Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Linda22227

      Registered: June 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon June 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful experience
      Cons: slight motion sickness issues

       
      About Avatar Flight of Passage: my adult son weighs nearly 300 pounds and carries his weight in his torso due to medication weight gain. The cast member assisting us was unable to lock him into the ride vehicle during passholder preview. He was forced to leave and it was a very frustrating and embarrassing experience for him. There are no other rides at WDW that he has an issue with.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beachpup

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri June 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): well designed new land
      Cons: friend couldn't ride Flight of Passage

       
      Visited May 30-June 5th. I've never been a fan of Avatar. Saw it, thought it was an okay movie, still not convinced this is a good fit for Disney. I went in with an open mind, and honestly was kind of disappointed in the theming. The fake plants are obvious, and not numerous enough to make it feel totally alien. At night there isn't really enough illumination to match the movie which was surprising. After visiting a second time at night it seemed better since it was less crowded, the best part being the 'glowing' walkways. We had a fastpass for Flight of Passage and walked right on, with the standby line ridiculously long. We got all the way to the ride vehicles and the person I was with , who is not that large, couldn't ride since the restraint wouldn't fit to his leg. This is totally upsetting since he has never been unable to ride any other Disney ride. Out of respect for him I didn't ride either, and was told we would get a fast pass for any other ride we wanted, EXCEPT the Na'vi River Ride. Thanks, welcome to our new land, you can't ride anything! Walking out another man was waiting for his party and the same thing happened to him, his calf wouldn't allow the restraint to set. Not cool Disney. We went again one early morning and I got on, and the ride is extremely well done, very cool, like Soarin on steroids. What's odd is, this time the leg restraint didn't even come close to the back of my leg, and seemed unnecessary. What gives? Disney has their Universal fighter.
      The Na'vi River Journey ( which we had a fastpass for another day) is short but done well, the best thing being the animatronic at the end.
      We ate breakfast at the Satu'li Canteen, which was pretty good, we had the 'steak and eggs' which was a generous portion of meat, and the french toast, each made to look a bit alien.
      I was excited since this was 'new Disney' and not Avatar. I was underwhelmed to be honest, and I really wanted to like it. The Flight of Passage is a fantastic ride, one of the best. The rest all feels a bit... alien... and not very Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      free2div

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue June 6, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The best ride EVER
      Cons: none for me

       
      This is by far the BEST RIDE EVER ANYWHERE...I almost chickened out but so glad I didnt..I laughed and screamed the whole ride..LOVE IT
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed May 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Astounding, immersive environment
      Cons: It's going to be overcrowded for a long time

       
      After frankly being disappointed by a low-budget Frozen Ever After ride, it was reassuring to see that the Walt Disney World imagineers haven't lost their touch, after all. I think the most impressive thing was the totality of the whole Pandora zone -- barely a square inch that wasn't covered with themed decoration. The blend of natural plantings with man-made ones was done very well. Na'vi naturalistic structures were meshed with "leftover" artifacts from the human interlopers, even in the ride entrances. Both rides were as good as anything in WDW and in fact have advanced the goalposts considerably. Our early preview was uncrowded and we were able to experience both rides multiple times. There was considerable delay in one instance on the flying ride and a couple of guests had to leave the queue in the 16-person chambers, one due to the heat and claustrophobia and another who couldn't stand up for long without her walker. Cast member said the delay was a "guest issue," not a mechanical glitch. Everything in Pandora seemed to be finished and working well, even at that early date. Well done. We look forward to further expansion of this unique and creative mini-park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pubal1

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed May 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Detailing very impressive
      Cons: Crowds out of hand

       
      Visited Pandora Saturday May 27th (opening day for regular guests) around 3 p.m. and they weren't letting people into Pandora. We stopped at Tiffins restaurant/bar which is normally empty to find it at capacity. Had a beverage to cool off and went back and after asking several castmembers for directions found our way to the River Ride (our daughter somehow got a FastPass for it the day before). Lots of blacklights and some holograms. There was only a couple of animatronic characters and mostly seemed like forest and water. The line for the Flight line said 180 minutes. In the restroom another guest said he wouldn't wait that long for the river ride but would for the flight ride. It was 95 degrees and decided to wait. The line started outside and the breeze made it o.k. However, after around a hour the line went into a cave. It was stiffling hot with no air conditioning or fans or water. Everyone was complaining and after an hour there was finally a water fountain. Relief!!! Suggest bringing water and ice to anyone willing to wait that long. The wife gets motion sickness and "almost" didn't get on the ride after 2:45 minute wait, but she did and absolutely loved it. She said she closed her eyes when the banshee would dive down toward the forest grounds or under branches. We left the ride and it was dark. The use of black lights on the walkways to show Pandora symbols was nice. They made us walk out the long way and the lines looked to be between 3-5 hour wait time. I've never seen Animal Kingdom this busy. We were too tired to see the new water show and not sure we even could of because the line snaked for what looked like forever. I'd say the Flight ride is the most amazing use of 3D technology, Virtual Reality, seating structure, smells and water misting of any ride I've ever been on which is all of them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GoldieK

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 26, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): elaborate, unique theming
      Cons: no emotional connection for me

       
      An interesting and challenging land to walk through. Some aspects seemed grotesque and creepy. My adult daughters loved the Flight of Passage. River Journey was colorful and a nice place to sit and cool down. We did not find the gift shop or restaurant particularly appealing. I am glad we got the sneak preview, but won't hurry back. I have not seen the movie, which might make a difference to enjoying Pandora more than I did.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dianev

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 23, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Breathtakingly beautiful
      Cons: None

       
      We were fortunate to be able to preview Pandora as DVC members on May 17, 2017. It was AMAZING! The atmosphere in the area was spot on! We were able to enjoy the Na'VI River Journey (when it was finally up and running) and also Flight of Passage 3 times. Flight of Passage is incredible. It is so realistic, you can even feel your banshee breathing! We shopped at the gift shop and at Pongu Pongu we had a frozen beverage and lumpia, which is kinda like a pastry that has warm cream cheese and pineapple, it was delicious! Can't wait to go back,although I am sure we won't be able to go on "Flight" 3 times in a row!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Diznegal

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 21, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing Theming
      Cons: Not designed for people of size

       
      We went to an Annual Pass Holder preview of Pandora. The theming was fabulous and I thought it represented the movie very well. We waited about an hour in the queue and it was an awesome queue. One section is positively amazing!! After waiting all that time, I was admitted into the main ride area and mounted the ride vehicle. It took a few tries to latch the back security plate but I have rods and screws in my back and while I have never had any problems on any ride, ever, it felt like my spine was going to crack. I am on the plus side so I suspect that's why it was such a tight fit. But then came time to latch the leg harness. My legs are small and thin (not plus sized) but very short. Try as she might, the CM could not latch it all the way. She said for me to lift my legs off the floor and dangle them so it would fit properly. I didn't really want to do an ab workout for the length of the ride but I was willing just so I could ride the new ride. As soon as she latched it closed, I got the two worst charley horses in my legs. At that point the CM told me I couldn't ride and I had to get off because the leg device just wasn't on properly. I was so disappointed. I have heard a fair number of people have been turned away and this is the only time at either WDW or DL that I couldn't ride a Disney ride. I plan to send a letter to Disney and hope they can make adjustments so the ride more can be more accommodating to a larger audience. I heard from everyone who went that it was the best ride they had ever been on at Disney. I know you will all love it. Just be prepared to be disappointed if you are over-sized.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JackieB

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat May 20, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gorgeous
      Cons: A little tight on the ride. Motion sickness

       
      Pandora is gorgeous. I have never seen the movie Avatar but I really enjoyed both of the rides and the scenery in Pandora. The Flight of passage was very intense. If you are a person of size you may not fit. I fit but it was tight. I did think I was going to be sick on it. If you have motion issues this ride may not be for you. The Na’vi River Journey was a slow boat ride. It was very well done. I am disappointed that Disney has not made either of these rides handicap accessible. You must transfer from a wheelchair for both rides. I went to Pongu Pongu and had the Pongu Lumpia (pineapple cream cheese spring roll) and they were delicious. I also had the Mo'ara Frozen Margarita which was delicious as well. Overall it was an enjoyable experience and I can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LiaElf76

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 18, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, Flight of Passage
      Cons: Few attractions

       
      I'm a huge fan of the Avatar movie so I've been excited about this since the first announcement. My favorite place creating a space dedicated to my favorite movie, how could I not be excited.


      First off, it's beautiful to walk around in Pandora. Disney did a good job blending real world plants with the artificial plants to really bring the place to life. I was a bit saddened to not get to see it in the dark when it should come to life with bioluminescent effects to mimic the movie.


      By accident, my first stop was the gift shop, Windtraders. I went in knowing I was buying one of the Banshee shoulder puppet animals. The toy was neat, and I kind of felt like a rock star walking around with it on my shoulder (and wore it to the Magic Kingdom the next day as well).


      The cast seems pretty dedicated to sticking with the story of Pandora. For instance, I was required to take an oath pledging to protect the natural environment of Pandora and Earth before I could "adopt" my Banshee. And casst members greeted me with the Na'vi phrase "I see you," (in Na'vi) once I had my Banshee. When I asked about the personalized Avatar figures, the cast member launched into explaining the scientific "research" it was helping to complete.


      Flight of Passage was an awesome ride, despite it shutting down in the pre-ride room during my first attempt to ride it. My description is it's kind of Soarin' on steroids, really giving you the sensation of flying and combining some "4D" effects like smells (pleasant smells), wind, and mild spritzing of water (the scents are much better utilized then on Soarin'). And it kind of felt like I was getting a sneak peek at the next Avatar movie since some of the creatures you see weren't in thd original movie.


      Na'vi River Journey is by far the best animatronic infused boat ride in Disney World. The Na'vi Shaman of Songs near the end is very lifelike. That being said, it's just a boat ride and a fairly short one at that. It's beautiful and well done but I wish it would have taken you from day to night so you could see a wide array of animals, both the daytime and nighttime creatures.


      I didn't eat at the restaurant but I did try the Ma'oro Margarita specialty drink at the Pongu Pongu stand. It was tasty and the juice filled beads kind of made it more fun to drink.


      I guess I'd also like to mention that Pandora is so far just filled with Pandora stuff. The gift shop doesn't have any Disney characters (not even morphed into blue-skinned Na'vi characters). It's a nice refreshing reprieve from constant Mickey and Frozen merchandise. Sadly with it being new I'm not sure when I'll feel the urge to brave the crowds to return to the world of Pandora. But I might need to risk it to see it after dark.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sweetypi

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed May 17, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons:

       
      Although I enjoyed the movie Avatar I wasn't overly hyped about Disney doing something based on this old movie. Whether you saw the movie or not you will be blown away by the details and beauty of the theming. Although I was unbelievably lucky to have seen it thanks to Cast member Tim who had 2 extra tickets to the cast preview and invited me and my husband in with them, I didn't get to see it at night which they claim is even more spectacular and hope to get to see in a few months again. The river ride is peaceful and serine and beautiful but I was mesmerized by Avatar-flight of passage. I found it so realistic as if I was soaring through this gorgeous land, I couldn't take it all in but it is an experience you won't forget.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sbinegar1

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 16, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful and immersive
      Cons: Not big people friendly

       
      I am a 5'7 350lb woman. I was able to get on the flights of passage but it was not able to lock me in. I was not able to ride this attraction. I have always loved Disney and never had fears of not fitting until the last few rides they have created in the last few years. I am also unable to ride the mine train as it will not go down over my legs. I loved the immersion nature of this world but Walt Disney World has really missed the mark with being heavy people friendly. I can only hope they rethink a possible option for fluffy people and or a stationary option for those of us that can't or don't fit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dcdeb

      Registered: October 2005
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Sat May 13, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Deb Wills recently had the chance to preview Pandora - The World of Avatar and shares her first impressions in this YouTube video:


      https://youtu.be/DHdae3V-iD0


      (Spoiler: She gives it two thumbs way up!)
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.