Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mvass1
      marcimouse

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The view and the dessert
      Cons: The food

       
      Our experience was less than wonderful. We had ADR for our trip in Dec 2014. We waited much longer than our ADR time. Our waiter was really quick with greeting us, but, then took his time bringing the drinks. He raced off to do something else and then came back to get our order. Then when the food finally arrived, it was really disappointing. My daughter had the lobster manicotti (just ok) my husband and son had the strip steak (fatty and chewy and not done to their liking). I had the Mahi Mahi (cold). The best thing about this place is the view and the dessert. That doesn't say much about a place that you have to wait for months for an opening and then have to wait to get in. On top of that, the food was just mediocre and even though we had a nice view of the tank (we were on the second tier) it wasn't a wonderful experience that we all expected. Our tables were quite close together and I know I was expecting a quieter experience. We didn't have unruly kids running around, but, I would have liked to have had some serenity especially since this atmosphere exudes it. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. It isn't worth the price or the hassle. Even with the DDP, it isn't worth wasting a table service. Won't be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Tue March 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Well prepared, tasty food
      Cons:

       
      We decided to give the restaurant a second chance since dining here a few years back. At that time, we had to wait almost two hours beyond our reservation time to be seated and only got in then because many waiting ahead of us decided to leave to catch the fireworks show. It was fun walking out of the darkened and empty park well after closing, though. But I digress. This time we were seated at about our reserved dinner time. We had a table on the second level with a good view of the windows. Pre-dinner drinks were excellent and the server visited frequently to top up water and bread. Entrees were the mahi and the lobster manicotti, which were both very nice. Particularly good sauce on the mahi. We are not DDP users, so we generally skip the desserts and appetizers. All in all, a very fine experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robinmy

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sun February 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of the aquarium
      Cons: none

       
      This restaurant is in The Seas pavilion at Epcot. My family and I visited on 2/1/15 and were promptly seated. Our table was against the aquarium glass, but I believe there would be a good view from any seat in this restaurant.


      I ordered the Mahi Mahi and it was delicious. Another member of our party ordered the steak and said it was very good. Desserts were included with the Disney Dining Plan. The Chocolate Wave is a lava cake. Very rich but so good.


      Our waitress was friendly and attentive. Watching the sharks, turtles, and other fish in the aquarium was a treat. I'd gladly return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mharder

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri February 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The fish (the ones in the tank, not on the table)
      Cons: Overcrowded, mediocre food, slow to seat us

       
      We had dinner at Coral Reef on Jan. 26. We won't go back. I should note at the outset that this is the first time I've ever said this about any table service restaurant at WDW.


      We were "checking out" restaurants in advance of a trip with our grown sons next Christmas. I booked the reservation with some trepidation because of the mixed reviews, but we thought we'd give it a try. Unfortunately, the negative reviews proved right.


      We arrived on time for a 5:50 reservation and were told they were 15-20 minutes behind schedule. The lobby area was chaotic with too many guests who were all waiting for their tables. It's hard for me to understand how they could be that far behind that early in the evening.


      Our table was between the tables next to the fish tanks and the first row of booths. The only good thing I can say is that it gave us a good view of the fish. However, this seating arrangement really should not exist. We felt like, and were, in the aisle. More than once, waitstaff passing through and guests being seated nearly knocked our bread basket off the table.


      The food quality was uneven. My wife ordered Mahi Mahi and said it was good. I ordered the manicotti with lobster but was disappointed. The best way to describe it was that it tasted like it had been heated in a microwave (and not long enough). It was warm, not hot. At the table next to us (and I mean really next to us due to the aforementioned arrangement for the table), a woman had ordered a steak and I noted that she returned it to the kitchen because it was grossly overcooked and tough as shoe leather. To their credit, the manager and waiter promptly replaced it with something that she seemed more pleased with.


      Undoubtedly our experience was colored by a table of badly behaved children near us. Grandma and Grandpa had taken their adult children and young grandchildren to Disney World. For reasons that I can't understand, the adults sat at one end and left about 5 kids ages 1 1/2 to 6 at the other end. One 3 year old decided her mission in life was to get the baby to pound on the table (by pounding on the table herself). Other kids were up, down, switching seats, yelling, etc. The adults were oblivious. As a result, we could not wait to get out. Unfortunately, based on some online reviews I have seen for Coral Reef, this seems to be a frequent occurrence.


      In the end, I can't recommend this restaurant. While the kids at the nearby table were part of the reason, the uneven quality of the food, the seating, and the delay in seating us cause me to not want to return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Scrapping in Ontario

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed October 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Steak
      Cons:

       
      We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Coral Reef restaurant! We were seated right next to the aquarium and the view was breath-taking! I had the steak for the first time and it was delicious! So flavourful and tender! My only wish is that it was served with a couple of shrimp.


      We'll be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Krissi890

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food, waitstaff
      Cons: Wait

       
      We go to this restaurant every time we are at Disney because the food is amazing. We always order the Mahi Mahi and Shrimp and every time it comes out perfect is delicious! The atmosphere and location are great too with being next to the large fish tank. Would definitely recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneylover97

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food
      Cons: loud

       
      This was my second time eating at this restaurant. The service was decent and the atmosphere was amazing. I love looking at the fish and sea animals in the tanks. It is a little on the darker side in this restaurant. I ordered the New York strip and I got french fries instead of mashed potatoes, but I later found out that the mashed potatoes were amazing and i would have rather had them! One member in my family got the fish of the day and the others also got the steak. The dessert was the best part of the meal. I got the cheesecake and it was shaped like a sea turtle..so cute and yummy. I will come back to this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): aqauarium is amazing
      Cons: some food is tasteless

       
      All of our party of 7 enjoyed the ambiance of the Coral Reef. The aquarium is magnificent and all tables are configured so you can see the tank. There were divers in it when we were dining and it was quite a show. The food was good. It would have been nice to have a little more flavor but, overall, it was pretty good. The desserts were beautiful and the turtle cheesecake was pretty yummy. The service was quite good and we enjoyed our first evening at Disney World at the Coral Reef.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sdlehman

      Registered: March 2008
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu June 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Food

       
      Our family dined at the Coral Reef on the last night of our vacation, May 24. We had dined there in the past with mixed reviews and we wanted to try it again. The three adults ordered lobster pasta which according to the description was to have lobster, shrimp pasta and a white cheddar sauce. It sounded pretty good. When it arrived and we began to eat it we all looked at one another. The pasta was the shell kind and was very under done. There was very little lobster and the sauce was watery and bland. Knowing I was paying $30 per plate I pushed on and ate the shrimps and scrounged for any lobster I could find. When we were finished our waitress asked if we would like to see a dessert menu. I said "no but I have to tell you this was very disappointing." She said she would bring the manager who was very polite and asked what we were dissatisfied with. She immediately volunteered to remove the three dinners from our bill and only charge us for the diet Coke and apple juice we had ordered which came to about $5. I left $20 so the waitress would still get a tip since she played no part in preparing the food. I doubt we will be coming back to the Coral Reef anytime soon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate here based on recommendations from friends and family that had been before. They rated it as amazing and wonderful. Maybe it was just an off night, but our experience was anything but wonderful.
      We arrived ten minutes early for our reservation and were not seated until thirty minutes after our reservation time. They were busy, but what's the point of being a reservation only type of place if it takes 40 minutes to seat people.
      The service was wonderful. Our server was Hollie and she was great. She answered all of our questions and helped us navigate the menu with the dining plan we had.
      The restaurant in itself was not what we expected. The folks that recommended this restaurant raved about the atmosphere and that there were salt water aquariums everywhere and that was what we expected. What we got was one wall of fish tanks on the other side of the room that we could not see very well. So if you go, expect that you won't be seeing much unless you are on the floor level near the tanks.
      The food was beautifully arranged on the plates, but tasted bland and fishy. So much so that my husband didn't even eat his and the restaurant manager ended up crediting us back his meal point.
      The kids meals were ok, but our girls just kind of picked at them. The only thing that was great was the dessert. I recommend the chocolate wave and the cupcakes for the kiddos.
      All in all we won't be going back to the Coral Reef. It was a waste of time, energy and dining plan points.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Taffy030

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and aquarium
      Cons: Service

       
      Always have eaten here every time we come over from the UK.


      Food and decoration excellent to sit there watching the fish and turtles fantastic.


      Service however very poor and would of awarded a 10 before last visit, however last experience so poor reported to management who basically shrugged it off. NOT WHAT I EXPECT FROM DISNEY AT ALL


      Recommend but watch the service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      This is the second time we had dinner @ Coral reef & it was delicious. My son had the lobster & shrimp " mac & Cheese" which he loved. My husband had the salmon which was cooked perfectly & I had the strip steak. Again cooked perfectly. I also had a Cesar salad which was excellent & the plate was ice cold, my husband & son had the lobster bisque which they said was excellent. It is nice to watch the fish in the aquarium while you wait for your meal & every employee was friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant even if you are like me & not a fan of seafood
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyStrong86

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: SOME Food, Service

       
      We always eat here. Our experiences range from time to time, but the food is always good. The service is what seems to be the problem.


      This year was really bad. Our server brought us bread that was HARD as ROCKS. It seemed like they reheated someone else's day old bread....yuck.


      The dessert (turtle cheesecake) was delicious but only after I ate it did I realize they 1/2 decorated it. I saw someone else's turtle cheesecake which was SUPPOSED to have a sugary coral decor on top was missing from my dessert. Sad.....


      The server messed up our bill. But I will return to coral reef as the food is good...
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      lb1160

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Poor Food

       
      The atmosphere was nice, we got seated next to the aquarium but only after we asked. Food was not good, my husband got the steak and it was horrible, I got the pasta with lobster and shrimp. The shrimp were tiny, the cream sauce was watery and the asparagus was cut up so tiny it had no taste. Ordered tropical drink and don't think there was any alcohol in it at all. Really not sure why is stays around.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aidenmama

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): aquarium
      Cons: everything else

       
      Today my family ate at Coral Reef (DH, DS (5) and myself) - it was AWFUL!!!!! The aquarium is really the only positive. The service was mediocre -- the lady who seated us told us to order immediately otherwise it would take 30 minutes to get our food - then our waitress said she knew we were in a hurry (we NEVER said anything about being in a hurry - were actually NOT in a hurry AT ALL). But we ordered immediately (like she suggested) and we did get our food quickly. I ordered the lobster/shrimp pasta -- OMG it was terrible -- there was ONE bite of lobster (and it was not a big bite) and then about 6 shrimp and lots of soupy sauce with shell macaroni. I had to put lots of salt and pepper on it to even make it edible. My DH ordered the steak - not a good idea! It was obviously cooked at least a couple of hours ahead of time and reheated (probably in a microwave) -- he ordered it medium -- he added lots of salt and pepper as well. My DS's choice of mac and cheese was somewhat of ok - he ate most of it - but he'll eat anything if he's hungry (he is not your typical 5 yo). The bread that was brought to the table was TERRIBLE - it was the driest plainest no taste bread I've EVER had - and I'm a bread nut! Lastly - the dessert - we got the signature wave (lava) cake - simply put DO NOT make this mistake. And it was the best part of the meal. Do not waste a table service credit on this meal like we did and absolutely DO NOT pay cash to eat here. Go to House of Blues or Fulton's Crab House -- those two meals were beyond FABULOUS. Halfway through our meal - my DH and I both looked at each other and asked "are we sure this is run by Disney?" - it was most certainly NOT up to Disney standards.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.