Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Dfan79

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sat June 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): shaded seating
      Cons: school bread, serving area

       
      I guess the School Bread is one of those things you either really love or really hate. I regrettably lean towards the latter. It just tasted like a hard piece of bread with coconut and a dab of custard on top (that looks like butter). Perhaps the Almond Pretzel or Cream filled Horns are better, but I was totally turned off by the School Bread and probably won‘t go back for those. No wonder it’s listed at a very low price by Disney Standards.


      I thought the serving area was way too small, especially for a place that serves sandwiches too. The poor cast members behind the glass cases looked like they had their hands full even though there were only 4 people in line. The seating area was a good size though and very shaded behind the church. It is a good spot to hide from the Florida sun and huge crowds.


      So if you do go here make sure you stay away from the School Bread. That is unless you like hard tasteless bread.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): big sandwhiches
      Cons: long lines out door

       
      One of the two best CS we had our entire trip. We travelled Dec3-14. Went to have lunch on the DP as adults. We paid OOP for DS as the kids menu didn't appeal to him. There was plenty of food but a huge line and wait to get it. We had 2 roast beef, 1 salad, 1 fruit, and 1 Viking helmet, cheesecake. My parent's had 2 turkey sandwiches, 2 salads, 1 school bread and 1 Viking helmet. The had a choose of Blue chees or thousand island for the salad. The roast beef had too much roll and not enough carmalized onion. My son's was good but thought the bread a bit hard. We didn't get our sandwich toasted. My parent's did and enjoyed it. My mom was eager to go back a second time for lunch but didn't have a chance. Will definitely do it next trip. Not a lot of seating so probably best to go at an off time. Also the line was so long out the door it was a deterent for some and one person walked out after they placed their order.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hstepzinski

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: wish they had more

       
      The sandwiches we got here were very good and the snacks were delicious also. Everything else we didn't try looked good just wish they had more choices.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Grumppy

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING looked good!
      Cons:

       
      Two words-Frosted Pretzels! You can now get them one of two ways; covered with slivered almonds, or with frosting and chocolate. We couldn't decide so got one of each and shared. If you are on DDP, you can use snack credits for these. These have been a "must do" on our trips for years.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hannah1230

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Idaho
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed August 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pastry
      Cons: not a lot to choose from

       
      Although there is not a huge choice of sandwiches, they are good and there are a lot of pastries to choose from. This is one of the best places if on the DDP for a QS meal. You get a salad, or fruit bowl, a sandwich and a dessert.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nicole0992

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Los Angeles
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue May 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great lunch options, snacks
      Cons: No air conditioned seating, crowded inside

       
      We recently had a very early lunch here and tried the Norwegian Club Sandwich which we had toasted, fruit salads and the Rullekake. The sandwiches were incredible and very large. Can easily be split. The fruit was cold and fresh. The dessert options here make it difficult to pick just one! We always get some to take back to our room for breakfast the next day. There is plenty of covered seating but still very warm to eat on a hot day here. The shop inside is very small and can get crowded. Very friendly cast members!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ADisneyGinger

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: St. Louis, MO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu May 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty treats
      Cons:

       
      DH and I grabbed afternoon snacks here on April 22nd - I had the "Troll Horn" (I believe it used to be the cloudberry horn), and he had the Schoolbread. No line of people, but even on this moderately warm day, the building was uncomfortably stuffy and warm. The treats were worth it though. I loved the troll horn - just the right amount of sweetness, and DH said the schoolbread was very good (his first time trying it).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beccab

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Champaign, IL
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Fri April 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great baked items
      Cons: long lines at times

       
      Popped in for a quick snack on Sunday, April 7th because we just can't visit the World without having school bread in Norway. The school bread was just as good as ever! Kids ordered the soft dessert pretzels. Word to the picky...I had forgotten that the pretzels have raisins baked into them so DS 11 wouldn't eat his. Oh, well. I loved it!


      Line is usually long but moves quickly. The treats here are worth the wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PolynesianStitch

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Minnesota
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sun April 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Excellent freshly-made sandwiches, very generous portion sizes. We particularly appreciated that they included either a fruit or tossed salad with the sandwich. Outstanding selection of excellent pastries. We also like the good, strong Norwegian coffee!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alyssavm

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Stone Ridge, VA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super cute, yummy chocolate pretzel
      Cons: Slow cashier (but she was new)

       
      Yummy treats in an adorable building. The chocolate pretzel had fruit baked in to it and was REALLY good!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bjtrax

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Thu December 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy sandwiches
      Cons: not much room in display/ordering area

       
      Ordered the roast beef sandwich (toasted) on two times this trip. It's a delicious, must-do for us!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Thu November 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Schoolbread
      Cons: Disorganized

       
      The schoolbread I ordered was sooooooo gooooood! My girls fought me for the last few bites.


      The staff in here was very nice, but there needs to be better organization with lines and service. At some point- 4 lines formed within this very tiny place. You had people waiting for full on meals who were slowing things up from people who just wanted a beer or snack...and people cutting in all of this, mainly b/c nobody knew where the line really was.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lisaj

      Registered: November 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Mon November 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very fresh tasty choices of sandwich and pastry and great value on ddp
      Cons:

       
      First experience of this counter service, for a counter service credit you can choose any sandwich (either plain or toasted) plus either a salad or fruit cup plus any pastry plus soft drink. I chose the Norwegian club sandwich toasted, which was excellent. Also had a diet coke, fruit cup and the amazing school bread. Would definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bobbis

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: iowa
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy Lefse
      Cons: Limited selection

       
      This was my first time eating here. My friend & I stopped by late morning for a snack. I had the Lefse, which was fabulous, super filling for a snack & probably the least expensive food available at WDW. My friend had a Cloudberry Horn pastry, which she really enjoyed. Great place for a snack. Outside seating was fine, as it wasn't too busy. Will eat here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      zettarooski

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Mon September 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Schoolbread
      Cons:

       
      I purchased the Schoolbread here as a snack credit during my trip in September. It was amazing! I loved the flavors in it. The bread is not too sweet, but very soft. The inside is like a cream-filled doughnut, but well spiced (Cardamon, I believe). The topping was the best part as it was icing with coconut on top. Definitely a must-try on your visit to Norway!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.