Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ginny3

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Central Illinois
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri June 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): awesome food

      We had both lunch and dinner and in both cases the food choices were excellent. I agree with the previous poster that the apple strudel although OK was not what I remembered from past experience. Tis is a must do for each Disney trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed May 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crispy pork roast, German music
      Cons: No sauerbraten during lunch

      Walked up 5/3 and were seated within 5 minutes. German ancestry and go to Oktoberfest a lot so I'm used to eating with strangers at the same table. The pork roast was awesome, but ask the cook for the crispy skin he has sitting there next to it...I guarantee you will thank me. SO DELICIOUS. All of the sides were true to what I'm used to and look for in German food. I only tried the apple streudel for dessert. It was good but not amazing. Everything else was though...can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Wed May 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: Sitting with rude people (this is the 1st time this happened)

      My mother and I had lunch here one day. The food was excellent, although I think the variety isn't as much as it once was. The beer was fantastic and we ended up staying for the whole show, which was a lot of fun.

      I have never minded sitting family style with other groups before until this time. My mother and I and another couple were seated first and then a family of four. We sat on the outside two seats and the other couple sat on the very inside two seats. The woman loudly proclaimed she thought that the "two older couples" were together and oh well, I guess they would have to sit in the middle. She slammed her chairs around, complained because her daughter was left handed and would probably bump my mother. My mother said "Not a problem. I'm fine." She was rude in more ways than I care to go on about. But in my experience, persons like this are very few and far between, and we've met some lovely people sitting together enjoying dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun April 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the service, the setting, the food
      Cons: the "lobby"

      My family had ADRs here on 4/24. We arrived on time and stood in a VERY long line in the sun waiting to check in. Once we checked in we were given a beeper and told to wait for an available table. We waited along with a lot of other people and their strollers for about 15 minutes before being buzzed. Once inside, there was plenty of seating open so not sure what the wait was about.

      Our waitress, Isabella, was great - very attentive, friendly.

      I can see what others are saying about the buffet in terms of quantity so maybe my experience had to do with timing but everything was available including pretzel bread which is delicious. I would have expected a more diverse selection of brats/sausages though. My mother loves sauerkraut and was pleased. My husband loved the pot roast. Dessert was great. I would eat strudel for the rest of my life!

      Overall this was a good experience and I would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon April 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wine and beer selection, authentic
      Cons: Wait time, seating method, disorganized

      We dined here for dinner on March 27, 2012. We used our dining plan, which uses one "table service" credit per person. The full buffet is included in the meal plan, but our "extras" included beer, wine, and tip.

      We are normally quite easy to please, especially when we travel to Disney; however, I cannot convey enough how disappointing our dining experience here was. This restaurant was highly recommended by a friend who actually works at Epcot. Therefore, I rate this a generous "3" based on mainly potential and what we've heard, not on our experience.

      I had made reservations months in advance, however, we were not treated with any more priority than others who did not have reservations. We waited over an hour in an area with very little seating, amongst others who were equally frustrated. In general, the host/hostess staff seemed very friendly, but clearly disorganized. I did not bother to approach them with our complaint, as I overheard others already doing so with no results.

      We were finally seated on the end of an 8-seat table, with two other families. They say this is authentic "German-style" seating, but you certainly take a risk of who you may be seated with for your overall dining experience. In our case, we were thankful to be seated with friendly people. We were also thankful to be seated on the end of the table, at least giving us some room. I personally would have felt a bit crowded had I had strangers on either side of me while I dined.

      I felt the entertainment may have also been a bit disorganized that evening. They only came out a few times and performed briefly. From our seats (to the far left end of the restaurant), we did not have a decent view of the stage, without looking around the strangers we sat with (which we felt would have been rude).

      The buffet was not well kept. Many of the items were low or empty, and it was also clear they were overwhelmed in keeping it cleaned as well as stocked. We had heard so much from our friend about the pretzel bread, which we never saw. When we asked about it, we were told that almost as soon as it's brought out, it is gone. It makes me wonder what other items we were unable to sample due to the lack of food availability to accommodate the crowd.

      The food quality was very disappointing considering the authenticity of the restaurant. We have been to a couple German restaurants in our local area, clearly far superior than this one. The selection was fairly small, and the quality seemed poor. For example, I was looking forward to trying the black forest cake, which is amazing at our local German restaurant, yet it was barely edible at Biergarten (another couple sitting at our table had the same comment about the dessert). My DH, who was celebrating his birthday, and who had been stationed in Germany during his time in the army, was also disappointed with the food quality from what he expected.

      Our waitress was very friendly, but clearly busy and overwhelmed. It is very rare that I would "punish" the wait staff by not providing an appropriate tip, so I, as usual, penned in 20% for her. However, I wonder if she ever received it. I noticed on my bank statement, despite receiving a receipt for the charges, this was the only restaurant during our trip that neglected to actually charge us for our "extras" (the beer, wine, and tip). Just another sign of how disorganized the restaurant was run that evening.

      As I said, based on our friend's review, who had eaten there several times, our experience was unusual. However, neither my DH or I have a desire to ever give this restaurant a second chance.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 103
      Review Date: Thu April 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atmosphere and good food
      Cons: Can be loud for some

      My family and I had a wonderful lunch here today. We arrived a half hour early for a lunch ressie and were seated within ten minutes. We had great table mates and enjoyed the buffet very much. The service was very nice and the band was terrific!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Milwaukee,WI
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu April 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nothing
      Cons: food was bad!

      This was our first time there and our last! We were there March 29th, 2012. I knew what the restaurant was about and how the seating worked. But when you get seated next to a group of people who have been there and drinking those large beers for the last 2 hours...IT IS NOT FUN. The food which we heard so much about was the same line up as the Crystal palace except for the addition of red cabbage and a few other items. Our waitress was very nice and tried to make the experience better but nothing could help the BAD FOOD. Why don't they sit everyone at once at a table it might be more inviting for everyone at the table. The folks at our table looked at us as if we were interrupting their meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu March 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: music WAY too loud - lousy waiter - long wait

      I don't regret eating here at all, but there are some things that could have made our meal more enjoyable. First, we had ADR's and we still had to wait for nearly an hour! And there is absolutely NO seating while you are waiting. My kids were irritable from having to stand, and squat while waiting. They should definitely improve this. Once inside, if you can get seating near the back...do it. We were right by the band and the music was deafening. It was good...but we couldn't carry on a conversation as a family b/c it was so loud. Our waiter stunk too. We hardly ever got drink refills - I do realize that changes with every visit, however. Thankfully the food made up for all the shortcomings - along with the decent price. You will definitely not walk out hungry. Tons of yummy choices that will give even a picky eater something to fill up on. Next time I'm asking for a seat near the back and hopefully they will be more on time with their reservations.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun March 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, music, atmosphere
      Cons: mobility issues

      My kids loved Biergarten! Although some people may think it's odd to bring small children to a venue named after an alcoholic beverage (I think of Sweet Home Alabama: "You have a baby...in a bar!"), the food, music and atmosphere was wonderful. It is a very meat-and-potatoes heavy lineup at the buffet, but it was all very good. The pretzel rolls were awesome. We actually got my 4-year-old to eat spaetzle. The band didn't start up till we were almost done eating, and unfortunately, I couldn't bring my daughter down to the dance floor without taking her from her wheelchair. My son, however, insisted we go right down, and he was so excited to get a chance to shake and stomp and dance, even doing the chicken dance. It was priceless. It really made for a great evening, and although some complain about sitting with strangers, we were paired with a young couple with a baby, so we both understood if the kids acted up, though they didn't. I think they probably take that into account when seating people.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Southern California
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertainment
      Cons: None

      I was shocked that on an evening in late January, with low crowds in the park, the Biergarten was totally booked and not accepting walk-ins. We had an ADR, so we were able to get in. This is not a favorite of mine, but my husband loves this kind of food. We’ve dined here in the past and the service is always very good. There is a pretty good assortment of German culinary favorites. Due to a Crohn’s Disease flare I could not sample very many of the offerings, but my husband really enjoyed his plate(s).

      We were a party of two, so we sat with an extended family from Virginia – grandparents, parents and two adorable little children. Some people do not like sitting with ‘strangers’, but we’ve never found this to be a problem, and by meal’s end we are all new friends.

      The entertainers are talented and it’s great fun to watch all the little – and not so little – kids get up and dance.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Maryland, USA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu February 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): potato dumplings were passable; floor show was cute
      Cons: the rest of the food and all of the service

      I went to Biergarten with my family for dinner in early November 2011 and it was easily one of the worst dinning experiences we have ever had at Walt Disney World. This was particularly disappointing for my father who is a great fan of German fare.
      We started out being seated by a rather abrasive man who (along with our server) all but ignored us while doting on our Quebecois table-mates. The family we were seated with seemed friendly enough, though we were unable to strike up much of a conversation as they spoke no English and we know only elementary French.
      The meal then went downhill quickly when we tried the food. While there was a respectable selection, nearly every dish was incredibly bland or overcooked. Of particular note were the schnitzel, which was so tough as to be nigh inedible, and the meatloaf, which was indistinguishable from SPAM. The only dish in the entire buffet that could be considered worth eating was the potato dumplings, and for nearly $40 a head that is a sorry state of affairs.
      Apart from those issues, the restaurant was dark and crowded (problematic when traveling to and from the buffet), but the noise level was acceptable and the show at least provided some distraction from the appalling food and dismal service.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed February 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertainment, theming, beer
      Cons: Oompah band didn't play for about 45 minutes while we where there

      We were on the dining plan and went for dinner. Lunch is probably a better value. We have 3 and 1 year old daughters. After the band came on, the older girl was down in front dancing around in front of the band with about a dozen other kids. She had a blast. I enjoyed the liter mug of beer. A liter is a huge mug. The food was pretty good, I asked our server (I believe they're all German, ours was) about the authenticity and he vouched for one of the desserts. So that was neat. It's easy to get caught up in the band, going to the buffet and enjoying your beer and not even notice the AMAZING job Disney has done with the theming. It really looks like you're at a night-time celebration in some German village under the stars. This is a really neat experience. Eating with some other people is part of that. We will be going back for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Glen Burnie, MD
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service

      We always make sure to go to the Biergarten when we're staying at WDW and ate dinner here on 1/30 during our most recent trip. This never disappoints! We try to get early dinner reservations as it does get a bit crowded later on. Our server, Michael, was great - very friendly and told us about where he grew up in Germany. My Mom and Sis have allergies (dairy & shellfish) so the Chef walked them through the buffet to let them know what they could and couldn't eat. There was plenty for them to enjoy. And we always enjoy the little show they have.

      While everything we tried was really tasty, our favorites were the German pot roast, the pretzel rolls, the German potato salad, the pork roast, and the herring salad.

      As others have mentioned, you do sit with others during your meal. But we've always had a good experience with this.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2009
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious food, wide variety, entertainment, atmosphere
      Cons: wasn't real sure about sitting with other people, but ok

      We loved Biergarten. We went there right before Christmas and the food was amazing. There was so much to choose from and there really wasn't anything we didn't like! The buffet was always full and the food hot.
      The band playing was great and the atmosphere was very inviting and fun.
      We will definitely go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Tue February 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to find something you like.
      Cons: If you're not a social person, be prepared to share a table.

      We noticed the price of the buffet had gone way up, even for lunch, but we were on the Dining Plan so, who cares? We are from Mich. and the couple we were seated with were from Ark. Turns out their family business buys Christmas Trees from our niece and her husband and knew the family. The food on the Dinner Buffet was very good and, because most visitors could not resist the German beer, the place was full of life. The live entertainment adds to the great atmosphere of this recreated outdoor bier garden at night. Though I note it is entirely indoors. We've eaten here more than any other Disney location and love it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.