Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Rosebud

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed October 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, princesses, service
      Cons: None

       
      We were at Disney in later August, a trip which was planned well in advance. There were 9 of us (4 children under the age of 10). I have had dinner here before and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the restaurant. This time we had princesses, which not only 2 granddaughters enjoyed, but the boys as well. Again, food very good, many princesses. The experience was new to my son-in-law and the kids, and they are still talking about it.
      One incredible thing - when I was here in 1996, I had THE most delicious drink - yes, it was alcoholic. I described it to our waiter, never expecting anything to happen. Guess what, he knew what I was talking about and I got to enjoy it again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was wonderful; lots of selections. Salad/Apetizer Bar had lots of choices and allowed you to try new things
      Cons: Tables are somewhat crowded together making it hard to get in and out.

       
      We did not go to the restaurant for the Princesses (although that would be a great attraction for families with children.) We chose this restaurant for the menu. They have many varied choices on the main menu and the portions served are very adequate-large. The dessert selection was really nice because you could try many things. The best part according to many of us in our large group of 18, was the Salad/Appetizer buffet bar. WOW, what a varied selection and all of it very tasty. Our server was wonderful and hearing about their home country of Norway was an added bonus. Even though our server had 18 of us...she did a great job at keeping drinks filled and bringing us our food quickly. This was the first restaurant we ate at during our week long visit and was one of our favorites!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JennaDeeDooDah

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, character interaction, atmosphere
      Cons: I have yet to find the negatives

       
      This is easily my favorite character dining experience. It is my husband's favorite restaurant in all of Disney. We most recently dined here in Monday, January 27 and it was just as great this time. I have yet to experience better princess dining at Disney World. The princesses never seem rushed and are attentive whether we are with children or doing an adults-only dinner. I have yet to have a dish here I don't like, but would like to specifically mention the meatballs. They are excellent. The cold appetizer buffet is excellent with different kinds of salmon, meats, cheese, and salads. And as for the desserts, my family and I can't agree on which one is the best. I love the apple cake, my husband adores the rice cream, and each member of my family seems to disagree on which one is the best. No one disliked any of the desserts. We have never left this restaurant disappointed or hungry. We highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience a different dining experience or wants excellent princess interaction.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pls

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Wed January 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, selection, and good princess interation
      Cons: long wait even with reservations

       
      My family group of 10 really enjoyed this meal. It began with a buffet of appetizers, which could have been a meal in itself. Then our delicious entrees and desserts (shared plates) topped off a nice experience with the princesses, who were happy to interact with a group of all adults. I had dined here many years ago and I was not happy with the meal. I approached this meal with some fear, but I was really pleasantly surprised. The wait was a bit long for the 10 of us, even with reservations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmdebree

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The princesses were wonderful
      Cons: Food and service were very poor

       
      I would give this an excellent rating based upon the fact that your princess can meet all of her favorite princesses at her table. The negative aspects were the following, pictures were taken directly in the dining area which was very cold and distracting to the dining experience. The cold salad bar was ok, however, the dinner offerings were not appetizing to our crew. I had the chicken which looked microwaved, my daughter had the meatballs which were very big and tough, my youngest had the childrens chicken which was char grilled and not appealing to an 8 year old and my husband had the salmon which normally he loves, however he picked at it. Our waitress was not attentive and if not for the pictures and princessed I would be very disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mirner77

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & characters
      Cons: Outdoor waiting area in the rain !

       
      This was a FABULOUS meal! We visited and dined here on January 2nd, 2014. It was raining on this day, so the outside wait was a bit of a pain, but other than that, the princess photo at the beginning was great and since we had the PhotoPass+, we received two packages (as we were 6) as well as digital copies. The appetizer buffet was fantastic! Lots of salads, wonderful breads, different food! Everyone loved it including my 15 and 7 year old. Our waitress was amazingly helpful and kind. We had the meatballs, two of my party had the rack of lamb, two of us had the ribs and my youngest daughter had the pasta. Everyone LOVED their meal. The rice pudding for dessert was out of this world! Everyone loved the chocolate mousse cake also. This was our favorite meal of all of them! The princesses were amazing! The little parade of princesses was so sweet, we really enjoyed this meal and I would not hesitate to return. It was a nice little break from the traditional buffets.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TGropp

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Stratford, Ontario
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Meal Expeirence
      Cons: None

       
      We dined here for our first time on Dec 19. This restaurant is sure a hidden secret as it was not busy but the meal was fantastic, From starting off with the seafood/salad buffet to the entrée was our best meal at WDW. Photo ops were great for our grandchild. We WILL be back!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue December 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short wait - nice decor - polite servers
      Cons: not a fan of desserts

       
      Would recommend. All of the Princesses stop by every table for autographs/photos. Waiter was very polite. Appetizer bar was very good, could be a meal in itself. Entrées were good too. Dessert was a platter of very traditional Norwegian sweets, which we did not care for.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): picture package
      Cons: seating

       
      This was our first time eating here. I liked that the picture package was included. It was our last meal in Disney and I don't think I would leave it for last as it wasn't a wow meal. We did like it and would go back but for me I would need to order something else. The salad bar helped. We sat right on it so that wasn't that great but it was convenient. The chicken salad was awesome! the shrimp salad not bad the cheeses rolls and salami and turkey made up for my son not enjoying his cheese pizza. Oh and he loves smoked salmon so that helped to. As I said DS got the cheese pizza. he said it was too saucy and not cheesy enough. My husband and father had the salmon. No complaints. MY mom and I had the meatball. We found it was one of the chefs aunts recipes from Norway. Um we got 3 meatballs after 1 I was done. My mom noticed the way I was moving around the plate and asked if I liked it. It was fine just not a favorite and would order something different next time. The mashed potatoes were yummy and the green beans cooked well not mushy. Our meal just wasn't awesome the child at the next table threw up and then there was the smell and the clean up show but no ones fault. The waitress loosened up a little at the end and was nice. We walked out sat on the stone wall and waited for illuminations. The characters were alright. everyone this trip characters seemed to be quick, and only interested in the child. I've read about good interaction here but just didn't see it. Would try again. Every place has an off night. We used the DP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jim61vik

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri November 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Princesses
      Cons: Wait to get in

       
      This was my first visit to Arkeshus, heard it was a good alternative to Cinderellas Dinner at the MK which we tried on a previous visit.


      My family includes myself, wife 2 daughters (10,17). We were on Deluxe Dining Plan and had Photo Pass Plus.


      We arrived on time, just barely, for a reservation at 1:40PM. The queue was huge and we waited for a good 30 minutes to get to a table. My wife was very unhappy with the wait and I was worried this would affect her enjoyment of the meal.


      We eventually were called to the podium where my Norwegian sounding surname was recognized and commented on by the staff.


      After another wait for photos we eventually got to a table. Our server was very friendly and explained the appetizer bar. This VERY quickly became a huge plus, my wife (pretty grumpy at this point) was thrilled by the food at the appetizer bar, asparagus, fish, salad. Awesome!! This can easily be a meal in and of itself. We got drinks and ordered our main course. We had two for the meatballs and two for the pasta. The meatballs were very good, and my wife really liked the pasta. By this time, we were pretty stuffed but still tried the desserts which we ordered a variety and everyone got a taste. They were all quite good.


      Then the princesses came around and they were delightful. Extremely personable and sweet. They were hands down the BEST character members I've dealt with in 20 years of visiting WDW. My wife who is a huge Dopey fan asked Snow White where Dopey was and as quick as a whip, Snow White giggled and said he was her favorite dwarf because he makes her laugh and that he was busy getting diamonds from the mine.


      I can't recommend Akershus highly enough, food was great, characters were great. This was one of the highlights of our entire visit. The bad thoughts about the long wait in line were wiped out by the wonderful characters and food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lisacast

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri October 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great place
      Cons: None

       
      This is one of our favorite places in WDW. The food is great the princess' are nice and personable. We come here everytime since my girls were little. They still love it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Crawale

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Terrific service. Attitude of staff.
      Cons: Tables very close together, difficult to move around.

       
      We arrived at the restaurant with my two year old grandson in a total meltdown having been asleep in his stroller. The staff allowed us to be seated straight away and come back later for the picture with Belle. Wait staff could not have been nicer. As soon as the first Princess, Sleeping Beauty, appeared he stopped crying and couldn't wait for the other Princesses to appear.
      The Princesses each spent a long time at our table and then returned to dance with the children in contrast to a lot of the character meals where the characters rush through. Both grandsons, 2 and 3, loved the experience and we will definitely go back next time we visited.
      After our meal, we went back to have a photo made with Belle and again she spent a long time with the boys. Everyone was friendly and concerned about my grandson until he started to enjoy himself. A great experience all round.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      njnick1

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Appetizer buffet, pics with Belle, dessert sampler, good princess interaction
      Cons: Mediocre entrees , price

       
      Worth a visit if you are with a princess fanatic. Definitely not worth it for the food alone. Appetizer buffet: Great ! Dessert sampler: Awesome. Entrees: Meh


      Had a great server : Siljie (sorry for spelling). Pronounced like Celia. She was wonderful and accommodating. We over did it with the apps and ate only half our entrees. She came over concerned and offered to replace them with something else. In reality we just wanted to save room for dessert! Drinks were refilled quickly. Hello from the family that told you about bread pudding!


      Princesses were awesome! 2 of them came back to our table after I told them my DD had to visit the restroom. It probably helped that we were there for a less than crowded lunch.


      Again - you are definitely paying a premium for princesses so if you have no interest in seeing them, go elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ginny3

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Central Illinois
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue July 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Princess Interaction
      Cons: Check-in slow, and cost

       
      Had we not been on the dining plan I would have skipped this venue.
      Food was fine, but by all means not great.
      The cost of the FREE picture was incorporated into the overall cost.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 100
      Review Date: Sun June 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, Princesses
      Cons: None

       
      We used to always eat here before the Princess meals as we loved the food. So we finally decided to eat here again even with the Princess format and even though we have no children. The Princesses came to our table and interacted with us very much in character referring to my husband as my "Prince Charming." It was an enjoyable dinner with good food and service. The picture that they take with Belle when you enter even turned out nicely.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.