting a quieter experience. We didn't have unruly kids running around, but, I would have liked to have had some serenity especially since this atmosphere exudes it. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. It isn't worth the price or the hassle. Even with the DDP, it isn't worth wasting a table service. Won't be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Tue March 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Well prepared, tasty food
      Cons:

       
      We decided to give the restaurant a second chance since dining here a few years back. At that time, we had to wait almost two hours beyond our reservation time to be seated and only got in then because many waiting ahead of us decided to leave to catch the fireworks show. It was fun walking out of the darkened and empty park well after closing, though. But I digress. This time we were seated at about our reserved dinner time. We had a table on the second level with a good view of the windows. Pre-dinner drinks were excellent and the server visited frequently to top up water and bread. Entrees were the mahi and the lobster manicotti, which were both very nice. Particularly good sauce on the mahi. We are not DDP users, so we generally skip the desserts and appetizers. All in all, a very fine experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robinmy

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sun February 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of the aquarium
      Cons: none

       
      This restaurant is in The Seas pavilion at Epcot. My family and I visited on 2/1/15 and were promptly seated. Our table was against the aquarium glass, but I believe there would be a good view from any seat in this restaurant.


      I ordered the Mahi Mahi and it was delicious. Another member of our party ordered the steak and said it was very good. Desserts were included with the Disney Dining Plan. The Chocolate Wave is a lava cake. Very rich but so good.


      Our waitress was friendly and attentive. Watching the sharks, turtles, and other fish in the aquarium was a treat. I'd gladly return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mharder

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri February 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The fish (the ones in the tank, not on the table)
      Cons: Overcrowded, mediocre food, slow to seat us

       
      We had dinner at Coral Reef on Jan. 26. We won't go back. I should note at the outset that this is the first time I've ever said this about any table service restaurant at WDW.


      We were "checking out" restaurants in advance of a trip with our grown sons next Christmas. I booked the reservation with some trepidation because of the mixed reviews, but we thought we'd give it a try. Unfortunately, the negative reviews proved right.


      We arrived on time for a 5:50 reservation and were told they were 15-20 minutes behind schedule. The lobby area was chaotic with too many guests who were all waiting for their tables. It's hard for me to understand how they could be that far behind that early in the evening.


      Our table was between the tables next to the fish tanks and the first row of booths. The only good thing I can say is that it gave us a good view of the fish. However, this seating arrangement really should not exist. We felt like, and were, in the aisle. More than once, waitstaff passing through and guests being seated nearly knocked our bread basket off the table.


      The food quality was uneven. My wife ordered Mahi Mahi and said it was good. I ordered the manicotti with lobster but was disappointed. The best way to describe it was that it tasted like it had been heated in a microwave (and not long enough). It was warm, not hot. At the table next to us (and I mean really next to us due to the aforementioned arrangement for the table), a woman had ordered a steak and I noted that she returned it to the kitchen because it was grossly overcooked and tough as shoe leather. To their credit, the manager and waiter promptly replaced it with something that she seemed more pleased with.


      Undoubtedly our experience was colored by a table of badly behaved children near us. Grandma and Grandpa had taken their adult children and young grandchildren to Disney World. For reasons that I can't understand, the adults sat at one end and left about 5 kids ages 1 1/2 to 6 at the other end. One 3 year old decided her mission in life was to get the baby to pound on the table (by pounding on the table herself). Other kids were up, down, switching seats, yelling, etc. The adults were oblivious. As a result, we could not wait to get out. Unfortunately, based on some online reviews I have seen for Coral Reef, this seems to be a frequent occurrence.


      In the end, I can't recommend this restaurant. While the kids at the nearby table were part of the reason, the uneven quality of the food, the seating, and the delay in seating us cause me to not want to return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Scrapping in Ontario

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed October 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Steak
      Cons:

       
      We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Coral Reef restaurant! We were seated right next to the aquarium and the view was breath-taking! I had the steak for the first time and it was delicious! So flavourful and tender! My only wish is that it was served with a couple of shrimp.


      We'll be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Krissi890

      Registered: September 2014
      Location: North Branford, CT
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food, waitstaff
      Cons: Wait

       
      We go to this restaurant every time we are at Disney because the food is amazing. We always order the Mahi Mahi and Shrimp and every time it comes out perfect is delicious! The atmosphere and location are great too with being next to the large fish tank. Would definitely recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneylover97

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food
      Cons: loud

       
      This was my second time eating at this restaurant. The service was decent and the atmosphere was amazing. I love looking at the fish and sea animals in the tanks. It is a little on the darker side in this restaurant. I ordered the New York strip and I got french fries instead of mashed potatoes, but I later found out that the mashed potatoes were amazing and i would have rather had them! One member in my family got the fish of the day and the others also got the steak. The dessert was the best part of the meal. I got the cheesecake and it was shaped like a sea turtle..so cute and yummy. I will come back to this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): aqauarium is amazing
      Cons: some food is tasteless

       
      All of our party of 7 enjoyed the ambiance of the Coral Reef. The aquarium is magnificent and all tables are configured so you can see the tank. There were divers in it when we were dining and it was quite a show. The food was good. It would have been nice to have a little more flavor but, overall, it was pretty good. The desserts were beautiful and the turtle cheesecake was pretty yummy. The service was quite good and we enjoyed our first evening at Disney World at the Coral Reef.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.