Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • GinnieMouse

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Southern California
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertainment
      Cons: None

       
      I was shocked that on an evening in late January, with low crowds in the park, the Biergarten was totally booked and not accepting walk-ins. We had an ADR, so we were able to get in. This is not a favorite of mine, but my husband loves this kind of food. We’ve dined here in the past and the service is always very good. There is a pretty good assortment of German culinary favorites. Due to a Crohn’s Disease flare I could not sample very many of the offerings, but my husband really enjoyed his plate(s).


      We were a party of two, so we sat with an extended family from Virginia – grandparents, parents and two adorable little children. Some people do not like sitting with ‘strangers’, but we’ve never found this to be a problem, and by meal’s end we are all new friends.


      The entertainers are talented and it’s great fun to watch all the little – and not so little – kids get up and dance.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tontoblackadder

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Maryland, USA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu February 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): potato dumplings were passable; floor show was cute
      Cons: the rest of the food and all of the service

       
      I went to Biergarten with my family for dinner in early November 2011 and it was easily one of the worst dinning experiences we have ever had at Walt Disney World. This was particularly disappointing for my father who is a great fan of German fare.
      We started out being seated by a rather abrasive man who (along with our server) all but ignored us while doting on our Quebecois table-mates. The family we were seated with seemed friendly enough, though we were unable to strike up much of a conversation as they spoke no English and we know only elementary French.
      The meal then went downhill quickly when we tried the food. While there was a respectable selection, nearly every dish was incredibly bland or overcooked. Of particular note were the schnitzel, which was so tough as to be nigh inedible, and the meatloaf, which was indistinguishable from SPAM. The only dish in the entire buffet that could be considered worth eating was the potato dumplings, and for nearly $40 a head that is a sorry state of affairs.
      Apart from those issues, the restaurant was dark and crowded (problematic when traveling to and from the buffet), but the noise level was acceptable and the show at least provided some distraction from the appalling food and dismal service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fishfamily

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed February 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertainment, theming, beer
      Cons: Oompah band didn't play for about 45 minutes while we where there

       
      We were on the dining plan and went for dinner. Lunch is probably a better value. We have 3 and 1 year old daughters. After the band came on, the older girl was down in front dancing around in front of the band with about a dozen other kids. She had a blast. I enjoyed the liter mug of beer. A liter is a huge mug. The food was pretty good, I asked our server (I believe they're all German, ours was) about the authenticity and he vouched for one of the desserts. So that was neat. It's easy to get caught up in the band, going to the buffet and enjoying your beer and not even notice the AMAZING job Disney has done with the theming. It really looks like you're at a night-time celebration in some German village under the stars. This is a really neat experience. Eating with some other people is part of that. We will be going back for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cchurch74

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Glen Burnie, MD
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons:

       
      We always make sure to go to the Biergarten when we're staying at WDW and ate dinner here on 1/30 during our most recent trip. This never disappoints! We try to get early dinner reservations as it does get a bit crowded later on. Our server, Michael, was great - very friendly and told us about where he grew up in Germany. My Mom and Sis have allergies (dairy & shellfish) so the Chef walked them through the buffet to let them know what they could and couldn't eat. There was plenty for them to enjoy. And we always enjoy the little show they have.


      While everything we tried was really tasty, our favorites were the German pot roast, the pretzel rolls, the German potato salad, the pork roast, and the herring salad.


      As others have mentioned, you do sit with others during your meal. But we've always had a good experience with this.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KatrinaJ91

      Registered: July 2009
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious food, wide variety, entertainment, atmosphere
      Cons: wasn't real sure about sitting with other people, but ok

       
      We loved Biergarten. We went there right before Christmas and the food was amazing. There was so much to choose from and there really wasn't anything we didn't like! The buffet was always full and the food hot.
      The band playing was great and the atmosphere was very inviting and fun.
      We will definitely go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rcheesit

      Registered: February 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Tue February 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to find something you like.
      Cons: If you're not a social person, be prepared to share a table.

       
      We noticed the price of the buffet had gone way up, even for lunch, but we were on the Dining Plan so, who cares? We are from Mich. and the couple we were seated with were from Ark. Turns out their family business buys Christmas Trees from our niece and her husband and knew the family. The food on the Dinner Buffet was very good and, because most visitors could not resist the German beer, the place was full of life. The live entertainment adds to the great atmosphere of this recreated outdoor bier garden at night. Though I note it is entirely indoors. We've eaten here more than any other Disney location and love it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      torymk

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun February 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beer, food, seating
      Cons:

       
      This was easily my best dining experience of the trip. We were able to relax and eat and drink. It was very merry and you felt submersed in the experience which is also very communal. The selection of food was both interesting and familiar. I just really liked it here as I was able to unwind and have fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disney858

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sat January 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Show
      Cons: none

       
      Biergarten was definitely one of our best experiences this vacation!


      The food is really good, even sometimes we wasn't sure what we were eating. Very tasty!


      As you may know, the tables of eight make you share with other people.
      We Are from Argentina, and there were a couple from Ireland next to us. It was fun, and got to talk about the food, and the attractions.. made the evening more interesting.
      The musical show was very entertaining too.


      Of all the restaurants I went, is the one I liked the most and surely repeat!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      meltort

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri December 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, entertainment, service, ambiance
      Cons:

       
      The Biergarten never disappoints. You don't even have to like German food to find delicious things to eat.


      Our favorites were the potato soup, German potato salad and the German warm potato salad. I could have easily filled up on potatoes and left just as happy! The schnitzel was little hard to cut but very tasty. The pork was delicious as always. The cold salads could make your meal also (cucumber salad, marinated tomatoes, herb dressing for the green salad . . . yum, yum and yum!). Was so full but thought I had to eat something for dessert so I tried the berry compote. It was so tasty.


      The entertainment is fun and since we were there on Dec. 17, we heard all about the German Christmas traditions.


      Our server was attentive and we always had a fresh drink. We had a wonderful experience and will be back again next time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sknoell

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Tue December 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, service, variety of food
      Cons: Food tasted a little off

       
      We visit the Biergarten every trip but this time I was a little dissapointed in the food. Nothing seemed overly fresh. We had mid afternoon reservations and had to wait about 20 minutes for our table. The atmosphere is the best and we always enjoy the large tables where we get to meet other people. The food this time just did not taste right. My kids did not care for it either although my husband loved it all. We will come again and hope it was just a one time dissapointment. The waitress was wonderful.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Peachkins

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Baltimore, MD
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon December 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, atmosphere, entertainment
      Cons: Our server

       
      My family loved this place! I was a little hesitant about going here because I'm not a huge fan of German food, but I was pleasantly surprised. I found more than enough to eat, and most of the food was fantastic. Definitely more here than just sausage and potatoes, although there were certainly plenty of those as well. A word of advice: save room for dessert. This place had the best desserts I've ever seen on a buffet- everything was delicious. The bavarian cheesecake in particular was amazing.


      The setting is great. You really do feel like you're dining in the middle of a German village. The entertainment was great- unless you eat really fast you'll see the show in it's entirety at least once while you're there.


      One warning that I know has been mentioned many times on here- you will get seated with other people. We had a group of six and another couple still sat with us at our table of eight. We had a very nice time, but I know there are folks out there who do not like eating with strangers.


      Overall this was an awesome experience, and a very good value if you're on the dining plan- only one table service credit for a great buffet dinner and a show. Our only downside was our server and the reason the place didn't get a perfect 10. She was very friendly, but we waited awhile before seeing her, and went a LONG time without drink refills. Otherwise, I highly recommend this place!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wfbdhlc

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun December 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None I can think of

       
      My family ate here on the last night of our vacation. Every aspect of our experience was wonderful. Our server went out of her way to be kind, courteous and effective. The food on the buffet was fresh, warm and tasty. The apple struedel was great. The band was very lively and got the audience involved in the show. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great meal and a good time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lawafamily

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun December 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, entertainment, ambiance
      Cons: None

       
      Was the highlight dining experience of the trip. Food was outstanding, really enjoyed the different sausages and desserts. Entertainment was excellent, band did a great job of engaging with the audience and teaching about German traditions. Decorations for Christmas were well done. Overall outstanding experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      donald_duck_fan

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: West Virginia
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon November 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertaiment and atmosphere
      Cons: Food Selection

       
      My family of three at here on 11/24 and had mixed feelings about it. While we enjoyed the entertainment and atmosphere, and had a wonderful waiter; the food selection was a bit lacking. If you really like German food, then this would be a fine place to eat, if you're not to sure whether you like German food or not, or if this is a toss up meal for you, I would suggest trying someplace else first.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Tue November 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Food was really good. My son ate 3 servings which is unheard of in our house. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Will definitely do again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.